paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 32 Degrees PT Extreme / 32 Degrees PT Extreme / 32 Degrees PT Extreme / 32 Degrees PT Extreme

32 Degrees PT Extreme Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount 32 Degrees

Buy 32 Degrees PT Extreme

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


32 Degrees PT Extreme
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 230
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features a 10 round feed capactiy, 12 gram CO2, spring loaded firing action, and a quick-release cartridge putting this semi-auto marker pistol ahead of the rest.
Product Availability 
The 32 Degrees PT Extreme is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Gunman_2000 Saturday, October 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP Sheridan (tested)
Marker Setup: 2x PT Xtreme (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Replace ball detents w/ detents from Spyder
-Maybe replace barrel with aftermarket ported barrel
Strengths: -compact
-good balance
-accurate
-fun as hell
-cheap on paint
-fast
Weaknesses: -stock ball detent doesnt hold up
-bright chrome is hard to hide in the bush
Review: After playing for a year with a regular set up, I found myself tired of getting shot in the hopper or the tank. After doing some reading, I decided to try a change of pace, and got a deal on a pair of PT Xtremes at Skyball. And for the past year I have been playing most rec ball, scenario games, and a bit of speedball with my pistols. It took a change of playing style, but I think it has made me a better player myself. After adjusting everything to my needs on them (the quick release clamp), and chronoing them (they now shoot a regular 240fps, approximately) I have just left them as is and played with them. I get a regular of 31-33 shots from each 12gram (cold weather will affect this). And by buying these, I have cut my paint purchases in half, at least. And you can get 12grams cheaper in bulk from some places.

I have had none of the massive problems that I have read about from some places. Maybe I just got lucky with mine. But I feel that they are a quality product. With a little look at the manual, they are a snap to dissassemble and clean, and reassembly is just as easy.

The ball detent can benefit from being swapped with a Spyder ball detent, since the stock one doesnt seem able to stand up to the bolt. It will eventually just bend, and you'll get half of your clip in your barrel (though this makes a pretty cool shotgun effect).

Their rate of fire is quiet decent for a small hand held, 8 balls a second I believe. Even if unloading that fast might be a bad idea.
Conclusion: Definately what I consider a worthwhile purchase. I have had way more fun with these than my old setup. They certainly look nicer, function well, have saved me some money, and gotten me some kills i might not have gotten otherwise. A nice holster, and your set to go. I am quite happy with my stock pistols, and dont ever plan on installing a bottomline or a hopper adapter. If i wanted those, I would buy my Spectre back.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

P8NtBaL ESF Monday, May 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP-much better, cheaper, pump is its only weakness.
Armotech Zeus- cheaper. The best pistol of em all. semi- action.
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter with electronic ESP frame, 12v revvy, 9 oz CO2 (does me fine, considering i can get it filled from a friend for 2 bucks), 16" Smart Parts Big Daddy barrel
with suppressor
Recommended
Upgrades:
EBAY, to sell it to some pathetic soul. Then go back out and get an armotech zeus, or at least a PGP. But, really, I don't think you can upgrade it.
Strengths: It's an OK sidearm. Good for plinkin tin cans.
Weaknesses: Chops alot.
High maintenance.
Breaks down alot.
One chop, and its useless for that battle.
Review: This thing needs some improvements. It needs a better barrel and bolt. You may also want some paintballs with a thick shell, such as Diablo Dusk (no TC venoms, they will destroy your gun). It is kinda cool for doing Mafia impressions. Walk into a room with a cigar in your mouth, and a tuxedo on you. Then say "You all have dubba crossed me too many times. Now its time to put your lights out.... Tat tat tat tat tat tat tat..."
Conclusion: It's ok, but too expesive for its under achieving quality. Go with an Armotech Zeus. They are about the same price, and 100 times better.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 26th, 2004 at 1:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Monday, August 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT PRO - a much better marker
Strengths: It looks nice... Good concepts
Weaknesses: Low velocity, double feeds, parts not durable
Review: The 32 Degrees PTX
The PTX is a new paintball pistol on the market. The overall construction of the marker is quite good but it is wise to check your marker over before the purchase. Note that the marker comes without a warranty card - meaning once purchased your on your own? 32 Degrees the quote “manufacturer” is supportive and they sent me a new valve when I requested one. The marker is not made in the US although it is clearly marketed from there. The manual is mostly gobbledygoop and not cleanly written english. The owners of the various PT series have gathered together on the internet to form a survival group.

I play stock, having used a PGP for a number of years, and the PTX offered me the same pistol format but with the added advantage of a semi-automatic paintball marker - no pumping.

I did test the marker at a target range and no problems turned up there prior to playing at a big game. However under actual playing conditions a few bugs did turn up. While perhaps not a marker for newbies due to the tweaking involved the PTX is certainly a marker for players with some experience behind them. I’ll describe what happened and my approach to solving the quirks.

