paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armson Pump / Armson Pump / Armson Pump / Armson Pump

Armson Pump Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armson

Buy Armson Pump

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armson Pump
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Polygon Progressive Rifling
Special forming process that produces the most accurate barrel in the industry. Others have tried but this barrel works!


Barrel Vent System
Allows unspent CO2 to escape, so the ball doesn't kick as it leaves the barrel.

Ball Drop Restrictor
Keeps the ball in line with the bore for faster feeding and eliminates ball chop. The fastest auto-trigger ever.

Delrin Anti-Kink Velocity Adjuster
Smooth action, close power tube/bolt fit for minimal gas loss from blowback, does not wear power tube, will not move once set.

Offset Valve Housing
Drops C/A bottle to allow for sighting with goggles and mask.

Sights
Dovetail sight block tilted down 1 degree to centralize optical sight adjustment. Pre drilled to accept PRO DOT RED DOT SIGHT.

Ergonomically Designed
Pistol grip and pump are designed to fit the hand and improve accuracy. Matching butt plate is included.

Quality
Unquestionably the best built gun available. All steel parts are stainless. Aluminium is 6261-T6 aircraft grade - anodized to military specifications. Pistol grip and pump are moulded in tough fiber reinforced nylon. The highest manufacturing standards in the industry.

Versions
The original marker brought to the market was called the Armson Riffle. These were pump markers with an integral 13" Armson barrel. These were allegedly bought sometimes by people who just wanted the barrel (before Armson barrels were available for other markers). Later versions were called the Armson Assassin. Same body, but featured a unique-threaded, removable 16" Armson barrel.
Product Availability 
The Armson Pump is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
TreeBeardTheEnt Sunday, April 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippys, Cockers, electros - but you can't compare semis to pumps
Marker Setup: Armson Pump 16" w/ 9oz, 200 round hopper, and pure, unadultered skill.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Pro Dot, ghillie strips
Strengths: Excellent price when purchased, impossible to find, stock with Stealth 16", extremely accurate and quiet.
Weaknesses: Again, impossible to find! I'm lucky to have one. Good luck finding one!
Review: -only $150, +$10 shipping
-Handmade in South Africa
-Armson is a cool company (their main business is in real gun sights)
-Comes stock with an $80 barrel, the Armson Stealth (with a choice of 13" or 16")
-Very quiet
-Has autotrigger (you can hold the trigger and pump repeatedly, to fire up to 4 bps)
-Sexy as all hell
-Ergonomically designed pump arm and .45 grip
-Simple mechanics - very few parts, and all internals are stainless steel
-Ribbed trigger shoe
-Very well-balanced
-Has a really sweet looking anti-double feed
-Small-medium bore
-The sight rail is raised and the ASA is dropped, so not even a 20 oz will block the sight
-Very strong and resilient construction
-Lightweight
-Come with a really nice adjustable Armson elbow, instructions, tools, an Armson Stealth sticker, and of course, the incredible stock barrel, the Stealth. One of the few guns that comes stock with a ridiculous barrel

Ok, this is simply the BEST pump. By best, I mean the best deal, period. sure, Carter Machines are better, but they are overpriced @ $600. Sniper II's and III's and their look-alikes are nice, but again, a little overpriced @ around $240.

Phantoms, IMO are not as good a deal. They are well made, but compared to an Armson, are inferior. Phantoms come with a good barrel, but are big bore and about as good as a stock Tippy barrel. They don't compare to the accuracy and quietness of an Armson Stealth. Big bore also means that most balls roll out of when the gun is pumped, unless you spend $10 extra to get that silly metal ring to put in the breach, which also decreases accuracy due to increased friction, etc. The cheapest brand-new Phantoms are $170, and those come with m-16 grips, which aren't as comfy, as well as the aforementioned barrel. The sight rail on the Phantom is too low, and is hard to use with a C/A tank. If you want(ed) to spend less on a better pump, This would've been the one to get!

It took a while to ship, as it had to be handmade in South Africa, then shipped to England, then shipped by sea to the U.S. If I was lucky enough to order during a time when they had a shipment in England already, it could've taken as little as 10 days. However, mine took 5 weeks and 6 days to come, since it was out of stock when I ordered, and the Armson was swamped with other orders at the time.

