paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Ramp Blizzard Paintballs / Empire Ramp Blizzard Paintballs / Empire Ramp Blizzard Paintballs

Empire Ramp Blizzard Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Ramp Blizzard Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Ramp Blizzard Paintballs
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Empire Ramp Blizzard - A winter only paintball. Good for temperatures between 30 and 50 degrees. Thick shell becomes brittle once it gets cold.
Product Availability 
The Empire Ramp Blizzard Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
davidlanzi Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used any other winter paint, but I was originally trying to order Arctic Inferno.
Marker Setup: 06 Eclipse Ego - XSV Board - DART Bolt
Pulse Loader - RF Chip Installed
Deadly Wind - 14' Carbon Fiber Whisper Barrel with Stainless Steel Freak Inserts
Crossfire - 70/4500 HP Stubby Tank
Recommended
Barrels:
ANY... Let me repeat, ANY barrel will work with this paint. Probably even if it's .005 too small. It's that tough. I used a Freak insert of .689 and the fit was cozy.
Strengths: Hard shell, thick fill
Does not dimple or become brittle until under 30 degrees
Weaknesses: Over 60 degrees it will bounce all day
Lack of information online
Review: If you can't find something on Google, does it exist?

That was what I was asking myself when I ordered some Arctic Inferno from an online store and they said they were out and had to ship Ramp Blizzard instead.

I went to look for a review on it from PBReview.com and couldn't find anything. So, I went to Google. Still no luck. So, I went to the source: Empire. And guess what, still nothing!

Glad I can finally post something about this paint. Thank you PBReview.


OVERALL GRADE - 8.5

Ball construction - 8 (Medium sized seams cause slight ball flight deviation, but it's pretty minor)

Durability - 10 (At 70 degrees you can bounce them 20 feet high off of cement, so you don't have to worry about having a break in an order you just got shipped)

Performance - 8 (At 30-50 degrees they produce a few bounces at a distance, but both me and my friend shot about 3000 of these things at 45 degrees without a single barrel break. That is exactly what I'm looking for in a winter paint.)

Color/Fill - 8 (Bright green is fine. Not sure if they come in other colors and not sure if the fill stains. It is pretty darn thick though, and doesn't wipe easily.
If you are looking for a ball to play with in winter because you are tired of brittle paint breaking in your barrel all day, then I would recommend this paint.

The balls are bright green shells (I don't know if there are any options for shell or fill color). There is a large snowflake logo on one side.

The seams are medium size. I've seen better and I've seen worse.

The shells are pretty thick. I guess that is what makes them winter balls.

In general they are fairly round. In the four cases I got, there were zero dimples, footballs, big balls, or anything out of the norm. I have a stainless steel freak kit and used the .689 insert and found them to all to be pretty consistently sized.

They flew pretty straight for being such a thick ball and having some seams.


SHOT PERFORMANCE

At outdoor temperatures of around 45-50 degrees I noticed some bounces, but not a ton. The balls still broke on contact with players even from 50-75 feet.

Let me say clearly... Do not play with these balls in 70 degree weather (unless you just want to hurt your opponents). They are designed for 30-50 degree play. At 70-80 degrees I'm not sure you would get a break by hitting a tree from 50 ft.


NON-SCIENTIFIC TESTS

ROOM TEMPERATURE (72 degrees)

I started first by dropping it from shoulder level - It bounced back to waist level.
I then threw it down harder - It still bounced. I was a little shocked at how high I could get it to bounce (20 feet straight up).

To give you an idea of how far they will bounce... I threw one from the front porch of my townhouse, bounced it on the sidewalk, over the SUV parked on my side of the street, and off the window of the car parked on the other side of the street. I paced it off and it was 18 paces or about 55 feet to the car on the other side of the street. The ball did not break off of the sidewalk or the car window. (As a comparison, X-Ball Silver dropped from shoulder level breaks at room temp.)

I then took it into the garage for some live firing (room temp). (NOTE: air tank was under 400ish so I can not validate FPS, but I usually shoot at 280.) I was shooting at the thick corrugated box that the paint was delivered in (packing peanuts inside). First shots onto a new untouched part of the box broke. Shots that hit already softened up areas either broke, went into the box, or in some cases bounced back! Through one hopper (160 shots) at least 10 shots bounced back from hitting a corrugated box at about 15 feet.


OUTDOOR TEMPERATURES (40-50 Degrees)

The balls worked as I hoped.

At the field target range/chrono area, I shot a full hopper with no barrel breaks.
The balls flew fairly straight and broke very well.

Most others on the field that day had to deal with brittle, cold paint (unless they had winter paint of their own) and that means lots of cleaning. I didn't have to squeegee my barrel once, and that is why I feel this is a good choice.

