paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Real Action Paintball P99 / Real Action Paintball P99 / Real Action Paintball P99 / Real Action Paintball P99

Real Action Paintball P99 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Real Action Paintball

Buy Real Action Paintball P99

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Real Action Paintball P99
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 5.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Real Action Paintball is proud to announce the release of the Walther P99 Paintball Pistol. The P99 is a 1 to 1 scale replica of the world famous compact handgun, the Walther P99.

The Walther P99 features a sleek body with all the original markings and insignias of the real P99, and uses 12g disposable CO2 cylinders that fit completely inside the handgrip—each one can power up to 50 shots!

The Walther P99 Paintball Pistol does not eject shell casings—it doesn’t need them—which keeps your cost and cleanup time to a minimum. Up to 10 .43 caliber paintballs are loaded into a magazine, and the magazine is inserted into the handgrip just like on a real handgun. Also like the real pistol, the Walther P99 Paintball Pistol stops shooting when it runs out of paintballs. The muzzle velocity is adjustable between 250fps and 350fps with an effective range of 20m (65ft) and maximum range of 50m (160ft).

The slide and internal mechanisms are made of hardened metal alloy and steel to withstand harsh use in extreme conditions. The barrel is made of light-weight aluminum, which helps keep the overall weight down. The frame is made of rugged construction that can withstand being dropped and survive rough use.

The P99 Paintball Pistol comes in the same four colors of its real counterpart: black, olive green, blue and silver.
Product Availability 
The Real Action Paintball P99 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Cacophony Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month36 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
1) Tiberius Arms TAC-8 (superior > 50 feet)
2) Tiberius Arms T9 (superior > 50 feet)
3) Ariakon ACP 2.0 (very inferior)
4) PMI Pirhana USP (inferior)
5) APSRAM (RAP4) Sig Sauer 226 (equivalent)
6) Sheridan PGP (N/A)
Marker Setup: Primary weapon: Tippmann A-5 with Special Ops commando stock & A-5A2 foregrip; Smart Parts Freak Back with Hammerhead Pro Tip front barrel; Simmons 40mm red dot scope; JCS dovetail-to-weaver offset rail; PMI coiled remote line with slide check; PMI 72cu/3000psi HPA tank.

Alternate Primary: CCI VSC Phantom with 15-round horizontal feeder, NC Star 35mm red dot scope, White Wolf Airsmithing Stealth Barrel, Smart Parts Freak Barrel inserts.

Secondary weapon: Tiberius Arms TAC-8 pistol with 3 extra magazines.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) ~3 extra magazines
2) good quality magazine holster
Strengths: 1) Accurate to ~50 feet
2) Mil-Sim realism
3) Air efficient
Weaknesses: 1) .43 caliber rounds
2) difficult maintanence
3) No velocity adjustment
Review: SETUP:

The APSRAM P99 is a nearly 1:1 replica of the Walther P99 in weight and functionality. The marker is nicely packaged in a hard plastic carrying case that includes marker oil, cleaning cloth, squeege, and instruction manual/warranty card. The carrying case itself can accommodate at least 4 spare magazines in addition to the marker. The P99 fires .43 caliber paintballs (as opposed to standard .68 caliber rounds) that are only available from a handful of distributors (all of whom share the same supplier). These .43 caliber paintballs fit into magazines that accommodate 9 rounds; a 10th round can be forced into the magazine, but the metal edge of the magazine often scratches the surface of the 10th round and is associated with more frequent ball breaks. The marker uses a 12-gram CO2 cartridge that loads directly into the pistol grip. The magazine and 12-gram CO2 cartridge are inserted independently from one another (unlike the Tiberius Arms TAC-8 and T9).

The P99 utilizes a realistic blowback slide system that chambers each round into the breech after the marker is discharged. The slide remains locked in place once the last round is fired (just like its real counterpart). The marker cannot be fired again until the slide is released. The empty magazine is released by depressing a lever located at the bottom of the trigger guard. A loaded magazine can then be inserted and a round is automatically chambered once the slide is released. The safety mechanism is located directly on the trigger itself.

