paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created and the last barrel you will ever need. The patented features of the Scepter solve every major problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel.

Features like a front load, compression lock sleeve which eliminates any chance of the sleeve turning or shifting while firing, a self-align system which precisely aligns the bore of the sleeve with the bore of the muzzle, providing a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel, color coded inserts to match any size paint, and mirror honed bores for consistency, accuracy and range.

Choose below which bore size, tip length and color option you would like.

Avilable bore Sizes: .680" .684", .686", .688", .690" and .692" and .696"

Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Red Eye Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, Armson Stealth, SP Teardrop, SP Progressive, BT Apex,
Marker Setup: 2006 Smart Parts Ion, clamping feed neck, Egg 2 w/Zboard, Crossfire 45/45 high output, Powerlyte Sceptor, Shocktech Spyder/Impulse adapter, CP Sling trigger(nice), Skull and Crossbones drop forward, Smart Parts on/off valve, Virtue: EZ-on, board, eyes,membrane and adapter, Warrior Paintball SL red body, Warrior Paintball red foregrip
Recommended
Paintballs:
This kit will handle anything.
Strengths: Versatility
Accurate
Quiet
Case
Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I ordered this kit and several other things on Wednesday from Hot Shot Paintball. However, Powerlyte ships directly from the manufacturer. Hot Shot is still processing my order, but the barrel kit arrived on Friday(fast). First the basics, the Sceptor is a 2-piece barrel with changeable inserts that lock into place with compression to prevent any turning or slippage while firing. The kits are available with all or a few inserts to fit any budget, and come in 3 sizes.


There are several things to be noted when chossing a barrel, either single, two-piece, or kit.

1. Accuracy
This barrel, due to the variable bore sizes, allows the owner to customize the barrel to the exact size of the paintball being used, allowing for unparalleled air efficiency. This makes the barrel uncannily accurate with whatever type of paint you're using. It even rivals the consistency of "rifled" barrels.

2. Length
Although not usually considered first, the length of a barrel can be detrimental to success. Whether it's a backman looking for the little extra length to peek around a can and reach out to touch somebody, or a frontman seeking the compactness and lethality of a dagger, Powerlyte has delivered. With the choice of 12, 14, or 16 inch barrels, everyone is happy. I ordered mine in 14in. because I play everything, but extra fronts can be purchased for $40 each.

3. Versatility
If you've read the rest of the review then this is obvious, but if you're skimming like most everyone I'll go into a short summary. Modifiable kits, various sizes of inserts, different lengths, and it is accurate all the time. Only bad paint can screw this barrel up.

4. Price
It seems almost everyone has a Freak kit these days, but I believe Powerlyte has hit upon a brilliant idea. An effective, affordable barrel kit. Obviously Empire thought so, because their revolver is EXACTLY the same thing, but for $130 and only 5 inserts they're asking a little much. Powerlyte's is cheaper(for the same kit), and their 7 bore kit is the same price as Empire's. I'm not downing Empire, I love Empire, but why spend more on a product to have their logo. Beside's Powerlyte holds the patent on the design.
Conclusion: This is an overwhelmingly satisfying barrel. It covers everything I see as important in a barrel. Awesome job Powerlyte, a perfect product. (not God perfect, but as near to perfect as I've seen on Earth) 10 for 10. Powerlyte takes home the gold.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

rcabrera Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 10-piece (older version: back in 2004)
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 2006
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything spherical. Oblate spheroids do not qualify. Marballizers shoot well through this, and Evils are dreamy.
Strengths: Matches bore size to paint which increases accuracy and air efficiency.
Weaknesses: Overall barrel length a bit longer than I prefer (using their shortest tip).
Review: The first thing I have to say is Customer Service. Powerlyte's customer service has impressed me. Let me tell you my experience thus far:

Three days after placing my order through Powerlyte's web site, the package arrived via USPS Priority Mail. I didn't ask for fast shipping, it's just the way they ship it normally.

Opening the package for the first time, I see a couple of problems. First, the plastic case looks like it got abused by the postal workers and it has a crack on one edge, and a clasp has fallen off. In addition, I ordered Black Dust, but the tip was Black Gloss (the rear was Black Dust). Everything else looks good.

I call up Powerlyte's Customer Service and they tell me that the Black Dust tips are out of stock, and they're shipping me one as soon as they arrive, but that they sent me the Black Gloss tip so I can get started using it right away. Nice. Also, they'll ship me a new case.

