paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition

Proto PMR Special Edition Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Special Edition

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Special Edition
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PMR SPECIAL EDITION
14'' 2PC BARREL
ALLOY EYEPLATE
ALLOY LOGO
BOLT CAP
ALLOY FEEDNECK W/KNOB
ALLOY ASA
EDGE TRIGGER GUARD
EDGE TRIGGER
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Special Edition is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Mr.K Saturday, December 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Planet Eclipse ETEK 1
Proto '07 Matrix Rail Special Edition
Proto '08 SLG
WGP '05 SuperStock Select Fire
WGP '03 w/ AKA Lightning bolt and ANS pneus
WGP '98 Autococker w/ CCM premium pump and auto trigger kit
Psycho Ballistics Lightning w/ WGP pump kit (sold)
Ariakon ACP 2.0
Tippmann ProLite
Kingman Spyder Elite (my first marker)
Tippmann A-5 w/ Response Trigger (sold)
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Response Trigger (sold)
ACI Maverick pump (sold)
BT Custom-built Assault w/ E-Trigger (sold)
Marker Setup: Proto '07 Matrix Rail Special Edition
Tadao Technologies Musashi 7 board
New Designz '07 Ultra Lite On/Off
Dye UL 2-piece barrel
View Loader VLocity Jr. w/ Gangstar v2 chip
DXS 48/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA
Barrel kit (or additional backs) if you tend to shoot more than one size of paint
Strengths: Shoots ropes out of the box
Very capable of keeping up with high-end markers
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I haven't experienced any of the negative issues or problems that the other reviews have mentioned...

No on going problems with air leaks. IMHO, that is more of an issue with frequency (or lack) of marker maintenance. I am meticulous about cleaning my marker after each day of play, so I have not had any issues.

The PMR SE shoots ropes out of the box. As far as performance is concerned, there is really no need for additional upgrades.

The stock board is fine -- speed is not a concern, it is more of an operator issue. That being said, I have a Tadao Technologies Musashi 7 installed in mine (I also have the same board installed in two additional markers that I own,) but even with the stock board, I was able to keep up, against players using higher-end markers.

If you feel like you are outgrowing the PMR SE or want additional programming features, you can always upgrade to a Dye Ultralite Frame or a new board. The Dye Ultralite Frame and included Sticky3 grips is great, but it is not any lighter than the stock composite frame. If you are concerned about weight, consider a new board like Tadao Technologies or Virtue instead.
Conclusion: The PMR is a great entry to mid level tourney marker. It is perfect for the player who wants performance but not a price tag of $500+. It is definitely worth spending the additional money for the PMR SE over the standard model. The factory upgrades alone are worth over $100.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 13th, 2008 at 2:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mclovinater Tuesday, April 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dmc
dm8
dm7
dm6
pm8
pm7
ion
shoker
EOS
plain old pmr
many spyders
ego8
egoSL's
etek1 and 2
Marker Setup: PMR speciel edition W/ virtue eyes+board
cp sling trigger
hybrid grips
dye UL
HALO V35 W/ iron cross rip
Pure Energy 4500/68
Recommended
Upgrades:
I like the cp triggers
Strengths: Light
Fast
Cheeper..
Quiet
Looks hella sick
Shoots faster than most $1000 guns
Weaknesses: You might get a couple leaks
(see review)


Review: The PMR is an amazing gun that i will never have regrets about. Its lighter than an ion and as fast as an ego! Some of the rails get these air leaks in the bolts but of course what guns dont have some kinks.If you are looking for a afordable high-end eletric gun
dont think twice about this one
Conclusion: Its a great gun!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bang*Bang** Friday, September 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Spyders
Timmy's
Tippmann's
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail Special Edition (Camo)
CP on/off asa
Invert Halo TOO Loader
Grillz Mask, cause that totally applies to this review... (kidding)
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off asa - personal pref
Trigger/trigger frame - personal pref
Strengths: Highly under rated
So simple, even I could maintain it
14" dye barrel
Sweet Camo
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Alright,

To be Frank and upfront, I am relatively new to the sport. But I have taken some time with this marker, and regardless, one should take any of these reviews with a grain of salt.

