paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Cyborg 2007 / MACDev Cyborg 2007 / MACDev Cyborg 2007 / MACDev Cyborg 2007

MACDev Cyborg 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Cyborg 2007

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Cyborg 2007
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 07 Cyborg has been rebuilt almost from the ground up. It features all new 07 pneumatic circuitry and solenoid, all new 07 regulators, new 07 detents/eye cover system and completely new 07 electronics.

07 Performance
The combination of optimised pneumatic circuitry, a high precision solenoid and powerful electronics give the Cyborg its blistering fast fire rates. The use of the highest quality regulators available, give the Cyborg its outstanding accuracy, consistency and reliability.

07 Milling
You asked for it, so we cut the back off. With milling in the areas around the back end to slim the marker down, and also the introduction of slimline eye covers, the 07 Cyborg is smaller, lighter and slicker than ever before.

07 Circuit Board
The 07 circuit board uses an overpowered processing unit to guarantee you crisp, lightining fast response times. New eye and trigger logic have made the gun easier to shoot and hold high rates of fire.

07 Grip and Gladiator
In 06, the Cyborg introduced the optimum running/shooting length - giving users a solid firing platfrom. In 07, we have further refined this great ergonomic system by the addition of a contoured front reg (Gladiator), and a comfortable inbuilt snatch grip on the grip frame itself. The grip also has an inbuilt standard dovetail mount with external screw place

Performance Driven Design.

The 07 Cyborg has been designed to perform. There is no other marker out there that can outperform this beast - with higher cycle rates with and without paint, outstanding air efficiency, consistency and accuracy straight out of the box. Here at MacDev, we place our design emphasis on performance - so if you want the top on field performance, you want to get an 07 Cyborg.

Light and Efficient.

Weighing in at 1.9lbs, the 07 Cyborg marker is light and well balanced - the marker can also achieve almost 2000 rounds from a 68cu 4500psi fill. This means that you can carry a smaller bottle to give you an edge during play, or simply save the problems of filling up all the time by using a large bottle - either way it means more paint, less air.
Bloody fast.

The Cyborg can cycle a true 33bps with paint - thats bloody fast in anyones language. The secret to the Cyborg speed is the unique efficient ram system and self lubricating bolt. A poweful electronic package is housed in the grip of the Cyborg reading the trigger continuously and uses a laser paint detection system to make sure the gun only fires as fast as paint is fed.

07 Cyborg Stock Colours
All stock 07 Cyborgs are anodized in dust colours with gloss black highlights. Colour shades may vary from those shown according to monitor differences and dye colour differences.
Product Availability 
The MACDev Cyborg 2007 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
quacks66 Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egos
DMC/4/6/7's
Karni's
PMR/6
Marker Setup: '07 MacDev Cyborg
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really, if you want to nit-pick then i guess the feed neck
Strengths: Fast, light, accurate, no real need for ups
Weaknesses: IMO none
Review: When i first got the marker, i was very surprised how light it was. I also noticed how thin it was. Its VERRRY thin. I also liked the trigger guard. It was big enough so i could fit three fingers in comfortably, and I could also walk it with my fingers all the way in, not just using finger tips. The trigger on the other hand , takes some time to get used to, but after I got used to it i could walk the trigger easily. The MatchStik barrell is very tight, and was a great stock barrell to have. I loved the board too, with all the settings it comes with, there is no need at all to upgrade it. However ,the only thing i didnt like (which really isnt a problem) is the feed neck, its just a little high, but its not all that bad.


