paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump / Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump / Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump / Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump

Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Chipley Custom Machine

Buy Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 10.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Series 6 is the newest addition to the Chipley Custom Machine line of pump markers. It's another example of CCM's commitment to quality products, and is backed by a lifetime warranty. Comes standard with the Autotrigger system, CCM's new 86 degree gripframe with roller bearing trigger for smoother sear engagement, and a truly cut and carved body. Currently available in dusted black and polished black finishes.
Product Availability 
The Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
rcwillis Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Open Class CCI Phantom- cheaper, work horse marker, stiffer pump stroke and trigger, takes more adjusting to when you first use it
Maverick- good starting pump
Custom built Sniper w/ ccm kit- cheaper, performs well, not as smooth pump, no Autotrigger
Marker Setup: CCM S6, CCM CF barrel kit, 13ci 3000k tank, winchester or sportshot hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A HPA tank, will run on CO2, but HPA gives tighter velocity results. A 13 or 22ci takes advantage of this marker's weight and balances well.
Strengths: Pump stroke
Weight
Consistency
Trigger ergonomics
Looks
Under-cocking
AC threads

Weaknesses: Price
Stock barrel (with the dust black marker only)
Review: Used to shoot a phantom, my teammate picked up a CCM ss-25 and I got a chance to shoot it and loved it. Decided to buy an S6.

First thing you notice is the weight. The S6 is milled very nicely and is far lighter than most snipers I have shot. Without barrel or tank an S6 weighs 2lbs 6 ounces. Through on a 2 oz CCM CF barrel, a small tank and hopper and it still almost weighs nothing.

Next you will notice is that the pump stroke is incredibly smooth. Smoother than any pump I have ever shot before. Without a return spring the gun can be cocked one handed just by shaking the gun back and forth. A return spring is recommended though because if you run chances are the gun will cock itself and you will get double feeds.

Out of the box without adjusting anything I threw on the 13ci and went to the chrono. Shooting decent paint through the CF barrel kit, it was shooting 275 +/-3. I shot it with my 3.5 oz and got +/- 7. Definitely recommend compressed air for this marker.

The 86* frame with inset grips is quite comfy. It may be a little thin for some but I wear gloves and really like the feel of it. The frame angle causes less arm fatigue and it feels more natural to play it tight then my phantom.

With the under-cocking, unlike the phantom, it is very easy to site down the barrel and puts my hand in a more comfortable position to shoot.

Of course this expensive of a pump marker has to look good. CCM did a great job with the milling on the gun and laser engraving. Its in my opinion the best looking pump gun out there short of a few custom milled and engraved markers.

And the marker has Autococker threads so you can use your favorite barrel kit on it. The CCM carbon fiber compliments the looks and the weight of the marker and I also recommend it.

Only weaknesses are the price and the stock barrel on the dust black marker. For a pump gun its very high, but this is the top of the line pump and I believe well worth the price. As for the stock barrel, on the dust black it is a one piece large bore barrel. It may be fine if you can find big paint but most my paint is .684-.686. All of it would roll right out this barrel and I did not get consistency or accuracy. However the gloss colors of the marker come with a 2 piece barrel similar to the CF barrel kit and will probably shoot better.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker for the serious pumper who wants quality, consistency and an overall excellent marker. If you can stomach the price or find one for cheap I would definitely pick it up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007 at 9:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ikey Saturday, December 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
phantom, buzzard, other cocker pumps
Marker Setup: pm6, VSC phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
needs nothing
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Reg has a stupid fitting sticking out the side, makes a fartin noise
Review: this gun is the ultimate open clase pump gun. it has everything.

quality- the best. it doesnt get any better. out of all the guns ive seen since i have started playing, this is on par with the best. out of all teh cockers i have seen, it probably is the best or equal to teh super high end custom ones....then again, it is chipley CUSTOM machine

appearance/first impression

LIGHT! for a full bodied cocker, it really doesnt get much lighter. i would put money on that. BEAUTIFUL! when people say pics dont do it justice, you cant understand till you see one. they are gorgeous. the milling and anoo are FLAWLESS. fit and finish is perfect and in par with the best gun made. oh yeah the grip is very very thin. it has hard plastic panels, and feels ok, but will probably be too small if you have a big hand. i can see some not liking it. i belive it would feel perfect with gloves on.