The P99 is nicely weighted. It is compact and well balanced in the hand. The weight of the marker is appropriately distributed even after a 12-gram CO2 cartridge and full magazine are loaded into the grip. The grip is small enough for my wife to comfortably hold the marker (unlike the Tiberius Arms TAC-8). The marker has an ambidextrous design with a slide release lever and a magazine release lever located on both sides of the body. The rear sight is adjustable to accommodate both left- and right-handed individuals. I'm right-handed, but left-eye dominant. I usually fire pistols left-handed. I was able to adjust the rear sight to accommodate my left hand and was able to fire the marker very accurately.


PERFORMANCE:

The APSRAM P99 is extremely accurate at 25-50 feet. I fired the marker from a modern isoceles stance. I used standard RAP4 .43 caliber paintballs (not the hard shell rounds). My target was positioned at distances of 25 and 50 feet both indoors (76 degrees) and outdoors (68 degrees, ~12 MPH wind). Because the slide re-cocks after every round fired, accuracy suffers tremendously with rapid fire. I tested the marker with single shots only. The following are my results:

25 Feet:
Indoors: 46/50 within a 2-inch radius around the bull's eye (13 hit center; 4 hit ~4 inches off center).
Outdoors: 42/50 within a 2-inch radius around the bull's eye (9 hit center; 4 hit ~4 inches off center; 2 hit ~7inches off center).

50 Feet:
Indoors: 41/50 within a 3-inch radius around the bull's eye (5 hit center; 7 hit ~5 inches off center; 2 hit ~7 inches off center).
Outdoors: 39/50 within a 3-inch radius around the bull's eye (5 hit center; 6 hit ~5 inches off center; 5 hit ~7 inches off center).

I tested the marker at 75 feet outdoors only. The following are my results:

75 Feet:
Outdoors: 18/25 within a 6-inch radius around the bull's eye (0 hit center; 3 hit ~8 inches off center; 3 hit ~9 inches off center; 1 missed the 18-inch target).

I also used the APSRAM P99 in 2 games last week. I fired ~130 rounds in the two games combined. We played in a wooded environment in which wind was ~5 MPH. The P99 performed well at medium ranges in these 2 games; I could place paint within ~12 inches from my target with snap shots. The greatest distance at which I marked a moving target was ~85 feet. The P99's accuracy is roughly equivalent to the accuracy of the Tiberius Arms TAC-8 and T9 at distances between 25-50 feet. Beyond 50 feet, however, the accuracy very quickly deteriorates. I believe the poor accuracy at longer ranges is due to the smaller caliber rounds which are more susceptible to wind variance and flaws in the paintball shell.

Unfortunately, My X-Radar chronometer does not seem to detect the paintballs fired from my P99. The velocity subjectively seems to be very consistent, but I cannot verify this with statistical data at this time (I will update the FPS after further testing).

The air efficiency of the APSRAM P99 is phenomenal. The above accuracy testing was done with 4 12-gram CO2 cartridges. I have been getting about 7 to 8 magazines-worth of air from each 12-gram CO2 cartridge. I load 9 rounds into my magazines; thus, I get 60 to 70 rounds per cartridge (as opposed to 70 to 80 rounds per cartridge using the APSRAM Sig Sauer 226). I usually have to manually re-cock the slide after I have fired more than ~70 rounds. I can get an additional 5 to 6 shots with a little drop off before I have to exchange the cartridge. I prefer the pneumatics of the P99 more than the Tiberius Arms TAC-8 and T9 because the magazines are lighter and use 1 CO2 cartridge at a time rather than 1 CO2 cartridge per magazine.

