paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $209

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Murph1 Saturday, October 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month32 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tigershark - Very nice beginners gun. Suggested if you ever wanna try pump without breaking the bank. However, in terms of customizability, it's on par with the phantom, in all other measurements, it's inferior. Buck for Buck, though, it lasted me 3 years with very little maintenance, and only cost me 40 bucks... I guess that's good. Actually, now, thinking about it, it got better gas efficiency out of a 12 gram at 45 good shots and 7 decreasing ones.
Marker Setup: CCI Backbottle stock class phantom. .45 frame, acid blue.

Backup - Brass Eagle Raptor - Eagleworks barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-stock, and a decent sight (yes they are worth crap on this marker.) Dont forget a stock class harness. Nothing's more annoying than running with your hand covering the pocket full of 12 grams in an effort to stop the rattling.
Strengths: This is a beauty of a paintball gun, I have to say off the bat. It just looks sexy.

For accuracy - Definately ranks an excellent. Better accuracy and therefore effective range than any other marker I've seen for under a thousand dollars.

Feel - Solidly Constructed, nothing rattles around too bad, I can get running pretty fast without worrying about it falling apart. It's very light. It's not bad running with it at all. And it balances perfectly in the palm of my hand, since most of the stainless components are right over the grip frame.

Durability - I havent given it a torture test, but it feels solid. All internal parts are stainless steel, it hardly rattles (Just the plastic pump arm.) The exterior is aluminum so you can have it ano'd. I have a feeling it will last a while.

Gas efficiency - This matters in a stock class gun. I get 30 good shots before changing cartridges. I imagine I could get more if I were able to keep liquid co2 from being fired (1 shot of liquid is something like 7 shots of gas at 850 psi, if I remember correctly.) But anyway, you get good gas efficiency running 12 grams out of the backbottle position.

Looks - The acid wash patterns (like my acid blue.) are excellent.

Reloading - Yes this is a stock class gun, so you have to reload a little differently than you would have if you were using a direct-feed gun. Reloading paint is pretty easy once you get used to using little cigar tube thingies. Co2 is very easy, the changer comes off in two or three twists.
Weaknesses: I couldn't find anything I didnt like about it. A couple friends who shot a couple shots expressed their concern with the lack of an anti-double pump, but if you know how to test the trigger without firing, you should be good to go. I'm not gonna go into detail.
Conclusion: An excellent gun overall. A must buy. I don't give a crap about not possibly being a ten since no gun is perfect. That may be true, but this is based on experience and my Phantom is the best gun I've used in my experience, earning it a "Perfect" ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 9th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months21 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
An old Kingman Hammer - A reliable marker, but not nearly in the same category.
Marker Setup: All stock, Daisy Max View sight (makes it tremendously accurate.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I've been told the CCI Nickel plated is an excellent, cheap upgrade. A ref on a field once told me to try out the Armson Stealth as I squegeed behind a stump, but I haven't heard how it performs on the Phantom. So far, the stock barrel has done well enough.
Strengths: Compact - Even w/ a 14" barrel, the stock Phantom is sleek. I remember sniping sideways through a bunch of collapsed trees my first day out on a wood course, with only a three inch opening, and no one could see me. No hopper exposed, no bulky tank, nothing.

Accuracy & Range - If you can steady your shot, and have the assistance of a red dot sight, you can thump some heads. The first day I played w/ some friends after calibrating my sight, I played for 3 hours straight w/o getting hit once. I racked up 6 slaps to the other guys' masks and 2 other hits in the arm and hand when my target sighting in on me. I was truly amazed at each hit after hit, ranging up to around 120 ft., even though the day before I was able to hit a piece of 1x4 lumber sunk into the ground time after time from around 100 ft. That's a 3.5" target. There is nothing like hearing your final target cry out from 40 yards away as you switch off your sight, push in the safety, and step from the creek or foxhole or downed log, drawing in a deep breath. It's completely different from blazing someone w/ a semi.

Simple Internals - If you keep them clean and oiled, they will serve you well.

Great Service - Just give Mike Cassidy a call w/ any questions. CCI will be around for some time.

Few upgrades needed - a new barrel maybe sometime down the line, and maybe a .45 grip. Everyone says it's so much better, and maybe my fingers just aren't that sensitive as I'm stalking my prey, but I haven't cared yet.