good stuff

well comes with a ccm on off and rail- quality. bolt is made of light delrin with 2 nub style detends with detend holes cut in teh bolt to reduce wear. it comes with a cmm heli clamp feed, and a ccm reg. good reg, but the fitting sticks out the side right into you hand, which sucks. the trigger is made of delrin, and is VERY light and snappy. easily the best trigger ive ever seen on a cocker. it really doesnt get much better out of teh box. better yet, its adjustable. insane. chipley outdid themselves.

the pump

OMG. this is on par with the smoothest pump ive ever used. this, and a carter buzzard are about tied, and that is saying something. the stroke on this is godly. it puts a phantom to shame. first off, it does not come with a return spring, so its stupidly light and will almost not stay closed unless your hand is on it (if you tilt it back it will almost recock). i find this stupid. we put a phantom spring in there and its still very light and smooth but returns. thre autotrigger works well, but different. when you autotrigger, the trigger actually moved forward and back as you pump, whereas a phantom just stays back. its an odd feeling coming from a phantom. rof is about as good as it gets for pump, and without any spring, probably better. if it was up to me, i would use a phantom spring and cut it so it was pretty darn light but enough to keep the botl closed.

performance

out of the box it was shooting like 270, but the reg wasnt perfectly sweetspotted, and it was inconsistant. at teh middle of the day (couple hundred balls later), we had it sweetspotted. but even after this it made a farting noise. chron was about +/- 8. we gotta get the reg broken in. because of these things and a new gun efficeicny wasnt the greatest, but will get better. not bad, but not tuned cocker like. i think it was like 1200-1300 or so if my estimate is close. i am probably off. with more tuning, and a broken in gun i would imagine it would be better.

Conclusion: This is the ultimate open class pump marker. you can custom build a cocker, but to get the trigger, pump, beauty, and feel/lightness of this gun you will have to spend 500+ and to a lot of custom work. out of teh box, there is no better autococker pump gun. period. i think it would be perfect if the reg didnt have that retarded fitting coming out of the side, but that is minor considering how rediculous this gun is compared to everythin else in this class.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sonnemann Sunday, July 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCM SS-25: essentially a similar gun in a heavier, blockier package. My brother shoots one and it is every bit as quality as the S6, just a little more ponderous.
Various CCM'd WGP pumps: Smooth, but not as impressive as the overall package of the S6. They are much cheaper, however.
Marker Setup: CCM Series 6 [dust black]
CCM .45 frame
Dye Sticky 3 grips
Mini pump handle
.688 Dye Titanium Boomstick w/ 15" CiP front
AKALMP Sidewinder [short]
CP micro rail/ASA
Macdev 68/45 w/ Myth reg
WInchester hopper w/ pod lid
Recommended
Upgrades:
.45 frame, depending on your preference
Barrel sizers, though electrical tape/nail polish do the same job...
Paintballs
Strengths: Light
Pretty
SMOOTH
Generally a stunning machine
Weaknesses: I will edit this review in the unlikely event that I encounter any.
Review: I received this marker [used] not really knowing what to expect. I had previously been a Nelson man myself [still own one Buzzard] and didn't know what to make of the California obsession with Snipers. I am happy to say that this is, hands down, one of the finest paintball markers with which I have ever come into contact.

Beginning with the basics, it is exceedingly light. That's not an unusual feat for a pump, but CCM really spared no mercy with the mill, and the S6 is shaved down to the proverbial bone. However, it still looks really, really good. And on a personal note, FIE on those who blaspheme the S6 with half- or mid-blocking. Sacrelige doesn't cover it.

Airing it up and strapping on tank/hopper/barrel is uneventful, again not so unusual for a pump...but nice. My setup [see above] balances nicely, and a number of configurations are possible. I have tried both the .45 and 86* frames; both are exceedingly well-designed and will form-fit into your hand with ease. I personally prefer the .45 frame [my vert frame career ended on a sour note with my IR3 back in the day] but the stock 86* is more than adequate for most people's tastes.