The PTX barrel has quite a large bore. In the "old" days players used to hone out their barrels to make the balls travel farther. This also applies to the PTX which has quite a lot of range for the 8.5 inch barrel at low speeds, 250 fps. I quickly discovered that 1/3 to 1/2 of almost any paint brand can easily be dropped right through the barrel. The only thing impeding the flow of paint into the barrel is the ball detent.

The ball detent is the standard nubbin used in Spyders, Piranhas, Bruizers, etc. However it lacks enough depth to prevent paint from passing by it and rolling out the barrel unless it is shimmed with a piece of 1/8 inch o-ring. Basically what happened to me was that the magazine would shake back and forth as I was running. The weight and inertia of the paintballs would drive the paint past the ball detent and into the barrel. If the barrel happened to be pointing at the ground some of the paint would drop out. Shimming the ball detent cured this problem but you will have to periodically replace it as it wears out.

One magazine is not enough, 32 Degrees retails through 888 paintball which only sells in the USA. So getting another may prove difficult for players outside the US.
Low velocity seems to be a complaint of many players despite the fact that the marker gets a Trracer like range at 250 fps. I haven't had any problems competing against the range of markers like Spyders, Automags, and Trracer pumps. Some tilting of the marker is necessary to reach targets farther away but I have been able to play, put the paint on target, and not feel out-gunned.

Despite this I can't get the velocity up to what are usually considered "playable levels" using the stock spring. The PTX does have a velocity adjuster but its effect is limited to plus or minus 20 fps. I would consider 265-285 fps normal. The stock PTX spring is somewhat anemic (220 fps) and I would suggest purchasing a Chameleon Spring Kit or putting a Spyder spring in the PTX. I replaced mine with the orange one from the kit. My velocities are now in the 250-260 fps range most of the time. However after a while the velocity dropped into the 220 fps range and I couldn't get it over 240 fps.

The cocking knob strikes the back body of the marker as it is cycled. When this happens wear will appear on the underside of the cocking knob and at the back of the body. This wouldn’t happen if the body was 1/2 inch longer or the knob were smaller.
I’ve also had to replace bent hammer springs twice. The bumper is the only thing keeping the spring guide straight but it moves around inside the marker body. For one reason or another the spring gets bent which is not really a good thing. The stock spring met its demise early on.

The marker is equipped with a lever quick change. Players have complained about the sensitivity of the 12 gram seal to damage. It is soft and has a tendency to leak if scratched. Spares are not provided in the little parts bag that comes with the marker - they should be. A number of players have attempted to seal a leaking 12 gram by over-tightening the lever push set. I can replace the 12 gram seals for players that need this done with a 3/8 od 1/8 id 1/8 thk o-ring.

One way of avoiding the 12 gram leak is simply to switch over to constant air. This will reduce chances of damaging the seal and, secondly switching to ca will stabilize velocities. I found that big velocity jumps occur using a 12 gram. On a ca tank the velocities achieved were more stable and had less tendency to spike. Why should you care about jumping velocity? As the 12 gram is depleted velocities drop, quickly I might add, and the range of the marker gets shorter and shorter. Add a few velocity spikes and this makes shooting very unpredictable as you cannot be certain your ball will go to the same place every time you shoot. The PTX has quite a thirst for 12 grams and I found using a tank much more convenient and consistent but risky.

Getting a tank on the PTX isn't very difficult. There are two approaches, one using a bottom line setup and the other a Spyder vertical adapter. For the bottom line you need a 10" braided hose, a standard ca duckbill, a 90 degree angle, and some teflon tape. The vertical adapter is a more simple approach. The line and vertical adapter screw into a port provided for the connection just in front of the trigger guard. A spent (empty) 12 gram must be placed in the marker to seal up the front of the valve. I used the vertical adapter approach. This puts a 4oz tank in front of the trigger. I found it adds some weight to the marker and makes shooting stable - the marker has a tendency to kick when shot. Even with the tank on it the PTX still fits into my holster. The only cautionary part of this is that should the 12 gram lever lift when ca is attached the 12 gram will fly out under the gas pressure! You've been warned!

On one occasion the marker cycled full auto briefly. This was due to lack of lubricant on the hammer. Once a few drops had been put onto the hammer, through the breech, the marker cycled normally

One big no-no to avoid is dry firing the marker - cycling the action without co2 in it. This will damage the cup seal.

My sanity test for a marker is how much fun can you have with your it without having problems. I went bananas...

With its new modifications I took the PTX back to the field and had a really great day without any of the problems recurring and I only broke one paintball all day! Groovy!
However, on the next trip to the field the marker cycled full auto occasionally and did not recock two or three times. I replaced the ATF lubricant on the hammer and bolt with vaseline and that cleared up the recocking problem, but the velocity was pathetic. Even if you hit your opponent at longer ranges the ball doesn't break, he stays in the game, and whacks you now that he knows where you are.