Hands down, I have been really surprise with the performance of this marker. My first day out speedballing was against some more experienced players with Ego's, DM7's, Timmy's (Intimidators). And I was really surprised that I had no problem keeping up with the guys slinging Ego's and DM7's, with Rotor loaders, etc. This marker keeps up great!

I haven't had any breaks with this marker/loader. So when I experienced a ball break in my pod pack, I figured what the heck, and put it through the gun to see what it was like.

Cleaning was relatively easy, as this marker is a "bolt out the back" just like the current Ion Xe. Not exactly something to do at the field, but simple enough to do, even for a first timer.

Seems some of the other reviews think it's a gas hog. I wouldn't deny it, but that gets into the endless "Poppit vs. Spool valve" gun design debate. Spool valves tend to use more air as a trade off for a softer touch on the paint. This is a spool valve gun after all, but I don't find it's air usage difficult to deal with. I usually get 3 or so games worth out of a tiny 48ci 3000psi rental "steely" High Pressure Air (HPA) tank.

I find it very light, compact, and quiet. It's fun to sneak up on people and make them surrender. Probably one of my favorite moves on the woods ball field.

As it is a single regulator marker, I have been cautious with the velocity screw in the bottom of the regulator. I've been told that if you loosen the screw too much, there is a risk of blowing the solenoid; an expensive endeavor. So I always chronograph the marker as soon as I gas it up at the field.

If there's one thing impressive about this marker, it's the consistent velocity. Considering I'm shooting the cheapest paint I can get my hands on, I tend to find this gun enjoys sitting 285-300 fps. +/- 15 fps; not bad for a marker in this price range.

As I've improved over the months and my fingers move faster, I would enjoy a little more room in the trigger frame to wiggle my fingers. But considering the package as a whole, this is a minor issue for me, and they fixed this with the newer version, putting the UL (ultra light) frame/ trigger on the marker. This one still works fine for semi two fingers, and it's great for single finger.

I suppose the down side to this marker is that as I consider upgrading my gun, I'm probably not going to be happy with anything else at least double the price of this one. Cause I can't even consider an Ion after using this marker.
Conclusion: Soft on paint, accurate, quiet, compact, spool valve design, super simple to use and maintain, a couple of upgrades worth considering, but stellar bang for your buck, had no problem playing against Ego's and DM's.

A great buy for the price. I would give it a 9 out of 10 for some small areas of improvement, but I've been out having too much fun with this thing to hold it against it. When I'm on the field playing, the small things seem not to matter at all, as I'm having too much fun. So 10 out of 10 for hassle free, Zero ball break, genuine paintballing fun!

Happy baling internet people
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crunchy Wednesday, July 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DP Fusion 7 - comparable in many ways
Marker Setup: PMR Special Edition - grey camo
CP Sling trigger
CP 2K5 on/off ASA
Proto lever clamp feedneck
New Designz trigger guard
Black grip screws
Reloader B
Crossfire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
On/Off ASA
Lever-action clamping feedneck
Strengths: Fast
Accurate/Consistent
Light
Not too loud
Easy to operate
Full-featured board
Weaknesses: Stock Edge trigger is sloppy
Frequent leaks
Air hog
Internal organization
Review: This is the first gun I've owned. I've rented until now, and have just started playing speedball more seriously.

My goal shopping for a first marker was to get a gun that would do everything I needed it to do out of the box, and not be a pain to take care of. I wanted eyes and a stock board with all the tournament firing modes and settings. I wanted cocker threads on the barrel, because it seems like that's the emerging standard. I wanted a clamping feedneck.

I basically got what I was looking for with the PMRSE. Before I go into specific criticisms, I want to point out that at the level I play (beginner/rookie) I have had no on-field issues with the gun. It's fast, it's easy to maneuver, and it's accurate and consistent. I've shot lots of Blaze and Allstar through it without a single chop or barrel break. (The Blaze seems to be a perfect fit for the stock .690 barrel.) I've never been shot out or missed a shot because the gun didn't do what it was supposed to. I realize looks are a matter of personal preference, but in a world of guns that look like dessert, I think my urban camo Rail, black loader, and grey tank look pretty badass. I hope I'm allowed to say that.

