paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Gen X Global Tactical Vest / Gen X Global Tactical Vest / Gen X Global Tactical Vest / Gen X Global Tactical Vest

Gen X Global Tactical Vest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Gen X Global

Buy Gen X Global Tactical Vest

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Gen X Global Tactical Vest
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Gen-X Tactical Vest

Need to carry a lot of gear? Something to carry everything you need for those games when you're in the field for hours on end? The Gen X Deluxe Tactical Vest is constructed of heavy duty denier and 1/2" foam interior to cushion the weight of your gear and serve double-duty as chest/ back armor. Velcro adjustments at the shoulders and waist to ensure a snug proper fit. Holds up to 6 pods and tank, secured by velcro so you can customize their positions to your needs. Other features include multiple pockets, pull-down ID/ map flap, detachable cel phone or radio pouch, accessory rings... the list goes on and on! A must have for your next scenario or big game.

Features:
# Three large pockets and three smaller pockets
# Holds up to six pods
# Tank pouch with quick-release securing strap
# Adjustable for length and width
# Belt loops for securing to belt
# Detachable cel phone/ radio pouch
# Interior foam for cushioning (removable)
# Pull-down map/ ID pouch
# Available in Black or Camo
Product Availability 
The Gen X Global Tactical Vest is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Striker511 Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None- First vest ownership
Marker Setup: None- The vest will accept air tanks; I have a 68cu 4500 tank and it fits easily.
Strengths: Overall a well designed vest
Weaknesses: No ACU pattern/ Small bladder pouch
Review: Strengths:
+ Cheap - at $40-50 its an excellent vest
+ Easy to setup and use
+ Holds A LOT of items in several compartments (Secured w/ Velcro)
+ Adjustable straps on shoulders and waist- Velcro
+ 4-140 pods included in new purchase
+ Velcro to secure all of the pouches (except the front top one..ID pouch)

Weakness:
- NO ACU - Only Woodland and Black
- Bladder pouch is for smaller water bladders (NOT a 1L bladder, which is what I got..)


REVIEW:
I picked up this vest at a big game (NJ Nam) for $45; I left my harness at home (DOH!) so I knew I needed something for the weekend... After getting this vest I fell in love with it.. then only downside for me is the fact that it does not come in ACU yet...

This is an excellent vest: Very comfy and adjustable in both shoulders and the waist line. It has plenty of pockets for storage (maps, radio, tools, keys..) and has the pouch for a water bladder (not included). The air tank storage can hold large tanks (I have a 68ci 4500) with no problems. All of the pouches are secured by Velcro, so you can easily move the pouches to where you can reach them. The front 3 pouches can be used for grenades or possibly even more pods.. your choice ( I dont think 140s will fit, but a 100 should)

* Three large pockets and three smaller pockets
* Holds up to six pods; Current configuration has 2- twin pod holders.
* Tank pouch with quick-release securing strap
* Adjustable for length and width
* Belt loops for securing to belt
* Detachable cell phone/ radio pouch
* Interior foam for cushioning (removable)
* Pull-down map/ ID pouch
* Rear pouch for a water bladder (Not included)

Conclusion: I give this vest 9/10; Had it come in ACU it would be perfect. This is an excellent vest for a first time or vets.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

