paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007

Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Spyder Sonix comes with an all new Delrin bolt with a pull pin top cocking knob making it easy to clean the breach of the marker in between games. With one pull of the top cocking knob a player can slide the entire Delrin bolt out of the marker and gain easy access to all internal portions of the breach for field cleaning.

Sonix Features

> Re-designed Contour Body Milling
> 9.5 Inch Aluminum Barrel
> Vertical Feedneck
> Dusted Matte Finish Anodizing
> Pull Pin Top Cocking Knob
> Delrin Bolt Construction
> Quick Disconnect Pin
> One Piece Velocity Adjuster/Spring Guide
> Ergonomically Designed Composite Trigger Frame
> Two Finger Trigger
> No-Slip Rubber Grip Panels
> Standard CA Thread Vertical Adapter
> Low Pressure Chamber
> Aluminum Fore Grip
> Inline Bottom-line ASA
> Stainless Steel Braided Hose
> Compatible with CO2 or Compressed Air

Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
spyderplaya_81 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months36 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix 07
14" J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel for better accuracy even though its not bad itself.
Strengths: NEVER chops
accurate for stock barrel
cheap
easy to clean and take apart
Weaknesses: Nothing except like i said a barrel would make it more accurate obviously.
Review: An excellent gun for the price. Never chops, good speed, and accurate for a stock barrel. A barrel would make it more accurate but if you are on a budget the stock barrel wont annoy you and make you wish u never bought this gun. The gun looks pretty sick in my opinion and has a nice color (titanium). Its easy to clean and take apart. Just about everything you could like if you want a budget gun and you are a beginner.
Conclusion: If you just started or dont want to buy a really expensive gun then this is the gun for you. It is just so good for the price. Buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 8th, 2008 at 8:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aplayaz2000 Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 (Ok gun but the sonix has better accuracy)
Marker Setup: 12oz Co2 Tank (Brasss Eagle)
14" Linear Smart Parts
200 VL Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just like every gun, a new barrel
Why?
Well the stock isnt horrible but in the future, you should save for a new barrel, 14" maybe or 12" Smart Parts
Strengths: - Easy cleaning and design
- Like new look
- Never chops or has problems
- Reliable
Weaknesses: - Stock Barrel
- Bad when paint gets in the firing barrel
Review: (Before shooting you need to chronograph your fps. Mines was averaging around 300 - 350! That means cutting the spring a little bit.)

To start out I am pretty much a beginner paintball player. Anyways I took my Sonix 2007 to play at Sgt splatters on Sunday and the gun played pretty well. If you wanna have a good time, check all the screws on your gun just in case. I had to miss out on a game because the bottom screw was missing which caused the grip to be a little loose from the bottom CO2 thing.

The gun played alright, it never chopped or had problems like getting paint stuck inside, nothing like that, I didn't have to use my squeegee. The gun shot well in my opinion but next time I need a new barrel... maybe $40 Smart Parts. You don't need an electronic hopper but it will help if your shooting a lot.

Now if I was to go back in time I wouldn't have purchased this gun because I would rather of invested for a Spyder Pilot since its electronic. Electronics are very nice on the field since you can fire rapidly unlike mechanics.

For a mechanical gun tho the Spyder Sonix and the Classic Series is the way to go!

Conclusion: If your a beginner paintball player who just started the sport of paintball and want to get into it. I would recommend you buy the Sonix 2007 Valve Package which comes with everything in it. You save a lot of money that way. Overall its a pretty good gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 15th, 2008 at 4:00 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

JTStryker Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
Custom Products One piece barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, that's about all that you need since it's a mechanical
Strengths: Reliability, weight, accuracy
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire, loud
Review: I bought this gun when I don't want to use my Angel when I play woodsball with friends. I don't have any complaints about it, you get what you pay for and nothing more or nothing less. It hasn't had any problems and has only chopped one paintball so far. It is reasonably accurate but the CP barrel helps alot. It's a pretty loud gun with the stock barrel and it's not that fast but that's because it's a mechanical. Other than that, it's a good gun, well worth the money.
Conclusion: Get it if you're a new paintball player, just plan on playing with friends and not competitively, or as a backup. It's a good all-around gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darth Brooks Tuesday, July 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and clones (the 07's are definately a leap forward).
Marker Setup: Modified A-5 with:
14" J&J Full Tilt Ceramic barrel
E-grip
Delrin/stainless steel powertube/bolt
Spec Ops forgrip
Spec Ops MP5 magazine
Remote line
G-36 foldable stock
Lapco sight offset
2x scope
custom sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck (the stock clear plastic ones suck)
Barrel (I'd recommenr a J&J S2)
Bolt (it comes with the most basic of delrin bolts)
Drop forward (or remote line)
Expansion chamber (if you love CO2)
Strengths: Quick-strip delrin bolt
Tough anodizing
Stock barrel
Comfortable grip (in-line holes for bottomlines!!!)
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Cleaning issues (if you like getting dirty)
No drop forward
Review: You can't go wrong with the 2007 model Spyder Classic line. It is THE BEST entry level marker out there for several reasons: 1. They are nigh indestructable 2. They are highly upgradable 3. They are THE MOST EASILY maintained marker available (the quick strip bolt allows you to clean the bolt and upper tube without having to worry about springs and other parts going AWOL from the lower tube assembly). In fact, you could probably get away with cleaning it in-game if you needed to. My only concern with the marker is the new design does allow the potential for dirt to enter the lower tube of the marker from the top of the gun (since it it partially exposed). This isn't necessarily bad though, since you can now oil the striker without taking it out of the marker. Also, if you do take apart the lower tube... lining the striker up is a bit of a hassle when you reassemble it.
Conclusion: If you are worried about dirt you obviously play woodsball... a bright red marker (like this one) is probably a poor choice (might I suggest an MR1 instead... it's black and come with a stock). But if you are getting into speedball or paintball in general... buy one of the 07 Spyder classics, they are comfortable, upgradable, and easily maintained.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sonixboom Thursday, June 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann-98 custom/pro
Tippmann-A5
Spyer-vs2
Spyder-Rodeo
Spyder-mr1
Spyder-2000
Smart parts-Ion