Overall it is a great performing ball for winter play.


REALLY COLD TEMPS (19 degrees)

I left 5 balls outside overnight. The temp got down to 19 degrees that night. When I woke at 7am and went to take a look, each of the 5 balls had a small dimple in them on one side.

I'm sure this would hamper the performance of these balls in action, but I did not test them in my gun. I did drop them on the ground to see how brittle they were. Even with dimples and 19 degrees, they still needed some force applied to get them to break.


FILL

The fill for these is the same bright green as the shell and is very thick.

I don't know if it stains clothing as I didn't get hit with it.

But if you are looking for something that can easily be seen but is difficult to wipe, this may be for you.
Conclusion: Sorry for the long review, but there is no other mention anywhere online about this paint. So I though I would save others the headache I had.

If you want to play in 30-50 degree temps, this is a great paintball. In that temp range the shell is brittle enough to break on opponents but NOT in your barrel. I went through three cases with a friend (06 ego and 06 shocker) and either of us had a single barrel break. Neither of us complained about bounces either, though I'm sure that there had to be some.

I personally would rather have three bounces per game than to have to clean my barrel three times in a game. That is what I was looking for in a winter paintball, and that is what I got.

So all in all I give it a ...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ripsterbd Tuesday, December 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Dye TI Boomstick
UL Trigger
Magna Loader
Recommended
Barrels:
As far as i can tell, any bore sized barrel will work. I used my boomstick as well as my stock proto barrel and i saw no difference. Shot great.
Strengths: WILL NOT BREAK IN GUN!
Hard Shell
Thick, washable paint
Weaknesses: None thus far.
Review: This ball was fantastic. Every ball flew straight, and i didn'nt have any breaks whatsoever. All of my friends were breaking balls in their barrel. For a winter ball, it perfroms like any draxxus paint you can find. This ball can be bought cheap at the right place and will not dissapoint you.
Conclusion: If you plan on playing in conditons below 45 degrees, this is the ball to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gas mask Friday, July 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap, seconds, marbs, draxxus bronse, draxxuse silver, Ultra evil..etc.
Marker Setup: Pump-outdoor: KP2, Direct feed mod
Semi-Air Power Vector
Electro- Angel 05 speed with pepperstick. (Sold now)
Recommended
Barrels:
It'll break anyway.
Strengths: I suppose If you felt the need to paint your house it'd work great.
Weaknesses: It only breaks when it's not supposed to.
Review: Ok, so last march I had marched off to a winter big game. Angel 05 speed in hand, ready to play some good paintball.
After buying a bag of this pink sludge I bored it to be .689... I put together my pepperstick and whent to chrony. As soon as I dumped a pod into my egg 2 it was all bad. It left a pink oil coating inside the hopper, but at least it's velocity was consistant. On the feild I ran over to a trench and let the angel fly, but little did I know that's a stupid move. The paint flew in so many directions I was suprised it left the barrel. The whole day the pepperstick blew chunks. Every time I had headed to the pits, I found it was a barrel break... my angel was doing it's job, but the paint kept poping. I had decided that I had been underboring, and switched to a .693 back... naturally, the breaks got worse.
Another thing, even though this fill is thick, it cakes on everything. Making it stupidly easy to wipe. (Except when it's on your lens, in which case... have fun.) This stuff may seem like a great idea for cold play, but please... buy polar ice. That stuff at least stays in one peice in barrels and dosn't stain my hopper.

