paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / VForce Shield Mask / VForce Shield Mask / VForce Shield Mask

VForce Shield Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount VForce

Buy VForce Shield Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


VForce Shield Mask
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 252
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
SHIELD - For those who want to play all out - you're covered • Sperical lens for maximum peripheral vision Quick-switch lens replacement system - Low profile rigid armor with swivel-hinged throat plate - Clear-vision Thermocured Anti-fog Lens - Durable scratch resistant hardcoat - High-density face foam for superior fit and comfort - Zero-slip silicone pro strap, flexible sun visor and carry bag - Conveniently fits over glasses. Clear Lenses.
Product Availability 
The VForce Shield Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ToddF Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Extreme Vision 280 Mask - This is the mask I bought 4 years ago when I began playing paintball. At the time, I chose the Extreme Vision 280 over the Brass Eagle Maxx Vision Mask (the same mask as the VForce Shield Mask when it was being distributed by Brass Eagle instead of VForce). I wear glasses and the 280 has more interior clearance than the Shield. The lens was farther from the glasses frame and the nose foam didn't interfere with my glasses as much. That said, the 280 is heavier and slides around more on your head than the Shield.
Marker Setup: Piranha STS w/ LP valve. Running CO2 mounted on a self machined drop forward. CO2 to horz mounted expansion chamber to AA Vigilante LP reg into gun.
Strengths: -fits over glasses
-easy change lens
-no fog lens
-secure fit to head
-included visor
Weaknesses: -visor hard to remove
-adhesive gets on glasses lenses
Review: I bought this mask because I found that lenses were no longer available for my Extreme Vision 280, after taking a couple years off from the sport. I tried a couple other masks on at the store and found that none of them fit as well over my glasses. I was also accustomed to a wide field of view, and although not as good as my old mask, the Shield was better than the others I tried on.

I very much like the chin strap, and unlike some others who have posted reviews, I left it installed. It doesn't have to be at all tight on your chin. What it does is allow you to wear the headband higher up on your head. The chinstrap keeps the mask from sliding up, and the higher positioned headstrap keeps the mask from sliding down. You get a much more secure fit without having to crank up the headband tension. I have had times when I have taken a fall over a downed limb where my old mask would require readjustment on my face, where the new one stays put.

I also like the easy to change lens. When I get home from playing and hop in the shower, I take the mask in with me and use the shower to spray it clean. It is easy to pop out the lens to get all the paint out of the cracks and crevices. This also helps wash the sweat out of the foam and keeps it from getting stinky. When I get out of the shower I shake the loose water off the mask and lens, and let them set overnight to dry. The lens often drys clear with only a hint of water spotting. A damp bathtowl swiped lightly over the dry lens takes off the waterspots and leaves it crystal clear.

I have found that the nose foam comes up a little higher on my face than in my old mask. The foam touches the bottom edges of my glasses and the first couple times I played, I ended up with adhesive smeared on the lower edges of my lenses. It cleaned off fairly easily, but was an unexpected surprise. If your store has multiple masks and you wear glasses, you may want to try on different ones to see if the foam is installed slightly differently in any of them. One may play better with your glasses than the others.

Of the three times I have used this mask, I have not had any mask fogging, though the first time, I got some fog on my glasses. I am used to this level of performance, since my old mask lens was also made by Z-Leader.

The hinged neck guard on this mask provides much better protection than my old mask. I haven't yet experienced the benefits of this in the new mask, but I have been shot in the neck in my old mask where I would be protected by the Shield. That neck shot was one of the most painful hits I've ever taken. It's nice to not have to worry about that now.

Finally, the performance to price ratio for this mask is what really attracted me to it. I was open to getting a mask from another company, but after trying on several, I did not. The others I tried on cost $20 to $30 more and did not fit as well over my glasses.
Conclusion: What really sets this mask apart from the others for me were these things:
- Fit over glasses.
- Anti-fog lens.
- Price.

Secondary benefits that I discovered after having made the purchase are:
- Very secure fit when using the chin strap.
- Quick change lens very much improves ease of cleaning.

Biggest drawback is the difficult to remove visor.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

bushwacker1983 Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
V Force Morph, JT spectra, JT Proflex, JT Crossfire
Marker Setup: Warhammer Aggressor Thor E Bladed Autococker, Palmer pneumatics, Jackyl Machine Delrin Bolt, Air America Uni Reg, Freak Barrel System
Strengths: Comfort, Vision, Anti Fogging
Weaknesses: face foam adhesive will come loose after long usage
Review: The V Force Shield is a good quality mask for the price. There are three versions of this mask currently available.
V Force Shield - Rental ; The only difference between this mask and and the non rental version is the face foam. This model has a hard foam liner and is not as comfortable as the regular version. Comes in several colors.

V Force Shield - Standard; This model has much softer face foam. Again available in several colors.

V Force Shield - Referee; Same as the standard version but only available in yellow.

The V Force shield offers a quick and simple lens removal, yet maintains it's safety integrity. The anti fog coating is superior quality as is vision quality.