Marker Setup: Mostly stock
New proto EL mask
clamping feed neck
NXE-4+1 pod pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feed neck
Better hopper a agitating or a slow force feed will work fine
GOOD PAINTBALLS
A GOOD SQUEGEE

Strengths: Light
Compact
Durable
Cheap
Comes in a complete pachage
An overall really great biginner gun



Weaknesses: Hopper rides high without a clamping feed neck
Goes through O-rings really fast
Review: Ok first i'm going to start off with the barrel that comes with the gun the stock barrel doenst suck. It is not however a dye ultralight or a flatline but its short and compact just like the rest of the gun.

The gun itself is a work of art its sleek and looks awesome in red. The pull pin top cocking bolt is a unmistakable piece of kingman engineering and deserves respect. Just dont take it out and field strip it because sometimes the striker plug slips sideways and has to be taken out this has only haooened to my the 15+ games ive played with this marker

I personelly love the kingman line and use almost nothing but Spyder's
try it out its about $100 in the complete box set and is an exelent gun to have

Conclusion: Go out and get this gun today its an exelent biginner gun or a back up for your high end electrophunatic marker
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 18th, 2009 at 8:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

k-tap Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pro-carbine-rental, incomparable
Marker Setup: Sonix '07
turbo loader
SP linear 14''
12 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
better Hopper -before better barrel
barrel
expansion chamber or anti-siphon tube, anti-siphon tubes are better.
new feedneck
Strengths: Quick strip
Very light
Upgradeable
Good stock barrel
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull
Chops
Feedneck
Review: price: this marker comes for an excellent price, you can get everything you need as a start up package for well under $100. i got mine for $90 and then used the extra $10 dollars i saved to get necessary items like oil, anti-fog, and squeegees.

barrel: the barrel is actually fairly accurate for a stock. i have heard that it is more accurate than a stock 98 custom, but i have no personal experience to back this up. the porting on the front is too short to reduce noise a considerable amount, but i guess it helps. also the barrel is 9.5 inches which is longer than the industry standard of 8.5. this barrel doesn't self clean, and when you get a break, you accuracy goes down the tubes.

bolt: the bolt is a top cocking pull pin delrin bolt. the delrin is great as it does not weigh anything and improves you cyclic time, also is has no venturi, which is good. the best part about this bolt, and possibly the marker over all is the pull pin cocking nob that allows for a very quick field strip. what you can do is pull up on the cocking nob, which disengages the bolt from the striker, and allows you to pull the whole bolt out of the marker, leaving the upper tube open for cleaning. this is great as if you get a break you can clean all of the top of tube your marker without risking losing springs and o-rings from the lower tube. also you can oil your striker without actually having to take it out of the marker. literally you can field strip this marker, you could actually do it during a game. there are only two possible problems that could arise with this bolt. delrin can swell if it becomes too wet, this usually happens if you have low quality delrin. this though has not happened to me and it can be prevented by just wiping down your bolt (which you can easily remove from your marker) if it gets wet with paint. the second problem is that dirt could possibly fall past your bolt and into the lower tube of the marker, though this has a small possibility because it would have to fall in during the time your bolt is cycling forwards. even if it did though it would be easy to clean out.

trigger: it is a standard double trigger, with a pretty long pull. you cannot adjust the trigger pull in any way without modifying the marker. though you could do some home grown adjustments and mods pretty easily.

feed neck: the gun comes with the standard spyder clear plastic feed neck. i have heard that these break easily but that hasn't happened to me yet. my biggest problem with this feed neck is that is raises your hopper so ridiculously high above your marker it almost looks comical. also a pet peeve of mine with it is that the screws to tighten it are on the short side and it is really easy to have them fall off when you are un-tightening your hopper.

