paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL Plus Java / Kingman Spyder TL Plus Java / Kingman Spyder TL Plus Java / Kingman Spyder TL Plus Java

Kingman Spyder TL Plus Java Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL Plus Java

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL Plus Java
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $220

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Spyder Java TL Plus has all the normal great features of the TL Plus and a new purple color.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL Plus Java is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
wiseguy002 Thursday, December 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Shocker, Nova, and Mini-mag.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus Java Edition (Purple)
Drop Forward and Regulator from Java Shutter
Smart Parts All -American 14"
2+1 Harness
JT Spectra Flex 7 - IZE (Purple)
(in one week i'll have Spyder Classic ESP Frame)
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. If you don't already have a barrel buy one now. Smart Parts, Dye, Custom Productz will do fine. I would actually reccommend you get the Freak System with the Spyder Front so you can upgrade to a different threading if you decide to buy a new marker.
2. I would get a kick-@$$ drop forward and a regulator for your marker. I know that at first I really wanted a remote system, but after using it I felt like it was too damn awkward, however in snapshooting, a reasonable drop forward will bring you marker forward a considerable amount. For instance, I can already tell the difference with the crappy Shutter Drop Forward. It's helped my snapshooting a lot(the essence of the game)
3. Trigger Job/New E-frame. I have not used my ESP frame yet, nor have I even seen a Mako Storm in person, however I do know that in tourney play, a spyder along with the right talents can perform very well. However, you will find yourself out-gunned. I love my spyder, I love my setup. But when it comes to shooting close to 400 rnds in a close call tournament game, I would suggest getting the best trigger pull for yourself. I finally decided to fork over $130 (ESP frame plus shipping on E-Bay) for the ESP frame. I figured I'd try it out and if I didn't like it I'd sell the frame for a used price on E-bay. Basically what I'm saying is that you can do a user-friendly trigger job on your spyder to make it very nice. That is if you want to play recreational (weekend warriors or 2-3 times a month at a field) But bottomline, you either have to have a fast trigger finger or a small trigger pull to keep up with the lot of E-markers out there playing in tournaments.
4. One last upgrade would be to polish your internals, oil your maker, and get ready to kick some angel @$$.
Strengths: The marker is bar-none the most dependable marker out there. If you chrono high, then pinch the spring; the same goes if you can't get over 220 fps, just stretch the spring. It is easy to field strip the marker, you can't go wrong when you need to pull the quick release pin and see whats up. The amount of aftermarket parts available is amazing. It leaves spyder users with endless possibilites. Its almost like snowflakes, no two spyders are the same. If you are a beginner I'd highly reccomend using someone elses marker to see if you like it. If you fee like you'd like to compete in a tournament then with the new releases of the EM-1, AMG, Flash, and ESP frame you can now hang with the big guys who spend over a grand of cash on a paintball marker. In my opinion, a player with solid technique and a spyder can damage the paintball field better than an angel that can spray and pray to hit a target. Bottom line, get a spyder to start out. If you feel like you need to upgrade you have two choices. Either sell your marker to another player starting out, or keep it for a reliable backup that can be upgraded to compete with the best.
Weaknesses: I'd have to say the only thing bad about this marker is the fact that it comes with a mediocre barrel. However for some reason, maybe a freak accident, my stock TL Plus Java Edition Barrel is quite accurate. But if you'd be interested in a barrel buy a CP (custom productz) barrel then figure out where you'd like to go next. Other than that, they could shave off some weight and unneccessary parts like the Extended Sight Rail. I mean seriously, this is stupid. Its a blowback with a powerfee, you're not going to use the sight unless you get a Red Dot site system. Just put the beaver tail on it so I don't screw up my Flex 7 goggles when snapshooting. Not to mention, the barrel shoud should just be taken off. It serves no purpose. However, I have mixed reviews. On some barrels I like the barrel shroud cause it makes my spyder look MEAN!!! But when it comes to a barrel that in itself looks intimidating (Dye SS, or Boomstick) I'd leave it off just to intimidate other players.