The magazines themselves are nicely constructed of high-grade aluminum. They house the .43 caliber paintballs well with little rattle. Like the Tiberius Arms TAC-8 magazine, the P99 magazine has a retention lever that compresses a spring and locks in place so that paintballs can be loaded. The nicest feature about the P99's magazine is that the paintballs do not eject if the retention lever is accidentally released. The paintballs are retained in the magazine by plastic ball detents housed within the magazine itself. I cannot tell you how frustrating the TAC-8 magazine can be when it ejects all of its paintballs after the retention lever is accidentally bumped during a reload. Also, I have never had a double-feed (except when I was manually re-cocking the marker when running out of air and accidentally double-cocked it). The magazines themselves are very slender only using ~1/3 the width of the grip (the CO2 cartridge takes up the remaining 2/3). They are compact and fit nicely into pockets. They do NOT fit nicely into magazine holsters, however. The base of the magazine is much larger than the shaft. Thus, the magazine shifts its orientation a lot when I move around the field and occasionally falls out of my old magazine holster. I had to buy a new magazine holster with deeper pockets so that they wouldn't fall out.

While this is a review of the APSRAM P99, I feel that it is important that a comment be made about the .43 caliber paintballs that this marker uses. I have not had a single ball break with this marker. The paintballs seem to tolerate both the bolt and barrel well. However, the performance of the paintballs have been variable. They seem to penetrate through brush and pine trees much better than .68 caliber rounds (I use Marballizer paintballs). I have a collection of some spectacular hits through some pretty thick bramble using these smaller rounds. Conversely, however, they were ONLY hits, not marks--the paint didn't break. I've had a lot more bounces with the .43 caliber paintballs compared to .68 caliber rounds. The decreased radius of the .43 caliber paintball results in increased shell integrity (assuming that the thickness of the .43 caliber paintball shell is roughly equivalent to a .68 caliber paintball shell). I have not tried the hard shell paintballs available from RAP4.


MAINTENANCE:

In short, there is no maintenance for this marker. The APSRAM P99's warranty is void if you disassemble the marker. Thus, maintenance involves cleaning the barrel, oiling the slide, and wiping off the exterior. The manual includes no instructions on how to appropriately maintain the marker which is very disappointing. Cleaning the barrel is simple: attach the cleaning cloth to the end of the squeege, eject the magazine, pull back the slide, insert the squeege into the barrel from the base of the barrel, and pull the squeege through to the front of the barrel. The stock squeege seems to be very effective at cleaning.

The velocity cannot be adjusted without voiding the marker's warranty. When I purchased my marker, I asked the vendor if he could preset the velocity at 270 FPS prior to selling it to me; he told me that he could not service the marker without voiding my warranty. If the marker needs velocity adjustments or servicing, it must be sent back to the manufacturer (APSRAM, not RAP4). I have attempted to contact APSRAM with various questions via e-mail; they do not respond promptly. I have not attempted to contact them via phone.
Conclusion: I greatly enjoy using the APSRAM P99. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a Mil-Sim marker. I found it to be more consistent with fewer ball breaks compared to its APSRAM Sig Sauer 226 counterpart. The air efficiency and good accuracy over short and medium distances are both very impressive. I still use my Tiberius Arms TAC-8 and/or T9 as my secondary weapon when playing woodsball because the distances to my targets are usually beyond 50 feet. However, I use the P99 on our speedball field because the targets are within the effective range of the marker and the magazines are far more portable. The ball bounces occur more frequently with .43 caliber paintballs, but I'm willing to trade the occasional ball bounce for the opportunity to shoot my targets twice since the P99 is so much fun to use! The TAC-8 technically performs better than the P99 overall, but the P99 is a very reliable and exciting marker to use. I cannot give the marker a 10 (which the TAC-8 and T9 both earned) primarily because of the inability to adjust velocity or service the marker without voiding the warranty or sending it to APSRAM.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 at 12:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TerribleTom Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Primary Marker: Tippmann 98 Custom, Pro Team Commando F/X kit (14 inch barrel, adjustable stock), Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Hammer, custom trigger sear spring, Cyclone Feed hopper, BossMan M16 mag kit
Strengths: Looks, blowback operation, realistic feel, weight and action.
Weaknesses: Poor quality - see review.
Review: I first learned of this markers existence here on PBReview. I play woodsball and have found myself pinned down with an empty hopper in a fire fight, on more than one occasion. I wanted a back up and I was very excited at the prospects of a realistic blowback pistol, for that use. The P99 is compact and can be worn as a side arm without being a bulky dead weight on your hip.

