paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice / Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice / Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice / Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice

Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 309
Average Rating: 5.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Stingray II Ice is the latest version of the popular Stingray II entry level semi-automatic marker. This marker is made from the finest clear, impact resistant plastic available and is virtually indestructible! It's perfectly balanced for a steady aim and perfect shot . Its performance/price relationship is unmatched in today's marketplace. It's predecessor, the Stingray II, is the world's number one selling semi-automatic paintball marker. The Stealth Series offers an exciting new look and appearance that is unmatched in paintball today. The Stingray II Ice continues to be an excellent choice for playing locations which require low velocities such as indoor fields.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Rowol Friday, January 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stingray I worse
-Triton not bad for noobs
-Genesis see Triton
-Genesis Surge see Triton
Marker Setup: -Enigma EXR
-20oz, 12oz, 12oz, tanks (C02)
-14" Dye Boomstick barrel
-Evil Paintballs
-12v JT hopper
-Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good 12v hopper. Nothing else really fits on it. But if you plan to put money on a marker don't put it on a Stingray.
Strengths: Ok first of all ignore the noobs that have played 1 1/2 years and under when they review this marker and say it is innaccurate. My Enigma was delivered wrong so I sent it back for another and used the Stingray II for a couple weeks (eight-ten games) this is what I found,
-Is fairly accurate one of my friends hit center marke on a target 100 feet away fout times in a row.
-dosen't chop much (i was using legends)
I know it's not much for good stuff but when you think about it if your new then this marker can be a really good marker to use for learning the ropes.

Weaknesses: These are the reasons an expireicanced player would NOT want to use the marker.
-It's barrel can only be removed by little pins on the side.
-It's barrel is very short. And you cant get a longer one.
-It's triger pull is very long
-It is acctually quite loud.
-It sort of curves up and over when you shoot not actually curving just lobbing.
-In speedball it shoots very slow.
Conclusion: Well if your new this is a good marker for you. Cheap but don't put moeny into when you become a decent player with this get at least a gun that is over $100. Thats about it. Thx for reading.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

danielson Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
TALON (ok for what it is but i wont get into that)
TALON GHOST (look up)
Marker Setup: Stingray II (re)painted flat black, freshly rebuilt with acrylic detent ball and venturi bolt, 12" brass eagle barrel painted flat black, 9oz co2 with butt plate turned all the way up
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL IT HELPS ALOT (i cant emphasise this enough) it makes the gun!!!
co2 tank with a butt plate (gives you a rifle feel and makes it very stable to fire, I LIKE THIS GUN OVER SOME OF THE NEWER ONES BECAUSE THE BOTTOM LINE CO2 SETUPS DONT FEEL RIGHT THE WAY THE RAY IS SET UP ITS MORE IN A SHOULDER FIRING POSTITION AND IT FEELS MORE LIKE A REAL GUN

VENTURI BOLT and acrylic detent ball YOU WILL NEVER BREAK A BALL AGAIN WITH THIS UPGRADE (I use the brass eagle balls and never break them)
Strengths: DURABILITY, UPGRADES,WORK ON IT YOURSELF!!
Weaknesses: the stock detent ball is steel and chews up the bolt makes it chop balls
Review: THE GUN STOCK IS A GREAT ENTRY LEVEL MARKER

the barrel is too short
and the detent ball is harmfull to the life of the bolt

BUT I PAYED 60 BUCKS FOR THE GUN AND THE TANK USED AND HAVE SPENT ABOUT 45$ ON UPGRADES AND I HAVE A GREAT MARKER

IT WORKES GREAT ,SHOOTS STRAIGHT, DOESNT CHOP BALLS AND DIDNT COST ME HALF THE RENT TO MY APPARTMENT!!!
Conclusion: IF YOU WANT TO BUY IT, BUY IT. ITS A GREAT GUN. BUT IF YOU BUY IT YOU WILL WANT TO UPGRADE IT. But even after you upgrade it youlle have less than half in it as most of your compeditors and youlle have a great gun thats different and you know what WE JUST MIGHT BE ABLE TO MAKE A BETTER REPUTATION FOR HER
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

