paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition

Proto PMR Special Edition Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Special Edition

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Special Edition
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PMR SPECIAL EDITION
14'' 2PC BARREL
ALLOY EYEPLATE
ALLOY LOGO
BOLT CAP
ALLOY FEEDNECK W/KNOB
ALLOY ASA
EDGE TRIGGER GUARD
EDGE TRIGGER
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Special Edition is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
d3athr0w Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mini Invert (consistent, lighter, tiny)
Ion (good bang for your buck)
Epiphany (same as Ion just little up'd.)
Marker Setup: PMR SE (Clear/Black)
Vlocity Jr
Draxxus 68/45 LP Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) Drop Forward (CP Micro Razor Drop) - Personal preference and will be my next upgrade.
2) clamping feedneck - will be my next upgrade
3) maybe trigger, i don't mind the stock.
Strengths: 1) Fast
2) Light
3) Easy to strip and maintain
4) Stock two-piece barrel
Weaknesses: 1) Swivel
2) Feedneck
Review: Got this gun recently after much debate between Invert Mini and PMR SE (tried both of them multiple times). Tough choice, but worth it.

Chrono'd the gun right out of the box and was getting 285 +-15. Altho the ones i've tried has given me 280 +- 5. I guess it'll take few games before i break into the reg.

PMR has 4 modes, and boy does it rip. Sure you can set the ROF to 30bps with PSP mode, however, you will not get the full 30bps with eyes ON or OFF. That's cause most hoppers (i.e. Vlocity, Halo etc.); and i don't care what ppl say; won't feed upto that speed (max you'll get is 20-22). The only time i've seen it rip close to 30bps is with pulse loader with RF chip.

Anyhow, i didn't buy the gun just for the 30bps, bought it for its reliability and consistency on the field. And ofcourse, easy maintenance. So far (2 games), i haven't been disappointed. No chops (with eyes on) and no barrel breaks so far.

The gun is pretty light and with vlocity jr (which is lighter than halo b) and carbon fiber tank (i.e. Draxxus or crossfire), you can't go wrong.

The only two things i didn't like were:
1) feedneck - where you need an allen-key to screw in and out, if you tend to take your hopper out often.
2) swivel - where the macroline attaches to the Hyper-2 reg. Can be annoying.

However, these two weakness can be ignored:
1) upgrade feedneck to clamp neck
2) get a new reg? or you can just simple ignore it :)

Conclusion: Go for the PMR SE instead of the regular PMR. Rumor is they coming out with new version of PMR, but who knows what the $$$ will be. For $275, you can't go wrong. And if you have personal preference on setting up your gun, many after market parts available. Love this gun, and would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

EvilEye Wednesday, January 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Blue Special Edition PMR, 68/4500 Crossfire w/ 2007 Dye Rhino cover, Halo V35 Rip, and a 12" Bob Long Assassins Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe the trigger
Strengths: weight
size
speed
board settings
*NXL full-auto
Specal Edition Upgrades
Weaknesses: Break-in time for the Hyper 2 (to be expected)
Some guns have air leaks*
Review: [*]= 1) The PMR manual says there's only semi-auto, PSP, and Millennium fire modes, but it also has NXL full auto. NXL is where the manual would say Value 4, so just tap the trigger 4 times to check it out. Really, overall i'm super impressed with the PMR's board. Its got a setting combo for everyone.

2) Some PMR guns (including the special editions) out of the factory didn't get the right amount of thread sealant or whatever on the Passage Blocking Screw. If you didn't feel like you had someone blowing in your face when you shot the PMR, then you're probably ok. I've got the leak on mine so i've gotta drag my butt to the local shop to get it fixed right.