saladfingers Thursday, September 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pod harnesses
Marker Setup: A-5
Expansion Chamber
JT 24oz
New Designz X7 / A-5 Power Tube with Delrin Bolt
Response Trigger
12"Lapco Big Shot
Riochet Low Profile Hopper
Tech-T i-fit
Strengths: Holds alot of paint
Comfy
Adjustable
Lots of pockets
Weaknesses: Crappy camo patterns
Review: I ordered my vest from actionvillage for $19.99. When it first arrived in the mail it seemed a little stiff and the camo pattern wasn't woodland like I had ordered it was urban camo. I put the vest on and adjusted it to me, and it fits great, its so comfy I forgot I was wearing it a few times. It has tons of pockets for your tools, wallet, or cell. Its also capable of holding 760 paintballs and 3 grenades+a 68ci 4500psi tank or a 24ox co2 tank. It has 4 pockets for 140rd tubes, and in between those pod pockets are elastic belts that will tightly hold 100rd pods. Now you can also buy 50rd pods from a few sites on the web and possibly put them in the grenade pockets if you wanted to. Now when I played with this vest, I had it completely loaded down with paint and air, and it was great, I cant stress to you how comfy this vest is, and all the pod pockets are Velcro so you can move them to where its comfortable for you.
Conclusion: This vest was a cheap buy and it turned out to be great, other then the mix up with my camo pattern this vest has been great and deserves a 10 for quality and price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Youngster Wednesday, December 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock PCS US-5,Stock Tippman a-5
Strengths: Comfortable,Tuff,Nice,Lots of Pockets,weight is balanced very well.
Weaknesses: Not available in DPM or "Flecktarn",U do not hhave Velcroe for Name-plate
Review: I Bought this Vest just because of the Gread Price i have it in ACU which is pretty ok.
I really liked that it Came with 4 Pods and a Mamba hose,on the first day it was a great experience,though my shoulders hurt at the end but now i got used to having the tank in the Back,and I must say,it is an Excellent Vest! I think the Pouches are Pretty good to,and I really rocked,People who really sware on Flurry Vests,were suddenly like:" Hey,thats a really neat Vest,where´d You get it???" and I must admit,this is a Vest to have,the only sad things are that they´re not available in Flecktarn or DPM but that´s not such a Problem,I have ordered Name plates,which i though will have to Sew on,because they don´t have the Special Velcroe thing the Flurry DOES but that´s ok with me.
Conclusion: If I can live without the HUGE nameplate on the Back, This is definetely a Vest to own ;)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyurtddr Thursday, December 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
petrol combat vest
Marker Setup: TM-15
Halo B hopper
vertical Grip
Strengths: Protection
10rd tube/12 gram storage
Capacity
Fits well
Weaknesses: Very hot
Few camo patterns available
Difficult to clean
Radio pouch
Review: i picked this vest up a few years ago and it has since been replaced by my petrol vest.

Strengths:

this vest has a thick foam layer in both the front and the back, this provides excellent protection and absorbs almost all of the impact of a paintball. you will never be afraid to run for a flag because of the protection this vest affords.

thsi vest has enough capacity for 4 140rd pods comfortably on the back as well as a pouch for a tank. i added some extra velcro on the front grenade pouches so i could fit 3 more 50rd pods as well.

one thing i really like about this vest is the elastic loops on each side for 12gram CO2 and 10rd tubes, so if you run stock class or a pistol this gives you some extra capacity.

this vest is also very comfortable to wear, it tightens very nicely and is easy to adjust.

Weaknesses:

this vest is very hot. playing in the summer in Canada i got very hot wearing this vest, i often playing in just a t-shirt underneath and would regularly have vest-shaped sweat stains by the end of the day. the heat is due to the all the foam and is the payoff for the extra protection. you could remove the foam, although that would make the vest more uncomfortable.

this outer layer of the vest is fabric, paint likes to absorb into the fabric and you need to clean it after playing or it will be difficult to remove.

the radio pouch is obnoxious to to use, it flops all over the place and i ended up stitching it in to stop if from bouncing when i had a radio in it.