The reviews here gave the marker high praise and I gave in to temptation and ordered one on 9/30/07 - just in time to attend a woodsball game in October. I ordered a package deal from a reseller on Ebay - and he has been wonderful with his help in fixing this situation. The products were definitely new. The pistol, paintballs, and extra clip were all shipped directly from RAP4 and not from the reseller. I paid extra freight to get the pistol in time for my trip. It arrived the day before I was to go out of town with it and I had no time to test it prior to leaving. I did inspect it visually and nothing showed any obvious problems. When I got to my destination and got ready to play, I test fired the P99. The directions are clear and easy to follow, and having prior firearms and paintball experience, I found the process of loading and operating the pistol to be very easy and realistic.

Unfortunately I started having problems right off the bat. The pistol was not cocking the firing pin on blow back, you could start with single action, (cocked and ready to fire) and after firing a round it would not recock. The pistol would be in double action, requiring a stronger trigger pull. On clip empty, the slide was not locking back. I could also hear CO2 leaking and could feel it coming from the barrel on more than one occasion.

Through the course of testing - the pistol chopped a couple paintballs. I was using RAP4's hard shell .43 caliber paintballs (recommended by RAP4) that came with the package purchase - and they seemed to be good quality. No dimples, distortions etc. It is NOT easy to clean this pistol if you have a broken ball, because you cannot disassemble anything. You have to snake the squeegee in, and I ended up using Q-tips to finish cleaning after each ball break. I went home after a weekend of play, very disappointed in the pistol.

I contacted the seller, and he said I should send the pistol in right to UMAREX - the parent company that RAP4 sources the P99 marker from. A RMA (return merchandise authorization) was issued and I sent the pistol in, shipped at my expense. After waiting more than two weeks, and not hearing anything from anyone - I contacted UMAREX and was told the pistol was already in transit back to me. I was told there was nothing wrong with my pistol and they suggested I tried using their house brand of CO2. (I purchased the external air model that uses disposable 12 gram CO2 canisters) That suggestion irritated me, because I can't believe a pistol that is marketed as being so rugged that it is used by law enforcement for training, and can withstand drops and rough use, is so delicate that it malfunctions with other brands of CO2 canisters. That is paramount to an auto dealership saying you have to use their brand of replacement service parts.

The marker arrives home, I test it out and after firing a few clips worth of paintballs it seems to be ok. A few days later I go to fire off a few more clips to further evaluate it for accuracy and range, and the problems start all over again. I was originally using Copperhead brand CO2. I purchased Crosman CO2 and tried the pistol with that brand, but the results were the same with both.

I once again contacted the seller I bought it from. This time he says to try sending it to RAP4, I agree. I send it out again at my shipping expense, this time with explicit instructions enclosed. I requested to be contacted regarding the condition of the pistol when they inspected it.

Weeks go by again no one calls me. I called RAP4 several times and every time I was told that someone would call me back. No one called me back. I contacted the seller who I purchased from again, he contacts RAP4 and tells me that RAP4 told him the pistol is fixed, and they had been waiting for me to send them $15 to cover return shipping costs. Really? How long were they going to wait to tell me it was ready to be shipped back? Also, no one was able to tell me what was wrong with the marker. Frustrated I reluctantly send RAP4 $15 via paypal, and again play the waiting game. It is now mid January, almost three weeks passed and I have no pistol. I contacted my seller once again, and he contacts RAP4 once again and forwards me an email from RAP4 stating that no one was aware the shipping payment had been sent and they would ship ASAP. Give me a break! I received an email from RAP4 telling me they HAD received my money, only two days after I sent it!