Final note... This crap has a horrible shelf life too. I had a pod laying around two weeks after the game, unopened. I dumped er' into the angel and let loose a string, However at 25 feet it looked more like a shotgun spread. a one and a half foot spread? WHAT? Staring into my hopper, I saw paintballs that looked like raidiation victims. They were horribly deformed and discoloured.
Conclusion: Iv'e shot 4 year old factory seconds with punctures in the bag and they flew straiter then this trash. I bet 62 cal paint would fly straiter. This paint Epic fails.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilverSoldier09 Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Origin Basic Training
Wild Streak
Spank
Xball
Stingers
Tac-camo Recon balls
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-grip (A.P.E. Board)
New Designs Aluminum Power Tube
Shock tech super fly front bolt
Tippmann 6 position adjustable shoulder stock
Spyder Kingman remote line
Tippmann 14 inch barrel
Allen Paintball 350+ round hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Tippmann or J&J
Strengths: -Accurate
-Break easily on targets
Weaknesses: -Had a few ball breaks
Review: This is the paint to get when winter comes around. It's a bit pricey but worth the money. This paint was able to handle all firing modes on my Rampage Board no matter if it was semi, 3 shot burst, full auto, etc...this paint was very reliable during the winter. Although I did have at least 3 or 4 ball breaks per box, but it never really bothered me because my Tippmann barrel was still able to shoot after a ball break.
Conclusion: Overall if you're looking for a paint that is accurate, breaks on target easily, and won't let you down in the winter, this is the paint to buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 4th, 2008 at 8:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tank00 Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Only winter paint I have used
Marker Setup: Spyder mr1,clamping feed neck, empire 2 loader
Recommended
Barrels:
stock, aftermarket
Strengths: Strong shell, good thick fill
Weaknesses: Accuarcy is very inconsistent, some dimpling, out of round
Review: This was my first time buying "winter paint" and this paint was recommended by the local paintball store. The biggest dissapointment of this paint was the lack of accuracy and consistency with this paint. I expected less than perfect accuracy Playing in the winter but the struggles with this paint were tough to take. Between chopping and barrel breaks and the balls curving and hooking it made for some tough games. Three of the other guys I play with were using the same paint two of the three have struggled with this paint as much as i have. The other guy has had better luck and has had very few problems. Did we get bad batches?? we all bought a case so we have used about 6,000 balls and 4,000 of the 6,000 seem to have issues. It is not all bad though the shells are tough and are definatly made for winter use only if you are using these in temps over 45 degrees you will bouncing alot. The fill is allso good and thick, very bright as well. we used pink, orange, and yellow fill all good.
Conclusion: Over all the inaccuracy of this paint is just too much. The fill is good and the shell is what you want to see in winter paint but if you cant hit anything it is kind of useless.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Stingers, Diablo Heat, JT Monster
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED 05
Empire Reloader 2
14" Proto One piece, J&J Performance Ceramic, Evil Pipe Barrel Kit
New Designz Clamping Low Rise
Dye Stickies
Kingman ACS bolt
Empire React 06 Gloves
Flurry Reaver Shinguards
Recommended
Barrels:
Smaller barrels since my Evil Pipe .683 fit these best.
Strengths: Fly straight, no dimples, thick fill
Weaknesses: Do NOT break if it's to warm.
Review: These paintballs are great, but they really really are designed for cold weather. DO NOT try to use these above 50 degrees. If you do they will bounce, not break well, and HURT alot. If you use them as they are intended they work great. Thick fill and strong shells help them go straight and i didn't find even a dimple in my whole case. Great stuff!
Conclusion: Great paintballs, but make sure it's cold enough to use them or your opponents will complain about their welts.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UglyDuckee Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Polar Ice - Trash, Especially when compared to Blizzard.
Marker Setup: 2k4 Texas Storm Intimidator
Frenzy 127.4
Delrin Bolt
Stock Rammer
Empire Barrel Kit, .689 used
Empire Loader
Recommended
Barrels:
I would recommend a barrel kit for anyone using this paint. You definately need the option of changing inserts or barrel backs. I used the .689 back on my empire kit and that worked great. These paintballs have a wide seam so .687 and below is a little tight.
Strengths: Great paint for winter use, no barrel breaks at all out of 2000 rounds.
Weaknesses: Above 35 degrees quite a few bounces, even a few off of masks.
Review: Overall this was the best winter paint i've used. Only issue I didnt like was the bouncing. At around 35 and up i can literally bounce this stuff off a mask at 80-100 feet. The wide seam in the shell will be a little tough for those without barrel kits in some situations. I need to do some more testing with this paint before I really know all about it. So far i've only had my gun firing 15-16bps because they dont allow ramping, 3-shot, or auto on the field I play on. I noticed very slight flight deviation, but the curve is pretty consistent and easy to deal with.
Conclusion: I would say for anyone looking for a good winter paint, BUY THIS. Its a well priced quality paint, great for guns ranging from scenario guns to all out speedball guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brower Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Polar Ice (garbage)
Marker Setup: yeah another 98
Recommended
Barrels:
large bore
we used jj ceramic and 32 degree whisper
Strengths: Strong. Out of three cases i think we maybe had 4 or 5 breaks
Weaknesses: Almost too strong of a shell. I saw quite a few bouncers.
Review: This is really nice paint to play in the winter with. The temps started out around 38f and maybe got up to 45f through the day. Not enough breaks to complain about for the tempatures we played in. They have decent seems but ive noticed there is some egg shaped ones. I think they could be a little more consistent on quality. These will bounce every now and then too. From 20 feet out to maximum range.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good winter fill then you really cant go wrong with this stuff. The pros outweigh the cons on this stuff. Would i use it again? Yes! I plan on getting a few more cases for february. I give it an 8 because it could be better on how round they are and for the tendency to bounce but very cold weather friendly and hassle free.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media