paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / bOO-yAAH ELCD / bOO-yAAH ELCD / bOO-yAAH ELCD / bOO-yAAH ELCD / bOO-yAAH ELCD

bOO-yAAH ELCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount bOO-yAAH

Buy bOO-yAAH ELCD

Paintball Automag Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


bOO-yAAH ELCD
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Modes of fire: Full-Auto, TurboFire, Semi-Auto, BurstFire, Non-Fire Safe mode
Shot rate: 5-15 shots per sec
Countdown and countup timer
Shot counter
Patent pending, removable trigger guard
Product Availability 
The bOO-yAAH ELCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Dees_Troy Sunday, February 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
For automag, none. Spyder e-frames and Black Dragun.
Marker Setup: Z-body mag, Z-vavle on/off, Hurricane regulator, foamie bolt, 32 degrees 68/4500 air tank
Strengths: Rubber grips on the ELCD have a good feel to them, not much need for DYE stickies or whatever you like here. LCD screen is back lit, however I prefer the larger "green" LCD of the Dragun. Menu system is very easy to use and the ELCD has a lot of options not found on other electronic frames.

You can make this product work. In the bad section I'll go over what doesn't work and why. Here, you'll find what I did to fix the ELCD.

First off, I take no responsibility for any damages caused by anyone attempting this modification. This modification is risky. The modification will run your ELCD out of specifications and may damage the ELCD and could possibly cause it to explode. Also, even if the ELCD works with this modification, this modification may reduce the life of your ELCD.

My ELCD needs more than a single 9V battery to operate. Most likely, yours will too. I did install the ELCD on/off and the clear plastic bumper for the bolt, but for me, this still was't enough. At radio shack you can purchase a bag of 9V battery harnesses. The bag should come with 5 of them, but you will only need 3. If you aren't good with a soldering iron, you may want to purchase some wire butt connectors, but these will be bulky compared to soldering. Take 3 of your 9V battery connectors and wire them up in series, red wire to black wire, red wire to black wire, red wire to black wire. Be sure to tape over the connection you made with electrical tape to ensure that you do not short out your ELCD. Finally, install 2 9V batteries on 2 of the 3 9V connectors and plug the 3rd connector directly to the battery plug on your ELCD. You should be able to fit one of the 9V batteries inside the frame in the normal battery spot. I ran the ELCD's battery connector and the other 9V battery through the top of the rubber grip, and, for my one day of playing, simply taped the 2nd battery and other wires to the gun. Eventually I hope to find a more permanent home for my other battery.

In my case I used 2 NiMH batteries that provided a final voltage of 16.8V to the ELCD. Each NiMH battery was outputting 8.7V before installation. I do not recommend that you use 2 of the NiMH batteries from the ELCD itself as when these are fully charged using the car charger, they put out 12V each, giving you 24V when plugged into your mod.

For those more handy with a soldering iron, you may wish to replace the 10V, 6800uf capacitor on the ELCD with one that can withstand more than 10V. If the capacitor on your gun explodes or leaks, so long as the leakage does not damage the rest of the internal parts, you could find someone to replace it later down the road, should it ever need it.

Personally I have used this mod for one day, and one day only. After 600 shots my ELCD had not missed firing once when I pulled the trigger and worked without any damage to the ELCD. Long term use may eventually damage the ELCD, but it is a risk I am willing to take.

Other possibilities for mods would be a step-up transformer. To save on weight on your marker, you could buy larger batteries, such as two 7.2V RC car batteries and wear them on your belt kind of like a remote coil system. With additional effort you could even use the belt mounted batteries to power an electronic hopper and really cut down on your gun's actual weight. Batteries mounted on your belt like this would also last a very long time, good for those 12 to 48 hour scenario games where you would be carrying your gun around a lot and, no matter how strong you happened to be, would eventually make your arms sore.
Weaknesses: My ELCD does not operate with a standard 9V alkaline battery at all. The instructions to clearly state that the battery included with the ELCD, once fully charged, actually puts out about 12V. I found with mine that unless the battery was putting out at least 10.5V, the ELCD had large difficulties with firing the gun every time I pulled the trigger. At 9V, I had to pull the trigger 3 or 4 times in semi-auto mode before the gun itself would fire. Even with the included battery fully charged to 12V, I found that the ELCD would still occasionally not fire when I pulled the trigger. See the "good" section for simple instructions on how to modify your ELCD to take 2 9V batteries.

