paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon Overlord Rx / Ariakon Overlord Rx / Ariakon Overlord Rx / Ariakon Overlord Rx

Ariakon Overlord Rx Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon Overlord Rx

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon Overlord Rx
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERLORD RX: Meaner, leaner, and even more potent than the original. The incredibly styled OVERLORD Rx is the next evolution in pistols. We dropped the weight, made it even easier to load, lowered the spare mag prices, and added a host of upgradeability options. You simply can't pack more firepower into a package this small.

Key Features
Low Cost extra Magazines

10 Round magazine capacity.

Quickly change magazines on the fly. No pistol is faster.

Threaded Barrel for more add-on options.

Compact size and low weight.

Comfortable trigger frame and grip will feel right even in smaller hands.

Integrated accessory rail for laser sight or tac-light etc.

Air and paint can be changed independently. No tools required!

Incredible aluminum milled body.
Product Availability 
The Ariakon Overlord Rx is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Trigger XL Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month42 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tiberius 9 pistol
Ariakon ACP 2.0
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-2
CCM Feedneck
Trinity AK-47 Expansion Chamber
Apex barrel
Trinity Center On/Off with Rail - Black
Marco Line Air System
Spyder FASTA Hopper - 30 BPS
Red Laser Sight with Pressure switch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra magazines
10 round tubes
Ariakon holster - also holds 2 extra magazines
Shotgun Shellholder - to hold the co2 cartridges around your forearm
Strengths: Durable
Reliable
Accurate
Ease of switching magazines & co2 cartridges
Weaknesses: Haven't found any
Review: The 2 mains things a pistol should be is reliable and durable. This marker is both. I have put 400 paintballs through this marker and have not had a single break in paint. I have used bonus balls, vision impact, big balls, & monster balls. The vision impact works the best out of these 4 paintballs.

I have found this gun to be very accurate. I shot this gun at 25 feet, 50 feet, and 75 feet.
25 feet = 10 shots - all hitting the target in a 4 inch radius
50 feet = 20 shots - 17 hitting the target in a 7 inch radius - 3 shots just outside the 7 inches
75 feet = 20 shots - 14 hitting the target in a 9 inch radius - 6 shots just outside the 9 inches

Co2 cartridges are very easy to change out. I go through 2 magazines (20 shots)with 1 co2 cartridge. You can get 25-26 shots out of each co2, but at .50 cents a cartridge I would rather not waste half of the 3rd magazine.

Magazines are very durable and easy to change. I am able to switch magazines in 2 seconds flat. In about 6 seconds I can take the magazine off of the gun, reload the magazine with a 10 round tube and put the same magazine back on the gun. I recommend extra magazines, but having 10 round tubes is also a must. The cost of a magazine is only $20 or for $50 you can get 3. Each magazine holds 10 shots. Very affordable compared to the Tiberius 9 which is $40 for an extra magazine that only holds 8 shots. 10 round tubes are only .50 cents a tube. I personally have 14 of them , but do not really need them all because I have 5 magazines for my gun.

This marker compared to the Tiberius 9:

Tiberius 9
Pros
+The marker is realistic looking.
+Is very accurate and reliable
+ease of switching magazines (assuming you have extra magazines)
+loading the magazine through the bottom of the handle is realistic.

Cons
-Cost is about $250-$480 depending on Tiberius 8 or Tiberius 9.
-Cost of magazines is $40 for 1
-Has the co2 cartridge in the magazine. This requires you to reload the paintballs into the same magazine to get the full use of the co2.
-Changing co2 cartridges is a pain since you have to remove the magazine and then unscrew and screw the co2 in, then put the magazine back on.
-The magazine is heavy and unrealistic. Not even real magazines for real pistols with live rounds is as heavy as this.
-You cannot leave one in the chamber while you switch magazines in case you come across an enemy.
-Magazine only holds 8 rounds.
-Not as easy to field strip.