I get the pistol back again, go to test it immediately. I hear CO2 hissing from the barrel and I know that is not a good sign. The very first round fired chops in the barrel. The slide was not cocking the hammer on blow back and it was not locking back on empty - same old same old. Strike Three.

I contacted the seller, he agreed to give me full refund, plus the cost of shipping the pistol and all the accessories back to him.

I was very excited when I purchased the RAP4 P99 pistol - I currently regret ever having bought it, and I am out money that I will not be able to get back again. The pistol itself is of very poor quality and construction. The product marketing claims the barrel is aluminum, it is not. It is actually brass. I was disappointed to see a made in china stamp in the housing, as the marker was originally sold in the UK, as I understand it. The slide did not a have a good fit on the frame, and the plastic parts were disappointing. The spring for the "locked and loaded" red dot at the rear of the slide fell out as well, rendering the red dot useless.

Range and accuracy were what I expected, when it did fire a shot that didn't chop. The smaller .43 paintballs are harder and I did notice more bounces than with my .68 caliber marker, but that's to be expected.

Conclusion: I will not recommend the P99 Walther .43 caliber pistol, or any other RAP4 product. I hope that the marker I received was just a lemon and not an indication of the products RAP4 sells. However, RAP4's lack of customer service was appalling. That is the primary reason I will not recommend them. UMAREX (the manufacturer of the P99 paintball pistol, was no better on the customer service front.

I almost gave the review a "2" - because the pistol IS realistic, but the entire experience from start to finish, over 5 months total, was so terrible, I couldn't justify giving it anything other than the lowest marks.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 17th, 2008 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Vracer111 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Walther CP99 pellet pistol - better quality than the P99 .43 caliber paintball pistol but doesn't simulated the P99 like the Paintball version
Delta 68 pistol - much bigger, but lighter and shoots better.
Marker Setup: Delta 68 pistols (one silver & one black) with upgraded bolt springs for proper velocity.
Strengths: Solid consruction, heft, simulation of a blowback semi-auto pistol
Weaknesses: Non-adjustable velocity,
Review: PRELIMINARY: Ordering & my specific model

First off I wanted to get the information out there on the US version of the Walther P99 imported by Umarex so you can make an informed decision on it. I orderd my P99 off an Ebay vendor who had it shipped directly from RAP Inc (for a total of $234 shipped). I ordered the green slide version, and it's more of a jungle green - not exactly what I was hoping for and nothing like any of the pictures online have shown but I can live with it. Also bought 4 additional magazines plus 500 .43 Caliber rubber balls and 500 .43 Caliber AG1 paintballs.

THE U.S. Version differences

We get a Umarex redesigned version from the original. Most notable difference is the blazing RED muzzle tip that extends 3/8" past the front of the slide. Second difference is the safety lock button on the rear area of the trigger, the non US versions don't have this. Another difference is the serial number is near the front of the slide closer to the muzzle while the other country serial numbers are further back towards the chamber area.

Features and operation
Major features of the Walther P99 .43 paintball pistol are as follows:

Steel and Polymer construction
Brass barrel (it's definately brass, not aluminum) - 4" length
9-round metal magazines
Screw-in 12gram CO2 cylinder (not 2-stage like the P226 one)
Safety on trigger
Slide catch
Magazine release
Decocker
Cocked indicator
Slide functions like a real semi-auto pistol
Single/double action trigger
different backstraps available for the grip.

The Walther P99 .43 paintball pistol has good solid construction and heft to it - ready to go with loaded magazine it's 2lbs, but a nicely balanced 2 lbs. To power up you cock the slide and insert a 12gram CO2 cartridge in the cylinder and screw it all the way in - simple and works great. To load a magazine with paintballs you slide the follower down until it locks into place. Load in 9 balls and release the follower, quick and simple. With the slide in the rear position, insert the magazine until it locks (I press the magazine release lever to let it slide in easy.) Hit the slide release lever and it's ready to shoot - after you press the safety button on the trigger to 'fire'. Note: Every time you cock the slide a ball is loaded into the chamber. So if you decock the trigger you have to fire in Double Action mode unless you want to add another ball in the chamber. The fit of the P99 in the hand is nice too.

