paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Equation Design Multiple Switch Barrels / Equation Design Multiple Switch Barrels / Equation Design Multiple Switch Barrels

Equation Design Multiple Switch Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Equation Design

Buy Equation Design Multiple Switch Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Equation Design Multiple Switch Barrels
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $79

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
These barrels are machined and precision honed to a precise inside diameter. A runout of .0005 maintains compression allowing the ball to have greater muzzle velocity. Compared to other barrels that have as much as .0065 runout which may cause ball breakage and/ distort the ball. Multiple Switch Barrels have been put through rigorous testing with results that have exceeded our expectations. Testing performance showed our barrels shooting at 320 - 360 fps (feet per second) with accuracy. Please remember to turn down your air volume regulator to competition specs (280 - 300 fps). Our barrels are machined with exacting standards that are above and beyond requirements of other barrel manufacturers. This high expectation of quality is making Equation Design a leader in paintball barrel manufacturing.

1 Barrel Sets: $79.00
Barrel includes: 1 Muzzle, 1 Extension, 1 Adapter, Carrying Pouch

7 Piece Sets: $175.00
Sets Include: 3 Muzzles, 3 Extensions, 1 Adapter, Carrying Pouch
Product Availability 
The Equation Design Multiple Switch Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
shufflefield Monday, August 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Tear Drop, Stock Barrells, J&J 2 piece
Marker Setup: 2001 STO Fade with Ric2k, 68ci Bulldog, Dye Frame w/Roller Sear, etc. etc. etc.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything other than 3 month old team colours or 5 month old Nel Splats.
Strengths: Quite a bit. I can't compare it to the Freak because I have never used a freak. The Tear Drop is close though, and The Equations is much more versatile, obviously. It is a very accurate barrel, I attribute most of that to the fact that you can match your paint. I also like the fact that you have so many options for muzzle styles, barrel styles and lengths, and over all colors. It's a good looking barrel too, and for now it's nice to know that you may be the only on your field with one. Where I play EVERYONE has a freak, I like that my barrel is every bit as good as theirs, but I don't look like a paintball drone. I know looks aren't everything, but given that the the performance of the barrel is so high, the looks pushed it over the edge when I was deciding on which system I wanted. Also, the company I got the barrel from, was great. I know other people have complained about Equation themselves, but I had no trouble getting my stuff from a 3 party. I ordered on a Tuesday and had it by Saturday. Some of the parts were out of stock, but Advancedpball got on Equation and had them send me the other stuff. I had no trouble what so ever, and didn't have trouble with scratches on any of my 6 inserts.
Weaknesses: I had to have purple, My adapter and dragon match perfectly, but the muzzle is a little lighter shade. Not really a big deal though. Advanced paintball told me I could send it back to them and when they get another purple silencer in I could trade. But I don't care that much, and it's only really noticeable when your putting it all together. The only other bad thing, and this was mentioned a few posts down, is the box. The foam inserts are nice to keep all your stuff together, but it's just a cardboard box. I would have really liked a nice case to put everything in.
Conclusion: Overall I give it a 9/10. Only because of the box it comes in and the slight discoloration. I didn't feel those were important enough to drop it to 8. If they add a new case to later models it would easily be a 10. I want to stress that the 9 is NOT PERFORMANCE RELATED. I am rating the whole package overall. They bent over backwards to get everything for me. I was also accidentally shipped inserts from them as well as from equation, and when I forgot to send the extras back for over a month they were totally cool with my apology. I give them a 10 for service and support and myself a 5 for being a schmuck. =)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, SP All American, SP Freak, CP, Lapco
Marker Setup: Stock '01 cocker body w/ all custom components
68/4500 Centerflag Hyperflow tank
12V TurboRev hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS or Diablo
Strengths: Shoots just like the Freak, but fewer people have an Equation
Weaknesses: Takes a while to shoot though breaks.
Took forever to get my barrel.
Conclusion: I like the fact that the inserts have the o-rings on them, and IMHO the inserts are better made then the SP ones. During practice I forgot to bring my squeegee out onto the field and had a break in the middle part of my barrel. Since the barrel is 3 pieces I was able to unscrew the middle part and put the muzzle break on the adapter part and continue to play. It was great. When they come out with a 10" or 12" Bizerk barrel I'll probably pick up one of those too. Great barrels in general, as long as you order it way in advance of really needing it. I'd give it a 10, but it just took too long for me to get my barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Excel & Dye Aluminum barrels.
Marker Setup: 1) Spyder E99 stock , 12V revy w/ x-board & vortex impeller, CO2.
2) Spyder E99 moded, 12V revy w/ x-board & vortex impeller, CO2, HPA, Xchamber/Reg combo.
3) Tippmann C98 with RT, 12V revy w/ x-board & vortex impeller, CO2, HPA, Xchamber/Reg combo.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use RPS preminum.
Strengths: This is a Mutiple Switch barrel ( not MSpro ).
- Very accurate regardless of barrel length. I can put ball thru a 4 inch wide hole from 30~50 feet away with this barrel.
- Easily change barrel length from 6 1/2 in. to 12 in. to 18 in. and longer ...
- Doesnt break ball even with full auto. With stock barrel I have 4/5 breaks every 100 rounds.
- Cost less than $30.00 for apdater to use with different marker.
Weaknesses: No O-ring to keep barrel from getting loose but that's only a minor, a few twists could easily tighten it.
Conclusion: Great product.
Both friend & I have tried it and both like it very much..
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'similar' as in they are barrels, but not 'SIMILAR' as they are just as good: Freak Barrel (only tested), and crappy stock barrels.
Marker Setup: Primary "weapon":
Tippmann A-5 (with F4 threaded Equation ProMS barrel)
ACI Sub Zero 6 Stage Expansion Chamber
20 Oz C02 tank with 32 Degree On/Off Switch