So it appears that the PTX is likely to be a high maintenance marker more suited to players who don’t mind maintaining their equipment - have spare parts handy and keep a backup marker ready.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend it due to the lack of reliability, and poor quality. I traded the PTX away and bought a PT Pro and am much happier as a result. I even have some hair left now and the patches I tore out from frustration with the PTX are growing back.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:59 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gangisHANS Monday, April 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, PTX, PT Enforcer, Zues
Marker Setup: PT Xtreme with bottomline
Indian Creed Design with 10" barrel Extension
Sting ray II for rentals
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline
Strengths: Beasty looking
well balanced
easy to feild stip
the clip rocks
easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: leaks like no other...
Review: I got a PTX a while ago...at first I was mad...it was leaking air when I put in my bottomline, but found out it was the cup seal, 32 degree's fixed the valves on their PT Xtremes, but most shops dont have them, but you can get them for free from NPS. Check out the site or give them a call. They were very helpful. If you're into sidearms this may be the gun for you! Not too expensive...but can be a bit finicky
Conclusion: Go for it, but don't get frustrated...and make sure you have a back up marker if it does fail you...If you're new to paintball, I'd suggest borrowing someone elses before actually buying one
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 5th, 2004 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballAssasin Monday, March 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 with a revy and a quiet riot barrel and a 20 oz tank and a pt extreme with a holster and 4 clips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new bolt and maybe a new ball detent the plastic part inside the chamber
Strengths: - shoots fast
- it is actually quiet
- accurate
- cheap
- light and durable
Weaknesses: - it is a little on the big size
- the quick disconnect on the co2 cartridge is kinda hard
- only like 25 balls per co2
Conclusion: buy this gun it is great
cheap
better then the enforcer
great side arm and it is acctually quieter then my other spyder and that is not at all loud

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

warped soldier Friday, November 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pgp core zx
Marker Setup: dark angel 3a 88ci 4500psi psyhco ballistics on/off drop boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
i think they make a bottom line for constant air. it would help with leaking issue
Strengths: good accuracy for a pistol of its stature
looks good
good side arm for scenarios
Weaknesses: leaks
Review: I got mine brand new for 40 dollars at a skirmish usa event so I cant really complain about the price. Its got great range fo such a small pistol. Its compact size makes it easy to carry if you dont have a holster. I recommend getting a wrist pack for your 12 grams if you dont want to add a bottom line( you can never tell when your about to run out).
Conclusion: I would buy this pistol off of ebay or anywhere that sells it under 100 bux. Its a really good marker and i recommend it to any weekend warrior who wants to have fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kandirukd Saturday, May 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
first pistol tried
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, 14"smart parts teardrop barrel, 32 degrees pt extreme
Recommended
Upgrades:
some people will tell you to buy a bottom line and tank but i disagree after all it's only a sidearm. definately a holster and probably an idea to get some xtra clips. after market barrel looks sweet.
Strengths: good size, good weight, looks f**kin mean
Weaknesses: cups seals, velocity, ball detent
Review: i haven't had my pt for that long but thanks to reading earlier reviews i've managed to sort out most of the problems these only being small). in some of the reviews people mention that the bolts will bend and jam the gun. from the info at my disposal i know that this is not the case. basically a bad batch of bolts were made, these were slightly to big causing the bolt to catch on the gun and seize. the bolt shouldn't bend due to normal use. (simple laws of physics). the ball detent is a major problem, i've heard of double feeding but this is rediculous. easily sorted tho, just take a thin (approx 1mm) peice of plastic or rubber. remove the ball detent cover and cut the plastic/ rubber to the size of the hole. popit in replace the ball detent and cover. sorted. your gun shouldn't double feed. velocity. now i'm not sure about the us but in england a pistol can't be above 6 ft lb (approx 220fps) but some pt's can't reach that. my tip use a few washers on the spacer (pin shaped thing with the spring) to increase it or apparantly you can get a spyder spring and cut off a few coils (1.5-2) and that works. my only other tip is to get hold of a few cup seals cuz i had one go within two weeks of buying the gun. oh yeah, and look after it. clean and oil it after every use (proper oil not WD40). i hope this info may be of some help.
Conclusion: good gun if you look after it and keep the neccessary spares. but remember it's only a side arm so don't expect it to perform as well as your main marker
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phat Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pistols but I do have a Rebel LE which is designed almost identically to this gun.
Marker Setup: Rebel LE (12" Nyte Stick barrel)
PT Extreme (backup)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't recommend any accessories. I do have the upgraded silver .45 grip frame and the 9" polished barrel with porting, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend them. They're just for looks.
Strengths: Size and Weight
Weaknesses: Bolt
Velocity
Bad Upgrade Compatibility
Review: Strengths

Compact compared to most guns which results in a lighter weight. This is about the extent of the strengths that set this gun apart from the rest.

