paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sterling Stock Class STP / Sterling Stock Class STP / Sterling Stock Class STP / Sterling Stock Class STP

Sterling Stock Class STP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sterling

Buy Sterling Stock Class STP

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sterling Stock Class STP
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 5
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $330

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
With an unrivalled tournament pedigree and years of field use behind it, the Sterling is without a doubt, The classic pump gun. Now manufactured on our state of the art CNC machines, the Sterling has been modernised with build quality in mind. With updated internals, the Sterling now delivers unprecedented performance and reliability.

The Sterling is back, better than ever...The Sterling series of pump.

Comes with a 12 gram changer, stick feed, hopper feed neck, and bottom line. Takes Spyder threaded barrels for easier barrel selection.
Product Availability 
The Sterling Stock Class STP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
MecTurtleCocker Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many Sterlings,
CCI Phantom,
Snipers,
PGPs,
the list goes on..
Marker Setup: Turtle Autococker Half Block Custom Milling and Anodization
All Turtle Internals
All Belsales Front Block Pneumatics
Nickel Palmer's Pursuit Shop Fatty Regulator
WGP kaner Kit
KAPP Reflex II Nickel Hinge Frame
Dye Stickies 3
Halo B (Overkill on a mech cocker, but who cares? Its off my other gun anyway...)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really needed, or available.
Strengths: Beautiful
Well built
Twelvie changer can be put in HSC or VSC setups.
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I just bought one of these because I love Sterlings, and thought that this one was beatiful.

It arrived in a rather fancy looking box..I don't know why, I mean, this gun isn't for children who love shelf appeal....Silly to waste money developing a pretty box.

Well, I cracked it open, and started foaming at the mouth. I sat there for at least 5 minutes staring at the beautifully done anodization, and the sleek look.

After I was done making a salivary mess, I took it out of the box, threw on the feed tube and the twelvie changer in a VSC setup, grabbed some paint, and my 3.5er, and headed into the yard.

From the first pump, I was in love. It was smooth, not quite as nice as a broken in Phantom, but smooth. The stroke was fairly light, being a Sterling. I shot off about 200 paintballs, draining my 3.5er. Efficiency is much like a Phantom.

Recently, I took it out to play speedball with. It performed flawlessly, and did it in style. I really do like the looks of this gun. I had no issues of reliability, pinching, or leaks. I have only put about 6 hours of playing into this gun, and can not completely accurately review it, I will update this review when I get some more use on it,
Conclusion: While pricey, it is a quality Sterling, and provides a chance for us Sterling lovers to get in on the Stock Class fun. 9 because it is a good $100 more than the Phantom, and doesn't perform a whole lot better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

medic49675 Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
OLD sterling stp, bbt, and bronze
Hammer 2
Insert nelson based pumps here
snipers
pps and sheridan pumps
P mags
If it has a pump and shoots paint I have tried it out at least if not owned it.
Marker Setup: *** PTP microsniper SC
*** Punishers p98sc convertable feed (This one has been stolen by punisher customs avoid them)
*** Tribal ADDICTED 2.2
*** Pump minimag
*** splatmaster times 4
*** pumped spyder se
*** sniper 2 03 with ccm goodies
*** Spyder se
*** NEW sterling stp times 2
*** CCI Phantoms times 2
*** Bonebrake BKO
*** action markers diadem times 2
*** kapp flame snipers times 2
*** carter buzzard

All run with female PPS stab regs and either 13/3000 or 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you want to run open class pump or modified stock then you need either the hawaiian style or a bottom line for he vsc style and a tank.

Good barrel kit is a must.
Strengths: Functional auto trigger
spyder threads for barrels
consisant
interchangable feeds
detent
Weaknesses: Umm color options are limited. I'd like dual detents.
Review: I have been pumping paintballguns since before there was another option. I always liked the old style sterlings, but they ended up needing detents added and barrels were always hard to find to darn near impossible in recent years. In recent years when true stock play made a comeback there was no sc version of the old sterlings.

NOW enter into the scene the new sterling. With a moderate price tag noe than a basic phantom or sniper but less than a CCM or something custom. All I can say about this version of the sterling is WOW.