PROTO=DYE AND THE PMR IS AT A GREAT PRICE FOR ITS QUALITY!
Conclusion: I AM IN LOVE WITH MY NEW PMR SE! Even with the leak, i went through three pods of year old paint and didn't chop a ball at 20bps. The PMR is a fantastic gun, and the best gun out there for it's price. I really don't think you can find a better brand new gun for 275, correct me if i'm wrong. However, i would also say this gun isn't for people new to the sport. In cleaning and maintaining the gun, you need to know what you're doing so you don't screw anything up. I'll give it a 9 because the air leak is a bummer if you have it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 30th, 2008 at 5:53 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

wetwilly1166 Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egos
DM6,7
PM7
Marker Setup: LE PMR (black/clear)
Hybrid ON/OFF asa
UL trigger (not frame)
Freak w/ All american
Virtue Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off
barrel kit (or UL)
frame if prefered
Strengths: Price
Simplicity
Noise
Accuracy
Weight
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Review: I bought this back when the Rail was just released and this set me back $500. Kinda Sucks. oh well, I needed an upgrade from my Autococker to supplement my snake playing skills.

Price: AT the time, the rail seemed like a bargain. Now, the price is ridiculous at only $285 brand new. In this package comes the consistency and speed of a top level gun like the DMs and PMs. Coming from this proven family the PMR is no exception.

simplicity: Straight out of the box, all you need is a fast loader, and a compressed air tank. The board has a few different moses that are easy enough to change through, though require you to open the grips. Not really a problem as I usually just play in semi (why ramp in practice). The nicest part about the gun is that as long as the eyes see a paintball, and there is gas, the marker will shoot.

Noise: Dye markers have been know for their quiet operation as are most spool valve markers. Though having no LPR makes the Rail slightly louder, it is not really noticeable. Having a 2 piece 14" barrel come stock with the LE version is a big plus and also reduces the noise factor.

Accuracy: I can honestly say that I have never actually played a game with the stock 2 piece. I have shot paint through it in my backyard for testing and calculations though. At about 100 ft with good paint, the rail held a 6" pattern even while shooting ropes. Adding the Freak to it makes the grouping even smaller.

Weight: This is honestly one of the lightest markers I have ever played with. The frame is a "plastic" material that severely cuts down on the weight making snapping a breeze.


Many people told me to get a UL frame for it, but my hands are larger then most and the UL frame does not sit quite right in my hands. I instead bout the UL trigger which severely shortened the length in which my hand was stretched out across the frame to the trigger compared to the swooped forward design of the stock one.

CONS
Efficiency: This, like most other spool valve guns is not the greatest when it comes to the air department. Although consistent, when set up to shoot 295 the gun at through a 68/4000 fill in just a VLjr and 5 pods. If you do need that extra pod or two, spring for either a tub of hater sauce, or just lower the dwell and velocity. All three make a noticable improvement. (2VLjrs and 8pods on a 68/4500)
Conclusion: A great start up gun for the emerging player that is affordable and gives anyone the potential to shoot ridiculously fast. Many of the other players on my team have these as back ups. I am personally a believer in DYE/ PROTO now and will stay with them until convinced otherwise.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cashmoney87 Monday, January 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm8
pm7
slg
pm6
dm8
dm7
dm6
dm5
Marker Setup: ultralite barrel
new designs feedneck
crossfire 70ci 4500psi tank
empire reloader b2
new asa with on/off switch
ul(very nice)
Backup:
invert mini
virtue'd
halo b with victory 35 board and rip drive
crossfire 68ci 4500psi tank with dye tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel!!!
ultra light
new feedneck
new asa
new regulator maybe
Strengths: Very good im tournments fast shooting cheap pro-like gun very nice
Weaknesses: Many problems
Review: I have had to take my marker into the shop several times. I have had an air leak, my marker randomly turns off several things but once u get it working it is amazing. It is one of the best tournament guns. The psp mode on the gun is great.


