paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Droid / MACDev Droid / MACDev Droid / MACDev Droid

MACDev Droid Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Droid

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Droid
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
"Droid.

Project D is a new gun designed and manufactured by MacDev, we have named it Droid. This new gun is not a Cyborg, and it is not intended to replace the Cyborg. The Cyborg and Droid will both be available, and the Cyborg has a very bright future, with a new model set for release in 2008.

The Droid will be set in the high end bracket, with a retail price of over $US1,000, it will be an alternative option to players who want to have a high quality and high performance single tube paintball marker.



The details.

The Droid is designed to breathe new life into the single tube gun market. MacDev designers have made some very interesting innovations that are designed to increase the reliability and efficiency which is always lacking in conventional spool designs. These innovations have led to significant reliability and efficiency advantages, and patents will be granted for them soon.

The Droid features lightweight construction, extensive 3D surface milling and a small, comfortable playing profile."

Cited From: http://www.macdev.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=60&Itemid=115
Product Availability 
The MACDev Droid is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
sumorai Thursday, December 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cyborg
DM/PM
Shocker
Threshold
Marker Setup: Droid
VLocity + Gangstar
Lucky un1tec barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Doesn't need anything
Strengths: Small
Light
Fast
Reliable
Very low-pressure operation (100psi)
Only one reg to deal with
Weaknesses: Price?
Run out of paint quickly
Review: Opening up the box you've got the standard MacDev two-piece MatchStik barrel (.689), a nice barrel bag, a small jar of Militia Lube, a very nice little allen key set, a wonderfully detailed manual, and the Droid itself. So to start off with, you get a great, full package. The manual is very impressive compared to those that came with the Cyborgs. I hope this improvement is mirrored in the Cyborg release next year.

Let's get the subjective items out of the way first. The gun, in my opinion, looks amazing. I find the milling to be very elegant, clean and smooth, with the gloss red finish showing off all of the curves and lines beautifully in any light.

The trigger frame is almost exactly like that of the Cyborg. It is slightly thinner, but the grips are thicker, so it feels much the same as the Cyborg. As for the grips, they are much sturdier, but feel about the same. The small window to view the LED lets a lot of light out, so it's easy to see in any conditions. The trigger is the same as that of the 07 Cyborg (later versions) which is itself a slightly more comfortable version of the 06 Cyborg trigger.

The last subjective item is the spacing between the reg and the trigger guard. Some hate it, some like it. I find it immensely comfortable. It's tiny like a Mini, but not too small (which I think the Mini is). To me, the Droid is "just right" size- and comfort-wise.

Onto the objective items, I'll start with the little things. First, the new on/off ASA. It is small, it is light, it is very smooth and easy to use. I don't know why, but mine only came with one grub screw holding it on. However, mine was a display model at Cup, so it's totally understandable if something like that was overlooked. It's no big deal, actually, as the one grub screw holds it on quite sturdily.

Next, the feedneck. MAJOR improvement over the old style. I honestly kinda like the taller feedneck, but I've had no problems with this one. The clamp works easily and slides around the diameter of the feedneck so you can position it anywhere you want. I did have a little trouble clamping down on a hopper with a very thin feedneck, but I screwed the adjuster in all the way and it held it. My feedneck was not loctited in, so it unscrewed when I spun a clamped-in hopper around. A little loctite fixed that, though. All-in-all, it's a great improvement over the old-style Cyborg feedneck. If it's too short for you, you can change it out with any MacDev / AKA threaded feedneck.

The MatchStik barrel is top-notch as always. I did notice that using a Dye Ultralight barrel on it was a tad quieter, but I like the MatchStik better for accuracy and self-cleaning. If you don't think the MatchStik is a good barrel, please click here and read some research on paintball gun barrels.

Efficiency is great. With reballs, shooting at 220fps, you can shoot over a case on a 68/45. With regular paint, shooting 290fps, I was getting around 1600-1700 shots from a 68/45. This is based on me shooting ~800 shots using 2300psi in a 68/45.

Technical aspects: Adjusting the reg is easy. There's a handy little sticker on it telling you which way to adjust it. I haven't had to adjust the trigger at all, but you can if you'd like. Again, it's the same as a Cyborg. The stock board is the same as a 2007 Cyborg also, with the Militia code on it. It is much like a Tadao board in terms of programming: very easy with a multi-colored LED. All of the details are in the included manual. I did find that mine was too bouncy and I had to adjust the debounce up from 10 to 15, and the AMB up to 5 to get it to be legal for tournament play.

