paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Redz Ion Body / Redz Ion Body / Redz Ion Body / Redz Ion Body / Redz Ion Body

Redz Ion Body Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Redz

Buy Redz Ion Body

Paintball Ion Bodies

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Redz Ion Body
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $75

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
"This new body kit is not just a one-piece body, but a total aesthetic conversion for the Ion , with a new body, a front regulator shroud, and a new, highly styled, 45-degree grip.

The body kit was made using specifications supplied by Smart Parts for reliability and the truest fit possible to the Ion∆s internals and frame. Made of durable composite materials, Redz ensured that the well-known light weight of the Smart Parts Ion would remain intact.

The body itself protects the Ion marker∆s internals, and gives it a distinct, sleek look like no other body out there. The regulator shroud was designed to not just change the looks, but enhance comfort when holding the marker for longer periods of time. Finally, Redz designed a new 45 degree grip that is a work of art in and of itself, sporting Redz∆ Rip-Stripe reference design for 2007. All three parts completely change the look of the Ion."
Product Availability 
The Redz Ion Body is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
BergerFett Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Body Kit
Marker Setup: ION, L6, Hammerhead Barrel Kit, Critical RPM Trigger, Max Flow 88/4500 tank. Halo b, 360 qev, kila detents
Strengths: Its different and comes with reg and grip replacements as well. Great color choices.
Weaknesses: Hard to install at first
Review: Body is very nice. Its very unique and offers the matched sleeve for your reg and a new grip as well.

Great for any ION owner who wants to differentiate themselves from all the other ion owners.

Only problem was you need to really press the breech into the body kit till it snaps in place. after that no problems at all.
Conclusion: A great kid for anyone looking to have a unique ION.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 6th, 2007 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

magicfingerss Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock body kit
Marker Setup: 06 Ion Pro (red)
asa /on /off
ND saw trigger
Total Freak Kit "16 all american" (2 14" freak fronts)
2x 72/3000 psi
halo b w/ rip drive
Strengths: No strengths, looks very nice. not many strengths just a body kit, adds looks.
Weaknesses: Hole alignment, see review.
Review: The product was very well packaged. The only problems i had are as followed.
hole alignment, at fist glance you feel like you got cheated, But wait!!! Its a snug fit. Load the breach and can into the new body as far as you can. Now find a very flat hard surface that wont move. Now without the barrel on, face the gun barrel down onto the hard surface and push hard until you feel the breech move into its new body a little more snug. Recheck holes, good to go. Another thing i found is the body doesnt lay flat with the frame, sand paper and/or exacto knife may be required to smooth it out.
Conclusion: well packaged. Average installation, took me about 30 mins. Looks awesome. I would recommend for anyone looking to change the look of their ion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sparticus1262 Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: ION
Virtue QEV's
DYE BoomStick and CP Barrel
CCM feed neck
EMPIRE LOADER
DXS Tank
Strengths: Three pieces for less than $80.
Weaknesses: Problem with extra plastic in Grip piece. See below.
Review: I purchased 2 kits in Red and Olive for mine an my sons ION. The Olive looks nice because it's not as noticable as the RED unless you are close enough to see it's not the stock body. Easy to put on. the regulator cover is nice because once installed it doesn't spin around. So make sure it's put on where the Chili's face the front before screwing on the regulator.

