paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Max'd / Smart Parts Ion Max'd / Smart Parts Ion Max'd / Smart Parts Ion Max'd

Smart Parts Ion Max'd Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Max'd

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Max'd
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $319

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Ion MAX'D has all the great features found in the Ion PRO but centers around a hot new body design that is sure to turn some heads. Features include: The Ion MAX'd includes the 14" Freak Jr. Barrel with a .693 insert, Q-Lock Feedneck, Smart Parts S-Rail and dovetail adapter. This is a great deal! Feedneck and s-rail/dovetail are installed.

Smart Parts most affordable marker ever. They are proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Max'd is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
balla245 Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
up'ed ion, pm6 (not a fair comparison), spyder's (suck), regular ions
Marker Setup: ion max'd
q-lock
s-rail on/off drop combo
freak kit
shocktech superfly bolt
sp qev
lucky led eyes (blue)
blackheart board
kila reaction detents
hybrid hitman 06 grips
cp reg coming soon
crossy 68/3000 with dye rhino

back up:
steel blue spyder imagine 04
cp drop
lapco low rise feedneck
jj ceramic barrel
12 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
insert kit
Strengths: Barrel (for stock)
on/off
qlock
body kit
stock board
Weaknesses: Only one insert for the kit
it's still an ion

resale sucks
Review: i am very pleased with this marker. i bought it with my birthday money, and it was every last penny i had. it was worth it. the stock board is very good for a stock board, that comes in any ion though. the major difference is the body. some dont know its an ion, that can be good and save you frome haters. also i like the unique body. it shoots pretty far. i got the shocktech supafly bolt and it added range and flattened my shot. i out ranged an 05 ego. i also recomend more inserts or a kit for the freak because it wont be any more accurate than any other barrel unless the paint and barrel are matched.


for UNDER $400 its your best bet. but if your willing to pay $400 + get a pmr because of the resale.
i know you can even get these for under $300. they are well worth it and they shoot great right out of the box.
Conclusion: Great gun, I say buy it, the only draw back is the fact that it's still an ion. but for the money, its the best gun out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 9th, 2007 at 4:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer32 Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Original ion
Marker Setup: first:
'05 sonix
vl force
max-flo 47/3k
dye rhino

second:
98c
200rnd loader
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Board
Strengths: Mini drop
Fast
Weaknesses: The trigger is a little heavy.
Review: My friend had just got the max'd and i went over to his house to try it. my 1st reaction was good. i liked the freak barrel and the on/off. i think the body kit is a little too bulky though. but when i shot it, it was very good. the trigger was a little heavy but that wont stop you from rippin it up. he has a xsv vlocity which easily kept up with the gun and after a bag of 500 rounds there had been only 1 ball break. considering we were shooting monster balls that was very good.
Conclusion: This gun is a very good starter for early speedball players and i recommend it to everyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dvdphx Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS
SP Ion (original)
Diablo Wrath
Marker Setup: SP Ion Max'D
Smoke Halo B
48/3000 Crossfire system
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new trigger (must)
anything else it's just optional
Strengths: It has most of the upgrages that you would do to an normal ion
Weaknesses: Trigger, the stock one could be changed too
Review: For a little amount of extra money you get an upgraded ion, you have the 2 pieces freak, the feedneck (the must of any normal ion), the rail with on/off, and a color body kit to match with all of those accesories. The only difference between the new Pro and the Max'D is the body, in both you should feel the improvements far from a regular ion, the consistence of the shooting it's pretty accurate thanks to the barrel, and the other upgrades just make your practice easier.
I believe it's a shortcut for those who are interested in an Ion and are looking for it's upgrades. After purchasing it, you could buy also a new trigger, it's a weakness for a regular Ion, and it's for the Max'D too. A warrior one may be my choice.
Conclusion: Better than an normal Ion, and with more style than an Ion Pro, what else you could ask for? I recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dynasty_fan14 Thursday, February 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmr
(The Max'd was my first gun)
Marker Setup: e-tek with a wave trigger, viewloader velocity, 14in all american barrel, pmi 68ci 4500psi tank, empire tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue board
Strengths: Quietness, ok speed.
Weaknesses: Size and cleaning and repair.
Review: This gun would be perfect for the middle player that has had about a year and a half of play and is looking for alittle more speed for the price. The one thing I love about the Ion is how quiet it is. First time I fired this gun I thougt something was broken. I didn't realize that is was so quiet. The Ion has a good amout of speed to it. The one thing I did not like about the Max'd was its size. It's alittle on the bulkey size but it still worked great for speed ball
Conclusion: My final words are this gun is a good middle player weapon. But it does take a while to clean this
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 15th, 2008 at 5:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cooperk851 Sunday, December 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, tippmans, evil omens, and alot others
Marker Setup: ion, ezon, virtue, halo b with victory, 47/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, bolt is all u really need unless if u play turnments
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed, Weight
Weaknesses: None found yet
Review: This gun is great. I recently attended a christmas party at out local field and i was shooting down guys with Angels, pmr's, and dye's with 5-6 shots. So i was pretty pleased with that. Also u can snap shoot with this gun really good to because it is so light.
Conclusion: This gun is a great entry level gun. Or an upgrade from ur 13 bps sypder to a 17+ bps gun with ramp mode. im giving this a 9 out of 10 because no gun is perferect i just havn't had mine long enough to find out any problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Clinton Wednesday, November 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot which is now my back up gun
Proto Rail witch is my brothers gun
Dye dm6 witch is my other brothers gun