Easy switchovers - You can change the stock class to vertical feed or switch the 12 gram adapter to a CO2 tank with a few twists of the alan wrench.
James Bond effect- The gun just looks sweet. You will turn some heads on the course, and maybe get a few condescending looks. But like others here have said, just let look. And then play your game. It's not the gun that makes the man... It's the man that makes the gun.

Experience - You will learn to think strategically in a way that will help your all-around game. You can specialize as a sniper to take out targets your teammates may not be able to. You will enjoy the rush.

Economy - Cheap to play this way.
Weaknesses: Velocity Adjustment - Can be adjusted down the barrel w/ a special tool, but the side bolt (which is nylon, and must be treated w/ care) is a bit more difficult to access w/ the SC horizontal feeder. I always strip the gun and adjust the bolt once it is separated from the breech, but this can be a handful at the course. Just a grain of sand anywhere in the gun can cause trouble. More than one grain can really cause trouble. I had flanked one opponent and was only 25 ft from them, pulling the trigger... when it stuck. I had knocked some sand into it while trying to frantically squeege my barrel earlier. Learn to treat your gun well.

ROF - You can hold the trigger and pump off shots, but really this is a pretty unlikely choice w/ only 11 balls in your feeder and w/ the typical opponents you'll be up against on a field. This isn't ultimately a "bad." Understand what this tool can accomplish within its bounds, and you will appreciate it. Don't buy this gun if you can't handle having less than 12 bps blaze in your opponent's general direction.

Ball/CO2 Capacity - 10 balls before a reload, around 30 or so shots before you'll have to switch out your 12 gram. Again, not ultimately a "bad." But it can be if you aren't aware of your limitations.

Cocking - You may double feed a few times before you learn the rythmn. It's just simply not as easy as just pulling a trigger.
Conclusion: I have had an unbelieveably huge amount of pleasure from this gun. It is perfect for playing after work in the woods and field near my house. We crank ours up to almost 350 fps, w/ RPI Premium or Superswirls, and they honestly still shoot straight and true, and w/o breaks. And they hurt, quite a bit. Games can last a long time when you terrified of a sniper out there... stalking you, trying to flank you. You begin to think about tactics in a very different way. The Phantom price tag comes w/ a free education.

On the rec fields, up against mags, autocockers, tippmans, and rental spyders, you can truly hold your own. Not w/o varying your strategy. Not w/o support at times from semis. Not w/o getting blazed at least once because you excitedly rush the front and get pinned down before you learn to adjust your game. But you can learn to position yourself and out range your opponents. You can move w/ stealth and do things that they just won't expect. You can take out key players, maybe sacrificing yourself in the kill. You will bring home stories of crawling up creeks and slithering through ravines unnoticed because everyone else is hiding behind barrels and trees, just emptying their hoppers and wallets as you flank them, and slap a single ball into a mask of a $600 speedballer and watch them do a triple take as you cock your pump Phantom for the next kill. That kind of rush is worth the $178.

Play with a semi, too. They are two different styles. But among pump markers, the Phantom will not let you down. It demands a resourceful and gutsy warrior to play with one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

isaiah Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, tigershark, talon, SL68-II, maverick, hammer
Marker Setup: rainmaker with some Mad Marty mods, SF board, PPS stab foregrip, BMW MAC mount, Smoking Nun nickel plated fittings, gutted reg backblock, dye stickies, J&J ceramic.

my own prototype reactive trigger Raptor with prototype force feed system.

my new Stock Class Phantom with .45 grips, acid blue ano.
Recommended
Upgrades:
absolutely nothing.
Strengths: efficient, accurate, reliable, durable, ROF monkeys think I'm crazy, lightweight, beautiful.
Weaknesses: I didn't buy one sooner.
Review: I didn't want to review this until after I had played some games with it. Since I just got back from a 12 hour scenario game at Mountain of Doom paintball in Hanceville, AL I thought this would be a good time, since i used the phantom all day.

At the beginning of the day, a grey-haired guy saw my stock class harness and came up to me and said "I hope you're playing stock class, cause otherwise it's gonna take you forever to reload with those tubes!" and I pulled out my phantom. He said it was a really nice gun, and a bunch of kids giggled and snickered. Except for some of the old timers, there was a general "haha, he has a pump" attitude.

after a couple hours, i had changed that attitude to "OH **** it's the guy with the pump!" over much of the field. at some points, i stood in the open, and several people were firing volleys at me while i picked them off one shot at a time and dodged their balls from 150 feet away. the accuracy is excellent, even at extreme range.