Some users may find the ELCD frame to be too wide for their hands. There are no after-market grips for the ELCD.
Conclusion: Once I got my ELCD firing on every trigger pull, it was a great product. I don't really recommend this product unless you find it for a good price and are willing to put a little effort into making it work. Realistically, the ELCD should simply be plug and go, but the 2 ELCDs I have seen were not. Still, doing a 2 battery mod is easier for me than paying even more for a Hyperframe or an e-Mag.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zdmechanic Wednesday, December 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder e-frames, Hyperframe
Marker Setup: -AGD Automag, ReTro valve, ule warp left body/ warp feed
-Bushmaster 2k w/modified ram
Strengths: -Increased rate of fire
-Optional firing modes
Weaknesses: -Bit uncomfortable/No alternate grip choices
-Does not work well without ULT
Review: I bought this because I was looking for an alternative to get my automag to shoot full auto without tinkering with the reactive trigger. First off, this may cause problems with classic valves and RT valves because the solenoid will not have sufficient strength to trip the sear. The easiest way to overcome this is to install AGD's ULT trigger. Not a bad upgrade as is, allowing the trigger pull to be easier, but it is almost nessisary with this frame. I installed my ULT with 4 shims so that it would not short stroke, and I was not worried about the trigger running away due to the way the frame works. Needless to say, the frame works GREAT with that setup. I run it with an Emag valve and level 10 bolt, and I have not chopped a paintball at all, even running the frame at full auto/15 balls per second.

Granted the cycle rate is only up to 15, but that's more than enough for me. The programming is extremely simple, and even without instructions I was able to figure it out the first time I held it. You can adjust the burst rate between 2 cycles and 12 cycles, as well as it has a timer and shot counter that can be reset. It does come with a charger and 9 volt battery, but when I bought it used it only came with a 9 volt, and so far it seems to do fine on batteries. I have yet to replace the battery after playing a few scenario games, so seems like any spyder e-frame.
Conclusion: Great alternative to buying an Emag, building a Pneumag or trying to get that sweet spot RT effect. It is picky on using a valve with a ULT for best performance, which I think is a downfall, but once you set it up with one it'll work great. I'm happy to have one! I give it an 8/10, because if it was as advertised then it should work with ALL valves, not just once with a ULT.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dover Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Non-electro:
AGD stock A.I.R. valve and ReTro valve

Electro:
Center Flag Products - Hyperframe
Marker Setup: I'm a poor hardcore gun whore, seventeen (17) markers and counting:

PMI Trracer w / 12 gram quick changer
DYE DM4 dust black
WDP Angel LED 1999 gloss black
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long Ironmen, Trilogy, 2 x E1, E2)
3 AGD AutoMags (A.I.R., ReTro, RT Pro)
2 JT E-Excellerators (gloss black, LE dust gold)
2 SP Ion (ShockTech Ion, Ion XE)
2 Invert Mini (ninja gloss black, LE dust olive)
Strengths: 1. Easy to use
2. Four Modes
3. Fast
Weaknesses: 1. Takes special batteries
2. Hard to find
Review: I had to fiddle around with this for less than a day! I bought it used, no charger, no special rechargeable battery, no box, no manual, no nothing, just the frame, for $100 USD shipped, and only cost the guy $4.65 to ship USPS from Knoxville TN to Vancouver BC Canada!

At first I tried setting it up with a stock AGD E-Mag stainless steel polished vertical feed high rise body, but the sear wouldn't line up properly, I will try again.