Noticed that the Olive grip had extra plastic on the inside so when screwed in place it was not flush. Needed to shave it down a bit to fit flush. Gap was large enough for debris to get in. So REDZ needs to do a bit more QC on the pieces
Conclusion: Love it for the price!! Only a 9 because nothing is ever a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 15th, 2007 at 10:11 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CAOL_98 Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Body
Marker Setup: -Red to Black Fade DM6
-'06 Blue Ion Pro w/ ups
Strengths: -Looks
Weaknesses: -Expensive (compard to stock bodies)
-Hole Alignment
Review: Redz has made a very solid aftermarket body kit for the Smart Parts Ion. The overall look is amazing! There are a lot of body kit's out there right now, but this was the only one that caught my attention (aside from Shocktech's and the Dark Ion body.) It is a very simple design, yet it has all the right lines and sculpting to make your Ion look damn sexy!
The build of the body is exceptional as well. It is made of the same material, or very similar material, as the stock Ion bodies. Which basically translates into two great features: 1) Built for wear and tear (no anodize scratches, the material will scratch, but it's harder to notice the belmishes...the great thing about composite materials as opposed to anodized metal.) 2) Lightweight! This will keep your featherlight Ion as slim as possible!
Now for the bad...unfortunatly this body kit is not perfect (looks are very decieving though!) My first peeve is the cost! Crap...for being basically the same materials that they use in the stock bodies, why the hell do this things cost $75! Granted they look damn good, and are a tad more complicated in design, but it's the same idea, rubber and composite....plus it's the same parts you'll get in the stock kit: body, reg sleeve and grips.
My second gripe is the hole alignment. I had to ream the holes in the body for the front two grip frame screws (the one on the bottom and the one that protrudes through the barrel opening into the grip frame.) It wasn't a hard fix, it was just kind of inconvenient and retarded to have to modify a new body kit. Especially since I saw an ad that stated they use the exact specifications that Smart Parts uses to build their kits, so that everything fits the way it should...?????? Someone was asleep at the wheel on my body kit obviously.
FInally, I do not like the grips that come with it. Compared to my stock ones, they look horrible when coupled with the body. I bought the blue kit, and the body is mainly black with blue accents...the grips are black and blue, but have white outlines on everything...it's a minor problem, but it looks goofy...I found that my stock grips that came with my Ion match WAY better...but like I said, it's a matter of preference. Some of you may just trash your stock ones in favor of the Redz...they're very well built..I just think they look odd.
Other then a few "here and theres", there's not much to complain about. This is a very nicely thought out body kit for Ion owners everywhere.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this product. There might be cheaper body kits out there for your money, but there's not many that couple all of the strengths of the stock kit, with quite possibly the best looking asthetics on the market right now. It's a bit of a steep price to pay for what you get, but once it's a permanent part of your Ion, the look alone will justify the expendeture.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nicks-18 Sunday, January 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock
Marker Setup: pepper stick barrel
shockteck dropfoward
cp on/off
trinity feedneck
Strengths: Looks dead sexy
Comes in red
Weaknesses: Hard to get the holes lined up dosent sit flat
Review: Great for the price (got all 3 peaises new for 20) comes in 3 colors. and makes your marker sexy and fun dosent sit flat (imma try sanding it and see what that dose) need more words so l k j h g f d s m n b v g b h f iu t kj t h t g 7 gf i f hyu gf h
Conclusion: Hard to get it to sit flat
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eng0seth Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dynasty Pewter Body kit
Ion Blk Body kit
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Redz body kit - white
All American barrel set
Crossfire 70/4500
Smart Parts on/off ASA
Diablo TSA LED loader
Strengths: Looks sweet
Weaknesses: Regulator Part was a tight fit.
Review: The Redz body kit looks awesome, but the regulator grip piece was hard to get on, it fit on very tight. Also the part of the kit that goes over the bolt chamber doesn't seem to fight down all the way. So you can just barely see some of the internals.
Conclusion: Well if you want an awesome kit that looks sweet get the Redz. Maybe my kit might of been a little warped or something and thats why it didnt fit on great, thats why it gets a 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slimjim12 Friday, March 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: Ion, redz white body kit, white virtue ezON, CP reg, q-lock, CP on-off w/rail, TechT L7 bolt, SP qev, Dye Ultralite 14", centerflag 92/5000, halo B
Strengths: Looks good
A little bit lighter then stock
Grip and reg replacements
Barrel sleeve slot
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Strengths:
Looks good and is unique I get people at the field gathering around my ion :P
Its a little bit lighter then the stock body
Comes with a grip and reg sleeve I dont use the reg sleeve however because I dont use the stock reg.
This goes mainly unnoticed but at the back of the body there is a slot that holds a barrel sleeve on perfectly.

Weaknesses:
Its kindof pricey for a few pieces of plastic with some rubber on it.

Conclusion: I love this body kit it brings attention to my Ion the second I bring it out. Nothing is perfect 9 of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 5:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

huskers25 Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Body Kit
Marker Setup: Standard Ion
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Hole Alignments
Review: Everything is great about it except the front screw hole near the regulator isn't aligned correctly. Although this doesn't affect the performance of the gun, the screw holes should always be aligned. All I did to fix this was take a drill bit and align the holes myself.
Conclusion: I don't know if it was just my body kit in which the holes were not properly aligned. Othere than that i would reccoment this product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IONyourface Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have it its pretty sweet
Marker Setup: ION virtue, vlocity loader, smartparts barrel, and lots of little things...
Strengths: It doesnt affect your game much its just cool looking.
Weaknesses: No weaknesses.
Review: Kinda expensive but it looks amazing when you get it on there, i would still say it is worth it. I bought it a while ago and put it on and i was amazed right away.

I told my friend to buy it he did he got the blue (i have red) i thought the red would look the best but when i saw the blue it looked just as good. I have not seen the green with my own eyes but both the red and blue will make your marker look a thousand times better.
Conclusion: Anyone who thinks it looks bad is a whore!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scherping19 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: --Smart Parts Ion--
*Redz Body Kit
*SP Firebolt
*SP Q-Lock Feedneck
*SP On/Off ASA
*Shocktech Micro Drop Forward
*Empire Reloader B
Strengths: Price
Looks
Quality
Comes with grips
Light
Weaknesses: Had to do some modifying so it would fit right.
Review: Lets start off with the price. For only $75, its good compared to some that are $100+. It could be cheaper, like the SP Ion bodies, but these look hella sweet. It also comes with the foregrip and grips. The only bad thing is that my holes didn't line up. I thought it had to get pushed back more so it'd be flush with the front, but but nope. The body was covering two of my screw holes half way. I just took a drill bit, and made them bigger and cut away some pieces. Im sure mine was probably one of the few that are like this, but its fixable.
Conclusion: Go get it. Great product and it's made by Redz. Looks sweet also. I wish they could have more colors available though.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media