Pumping is almost literally effortless. I cannot overstate the smoothness of the pump stroke. Sterlings beware! Without a spring it can be easily cocked with a casual flick of the wrist; with the CCM spring [definitely worth $4 shipped from eBay] the bolt is held closed while running, and shooting without holding the pump handle won't sacrifice a lot of velocity, but the pump stroke is still as smooth as ever. Also, I might note, the mini pump handle [which I believe is stock now on S6s] is a better choice than the old CCM handle, just for weight purposes.

The trigger pull, thanks to a very smooth roller operation and the delrin trigger, is very snappy and clean. This is definitely an area where I think the CCM design really shines; I have shot other non-CCM Snipers, and no matter how much you tune a slider, in my honest opinion it simply cannot stand up to the CCM feel.

The shot itself is my favorite part of the marker. There are no traces of hammer bounce whatsoever. Gone are the days of embarrassingly flatulent shots; the sound signature is nothing but a solid, immensely satisfying CHUNK, followed by the even more satisfying sight of seeing your ball land on your opponent.

Maintenance is foolproof. Construction and quality are top-notch. Engineering bonuses and appreciated tweaks abound [screw slots for frame removal, including countersunk frame screws. Scooped-out pump guide for weight reduction. Intimidator/Spyder detents. The list goes on.]

I could write for days about this marker. I simply love it to death and given the option would shoot nothing else for OC pump play. It has earned a permanent spot in my gearbag, and is my go-to choice almost every day I play. As Ferris once said, "If you have the means, I highly recommend it."
Conclusion: The review rules say, "Be critical. Nothing is perfect." I usually agree, but this is one of the rare exceptions to that rule. The S6 is everything you could ever want in a paintball marker. Drop whatever you're doing, sell everything you own, and buy an S6. No matter how you were living previously, you will be a happier person.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 13th, 2008 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slowerpig81 Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom-This is what I own and I love this marker dearly, it's a great gun for the price. However, it is a Nelson and you can't really compare them to LP cocker pumps because of the springing. Still, when broken in, Phantoms have nice smooth pump strokes, just not as light as the S6.
CCM Tube gun (no official name yet) pre-production loaner model (not prototype)--I tried this gun at SPE 09 directly from Melissa's lovely hands. Although I prefer the S6's looks to this, I would prefer this gun in play because it is halfblocked and therefore much shorter from the back of the grip. You can play tighter. Only disadvantage I saw with this configuration was that it had slightly more blowback because there is less mass attached to the bolt (no backblock). This is not a problem if you hold the pump handle.
Marker Setup: RF Black CCI Phantom
14" stock barrel
Vertical 3.5oz CO2
Winchester 50rnd hopper
CCI L-stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, unless you want a different barrel. The stock CCM kit is as good as it really needs to be, and I like the taper of the current front.
Strengths: Light/smooth pump stroke
Looks
Weight
Low noise
Easy on paint (low pressure)
Great trigger
Weaknesses: None
Review: First of all, I do not own this marker, I wish I do but it's currently out of my price range. This is the smoothest and lightest (stroke) pump I have fired, although it ties with the CCM Tube gun. The epic smoothness of this gun comes from the low pressure springing, dual guide pump kit, and tight manufacturing tolerances employed in making this gun. It is a very high pleasure to shoot this gun. The autotrigger kit is a great feature of this gun, allowing both a high rate of fire achievable and idiot proof cocking. If you have used an un AT'd cocker pump, you may know that if you pump right after you shoot, and you still have the trigger pulled at the back of the stroke, the hammer won't cock. This is never good, as it requires you to either remove your hands and pull on the cocking rod, or in the case of a halfblock, pump again and double feed. The AT cam prevents this by resetting the trigger. The trigger is pushed all the way forward at the back of the pump stroke, making sure that the hammer cocks every time. It also allows you to keep pressure on the trigger and pump as fast as you can. When I played with this gun didn't use this feature much, since you can shoot this gun quite fast without even keeping pressure on the trigger. It is just so easy to let out a short burst. In fact, you can even sometimes slap the pump handle at the right rhythm and get it to cycle very fast, fast enough that you could mistake it for a semi. The feedneck on this gun is very nice looking and works well, it is clamping. I'm not a centerfeed person, but if you are used to centerfeed this gun will be a dream. I never broke a ball shooting this gun, as it's low pressure (around 3-400 PSI) and very nice on paint. This gun is quiet, and there was no burping/farting to be heard. The 86 degree frame comes with inset delrin panels, and is a great angle. If you want more meat, you can purchase Hogue rubber wraparounds for the CZ75 handgun, these fit on this grip. The .45 grip is just as fine, I also prefer Hogue rubber 1911 wraparounds on this.
Conclusion: This gun is truly top of the line for a pump marker. I recommend it to anyone that is looking for an open class pump, and has the cash.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tanongi Sunday, December 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halfblock Vertical Feed WGP 2K+ Sniper, Halfblock Trilogy Sport Sniper, Halfblock CCM S5, Superstock Sniper, ANS GX-5 Sniper, Carter Buzzard, Redux etc.