This is the only thing: the rarity. I talked to the company and they said they are hoping to expand advertisement and production, along with making new gun accessories. Sadly, this has yet to happen...
Conclusion: This pump is the best. If you want to learn the fundamentals of the game, save money, and build your skills, get a pump! You might take insults from people for using a pump, but you will show 'em up nonetheless. If you want(ed) to get the best pump for the price and you do(did)n't mind waiting, get(steal) an Armson Pump! Remember, the Phantom is(was) more expensive, and isn't as good. If you want more info on this debate (and pics), go see the thread Armson vs. Phantom in the pump/stock forum.

I thank the people at pbreview for maintaining the most valuable paintball site online, and for removing stupid reviews, like people who give pumps bad reviews because they don't fire fast (sigh), or that this gun is too long (it is the same size as any gun with a 16" barrel!). What I don't thank them for is not removing reviews that ruin the otherwise perfect standing of a gun just because the writer either a) couldn't handle playing pump and trashed the gun instead of themselves or b) likes to lie about guns just to boost the standings of inferior albeit more popular, products. I am, of course, giving this product a 10/10, because it is worth every cent I paid for it, and more. I wanted accuracy, quietness, and quality, and I got it. Did I mention that this gun is sexy as all hell?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 14th, 2004 at 9:17 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Nic Gerpe Tuesday, April 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Hornet- doesn't even come close to the Armson
Lots of different semis, but considering how different semis are from pumps I don't think you really can compare them.
Marker Setup: Armson Pump w/13" Stealth Barrel: Stock
ICD ThunderCat: 14" CP, .45 Grips w/Hogue wraparounds, ICD Raised Sight Rail

Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm going to put my .45 grip block with Hogue Wraparounds on it, but this marker doesn't need any upgrades. It is absolutely awesome without them.
Strengths: 1) Accuracy: It's accuracy meets or exceeds that of virtually any gun out there
2) Well built: Man, this thing feels absolutely solid. Very durable and rugged feel- when you hold it, you can tell it's just a solid piece of equipment.
3) Lightweight
4) Easy to take apart
5) Great Looks: This is a personal preference thing, but I absolutely love the matte black finish on the gun.
6) Unique: I can almost promise you that if you show up to your field with one of these things, no one else will have one. Hell, most people don't even know what it is!
7) Price: for $150, you get an excellent gun and an $80 barrel. This has to be one of the best deals you can find! Considering how absolutely awesome the gun is, and the fact that it comes stock with a barrel that most people buy as an upgrade, it almost makes you wonder if Armson is really in the business to make money :) Definitely one of the best values in paintball.
8) Customer service: Armson responded quickly to all of my questions and their customer service people were very, very helpful.
Weaknesses: The only issue that may seem like a downside to this marker would be the limited upgrade path. However, this gun performs as well as or better stock than lots of other guns perform when they're all tricked out. The beauty of this gun is that it needs absolutely no upgrades to perform well. Like I mentioned earlier, I'm going to put my .45 grip block with Hogues on it, but that's a user preference upgrade, not a performance upgrade. Really, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this marker.
Conclusion: Accuracy, excellent performance, solid build, light weight, awesome looks.... that just about sums up the Armson. $150 gets you an outstanding marker and a barrel that most people buy as an upgrade. The price-to-performance ratio of this marker absolutely can not be beat. I'll give this gun a 10 only because I can't give it an 11!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jackel Sunday, September 2nd, 2001
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: First off, I barrowed this from a friend, and am in the process of buying one now. Better than a Tippman98 Custome or the ProCarbine. I like the barrel, very, very quiet, most of the people didn't hear you. The gun was accurate also. I was consistantly hitting targets the size of a human head (they were human heads) from a range of 30-40 yards. In an open field, if the enemy is kind enough to show you their heads, you can get off three or four rounds within two seconds and hit the target from 10-30 yards if your fast enough.
Weaknesses: Only thing bad was that agaisnt a Rainmaker or Angel, you'd get you butt kicked if you went into a spray and pray match (it's a pump, duh!). Your best bet would be to use the gun for what it is: a sniper rifle.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is a great gun for the sniper. If you like speedball and prefer to spray the area, invest in a Rainmaker. The ergonmoics of the gun were a bit disappointing, but some moleskin quickly solved that problem. Even the open sights were very nice because they allowed to to quickly and accuratly hit your target. It has an auto-trigger, allowing you to pump it really fast and lay down a curtain of supression fire if you need to. Also, it was pretty efficient. I'd buy it if you like snipership.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Toast86 Sunday, January 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other pumps, just semi's an electronic markers
Marker Setup: armson pump
tactical fore grip on pump handle
bipod
modified asa (running tank below grip
20oz co2