It has all the good of the old ones.
Buttery smooth pump stroke
functional autotrigger
consistancy
compact size
light weight

PLUS they fixed the issues with the old ones
Stock with a detent
Spyder threads for barrels

And they added MORE

stock with 12g changer
Stock with convertable feed system


SO right now you are asking, as most people do, "What do you mean functional autotrigger? My ccm, pps, maverick and or phantom pump has an auto trigger."
Yes they do but do they work? Can you put ball after ball in close proxinity? In my experience no. The single tube nelsons have to heavy of a pump stroke and to little mass so when you pump you pull way off target. Making the auto trigger pretty useless. The ccm, snipers and pps guns can have autotriggers. But, it'll cost you Quite a bit more, on a sniper or CCM. The pump strokes on these can be light enough and guns heavy enough to stay on target when pumping, but when you pump them the cam action of the auto trigger moves the trigger and thereby your entire gun. Not as much as with one of the single tube nelsons but enough to make that quick follow up shot pretty useless. The sterling has a roughly nelson based valve so no trigger movement on pumping just enough mass to keep the gun on target when pumping and super light pump stroke. THAT IS A FUNCTIONAL AUTO TRIGGER. I can put a revy full of balls into a gogle sized spot at 90 feet with good paint and 13 cuin hpa for a stock. In less than a minute with the sterling. Try that with any other gun you can buy new for around 300 bucks. It aint gonna happen. Now when you are talking rec pump play ROF is not an issue but doing that with "rapid fire" means that the consecutive shots are also consistant in accuracy and velocity. That means when you pop off that one shot you will have all the consistancy and accuracy you need and if you get into a tight spot and need the autotrigger you might still hit something with it.
Conclusion: If you are buying a new pump, this is what you want. Haveing used everything on the market I will say with confidence that this is THE best out of the box pump available.

Wish I could give it a 15 of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cacophony Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
1) CCI Phantom
2) Sheridan P-12
3) Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: Primary weapon: Tippmann A-5 with Special Ops commando stock & A-5A2 foregrip; Smart Parts Freak Back with Hammerhead Pro Tip front barrel; Simmons 40mm red dot scope; JCS dovetail-to-weaver offset rail; PMI coiled remote line with slide check; Palmer Pursuit inline stabilizer; PMI 72cu/3000psi HPA tank.

Alternate Primary: CCI VSC Phantom with 45 grip, White Wolf Airsmithing Stealth 11" barrel & trigger shoe, ball detents.

Secondary weapon: Tiberius Arms TAC-8 pistol with 3 extra magazines.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit
Strengths: 1) Accuracy
2) Air efficiency
3) Customizable
4) Smooth pump stroke
Weaknesses: 1) No sight rail
2) Few aftermarket products (except barrels)
3) Hawaiian adapter not included
Review: I've recently joined in the ever-growing trend back toward old-school paintball: pistols and pumps. One of my teammates is a police officer who teaches at the academy. He brings out his cadets to the field to play on Saturdays. To promote realism, we have started using pistols and pump guns to simulate (and stimulate) tactical combat. I had my CCI Phantom to dust off, but I had heard good things about the Sterling STP (the older model) and wanted to try out this new offering from Arrow-Precision (AKA Sterling).


SETUP:

The Sterling Stock Class (SC) STP arrived in a well-designed box printed to look like a metal gun case. While I agree with the other reviewer that the print is entirely superfluous, I think it was a nice touch from a marketing perspective. Contained within the box was the SC STP and several other accessories: velocity adjustment rod, horizontal feeder, vertical feeder adapter, vertical air adapter, bottom-line adapter, 12-gram CO2 quick change adapter, stock barrel, small parts kit, and (of course) the manual. I was disappointed to find that the Hawaiian bottom-line CO2 adapter was not included in the box even though the part was detailed in my instruction manual as well as on the advertisement where I had purchased the marker. I contacted Arrow-Precision and they informed me that the Hawaiian CO2 adapter was only available in select kits and that I must have purchased a kit without the Hawaiian adapter. To their credit, they were kind enough to sell me the Hawaiian adapter at a discounted price because of the confusion.

Perhaps the neatest feature of the SC STP is its versatility. The marker can be modified to be either stock class with a horizontal feeder or non-stock with the vertical feeder. There is a single bolt that can be loosened at the top of the marker that holds either the horizontal or vertical feeder adapter in place. Switching between the modes of feeding is amazingly simple. However, I found that if this bolt is not tightened enough, the entire feeding mechanism can slide about 2 millimeters forward and prevent ball feeds. The horizontal feeder can also wobble a bit if the bolt isn't fastened securely as well. So, be sure to tighten that bolt! One small complaint I have is that the horizontal feeder doesn't have a dovetail sight rail like the CCI Phantom.