Strap sysytem is well thought out and offers a non slip silicone strip for added protection.

I have personally used these masks on many weekends as a referee, and have had great success.

The anti fog coating has a usual life of 6 months with continuous weekend use.

Mask body is rigid, perhaps a drawback for tournament players, but certainly not a problem for recreational or scenario play.
Conclusion: This is a good buy for the price. Replacment parts are readily available at most PB stores. Mask is easily maintained.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NickSeiler Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Armor mask
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom
-14" J&J Ceramic barrel
-Pro Team Car Stock
-Pro Team Commando f/x Fore End
-Pro Team Commando f/x Sight Rail/Carry Handle
-Pro Team Intruder Assault expansion chamber
-Tippmann Vertical Adapter
Strengths: Durable, protective, easy to clean
Weaknesses: None that I noticed
Review: The mask has served me well in my time playing paintball. The lense is easy to remove and clean, and the mask has yet to fog up on me (although I do use some anti-fog spray as well). Protects well against headshots; I've been nailed in the right temple and felt nothing. A very dependable mask.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this product to paintball players both new and old who are looking for a mask to protect them from the rigors of the sport. I haven't tested a great number of masks, but there's nothing about this one that suggests it should receive anything below the best marks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

sukkingalemon Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Xfire, never played in, but worn
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, SP 12" Teardrop, Empire Reloader
Strengths: Very clear lenses, lenses easy to remove, comfort, price, no fog
Weaknesses: No soft sections, visor difficult to remove
Review: This is the only mask I've ever actually played in, so I don't have anything to compare too. I can tell you though, that this is a good mask. The lenses create no distortion of vision and I have never had them fog. Last weekend it was 80* outside, pouring rain, no fog. Compared to the JT masks, this thing is the easiest thing in the world to clean. Pull on two tabs, pull out the lenses, clean. All done. Mask has very soft foam that absorbs sweat, very nice. Also, the strap has silicon to keep it from sliding, may want to wear a hat to help even more if you have a problem, I have had no sliding issues.

The downsides of this mask are few, but they do exist. The visor is held in place with 4 o-rings which are right behind the top part of the lense, if that makes sense. You have to put your fingers into where the lense is to take off or put on these 4 tiny orings, which is kinda a pain. However, I have no need to take the visor off now that its on, and I'm sure it wont ever come off by accident. Second downside is the lack of soft areas on the mask that flex and can create bounces.

Also should note that the mask comes with a neck strap and neck guard which you can put on, but I did not, so I'm not sure how those work.

Edit: After using it a few more times, I'm just not sure how great this mask is. although I love the easy removal of lenses, the mask just always seems loose, I tried on a profiler and an invision, and with the DYE mask most of all, it just feels like its hugging on to your face. My shield feels like its just kinda hangin on. No danger of falling off or anything, and yes I know how to tighten the strap, but its just not quite there. Also, Today I played in some rainy, hot, humid conditions and it was getting to the point where it was foggy enough that i could barely see. About everyother game I had to go in to wipe it down, then it went right back to fog.
Conclusion: I would most definetly recomend this mask to anyone going into the sport, or a recball player looking for a new mask. I got my mask for $40, definetly a good deal for such a great mask. Allthough I'm sure you can find better masks, these will be higher prices, so for a best "bang for your buck" can't go wrong with this mask.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 3rd, 2004 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChuckDMac Tuesday, November 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra Flex-8
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha
Strengths: Great field of vision
Thermal lens - no fog
Narrow profile
Lightweight
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Not a true dual-pane thermal lens
Review: I play only occasionally, going out a couple of times a year for the past few years. I finally got tired of playing with the low-quality field rental goggles that have tunnel vision and fog up, so I decided to buy my own mask, with field of vision and anti-fog being my primary criteria. I bought the V-Force Shield ($45) and my brother bought the JT Spectra Flex-8 ($60). We traded masks halfway through our game this past weekend to compare and I was very impressed with the Shield.

Field of Vision: Great field of vision - almost total peripheral vision.

Fogging: The Shield has an anti-fog lens and had didn't fog at all during the 4 hours of woods play. We were playing in pretty ideal conditions - about 65 degrees and low humidity, but still - no fog at all.

Fit: This mask is lightweight with a narrow profile. It has full face and ear coverage. The nose and mouth coverage is shaped to prevent pinching your nose. The most comfortable mask I've worn.