spyder vs2
tadao board w/musashi 7 chip
16" armson stealth barrel
Halo b w/ripdrive
48ci air tank
(sold the spyder)

wgp autococker prostock 2k5
14" barrel
48ci air tank

smart parts vibe ( standard.. for the moment :P )

smart parts ion
fire bolt
14" freak jr
qlock feedneck
sp mini drop foward with on/off asa

tested many other markers
(tippy 98/a5/x7, dye nt, dlx luxe... etc etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
what ever floats your boat i guess. great as standard
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Sexy
Crazy looks for walking on the field with a pump
Weaknesses: Old so parts are hard to find
Pump handle can be wobbley
Review: this is my second armson pump as my first was stolen :(

this marker feels realy well built, I havent had much chance to try out my new armson so my review is based more on what i learned from my old stolen pump.

accuracy as you have probably read about on the net with paintball markers is highly debated with arguments over closed/open bolt and poppet vs spool valve designs so my opinion is based solely around my experiences in paintball. the barrel on the armson pump would be my only reason for telling you to try this marker. armsons stealth barrel is the best barrel iv used so far. its on par if not better in the accuracy department as a well setup freak barrel with a range just a little shorter than a flat line. i havent had any problems with breaking paint except by my own mistakes, this barrel however does need to be kept exceptionaly clean to work at its best. a wet or paint filled barrel will turn this barrel into a nightmare so keep it clean people and it will love you.

ok enough about the barrel and more about the marker....
this marker is very simple to take apart and reassemble. there are basicaly just 2 screws holding everything in place. these screws are designed to be hand tightened, so they can work loose on their own which realy isi'nt a problem.

velocity is adjusted down the barrel or by removing the bolt and screwing in or out the velocity adjuster inside the bolt. if you dont have the right tool to fit down the barrel to adjust the velocity it can become abit fustrating. it must be noted tho that raising the velocity too high will stop the marker from cocking which shouldnt be a problem unless you only play paintball to inflict pain, in which case you should rather go play another form of sport!

the only real niggle i have is the pump stroke, i feel that it could be smoother but so could my personality :P

Edit: just swoped myself the 13" for the 16" stealth barrel. will let you know my thought about it soon.

