paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt

DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DeadlyWind

Buy DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
HollowPoint features:
7.4 grams pretty much takes the cake for the lightest bolt.... ever?
Lowest kick.
Over twice the valve area and flow path as a stock Ion bolt. Opens faster, flows better.
Contiguous toroidal air flow path. No porting to break up the air flow.
Longer bolt nose section takes better advantage of the Ion's SFT seal.
ARB feature prevents ballstack chops caused from the ball rolling back into the cupped bolt face.
Testing yielded 1800+ full 300fps shots @ 150 psi from a 68/45 tank.
Quick, easy install.
Product Availability 
The DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
benwhite Monday, August 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Bolt
Marker Setup: QEV, HP Bolt
Strengths: Light
Simple design
Nothing to break
No Kick
Excellent Airflow
Weaknesses: Little pricey, but worth it
Review: I received my DeadlyWind bolt on a Wednesday afternoon, and had it installed within the hour. I also installed a QEV during this process as well. This was the first time I had every upgraded my Ion, and it wasn't hard at all. The online installation page, located on the manufacturers web site, was very easy to follow.

I set my dwell and air pressure to the suggested initial settings, and took my gun to the firing range. I noticed right away that my gun's kick had virtually disappeared, and I was using much less air pressure than before. 52 dwell dropped to 4 dwell and 170psi dropped to approximately 125psi.
After shooting about 1000 balls over the course of the morning, I noticed that the balls were not feeding properly into the gun. You guessed it, the screw that holds the bolt stalk had come loose. I soon realized that I needed to put the loctite on the threads of the screw, not the head of the screw. About 45 minutes later, after letting the loctite set, I was back in business.

I have not had any issues since, and the bolt has performed flawlessly, with no ball breaks or anything. Not only is my gun quieter than before, my shots are more accurate, and I get approximately 40% more shots per tank. This is due to both Bolt and QEV.

[update]
After playing more with this bolt (~5,000 rounds shot), I have had no issues. I have been getting a little over 900 shots/tank, which ain't too bad considering I only have a 48ci 3000psi tank. Once I upgrade to a 68ci 4500psi that should work out to 1800+ shots/tank.

I have done some Myth-buster style testing to compare the following bolts;
Ion + QEV + Stock Bolt
Ion + QEV + Firebolt
ion + QEV + HollowPoint Bolt

Basically I recorded the sound of each marker from 25ft directly in front of the gun.
I performed both dry and loaded shots to help infer performance gains, and air flow characteristics. I used the stock bold as the base for measuring the 2 other products.
Here are my findings...

First up was the Ion + QEV + Firebolt. Compared to the stock bolt, we noticed a drop of 2db in the overall volume of a loaded shot. Also the pitch of the shot was a bit lower. When we tested a dry shot, we noticed no difference in volume, which means to me that the air flow characteristics are no better than a stock bolt, and the only improvement is the weight characteristics.

Next up was the Ion + QEV + Hollow. Compared to the stock bolt, we noticed a drop of 5db in the overall volume of a loaded shot, and the pitch of the shot was a bit lower than the previous Firebolt test. When we tested a dry shot, we noticed a significant difference in the volume. This bolt produced a much louder shot, approximately twice as loud as the previous 2 tests. This means to me that the air flow characteristics are far superior than both the stock bolt and the Firebolt. I'm not sure what real world implications this has, but interesting none the less.

If allowed, I will post the audio files to back up the results later.
Conclusion: This is an excellent bold, and I would tell anyone to buy this one over the other option s available. And make sure you put some loctite on the threads of the stalk bold...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 2nd, 2007 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mooman7777 Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
L7
Marker Setup: Ion - AKA 2 Liter, QEV, APE Board...(everything worth while minus Aesthetic upgrades)
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: Price
Review: For anyone still on the fence…

So far I’ve shot 1 case of wrek elite 1 case of xball bronze, and half a case of midnight with this bolt…

5000 balls, no breaks… period! (day started at 72 deg f ended around 85 deg f)
(the wrek paint was nearly 2 months old since I bought it, the midnight was 1 week old and the xball was brand new)


4500/68 tank
I filled 3 times (twice on field, once before I got there) my tank read just under 2500 psi at the end of the day(but you can’t really trust the gauge)

Firstly, I wanted to say that this IS an upgrade from the L7 bolt…

To prove this I first set up my Ion with the L7…
chrono’ed it at 285fps +/- 3fps
then took apart the Ion, installed the HP bolt, went back to the chrono…
Fired 10 rounds at 1bps, then a few 3 round bursts registering 19 bps, then back to 1 bps for another 10 rounds to confirm I was shooting between 295-300fps…

I then had to turn my reg down to compensate for the lighter more efficient bolt…

HP bolt IS more efficient then the L7 bolt because it needs less pressure to shoot the same FPS when compared to the L7