finally there aren't very many colours available, when i bough it there was black, woodland, and urban digi.
Conclusion: This isn't a bad vest by any means, its comfortable, offers good protection, and can carry enough paint for any woodsball game. it is very hot however and this was a big reason i got a different vest. my advice is to try on a few different vests and pick the one that feels good to you.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheKingFool Tuesday, January 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAP4 Vest, 32 degree pod pack
Marker Setup: Spyder tp+ with aa 18" barrel remote pod pack 20oz on/off and delta 68.
Tippmann Custom 98 w/ 32degrees back stock and flatline barrel system
Tippmann A5 w/ solid stock and flatline barrel system
Strengths: Easily adjustable
Variety of designs
Lots of pockets
Possible 7 pods
Inner sponge core
Weaknesses: Inner sponge core
Review: Like I have said above, there are a tone of adjusting straps that are on the vest to make it comfortable for long periods of use, in a normal day of paintball I usually have my vest on for three to four hours at a time. I have also see it come in a variety of colors and designs so suit what ever you want to look like out on the paintball field, I have a urban warfare version. Just on the front of the vest there are pretty much pockets for everything you ever wanted to carry with you into the field ex. smoke grenades, squeegees, tools ( not necessary field legal on your particular field), cloths etc. Then on the back there is four cloth slots for your pods, with three extra elastic cloth slots for your pods to go, with seven 140 round pods your carrying almost two bags of paint on you good for any heavy gunner or if you just have a heavy finger on the auto trigger. Last if a pro and a con all rolled into one, the first part is the inner core makes hits smoother and easier to take ( good for younger children just getting into the sport) sometimes you don't even notice one just bounce off your chest, this is also a con because you may not become aware when you have been hit, another con is that the inner core dose not allow for proper air flow between you and the outside world so over heating becomes an issue, which can be solved depending on the day by some under armor.
Conclusion: Over all its a great vest for beginners up to veterans, the price is pretty good I picked mine up for around $65.00.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thetruth217 Wednesday, September 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This was my first vest
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom; 14" Boomstick barrel, cyclone feed system, response trigger and coil remote
Strengths: Inexpensive, durable, some what customizable, allows for hydration pack
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with said hydration pack
Review: I originally bought the GXG tactical vest online in anticipation of the Cousins Big Game '07. It was my second Big Game, and I was a little less then prepared for the first one.

The GXG tactical vest proved worthy as it held EVERYTHING you could need when you're out on the field for extended periods of time. I made instant use of the flip down front pocket for my map, threw in an extra allen key, and felt very secure with being able to keep my cash and car keys with me in the front zipper pocket. Knowing I wouldn't lose either in the woods was one less thing to worry about. I'm also not sure if anyone else has expierenced this, but its hard to sneak around the woods when your keys are jingling in your pocket...

Anyway, the vest has removable padding in the front and back. I haven't taken it out, but its nice to know I can, especially if I'm playing in warmer weather because the padding does hold in some of your body heat. Not to mention it softens the sting of getting hit for those out there who want some body protection.

I run remote when I'm playing woodsball and the tank pouch was roomy, but kept my 20 oz Co2 nice and secure. I kept my 100 round pods in the vertical position the vest came in, and didn't have a problem with reaching any of them. The pouches come on velcro which gives you the option of rearranging them, and that brings me to my explaination of why this vest is "Some what" customizable.

A few days later I figured I would experiment by switching the pods to a horizontal position. They fit, but the ends hang over by about 2 to 3 inches. There is enough surface area contact to make me think they wouldn't fall off or anything, but still I'm not too impressed. Especially since I'm using 100 round pods, not 140 round pods, which I don't think would fit horizontally.