Secondary "weapon":
ACI Griffin (with F4 Threaded Equation ProMS Barrel)
20 Oz C02 tank with 32 Degree On/Off Switch
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far, the only paintballs i have used on either of my guns are Diablo Midnights and Brass Eagle...HOWEVER i only recommend the Midnights (the BE's i used when i was low on $$$)
Strengths: This paintball barrel is excellent, it is cheap (not cheap as in "crappy" but cheap as in "inexpensive") and just as good as any other barrel I have seen and tested. It has an exceptional distance (not as far as the flatline, but its 10x more accurate IMO), and is very, very accurate.

When me and my friend (his review is labeled "Kenny") played 1v1 (we both have Equation Barrels), the games would not last long (for a 1v1 that is). Because whenever one of use would make a move, we would get shot immediately because the barrel is that accurate! He shot me on the run from about 40 yards, and i shot him from about 50 yards about 3-4 inches from his "family jewels" (i "Was not" aiming there...hehe...ok so maybe i might have aimed a little below the belt...but... =)

I also like how changeable the design is. If you want a 12 in. barrel, change the extension...14? change the extension 16? 20? 28? these can all be completed! Also if you want a 6 in. barrel for prospeedball, just use the adapter and the muzzle it doesn't have as much distance as the Adapter-extension-muzzle combo, but it is just as accurate...and besides...i only use that when playing prospeedball (for smaller barrel)

Also, if you get the ProMS system (instead of the MS System, which doesn't include the Stainless Steel Teflon Inserts), the SS Teflon Inserts are extremely durable! ive analyzed them and compared them to my friends Freak Aluminum Inserts, and they are tough. They don't chip or bend as easily as the Freak's Inserts...and they come i all different sizes (from .63-.70)

GREAT Service (besides speed at which i get the barrel)! They were VERY nice, and whenever i emailed them, i got an email if not the same day, but the next day after that. They answered all the questions to the best of their ability, and were (i cant stress this any more, because being polite is a quality that is hard to come by) very, very, polite.
Weaknesses: The only thing i can think of is the time it took to get the barrel. I didn't have enough money for the Adapter-Extension-Muzzle combo, so i first ordered the Adapter-Muzzle combo. It took me 1 and a half to get those pieces. Then 3 weeks later i ordered the extension. about 2 weeks after that i emailed them and they said that they were making my barrel this week and would ship them out next week...so it took about 4 weeks to get my extension...no biggie though IMO i got it in one piece...lol
Conclusion: In Conclusion, (gosh i feel like im righting a frickin' essay...) I would like to say this is an exceptional barrel (very above average)! Its better then the Freak System. Which my friend has, and 'dumped' it for the equation barrel, too. Its consistent, deadly accurate, and has the distance to be your choice for the perfect "sniper barrel"

I definitely recommend this barrel over any other barrel you "throw" at me!

Oh, and Solo (he's the next Review below me) The reason people probably Reported your Review and got it deleted is because it is so BS (i didn't report it, but i feel the same way) And no, it doesn't mean this barrel has a high review because all the negative reviews are deleted. Your Barrel was probably a freak (no pun intended) screw-up.