Weaknesses

Let's start with the velocity problem. The gun shoots extremely slow compared to others out there. It's normal operating range is anywhere from 180-220 fps. This is ridiculously slow compared to the standard of 290-300 fps. I called 32 Degrees and asked to talk to the designer(s), but they said the guy lived in Thailand or something. Then they said that the gun was designed to shoot that slow because it's a backup. I'm sorry, but if I run out of ammo or my main gun jams I want a backup that will perform like my main gun. So, I took matters into my own hands and tweaked the performance a little bit. I replaced the main spring with a heavier one and was going to replace the valve spring with a lighter one until I realized that the bolt was deforming. The back of the bolt (the part you pull back to cock the gun) was bending down and rubbing against the guide. It eventually wore down and got stuck. I needed a hammer to get the thing out. Apparently, too much force was applied to the bolt as it was being cocked from the CO2. In engineering there's a little thing called a safety factor to prevent this sort of thing from happening, but apparently the designer was unaware of the potential performance of the gun. The bolt had to be replaced, but in order to test my findings, I repeated the process and sure enough, it did it again. The flaw was in the design, not the manufacturing process. I ground the bolt down to reduce the weight on the aft part of the bolt, as well as, to prevent it from sticking to the guide below it. I called 32 Degrees and asked them if they had any aftermarket bolts. They said they didn't. So, I'm stuck with a slow shootin', bent bolt pistol. As far as the compatibility, the aftermarket grip should have been replaced using the same screws that came with the gun because the grip didn't come with any. But the front screw was too short and I don't have extra screws layin' around so it is being held with one screw. It works though.
Conclusion: Overall, this product will shoot somebody if you're close enough. Not as reliable a backup as I would've hoped. Also make sure the balls are blocked in the holster otherwise they'll run out the barrel.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

magicguy84 Sunday, August 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: PT Xtreme, ported barrel, 20 10 ball tubes, shotgun bet used as harrness, holster, 20 oz tank, NXe 4 + 1 (for etra tank), 4 fat boy pods, round hopper, proto switch mask, Scott mask, Empire slider shorts, proto gloves, Diablo pants
Recommended
Upgrades:
ported barrel works great
Strengths: Less paint
Small
No extra targets
Weaknesses: Gas leak (but warranty fixed it free and the quick release take forever to unscrew)
Review: If you want a challenge, then this marker is for you. I started out using a pistol because i thought it would be cool and different. you have to get use to limited paint if you are use to wasting paint or even any semi. I love the ported barrel, I works wonderfully, but if you have the quick release cap that you have to unscrew, plan on taking the ported barrel off first before changing the 12 gram. shot 240 the other day without even maxing out, so i will report ball the next time i play. enjoy.
Conclusion: Sidearm or stock players only
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twoguntoter Monday, October 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pt enforcer, sheridan pgp- enforcer is not very reliable and sheridan while retaining quality, is a pump. pistol. go for a sidearm you wont have to worry about cocking.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with ice cold barrel/terminator barrel and response trigger
1 pt xtreme(blue)
1 .68 delta (on the way)(silver)
Recommended
Upgrades:
spare mag, spare cap for the feed tube, not much else, have a feeling from what i've heard that i'll have to work on the delta, tho.
Strengths: -Very accurate
-Pretty light
-Nice looking!
-Hardly any ball breaks
-Comfortable grip
Weaknesses: Some parts are weak, and there are CO2 problems.
Review: Let me start off by saying that many reviews post co2 leaking from the gun but this can be fixed if a. you use it properly and b. you have spare parts. as i said above it is always good to have a spare mag because reloading can be a pain at first, especially since when i received it two of the screws that release the mag from the top of the gun were missing, so it made my bare fingers hurt like s***. when you load the co2 cartridge you have to be careful in making sure you do not jam it sideways into the gas pin because it can break off easily and then you will have broken a 100+ gun. making sure you line it up directly straight ahead of the pin ensures correct loading of the co2. there have been minor leak issues when the o-rings freeze up but i have only experienced this with relatively cold weather. other than that everything works great with the gun it holds a 10 ball feed tube with one ball in the gun, and shoots extremely accurate. i measured a tree from my house about 100-125 feet away and about 8 out of 10 shots hit in the general area i was aiming at.
Conclusion: I recommend it to anyone looking for a good sidearm to play with in the field when your primary runs low. It is easy to strip down and clean. The only fluke thing i had happen was when pressure built up in the gun's chamber and blew a hole clean through the cocking bolt. But like i said i could have been messing around and its most definitely a fluke. this gun will not let you down, go buy one!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media