Now when i first aired this gun up, i was using 3 week old paint, so i was expecting a chop or two. I had it on Semi, then changed to PSP, and even on PSP i didnt break 1 ball. The accuracy and speed ( i have the new noid) that this thing could spit paint was unbelivable. I was getting less than 5 inch spreads from about 50 feet out. When i went to my field to play, no one would belive me when i said it was all stock. IMO the most under-rated gun, and one of the best out there. Buy one and find out for yourself
Conclusion: this gun is sick, and reliable, if you want to have a great gun, and a unique gun, buy the borg. The customer service is great, and the fact that there a small company makes this gun already upped
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tabris17 Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Cyborg
Intimidators
Viking
Marker Setup: 06 Cyborg. PBK delrin ram, 07 Red valve.
07 Cyborg. PBK scythe trigger.
Empire Timmy.
Ripper 1 Timmy.
GZ Timmy.
03 VIking.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger but it's preference, the stock is rather nice.
Strengths: Weight, balance, feel, lack of kick, speed, accuracy.
Weaknesses: None now, all issues have been resolved.
Review: The Board, Solenoid, and Detent issues have been solved and replacements are now out. All 07 Cyborgs are coming with the new noid and subplate and the updated board software, no more issues.

I have a Pulse RFed to my Cyborg and a 68/4500 Pushbutton Legionair on it, when loaded with paint and a barrel the marker balances out perfectly; it doesn't feel heavy or bulky at all. The operation is smooth as anything though, it kicks like it was a spool valve marker honestly and even on ramping there isn't much barrel lift at all. I've let people at my field shoot it that own shockers that have been blown away by how smooth it is and not to mention how fast and easy to walk it is.
Maitnanence is the same as the 06 cyborg, the only thing that has changed is the lpr design. So after servicing you have to readjust it as the adjustment screw backs itself out when you unscrew the cap. Macdev is offering an 06-style lpr though with 07 milling for those that don't like how the 07 lpr is. It's a nice option to have honestly as you don't have to readjust your lpr each time.
Effeciency is what you would expect from the Cyborg, legendary. Only comparable to a Viking or Excalibur honestly I easilly get 1500+ shots from my 68/4500. And I often play with roughly 1000 psi left in my tank before topping off as I only use about 100-200 psi per game. Consitancy is pretty good, my regs need to be broken in some more and cleaned again but as of right now I would say I'm about +/- 5. My 06 is +/- 2 though so my 07 needs more breaking it. I have confidence my 07 regs will settle into something more close together soon enough though.
Speed is simply insane. And with an RFed Pulse to it paint just slings like there is no tomorrow. And I've yet to chop or barrel break paint with it, it's so soft on paint even with the speed and settings. I hit 19.1 bps on Triple-shot ramping, once it ramps it fires three shots per pull, not a single break. Utterly fantastic. And I'm hitting those speeds with the 'bad' noid too, I actually think it was more of a board issue honestly that was causing my issues.
Accuracy as well is spot on with minimal spreading down field. The matchstik barrel is one of my favorites now and I have a kit so I can get a better paint to barrel match. The paint just goes where you want it too and with the speed it's simply devastating. This is by far one of my favorite markers.
Conclusion: Amazing marker, all the issues have now been solved with the noid and board so there is no reason to wait to pick one up. Shoots smooth, fast, accurate, and easy to maintain with little to no kick what so ever. If you like shooting a spool valve because of the lack of kick you'll love shooting an 07 Cyborg. And for the price it's probably one of the best guns out there if not the best if you ask me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 4th, 2007 at 2:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blueshifty Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm6, Timmies, etc.
Marker Setup: 07 Stormtrooper Borg
Matchstick Kit
Hybrid Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips and Trigger
Strengths: This gun is very well balanced, and is perfect for run-and-gun.
Weaknesses: I got the new batch... so none.
Review: After shooting about every gun on the market this last year, I decided on the 07 Borg for MacDev's exceptional quality. I am unsure how some of the early models slipped out of the factory because James and Borke usually pay a lot of attention to detail. This gun weighs in at 2 lbs which is pretty standard, but its balance is what sets it apart. Loaded up with paint an air this marker feels like an extension of yourself and allows you keep a very tight profile while snap shooting and provides a very stable platform for run-and-gun.
Conclusion: I honestly believe this is the best marker on the market right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twuzinkees Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm6
shocker
angel g7 upped ions
impulse
cockers
Marker Setup: olive cyborg 2007
new dezigns on/off asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
detents, new noid (explained in review); maybe grips, maybe trigger.
Strengths: Accuracy, consistancy, weight, board(basically a nox board), break beam eyes, speed.
Weaknesses: First batch came with a bad noid and bad detents.
Review: when i first dry fired the gun, the bolt stuck, when i heard the first batch came with bad detents,i emailed pbk and got new upgraded detents for free in like 3 days! put them in and BAM! the bolt didnt stick anymore. went outside to shoot it and it was sooo nice, more smooth shooting than my buddy's dm6, straight out of the box too. it was quiet, the thing was ball on ball accuracy and shot ropes with ease. the new noid that came with the first batch is also bad though, thus not allowing us to shoot over about 18 bps, but honestly, who is gonna really need to shoot over 18 in a tourney anyway? but the boys at macdev are working on this problem anyway and they are gonna ship us all free noids when they fix the problem anyway, which is like in a week.
Conclusion: this is the smoothes shootin' gun on the market, IMO. just think macdev shoulda waited a little while to fix these minor problems. their customer service is amazing.
macdev FTW!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