Ariakon
Pros
+Cost of Ariakon Overloard Rx is $130
+Cost of magazines is $20 for 1 or $50 for a 3 pack
+Independent magazine from the co2. This does not require you to remove the co2 when you run out of paintballs. Simply put another magazine on. This also does not require you to remove the magazine when you run out of co2. Simply change the co2.
+You get full use of co2
+Changing co2 cartridges is easy. You simply unscrew the co2 from the front of the marker and pop another one in.
+The magazine is very light and extremely easy to change.
+You can leave one in the chamber when switching magazines in case you come across an enemy. One is enough to buy you time.
+Magazine holds 10 rounds.
+Is as accurate and reliable as the Tiberius.
+Very easy to field strip

Cons
-The marker is not as realistic looking as the Tiberius.
-Putting the magazine on top of the gun instead of the bottom of the handle is not realistic either

My brother-in-law has a Tiberius 9 and just recently purchased an Ariakon Overlord Rx as his primary sidearm. He uses the Tiberius 9 as a full sniper rifle and never uses it as a pistol anymore. The Tiberius is not even his primary weapon. He has a Tippman A-5 with egrip and full set up as his primary. So, the Tiberius does not really see the light of day unless we are doing target practice.
Conclusion: Overall, I would say that the Overlord Rx is good as a primary weapon because of the ease of switching magazines and reloading it. I still recommend it as a sidearm unless you buy an apex barrel, a stock, and a foregrip to turn it into a sniper. I highly recommend this pistol to anyone looking to intimidate there opponent, to look cool, or just to have a back up weapon in case you run out of air on your primary marker. This marker is also good for bunkering and making a run for the flag. Buy this marker, you will not be disappointed. 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Wednesday, September 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None like this
Marker Setup: -98 custom
-Opsgear 18" Fluted SNIPER Barrel
-Rocket Cock 2
-Opsgear 12" Floating SR Hand Gaurd
-APP Stainless Steel Screw Kit
-M82A1 Gas Thru MAG
-Car Stock
-Remote and pods
-TACAMO AK-47 style Weaver Rail
-Polished internals, Pen spring mod

Backup
-overlord RX
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far, prehaps a laser sight or bottom line of you really want
Strengths: light
accurate
Rapid Reload System
Theded barrel
Fixed the CO2 problem (see review)
Weaknesses: Little loud
Review: Well i have been wanting to test out a new style of play for a while, i went between stock class, pump, pistol. I decided to try pistol...first thing..find a pistol.

I found the Overlord RX on line and purchced it for several resions. First off the price was right, this costed me 130.00 CDN as compared to the Tac 8 (witch is also a very nice gun, but ive only held one) witch is 300.00 CDN. Secondly it comes from Ariakon, witch has a history of makeing pistols so i figured they should know what they were doing. The Overlord RX also solved all the problems with the original Overlord, no more sticky CO2 12g. Although i bough some BE ones to be on the safe side as they were the same price. Will update when i try the Crossman brand from Canadian Tire. This pistol also had a RRS (Rapid Reload System) witch alows the user to replace the mag on top in a matter of seconds.

Upon reciving this I opend the box this great excitement. The first thing that cough my eye was the fantastic job Ariakon did with packageing this product. Nice molded foam cutout in a classy looking suitcase type box.

Front and center was the pistol with the mag on top, also included was a threded barrel plug and some tools (o-rings included). I also oreder the Holster and 3 extra mags (see other reviews)

The pistol feel light and is constructed of aluminium, it has .45 rubber grips that are quite comfortable. The CO2 area now has cuttouts to aid in the removel of CO2 if it gets stuck. The Mag is made of hard plastic that seems like it could take a hit.

The internals are standard Spyder type 2 level bolt and striker, wich makes feild stripping a breez. The grip frame looks to be a standard spyder type grip with a push button safe. The cocking handel in inside a tube with cutouts so if you have MASSIVE fingers it may be a little hard to grab.

The Rapid Relese system works incredibly well, when the mag is on IT STAYS ON. No amount of running, jumping or slideing will disloge it. The mag is spring loaded and loads very simmiler to a 9mm airsoft mag (pull down the spring, put rounds in 1 at a time, relese spring). There are 2 steal bars on the underside, the first one holds the mag on the gun and is released with a tug, the seconds one prevents the balls from falling out untill the mag in locked in postition. I pulled the ball stop bar back and the mag feeds really fast, it emptyed 10 rounds in about 1.5 seconds so you dont have to worry about outshooting the mag.