Performance

First impressions of shooting with the rubber balls were ok, but I was dissapointed with the velocity. Was just checking out the FPS with the first 12gram CO2 cartridge in my room with the rubber balls as it was downpouring. Using a Chrony chronometer it was shooting 225-234FPS. Here I had a nice semi-auto Walther P99 .43 paintball pistol but shooting ~230fps (and the manual states "Velocity up to 220ft/s" on the cover too). It did shoot for a while on one CO2 cartridge though - 8 magazine worth plus 15 or so shots until the CO2 cartridge was completely empty. Finally the weather cleared up and it was bright and sunny. Loaded up the magazines with the AG1 paintballs, setup the chrony, and hoped I didn't get 230fps. To my surprise the paintballs were shooting at 260-270fps...much better! I then compared the rubber balls to the paintballs and the rubber balls were noticeably smaller than the paintballs...whew, good thing the difference in ball size was the reason for the slower FPS. Usage of that CO2 cartrodge was pretty impressive: 10 magazines worth of paintballs + 16 shots to totally empty the CO2.

The accuracy is good at 25' distance: 6" grouping hand held in a combat rapid fire drill (shoot twice - move - shoot twice - move...). It's right up there with my Delta 68's! Precision is good as well, though you do get one or two stray balls a clip it seems. Otherwise it's repeatable and can hit the same spot (not rapid fire of course - single fire.) Changing magazines is quick and easy...68 caliber paintball pistols just can't compete. Takes less than 5 seconds to remove and empty clip, insert a loaded clip, and release the slide.
Conclusion: Initally I was dissapointed with its performance using the rubber balls. But with the paintballs its performance was as it should be. A good, accurate paintball pistol that is fun to shoot and quick to reload. And getting 81 useable shots from a 12gram CO2 cartridge (the 10th magazine had some bounces at the end) shooting at 260+fps isn't bad at all, especially when a mix of rapid fire and slow steady shots!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Stan_the_HitMan Wednesday, July 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other umarex .43 cal
Strengths: Realistic
Weaknesses: Smaller caliber ball
Review: **Disclaimer**(serious part, but please read)

DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT take this marker out anywhere other than at a legal paintball field, shooting range, or proshop. Transport it in a carrying case or gear bag.
USE COMMON SENSE
*****

This is actually the Second P99 Ive had in my possession. I used to own one a few years back but sold it before I could really use it much. This time however I will take the time to get to know the marker a bit better before I oust it.

-<Video Section >-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Cy9a2yuWV8


-<LOOKS & COSMETICS>-


The P99 like all Umarex handguns is phenomenal cosmetically. I’ve had some problems with the rear sight falling out so I got 2 this time. Curiously one falls out easily and one doesn’t.

The 12 gram goes in just a bit further than on other RAM’s , adding to realism

The Walther logo appears 4 times on this marker. Twice on the slide and twice on the handgrip. I LOVE IT.


The only real blemish on this marker is the added push safety on the trigger; Umarex also added this to newer P226’s. its ugly, gets pushed in easily rendering you temporarily useless on occasion when retrieving it from a holster in a game, and if you take it out your trigger is left with a big eyesore of a hole.





-<FEATURES / SPECIAL ATTRIBUTES>-

The biggest selling point for the p99 is ergonomics. It is built for comfortable shooting and is 100% Ambidextrous, so far it is the only RAM that is left handed shooter friendly.

Out of the box it comes with two sizes of palm inserts to cater to people with different sized hands. These inserts can be swapped on the fly by just removing a pin and pulling them out.