firefox9 Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP ION (Very good beginner marker)
SP8 (Same as ION but for bushballers)
Tippmann A5 (Great marker even today)
Proto Matrix 6 (not impressed with at all)
Many, Many more....
Marker Setup: 2007 MacDev Cyborg (Black)
Militia Board
Smart Parts MaxFlo Micro
Stiffie Barrel kit
68CI MacDev Hpa bottle
Evo2 EGG With Z board


Couldet add any more as this is a great setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
What I have listed above.
Strengths: Accurite,Light,FAST(DAMN FAST), RELIABLE
And of course GREAT to look at.
Weaknesses: Slightly sloppy trigger but I still like it.
Review: I have had a few markers and can honestly say the MacDev Cyborg 2007 is THE BEST marker you can buy today.FIRSTLY when you buy a top end marker you expect performance out of the box, you dont want to have to be messing around tuneing it before you race out to the back yard to brake in your new baby.
Straight out of the box and onto an air bottle my cyborg went, I blasted out about 300 balls then adjusted the trigger to my own setup.I added the maxflo micro only because i had it lying around and it did make a noticable difference to the concistancy shot for shot.I also use the STIFFIE Barrel setup because i already had the kit and need the .685 bore sizing that comes with it (the std cyborg is excellent for bigger paint ie:.689)
The next thing you expect after spending your hard earned cash on a top marker is Great support from the manufacturer.MacDev would have to be the Most helpful and supportive company out there.If you have any questions on the setup or maintance of the marker you just ring them up and they talk you through it, they even help advise you on great setups and tuning for it as well.
Dont forget Every MacDev Cyborg comes from the factory fully tested and tuned ready to ROCK out of the box!!!! you cant ask for more than that.

Speed is amazing(30 BPS need i say more )10/10

Accuricy 10/10

Style 10/10 (Way better than an 07 EGO)

Reliability (well Ive only had her a month but other club members here have had these a little longer and have had no issues) so 10/10

Price (Shoot an 07 cyborg before you even look at the price tag and then tell me if you care how much it costs!) again 10/10



Conclusion: Like I said above, Go to your local dealer and test one of these before you look at the price. You get what you pay for.
WELL DONE MACDEV ANOTHER TRUELY SATISFIED CUSTOMER!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 6th, 2007 at 2:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dumbocanfly Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Cyborg
A1
Dm4
Dm5
Naughty Dog timmy
03 shocker
NXT Shocker
05 Ego
07 Ego
Marker Setup: 07 Cyborg storm trooper, PBK scythe trigger hybrid grips, 68/45 Macdev Legionair, Halo speed feeded
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would most likely buy the .695 barrel back the rest is preference Hybrid grips are nice and trigger is good but the PBK is better
Strengths: Accuracy
Easy on Air
Comfort
Stock greatness
Weight
Looks
Simple
Goes Bang?
Weaknesses: Not the fastest
See review
you need a new pair of pants upon arrival
Review: Ok upon arrival the gun comes out of the box nicely packed and with on/off and clamping feed neck. The gun was bought from PaintballKingdom and was pre-installed with Pbk trigger and grips. I aired it up and shot it with it chronoing 280-290 out of the box.