On to the good part, the test fire:
I found out the hard way that your suposed to cock the marker BEFORE you but the CO2 in...lol noobish mistake on my part. It will work without first cocking but you will lose 1-2 shots worth of air. I stood about 20 feet away from the plank of wood i was shooting at (i was in my basment so 20 feet was all i had) and fired the marker. The stock barrel is very accurate at short distances and deffently more accurate then a stock 98c barrel. with rapid fire i found it posible to get 25 shots out of a 12g CO2. However fireing with a 2 second break in between each shot gave me 29-30 shots. Thats the only problem with CO2. Swaping mags took maby 3 seconds and was very easy.

The barrel is Spyder thead FYI.

Well thats all for now, i will update after playing with it this weekend on the feild.


*********************UPDATE****************************

Just got back from a day at barrie paintball, first off congrats to barrie for doing an amazing job again.

The pistol preformed very well today, used it as my primary marker for 6-8 games. The effective range is about 60'. A 12g CO2 powelette lasts 2 mags (20 shots) average. The mag and pistol both took hits and they are fine. I didnt chop or have any breaks with the marker. Balls feed well in the mags, no jamming. The accuracy is very good considering its an 8" intergrated barrel. I was abel to shoot 2 kids from a good 50' away with pinpoint accuracy. Great marker! The only problem is ti takes a while to clean all the paint out of the nooks and cracks in the marker, but thats it.
Conclusion: Fantastic marker for the money! Havent found any problems with it thus far! Amazing job Ariakon! Givin it a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 29th, 2007 at 3:36 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Brianofontario Monday, January 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tiberius Pistols -- Overlord Rx is better
Marker Setup: Overlord Rx
tippmann a5
14" sp progressive
bt double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
holster
extra mags
Strengths: Weight
Accuracy
Size
Quality
Weaknesses: Ball detent
Review: First impressions

Right out of the box, without shooting anything, I loved this thing. The packaging is very nice, it comes in a little case (tough cardboard) and rests in a milled foam block (not the grainy while foam, it is a black foam with an almost rubber consistency, cut to the exact shape).

I test fired it in my garage, and I knew without a chronograph that it was firing really hot, as most new guns do. I had 8 of flattened cardboard boxes leaning up against a ladder. My tippmann a5, firing at 280fps, went through 3 boxes. The pistol went through all 8.
This is where I noticed the first, and only, problem with the overlord rx. If I shook the gun in a motion like running with it in a holster, a ball would roll out of the barrel. The detents aren't very good, but i will soon fix that, not a big problem.


On to accuracy

Outdoor play: I played some 2 on 2 at my cottage, on a makeshift speedball court on the frozen lake. It fired well, but I couldn't really put a scale on the shots, as I was in a huge open space. No problems playing in the snow and cold.

Indoor play: Finally I got a chance to go indoor, and it changed my paintball life (with, sadly, is a large portion of my life in general). The arena I was at had about 50 people present (that’s a lot for indoor). That meant big rec ball simple elimination games in a somewhat small space. I quickly found that the best way to play with just a pistol in those games was to just help my teammates for the first few minutes by scouting and watching their backs.

Once the opposing force was down to about 15, I could go to work. I made shots that averaged about 60 feet, and, while using only about 15 balls PER 5 MINUTE GAME I would get out at least 3 or 4 people. I got 2 long (100 foot) mask shots, and about 25 other eliminations, not including my glorius last game, which was a massacre.

My last game, there was 17 on each side in a 10 minute game. In 7 minutes, my entire team, excluding myself, was eliminated. The other team had 10 players left. I was in an alley that went up and down field, and the other team didnt know where i was. This is where the ability for a pistol to go around tight corners fast comes in handy. In the last 3 minutes I eliminated 8 of the 10 opponents. I got 4 mask shot eliminations while aiming for the mask and the rest aiming for the body. In the last 5 seconds, I rushed and mercied a person behind a crate, but didnt break my step. As I ran past the place where I knew the last opponent was, I fired 3 shots. This is where the paintball pistols fall short. I was out of balls. Last game of the day, on the buzzer rush, no balls, no last elimination, no victory (1 man remained on each team, so it was a tie). Within that whole game, I only went through 26 balls and 1 CO2 cannister!