The magazines have a very distinct base and makes it almost impossible to insert them backwards like with other handguns.

Just like on a real P99, when cocked a red indicator at the back of the slide in a peep hole will appear to tell you the hammer is cocked. This is a great feature since the P99 uses an internal hammer.

On top of the slide is a De-cock button, a great safety feature which makes the stupid push button safety they tacked on for whatever reason obsolete.

Slide and mag release are on both sides as mentioned, and the de-cock can be reached from both sides with your thumb

There is also a bottom rail for mounting flashlights. It is not a true weaver rail but works.




-<SHOOTING AND AIR>-

The P99 is SUPER short and compact. Because of the handgrips shape (with the correct insert for your hand, trigger placement, and clear iron sights it is just pleasant to shoot. It feels like it was made with your (the shooter’s) comfort in mind. Which it was

When I first put a 12 gram into it the velocities were spiking and fluctuating for the first 5 or so shots. I attribute this to the fact my 12 grams had been sitting in the sun. After said shots it stabilized SIGNIFICANTLY.

On the Chrono (after stabilizing out) it read:
251, 255, 254, 251, 251,

My old p99 was NOWHERE near this consistent. Also the hiss heard when airing it up was gone. I assume the P99 has some form of updated internals. At this point I was enthusiastically itching to try a consistency test

If the desert eagle blew me away with its efficiency, the P99 picked me back up, slapped me in the face, and dropped me on my ass again.
Doing the same experiment as with the desert eagle in room temperature, I took 1 shot every 5 seconds in volleys of 5 and then gave it a 20 second rest in between.

92 shots before the slide stopped going back!
On shot 90 I was skeptical, and chronoed shot 91 and got 212 FPS. Shot 92 was 207 and decocked. I was still able to empty my magazine by cocking before each shot.

After opening it up, I think the internals are the same as the upgraded Deagle ones, I think the reason it gets more shots per 12 gram is the slide is lighter and the barrel is shorter. Expect to get at least 4-5 mags when shooting quickly.



-< Accuracy >-

For my accuracy test I used a 1.5 by 2 feet plywood square as a target and marked off various increments of distance to shoot from. 1 magazine was used for each distance


Sunny conditions (minimal wind) Video recorded here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Cy9a2yuWV8

Range / Shots on Target
30 feet: 9/9
40 feet: 9/9
50 feet: 9/9
60 feet: 6/9
70 feet: 3/9 (2 bounced)
100 feet: 3/9 (1 bounced)


When comparing the p99 to my desert eagle, the p99 was noticeably less accurate when shooting them side by side, but because of how comfortable it was to shoot, it was easier to hit targets and actually out-scored the desert eagle which was bulky and awkward to shoot and had much higher recoil.

Also on shooting the p99, the slide would not always lock back, and I would have to take 1-3 dry shots to get it to lock back. Not a big issue.

One thing I DID have an issue was the magazines spring. Out of the box the tension is far too high, every minute you have the tension on the balls in the mag is another minute they warp. My desert eagle did not have this problem, as it only has 8 per magazine, AND a lighter spring. I will be doing some experiments later to reduce the tension. Out of the box if you have your p99 holstered for any time over 20 min, don’t expect to hit anything less than 30 feet away without emptying your mag.


-<DURABILITY AND MAINTENANCE>-

The P99 unfortunately cannot be field stripped tool free. A punch and screw driver are required to remove the slide to get at the internals.

The upper components and Trigger are metal, but the grip frame is plastic, but it is not a cheap or weak plastic. It feels sturdy in your hands and could probably withstand being dropped even in cold weather. I can’t say I’ve ever heard of someone breaking one.

General upkeep is pretty standard, a drop of oil on the asa oring with every new 12 gram and it should never dry out. Greasing the core once a year couldn’t hurt (it comes greased out of the box, but if you disassemble it you will void your 1 year warranty, after that its your call).
Conclusion: Conclusion:

The P99 is a small, light, comfortable, high performance handgun. I can see why it is by far the most popular in the RAM line. It has a few minor issues to fix (magazine spring, safety button, rear sight) but none that majorly take away from the overall experience.

