paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / TechT A-5 Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod / TechT A-5 Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod / TechT A-5 Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod / TechT A-5 Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod

TechT A-5 Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount TechT

Buy TechT A-5 Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


TechT A-5 Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $25

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Lightening Rod is our latest modification for increasing the performance of your Tippmann Cyclone Feed.

The Lightening Rod is designed to work in conjunction with our Vortex Mod, and together, the two parts will yield higher rates of fire, and increased air efficiency.

The secret to the performance gains is the sealed roller bearing located where the ratchet and piston rod met. The bearing is not visible in this picture, but will be in pictures to come.

The Lightening Rod is made of anodized billet aluminum, and the bearing is a sealed swiss bearing.

This is the next step in making your cyclone even faster and more efficient!!!
Product Availability 
The TechT A-5 Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Kevin M. Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Pushrod
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
Lightning Rod
A-5 QEV
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Opsgear Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: Below
Weaknesses: Shipping from manufacturer
Review: IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
EDIT!!!!!! After about 500 balls were through it in the middle of a game the rod SNAPPED around the area where the pin is securing it to the vortex mod!!
Did not know what was wrong because the product was only just installed. It turned out when I actually opened the cyclone up I learned that it had also destroyed the vortex mod also. The damage total came to almost 100$, so I emailed the company, and the guy has offered me a complete replacement for the rod and the vortex, so I will update this after, but im not so sure about this product anymore. It depends what happened, wether it was the part or just a simple defect. I lubed and installed everything exactly according to the instructions, but I will be putting some pictures on soon



EDIT********** The new part has been arrived and installed, and it it the new "reinforced version" so it is stronger and more reliable. I have so far put 2 cases through the marker without problem, so as long as nothing else happens, the product is perfect
Conclusion: Good product, good company, sppedy replacement of broken parts and speedy redesign of the lightning rod worked out perfectly. Thanks Tech T!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 5th, 2007 at 12:57 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

rcko Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 RT
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Rufus Dawg Bolt and Power Tube
Flatline
Palmer Cyclone QEV
RT and Cyclone 1/8" ID Hoses
PMI 4500 88 Tank
Tipmman LPK
Cyclone Ratchet and Lightning Rod
Strengths: Metal vs plastic stock = durability (my opinion)
Weaknesses: After roughly 10 cases the jewel bearing failed
Review: Worked as advertise. Allowed cyclone to feed smoother and at 300psi. At 325 I noticed cyclone skip feeds but otherwise worked when stock wouldnt not. Stock stopped at ~350 and started skipping at 400 even with 1/8 hose. Shoot a case and a half through it at the last scenario and no issues.

11/18/07 UPDATE

After roughly 10 cases the jewel bearing failed. The rod now collides with the ratchet and causes cyclone to missfeed. Reason for failure is unknow. Maybe due to high cyclic rates of e-trigger setup. Upon inspection, nothing was left of the jewel bearing besides metallic dust in the cyclone housing which mixed with the clyclone ratchet shaft and ate up the rachet teeth.

Overall item performed. However, it requires regular maintenance and inspection to verify proper operation
Conclusion: Pricey but works... requires regular maintenance and inspection to verify jewel bearing has not failed.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 22nd, 2007 at 2:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

grey88smokin Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock piston.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ polished internals

Flatline Barrel and Apex barrels

E-grip w/Rampage board

Palmers QEV

Tech T Cyclone and Lightning rod

Psycho Ballistics Z-Drop Forward

88/4500 + 91/4500 Nitro tanks w/Crossfire regs (3 CO2's)
Strengths: Strength, Swiss bearings allow extremly easy movement
Weaknesses: None thus far.
Review: The stock plastic piston in my cyclone broke at the TechT ratchet so I got this to replace it. The installation of this product is straight foward and pretty easy. Took me about 15 minutes and I was taking my time. The roller bearings on the Lightning Rod make that fulcrum extremely easy to move, it is 500% easier to move than the stock piston. .

I have only tested this product for a total of 4 hoppers worth. so about 800 paint balls worth. First had the marker set to 18 BPS and was getting some skips, none of the balls were breaking at all. So it could have been the pop corn effect of the cyclone turning so fast.