Of course the Ion is going to smoke the Pilot and no it's not as good as the Proto or the Dye but it also cost alot less. With upgrades I believe that it might be as good or better then the Proto but I do not know yet.
Marker Setup: Ion Max'd with a New Designz QEV, Skeleton bolt, Spring ball detent kit and virtue eye.
VL revolution tripod hopper
Freak barrel and insert kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt and QEV
Strengths: Price, quite, upgradeability
Weaknesses: The on/off button is difficult to work with and the trigger bothers me
Review: I found this gun online for about $230. For that price I couldn't find anything better. I bout the bolt and QEV at www.actionvillage.com but not the gun. I think I got the gun from www.zephyrpaintball.com. I believe that this gun is good for the paintballer without a sponsor. I love the fact that there are so many parts available for it. I hate having a gun that looks like everyone else's so I am planing on buying a body kit for it. Now how many guns can u do that to. This gun is worth every penny of its price.
Conclusion: If u don't have a highend gun buy this one, upgrade the hell out of it, and kill everyone in site. I gave it a ten because of price and quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 9th, 2008 at 11:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MOY Sunday, June 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my borthers ion but mine is till btr
Marker Setup: ion maxd
freek jr .693 insert
on/off drop foward
q-lock feed neck
l7 bolt
qev
halo hopper
48/30 hp tank draxxus
nxe tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
a bolt and qev for btr air flow and quietness and some wat increase accrucy

l7 bolt=$50
skeleton bolt=$50
shocktech bolt=$45
fire bolt=$40
qevs= $12-$20
Strengths: In review.
Weaknesses: In review but like none.
Review: the ion maxd is a really good gun , it is fast and accrute with the freek jr. barrel and is air efficant quiet because of bolt l7 bolt and qev. any bolt thats $40 is good but i can say i have a golden bolt! the gun is so accruate then wen i had no glasses on (im need glasses or else its all blurry) and i shot a white cup dead on from like 30 25 or 30 yrds away.1 thing i dont like is that the screws to take a part the gun it is very hard and wen i did it it scarted my gun:( l7 bolt and qev sold speratly This is a really good gun a worth the extra 70$ i payed. and i know i am a very bad speller.
Conclusion: A very good gun and should deffinalty get it if u r a begginer ir a intermediate player.
I mite have missed some other stuff because i had to redo this review 2 times because i accdeitaly clicked this bak button on my mouse.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyderkiller21 Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego6
shocker
Spyders(which suck)
Marker Setup: SP ion
maxd body kit
q lock feed neck
2-Peice freak barrel
All American fronts
CP reg
32 degrees drop forward
virtue qev
Recommended
Upgrades:
Um its great to have a drop if you have a big tank
new trigger
and board many boards out there
T board, luck board, tadao board, blackheart board, Virtue board
Strengths:
For a few dollars more you can get 4 upgrades then a stock ion
Weaknesses: Needs new board
bolt
trigger
reg
abd mabey grips
Review: I got this gun and started to shoot so acurate
i put a stock ion barrel and it was fairly acurate
its fast even with new boards you can get up to 20 bps with a well
lubed fire bolt a qev new trigger and good tank its also great because smart parts has the best customer service
Conclusion: I wouldnt call it cheap and a peice of crap i would call it affordable and awsome
also great for real tornys ive played 5 mini psp and nppl's it stood up to everything i could expect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beastly_ion Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, spyder TL-X, Spyder VS2, and Worr machine EG (piece-o-crap)
Marker Setup: Ion Max'd (stock)
Egg 3 hopper
3000 hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger,
APE board, cause of the easy mode selecting pad or at least a new board in general

Strengths: Firing consistancy (speed, velocity, and accuracy)
speed
wieght
the upgrades from the stock ion
Weaknesses: Stock Trigger is kind of wobbly
i haven't found any others yet
Review: firing consistancy is great, i can put a load of balls into a tight area from a distance. against my friends' vs2 it's amazing, if you are looking into a fast marker within this price range, you should get the ion. the new body kit is great, since "everybody" says they don't want the same-looking marker as all the other guys with an ion, this really sets it apart. i love the locking feedneck, it's great for fitting any hopper, espeacially if you need to switch out real fast. i was looking into the mini and the rail, but i chose the max'd instead cause i want to be able to change it to fit any game type. Overall, just a great marker, i know i haven't used it TOO much yet but i will prob update this review later, when i get more time to use my max'd in all kinds of games.
Conclusion: Get it, if you want a great marker for this price range. it's perfect for the intermediate speedballer and even for woodsball cause it can shoot a good distance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 17th, 2008 at 6:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brillo15 Thursday, March 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS, Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Ion MAX'D, 4500psi tank Empire tank cover, Evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Board CE trigger
Strengths: NEVER BREAKS PAINT
Shoots pretty fast
Pretty light
Comes with mini Drop and clamping feedneck
Weaknesses: Nothing its an Ion
Review: Good gun for Amatures very easy to work and good accuracy. Awsome for runthroughs Shoots far and fast easy to change Velocity. Easy to turn off and on and to take a part. its a 10 in my book. Sweet gun. Ion Ion Ion Ion Ion Ion Ion Ion Ion Ion :)
Conclusion: Awsome gun recomended to all players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media