Personally I like my Desert Eagle more. With single controlled shots the Desert Eagle IS more accurate, but because the P99 is so much more comfortable to shoot you will likely get better accuracy in the heat of combat. Plus it holds one more round than the Deagle does.
The Desert Eagle is a manlier more intimidating gun to shoot, the p99 more practical.





Summary:

Accuracy: 3/5 (Relative to handguns)
Efficiency: 5/5 (above and beyond average)
Consistency: 5/5 (+ - 4 )
Durability: 4/5 ( has a good mix of metal/plastic to balance off the weight)
Reliability: 4/5 ( The one I owned prior to this had leaking problems, and many other people I know with P99 had similar leaks)
Ease of maintenance: 3/10 (No Tool field Stripping)
Value: 4/5 (As much as .43 cal is not for everyone, I believe ANYONE could appreciate this gun from any walk of paintball)
Lasting Appeal: 5/5 (The Highest in demand .43 cal gun out there at this time.)
Special Category - Maneuverability: 5/5 (Engineered with the shooters comfort in mind)


Over all = 4/5

PBR = 8.5/10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

desertfox1313 Tuesday, October 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Delta .68 better product until seals start to fail.
Many other pistols-better as so far as I know
Tac-8- purchased one of the first releases which had problems, supposedly they work better now.
Marker Setup: ULE Automag... custom built with rare RPG parts. Reliable. accurate. pefect.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Another marker...
If it works, a Light would be awesome for scenario players during night game.
Strengths: It is pretty much a P99, size is awesome, it feels strong and secure.
Weaknesses: Cheap parts
requires only .43 cal paintballs
Review: Ok the people who above who said you could not adjust velocity are incorrect, where the trigger is there is a an adjustment inside.
For myself however, I never had a chance to do much more then test fire a few times.
I purchased this pistol fired a couple mags through it, then took it to a large scenario game. At the game the gun failed, and I was unable to make it work properly. It simply dumped the CO2, The company is saying that the valve was faulty... but after 4-5 mags any gun that fails obviously has some problem.

So far my experience with the smaller pistols has been rather pathetic., Tac-8 had major clip sealing issues, and the rap p99 simply failed before real use.

At this point I am simply going to purchase a stock class phantom for LESS money, to get a light mobile gun platform.
Conclusion: I would not purchase it, while it really had potential and had me so excited to play, it ended up breaking before I had a chance to use it during play. That lack of quality is just to shabby for me to really recomment its use.
I was rather sad to see that this is produced by a company and sold by rap 4 without them ever saying its not there own product.
I am giving it a three... not a 1 Because if it works and doesnt break it still would be a great gun.. But I the failure I saw is a big quality control issue. Furthermore the factory nor the retailer (rap4) have been good about letting me return the pistol, I purchased a new pistol to replace the P99, and hence do not want the P99 anymore. For a repair they all expected me, as the buyer to cover any shipping costs. Which is pretty pathetic considering it has a warranty and failed before any real use.
Overall, buy a .68 cal pistol and just accept the not as coolness of it.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

im_an_alpha Saturday, December 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
First one
Marker Setup: secondary wirh no accesories
Recommended
Upgrades:
there are none that i know og
Strengths: Weight is almost real. A fun marker to have, when it works.
Weaknesses: Blow-back problems. Air flow isn't that great.
Review: I got this for Christmas last year and it worked pretty good. I put a few clips through it, until the air flow got diverted somehow, and the blow-back wasn't too strong and you had to keep cocking it to get it to shoot. Until one day, it wouldn't even take air anymore. The blow- back wasn't that good at all in the first place. I looked at a youtube video of a guy that was shooting one, and he had the same problem. I don't really like the grip, because I am a Glock kind of person...
Conclusion: Not recommended.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media