In one mission with instant base-tag regenerations, I had run up farther than anyone else on my team (I had excellent cover fire behind me) and was taking out everyone on our left flank, when everyone on the other team decided to not let me pop out of my bunker at all. This is when everyone else on my team moved up. Being underestimated is a great thing.

Through it all, the phantom did not break a ball, and I always knew when to change my 12g because it wouldn't pump without 600 psi. The pump was super smooth and easy, the barrel mirror smooth at the end of the day. Very sturdy, very sexy and smooth.
Conclusion: This is by far the best gun I've ever owned. I was never anything more than a decent player with my electros and reactive triggers. But every game since I got this phantom, I've ripped up the field with it, especially against semis and electros. This really is an unfair advantage.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

miks Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Phantom SC 11" with ADCO Hotshot Reflex red dot sight; VForce Shield; Ronin Gear Stock Harness.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A red dot sight.
Strengths: Accuracy, durability, reliability, lightweight, compact, looks great, earns you respect just for using it.
Weaknesses: None. But it will expose the weaknesses in your game like an x-ray.
Review: I played a full day with my new Phantom SC and had more fun than I've ever had playing paintball. Just walking into the staging area you get a grip load of looks, whispers, questions and a lot of respect. I was target shooting at the range and there were autocokers and angels all around me. They were taking like 3 or 4 shots to hit these targets while I was nailing everything I aimed at on the first shot. I heard a guy with a cocker say to his buddy, "that gun is pretty accurate".

In one game I moved up front and on of the opposing players ran into our territory about 75 ft across from me. He didn't see me so I lined him up in my sights and fired once. It was the sweetest feeling to see my paint break all over his lenses. He kept talking about that shot all day.

Another guy tried to run around my bunker firing at me at the same time. He was about 20 ft. away. I just reaction shot him and nailed him in the chest while he was running.

Basically, if you aim this gun, it will hit where you aim like 90% of the time. The trick is to stay calm and aim in the heat of battle.

It was light so I could full on sprint with it. It got hit with paint several times and I didn't even have to clean it. It kept shooting just as good even though it was a bit more colorful.

At the chrono it varied by like 3 fps until the 12gram started running out.

On speedball fields I was getting pounded by cockers, angels and tippman A-5s, but this is because I kept running too fast and far off the break and outstripping my cover guys. I still am learning to adjust my game. At this stage I can't trade paint with high end semis because I'm not too good at snapshooting yet, but this gun is so accurate that if I keep practicing, I will be snapshooting semi's out.