You possibly could try talking to Equation and see if they could either refund your money, or you could send it back and they definitely would either fix the blisters, or make you a new one. Trust me, when the barrel is made correctly (mine was), it is exceptional! Again i am extremely sorry that Equation has put a bad taste in you mouth...but if you Email them, im sure you could "strike a deal" with them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bront Sunday, October 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Teardrop (Only tested, but was great)
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS G3
PMI Pure Energy 48 CI 3000 PSI tank
Standard Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only used field paint
Strengths: Looks - It's completely customizable, so you can get it to look how you want. I got the 6" scope extension ported and the silencer muzzle, and it was turning a few heads at the field.
Customization - Like I said before, you can customize it to however you want. It's also easy to move it from marker to marker, just get a new breach adapter. There are 72 different barrel combinations not including bore size, color, or marker type.
Weight - It was lighter than my stock aluminum 11" barrel.
Price - I got mine new for $65 shipped, which is a pretty good deal for a barrel this customizable. For $80 more, I can later upgrade the the Pro system with the inserts.
Easy to clean - You can take it appart into 3 pieces, so each one is easy to clean.
Satisfaction Garuntee - It has a 7 day satisfaction garuntee. This is good because I'm returning it.
Weaknesses: Quality - The coloring on the anodizing was slightly discolored and not quite even. There were scratches on the inside, and the anodizing started to come off on the screws, and INSIDE THE BARREL! There were sharp edges where the porting was. The muzzle tore up my barrel plug's o-rings
Performance - There was little performance difference between my stock barrel and this one. My stock was more accurate (not much), but this one shot about 5 FPS faster.
Ball Breaks - It felt like I was shooting a Power Wagner. It got worse as the day went on, to where I would break just about every other ball I shot. Also, it does not clean out well with just a squeegee, and definately doesn't shoot well through a break.
Communication - I ordered it from blackfootpaintball.com, and they were great about talking to me about everything, but equation was almost unreachable. I got it close to 3 weeks after I ordered it, but neither blackfoot nor I knew it had been shipped yet.
Conclusion: I'm hoping I just got a bad one, as the consept is great. If they could improve quality control, and customer relations, they could go far in the paintball world. The Pro barrels may be better, I don't know, but I don't feel inclined to try them.

I'm giving it a 4 because it looks great, and is a great concept, but the lack of quality makes this barrel not worth it for me.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT stock barrel, Smart parts teardrop, all american,
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 4.0, Equation MS, 12 volt revvy w/ x-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use super swirl, from wal-mart...it depends on what size adapter you get. I got the .690 and its a perfect fit.
Strengths: Shot through a 2" hole in only 4 shots. Very accurate. Interchangeable parts, make it look however the hell you want it too, looks very sweet. fully customizable. I have the one with out inserts. just adapters Its also pretty quiet, the ported one is anyways.
Weaknesses: I dont know. the range isnt terrific, but pretty darn tootin good. Because the name "Equation" doesnt sound enough like "Smart Parts", people may ridicule you. But you can show them on the field.
Conclusion: Best barrel choice for you dollar. Manufacturer is very nice, quick shipping if item is in stock. right now he is working on the ms pro system, so shipment of that may be slow. I got mine in two days!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball bimbo Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Marker Setup: 2k2 Black/Chrome/Blue Totally Tricked Cocker
Blue to Red Fade ANS Cocker
Custom Cocker 2k1 Body
Tippmann Modded and Tricked 98 Custom
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will work,unless your Oliver and make the inserts too small.
Strengths: Well first of all,Oliver is probably some newbie w/ his Piranha and doesn't know anything about paintball.He probably made the inserts too small and it affected his accuracy.LOL,what a jacka$$.I laughed for 5 mins cause of him.Ok now on w/ the review.
-Extreme accuracy when you get the right insert(LOL).
-You can custom the look of your barrel,or even buy every muzzle and extension and have a different looking barrel everytime you play.
-The inserts are made of stainless steel and do not bend or break like the Freak's.
-At some stores I find it for $50 less than the Freak.
-Not very many people havem
Weaknesses: -Not very many people havem
-If you order directly from Equation,it may take monthes to get your barrel.If you order from one of thier dealers,than you may get it in a week.
-Some of the colors may not match your marker's.
-Well its pretty decent,but the case the come in could be harder.
-Customer Support is lousy,due to the fact they're only open around 9(that may have changed,its been awhile since I've called.
Conclusion: I love this barrel.I only had to buy one to use w/ all of my cockers and that saved me big $.I'm a back player,so I ordered a 14 inch barrel and I love it.You can even leave the extension off and have a 6" barrel that rocks if you play front.All in all if you aren't a newbie and understand paintabll (unlike Oliver) this barrel is awsome.No offense to newbies.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