The accuracy of this gun within 60 feet is amazing. Shooting 240fps, I would get about 90% of the shots i took while standing still and about 70% of the shots while I ran. The rest of my shots were usually cover fire.

This gun gets about 25 shots per 12 gram.


**I will update when I do some measured target practice, when I play some speedball, and when i get some ten round tubes to try the end cap refilling**
Conclusion: This is a great gun, I am going to use this as my main for indoors now, and i think it will do well in woodsball and speedball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mondo33 Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The original overlord.
Marker Setup: A5 : A5A2 kit from special ops, richochet r5 loader,
Overlord rx
Recommended
Upgrades:
for the backplate of the magazine drill a whole and attach a key ring so u can pull it off more easily.
Strengths: Does not leak at all
accurate
easy to change paint/Co2
Weaknesses: Bit large for CQB but still smaller than most guns
Review: So I got this gun yesterday and called up a few freinds to have a war. I used it as my primary for like five games and it rocks,I moded the clip to do faster paint fills so my down time was low. If you are in a battle with this gun and your clip is empty leave a ball in the chamber for defense while loading. I ran out of amo once but still had one in the chamber so when the guy saw me start to reload he rushed me i planted one right on the mask. so this gun rocks very few flaws I broke one ball but it was my falt i didnt release the clip spring.


Conclusion: Buy it its not even that expensive and it does circles around the rest of the pistols, believe me ive tried hem all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

templarknight Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder Pilot ACS
45/3000 tank
Kingman Fasta 9V hopper on order
Trinity Clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra magazines
A holster for carrying CO2 and pods
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight
Size
Weaknesses: At times tricky to remove magazine
Review: I was very fortunate to win an Overlord Rx for subscribing to Xtreme Paintball's email. Needless to say, I was drooling when my free gun arrived at my door. So here's the scoop;
Packaging- It arrived double boxed, undamaged.
First impressions- The gun felt very light to me. The grip fit my hand perfectly. After reading through the manual (kinda sparse on info) I attempted to remove the magazine. Initially one side of the release spring seemed to be very stiff. Working with it a bit seemed to loosen it and made removing the magazine easier. I went to the ariakon website to make sure I got the recommended Brass Eagle CO2. Fit and finish on this gun are extremely good.
Field Impressions- Out of the box, it chronoed at 280 +/- 8. Pretty decent. Accuracy was next. With the crappy white box paint at the field, I was getting about an 8 inch grouping at approx. 40 ft. Beyond that range every shot curved to the right. I knew with this paint I was going to be up close and personal on the field. In the second game I got within 30 ft. of 2 guys without them seeing me, 5 shots later, 2 kills. That day I was getting about 22 shots per CO2. Not bad at all.
The next weekend my son and I went out to the same field. I had some Zap Rec balls so I figured I give those a shot. At the field there were about 40 people waiting to play. Everyone was interested in my Overlord (one guy offered to buy it on the spot- sorry no sale). When I loaded the pistol and went to the range the accuracy was way better even in a stiff wind. I was getting a 6 inch grouping at about 60 ft. and no curving, With the first CO2 cartridge that day I got 30 shots (everyone wanted to try shooting it). After that I averaged 28 shots per cartridge. It was about 50 deg. that day so that may have helped.
One advantage with this gun is that with a spring fed magazine you can tilt the gun in any direction and it will fire. I took out one guy firing under the logs I was behind. They can't hit you if they can't see you!
Conclusion: Overall this is an excellent woodsball gun, either as a backup or as a main gun. I think if you use a pistol, it teaches you to be patient, selective and stealthy. It also helps you to conserve your ammo as reloading the magazine takes time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tracker7 Tuesday, July 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007
Splatmatic XJ40
Marker Setup: Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical edition
Overlord Rx w/ laser sight
Custom made P90 prototype
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
Extra clips
Barrel Extension
Strengths: Highy accurate
Quick reload
Quick Co2 change
Feels great
Powerful
Weaknesses: Only two clips per Co2
Front heavy
Review: Design:
It's light for the mot part, but the balance is shifted towards the front. It's also quick to change Co2's and ammo clips. When it's in its holster along with extra clips and co2's a side arm can drag a little due to the weight, on the other hand side arms can save your ass so thats your call. Extra clips are a must, and I like the other guys idea of drilling a hole in the plug and adding a pull clip to load quicker. The rail on top acts like a sight and is quite accurate.