Grips: the grips on this marker i have to say are very good for a stock gun. they are this rubber plastic composite. they are grippy, even through gloves, but not too soft that they can be damaged easily. on the other hand there are no grips on the gas-through fore grip, but that can easily be fixed.

other: this marker has some other non-part related pros and cons. the marker is very light, with my full setup weighing about 3 pounds. this is great for mobility and getting to bunkers faster, which is great if you like to play dagger. also a great benefit to this marker is the large amount of after market upgrades for it. a problem with this marker though is chopping. even though the trigger pull is fairly long, the low pressure chamber combined with the delrin bolt lead to a very fast cyclic time (for a stock mech.) so it is easy to out shoot you hopper and chop a ball. that is why i recommend getting a better hopper before getting a better barrel. you could buy an ACS bolt for it too, but i have not found one that fits the new '07 models. also remember to check you screws between games, and make sure you brought your allen wrench with you, because they like to start coming loose. lastly i have heard that some of them need tuning out of the box, as you cannot turn the velocity low enough. this did not happen with me. this can be easily fixed by cutting off a piece of the spring and then re-stretching it to the right length. remember one coil is about 10fps.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for beginners as it delivers adequate performance at a very good price. it has it's few faults, but these will be easily fixed as you upgrade for higher performance anyways. i completely recommend this marker to any one who has decided to start playing paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 3rd, 2008 at 1:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintbfinatic Saturday, March 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never seen a marker chop as much
Marker Setup: a smart parts ion with a stock body and barrel with a empire view loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new marker
Strengths: -looks good
-easy to clean
-VERY air efficient
-accurate
Weaknesses: Chops all of the time, even the tourney paint.
Review: Me and a friend both went in on a box of midnight paint and he was using an MR1 and i was using a sonix. He didn't chop a single ball the whole day and i chopped about every other 5th shot. i spent the whole day cleaning my gun and after it got clean i would go back out and chop again. i won't even give the gun away to my friends because i don't want them wasting there money on paint.
Conclusion: - Not the best gun for the money
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

GemHypernova Sunday, August 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 12 oz CO2
Stock Barrel or Dye 2 Piece 12 Inch
Gravity feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel
Strengths: Durable
Reliable
Easy for beginners
Never chops
Cheap
Weaknesses: Accuracy with stock barrel
Stock feed neck
Loud
Slow fire rate
Review: Great gun for a beginner. The Sonix is extremely easy to maintain. For a novice cleaning, servicing and any other need to access any part of the gun is a twist and pin away. The bolt is easily removed in less than a second. A quick squeegee of the barrel will remove any broken balls.

The Sonix can be tossed around, hauled around and dropped and will keep working like new. I've never had a ball chop, ball break or any other serious problem while the gun was in working order.

The only real problem I've run into is when the 2 screws holding the entire trigger frame to the gun came loose. The gun fired erratically even with the safety on. Other then making sure every screw is always tight the gun pretty much needs a cleaning every now and then and it will work fine.

Great for beginning speedball and woodsball the Sonix is highly recommend for starting paintball.

12 oz Co2 tank lasts me a four 10 min rounds in woods ball. Alot more in speedball. Being mechanical you just can't fire that fast anyway.

The only real weakness I can think of is the stock feed neck. It's made of dinky plastic and makes the hopper sit ridiculously high on the gun. It can crack very easily. Suggesting getting something permanent or just buy extras.
Conclusion: Great for beginners getting into paintball. It helped me get into the sport and will help you to. Once you learn the basic of paintball suggest getting a better gun.

Also fablous price. Found great deals on the Sonix all over the web, just look.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 10th, 2008 at 12:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderkid1113 Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix 2007 marker
just a normal hopper
12oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
a better trigger and vertical feed
Strengths: Good for beginners
Not heavy
Durable
Weaknesses: Open at the top
Not the best accuracy out there
Review: Well this is a great gun for beginners who are tired of renting and ready to take the next step. Unfortunately, the next step isnt too big. It comes with a stock barrel that isnt the most accurate thing in the world. There is an opening at the top so if you play rough, be prepared for some jams cause the dirt is gonna be pourin in that thing. The trigger pull is pretty dang long.These flaws bring the gun down but it is still a fairly good gun for beginners, but if you have the extra money, i suggest a Spyder TL-R.
Conclusion: Its an okay gun. There has been better, there has been worse. Okay gun for beginners but if your a pro, your wasting you time. I give this gun a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sportplayer5or7 Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
stock barrel
Strengths: Doesnt chop
fast
accurate
light
Weaknesses: Trigger is heavy
little loud
stock barrel
Review: This is a good gun, very good for a beginner. Its fast accurate and light. It is also is very cheap i would defenitly recomend. I do like this gun and it is very fast and accurate. It never chops, out of 300 balls mabey 1 or 2 will chop if that.
Conclusion: All in all this is a good cheap product and i would recommend it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media