(this is due mostly to its lighter weight, and better flow characteristics)

This bolt is also much more durable then the L7, and easier to install

(you don’t need a screwdriver carefully placed into the firing chamber to tighten or loosen the end cap)
(This step is proven to contribute to early failing of o-rings, if you come into contact with the o-ring with the screwdriver…which is nearly impossible to avoid)

The stationary core is thicker, more durable and can be installed by hand… (caution, people with weak hand grips should use lock-tight on the end screw as it may back out if not tightened properly)

(probably around 10-12 inch-lbs for those people who have digital torque wrenches)

The Aircraft aluminum bolt is also thicker and more durable then the L7, with significantly fewer stress concentration points… I can guarantee that The back of the L7 will break off long before the HP bolt would even nick…

Lastly, in an outdoor (open field) environment, with little background noise, a 5mph wind, 71 deg ambient temp, at 4 inches to the side of the muzzle, the HP bolt measured 8dB quieter then the L7


To sum it all up:

HP compared to the L7 is:
1) More Air efficient
2) Easier to install
3) Stronger/more Durable
4) Quieter


But… they are BOTH OVER PRICED!
Conclusion: Overall the bolt is a real improvement over all other bolts, but it is just priced way too high for what you are actually getting...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007 at 4:57 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

cleverfrog Sunday, January 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: Ion
360 qev
cp spring trigger
white body kit
Deadly Wind Duress Feed Neck
Halo B V35
CP 2k5 on/off
Deadly Wind Hollow Point Bolt
PMI glass fix 68/45
Strengths: Super light
No kick
Accuracy
Cool finish
Easy installation
Weaknesses: None
Review: I opened up the package the bolt came in and picked up the bolt, I thought the bolt was going to keep floating up out off my hand. It is probably the lightest bolt that has ever been made for the Ion. The HP bolt increased my accuracy a ton. This is one of the must buys for the Ion.
Conclusion: Get the Deadly Wind HP bolt over any other bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OldDriver Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, L-6, L7
Marker Setup: Speedball
Ion , Q-lock Feed neck, Hollow Point Bolt, SP360 QEV, Virtue Board, Virtue Laser Eyes and Pad, Freak JR Barrel, Halo V-35 with Rip, Foehn 2.5 Body, Scorpion Frame

Woodsball/Backup
A-5 w/ Flatline Barrel, E-grip(pre-WAS board), 6xchamber, colapseable stock and remote line on 24 oz CO2
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Hollow Point bolt:

Price: $55.00 available only from Deadly Wind Direct and not available anywhere else.

Picked this up along with the Foehn 2.5 BOB body kit and decided to try it as just like the Ion, almost everyone has an L-7.

Pros:
1. Lightest bolt available, when comparing the MOVING portions of this bolt vs. the L-7 the Hollow Point is the lightest.
2. Porting, it has only one port vs. the three on the L-7/L-6, as it is simply a hollow tube.
3. Lubing only requires that the stalk and rear o-ring on the bolt itself be lubed with DOW-33 or similar.
4. Removes the bolt stop and replaces it with a lightweight “doughnut” which you do not “have” to use. (So if you loose it, eh, oh well. Just do not put it in backwards as it will reduce efficiency.)
5. Reduces the kick vs. stock dramatically, as to which is better in the L-7 vs. Hollow Point; it will be a toss up there.
Cons:
1. Stalk works loose after firing for a while or at a high rate of fire if you do not loctite the threads. Happened to me three times in a case of paint and if you are not thinking about it, you are trying to figure out why your hopper will not load paint while someone is running up to bunker you. (The stalk moves forward into the firing chamber blocking the ball out of the firing chamber.)
2. Louder than the L-7 which could be a plus if using a Reloader B/B2 as it would be picked up easier.
3. Cost, I understand that I am paying for the idea, but with as little as there is in material to this bolt, you would think it would be about $25 or so. (However, the price is inline with the L-7.)

Unknown:
As for the rear o-ring on the stalk, I am guessing it is used as a seal for the stalk as well as a dampener for vibration and/or a locking mechanism for the stalk. Just an idea for the future, perhaps a backing washer to pinch it into the stalk so you do not have to use loctite, who knows, just a thought.

Conclusion: Conclusion:

Great buy and worth the wait vs. just grabbing the L-7. Don’t get me wrong I like the L-7 but as I said, everyone has it and I like a little difference in my marker from the rest.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ECOracer Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Firebolt
Marker Setup: Smarts Parts Ion, Blackcell body, longbow stock
Strengths: Very light, very sturdy, lowers operating pressure, and it looks damn cool
Weaknesses: Price i guess
Review: ok, so it was a debate between the TechT and this....obviously, I chose this. Mainly due to its unique design and good reviews on here....as well as the expectation of quality that goes along with Deadlywind’s products.

after finding the installation instructions online and following them i noticed i was having a lot of air leaking down the barrel but i read Deadlywind’s troubleshooting guide and took care of the problem.