Right now my setup is:

Boo-Yaah ELCD Mag grip
AGD rail custom anodized gray
AGD pre-star A.I.R. valve w/DL Hurricane & LX
AGD ULT Kit
Some black foregrip
Air America rail
Benchmark on/off ASA
ACI QDSC
Conclusion: If you can find this and like tinkering with your big boys toys, it is hella fun. BUY IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 8th, 2008 at 2:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bob8288 Tuesday, July 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock mag trigger
Marker Setup: minimag w/ lvl 7
ans phase 2
68 ci 3000 psi
sp all american barrel
drop forward
12v revvy
Strengths: ROF is insane
The trigger is a mouseclick
Weaknesses: Big cheap looking grips
Long charging time
No wall charger
No manual
very sensitive trigger
Review: I got this with the minimag as my second marker off a fried. he had never used the grip and it was still in box. It came with the car charger, an on off assembly and a spacer. The installation was pretty easy. Except some people dont realize you must seperate the trigger rod from the sear and replace your existing on off assembly with the one they packaged. Besides the trigger guard scratching my regulator i had no problem with setup. I put the charger in it and expected it to be ready in 3 or 4 hours. I come back to the car and find that it isnt even half way charged. So i let it stay chargin over night. The next morning i gas it up and take it to the backyard. I tunr it on and rest my finger on the side of the trigger frame. I hear a click and a pop and soon discovered it fired. This thing is sensitive. I could push on the side of the trigger and it would go off. But it rips. I set the full auto to 12 bps with a full hopper and ripped. It was a solid stream. The last shot however chopped. However i think that was because of blowback and the 12v revy wouldnt keep up. This thing can hit 16 if you have the right setup Overall though this thing ripped for me.
Conclusion: I've heard negative things about it but for me it worked perfectly and i have never had any problems accept for the time it takes to charge.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sven van poppel Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock trigger frame- this shoots faster
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Classic
bOO-yAAH ELCD
Dye Ironman Boomstick
12v Revvy
Nitro Duck 68/3000
Strengths: speed
short pull
light
comfy grips
Weaknesses: price
battery life
Review: Well the only reason I have one of these is because I got one with my whole setup except my nitro for $200. I can rip on semi-auto 10bps it is so easy to do. This trigger has really impressed me. The grips are very comfortable to me. Many people do not like the grips. My hands are much larger than the average males so maybe that is why I like them. I took the trigger guard off because that was quite uncomfortable and did not give my fingers a full range of motion. When this frame works it is extreme fun. It is very delicate though. I put my gun together wrong and bent the on/off pin. This was a major pain because bOO-yAAH and MAKO are now out of business so I thought I was screwed. I went to my local paintball store to see if he knew how to fix it and he said I was out of luck. WHen i got home I straightened it as best I could but it would not fit through the solenoid. After some gentle filing and sandpapering I managed to get the pin perfectly straight again. It slid throught the solenoid effortlessly again. When I finally got the frame assembled again it worked. I was quite happy. I doubt many people would be lucky as me if they bent the pin as bad as I did. If you are not the extremely careful type then definitely do not purchase this.
Conclusion: Overall I like this product. It is rather delicate though. Since they are out of business, i would not spend a great deal of money on these frames. They are nice if you can come by one cheap or if you are an electronics wizz.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TrebolSUD Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None(Electronic Grips)
Marker Setup: 68 Classic
Strengths: Fast shooting, mouse click trigger pull
Weaknesses: Have to really work on it to get it to operate correctly.
Review: This grip is really a great grip. It takes a while to get it working, but once it is working, WATCH OUT! The mouse click tirgger pull is super light and easy to pull. When letting a friend hold my gun, he rested his finger on the trigger and almost shot his foot.
I have not really found a problem with battery draining as the other have found. I play from 9am to 4 or 5pm every Saturday shooting about 1500 balls during that time and the gun keeps up.
The only problem that I was having with tthe gun when I first got it was the bolt was sticking. After changing bolts to a Level 10, there have been no bolt problems whatsoever.
Conclusion: I reccomend this grip to anyone that is willing to take a little time out to work on the trigger. You may get made fun of and picked upon the first few times of you showing up at the field and your gun breaking down, but once you have the trigger fine tuned those sounds of laughter and scoffing becomes sounds of praise and worship.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