|Phenom Friday, April 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Pi M3 Black Dragun, 20oz Co2,Equation MS Barrel, 12v Revy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only used Diablo blaze and Pmi Premium both worked great
Strengths: The gun is really accurate compared to the stock barrel. Delivery was NOT as bad as people made it out to be.i ordered mine and got it on the 7th day like they guaranteed none of that 2 month crap. And all my emails have been tended to so don't wet your pants about some of the 2 month shipment its not something that happens to everyone. I live in CA and it was free shipping so im happy with my order.
Weaknesses: Nothing
Conclusion: I took this barrel to sc village and it was living up to the hype. arrival of the barrel was up to 7 days with no charge.good barrel and good service in my experience.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard M98 barrels......and others
Marker Setup: M98, Full Boar Shadow, Equation Multiple Switch Barrel (14"), ACI 4 Chamber Sub Zero X-Chamber, Polished internals
Recommended
Paintballs:
My local place shoots 32 Degrees paint.....that's all I have had through it....over 1200 rounds so far
Strengths: Damn accurate. Before a round of speedball I decided to check out the accuracy. I set-up a shot from one of those huge spools to the hole in another huge spool, the distance was about 40 yards. I put it right through...three times ina row. I shot three guys in the head from 25+ yards in 1 games, seriously!

For speedball take out the extension and then you have a 6" barrel, that way you don't have to hang out of a bunker so far as to shoot.

Quiet, quieter than the stock barrel anyway, Tippys can be loud anyway.
Weaknesses: Do not use a squeegee! I only have the standard squeegee that comes with the Tippmann. It was a tight fit to get it through....and it left rubber streaks on the inside of the barrel. In the next round my aim was off pretty noticeably. I then cleaned it with a swab and the problem went away.

Porting sucks to clean unless you have a big woolly swab. (Easy Fix)

I got blue anodized and the muzzle is a different shade than the extension, weird. Not very noticeable outside in the Sun but it was under florescent lights.
Conclusion: I like the barrel. It has a very consistent and accurate aim. I'm only going to give it a 9 because it was so finicky with the smudges inside. Moreover, any barrel loses accuracy with debris inside, and yes a rubber streak is debris. This is such an easy fix though it doesn't really deserve a whole point drop but there is no 9.5. It comes polished inside and you get to customize it, free shipping too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brutus Helpakka Monday, April 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Mostly just stock barrels
Marker Setup: A red and black spyder shutter w/ a 14inch equation designs multiple switch barrel (concave black adapter, black dragon ported extention, and red silencer tip), black adjustable elbo, national paintball supply 6-stage expansion chamber, and my own artistic talent on the hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
i bought the .688 calibor so most paitballs i have found work, though as usual, never use brass eagle.
Strengths: 1) Porting reduces the noise alot
2) Gives me great range even with the porting
3) Okay accuracy for up to 50 yards (I was hitting the target i wanted with in 5 shots
4) I get to customize my colors (whoopy)
5) When I'm playing close range ball, I can exclude the extension part of the barrel and just have the adapter and tip, it gives wonder, grand, supurb accurcy but for only about 30 feet then the ball drops like a rock
Weaknesses: The only thing i can think of is that if you happen to buy some large balls, then where the pieces screw into each other, the balls may scrape up against these egdes and break, though it doesn't happen that often it can be easly fixed. What i recemend to the company is to make o-ring adapters in between the different sections of the barrels. U can do this your self by getting a normal tank o-ring and putting 1 in between the adapter and extension part of the barrel.

Another problem is if you like to run alot, then the pieces may start to come apart during play, just after each run check to see if the barrel has loosened at all, and once again this can be fixed with an o-ring adapter built into the barrel.
Conclusion: The only reason i give this a nine and not a ten is because there should be some type of o-ring in between the adapter and extension to reduce wear and to tighten the barrel better. Though overall one of the best barrels you can buy for this price under $100. Also another great thing is that if you want another legth, size, or color barrel, you can keep the same adapter and just buy a new extension or head, instead of having to buy a completely new barrel, this can save 1/3 of the cost for a new barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media