paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Tacamo Camo Paintballs / Zap Tacamo Camo Paintballs / Zap Tacamo Camo Paintballs

Zap Tacamo Camo Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Tacamo Camo Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Tacamo Camo Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Zap® TACAMO camo paintballs are designed for accurate flight and high visibility. They feature durable shells with explosive-colored fill.
Product Availability 
The Zap Tacamo Camo Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Dirtball 0717 Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Heat, Dusk
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath LTD
Egg II
68/4500
Recommended
Barrels:
Whatever you got.
Strengths: few dimples, not a huge seam, fairly cheap @ $35 for 1800 @ Dick's
Weaknesses: They come in a suitcase with 3, 600 round bags, which is a bit odd.
Review: I usually by balls over the internet. I don't trust the local sporting goods stores since I have had bad experiences with buying paint from them (broken balls, balls that have obviously sat around way too long)..... Anyway I decided to go play at the last minute and needed some ammo. I went to my local Dick's expecting to pay way too much for crappy balls and then have to spend half my day cleaning my barrel breaks. When I saw these at $35 for 1,800 I figured it was worth a shot. I must say I was not expecting much. However I was very pleasantly supprised. They shot straight enough to hit what I was aiming at and they broke on target and I don't think I had a barrel break all day.

The fill is average, but the shells are a duller (darker) color (I had green and gold) which I like because they are harder to see in air.

Conclusion: I gotta say, I would buy them again if in a pinch for some ammo. I'll keep buying my paint on-line but I was quite suprised by the performance of these balls. Not bad at all. Solid product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irobotnic Monday, January 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Heat
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Stock Barrel
Halo B
48/3000
Recommended
Barrels:
Doesn't really matter. If you got a barrel kit it's nice to find a good barrel to ball bore.
Strengths: -Flies Nice and Straight
-has a good goey fill
-cheap
Weaknesses: -A few dimples
-some moisture in the bag
Review: Well I got these at Dick's Sporting goods not knowing what to expect. I got a case of 1800 for $35....I got back and tried them out and they were great .....I was very pleased with them.There were a few dimples,but not much at all,and a little of moisture,still not much of a problem....I shot a whole case without any breaks at all. They were pretty good, but you can buy them and decide.
Conclusion: This is great paint for a low price...It's not as great as some of the other stuff,but its still good and priced good for those of you on a low budget....So im gonna give it a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 4th, 2007 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Che Stevini Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil, Zap, Rampage, several others.
Marker Setup: A-5 with an Apex barrel.
Spider Pilot with progressive barrel.
Recommended
Barrels:
Any barrels; these paintballs aren't picky.
Strengths: Cheap, few dimples, resists weather pretty good, good shell.
Weaknesses: Fill isn't the greatest, not the most accurate.
Review: I bought this paint because it was easy to acquire from Dicks Sporting Goods which is right next to where I work. It was the cheapest stuff there so I decided to give it a try. Using it in my A-5 I have had only 1 chop in the 2 years I have been using this paint. My friends use this paint also (at my recommendation) and none of them have told me of any chops.

My biggest problem with this paint is that it is not the most accurate. I'm assuming, though, that some of this inaccuracy may be due to my Apex and the spin put on the balls. This is exacerbated because each ball is slightly out of round.

Besides the inaccuracy my only concern is with the fill, which is a translucent yellow and somewhat hard to see. It's also easy to wipe off (for all those punk cheaters out there).
Conclusion: Overall I would have to say that these are very good paintballs for the price. They come in packages of 1800, which is odd, but this is not a big concern. The quality of the paint itself more than makes up for this oddity in packaging and for it's shortcomings in fill and accuracy.