Differences from 06. It is alot smaller the detents are maintainable thats a plus. The bolt has been shortened which almost eliminates kick. The Valve has a delrin piston making it even more smooth. The new Frame for the 07 is thinner and the battery doesn't rattle in the frame anymore. The noid on the 07's work perfect except do not have the ability to reach the legendary 06's speed but not that bad. Not to mention a clamping feedneck stock. Integrated rail nice for those who like short guns. Also the new style Gladiator reg is easier to grip and has a better method of adjustment out the side instead of the bottom in which the air fitting got in the way.

Ok things I love about this.
The gun is amazing with water. I am not saying wash it with a hose but at one tourney it rained 5 inches in one day the gun still shot ropes even with a puddle in the ram. I was stunned.
The gun also is great on paint I just played a tourney with Dxs bronze silver and gold all mixed and I did not have a single break in the gun or barrel. That is an accomplishment on its own.
I was getting 2 hoppers and 5 pods and still had 3k of air left. I am pretty sure that is good.
I am a back player and the gun is well balanced and ligh as hell. I is accurate enough to get a pod pack strap from corner to corner with maybe 10 shots. The fact that it is balanced makes it great for run throughs I was able to get some great shots off on the run.
The maintenance is easier then any other gun I have ever owned.
Huge valve chamber.
Ram is brilliant.
Laser eyes

Ok thing I am not a big fan on
Stock trigger not that comfy yeah might just be my preference.
The stock grips are not the most comfy.
Noid doesn't go fast enough to really brag. Which will soon be fixed.