Just remember to start each game with a full feed tube and a relatively new 12 gram. Learn your best range and only shoot at what you can hit or to provide some cover. This gun has taught me more in one day than I've learned in all these months of playing with my semi about playing tactically, smart, and knowing your limitations and working around them.
Conclusion: This gun is great for beginners because it will force them to learn the game rather than rely on a technology race where they think that ROF spells victory. It is more fun than semis because it is more challenging. It is as accurate as any paintball marker can be. If you get good with this then you will be better than any semi player. It is just fun fun fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 29th, 2001
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Let me just begin this article by saying I have never had so much fun on the paintball field EVER, as I did playing with the PHANTOM...Do you remember your first time playing as a newbie: the mixed energies of fear,and excitement, drenched with adrenaline at the sound of the statring horn that got you hooked on the game of paintball? Probably not many long time players really do. I realized how much of that feeling: "fun" ,I had lost when I put down my tricked marker and picked up a Phantom. Now, I own a sweet, FULLY upgraded Tippmann 98 which is capable of shooting very fast (response valve), and accurately (bigshot),so shooting 200-500 paintballs a game is pretty much routine when playing with a marker like this. Although I usually would beat my opposition handily, I rarely, if ever got the adrenaline rush that comes from a fierce competition of skill, quickness, and wits topped off with a well earned elimination. On the other hand with a high end marker many of these most exciting aspects of the game are quickly degraded to: pop out, rip off 10 balls in a sec ,and if the other guy has any common sense he will get tight behind his bunker.He will have no choice but to wait for the barrage to stop (assuming that it ever does) and then let loose his own rain of paint. The only move either of these men are likely to make are to either bunker the other, or sprint to a bunker shortly ahead of his, under cover by a storm of paint by his teamates on his opponent's bunker. The only reason I mention this minimal movement involved in games such as these is that I really think the biggest rush in paintball is the one where your sprinting your butt off to a key bunker where you know you can change the course of the game, or stalking your opponent with a stealthy crawl in the woods. While the "super semi" type of play certainly has its perks, in my opinion (and many other's) taking to the field with a PHANTOM pump, even against high end guns, is just simply ALOT more fun.
Anyway the emotional highs of the PHANTOM I discussed are the best part of the gun, but here are some others:
1. No upgrades needed, stock barrel is very verrrrry accurate(red dot sight worthy),everything else works just fine stock
2.not positive about extra distance but I think it shoots a fair amount farther than semis
3.extremely lite
4.very durable
5.smooth pumpstroke (new pumps may have to be broken in a little more)
6.very easily field strippable, simple
7.you get about 40 good consistent shots out of a 12 gram (they work great)
8.Your game (PUMP & SEMI) will improve tremendously over time
9.You will save so much money on paint, on average I only use around 40-50 paintballs a day. You will quickly save enough paint money to pay for your PHANTOM.
9.Very low profile
10.Holds its velocity for a long time.
11.This was sort of a welcome surprise when I first went to the field with a PHANTOM but you will usually recieve alot of respect when players see you going against angels/cockers with a pump. When your shot making a move you hear: "Hey good try Phantom guy" and when you take out a higher end gun, you really put the players in awe (but trust me this really isn't as uncommon as you might think).
Weaknesses: 1.You obviously will have a rate of fire disadvantage at those open play days, but hey Im reviewing the gun for what it is, so no big deal
2.Velocity is accesed by a long steel rod down the barrel, kind of weird but not really bad.
3.The M-16 trig frame is comfortable enough for most but I think the only stock available for it is the "L" stock which is wicked heavy compared to the nice, lite, telescoping stock which only fits the slightly more comfy .45 trig frame.
4.You will probably run into alot of shmucks who will be "pointing and whispering as you walk down the hall" for having a pump but finishing the game with numerous eliminations, preferably including them, should quiet them down!
5. CO2 cartridges you can change pretty quickly but being able to reload with the 10 round tubes quickly is the tougher part!
6.Cost may seem a little steep and maybe it is, but you get what you pay for and more.
Conclusion: I believe every player should own at least one pump, and the PHANTOM marker is the most respected of all stock markers.
Get one, you may never shoot semi again!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fullmetal Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
04 Cocker
98 Custom
Marker Setup: 04 Cocker
Empire Reloader
72/3000
Sticky Grips 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
None its freaking amazing out the box
Strengths: UBERaccurate
UBERlight
easy to clean
Cheap upgrades (its not like you need any)
Great Price
Weaknesses: You will probably need ball detents cause of .689 barrel
But thats 'bout it
Review: Alright, well when my friend first told me he was getting a Phantom i was like ogm wtf mate! Why are you getting a crappy pump gun. But i was right about one thing and wrong about another. It was a pump but it sure as hell wasnt crappy like i thought it to be. It came on a nice afternoon were the birds were chirping and the sun was shining. It was like the Baby Jesus was born again! So my freind called me over and we took some shots on it, well earlier in the week we went to our local Galyans and bought this target system. We both hit the same target. the target is about 1 in wide. And the thing is, i was just pointing and shooting. And all decked with everything, i could throw this like a spear and win the freaking Olympics! BUY IT NOW