Performance:
The accuracy is outstanding even at a distance. On a 5'' radius at ruffly 50' away its dead on, and at 75' to 100' it's fairly accurate you barly have to arch it. So hitting a person at that range isn't a struggle. Increasing the velocity for more power is a must since you can only fire off about two full clips without losing power. You could squeeze three clip's at the lowest setting however but the last clip is a little under powered. Changing clips on the fly is a breeze but keep one in the chamber just in case. The clip is also spring loaded and when in position can be used as a sight. The cocking pin is in a small opening for big fingers which could be a problem, but can be modded.

Play:
This is a well diversified weapon. It works well as a scout weapon primary or not, It also works well while storming a structure. I like stealth and tactics so it works well in those settings. But lets say your in a capture the flag and your used to covering the noob while he grabs the flag, instead let him cover you while you swipe the flag with extra fire power. Works perfect in any woodsball scene. I have seen it converted into a sniper rifle, the picture is posted at the top of this reviews page.

UPDATE:
This gun has saved my ass a few times now. Plus, one can let another individual use it if thier gun acts up. If you are thinking about storming a structure I would suggest pulling out this bad boy because you will have a higher manuverability rate. The one thing I can't stress enough is keep track on how many you fire off, trust me one needs to know how many shots one has left.
Conclusion: Over all the main purpose of a gun is accuracy, and this one is highly that. That alone makes this gun the right one, the other strengths are just perks. I would reccomend to anyone's class type that requires a side arm.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 25th, 2009 at 8:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hodge Tuesday, June 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Lapco Snapshot .689
Liberty stock
slide check remote line
red dot sight
Hall Effect E-Grip
Apex
3-point sling
(cyclone feed vortex mod, squishy paddles, Tech-T QEPH)* pending order
HPA scuba fill station
HPA tank

Ariakon Overlord RX Pistol
3 magazines
holser


Recommended
Upgrades:
more magazines and lots of 12g CO2's
Strengths: Accuracy
Reliability
Badd @**'ness
very well constructed
uses regular paintballs
Weaknesses: Kind of big (bad?)
Review: When I got the Ariakon Overlord RX pistol I at first was disapointed by how small the box was, but that lasted all of about five seconds when I opened the package. The RX is very well packaged and fits snuggly into its case so the box isn't that big (why I was monentarilly disapointed). The pistol itself, however, is quite large. Personally I like this because of the "OHH S**T" looks you get when you pull it out at a paintball field. It's kind of intimidating to be on the recieving end (i figured out after letting my friend borrow it for a game against me).

First the "good':
This pistol is incredibly accurate! I had heard before that pistols are accurate, but this just asstounded me!! I was able to hit trees in my backyard with ease that others had trouble hitting with regular markers and good aftermarket barrels! Also this pistol is NOT paint picky at all. The first PBs I put through it were the cheapest paintballs you could get at Wal-Mart (happend to be what I had at the time) and the accuracy was great! Later I used high end Marbalizers and Beast paintballs and the performance was equally impressive. Second this gun is very reliable. To date I have put well over 3000 rounds through it just for fun and during games and can only recall three breaks. The first two were when my friend and I were messing around and put his Spyder barrel on the RX, I'm not even sure if they broke in the barrel or the gun. The third was one I picked up off the ground that looked fine but wasn't... Finaly the RX is very well constructed, it's all metal exept for the bolt and the grip assembly (oh and O-rings, but that's a given).
4: USES REGULAR PAINTBALLS (self explanitory)