There are too many markers to name so lets just say I've used ALOT of different snipers and pump markers.
Marker Setup: CCM S6 Right-Feed Prototype, Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper, 13/3000 ci tank, stock new style CCM barrel, stock CCM regulator, CCM Mini-Drop Rail, .45 "Thin" CCM Trigger Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no specific upgrades, you'll only want to change the barrel or regulator if you have a person favourite.
Strengths: Lightweight
Consistent
Accurate
Comfortable
Beautiful design
Easy dissasembly
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: Aquiring:

Might as well do a review on service also since this is my first review.

When I contacted Melissa from CCM about obtaining an S6, she replied quickly with only 1-2 day gaps between emails, sometimes even just a couple hours. Luckily, I was able to get her to dig in the "storage" for them to pull out one of their unsold right-feed prototypes. As we replied, she took all requests for certain parts and specific tid-bits that I wanted. Specifically a Smoke Pump Handle, .45 "Thin" CCM Trigger Frame, and a CCM Mini-Drop compared to the standard CCM Rail. After all arrangements and payments were made, the S6 arrived in a short three weeks time.

First Impressions:

I recieved the S6 in a well packaged box with very little assembly required. The regulator needs to be attached and the rail and On/Off need to be fit to your own likings. CCM provides their stock barrel along with one sizer or more if requested and of any size you need. Once these three things are attached it's field ready with no adjustments needed.

First test; as I anxiously put it together, I equipped it with a 13/3000 ci tank and a Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper along with Draxxus Hellfire Bronze paint. Shooting over a chronograph, there was a high level of consistancy. Each shot would be around 280 FPS with each shot varying in +/- 2 FPS. A near perfect level of consistancy; when testing the regulator with a gauge, it read a little over 300 PSI and there was no need for adjustment.

Lubing the guide rods and trigger before the testing gave it a slick as ice smoothness. Every pump stroke was made with no resistance and the return was just as quick without any catching. Each stroke made a full return making it very easy to use the Auto-Trigger. Pulling the trigger was sleek, no more no less, just perfect. The return spring inside the pump handle would make an annoying "squeek-squeek" noise every pump stroke but is easily fixed by just wearing it in.

In Play:

It first met the field at a Scenario called "Tippmann Challenge" at the Tswassasen TPG field located on the western coast of British Columbia. Throughout the entire day, I never once had to change bore sizes or dissasemble the S6 for maintanence. On a full 13/3000 ci tank, it would get as many as 150 shots, needing to refill, a not so common task. It shot as straight as you would think a $600 marker would. GREAT. Not once did I ever have problem due to a ball "not flying straight" or had a single barrel break.

Continued Use:

During the pump event at BCPPL 08' I finally had a chance to test the Auto-Trigger. I shall say it is the smoothest and most comfortable Auto-Trigger you can use. Holding down the trigger and tapping the pump handle in a rhythm will give you a steady stream of 4 BPS for those tight situations. One player attempted to do a run through on my partner, I instantly turned and put 5 into him with no problems. It's just that easy to use.
Conclusion: If you are dedicated to pump, or just have the money to drop, I recommend the CCM S6 for the ends-all sniper.

(I'll post pictures as soon as I can)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 7th, 2008 at 4:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

devinslawsby Sunday, January 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
s5
cocker pumps
Marker Setup: hyper 2 reg
sp asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg
Strengths: Accuracy
Auto trigger
sexy
Weaknesses: Reg
Review: this gun is pure sexy its accurate as hell and looks great. it is by far the best pump I have ever owned. there is really nothing wrong with it accept the reg leaks accasonally. the matanence on the gun is very very very easy and anyone can do it. it is also very reliable.
Conclusion: U buy now
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media