Once it was working fine and the air leak stoped i filled my hopper and let it rip. it honestly feels like a different gun, it sounds different, the recoil is different (although i wouldn’t say nonexistent...just feels different). but its all different in a good way



Conclusion: im gonna give it a 9 out of 10 only because of the initial air leaking problem...but other then that...BUY THIS BOLT
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tokay444 Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
firebolt
Marker Setup: sp epiphany
virtue board
sp qev
sp max-flo micro
sp q-lock
deadly wind hallow point bolt
deadly wind fibur barrel
cougar river custom cf body
empire fuels 71/4500
stock halo b
Strengths: Extremely low reciprocating mass.
It's a spool valve.
Genius.
Weaknesses: It stuck once. i degassed and air back up and it was fine.
Review: This bolt was so good i had to virtue my epiphany to explore it's full potential. On the stock board, it fired a full cycle at the lowest possible dwell setting which is 8ms.
The thought behind this bolt is so logical yet so genius it's perfect. why move the entire set up when less than half of that mass actually needs to move? Deadly Wind obviously didn't know either. Great work guys.
Conclusion: By far one of the best investments you can make for you ion/epiphany.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion bolt
Marker Setup: SP-8 (with buttstock and 'sniper' shroud)
Deadlywind HP bolt
Trinity clippard-type QEV
CP shorty reg
pure energy 88/3000 HPA tank
VL egg

Strengths: Light
Simple to install
Weaknesses: Requires loctite, not easily reversible
Review: Bought this bolt because I was looking to upgrade my SP8 from bone stock into something more impressive, and after doing some research, i decided on going with the new hollowpoint bolt. From what I'd seen, it was easily a match for the L7 bolt, and not as much of a pain in the ass as the Orange nano + upgrade.

I installed it, and a trinity QEV, lubed it up well, and snagged a bag of paint to test fire. I was impressed with how little kick my marker had, and how consistently it shot. with my input @150PSI and my dwell set to 4, i expected some pretty big velocity fluctuations... and though i did see some, I did just install a new reg, so it could have just as easily been the reg.

I'm also impressed by how much more efficient, overall, my marker is. Running an 88/3 tank, i got close onto about 1000 shots out of my stock setup. Now i'm getting in the neighborhood of 12-1300, which can make all the difference sometimes.

Conclusion: Personally, I'd recommend this bolt to anyone looking to upgrade their ion or SP8. it's crazy light, and not that expensive, relatively speaking. it's much more effective with a QEV installed though, so if you get one, i'd also recommend grabbing a QEV if you don't already have one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bageer Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Bolt
Marker Setup: HP bolt
CP reg
Q lock
Critical trigger
Strengths: Air
Lack of kick
Weaknesses: Price
Review: The first thing i noticed opening it was that it was much lighter than the stock. After installing i shot a few balls and noticed i had to turn down pressure and dwell. Later in the week i played and i noticed a big difference in accuracy. My accuracy increased be cause there was almost no kick. A big difference froom the stock.
Conclusion: The price is a little more expensive than the other bolts but it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OSOK8541 Saturday, September 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
L-7
Marker Setup: NEG ION Body; Hollow Point Bolt; APE Rampage Board; Modified Frame; Roller Trigger; Dye 2 Hyper; Kila Dentz; SLY Barrel; Pulse w/ RF chip; CP ASA On/Off; Blue LED.
Strengths: Weight and configuration.
Weaknesses: A little pricey, and not all bugz ironed out.
Review: I am surprized to see a hollow cylinder perform as indicated. I just recently fired 1143 balls from a 68/4500 tank. Starting pressure of the tank was 4000 and ending pressure was 1000. The marker was at 120 PSIG and firing at 285FPS AVG.

For the efficiency and the simplistic approach, I would outfit spoolies with it.
Conclusion: I'm satisfied with the product, for what it does.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MickilBunz Friday, July 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
TTech L7
Marker Setup: Virtue board
Virtue eyes
Virtue QEV
DeadlyWind HollowPoint Bolt
DXS 68ci 4500
Lucky untec1 Barrel
NDZ Firing can and breech
TTech Stinger trigger
Strengths: Light, Accurate, Quiet.
Weaknesses: Price, Needed loc tite, No Instructions.
Review: I recently purchaced the Foehn 2.5 Body also from deadlywind along with my HP bolt. let me start by saying theres a big difference compared to stock. i currently own 2 ions so i wanted to see what the hype was about. i test fired the stock bolt then the HP bolt (You can do that with the BOB)oh my god it rips the sound of my marker was so different my girl thought i bought another marker. then i decicded to do a comparison to my L7 Equipped ion a little quieter but no really big difference. but the bolt is a beautiful piece of craftmanship. i would recommened totally this bolt !
Conclusion: Wroth every penny! Period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media