A couple days later I finally get some time to try it on my marker. But there's a problem with the threading on the rear; it won't thread in to my marker. The threads are too flat to grip. I call up Customer Service again, and they seem quite embarrassed that this got past their QA, and they ship me a replacement that day, which I receive two days later. Just in time for my weekend game.

Now on to the product itself.

You select an aluminum insert with the desired bore size, drop it into the rear, then screw in the tip, which holds the insert in place. There is an o-ring between the tip and the rear. There are no other o-rings needed for this kit.

As the temperatures change during a day of play, the paintballs' size may vary slightly. It's very easy to swap out inserts quickly between games.

Consistent accuracy is achieved by selecting the correct insert. Once I had the correct insert for my paint, ball on ball was the name of the game.

The kit cleans out very easily as well. After a ball break in the breach, the kit would shoot about 3-4 curves and then start stabilizing again. One quick pull-through squeegee cleans it out perfectly.

I'm still waiting to see if Powerlyte comes through with the Dust Black tip and new case they said they would send to me, and I'll update this review then. But so far the experience has been positive.

EDIT: A day after I posted this review I received the new case and new Dust Black tip. I am one satisfied customer.
Conclusion: Highly recommended for performance and, especially, for stellar customer service.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 27th, 2007 at 10:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Checkit JR3
AA
Freak
Lucky 15
Marker Setup: PM6
-Ul frame
-CP Rake
-DM5 Spring detents
Powerlyte Scepter kit
Reloader B Diamond smoke shell
Crossfire LP 68/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, you bore match...
Strengths: Weight
Multiple Bores
Accurate
Quiet
Customer service
Weaknesses: Inserts are somewhat weak
Review: I bought the Powerlyte Scepter system online because none of my local stores had it. I got it for $105 with 5 bores. The shipping to me was quick, but I noticed a few problems. I had been given a .684 insert instead of a .680 insert, my tip was gloss black and not dust, and the my back had threads that had been cut flat and did not fit into a marker. It is important to note that the product was from a Powerlyte dealer and not Powerlyte itself. I emailed Powerlyte saying I had a messed up back and they replied to me the same day saying it was their mistake, I just had to send them an address and they shipped me one for free. Now I live in Canada so over customs and everything it took 2 weeks plus a day to arrive. The new back fit perfectly so I had no problems there. I emailed Matthew at Customer Service just quite simply asking if they would entertain the idea of sending me a discounted tip, and I wanted a 16'' one. No questions asked I got a new tip for $25 and free shipping, so I saved $10 plus shipping to make up for the delays. I call that customer service. Now on to the review.

Barrel
The first thing you will notice when holding the barrel for the first time is it is incredibly light, if you are used to freaks you are in for a huge surprise. Its lighter than my old 1 pc system. The barrel has great porting and is very quiet, and looks great in my opinion.

Inserts
My only beef with the inserts is they are some what easy to damage, just like the freak ones, but thats all. They come in awesome bore sizes being the even bores instead of the odd ones like the freak, .684,.688,.690 etc. This is far better for accuracy as more balls are sized by this than by the odd numbers which allow extra room for balls being warped by heat and such.

System
The system itself is revolutionary. The inserts are loaded from the top of the back and locked into place by the front. No O-rings, no misalignment, your inserts wont pop out when you run a squeegee through it. This is the real deal. The insert wont shft or move around, your shots are going to be as accurate as they can possibly be.

Features
-The Scepter ranks top place for accuracy in all the barrels I have shot, enough said.
-Mann's tests on PBN prove that the Scepter system clears breaks better than any other barrel on the market, yes including all CF barrels. I can't say enough about this. theres nothing like misizing your paint and breaking one, taking your barrel off after the game to clean it, and seeing no paint residue on the entire thing, cleans out in 1-2 shots.
-The honing on this system is up with the best on the market, mirror honed for the greatest in accuracy, you can tell the quality by just peering down the barrel.
-The case you get for it is practical is doenst have weak plastic that breaks like the freak case
-Large reduction in noise from firing

Basic problems
-Only problem I found after I had recieved my new back was when screwing on the tip it would squeak a lot...a bit of lube simply fixed this. I used PB voltage.
-Barrel breaks will be 98% of the time attributed to improper bore sizing, go one size up. Remember heat will warp paint to become larger. Dont bore size at home the previous day and assume its the right bore for the next day. A mistake you only make once...
-If you have any troubles email Powerlyte they will reply to you that very day.