The gun shoots very smoothly. It feels a lot like a Cyborg. I held one in each hand and shot each and the only thing I noticed was a difference in the sound. I've had people compare my Borg to a DM before, and I'd have to agree that the Droid shoots much like a DM. I haven't shot a shocker in a while, so I don't know how it compares. Oh, and it's fast.

It is consistent over a chrono. Even +/- 3 and sometimes +/- 5 over the chrono with reballs, and usually +/- 3 with paint (depends on the paint, obviously). Accuracy, again, depends on the paint.



Maintenance is an issue I'm not sure of yet. I played with the internals a few times trying to figure out how it works and to take pictures for people curious about the gun. As such, I believe I caused a small leak at one point, but it's never been a problem. It comes and goes. Usually if I break a ball (it's happened a couple of times using cheap paint) it'll get a small leak, but it seals itself after a while, it seems.

A lot of people object to, or are worried by, the number of o-rings in the Droid Drive Train. In my experience so far, it has not been an issue. Taking the Drive Train out and replacing it in the marker, I have not nicked any external orings on the back cap threads at all. There are only a couple of dynamic orings inside the gun (maybe 4 or 5) and only one you need to be concerned about at all. However, I would feel better with an o-ring kit on-hand. Hopefully they'll include one with the Droid at some point.

I think it's a bit early in the game to come to a final conclusion, but so far, I love it. All of my other guns (except my Viking) are going away and I'll have just those two. This gun shoots great and, for me, is extremely comfortable to use. I'll probably post more here after I've had a chance to put it through its paces in a tournament (hopefully this weekend). Until then, feel free to post any questions and I'll answer as best I can.

Much thanks to loki for bringing it back from Cup for me, to Kai for making sure I get my gloss red, and to James & MacDev for making a great new paintball marker.



Please see the Droid FAQ page for more information, pictures, videos, where to buy, etc.

Update 11/11/07: Using the Droid in the cold (30-40 degrees) is fine, but you'll probably want to use a larger bore size than the included .689. I had a lot of barrel breaks with it. (shooting polar ice) I was getting around 1400-1500 shots per tank efficiency-wise in the cold weather, shooting 300fps.

Update 11/17/07: Played some woodsball today I had my 68/45 filled to 4K today, went out and shot a hopper and 4 pods (760 balls) @ 280fps and used 2000psi from the tank. By those numbers, that's 1710 shots per tank. Also, it didn't chop once. But I had some barrel breaks again. I need to get a .696, heh.

Update 12/4/07: I had problems with my Droid at Commander's Cup. Juan (MD USA), Kai (ranjerzproshop) & Fernando (Nurv) all helped out. MD USA replaced my bolt and valve with new updated parts. Also, Fernando helped me figure out a problem I've had with it on and off. If your Droid is chopping paint, check your loader to see if you can lower its force settings so that it doesn't put too much tension on the stack. This weakens the balls so when they hit the breech or are fired, they explode in the gun.

Update 12/6/07: Shot a case with it playing last night. Not a single break. Shot accurately all night. I love it!
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any serious tournament paintball player, or anyone who wants a highly reliable and high-performing spool valve marker.

If you don't have the money for it, grab a Quest or Threshold instead.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

moodydoody Friday, December 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Guns I have owned:
Nexus Darktrooper Ego, Alias Intimidator, E2'ed Black Magic 06 Autococker, Dye DM4, Invert Mini, Lasoya Promaster, Electro-spyder, Model 98 Custom, Tacamo Type 68, Brass Eagle Talon, Blue Macdev Droid

Guns I have shot
You name it, in the 10 years I have been playing I have probably shot it.
Marker Setup: Blue Macdev Droid, Halo B, Crosfire 68/45

soon to come, SPD grips and a new trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Slim Grips like SPD or Dark Seoul. A new triggers would be nice.
Strengths: Light, Fast, very low kick, great stock barrel, consistent, Very good looking.
Weaknesses: trigger, grips, lack of O-ring kit
Review: Upon receipt of my Droid the first thing I noticed was that it was 10x prettier in person than in pictures. The blue anodizing is almost flawless (eye covers are a slightly different color) and the milling is some of the sexiest I have seen. You can't see how nice the dark blue color and the subtle intricacies of the milling are except in person.