Conclusion: One of the gretest guns ever invented! Buy it!!!!! and if you dont ::shakes fist at reader::
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CCI31182 Friday, December 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 Custom (hated it)
A-5 (hated it)
Marker Setup: Phantom SC
14" CCI Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger shoe (comfort)
Detent Ring set (you'll need it eventually)
Strengths: Accuracy
Air effeciancy
Weight
Shock factor
Weaknesses: Big bore size (.691) can be fixed with a set of Detent Rings.
Review: I recently got this marker from a website after doing a lot of research into available paintball markers and decided this one was the best for me. So when it arrived I went out got some oil and RPS Marballizers. After that I loaded them up and put some oil in the ASA and enough paintballs to empty out a twelve gram which surprised me at forty shots. I did have some problems with the paint rolling out of the barrel which only happened twice because I forgot to put my detents in. Other than that this gun gets a 10/10 because it is just so efficient
Conclusion: Great gun for anyone looking for a challenge. It is really simple to field strip and clean. Very accurate, light weight (2lbs fully loaded), and is efficient on 12 grams. I can't think of a better pump marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Pumpactionman Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tigershark- Good beginners gun, but not very good at all, it hardly compares
PMI Tracer- Basicly the same gun as the phantom, but lower quality parts, and overall not as good.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom- I use the stock class setup, but instead of using 12 grams i use a 7 ounce back bottle. Black, 14" Stock Barrel, M16 Grip, a crossman red dot sight that i use for speed ball, as well as a bushnell 3-7x20mm extended eye releif scope for woods games. (I switch)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A sight of some form, as this gun is very accurate and a sight would improve the performance.
-Possibly an 11" Nickel Plated Barrel, as I asked Mike Cassidy(owner of CCI) and he said they are designed to be more efficient, as well as larger porting for a queiter, less visible shot under constant air (the Co2 puff out of the barrel disperses with better porting, thus making you less visible when firing, i call it a muzzle flash)
Strengths: - Very Durable, lightweight, easy dissassembly, excellent customer service, quality craftmanship, well made, well designed.
Weaknesses: See below, i want to explain the 'weaknesses' (in other words, none)
Review: Weaknesses:
I wanted to explain the weaknesses here in full, as there wasn't enought room up above.
When using the 10 round stock loader, and a back bottole, the loader interferes with the loader cap, and you have to force the stock loader up to get the cap on, after you put the Co2 bottle on. This is a weakness per say, because the stock class variation wasn't designed with that in mind. The velocity adjust down the barrel is a bit of a nuisance, but you just have to get used to it. The M16 grip can be a little uncomfortable, as most of the weigth rests on your middle finger with it, but its a trade off for the 'rifle feel' I was looking for. Again, I wouln't call these weaknesses, I'm just being in picky.
Review:
The CCI Phantom is a excellently crafted marker, I wish I had gotten it sooner. The markers are all custom made to your personal tastes, with the availability of any colour, barrel size and type, feed system, and Co2 posotion. There is a multitude of options available to the Phantom, however only CCI puts these out, so there is a limited path to follow for upgrades.
The disassembly is very simple, there are two very large thumb screws on the bottom of he grip frame to unscrew, and the entire body comes apart. The bolt, hammer, port compensator all slide out after the screws are removed, for an easy feild strip and resassembly.
The accuracy is incredible for a stock barrel, I chose the 14" barrel because i wanted mine with a rifle look and feel. The stock barrel is one of few that don't truly need to replaced, the accuracy is exceptional already. The nickel plated barrel is designed to be more efficient (The coefficient of kinetic friction is less on nickel than on aluminum, thus producing less drag on the ball), which indirectly affects the accuracy, making it slightly more accurate. Unfortunately, the Nickel barrel can not be annodized, because its Nickel, and i looks pretty cool anyway. There is a Carbon Fibre barrel out, which is now discontinued, Mike Cassidy put out for a little while a week or two ago (October 03 now) and it was the last batch. I have no idea how good these barrels are.
The pump on the phantom is smooth, and easy once its broken in, and very easy. One thing i would recommend is be careful not to double feed while autofiring(holding the trigger down while pumping, you can get about 6 bps off that way), as its more prone to double feeding while autofiring, as you have a tendency not the bring the pump arm far enough forward to fire. All it takes is practice to eliminate this.
The Velocity also drops while autofiring, though only while using twelve grams, not a bottle larger than 7 ounces.
Conclusion: This an excellent marker, well made, and comparitively cheap to other pumps that are as good as the Phantom. I bought my Stock Class Phantom for $290 canadian, which is an average price. Mike Cassidy is excellent for getting back to you, so if you have any questions, email him, and he'll get back to that day, or the day after.
I give this marker a 10, as its as close to perfection as any marker can get. Most markers have their flaws, this one just has a lot less flaws.
You should get this marker if your looking for a well made, well priced and very reliable pump.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Psycho_warden Thursday, April 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares to the phantom
Marker Setup: Acid Black/Blue Stock Class Phantom