OK, criticisms. My biggest issue right now, and the thing I'm most likely to upgrade, is the Edge trigger. It's not that it's slow. I can shoot acceptably fast with both hands. It's just that there's a lot of slop in the action, which makes the trigger very asymmetrical in terms of use. I have to think about pulling at a different angle with my left hand as opposed to my right. Just as one example, if I hold the gun in my right hand and press on the left side of the trigger with my left hand, the gun will fire. Reverse everything and it doesn't fire. I would much rather have the action be identical shooting left or right. I'll experiment with shims to see if I can clean up the action, but I suspect the result will be that I'll be buying a trigger or the UL frame soon.

[Edit: I got the CP Sling trigger and I love it. Much, much better.]

The internal organization is a little hinky. Specifically, the on/off and eye buttons are held in place by the board. But the board sits loose in a couple little slots. So if you pull the battery or try to change modes, there's a good chance you'll pull the board up and the buttons will fall into the gun. That's a pain. To make this problem go away, cut a couple little pieces of electrical tape and tape over the slots at the ends of the board.

It seems like leaks are a frequent but not horrible issue with my PMR. Often, it just takes a little lube and a few shots for the leak to disappear. If that doesn't work, you need to check the 17 O-rings and replace any that are worn. I had a huge leak from the front of the bolt the first time I gassed up the gun. O-ring number six was the culprit. If you get a PMR, you might want to invest in a O-ring kit at the same time, because you'll probably go through them quickly.

Note that without a low pressure regulator, you'll want to be careful setting your velocity, especially the first time. If you open up the high pressure reg, you can damage your solenoid, as it's got no LP reg to protect it. Start low and make small adjustments.

Finally, and this is another personal preference, I don't much like the screw-in clamping feedneck. I'd much prefer a lever.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a new (as opposed to used) entry-through-mid level speedball/airball gun and want to spend about $300, the PMR Special Edition is a good choice. (You might consider a Mini too. Didn't seem like a good fit for my hands, though.) If you play in the woods much, I'd go for something that was more air efficient. If you want to spend less, go for an SLG or a Vibe. If you want to spend a little more, maybe a DP F8 or G3.

Rated against all other guns, the PMRSE is a 6 or 7. Rated against other new guns for the same or less money, it's a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 12th, 2008 at 7:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rodpwnz Friday, July 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X NME
spyder pilot ACS
ICD Freestyle
Ion
Marker Setup: PMR SE (camo), egg(2), 48 4500 carbon fiber, stock barrel.
(bro's setup) System X NME, 16" stiffi, 68 3000 carbon fiber, halo B.
*R.I.P* 2004 ICD freestyle...=(
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe trigger, maybe ASA on/off.
Strengths: Accuracy( ok)
Speed
Weight
Price
Looks
Weaknesses: Air hog
Review: First off, I would like to say that this was my second gun. My first was a 2004 freestyle, it was $600 when I got it, and it had an un explainable problem, possibly the solenoid. I took it in to the shop to see what was wrong with it, after a few weeks, they told me they didn't know, possibly the solenoid. They said it would cost around $200, I said "forget it", I'll just get a new, better gun. I did my research and found myself looking at the PMR SE, I LOVED the black/clear SE. but since I had decided to buy the gun so late into production, all colors except for camo were sold out. I decided to buy it anyways, and to my surprise camo looked pretty cool. I went paintballing the next day, lol! and I put about a case through it. I noticed that there was a little bit of kick back, but not enough to complain about. The accuracy was good enough for me.( a 3 ft diameter of balls from 50ft away). The trigger was fast and responsive, it could use a little bit of tinkering, but overall good. the gun was amazingly light, I felt so light because of the gun, every sprint, or slide was much faster and easier to do. I left the field that day, satisfied with my purchase of the pmr se. I went again next week, but this time I stayed all day.
I went a few rounds then I noticed that my air was out, I thought that it was strange that I ran out in just a few rounds. I filled up again, and I went another 3 rounds, to see my air run out again. I was very dissapointed by this discovery. This gun is an air hog, watch out, be sure to refill every 3-4 rounds, or else you'll run out in the middle of the game, like I did a few times. This gun is a great overall gun, it can barely compete with guns twice its price, but you get a good deal for what you pay for. I'll give it a 9/10.
Conclusion: Good gun for the price, it can barely keep up with guns twice its price, but its a good deal. great for mid lvl players to advanced.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxmtl Monday, April 4th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM7 - Slightly Smoother Shot
SLG - More Efficient
Marker Setup: 07 PMR SE
+ 14" Dye UL (.688)
+ UL Frame
+ Hyper 3 Reg
+ Invert Reloader 2
+ Ninja 49/4500 w/ Smart Parts SIS Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame
Small Barrel Kit
Strengths: Very consistent shots whether one-balling or laning
Weaknesses: Uses a lot of air
Review: I must say that Dye puts out markers that perform well. I've owned a PM7, SLG, and now this PMR. For both one-balling and laning, it is amazing how consistently their markers shoot.