Next thing I did was to read through the manual, front to back, very helpful and one of the best manuals I have seen for any paintball gun. However, there were a few things that would have been nice, mainly a list of the o-ring sizes on the power train diagram. A particularly nice section is the programming section. Very detailed and well put together.

After this I put my tank on and my hopper and noticed how tight of a setup it was. Very good low profile set up with my Halo. Twisted the ASA on and here is where I ran into problems. Gun gassed up, and immediately I heard a leak inside the gun. I fired a few times with the eyes off and the leak would go away for a second and return.

So I moved to the next step, disassembly. Unscrewed the top screw, back cap, and then I tried to get the train out and ran into difficulties, First I tried to put my finger down the feedneck and push it out, and it wouldn't budge. So I tried what the manual said and put an allen key in the slots in the back, tried again and it did not move. I was hesitant to put to much force into it because I did not want to damage it. Next I ran and grabbed a battle-swab and put it down the front and pushed it out, which proved to need a little elbow grease to get it started and was then very easy.

Pulled the train out, unscrewed its pieces, and quickly found the broken oring on the bolt, which would be an easy fix, if Macdev had included some spare o-rings. This would also not have been too bad if I had the right size oring around but I do not. So I will be going up to the field tomorrow and I will put it together instead of play. Hopefully this will not take to log as I already have it in pieces and all I need to do is throw on an oring and lube the gun, but this is still going to be frustrating when other people are playing and I am fixing an oring. Hopefully this will not be something I have to get used to.

Since I can't shoot it right now I will talk about its feel while holding and pretending I am shooting it. The first thing I did was cut the grips to make them into panels. I am used to fat grips but it doesn't mean I like them to much. After cutting them they were much more comfortable but I think I will be getting some plexi-glass grips like SPD or Dark Seoul. I think this will help with the grip problem a lot.

Trigger, well, this has been hit on a bunch I am sure, but it is not the best I have felt. It is far from the worst however. It has some side-to-side play but not too much. The return is all right but I would have preferred magnetic return. My personal preference is scythe triggers so I have the feeling that I will be getting a new trigger fairly soon. Overall, for a $1000+ gun I would expect a trigger with no side-to-side play, the rest is all personal preference.

The gun is light, very light. It feels significantly lighter than my mini because of how well balanced it is. I am tall and have big hands and found the mini to small for my taste, it was light but unbalanced and to small for me to be comfortable. The Droid is absolutely perfect, light, balanced, and it just feels right in my hands. I can't wait to get out and shoot it. And when my fiancé held it she said it felt good to her as well. And she has small hands and loves her mini. So far from the people I have had hold it all were very impressed and it seems to be a good fit for most players. Some didn't like the front regulator position because it further out than on some guns but personally I love it.

A complaint I have heard mentioned but do not have personal experience with is that there is no gauge to see what the operating pressure is but for me that does not really matter. I know people say that they will be able to fine tune their setups better with one but I do not think I will ever be that concerned. As long as it shoots well and consistently I do not think it matters that much to me. This may change in the future as I get more experienced with the droid but as of now I do not find it to be a big deal.

The feedneck is amazing, very low profile, grabs tightly, I have tested a few of the hoppers I have found and it grabs them all very well. It is easily equal to any other feedneck on the market in my opinion.

The on/off switch is nice in my opinion. I have not had any accidental turn ons but I do see a slight potential for it. Nothing to much though as it is well recessed into the frame. I prefer the easy switch to on and switch to off, no messing with a membrane pad or button.

I have not had the chance to shoot it yet and I will post up how I feel it shoots when I get back later. I will also include a summary at that time.

Until then, keep on shootin….


[UPDATE 10 January, 2008]
Well, I have been able to play with it for a few weeks now and every time I go out I come back ever happier. Maintenance is a breeze compared to most spoolers. Poppets will always be a little easier but as far as it goes the maintenance is not bad at all. One small note is that the Gladiator seems to need a little more maintenance then other regs. Nothing major, but I found to keep the best consistency I needed to clean it out a little more regularly then some of the others I have used.