Conclusion: -Awesome customer service
-Great barrel
-Revolutionary system(Empire copied this by the way)
You cant do any better for a barrel system these days, if you want to bore match Scepter is the barrel for you. Enough said.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 9:23 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

djprecision Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, scepter 06, sm1, all american
Marker Setup: 04 cocker e2, evolution , 45-68, sm1 kit, scepter 07
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint since its a kit
Strengths: Very light, not to loud, cleans breaks very well, ease of use locking inserts
Weaknesses: None that i can see
Review: i got the kit in the mail maybe a week ago... 1st things first powerlyte has the best customer service of any company i have ever delt with paintball related they well answer any question and help you out with any problem.

now for the review of the barrel...

case- the case kit comes with has a kinda cool shape to it its kinda triangular in a way it holds 7 inserts and three front and backs... its a case to carry your barrels it does its job its made well and your barrels or inserts wont get damaged.

first impression- since i had to 06 its pretty much the same thing just the inserts are now 4 inches and the barrel has a little more porting. its very light compared to my sm1 barrel i think the craftsmanship on the sm1 is a little better but you cant take nothing away from the scepter

test- when you but the barrel together its real easy just but the insert you want in and screw in teh front and it locks the barrel inside and a really smooth finish i mean smooth and it aligns perfect and its real light especially compared to the sm1. i shot some paintballs in the back yard some all stars and some cheap shrapnel paint and it shot both really well i even had a barrel break with the shrapnel since this paint sucks and it cleaned it out in 2 to 3 shots. the scepter is also a little quiter than my sm1 as far as accuracy i think there about the same with good paint to barrel match the scepter is alot easier to put together and take apart alot lighter and a little quieter. Overall this is probably my favorite barrel there nothing more you can ask for in a barrel and it priced not to high. im gonna test it on the field this weekend hopefully and add some more to my review.
Conclusion: If your looking for a barrel i highly recomend this barrel it shoots great, cleans breaks , is light and quiet what more can you want and now they got different colors to match your gun. shoots straight, is light and accurate and great customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Xyle Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Pepper Stick
J&J ceramics
Stock barrels
Marker Setup: Proto PMR
cp on/off
NDZ asa w/dye mini gauge
NDZ silk trigger
NDZ alloy back cap
Scepter 07 barrel kit
Vlocity hopper
crossfire 68/30 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, I was shooting seconds paint through it with no problems!
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Locking inserts
Weaknesses: Inserts seem fragile because they are so light.
Review: Well I had been shooting for a few months with my redz pepperstick (single bore not the kit) and the accuracy was pretty good, however I was having problems getting the right sized paint at some fields. I decided to purchase a scepter barrel kit from powerlyte, they shipped it priority mail for free (needless to say I was happy with that).

After using the redz I was thinking the accuracy would be about the same with the scepter system, but I as soon as I started ripping with the scepter I noticed it was actually quite a bit more accurate than the redz. It blew me away how accurate it was, practically ball on ball even when shooting across the field! It definitely gets a 10 out of 10 for accuracy because i've never seen such a accurate barrel.

As far as self cleaning goes I was also impressed, I was able to shoot right through breaks and after 3-5 shots it would be shooting almost perfectly again, definitely a plus when i'm forced to use budget paint.

The inserts are also nice, they weight practically nothing and easily slide into the barrel, changing inserts couldn't be easier, and they really do get locked down in there making sure your inserts don't move around while you play. Only thing I noticed was I was afraid of breaking the inserts because they were so light, this is probably more of a mental thing however as i'm sure they are strong, just don't step on them or anything stupid like that. It comes with a great hard plastic case with dense foam padding and a spot for all the barrel inserts, backs and tips, so I figure keep the inserts in the gun or the case and you will be fine.

Nohting is perfect however I am hard pressed to find a weakness to this barrel system, I will keep updating as I use it more.
Conclusion: I am very impressed with this barrel, it shoots darts, self cleans, accommodates any size paint, the case is great. Overall a very solid product, if you are looking at a freak kit i'de highly recommend trying this out first, the locking inserts make a huge difference in easy of use, and possibly performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 at 12:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mancos Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
DXS Pulse
88/50 Evil Scion
07 Scepter
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any its a kit
Strengths: Its a kit
cheaper kit 130 with 7 inserts
great quality
Weaknesses: None really
The red tip is kinda purpley
Review: I love this kit the quality is great and the servive is great i ordered it on wed. and got it on fri. the inserts are good because they dont slide or move in the barrel

price this is a great price for what your getting you get a tip a back and 7 inserts for 130 and it IS better than a freak kit or AA kit