PMI Piranha VTL, smoke Empire Reloader, phat on/off and mini drop, E-force frame, 12 inch quiet riot, 68/3000 Pure Energy Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe the CCI Nickel barrel, but not needed
Strengths: Reliable
Efficient
Accurate
Challenging
Intimidating
Great Stock Barrel
Smooth
Light
Weaknesses: Steep learning curve
Review: I was getting sick and tired of buying 1000 rounds a day, so I tried to conserve paint, and it just didnt work, so I bought a pump. But I didnt buy just a pump, I bouhgt a stock class Phantom. Although people say no gun is more accurate than another, I believe that to be untrue. The Phantom envelopes the paintball in a pocket of air that actually reduced those wild wingers. On top of that, the Phantom has an amazing stock barrel, the only reason you need another one is for different bore sizes. The pump stroke is very smooth once you get it broken in (about 1000 shots). I now go through about 100-200 rounds a day, and 4-5 12 grams. The efficiency on this gun is great too, I get about 45 good shots from one 12 gram.

This gun is amazingly light and compact, it makes me feel like I can move up anytime I want, but thats not true, I wieght 240lb and am 6ft tall, big guy. But I have yet to get hit in the gun. Although many people snicker and laugh at the fact that your using a pump, by the end of the day, they have usually changed their mind, especially when you bunker them, thats fun. Not to mention that this is one of the best looking guns that I have ever seen, the anno is amazing with the acid wash.

The only weakness that I can think of is that this gun has a steep learning curve to it. You forget that you have to pump before every shot, you loose count of your paintballs, and then run out, or you freak out about the fact that you have to change your co2 on the field.
Conclusion: Amazing gun, I swear by it, never had a problem with it besides a bad seal that needed replacing or some simple oiling.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 11th, 2005 at 9:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Monday, July 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 'Cocker converted to Sniper, well upgraded Hammer A, Palmerized upgraded PGP, P-68 SC, Palmers Houndstooth.
Marker Setup: Black Stock Class pistol with rear drop out changer, custom made mahogany battle pump and grip, 11inch barrel drilled for freak inserts by White Wolf Airsmithing.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If it came with the terrible plastic Lonestar M-16 grip at least get the .45 grip.
Strengths: Spectacular fit and finish. Very gas efficient. Great stock barrel.
Weaknesses: None that I can think of, except the standard plastic Lonestar grip as stated earlier.
Review: I won a Stock Class pistol at a game earlier this year. The pistols come with rear drop out, 10 round magazine and a 6 inch barrel.

I've been playing mostly pump and stock class for the past 3 years. I never would have picked the Phantom as a choice for a primary gun...until I had a chance to play with one.

The day I won the gun I had borrowed my friends $1700 Palmer Pursuit Shop Houndstooth. I played all day with that gun, mainly because I didn't want to let it out of my sight, and the Phantom sadly sat in my truck all day. Knowing what I know now I would have locked up the PPS and played all day with the Phantom.

For $1700 I simply was not that impressed with the PPS. Even with "widgets" I was still getting some roll outs. The pump action wasn't all that great either, not for that kind of money. For around $200 the Phantom works and shoots as good if not better.

The thing that most impressed me was the spectacular quality of the parts. This is a gun obviously made by a man who knows his stuff and cares. The tolerances are tight as a drum. As an old machinist, there are little things I noticed when I took a closer look at this gun that most people wouldn't have, like the way the pump rod is bent, or the dowel behind the pump rod guide so it doesn't get worn too much.

I really like the ghost ring. Once you get used to it you can use it very successfully.

The rear dropout changer is great for a pistol, and the air efficiency is excellent. I'm actually not sure how many shots I'm getting out of a 12 gram...at least 30 at 280fps. I change it so infrequently I forget how many tubes I used.

The stock barrel is excellent as well. Probably the best stock barrel there is. New Phantoms come with detent rings too, which work to keep balls from rolling out of the barrel. With the right size ring the barrel is very accurate, even at 6 inches.

I must confess, I did get a "Frantom" barrel, which in my case is a stock barrel machined out to accept Freak inserts. I only did this because paint seems to be very small these days and even the smallest ring didn't always make it...also, I wanted to put on a longer pump handle. However, there was no real need at all for me to replace the stock barrel.

The only complaint I can come up with is that the cheap plastic Lonestar grip just stinks. Luckily most Phantoms come with a .45 grip that's nice. I can't complain too much since my Phantom was free so it's understandable that I got the absolute cheapest one you can get. I just ended up making a custom grip and pump handle for it out of mahogany. If you get one, spring the extra $20 or whatever it is and get the .45 grip frame.
Conclusion: If you want a nice, solid, new, well made pump gun without selling your first born to Palmers, this is it. It's as nicely made as you can make any mass produced product, and nicer than a lot of "hand made" custom jobbbers I've seen over the years.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media