Lt_Fuzz Tuesday, January 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pirahna sts g3 and g2, m98c, A-5
Marker Setup: A-5 with dead on universal d/f
e-grip
double trigger
lapco 12" bead blasted big shot and 14" all american from smart parts
dead on gas thru
crossfire 68/3000 nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
i havnt really seen any (or looked for any)upgrades but some people add some crazy stuff like pneumatics somehow, looks pimp when you do it.
Strengths: cheap
easilly disassembles
pretty durable (been droped a couple of times and it still works)
Weaknesses: slow
hard trigger pull
wicked to cock, i've cut myself before
inaccurate
loud
Conclusion: Was my first gun, and it worked well to just learn the sport with. gets a 6 because it isnt so bad compaired to how much you pay for it, got mine for 50 bucks. if you are a total beginer and want a gun better than a pump that you can at least learn the sport with it's not such a bad gun. you can learn the basic internals of a paintball gun because it is so easilly disassembled. However hard trigger pull and inaccuracy hinder the game play for any player who plays often. Never used mine at a pb feild but i've seen people do it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xtremepaintbalr Tuesday, January 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder victor
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing that I can think of off the top of my head
Strengths: gets good co2 use( shoots about 500 balls on a 9oz. tank)
looks ok
really cheap Im talking like $45
Weaknesses: chops about 20 paintballs out of 500
not very accurate it curves
fires really slowly


Conclusion: Not a bad gun for beginners. If you have the money though go for a better gun like the spyder victor. All and all its not a bad gun. I thought about buying it but I wouldnt think of it any more
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 28th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is one of BE's better guns.

-Good Accuracy( Even better with new barrel)
-Doesn't break paint
-not very expensive
Weaknesses: Here's the bad stuff though:

-Trigger pull is hard, after a few hours, your finger gets sore
-After a few months, the plastic gets loose and starts cracking
-The Stock Barrel stinks
-The CO2 adaptors almost always get stuck and you strip the rings trying to get it open
-You have to upgrade this gun if you want it to work good.
Conclusion: Most people diss Brass Eagle left and right for thier guns, but have they even used BE guns or upgraded them. Using the gun for 1 day doesn't mean it sucks. Anway the Stingray II is one of BE's best acomplishments. MY friend got a 14 Inch Sniper Barrel and he has a more accurate gun than the AutoCoker ( a drawback is that the new barrel breaks balls when rapidly firing)
A drawback is that plastic was not a good choice for this gun, so it starts to crack and get loose as you use it more. This is a good gun for a begginer.
I recommend it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Avalanche360 Friday, February 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used an avenger, point zero, raptor extreme, tippmann 98 custom, mini mag, talon ghost, blade, jt excellerator 4.0. to me all these guns are atleast 2 times better than this gun even the talon ghost and blade,(point zero big suprise) i hate the stingray ive never seen a gun for such a rip off its not worth its price a point zero is 3 times better and cheaper at that to.
Marker Setup: stingray II package, everything stock and SMALL BARREL(no accuaracy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE JUST BUY ANOTHER GUN!
Strengths: i think its good for wannabes, posers, newbies, just because it will make them research into things and find a really really nice gun!
Weaknesses: EVERYTHING, smallest chamber I've ever seen leaks prescious air like no other chops a ton of ball breaks in cold weather and u have to clean it alot, my freind dropped it and snapped it in half thats how cheapy it is.
Conclusion: This is the worst gun ive ever seen and what a waist of my money now i have to get a summer job to get a new gun(ENIGMA EXR) theres so many guns that are really bad but more that r good never get black magic autococker ur only buying the looks. If you want a good gun to start off with i recomend the model 83(point zero) air sufficient even comes in a great package(very cheap!)
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 10th, 2001
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Umm... that's a good one... lemme think... well... it's fairly light, definately has a unique look, although whether you like that depends on your tastes. Umm... surprisingly decent quality for the price. A very simple gun, making maintenance much lesss scary than other guns. Served me well for a while, then decided to go for buying my spyder TL plus *grin*.
Weaknesses: OK, get comfortable, this is gonna be a long one. Ok, this gun was cool the first few times I played with it, but then started suck'n like a hollywood hooker. Accuracy isn't all that great with the gun, shoots kinda inconsistantly (the 6 inch barrel might have someth'n to do with that). The gun is quite loud, although I kinda liked that loud clang sound. The cocking bolt screw comes loose after several shots, ROF sucks, after some time, the sear pivot pin began to come loose with rapid fire, causing my gun to not respond in the heat of battle. Safety is very stiff, and the retaining pins get jammed. Occasional barrelbreaks, and the scariest deffect of this gun, is that the bolt hammer begins to form a lip after several shots, causing even more breaks. This can be fixed however.
Conclusion: Even though overall this gun ain't that great, it performs OK for the price. Very simple gun, mak'n basic maintenance almost hassle free. Gives some problems with time. Making modifications to this gun is a must if you want to use this gun efficiently. However, these modifications aren't as simble as adding an expansion chamber to a gun. You have to do permanent physical alterations to this one. Overall, it's an understadable purchase for the price, though I would recommend saving up just a little more for a better gun.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thebigbread Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None-- my first semi
Marker Setup: Stingray 2
9oz co2
custom foregrip
extreme rage 200 round hopper
BSA rifle scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel--any 12-16" works great, much better than the stock
Strengths: Cheap
light
easy to mod
Weaknesses: Accuracy sucks with the stock barrel
kinda slow
Review: I saw this gun used for sale for 5 bucks, i thought what the heck, what do i have to lose. I loaded some scorches into the hopper & the paintballs took a sharp curve-- i mean sharp, at 45 feet it was 3 feet left where i was aiming--so i took it inside & disassembled it. The previous owner didnt take good care of it, so i went to the hardware store & bought new O-rings, some gun oil, & a can of flat-black spray paint. i looked up a repair guide online, rebuilt the gun, & what a difference. it still curved, but maybe by 2 inches at 60 feet. Chopping? it will chop about 1 out of 450 with the metal detent, but file down the bottom of the bolt & use a round bead to replace the detent, & it will chop about 1 in 950. Not the best gun out there, but makes a good backup or second gun for a friend.
Conclusion: Okay, its not an a-5 or a custom 98, but heck, for the price its a decent woodsball marker.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Night_Vulture Thursday, October 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Main: 98C with expansion chamber kit, collapseable stock, and remote line