luckymf7 Wednesday, December 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
umm nothing i jsut bought this hoping for the best electro mag ever lol it is*
Marker Setup: mag,booyaah,kapp red grip,cp drop red,cp barrel red, warp red, 12volt red, and much more!!!
Strengths: this thing is the best grip i think most peeps say it is trash then give it to me if your going to throw it out!! umm i started out with a broken one from some kid in on pbnation. and i put it on it didn't fire right it was all f up. it came with a few different parts as in valve parts. i mixed it up with all the peaces he gave me i found out you had to use a brass valve with four holes in it on the sides and a little steal disk and a small valve body and pin. if you want give mako a call and the can give you the hole set up for 12-15$ SHIPPED nice!! thats a big broblem will peeps as its not fireing right. Also my board was cracked he put the wrong size screws in the gun frame lol so i order a new 4.0 board insted of the old 3.1 or what ever nice! also there is little wires in there and can break easy!!!!!! i broke mine so i order a new wire connector out of mako it was the little one with the white peace at the end that connects to the main board*. also some peeps say they have a problem witht the solenoid ,i didn't just oiled it up a little and was fine. umm thats about it.
Weaknesses: bad the charger is bad i went and bought a wall charge for it i think an angel one or something at my loacal store. the rubber grip is nice but thats the only one they make for it i want a color one*. the battery that came with it die a few days ago o well. i hate the trigger gard but you need it for tournys don't know why? umm thats about it
Conclusion: its nice if you know how to fix stuff*
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Front_player Saturday, August 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
HyperFrame
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Classic, J&J 12 Inch Ceramic Barrel, 32 Degrees Flame Drop Forward, Viewloader 9 Volt revvie

Blue Bushmaster B2K, Dye Ultralite Barrel, Dye Sticky Grips, Viewloader 12 Volt Revvie W/X-Board, TKO Cradle
Strengths: Well if you can get htis product to work it is a lot of fun to shoot, the trigger pull is extremly short.
Weaknesses: Oh boy, here it is from the top. It comes with very vague instructions, if you have a drop forward you have to make sure u have short screws into the fme otherwise itll break. u have to break your sear inorder for it to hit the selinoid, if it doesnt hit the selinoid u have to get the selinoid shimmed, the mako tech line is ran by people who nkow about as much about the frame as you do.
Conclusion: Dont by the product unless you have a lot of time on your hands, patitence, lots of nine voltbatteries, lots of money, and you can speak IDIOT from the mako techline, get the hyperframe insted.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doink Monday, August 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Boo-Yaah, Crossfire 3000PSI 68 ... Smart Parts 12"
Strengths: WHEN the Boo-Yaah works it's awesome ! It has lots of fireing modes. The trigger is so good that you don't even need the firing modes. You can almost shoot as fast as you want .. As said: WHEN it works, this product rocks.
Weaknesses: How make this work ? I tried for 1 year, could not manage to do it. There is few people which is happy about this product because when there is problems it's hard to fix it.

I sent it in to AGD tech crew and told them to do their best to fix it.
They made a new lvl 10 upgrade or something and changed a few parts.
It paid about 130$ to get this.

When I got the marker back I when outside to try it. I wasted 1000 balls with 10-15 balls/sek with not a single ballbreak. After this I shot almost 10.000 balls, I haven't seen a single ballbreak after this upgrade.

AGD Tech crew rules! The Boo-Yaah product without AGD sucks !!!
Conclusion: If you wanna buy this. Send it right away to AGD and make them do all upgrades neccesary on your automag !! They are worth it !

I only give this a rating of 3 because of all the problems and extra costs.
But when it finally works, I will give it a 8-9 ... Beucase of a little cheap grip and the lousy battery charger.

But now I'm more than happy =)
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ccm270 Monday, August 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: minimag, 68 3000 pure energy, smart parts AA
Strengths: Lots of features, and firing modes wich got me excited and pumped for the next time i was goin out. Nice lookin Lcd screen and compatability with regular 9v batts.
Weaknesses: Ok...The first problem i had was with the screws not lining up with the body itself. So after about 10 minutesof manhandling this thing i got it in. After charging for about 20 hours i gassed it up and went out in my backyard to try it out. Nothin! So I rechecked everything on it to make sure there were no Xtra parts anywhere. I found nothing else around my workbench. So I took it back and sent it in to Mako. About 3 MONTHS later I got a call from Mako saying they manufactured a new valve and new internals for the frame itself. That being all fine and dandy the installation was a pain but I expected that after the frist time I installed it now It works.
Conclusion: DO NOT BY THIS EVEN THOUGH MINE WORKS DO NOT THIS UNLESS YOU WANT A $200 HEADACHE!!! Now that being said buy the storm trigger intead eventhough they are both mako products the storm is better. or go for the hyperframe. I'm Givin it a four cuz it works now
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media