accuracy it is a kit so just get a good bore to paintball match and your set

quality the quality is great the inserts and the barrel doesnt bend or chip

color i got the red tip and the red kinda sucks its more like a maroon then red but its still a great barrel
Conclusion: If you are getting a new barrel dont get a cheap one or an overly expensive one just buy this one its a great barrel for the price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hungolian Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Freak all American
Marker Setup: System X vengeance 4.0 Autococker, ANS bolt, full oracle front, Powerlyte Scepter barrel. Tippman X7, Sm1 barrel, Lapco suppressor shroud, madbull grenade launcher
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, this thing even shoots Players Choice with accuracy
Strengths: Easy Assembly
Accurate
Semi-quiet
Nice little box to put everything in
Weaknesses: Price is a little steep but not too bad for what you get
Review: Awesome stuff shoots any paint gooood easy drop in
the insert does not turn or twist, stays put, no o-rings needed,
nice little kit i prefer it over the Freaks, because everyone and their moms have freak barrels, pull this baby out and everyone is like what is that? oohhh it looks soo plane but shoots so goooood, yea good stuff
Conclusion: Awesome little kit
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1337rick Friday, August 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP freak kit
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Powerlyte Scepter 12inch, e grip, Vortex Cyclone Mod, Squishy Paddles, palmers persuit stabilizer, red dot scope, offset hopper, sight rail, m4 stock. HPA and CO2.
Strengths: ACCURATE
shot 600 paintballs at 22 bps with my A5 and NO CHOPS!
very light
Weaknesses: None!
Review: After ordering 2 freak backs for the A5 and finding a major flaw in them (inserts don't line up thus causing nothing but chops. I don't think they properly precision drilled the backs for the A5 freak kit because my cocker freak back is perfect.) I needed to find a new barrel system that would work on my A5 and this badboy is VERY ACCURATE! I shot roughly 600 paintballs using 22 bps and not a single chop.
Conclusion: I cannot begin to stress how hard it has been to find a 2 piece barrel system that effectively works with my Tippmann A5-E. My SP freak kit on my A5 would chop even at 7 bps. This barrel system is flawless. If you have an A-5 i must note that you will be shocked to see the inserts are not flush with the back piece. This is for a reason. this is due to the a5 front bolt actually entering the barrel adapter and back piece to launch the ball in place. i thought it was a factory error or something at first and was expecting chops upon chops but i tested this barrel kit today with 22 bps. And never chopped...good bye squegee!

at 25 feet i was hitting ball on ball
at 50 feet i was hitting ball on ball
at 75 feet i was hitting ball on ball 3/5 times. I was very impressed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 15th, 2008 at 3:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattdoc Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
Marker Setup: ANS X5 (mech cocker)
Dye boomstick / Powerlyte Scepter
Strengths: Barrel kit = changeable bore sizes.
Weaknesses: Hard to take off autococker.
Review: Got a Scepter kit for my ANS X5 mechanical cocker. The kit works great; always having a good paint/barrel match is key with a closed bolt gun even moreso than an open bolt since the balls will roll out if the barrel is too big.

Accuracy is great, except after breaks. I don't know why I was breaking paint yesterday, but I was. I don't think it was the barrel, most likely it was the paint - it may have been old, I don't know.

Removing this barrel is sometimes impossible. The back of the barrel is shorter than my front block components, so I can't grab around it. I can only grab the sides with my fingers. If it is slippery or my hand is from paint spray, I can't get it off. This is only a problem during games, since between games I can use something to clean it and my hands to get a grip again. If you don't have an autococker, this will not be an issue.

I have the 7-bore kit, and I'm glad I did when I played two days ago - I had to use the .680 insert for the paint I bought.
Conclusion: If you want a barrel kit (and who wouldn't?), this is a great way to go. It costs a bit less than a Freak and works great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xWORLDBREAKERx Wednesday, January 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smartparts All American, CCM Barrel kit, Kaner barrel kit, many stock barrels
Marker Setup: CCM T2, Scepter barrel kit, pure energy 48,4500(peanut)
Recommended
Paintballs:
consistent paint.
Strengths: Accurate, low cost, quite
Weaknesses: It may be hard to find for some people
Review: This is an awesome kit that more people should start using. It is very accurate, quite, and and overall very nice product. It is very hard to select a barrel/kit to buy since there are so many, however you will be very happy if you choose a Scepter barrel kit.
Conclusion: If you type in "barrel kit" on ebay you can find this kit new for around $80 shipped.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media