I must lower the rating somewhat because of the accuracy issues and because there is much better paint on the market.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cerna Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
In this price range, only Recsport, which seems to have slightly better quality and comes in a full case of 2000.
Marker Setup: Z timmy w/ stock bolt
Species LPR (70-75psi)
Macdev Gladiator HPR
Eigenram
Hybrid Adj. Ramcap
Tadao M5 w/ practice settings @ semi-unlim, dwell-10, bolt delay-13, debounce-5, amb-2, cpf-10%)
FBM wave trigger
Kila Detents
Crossfire 68/4500 LP
Reloader B w/ Hybrid shell (speed setting 2)
Recommended
Barrels:
I'm using a Redz Pepperstickz kit. I suggest overboring with these balls using the .693 back. Tried my 14" UL .689 back and these were too tight fitting so the UL got put away. So, I do recommend you have a barrel kit with some larger backs/sleeves to try these out with.
Strengths: Cheap for speedball practice
Weaknesses: Only has 1800 balls per box
Review: I use these balls for practice with the Virginia Tech Speedball Team, which we do on a weekly basis(weather permitting during this winter). I saw these at Dick's and decided to give them a go after I ran out of Recsport. These balls aren't too bad, just try to keep them as warm as you can and you shouldn't have any chopping issues.

There are a few that have dimples in each bag and some that are not sphere shaped, so overboring with a barrel kit helps. I'm not sure why they don't come as a box of 2000, they sell in boxes of 1800 balls which is 3 bags of 600. But, I can't complain since there aren't any decent paintball proshops here in Southwest Virginia.

The fills are pretty thick, yellow in color, and don't leave a residue like some cheaper balls. Shooting was pretty good, I experienced no barrel breaks with the batch I was using and the temperature at the time was around the low 50s.

Overall I'm satisfied with using these for speedball practice and I will continue to use these.

*update from 1/27
Had a bag and a box of these sitting around for about a week(2400 balls). I rolled them around about 3 times a day. Day of play, temp was about 50*F. Kept the balls in my truck where it was a bit warmer. No chops, but I had a handful of barrel breaks. I rotated between a .691 and a .689 back. Went to the larger back when the temp started to drop. I'd say out of the 2000+ balls I shot, I cleaned out the barrel about 8-10 times that day. Some breaks I could shoot through, and a few where I couldn't. Overall not too bad.
Conclusion: Good for practice balls or recball byop fields
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 7:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Graelore Tuesday, August 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Stinger (FPO paint at my local field)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CP Shorty Regulator
Low Pressure Kit
All American Back + Freak Front
Recommended
Barrels:
Only used All-American Back and Freak Front
Strengths: Inexpensive, extremely consistent paint, hard shells, recreational-only paint
Weaknesses: Hard shells, slimy yellow paint
Review: As most reviewers have stated already, this was a one-off purchase for an off-field outting. I split a box with 2 friends for a short couple of games. In addition to my setup above, we shot it through an A-5 with E-Grip, a Custom 98 and a Arakon pistol. All in all, we were impressed with the paint. Nobody broke all ball all night. It shot straight and clean (for a paintball :) ). The downside, noted by everyone who took shots that night, is that shells are noticably harder. On a cool summer evening, it wasn't too bad, but any bare skin shots hurt like hell. Lots of nasty welts from this paint.

Conclusion: For recreational, off-field paint will we buy it again? Sure! The welts and bruises are like battle wounds for us -- but, if you can't bulk up with clothing, make sure we keep ever piece of skin covered. Other than that, it was a good rec ball. It won't make the cut on other paint, but lets you easily split a box 3-ways for less than $20 a piece.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monopoly Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Spank and Vapour
Origin Classics
JT Tactical
Marker Setup: Tippmann Alpha Black tactical 100% stock w/PMI 3000/48cu HPA tank and Viewloader $6 hopper.
Recommended
Barrels:
Any Barrel.
Strengths: Fairly Accurate
Zero Ball chop
Decent superthick fill
No dimples
Weaknesses: Hard shell
dull fill
200balls short of a 2000 Case
Review: Bought these at Wal-Mart and used one case of 1800balls. Comes in 3 bags of 600 which is kinda odd.

anyways these are decent balls as they are fairly accurate and have a gooey snot coloured fill that is a little dull. The paint blends in on enemys camo sometimes and is hardly noticable. The green and brass colour shell is somewhat hard to see in the woods but nothing like the JT tacticals.