I find that efficiency is a much talked about issue when it comes to spool valve markers, especially the PMR. With a Ninja 49/4500, a warm fill of 3500 psi, at 280-285 fps, and stock 25ms dwell, I shot a hopper and three pods with 1000 psi left over. Paint was WPN Elixir, sized at .687-.689. Barrel was a 12" .687 Lapco Auto Spirit (Big Shot). With a full 4500 fill, I think I could comfortably shoot a hopper and four pods.

For 5 man tournaments, four pods and a hopper are plenty. Even as a back player, I never shot more than 3 pods and a hopper.

Just a small note on barrel's, I bought my PMR SE with a 14" UL Barrel (.688). Switching to a 12" 687 Lapco Auto Spirit (Big Shot), I gained about 15 fps. That is why I recommend a small barrel kit.
Conclusion: For an mid-level tournament marker, I highly recommend a PMR. Just understand the efficiency limitations. If you plan on playing 7-man or big games, expect to carry a bigger tank. If a bigger tank is out of the question and you need to shoot a lot of paint, you may want to consider a different marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tygersrule Tuesday, July 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Double trigger--not even comparable
A-5 (only tested)--not even comparable
Spider Imagine--not even comparable
Electra 09 (only tested)--the grip frame fell off after an hour of playing...
Ion (super upgraded, only tested)--can keep up (with enough upgrades)
PM7 (only tested)--equally good
Ego 9 (only tested)--can exceed anything the PMR can do
Marker Setup: Proto Rail 08 Special Edition Camo w/ CP mini On/off and Ultralight frame
DXS 68 4500 Compressed air tank
Proto two-piece barrel
Halo w/ Exalt speed feed
Jt Spectra Flex 8
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger (personal preference)
New Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Durable
Multiple board features
Easy Maintenance
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Loves Lube
Review: I bought my PMR used, and it was in fairly good condition. It had 20-30 cases of paint put through it, and I have added 5-10 more. This gun is extremely durable, I play woodsball/scenario and have dropped the gun, got dirt shoved in it, and multiple other things. After every three games I lube it, and i mean LUBE... this gun loves it. it can't get enough lube, I have almost run out of mine.I clean it after every game, and it works perfect. This thing shoots ropes, amazingly fast, amazingly accurate.

I have only have two problems with this gun, one was more my fault than anything. The first one was that an O-Ring broke on the bolt, and i put a new one in but it started leaking, so i took it up to my local field and the fixed it. The second problem was that the Macroline adapter had paint in it, which i had not cleaned, so it was leaking from the housing. I took off the housing, and the teflon tape, cleaned it out an put some new tape on. problem solved, for three month it has worked perfectly.
Conclusion: This is a great gun, excellent quality, great anodizing, superb marker. It shoots ropes, and for the sub-300 price range, it is the best. Blows Ions out of the water, not even comparable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media