Accuracy of the stock barrel is top notch and out of the box I was getting +/-5fps which is only getting better with time. There is less kick in this gun than any other I have ever shot, it is there but it is minute. The first shot is a little less smooth than some of the other spoolers I have shot butt the gun is smoother in rapid fire then . These combine for amazing accuracy.

This gun is fast, it has no trouble and fires as fast as you would ever need. You will not be able to beat poppets in a pure speed contest but honestly you will never need to fire that fast in a game.

I'm getting around 1600-1700 shots off a 68/45 as of right now.

While not the lightest set up I have used (that award would go to one of the stock class pumps I have used lol) it is still very light and nothing to complain about.

It is one of the most comfortable set ups I have ever used. With the space between the reg and the frame the gun feels “snappier” and is very easy to snap shoot with. Again I have to say I am not a fan of the trigger. It feels very cheap compared to many other stock triggers from other guns I have used. It is going to be replaced very soon.

When right up on the gun you do not realize how quiet it is. I knew it was quiet but when I let my bro use it for a game and I had about 15 feet between us I realized how quiet it was. This does not matter to everyone but honestly, for spending that much on a gun why not get every advantage you can and the opponents having a harder time finding you because of a quiet gun even for a split second is an advantage.

The very last game the last time I used it I started to have shootdown and first shot drop off problems like the gun was running out of air but I think it is probably the battery or something else easy to fix. I have read that it might be a problem with the bolt or valve but I have not had the time to take the gun apart and see exactly what is wrong. Even if it is one of the few faulty bolt/valves that were sent out I have read that Macdev is very helpful in getting the problems resolved. The first step will be simply replacing the battery, if that does not take care of the problem I will strip the gun and clean/relube everything. If that doesn’t help I will be placing a call to Macdev to see what they think I should do.

Over all, there are a very few flaws in my opinion but this is hands down the nicest gun I have ever owned and I have owned my fair share of guns since I started in ’98.

Conclusion: Seems nice but there are a few things that could be improved.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 11th, 2008 at 2:18 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

misfit0022 Saturday, October 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker NXT, DM6, DM7, Alot of high ends, NONE COMPARE!!!
Marker Setup: Stock Droid, VL JR w/ Virtue, 45/45 Stako.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are needed, you can get your board flashed by Nox if you like but I feel like the stock board is perfect.
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: The droid is an amazing gun, we had recently gotten sponsored by MacDev and I was sad that I had to sell my Ego, but man this was worth it. First off the gun got better consistancy unbroken in than my Ego, and it shot with ABSOLUTELY no kick (And I have used DM7's that we had tuned at Boston NPPL), this gun is amazing. It is as light as an ego7 and is quieter than a DM, it runs at 100PSI and requires no LPR (DM8 runs at 140 psi) and it has the efficency of a viking, it comes stock with lazer eyes that glow red to show you if there is something blocking them, also the board is amazing, you can set everything from loader delay to uncapped full auto. This gun is perfect and its cheaper than about every high end at a wallet saving $1100!
Conclusion: This gun gets a 10/10, its cheaper than all other high ends and its MacDev quality, this gun could not be more perfect, I don't see anything better coming out in the future....well maybe a new borg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VonOrt Tuesday, March 11th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators, DM's, Quest, Mini, Over 20 yrs of exp in the game I've shot them all
Marker Setup: Mac Dev Droid out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bob Long Marq
Strengths: Light wieght
not bad looking
Weaknesses: See the review
Review: This is my review of the Mac Dev Droid. To say I'm sadly disappointed in this marker would be an understatement. For the price of this gun and supposedly being a high end marker it came up way short of my expectations.


The bad:

1) The biggest issue I had with this marker was it would not shoot solid paint. Something that you would expect from a $1000 marker. The gun was not chopping paint. It was breaking paint about 1" down the barrel. I shot 7 different brands of paint. Including winter shell paint that dropped from 6' and bounced off of concrete. This paint was all fresh and purchased from my local pro shop. All of the tested paint shot fine through my Intimidator, Mini, and Blazer. I also tried at least 4 different barrels on this gun to no avail. Thinking it might be a barrel issue, I put the Mac Dev barrel on my Intimidator and had zero problems. I was shooting semin uncapped with a brand new Reloader B. The hopper was set for the highest speed but that did nothing for the issue. I also tried to slow the hopper down thinking it was too much pressure on the paint. This did not help. The same hopper was used on the highest speed on the Intimidator and the Mini with no issues.