Cleaning: The lens is very easy to remove from the mask. There are two clips, one at each temple, that pop out and then the lens itself is popped out. It took less than 30 seconds to disassemble. Reassembly is equally easy.
Conclusion: A great mask at a reasonable price. I'd strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a mask under $50.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 20th, 2007 at 6:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

linkgannonzelda Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT mask (v-force is way better)
Marker Setup: spyder aggressor with pmi 200 round hopper,20oz tank w/ butt plate
Strengths: the neck shield
Weaknesses: it slips (how to stop this i've written below)
Review: this mask is very good for beginers. it does slip but here how to fix that. most masks come with a chin strap, clip that behind your neck and tightin it. after i got a direct hit right above the eyesi figured it out.


the neck shield is very protective. when i was using my JT mask i was hit in the neck and it hurt (not as much as a forhead shot thought) the neck protecter helps a lot

the lens is crystal clear and are easy to replace and clean all have to do is lift the plastic things at the ends of the lens where the strap attaches and push the lens out
Conclusion: this mask it worth buying i'm giving this an 8 because it slipped on me but if it didn't i would have giving it a 10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Scias Thursday, September 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Generic JT mask.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 w/ metal clamping feedneck, red dot scope, new detent, 9V Fasta Hopper
Strengths: Very comfortable
Lots of protection
Anti-Fog
Weaknesses: Neck Protector
Review: I researched this mask for a long time before i bought it, I needed something to keep up with our woodsball skrimages. I debated feverishly over this and the profiler. The price and neck protector won me over. I don't mind getting hit, but my throat feels especially vulnerable and delacate no matter how much protection I wear.

LOOKS: When I got the mask, I was very impressed with how it looked. I didn't think it looked very good in pictures, but after I recieved it, I was very impressed. I got the woodland camo print edition. It blends in amazingly well. The mask even comes with a pouch to keep it from getting beat up outside of play.

FEEL: The foam is the first thing you notice when you put on the mask. It's nice and soft and not scratchy at all. Slips on easy as well. The ears parts are flexible and soft, but hard enough to absorb a paintball without really hurting. When it's cool outside, and I'm not sweating, it's easy to kind of forget you're wearing the mask. The lense is easy to take off as well, but it get's tricky sometimes.

PERFORMANCE: I've used this mask since i bought it. It performs wonderfully. The lens provides a very large field of view, and stays clear. I haven't had it fog up on me once, and many of the times I've played is during the 100 degree days this past summer. I was soaked in sweat, and it never fogged up while I was moving or sitting still for 30 minutes at a time. The neck protector is made of the same material the visor and ear parts are. It's soft, but rigid, but it's shape doesn't allow it to be rigid enough to make you feel like the paintball won't bend it and smack you in the throat. It also helps to hold hot air in the mask. I'm about to take mine off as I use a velcro neck protector anyway. It has a chin strap to put where you took the neck protector off.

Conclusion: It's not as sleek looking as the profiler, but it's a great mask. The camo design especially is awesome. The materials this mask has on it, rigid and soft rigid make you feel safe, and allow you to move at the same time. It looks pretty mean, though the pictures don't really look that way. The throat protector isn't as amazing as I thought it would be, but it works. Definitely a great mask especially if you're looking for more protection/coverage.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoulBlader Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other V-force masks
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra with a progressive barrel modified bolt and striker normal hopper and a 48/3000 hpa tank.
Strengths: Wide view
Neck protection
Looks good
Price
Easy lens change
No fog
Weaknesses: I just got a new lens and no fog(fogged before).
Review: Well when on the sight that I bought it there was two types of shield masks a rental and a normal the rental being cheaper which I thought was because you don't get a goggle bag but it may be because of the lens. When I played with it the first time it worked great but then the next time it fogged so bad I could have cried and the same with all the other times I used it. The thing is the lenses on V-force masks are not thermal like on a JT mask but they have an anti fog coating that wares off. Another thing is this mask works great for some people but bad for others, my friend has a beat up pare but they work great for him and my new ones work bad for me so I think it is how you face is shaped which effects air flow or something. So you should test a beat up pair first or just buy a thermal JT Spectra which I think is a good idea. (edit)I just bought a new lens and now they work great so instead of 5 Im going to give it 9 because it works great, but originally worked bad.
Conclusion: You should test the mask first and don't buy the rental one buy the normal one or a JT with thermal lenses. I give it a five because it did work and works great for some people but bad for me and maybe it is my fault for buying the rental version. Got new lens works fine now so by them there great.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 11th, 2004 at 10:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

3rdAngel Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT envader (Worse)
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus, 12' Empire 2-Piece
Strengths: No Fog, Easy Cleaning, Looks sick
Weaknesses: People always shoot me in it :P
Review: I love it, came with allot of accessories for a goggle and even a bag which is nice to protect it. I was playing wood ball today with and i was running all over the place, and it stayed right where it should of!! I am not used to that haha i have to hold mine up usually. Definitely worth it!!!!
Conclusion: A great mask to start with and even for experienced ones!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

silverghost Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piece of shi* rentals
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 14" Smart Parts Teardrop barrel 2x trigger 32degrees coil remote 68/4500 carbon fiber wrapped compressed air tank
Strengths: Very comfortable wide field of view Quick-change lens NO FOG!!
Weaknesses: None...GREAT MASK
Review: When I looked into which mask would be the best for me on this site just like you are now. This mask handsdown looked to be the best mask for what you pay for it and that's exactly how it is....If your going to get this mask get in green because it looks hella cool and you don't need to go off and buy a 100dollar mask with fans in it in order to play paintball.
Conclusion: Go buy it now you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media