The pneumatics can also be adjusted easily. My marker came configured with the thru-grip bottom-line air adapter already installed. This bottom-line air adapter can accommodate either the 12-gram CO2 quick change adapter or constant air (CA). Changing to vertical stock class (VSC) is simple: loosen the bolts that attach the grip to the breech, detach the grip from the breech, disconnect the hardline from the air adapter at rear of the marker, use an Allen wrench to loosen a single bolt on the top of the grip, pull the hardline connected to the bottom-line adapter out of the grip, and reattach the grip to the breech. Then, simply insert the vertical air adapter hardline into the rear air adapter and fasten the adapter to the trigger guard. While this may sound complicated, it's actually quite easy. A nice feature about the SC STP's hardlines is that the hardline connectors don't need to be tightened with a wrench like the CCI Phantoms to prevent air leaks.

The SC STP is nicely balanced and very light. The pump stroke is nice and smooth. The stroke itself is about 2.5 inches. The marker has an auto-trigger that allows it to automatically fire after every pump stroke if the trigger is depressed. A ball detent is built into the body of the breech that prevents double-feeds which is very nice. However, the marker itself can be double- or triple-pumped with multiple paintballs being loaded into the breech.

The barrel itself is nicely polished and accurate. Another great feature is that the marker accommodates Spyder threads. Roll-outs are very common with the stock barrel. The stock barrel is very acceptable, but I quickly switched over to my Smart Parts Freak Barrel which was more accurate. Velocity adjustment is similar to the CCI Phantom, but rather than inserting the adjustment rod into the barrel, the SC STP has a small port through the pump itself just underneath the barrel. I like the idea of not putting a metal rod down my barrel and potentially scratching it, but I still found myself removing my barrel to change the velocity because the adjustment rod could only be rotated about 100 degrees with the barrel in the way.


PERFORMANCE:

I tested the Sterling SC STP outdoors (~70 degrees, ~5 MPH wind) at a distance of 50 and 75 feet using Marballizer paintballs. I only used the stock barrel for testing purposes. The following are my results:

50 Feet:
Outdoors: 48/50 within a 3-inch radius around the bull's eye (7 hit center, 2 hit ~5 inches from center). No broken balls.

75 Feet:
Outdoors: 23/25 within a 4-inch radius around the bull's eye (3 hit center, 2 hit ~6 inches from center). No broken balls.

The most interesting results were when I double- and triple-pumped the marker. I found that the paintballs were still amazingly accurate at 50 feet. I found that the dispersion of paint was only ~6 inches at 50 feet around the bull's eye with three rounds chambered! I went through ~45 rounds triple-pumping and had no broken balls with the stock barrel (none with my Freak barrel either). While intentionally multi-pumping is certainly faux pas, we all know that it happens and that it often leads to ball breaks in the barrel. I found that my SC STP seemed to tolerate this a wee bit more than my CCI Phantom and was a little more accurate as well.

The marker performed very well in-game (using my Smart Parts Freak Kit). I was able to consistently land paint within 6 inches of my targets at a distance of ~75 feet (with most rounds landing within 3-4 inches). The longest distance at which I marked a target was ~125 feet. In one particular game, I somehow drew weak side defensive duties as a solo defender and was still able to keep their strong side 4-man assault at bay simply because I could consistently strike within 3 inches of my targets, keeping them occupied and under cover until our mobile gunner flanked them (I only hit one of four, but I was snap shooting with little aim).

Air efficiency is very good. I usually had ~30-35 rounds per 12-gram CO2 cartridge with little drop off until the last 2-3 rounds. Pump guns are renown for good air efficiency and I was glad to see that the SC STP was at least on par with other pump guns of similar quality and cost. There was no variance in air efficiency with vertical and bottom-line configurations.


MAINTENANCE:

One great feature about the SC STP is its ease of field cleaning. Simply pull out the cocking bar retainer, slide out the bolt, and run a straight-shot from the rear of the marker out through the barrel. I haven't had a broken ball in the SC STP yet, but knowing that the marker can be so easily cleaned provides great peace of mind. The marker itself is easy to dis- and re-assemble. The individual components themselves are easily accessed and cleaned. I do want to mention that their customer service is very helpful. Mark Ambrose (Director of Sales/Marketing) is the individual with whom I've been communicating from their customer service center. While he may take a day or two to respond to e-mail, the fact that I could discuss issues directly with him suggested that the company is very dedicated to providing me with a quality product.
Conclusion: I really enjoy using the Sterling SC STP. I cannot say that it performs any better than my CCI VSC Phantom, but it certainly performs just as well. The Spyder threads give the marker more upgrade options from a barrel perspective, but I do wish there were more options available to customize other aspects of the marker (stock, sight rails, pump, etc). I admit that I will likely stick with my CCI VSC Phantom as my primary pump marker, but only because I like having the sight rail and red dot scope (the cadets are better than me and I need any advantage I can get!). Please highly consider the Sterling SC STP if you are interested in purchasing a pump marker: you will not be disappointed in the craftsmanship or performance. It is an equivalent alternative to the CCI Phantom and will provide you with a unique marker that certainly draws attention.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tangerine3486 Friday, February 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom
SL-68 II
Marker Setup: Sterling STP stock class
Vertical air
14" JJ ceramic
45 round hopper
3.5-9oz tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a longer barrel to suit your tastes but not necessary.
Strengths: Smooth pump action
Pump handle feels nice
Looks great
Nice .45 grip
Vertical air
Weaknesses: Air feed setup
SC/DF setup
Review: First take:
This marker looks great. Great anodizing and milling on the body. Interesting box too. The slanted vertical air is nice too, and there is still plenty of room down there even with a regular sized tank.

Performance:
The smoothest pump I have ever felt. Little effort on the pull and return. Pump handle fits my hand great; I really like the oval shape. .45 grip feels great. Comes with a trigger shoe, which also feels nice along with the nice trigger pull.

Accurate with stock barrel. Never chopped a ball. I think it is average with the 12grams compared to other markers. Velocity adjustment performance is decent.

It is nice to be able to change between direct feed and stock feed. I would have preferred an interchange with the stock class feed flush with the body, but you can't ask for anything. Because it is elevated I feel like I knock it around too much, but no problems. I still think it is good for not being solidly constructed to the marker.

The air tube, that goes from the CA to the valve, had some problems. I did not care for how the connection work, and for a while I did not have it tight enough. If you have a problem, tighten that nut a lot, oil it up and you should have to push the tube in. Since then, not a single problem.

Compared to the SL-68 II, much nicer pump stroke, grip, way more options. The SL-68 II is just cast aluminum, nelson valve, internal air lines and fewer parts making it simpler, with two bonuses of sturdy and reliable. A great gun in those aspects, but the Sterling beats it in most if not all of the rest.

Compared to the CCI Phantom, I think it has a smoother stroke, and I think it looks (and feels) more solid, with the stacked internal tubes of the sterling valve type (a mix of sheridan and nelson). The phantom has skinnier body and does not feel as heavy or solid. Yes, you can get a phantom for 100$ cheaper, but to price a phantom with vertial air, and a direct feed and stock class feed body, and a .45 grip, it is about the same.
Conclusion: 9 of 10. Air line issues at first, and interchange system for a 9 instead of a 10. Now that the air hose issue is fixed, I have no problems. I bought this marker in August of 2006, right when it was released in the US. Since then it has been my main marker (only use pumps). I dont plan on getting a new marker to completely replace this, maybe only for backups/friends or just for the heck of it. This is a great marker and has the smoothest pump stroke I have ever felt, a huge plus.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 20th, 2009 at 7:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tomongoose Monday, October 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first pump
Marker Setup: I have this running on hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: It is incredibly accurate
Weaknesses: Lack of upgrades
Review: I have used it almost straight out of the box nothing more than a quick oiling, I have only had a bit of target practice and one game so far and It was great.

Being my first pump it took a bit of getting used to, I went for the a hopper not the stick feed. It was really accurate and being a pump it forced me to pick my shots although you can get it up to a pretty rapid rate of fire if you have to.

It balances really well and looks great I had lots of positive comments about it from the other players. The stock barrel seems pretty good but I have a couple of other barrels im going to try with it.

I put about 500 rounds through it on the target range and had a couple of breaks but i think that was when i double pumped and i was using fairly cheap paint i didnt have any breaks while i was playing and using sterling game paintballs. I have only played with it once and I have picked my shots more.

I have played with it a bit more now and its still going well it has had a few beatings when i have been charging around the woods I have used a couple of other barrels with it now a whisper and a smart parts progressive both which were better than the stock but i am going to try a few more before i decide which one to go for. It has changed my playing style as i normally charge in close shooting tons of paint I am now playing more like a sniper sneaking around and picking my shots.
Conclusion: I bought it to change the way i play and improve my accuracy so far I will update this when i have played with it more. I will give it a 8 for now and see how it goes

I would still give this gun an 8 after using it for a while
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 23rd, 2007 at 5:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media