2) Now some will say I'm being nit picky at this point. But the finish on the gun was not that great. You can see brush marks through the anno. Sorry if your trying to market this as a high end marker and charge high end price for it, everything should be perfect. I have seen better anodizing and polishing on mid range guns like PM7's.

3) The screw in the top of the gun that holds the drive train in place looks cheap and Spyderish. This is something I would expect on a $200 gun, not a $1000 gun. At least on the Mini they use the grip frame screw to accomplish the same thing. (and a mini is only $325)

4) Effeciency was no where near the advertised numbers. Using a 45/4500 tank witha a good 4000 psi fill, I was lucky to get around 800 shots. I do not call that effeceint. With the same tank and fill I can nearly get 2000 rounds through my Intimidator.

5) Shoot ability was so so. I'm not one that will say a marker has "recoil", as I reserve that for real firearms. But this marker definetly has a muzzle climb to it. Making it harder to keep on target when attempting to fire long strings. Of course firing long strings was usally only about 10 to 20 balls before it would start breaking paint.

Conclusion: Overall I think this gun is way overpriced, and just not that good. I have shot many mid level guns that out perform this marker in pretty much every category. And they cost significantly less money. Overall I would give this gun a 1 out of 10. And personally I don't think I will ever shoot a Mac Dev product again. I have no faith in the product or the company. This marker was a total waste of money.

edit*
Just received information from the person I sold this gun to. He had the new bolt and new software installed from NOX. He says he used the gun over the weekend with no problems. I'm glad its working for someone. Does it change my view of the gun, not really. But I will say at least MD stepped up and started making a new bolt. Was that the issue I have no idea.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 at 2:36 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

TheShifty_ Friday, December 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most other high ends.
Marker Setup: Macdev Droid
Dynasty Shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gold bolt.
Macdev's inline filter debuting on Rx Cyborg.
Strengths: Nice trigger.
Light.
Everything is good all-round.
Weaknesses: Stock bolts break frequently.
Hard on paint.
Frame could be more comfortable.
Review: I've shot the Droid just about every week for a year now. It's a pretty good gun.

The trigger, it feels cheap and clunky, but it's suprisingly easy to shoot fast. The gun is extremely light, definitely the lightest spoolie (haven't held a Geo yet). Overall, its real good, I just found it didn't really excel at anything. For example, it's a lot smoother than any poppet-valve, but not as smooth as a DM or Shocker. It's quiet and efficient -- I probably get 1500-1600 shots off a 68/45. Other than that, it's just a fairly solid all-rounder.

The stock black bolt that comes with the Droid is prone to snapping, which causes the gun to just make a small sputter but not shoot any paint. I had to replace mine after six months of use because of this; some of my teammates had less luck going through four or five bolts throughout the year, although others didn't snap even one. For this reason, it's definitely worth getting Macdev's gold bolt upgrade for this gun as it's supposed to be stronger.

I found the Droid to be relatively hard on paint, definitely harder than a Shocker. In winter it was a nightmare, and the problem was still prevalent in summer although not as bad.

Finally... the frame is thick and unshapley. Macdev probably could have put more effort into it. I think it's exactly the same as the 06 Cyborg frame?
Conclusion: It's definitely competitive as a high end gun, although it does have flaws.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jhorgan Friday, October 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DMs, PMs, Shockers, Quests
Marker Setup: Droid
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Trigger if you don't like stock
Goldilocks Bolt but it's not needed
Strengths: Made by MacDev, effecient, quiet, fast, light, easy to use
Weaknesses: None
Review: First Impressions:
The anno and milling are almost completely flawless. There are no variations in color on any parts of the marker. One of the first things I noticed about the Droid is how light it feels even with a tank and hopper on it. It is very well balanced and is easy to manuver with; it does not feel clumsy at all. The space between the reg and trigger frame is nice as well. It gives a more stable platform while running and gunning. Helps you feel like you are in control of the marker. All of the stock parts on the Droid are of the highest quality and there is no need to upgrade any of them to make it compete. The ASA is one of the best I've ever seen, hands down.