The radio pouch worked out well as me and a few friends used walkie talkies that day, and even though I didn't use grenades or 12 gram Co2 cartridges, there were places to keep those easily reachable as well. There is also a pair of velcro strips in the front, I'm guessing to strap the vest to your belt for more stability, but I just used one of them to hold my mask while I wasn't on the field.
Conclusion: Overall, anyone buying this vest would not be disappointed. I searched for a couple of weeks before buying this one, and I didn't see a better deal on a tactical vest then, or even now. You can find it online from $40 to $60.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 26th, 2007 at 4:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zonus Tuesday, March 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Primal Rage Harness
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
G36 Solid Stock
Bossman G36 Magizine Clip
TruGlo 30mm Red Dot Scope
Trinity Top Weaver Adapter
Gen x Global Tactical Vest
TechT Vortex Mod
Midland LXT328 (Radio)
Midland AVP-H3 (Headset)
Pure Energy Remote Coil
Strengths: Tons of pockets, options, and also has a great look
Weaknesses: For larger players, there isn't a size that would fit anyone XXL or larger
Review: Simply put, this vest is AMAZING!!! It's versatile enough to fit players small to larger thanks to vertical and horizontal velcro straps (any larger of a player and it's a very very tight fit). The pod and tank holder on the back are also adjustable allowing you to raise or lower them according to your personal taste. Another really cool feature is the ability to change your pod holder from a classic vertical holder to the newer horizontal way. There are tons of pockets to accomidate everything you'll need on the field including bladder pouches for water, Gatorade, etc. There is also a radio holder than fits most radios though a hole for the antenea would have been cool, but you'll never even notice. On the front, there are also more holders for pods if you like, or if you're like me, you'll store your smoke grenades there. On the chest, there's a flip down compartment for easy ID storage (though I'm not sure why you'll use it).
Conclusion: With tons of pockets, a number of configurations, and adjustable fitting for each indiviual player, it's hard to find a reason not to buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nootz Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage Ball Hauler (belt w/ pods)
Marker Setup: BT-4 SWAT:
-BT-16 Barrel kit
-BT Bi-pod
-Tippmann Verticle Grip
-BT e-Grip
-Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper
-BT 45 degree picatinny/weaver rail (on top of foregrip)
-Walther 2x30 RD scope (mounted on BT rail)

Tippmann A-5:
-A5 Flatline barrel
-A5 Response Trigger
-OpsGear sight riser
-OpsGear Gas-Thru UMP magazine
-OpsGear folding G36 stock
-SoftAir 1x28 RD reticle
-Tippmann Cyclone LP hopper

Sidearm: Tiberius Arms Tac8
Strengths: Acts as an armour, lots of storage, fits many sizes, can put bladder inside.
Weaknesses: Pouches are sewn on the front, velcro back, no MOLLE.
Review: Awesome vest to have, lots of storage pouches (3 pistol mags, 4 pods, 1 CO2/HPA, 1 admin, 10 CO2 cartridge, etc). It also acts as an armour, you can feel the impact of the paint hit you, but no pain. the adjustable sides and shoulders allow the wearer to be big, small, whatever, and wear it either tight or loose. The pouches on front (admin, mags) are sewn on, and the ones on back (pods, air) are velcro-on/off. Also in the back is a zipper for an internal bladder system, and D-rings on the shoulders for the hose, very useful when running around the woods.
It comes in a variety of colours, the ones I've seen are: Black, ACU, Woodlands, Urban/Snow camo.
Conclusion: Good starter vest, awesome protection, and affordable! Definitely get this if you have the chance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SLYVEST Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Tank/ Pod harness
Marker Setup: Custom Black Spyder pilot acs
Strengths: Price
Holds up to 9 pods a tank and pockets
Customizable
Weaknesses: Velcro
Pod holders feel like paint will spill
cant mount both pods horizontally with tank

Review: Overall for $40-50 you relly cant go wrong. Its sturdy cool looking and does the job. I hope to get used to the pod's being upside down. It can hold 9 pods and fits q -loaders also. Hydro packs and plenty of extra pockets and straps to customize. Great product overall. I just hope to find a setup thats right for me where im not worried about my paint spilling onto the floor.
Conclusion: If your in the market for a vest take it into consideration with some customization and adjustments its great especially for the price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hogie Sammich Tuesday, March 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None - first vest
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 C, q-loader, compressed air
Strengths: Light
adjustable
lots of options for pod placement on the back
Weaknesses: The velcro on the back can get loose
Review: This is a pretty good vest, it breaths well and has a lot of room for things.

A big plus for me is that my q-loader pods fit so snug in the back that I can carry them upside down and as long as I'm not full on running they don't fall out. The weight is distributed very well.

I like being able to move the pod and tank placement around on my back and water bottles fit in the front pouches since I don't use a camel hump, that works out nicely.

I'm 6'3" so I was very glad that it adjusted as much as it did to make it more comfortable to wear. It's easy to take on and off and I hang my gun from it by the handle while I hike to the field. (we play all woodsball).
Conclusion: I would buy this again, it's nice to have pockets on my vest to carry anti-fog and cleaner for my goggles and tools.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media