I then set the marker to 17 BPS, at 17 the gun was flawless, not a skip or break. Two more balls per second is a lot more than I was thinking it would be. I was hoping for more like 20 bps but I think that is a bit overkill anyway. With all the ups on the cyclone I would have liked to get a higher rate of fire, but the upped rate of fire, consistency and lack of breaks makes me happy.
Conclusion: This is a must have if your looking for more BPS out of your cyclone, smooth movement for better cycling.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

G36C Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock piston rod
Marker Setup: tippmann A5
ops gear g36c foregrip/sight rail
opsgear g36c mag
opsgear g36c folding stock
ops gear m4 barrel (16 inch)
bt bipod, bt bipod barrel adapter
tiberius laser site
tiberius tactical flashlight
techt vortex mod
techt cyclone feed lightning rod
jt tactical sling
tiberius vertical fore grip
beoranged howitzer bolt
rap4 hopper offset
polished internals
Strengths: Air efficient
Strong
Long lasting
Increases BPS
Weaknesses: Needs to be greased often
Review: The lightning rod is great because it saves on air, increases your bps, and doesn't need to be replaced anywhere near as often as the stock piston rod. make sure to use grease on the barring, and oil on the o-ring when you instal it. not doing this could cause it to break or not work properly.
Conclusion: Works great and saves you money too!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roman Legion Friday, February 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: A-5
EGrip
TechT Vortex Mod
BT Apex Barrel w/ M16 Shroud
SpecOps A5A2 Stock
SpecOps A5A2 Foregrip MP MAG
Military Grade Riser Mount/Rail A5
Armotech/Swat Force Tactical Red Dot Sight
OpsGear 3-point tactical sling
Strengths: Much better product than the week plastic
Weaknesses: Severe Chopping
Review: I was a little disappointed in the performance of the new Cyclone Feed Lightning Rod. My cyclone was chopping balls BADLY after installation. Don't get me wrong, TechT made a great mod with the Vortex, but I am not at all happy with the Lightning Rod. I am not the only person who thinks so also. One of my teammates who has an A5 Hammer Double Trouble set up installed lightning rods in his 2 A5s and had the same problem. It doesn't chop when I lessen the amount of paint in my hopper so it is possible that the mod is causing the vortex to rub against the bottom of the cyclone feed inside the housing. The gun is in the shop as I write this trying to fix it.

Finally, the online instructions were impossible to follow.
Conclusion: Seems like TechT had the right idea. It might just be a problem with design and size of the parts.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

LordOdin99 Wednesday, June 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock rod
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (updated receiver halves & internals)
Polished internals
HPA
Tech T (QEPH, Lightning Rod, Vortex Mod, Squishy Paddles)
JCS Hex bolt w/ DOP o-ring
JCS Gold powertube
Maddmann drive spring (red)
JCS RVA
PPS Stabilizer
E-grip w/ APE Rampage board
Rhythm Innovation Pro Single Trigger
Lapco bottomline adapter
CP direct mount on/off ASA
14" Full Freak kit w/ stainless steel inserts
TruGlo 40mm Red/Green dot sight
SpecialOps Flattop rail
SpecialOps cocking handle
X7 hopper
Lapco extended foregrip
Strengths: - Stronger
- Technical support
Weaknesses: - Unknown
Review: I personally haven't had any problem with the lightning rod but some people have had their rods snap. When I got my e-grip, I got all of the TechT mods, including the Lightning Rod. Through discussion with Todd from TechT, my rod is a newer design than the first batches. One of the improvements made over the originals was the replacement of a ball bearing bushing and installed a brass bushing instead. I guess this solved the problem of the bushings disintegrating in the cyclone. Installation is a little tricky the first time you do it but it's pretty easy if you take your time and follow their instructions.

NOTE: If you have an older cyclone housing, you will need to make a modification to it so that the lightning rod doesn't hit the cyclone when cycling. If you don't it could cause problems. If you have one of the newer guns (2006 and after) you are fine and won't have to do any modding.