Software and Operation:
The Droid comes stock with the latest MacDev Militia software. It has 13 modes of fire and is fully adjustable to the users liking; although there is very little need to chage any of the stock settings because the folks at MacDev set up the Droids for maximum performance out of the box. The interface is very user friendly. Although there are aftermarker boards available for the Droid the stock board is more than adequate for today's game.
The Droid is the most air effecient spool valve marker I've ever used. After it was broken in I have been getting 1800+ shots off of a cold filled 68/4500. I'm pretty sure there isn't another spool valve gun out there that can honestly claim that.
The Gladiator regulator is very consistent. With a good paint to barrel match I get no more than +/-2 and that's on a bad day.

On The Field:
Out of the box the Droid shot smooth as butter with very low sound signature and zero kick. The stock trigger does have some side to side play on it but it is very little. Shooting a steady rope of paint in semi-auto takes very little effort. The Droid has great shot-to-shot consistency at high rates of fire.

After Playing:
Maintenance on the Droid is a little more involved compared to poppit-valve markers but really no more than on most other spool valve guns. After a normal day of play (i.e. routine maintenance) take about 5 minutes to take out the drivetrain and wipe down and relube a few orings. Although there are approximately 17+ orings on the drivetrain only 4 or 5 actually have any friction applied to them when the marker is fired. So maintenance really isn't all that bad.
Conclusion: MacDev has outdone themselves with the Droid. They came out with their first spool valve marker ever and it is just about perfect. It is everything any serious player is looking for in a marker. There truly isn't any other spoolie on the market I'd rather shoot than the Droid.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 31st, 2008 at 9:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nurg1234 Friday, April 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2006 NXT shocker, DM5, DM7
Marker Setup: E-tek with Hardshell bolt, Tadao M7 board, 06 Ego roller trigger, Warped Sportz TI Rammer, Kila Detants, 68/5000 Scion adjustable, Velocity with big button mod.

2008 MacDev Droid, Dye Ultralight barrell, Pure energy 68/4500, Empire Magna Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao board that is coming out for the Oled, better grips and more matchstick barrell backs or another Barrell of your preference.
Strengths: It is light and Long.
Weaknesses: Grips
Review: I go this marker shot like 10 balls out of it and it choaked on me. (extreme bolt stick) I had to take the thing apart disassemble the whole spool and lube it all again. After that it was shootign fine and then started choking on me again. So I stripped the gun entirely (thank gawd for being a gun tech) right down to the noid and found a seal in it out of place and once I got it in place. the gun started cycling ok. so I went to the local field to test it out and found out the thing was set way too high on the reg (first shot 480 FPS second shot 465 fps) so I cranked it down to normal (I chrony in at like 270 usually) once I did that the gun choaked again. I was really confused but then again it was shooting really high so I tore it apart again and then lubed it again as it seemed the high pressure of shooting at like 480 cleaned off most of the lube I put on the spool valve. once i relubed it it seemed to work fin and I had no issues from there. I ran a few tanks of air through it after that and everything was fine.

As for shooting it and the balance of the gun I was quite impressed I was thinking that i might retire my Etek which is a machine gun. The gun itself with a 45/45 on it felt super light (like a mini almost but better balanced and longer.) I will note one thing though this gun is the quietest I have ever had the pleasure of shooting. From there I was in a tourney where the BPS was limits to 15 or less by using slower hoppers. older sound activated hoppers will not function right with this loader because it can be too quiet to set off the sensor. This was the case with a Halo TSA backman I switched up to a team mates revy and all was good again.

A few notes of mention from when I had to strip the gun completely is that the gun is very simple to maintain once you get used to how the spool pulls out and goes back in. I am not mentioning the rest of the gun for the way it is built the seals see little to no wear at all so there should almost be no reason to ever pull those areas apart.

The only thing I would recommend to anyone that buys one of these new off of the shelf is to go to youtube and watch the video on how to assemble the cylinder as the instructions are good but are not 100% clear on it. Then strip the cylinder and relube it all and then put it back together then chrony it to make sure it is not at something aburd like mine was after that I'd run a few tanks of air through it to break in the reg a little.