I noticed about 1 of approx 8 balls threw a nice curve left or right which is decent. Every enemy i hit the ball broke so maybe i got lucky. was able to score 4 headshots out of 600 balls.
Conclusion: There are better balls out there for cheaper/same price. I recommend trying Zap's Spank brand as they are cheaper in price and seem to break easier. plus the fill is brighter.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBcanadaMM Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
wild streak - terrible
heavy metal - i prefer tacamo because alot of the heavy metal balls i used were mis-shaped and had dimples
premium - better but more expensize
vapor - not quite as good
zap rec series - a bit cheaper but not quite as good, i had quite a few dimples in a case of 1800
cronic - much better, this paint is awesome, but expensive
Marker Setup: custom pro E act
cyclone
20 oz
Recommended
Barrels:
any barrel with a .689 bore... better barrels will always shoot better
Strengths: Price
No dimples
Hard to see
Decent acuracy for the price
Weaknesses: Fill
Dont always break
Hard to see
Not very acurate
Slighty mishaped
Seam
1800 case???
Review: ***THE GOOD***
-price
well these paintballs are pretty cheap, i got them for $45 cdn at walmart
-dimples
out of the 2 cases ive used so far, i havent had any dimples
-hard to see
these paintballs are kinda hard to see so your opponent will never see them coming (or atleast sometimes he wont
-decent acuracy for the price
considering i only paid 45 dollars for a case, they are fairly accurate

***THE BAD***
-the fill
hard to see and there isnt alot of it
-dont always break
i hit alot of people with these but lots of the times they didnt break
-hard to see
hard to see so when your shooting, sometimes it can be abit hard to aim
-not very accurate
i mentioned before that they the accuracy was decent for the price and it is but they still arent that accurate
-slightly mishaped
i put one in my barrel and looked through it while holding it up to a light and you could see light shining in through to sides... so the're kinda oval shaped
-seam
one thing i noticed about these is that the seem was really big on these and would occasionally cause them to curve
-1800 case
kinda ripping you off for 200 paintballs
Conclusion: If your just practicing or goofing around with your buds... these balls are perfect - cheap and kinda acurate.

But if your a hardcore tourney player... i wont not recomend these balls - they dont always break, they have a big seem, and they dont have alot of fill
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

J-R0D Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Draxxus Midnight
-Dynasty
-White Box
Marker Setup: SP Ion
NDZ Composite Trigger
NDZ Feedneck
68/3000 tank
Vlocity Hopper
Evil Detonator Regulator
Recommended
Barrels:
I Used My Stock...
Strengths: -Nice Shell
-No Breaks
-Decent Fill
Weaknesses: -Box Of 1800? C'mon Guys...
Review: Ok, so I wanted to play paintball, but it was on short notice right? So what do I do? I head to Dick's and grab myself 1 case of this stuff. I figured maybe i'd get a break or 2, or maybe it would be Inaccurate....

Boy was I WRONG. This paint was awesome! I bought it for 30 bucks and it's competing with midnight paint. I'm probably going to keep buying this. It bounces if your over like 130 ft away, but if your that far away, don't play paintball...
Conclusion: This Paint Is The BEST For The Price, Go To Dick's n Grab Some.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noclueone Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Whack, tippman werks, marbalizer, impact. Better than some worse than others. It is an accurate paint.
Marker Setup: Viewloader High Voltage with a Carbon Fiber Barrel, with an Ricochet hopper
JT Tac-5 with a sniper barrel
Tippman Custom with e grip and Viewloader evolution 3 hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Smooth bore, medium caliber, Works fine with my rifled barrel
Strengths: No dimples, thick fill, hard shell, very accurate
Weaknesses: The fill needs to be a brighter color.
Review: If you are hit in your mask or on open skin we have had the copper shell cut people. It is not serious but it can damage you goggles if someones pressure is set to high. I love to shoot this ammo but I I hate to get hit by it. It is great for people using rifled barrels and you shouldn't have trouble with balls breaking in your barrel.
Conclusion: If you can catch it on sale or you need paint quick buy it. If you can wait for a delivery order some thing else.I am giving it a seven due the small cuts and abrasions that some of my teammates have experienced.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

earnhardtking3 Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Xballs "visible impact"
Marker Setup: Standard tippmann custom pro, 11 barrel gravity hopper, double trigger
Recommended
Barrels:
none
Strengths: Somewhat accurate
Weaknesses: Fill
Review: When playing by rec rules, you need to have a "quarter sized mark" of paint to be eliminated. It is dificult to eliminate someone when your paintballs dont even have enough paint in them to do so! They arent the most accurate either. There are only 1800 to a case, which is sorta ripping you off of 200 balls.
Conclusion: No good unless you find enjoyment in shooting people and not getting them out...
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media