So far, I haven't had any problems with it and it's a comfort to know that the metal rod isn't gonna fail on me in comparison to the plastic stock rod.
Conclusion: Really good product that is well made and has awesome support. Even if you run into a problem, they will take good care of you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

runabout Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just stock cyclone rod.
Marker Setup: 98c pro with Tru Flight barrel, Cyclone feed, Shocktech Super Fly Bolt, Ape Rampage E-Grip and Warrior Paintball Six Point Custom 98 Collaspible Stock.
Strengths: Looks good.
Weaknesses: Its Junk
Review: I bought the TechT Vortex Mod and Lightening Rod Mod at the same time. Well the rod busted after I shot about 2000 rounds. I went to Splatter Park in Ohio for the big game.Tippmann was at this event. I talked to the guys from Tippmann and they gave me a new Cyclone for my gun at no charge.
Conclusion: I see now that the strong point for this rod was the Swiss bearing at the time I bought it. Now if you go look that was the down fall to it. They have changed it to a lubricating brass bushing. I am sending mine back to get one of the new ones. I hope it last me a little longer.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmsiona Monday, September 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Rod
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Polished Internals
J&J Ceramic Barrel, 14 inch
Longbow Air Thru Stock kit
TechT QEPH
TechT Lighting Rod
TechT Vortex Mod
TechT Squishy Paddles
TechT Hairpin Trigger Kit
HPA
Strengths: efficiency, Strength
Weaknesses: Unknown
Review: I purchased this item 2-3 weeks ago, It is ment to be used in conjunction with the QEPH, which I have also.

A few things I have noticed with this rod, It weighs less, cycles easier, which equals more efficiency for your marker, higher rates of fire, a lower operating pressure, and more shots out of your marker out of a single tank.

This is a solid product, and I recommend it to everyone, even if you havent had a problem with your stock rod, I promise, you will, and when it happens in the middle of a game, its too late.

Conclusion: I suggest you buy this, It is far superior than the stock rod, and you honestly can feel the difference.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 1st, 2008 at 3:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gunny1970 Wednesday, January 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Polished internals
TechT zero kick hammer
TechT fang trigger
TechT Squishy Paddles
TechT Vortex mod
TechT QEPH
TechT Lightening Rod
TechT Hair Pin Trigger Kit
Metadyne MP5 Magwell Gas-Through Clip
MP5 Collapsing - Sliding Stock
custom cocking rod
Red Hot power tube
Howitzer bolt
Hammer Head Barrell
Strengths: Sturdy,rugged, well made and desighned terrific inovation!
Weaknesses: None to date!
Review: With the Lightening Rod, my cyclone continues to feed at lower pressures and little to no manual feeding when you get low on air, we all been there! And the use of teflon with the modified ratchet and axle the cyclone will have less friction with each cycle. It's stronger than the stock plastic rod and I only need to grease it once only because I took it apart.
Conclusion: Overall great product! I would Highly recomend as an upgrade works flawless
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Odoylesfury Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline, Apex, Ricochet R5, Adco edot, Vortex mod, Lightning Rod, QEV kit, JCS Red Hot Power Tube, ShockTech Supa Fly Bolt, polished internals, R-2000 regulator, JCS laser sight with Spira grip, JCS folding stock

Evil Omen 2.0
All stock, evo 2 hopper, Pure Energy tank, Stiffi barrel, Lapco barrel

Psychoballistics Lightning
Shocktech bolt, CCM front block, evo 2 hopper

Spyder Compact
After market bolt and barrel

Strengths: Easier cycloning
Weaknesses: Breaks
Review: Great product, better cycloning than stock. Reasoning for breaking that I believe is, light wieght lube. If you use thicker types of lube I think you will have less problems with snapping. Mine snapped after two scenario games and a private game. During the private game it snapped. I could call tech t and get a replacement, but I believe I was at fault, for not Im just a honest person. I will buy this product again, but I will use a better lube before each game and during refills.
Conclusion: Recommend. You will notice the differnce in the cyclone smoothness after installation. Use a heavier weight oil to avoid breaks.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media