Conclusion: If you are new to the sport buy this marker. It will serve to be one of the best guns you will ever have in your posession. The only thing I wish I would've done before I bought this gun is maybe seen if I could've got my Spyder TL Plus with a vertical feed and a regulator. But those additions are highly available with technology today. And if you look hard enough. Besides this Purple TL Plus really sports my love for LSU Athletics. GEAUX TIGERS. Half of the LSU Paintball Club has Purple Java Editions that are tricked out, and we do just fine. Have fun playing safe and spreading the love for paintball world-wide. GET A SPYDER!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drsmith_pb-pro Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 CUSTOM (not as good as tl) >>>> spyder aggressor xt (not even close to being as good as the tl) >>>> TALON (suck azz)
Marker Setup: spyder tl plus java (blue/silver), 20 oz. anti-siphon tank, veiwloader 9v loader, 14 inch 32 degrees quit riot barrel, 32 degrees flame drop forward the rest is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
~~~~~~NEW BARREL~~~~~~~ any electric hopper and a drop forward
Strengths: the gun isnt to bright if u get it in the blue
Weaknesses: SPUTTERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LIKE A MOFO
Review: THIS GUN IS ALL OVER AWESOME SOME TIMES TRIGGER WILL STICK ARE A BALL WILL BREAK BUT THATS NORMAL AND NO MATTER WHAT THIS GUN RULES and never fails if u work on it alot and always clean and oil it it will always work for u. buy this gun as soon as u can u will love it so much if u buy it a t dunhams u can get it in blue not just pink or whatever it is in the pic and if u want to it is like one of the most upgradeable spyders on the market as far as i know and it never fails with any mod except i found that it doesn't work to well with an electric trigger i do not know why but it just doesn't seem to work well the auto sucks and the 6 burst sucks also the only good thing is 3 burst but thats my opinion
Conclusion: if u got 200$ buy this gun it is just as good as a cocker and trust me i got a cocker and the spyder is way better
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 2nd, 2004 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Deadmeat99 Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray (No Comparison)
Sheridan PGP2 (Different type of play)
2005 Pro-Stock Autococker (Just got it to have something other than a spyder)
Marker Setup: 16" Jt 2 piece .690 barrel
ACI 4 stage expansion chamber
Viewloader 12v Revi
Trinity 2" drop with on/off ASA
dye sticky 3's
E trigger off of 05' pilot ACS
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit and electronic trigger, if you plan on using co2 a expansion chamber is a must have
Strengths: Relible
Sturdy
Weaknesses: Plastic parts
Loud
stock barrel large bore
Review: I have constantly been upgrading this marker over the years, my friends say I am crazy but it has a emotional attachment to me. I have been with it through thick and thin. When I got my autococker I lended this marker to people who didnt like the rentals or didnt have a marker it has never let them down and sometimes they get lucky and get me out with it.
Conclusion: You can find these for prolly less than 100 on e bay and its well worth the money if you need a sturdy backup or are just trying to train your fingers faster for a electro
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 7th, 2007 at 3:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballcrazy9 Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I would have to see all the other cheap spyders
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with lapco big shot barrel and like tommorow rt trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a new barrel and electric hopper
Strengths: Durability, price,and etc
Weaknesses: Breaks paintballs, loud
Review: This is the fun i got for christmas before i ever went paintballing it is a good gun for begginers and it is semi auto can keep up with some pretty good guns i just would say if your a bigginer this gun is pretty good. Just dont try to be crazy with it like hit the trigger to fast for it or you will break paint gurrnateed.So if your new and wont a ok gun get this igun it also comes in a kit like with a mask and co2 tank and yeah
Conclusion: If your a noob get iti
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mapel_Syyrup Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98. Pirahna Black Maxx. Tippmann 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL (Dark Blue)
Stock Barrel
Double Trigger
12oz Java CO2 tank w/ butt plate.
200 rd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Silenced barrel.
Strengths: Light. Durable. Shoots well.
Weaknesses: Loud stock barrel.
Review: This is my first gun but I've shot many others. I like this one the most. It's the lightest and most durable I could find. I got a dark blue one so it is just as hard to see as a black gun. Don't worry about how shiny it is or if it's a light color. Just get Camo tape or a Camo cover. Look at conclusion for what paint works...
Conclusion: I recorded types of paint and how many I shot:

Diablo Dusk: Shot 500 only 5-7 broke. One busted inside the hopper and I had to shoot the crap out. After 3 or 4 shots it was OK. These are really breakable paintballs but they're really good.

Draxxus Dusk: Shot 500 only 4-6 broke. These are pretty much the same as Diablo Dusk.

Blue Streak: Shot 300. 0 broke. These are hard paintballs! I shot at a thick plastic garbage can maybe 3 turns less than full velocity the cracked the thing. I don't mean little cracks they were probably 5" wide.

To buy good affordable paintballs go to Wal-Mart. Seriously they have Diablo, Super Swirl, Blue Streak ect.
Wal-Mart: 100 costs $4. 200 costs $6. 500 costs $14. 1000 costs $25.
Other places: 100 costs $5. 200 costs $8. 500 costs $20. 1000 costs $40.

Note: These are the same brands of paintballs.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 5th, 2003 at 5:35 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

matt_dieter Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt excellerator 5.0
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: red 2003 vert cocker
black magic barrel
12 v x board revi
48/3000 bulldog air
Recommended
Upgrades:
new grips
Strengths: fast, accurate, light, small, reliable
Weaknesses: color shines in the sun
Review: This is one of the better guns in it's class. It has every thing that I look for in a paintball gun and more. It never breaks, it's light, it's small, accurate, and fast. What more can you ask of a paintball gun. It even has hundreds of upgrades. In fact the only thing I didn't like was it's shining finish. I remember one time at our speedball field, I had moved into a clump of trees on the side, and a kid moved into the bunker right next to me i shot him and then his teamate spoted the glare off my gun and I was lit up. Overall I cant complain though.