Loaner: PMI Piranha with flush cocking venturi bolt, gas through fore grip, and stock.

Mission: Brass Eagle Stingray II with two differant J&J Performance ceramic barrels won in a big game at Hole in The Wall Painball; Bangor, MI.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you can find a better barrel get one
Strengths: Low cost, quite accurate despite what others may say, light weight.
Weaknesses: Can be loud, hard to find parts
Review: This is a good marker for beginners who are uncertain if they want to play, but don't want to use rental equipment. I know most rental equipment is better than a Stingray, but this is the gun that got me started. I enjoyed my first few games with this gun. Even though I switched to a Piranha in late 2000 and then to my 98C in early 2006, I still use my Stingray in Big Games at my local field when I run missions for the team I happen to be on. Also if I feel I need to brush up on my basics a little I will use the Stingray. Because of the lower rate of fire you can learn, relearn, and practice movement and aiming techniques.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to the beginner who is just starting out and does not want to use rental equipment. It gives the beginner a little more feel of belonging at the field to be able to bring their own equipment. I would also recommend this marker to someone who runs a lot of missions for props in scenario ball. The The light weight and low rate of fire means less gear to carry so you can run to the objective and return it to where it needs to be on time.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zForce Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: lapco snapshot 14''inch
nitro duck carbon fiber tank
lapco drop forward
VL evo
06 Electra eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is a must for this classic
Strengths: Durable
shoots sraight and hard
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is very stiff
Chops
Terrible drop off
Bolt
Loud
Review: Now forget all the negative things you have heard about this gun. I used this gun when I started playing paintball, and it got the job done. Get a new barrel for this gun trust me it helps so much. The bolt is terrible it scratchs the inside bad, but if u keep it consistantly oiled it will keep that down to a minimum. Dont use a co2 tank any larger then a 14oz, over time it will bend the thing that holds it. Make sure you use only the best paint with the thickest shells for the gun. Never I mean never use cheap paint because it will chop uncontrolibly. Just keep it oiled, use good paint with thick shells and it will not chop half as bad. The trigger pull is pretty stiff, trust me your finger will have a cramp after a day of using it. The gun shoots very straight especially with a new barrel, it will suprise anyone who uses it. It is loud, sounds like your hitting a hammer on a metal pole when it shoots. The gun is durable and shoots very hard trust me it hurts.
Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone wanting a classic or just a gun to have fun with. In my opinion this is the best marker brass eagle has ever produced.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media