If you do get one I would also recommend to look at the Tadao board coming out for it and I heard rumours of a virtue board coming out for it. The reason I mention the tadao one is that it coes with an OLED display screen, new grip pannels, and it comes with a RF transmitter to make it compatible with newer loaders that are setup with shot by shot activation and it also gets rid of the battery being on a cable and it puts in an actual clip for the 9 volt.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun literally. I had a rough start to mine but after assembling it 4-5 times it is really easy to work on and understand
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

62RHLI Tuesday, December 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
- DM6
- NXT/SFT Shockers
- SP 09 Impulse
Marker Setup: Main:
Grey Rotor
Ego 08
70/45

Backup:
Upped Reloader B
Droid
68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
XXX Derlin Bolt
VVP Trigger / Violent Products Trigger
Gold Bolt (Not Necessary)
Strengths: Accuracy
Efficiency
Quality
Commonwealth Manufactured (Aussie)
Weaknesses: Picky with Lube
Too Many Orings
Easy to Over Pressurize
Attention To Detail kinda gun
Review: Cosmetics:
I'm not one for the whole "It has to look good to shoot good" or "I gotta get my paintball swagga on, lookin' good for the ladies" kinda pb fashion style but this gun delivers on sleek profile and beautiful craftsmanship. Macdev did a excellent job in the design of this gun cosmetically.

Weight/Physical:
The gun is light compared to most DM's and i'd say is a competitor with any Eclipse series marker for lightness. It ISNT as light as a Geo, but she's darned close with a rotor and PE 68/45. The matchstik barrel that comes stock IS a wee bit heavy in weight, although when you pick up that barrel you can feel its made well. The other point made with the droid is that you can tell is been machined well. All of the gun is solid in construction with nothing that could possibly be half-done. No body screwed the pooch with the structural integrity of this gun.

In Box:
Manual is superb! Up there with Eclipse manuals!
Oring kit is great! Eyes are STOCK laser! Barrel sock is kinda cheap but who cares about a sock... and the allen key and Milita lube is perfect. i'll get back on the lube in a bit.

Airing it up:
Okay, first shots on the chrono was within 13+/-. I was VERY impressed with how ball on ball it was within 50 feet. I began to giggle like a little girl when I shot down tape with it on semi and it shot lazers. it was nuts. I was absolutely beside myself.

Consistency/Shooting:
The gun is extremely consistent with its accuracy and in air efficiency. I am able to shoot this gun with about 1500-1750 indoors. It's extremely low pressure and one can tell from how GENTLE THIS GUN IS ON PAINT. Using JT fluid, this gun was able to shoot ridiculously brittle paint, EVEN OUTDOORS IN -5 Degree Celsius WEATHER. Other reviews may say otherwise, but I had my Droid shooting in FRIGID weather conditions shooting ridiculously brittle paint. I WAS BLOWN AWAY. For this reason, it's a keeper.
Have had some bolt stick in winter conditions, but could have been because of the thicker lube being used. BATTERY USE ON THIS GUN IS UNBELIEVABLE TOO! Gone through about 7-9 cases without the low battery indicator even coming on. Noticeable kick but LESS than a shocker or DM. Not like it matters unless you're getting barrel creep up like I've seen on some over pressurized Ego's from people who don't know how to equalize their LPR's but its a comfy gun to shoot!

Barrel:
The matchstik barrel is excellent for a stock barrel and is manufactured with extreme quality control. HARD anno so not much scratching can be done to this gun OR barrel.

ASA:
Awesome stock ASA, just like the Angel A1!

Board:
Board LED is very very bright. Easy to see on the field and programing is easy with the manual.

Trigger:
Stock trigger is fine but i prefer the sling style from Violent Products. The trigger makes a huge difference with this gun.

Feedneck:
Great feedneck with thumb wheel adjuster.


PROBLEMS:
Alright, I hate to say this, but there is a couple points I wanna make with the droid.
1.) You gotta use a DM or slick lube that's not SLEEK or Dow 33. YOU CAN, but it's not ideal for the droid. The thickness of this lube can cause bolt stick on the droid and cause it to start having some over pressure sticking or other types of pressure distribution. Also do NOT OVER LUBE THIS GUN. It can actually cause your bolt to start to stick if you use sleek and you can begin to blow some orings. Easy fixes though. Replacing orings is a breeze. Using the milita lube or hatersauce works great for this marker. Its gotta be a finer lube because of the small little increments of adjustment this marker needs. USE GOOD LUBE! You can forsure use sleek, but its not ideal.