Edit: Ok played a weekend social with the new 16", It was fairly accurate between 270-280fps. anything higher and the balls cork skrewed. This is due to the barrel not being run in yet. Armson rifled barrels need time for the barrel to wear in before the rifling works at its best. the cheapest way to do this is find something good on telly and pull a barrel cleaner through it for a couple of minutes ;) barrel was quieter than the 13" thou.
Conclusion: So in conclusion I would say its a real good fun little marker and if you can find one try it out. but if you want to play pump profesionaly and want the best of the best I'd recommend buying a newer pump.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2010 at 3:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I never really used a pump before, other than trying one out every now and then
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+, smartparts 14 inch barrel, 68cc nitro...and now the Armson too
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't think there are any...well, a sight, but i HATE those things
Strengths: -The barrel! It's an $80 barrel on a $150 gun...which makes it an awesome value too.
-I wouldn't call it sturdy, but it's certainly not fragile...it can take some hard use I'm sure
-Accurate as a paintball gun can be. Just make sure your velocity isn't cranked way up, otherwise you'll be curving balls all over the place.
-Also good for the economical player. Like any pump, it's light on paint and air. But believe me, this is not just any pump
Weaknesses: -Oh god, is this thing long. You will not belive how long this thing is with a 16" barrel sticking out the front and your tank coming out the back. Maybe I'm just not used to it yet, but I'm always banging it into a tree or something.
-God help you if you need to field strip it in a hurry.
-Doesn't shoot through breaks in the barrel very well. Don't know if this is because of the barrel length, the rifling, or what, but dry firing probably isn't gonna do it for you. Buy a squeegie. A long squeegie.
-They ship it from the UK...it took mine about 10 days to get here. Also, the customer service could have been a little better for me. Armson seemed a bit overwhelmed when I tried to contact them about an order error.
Conclusion: Accurate, economical, unique. This is a sweet pump gun. Pick off people before they see you, and you'll be fine. Try not to get into any firefights...it IS a pump after all. I'll give it a 9....I'm very very glad I bought it.
Any questions, send me an email.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maverick/Trracer
Marker Setup: Maverick/Trracer with a smart parts barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: This gun is made to last and take a beating. Its the most accurate gun i've ever shot. The armson pump is also quiet for sniping and looks great. you wont need to spend any money on upgrades because it comes with the best barrel there is, the armson stealth.
Weaknesses: The only problem i had so far is the barrel somtimes has some trouble screwing in. not a biggy
Conclusion: if your looking for a great pump gun this is it. it has incredible preformance at a low price. you'll make all your friends jealous
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, July 7th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: In my opinion this is the best pump gun availible. It is built out of great materials and is designed to be one of the most accurate rifles. I would recomend it to anyone who want to be a sniper or just have an accurate shot. The barrel itself is $80 so the overall price of the gun isnt that bad.
Weaknesses: Its made in South Africa so it takes about 1-2 weeks to ship. Otherwise nothing
Conclusion: Perfect gun. Most accurate gun made. Very silent as well. Awesome price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 12th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I just bought an Armson pump. The Armson pump is made in South Africa. It comes with an Armson stealth barrel. It comes with a removable anti-double feed. With the tank connected, and you use the tank for a shoulder stock, it has a slight drop and you can sight straight down the barrel. It has the auto-trigger that you can hold back and just pump on the cocking arm to fire. I don't think it comes in green anymore. The Armson pump shoots straight and I haven't broken any paint in the barrel after shooting about 750 rounds of Nelson. You probably will have to buy it off the web site as I haven't found it for sale on other paintball sites. The price is around $160.00 with shipping from the UK. As a pump goes it has long range and shoots straight. I use it to save paintballs because I like to "lay down paint". It also makes a great starter or back-up gun. It also comes with a free Armson patch.
good back-up.
Weaknesses: It's a pump if you like to rain it down.
Conclusion: A good buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballhell Monday, September 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None used
Marker Setup: Armson pump with 12 oz CO2 brass eagle hopper and macro line. Modified grip & pump piece, modified air chamber, ball stoppers (spyder).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Change barrel to 18" rap 4 sniper barrel.
Strengths: Shoots +/- 500ft per sec. Accurate.
Weaknesses: When loading balls, multiple balls load.
Review: This Armson pump gun was modified by Henri (Tazz) of Paintball Hell in Walkerville Gauteng South Africa. Can be viewed in the armson gallery. Armson is old but yet reliable. Armson pumps are scares, so if you can get one grab it. It has a high velocity and will compete with any new pump.
Conclusion: It shoots like a dream, easy to cock, very accurate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

de4th101 Monday, March 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tigershark
Marker Setup: i use a gt commando 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you want to, get a armson pro dot sight or a diff sight but i dont see the need for one right now
Strengths: it comes with a armson stealth barrel. nice pump. auto trigger. and comes with a cool patch and free oil and a barrel tube and a sticker. it is a low price pump and its real nice i got mine yesterday and i was shooting last night and i only broke 5 balls but that was my fault cause i wanted to see how many i could pump before they broke. well i found out that 4 is the limit but if you pump it 2 or 3 times it shoots like buck shot and still shoots pretty hard. that will come in handy in close combat. its very accurate and still is pretty accurate close range after breaking a ball or 2 or 3 or 4 or 5
Weaknesses: it takes a long time to ship. barrel scratches pretty easy. and you can only pump it 4 times and shoot without breaking any balls.its a pump but thats ok with me cause i like to spray and pray but i cant cause its a pump. ONLY ORDER A BLACK PUMP THEY DONT MAKE GREEN ANYMORE!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: this gun is very nice and fairly cheap. its a nice accurate pump.makes a good starter or backup gun. comes with a armson stealth barrel thats rifled. very sweet looking and is quiet. ill rate this a 9 cause n gun is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media