Ok Newly revamped noid makes the gun shot faster then any other. Yeah so buy it now.......
P.S. you area wasting your time reading this meanwhile you should be buying a borg.
Conclusion: If you have the money buy this gun. It is great shooting and easy to maintain. The best gun in my eyes. Back players shoul buy this.
Warning you will need a new pair of pants upon arrival.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 1st, 2007 at 1:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shipforbrains Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Hammer
Many spider markers
Many Automags (Currently using E-mag)
Cyborg
Marker Setup: 07 Macdev Cyborg with the new noid, and new militia software added. Reloader 'B', and a HPA 68/45. Empire Reloader kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE. Absolutely tight package without upgrades
Strengths: The new bolt is a lube free/o-ring free that is light and fast.
Weaknesses: As with any high end marker, the price is a concern.
Review: I purchased the marker, and used it today for the first time. The marker comes pre-tested from the factory. I gassed it up, and shot at 280. The manual calls for the "break in" period of one case (200 paintballs). After firing 1000 rounds, I noticed how quiet the marker was. In fact, it was so quiet, that my reloader B (which is operated by marker sound impulses), didn't even recognize that the cyborg fired. OUTSTANDING. The bolt is now O-ringless, and requires not maintenance. In fact, the manual outlines maintenance at every twenty cases of paint. Addtionally, I was supprised on how light it was. Some guys at my field own 06's, and the 07 is significantly smaller and lighter than the 06. I found no irregularities when testing, the matchstick barrel is outstanding; even though I prefer the usage of the Empire Reloader kit. I used a 68/45, and got 1800. After break in, I shot a case plus two additional hoppers (2300). Amazing. It is light, and fast. Maintenance is easy and quick to perform "in field" repairs. The new noids have now been implemented, as well as the new upgrade to Militia software.
Conclusion: I usually don't participate in these reviews, but using this site has significantly helped me in this purchase. The 07 Cyborg is a definate by. I performed a great deal of research when thinking of a high end marker. I am a working man that doesn't have cash dripping out of my pockets. The high air efficiancy, with the spot on performance and accuracy makes this marker top in the class. Ubove all, the customer service is supreb, which really sealed the deal when considering egos/DM series markers. The trigger has three points for adjusting, and is easy to walk. I really thought about purchasing the Angel 1, but throught they were overated. Macdev makes the best reg, and now arguable the best marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mtbrdude Thursday, February 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: MAcDev Cyborg 07
J&J Edge kit , Matchstick, Evil Pipe
Tadao Yakuza board
Dark Soul grips
CP on/off
Strengths: Light
Fast
Consistent
Easy Maintanence
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is fantastic. I used to be in love with Freestyles, and told myself I would only ever replace my FS with a Borg. WOW did I ever make the right choice! While it has slightly more kick than my freestyle, the borg shoots faster, is more consistent over a chronograph, and gets amazing efficiency.
The stock board is easy to program and has the standard modes and settings, and fairly good eye logic. I don't think I ever chopped a ball in this gun.
Once I got the Yakuza board things got even more amazing. The way the yakuza board buffers shots allows me to rip a steady 14-15 balls per second in semi without even having to think about it. There are no problems with trigger bounce and the gun doesn't have much recoil when it's shot.
Totally worth picking up. The 07 borg is not much of an improvement over the 06, but it's much better than other previous versions, which had recoil/bounce issues.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. Don't pay $1250 for the new cyborg RX. It's the same thing with new milling and a "self-cleaning" eye system. Instead, save yourself almost $700 and get the 07 borg :)
Zero issues makes this the perfect gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jon_doe48 Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Ego
08 Ego
05 Black Magic
DM7
DM8
Marker Setup: 07 Stormtrooper Cyborg
06 ego w/ dark frame(back-up)
violent trigger
M7 tadao board
warped sportz titanium rammer
CP on/off
KAPP drop forward
68/4500 pmi tank
dye rhino cover
14" Stiffi switch kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Grips
Strengths: Fast and reliable
No need to upgrade
Uses less air than others
Light weight
Weaknesses: Maybe the trigger (a little side-to-side slop)
Review: I bought my 07 Cyborg 3 months ago. Since then, i've retired my 06 Ego and my DM7. i found that the cyborg had less kick, used less air, is way more accurate, and lighter than any other gun i've shot. The only problem i've had with it is a blown air guage, but that was my fault.
I shot about 1700 rounds off of a 45/4500 tank. That was a result of major fine tuning the LPR and HPR. With a 68/4500 tank, i actually finished a case (2000 rounds) of paint. I'm lucky to get 1700 from my EGO with a 68/4500 tank.
I do wish that Macdev sold a backing kit for the Matchstick barrel. I run a Stiffi Switch kit on my borg now, but i love the Matchstick barrel. All in all, great gun, decent price, great performance. I'd recomment that anyone with the option, buy one.
Conclusion: I love this gun. It is by far the best gun you can buy in this price bracket. With no major upgrades needed, it'll save you money, time, and energy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008 at 11:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

armorlite Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Macdev 06 Cyborg
06 Ego
Marker Setup: 07 MacDev Cyborg Nurv w/ Nox software
Powerlyte Cranium 07 w/ Reloader B2 w/ Violent Products Speed wheel
MacDev Legionair LP 68/45k Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips and trigger
Strengths: Reliable
Efficient
quiet
accurate
consistant
comfortable
smooth
Weaknesses: None
Review: Even though I own an 06 and knowing the 07 is gonna be just like the 06, I just got one anyways from Fernando; one of the green Nurv ones.
Shoots just like the 06 borg. Straight, quiet, efficient (of course), and reliable.
Shot money and is very comfortable in my opinion. It sounds a little different than my 06 which I'm thinking b/c of the bolt and how lower the dwell runs (still get about same efficiency regardless). 1 thing I don't like about the marker is that the bolt is oringless. Even though james@macdev says there's no difference, I tested it myself.
My 06 is way more consistent than my 07 (prob seat reg in the gladiator is worned, even when flipped) so I chrono'd my 06 and it was 298, 299,298, then I threw in the 07 bolt, 280,281. That wasn't cool but whatever... still shoots money regardless.
Conclusion: I would surely recommend this marker. It gives you all you want in a marker and it's from a gangster company!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media