2.) Orings: You gotta make sure you have some. Within a week I have blown 3 orings playing MXL, CXBL, and it's been a small pain. However, with that said, they were all easy fixes. I blew a bolt tip oring and the thing kept shooting and I didn't even know it. Talk about a "Built like a brick shi- house" marker. The thing is unstoppable! Definitely need to have orings with you though for this marker if you over pressurize or goof up. As long as you pay attention and know how to equalize your reg to the right level and don't over pressurize, you're A-Okay. The noid is extremely powerful on the droid aswell. It can handle atleast over what the gladiator reg can dish out being such a low pressure gun, the noid isn't doing half the work it should be.

3.) Grips: Stock grips could be better. They've got some ring and little finger play with the rubber to the grip. There's a gap between how rigid the rubber is and the frame itself. NO BIG DEAL THOUGH!
Conclusion: Macdev, how do you guys keep making amazing guns?

I am blown away with the performance of this marker. I mean it all checks out! If there is a problem with this gun, it's because YOU'VE screwed up. This is a craftsman's gun for sure and it demands respect by those who shoulder it. Just beware of the love and care you need to apply to this marker, as all markers, and one should be able to implement this marker in the deadliest of paintball matches.

It's efficient, it's a softy on paint. It's quiet and deadly accurate with grouping that could shoot grapes off a tree. It's light as a feather and build like a rock. This marker just needs some lovin' with attention to detail. That's it.

Keep it classy boys,
- 62

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 22nd, 2009 at 4:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lvas Wednesday, October 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm6, dm7, bob long closer (all single tubes), also have owned G7, Ego 05, ego 06, cyborg 06, shocker and too many more to list
Marker Setup: stock - really have not found a need for any accessoires and I don't think they make any yet anyway
Recommended
Upgrades:
board has all the modes - matchstick barrels are some of the best - feedneck is great. only thing I would change is the grips - stock ones just don't fit snug.
Strengths: Everything - its dang near perfect out the box
Weaknesses: well, it cost 1100 - so I guess that could be a weakness
Review: got my droid yesterday. have only dry fired it to date - but since I've been paintballing 10 years now and have owned everytype and brand in existence - I can tell you just from dry firing that this is one sweet marker. very quite, its light, quick on snap shooting very effienct on air. only thing yet to do is confirm the consitency over the chonro and really see how it shoots in a game situation. finish on the marker is great and the quaility is what one would expect from Macdev. milling is a tad plane, but hey it really all about how the marker works on the field for me. @@@ played with it for a weekend@@@ not to impressed yet. bolt started creepying into the breach - started leaking down the barrel. replaced an O ring when I got home and looking good now - but I havent been out with it since (deer season). will shoot it again tomorrow. If it acts up again - will sell it. I don't like spend over a grand on a top of the line marker that has issues.
Conclusion: so far 9 out of 10 until I actually get it out on the field. but I expect it to up to a 10 once I confirm a few things with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 17th, 2007 at 2:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kenlim80 Thursday, December 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
MACDEV CYBORG 07(GREAT MARKER), PROTO PMR, Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: MACDEV DRIOD, VL VILOCITY SELECTED FORCE, CROSS FIRE 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
May be grips! everything is perfect out from the box
Strengths: Light, Accurate, Fast & efficient (although less efficient then Cyborg )
Weaknesses: So far dont have any weakness!
Review: I have my cyborg 07 in summer and i think this is the best marker in market.(i have tried various marker before i bought my cyborg 07 for e.g. ego 7, angel, DM7,PM6 and others)
when driod came out , my fen have told me driod is perfect and must buy marker ! so i bought it from the locate store. The box macdev is as usual small corrugated carton Csmaller than cyborg) however macdev include set of allen key , small bottel of grease, barrel shock( this all dont include in the boc of cyborg 07) ! the intruction manual is wonderful! so i tried it in locate field! WOOO! this gun rock ! it is so accurate, fast and quiet compared to others marker ! and one things it is light and efficient compared to my fren DM8 ! we have the same gas and pods to try it ! my driod can still shot extra 1 pods compared to his DM8!
Conclusion: This marker is perfect! for any1 look for new high end marker! driod is your choice!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media