Now the "bad":
There are only three bad things that I can think of with this product and two are easily mendable. First the size may be a turn off for some people. Because of its size if you don't properly tighten the holster onto your leg it can be very uncomfortable and flops around a lot, so just make it properly tight. Second, when the clip is installed on the top of the marker it takes some time to get used to the aiming. after a week or so of using it, however, it becomes very easy to accurately shoot from the hip. Third is the usage of a magazine. For most people this will probably be unrecognizable as they will use it as a side arm. From my experience there's no need to have a last-ditch-effort with more than 30 rounds because it's just that: a last-ditch-effort. That's it, I found it hard to find things wrong with this gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend that anyone looking for a side arm to get this gun. As for using it as a main weapon: it's firepower is limited like most pistols, but if you want to humiliate an obnoxious nube with a pwnage by a pistol more power to you! It is very fun and good practice to use it as a main weapon because you'll find yourself making more careful shots. Great product and i'm left with a very good impression, Ariakon has a new fan.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Tiger Friday, June 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Talon Ghost
with laser sight
Nelspot 007 customized
Recommended
Upgrades:
Laser sight
Custom draw bolt
Strengths: Accurate
feels good in hand
light
Weaknesses: Hard to cock
Ruffly only two clips per co2 (at full velocity)
Review: This was my brothers gun and I only blew off around 30 rounds but it only took that to
see the potential of this gun. As an avid firearm collecter I can see this gun was well designed. One nice thing to have is an extra clip instead of feeding it through the plug. The only default I can see in the cocking due too a small slot to pull it back (my fingers are bigger than his). That and it only shot about 25 shots on a single co2 when dialed in to full velocity. The accuracy is a key feature with this gun, even from a distance. So far we only use stock or pump guns so I can only speak for this class but fits in well here.
Conclusion: I liked this gun, the looks, the feel, and most of all the accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 13th, 2008 at 9:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

svdspecialist Saturday, April 2nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Primary- Planet eclipse ETEK3 AM with cure 3+ bolt, zick 2 rammer, Pinokio P250
Sidearm- Ariakon overlord rx
backup- Tippmann A5 with techt vortex, 14" Smart Parts All American, ricochet hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accuracy
size
Capacity
Weaknesses: No velocity adjustment
Uses a spyder type system
plug on magazine
Review: I have been using this pistol for about 2 years now and within that time i have been very impressed. First off the Overlord rx features a 10rd magazine (top mounted), vented Co2 puncture area, ergonomic grips, and a small under barrel rail for a light, laser, or camera. since its "barrel" is machined into the reciever it is extremely accurate. im talking more accurate than a stock A5 or 98 custom barrel. it also has spyder barrel threads at the end so you can add some length. the problem with these threads is that on my gun they werent perfectly straight. so when i added a spyder barrel it started breaking balls in the barrel because of a very tiny misalignment. another problem with the gun is its velocity adjustment. well there is none. it says in the manual that there is an adjustment screw for the velocity, the screw is there but it has no effect on velocity or gasses what so ever. the gun has a delrin white bolt so there is little need for oil. the gun is extremely reliable and gets about 25 full power shots from one quality 12gram cartridge. whenever i chrono'd the gun it was between 220-250fps on a warm day. seems lo but it gets the job done. it doesnt have as much range as your typical paintball marker but thats because it has a 8inch barrel. but its accuracy more than makes up for it. there are no sights but you dont need any. just point and shoot and it should it the target. the reciever is a nice aluminum and the grip frame is a good plastic. Ariakon is no longer in business so dont expect a warranty or replacement parts. the main problem with the pistol is its magazine. the plug has an Oring and is impossible to get off with the grip of 2 fingers, so what i did to mine was drill a hole in the plug and put a steel ring through it. so instead of grasping onto the tiny area you just put a finger in the ring and rip it out. overall id say it is a really good marker. mine hasnt failed me and i am dissapointed ariakon is out of business
Conclusion: Its a good pistol, extremely accurate, holds 10 rounds but its not made anymore.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gunderson Thursday, January 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: sp1
Remote Line
View Loader Hoppper
Recommended
Upgrades:
not sure.
Strengths: Unreal accurate
Zero kick
Very fast to reload
Weaknesses: It's huge
Bit of a Gas pig
Review: I have just used the Overlord Rx straight out of the box so far and I think it's a great gun. I was amazed by how large the pistol was when I opened the box, it's almost the same size as my sp1s. I havn't been able to fool around with the velocity or anthing yet because I havn't had it to the field yet. I found that the gun was kinda hard on gas I found that I went through 2 clips per cylinder. I was overly impressed by the accuracy of the gun it hit where I was aiming with a tight grouping. I can't wait to use it on the field I will update when I am able.
Conclusion: I would definitly recommend this gun to anyone looking for a pistol it's a little large but a great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media