Conclusion: I reccomend any one short on money to buy this, it has all the qualitys that a tournement level gun has, but at about a tenth of the price.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saboteur Friday, November 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy rental Tippmans 98, Spyder Flash, Piece of S---t B.E. Avenger, Piranha G3.
Marker Setup: Spyder Java TL Plus, 14 oz CO2, VL Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel. Electronic Hopper.
Strengths: Have to admit this marker has not ceased to amaze me. It is totally dependable, does not chop balls, extremely accurate, even with the stock barrel or with the VL barrel which sells for like $15 at Wal-Mart. When I take on my friend who has a tricked out Flash LCD I still kick his butt with my TL. Definetly reccommend this marker to any player who's either new or intermediate, belive me, it has more potential than most players.
If you feel like playing in tournaments, get another, more expensive marker like a Cocker but keep this one around for playing rec ball when it breaks down (which should be often).
Weaknesses: Don't really like the color, easy to get spotted when you're playing woods. Other than that, I plan on hanging on to mine for a long time.
Conclusion: A great marker for the price, dependable and accurate. If you see one, buy it I guarantee you won't regret it, also, with the amount of upgrades available you can turn it into a really sweet marker. I would give a ten but I know there are much better markers out there (which by the way, cost about five times as much).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other spiders
Marker Setup: spyder shutter with xcel barrel, viewloader, CO2, and dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrels a must, antisyphon installation, and bolt's optional
Strengths: Spyders are good for me but mostly it depends on you. Its a great gun for a newbie because all it needs after a battle is a clean up and a little oiling here and then. It has good accuracy for my tastes. One thing about this gun is that you don't have to put much money into it. You just need to upgrade the barrel and bolt. If you get a bolt you'll see a difference but not much because a spyder alfeady comes with a great bolt.
Weaknesses: Nothing much. What everyone says here "Bad players make bad guns"
Conclusion: If you're looking for a reliable gun this is it for you and when you're ready to take it another step up just cash yours in at ebay and get a cocker or automag. If you have any questions email me at paintpro45@att.net
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder A ( that would be an original Spyder), Spyder Sonix, Hey!, aren't just about every low priced out these days a spin off or carbon copy of the Spyder?
Marker Setup: Spyder TL plus, Java, Warpaint drop forward, VL2000(yes those are still around), Taso Eliminator, 48ci nitro duck tank. 32degrees elbow.
Spyder Sonix, VL Revolution, 20 ounce co2 on remote(actually, it's my wifes)
Spyder A, took bottom line off, put quick disconnect nipple in place, I&I rock rifled barrel, VL 200(OLD SCHOOL!!!!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Taso Eliminator barrel, 'cocker push pin, VL or other agitation hopper, venturi style bolt, drop forward and a nitro tank.
Strengths: For under $300 you get a marker that is almost tournament grade. It fires fast, straight, and it just looks Impressive.
Weaknesses: Ok, what kind of sick freak would shot a purple marker!?!?!........oh yeah....ummm....moving right along........The stock barrel is really bad, But a is a major improvement over the old Spyder A stock. The field strip pin has a little wire clip that will vibrate out with heavy fireing, but the autococker push pin fits perfectly and those are easy to find. Two minor things, and tell me you didn't plan on buying an after market barrel anyway?
Conclusion: Even with the two minor problems, this marker is one of the best on the market. Price, reliability, operation,and appearance are all top of the line. Kingman has created a beautiful thing here. get one while you can.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
AGD rt pro, ANS GENX cocker, spyder shutter, model 98, micro mag
Marker Setup: just a tl plus java stock... 20oz C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
ummm... you might want a new barell, the stock one is kind of loud, and the accuracy is decent, but not the greatest, i would upgrade to N2, its more efficient, possbly a new bolt, maybe a new trigger frame, but if you are going to want a new gun in a few years or so, dont bother with the frame or bolt. But i would get a barell, and N2
Strengths: this gun isnt all that bad, i dont really like the color tho. But its accuracy is good for being stock, and its not that expensive. Whats nice is that you can upgrade this gun a lot. if you have the money. But you dont have to, its a nice gun out of the box. also, its not difficult to clean either. also, this gun is very durable, i dropped it once, and it still worked great.
Weaknesses: it doesnt shoot as fast as i would like it to, but once upgrade it, it should be able to shoot faster. i can get about 5 or 6 bps, which isnt that bad for stock, and not an electro gun.
Conclusion: this gun is awesome for what you pay. i got mine for 170. if you are lookin for a decent gun for a low price, i would buy this one or a shutter. they are both good guns for what you pay
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media