Conclusion: A+ gun but it will break the first times
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 31st, 2008 at 7:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mclovinater Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
spyder vs1, and fenix
pm6,7
EOS
Marker Setup: PMR specile edition
halo v35 w/ iron cross ripdrive
pure energy 68ci/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing realy mayby a new hand off back cap
Strengths: LIGHT!!!
fast
easy to clean
self cleaning eyes
never chops
price
quiet
accurate
Weaknesses: Nadda
Review: If you want a great, affordable,reliable, and fats as hell gun this is the gun for you. Its trigger is great, and the board is very very modifieable. No doubt the best gun I have ever shot. this is also a good buy if you live in the san diego area because Dye, and Proto are about 30 minuts away.
Conclusion: This gun is amazing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ukwildcats32 Saturday, March 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, A-5, ION, DP Fusion, Promaster, PM7, Timmies
Marker Setup: PMR SE
Violent Trigger
Freak Kit
Empire Nano On/Off

Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger- personal preference
On/Off
Strengths: Hyper 2 Reg
2 peice barrel
Light in weight
Looks

Weaknesses: I would just have to say the trigger. Just my opinion.
Review: Overall, best marker for the price. This thing is a BEAST right out of the box and I have had no problems with it so far. Any tech at any shop will tell you that this gun is a peice of cake to work on . I would reccomend this gun to anyone. Oh yeah, spend the extra $25 and get the SE, its well worth it.
Conclusion: Get this marker, you wont be dissapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB SyKo Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
07 Ego
Marker Setup: Red PMR SE, Empire Reloader B, Crossfire 68ci 4500psi.
Recommended
Upgrades:
My personal preference is the trigger but that is my opinion
Strengths: fast, reliable, cheap, Consistent Reg when broken in.
Weaknesses: My PMR has a little kick to it
Review: I got my PMR for my birthday 2 weeks later i played at Boston Paintball right out of the box this thing show amazingly the only problem was the reg was not broken in yet and was a little inconsistent but that is to be expected. this gun show amazingly but one thing i have noticed is the kick when i was lane burning this gun kick pretty bad i dont know maybe this is just my gun but overall this is a really good gun for the price.
Conclusion: Overall this is a really good gun it is infact a dye product so that is to be expected
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cerberusai Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI SRT E-Force (Terrible-Very inconsistent-I think it was milled/bored wrong)
PMI R6 (moved the E-frame to this one...Shoots pretty good-Solid backup marker)
Marker Setup: Proto On/Off ASA
Clamping feedneck
Pulse Hopper w/RF chip
Dye UL .692 barrel
Redz Pepperstiks kit (.687 .689 .693) barrels
Proto .690 barrel
68/4500 w/Myth reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA
Strengths: Smooth operation
Weaknesses: Lots of O-rings, poor efficiency
Review: This is a solid, fast maker.
It shoots consistent @ the chrono.
The manual is well written and has most of the answers you might need.
I have yet to have a problem with this marker on the field.
So far I only have had to replace one O-ring (the one perp to the bolt between solenoid and the bolt.)
I would recommend stripping and lubing it after every day of play.

I would recommend this SE over a stock PMR.
-Even if you plan on replacing the SE backcap with a 'fingers only' backcap
-Even if you would replace the SE trigger or spring for the UL frame & trigger
-Even if plan on buying an on/off ASA or a clamping feedneck
Basically if you plan on replacing all of the SE items......The SE is still the better choice over the regular PMR, because of the 2 piece barrel. With the SE you get a Proto .690 (which shoots great) back and a 14 inch front that works with Dye Ultralight Backs. Pick up 1or 2 more UL backs and you do not need anything else.
Conclusion: The best gun at this price. There might be better markers for more $$ but there is nothing cheaper that is close.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

strickA-5 Saturday, March 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM7 (higher end gun with a higher end price)
various spyders(not really that similar really, PMR much nicer)
tippmann A-5(not that similar)
Marker Setup: PMR SE camo
New Designz Pro-lite frame
CP on/off ASA
CP Rake trigger
Redz Pepper Stick
Empire Revolver barrel kit
Crossfire 70/4500
eVLution 3 hopper

Spyder Imagine 04(green)
Psychoballistics on/off drop forward
macroline kit
Palmers Stabilizer regulator
New Designz lo pro clamping feed neck
Diablo spring kit
Dye Sticky 3 grips
Empire Revolver barrel kit
Evlution 3 hopper


Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger and on/off asa . The trigger looks nice but kinda hooks forward to much in my opinion. UL frame and virtue laser eyes maybe.
Strengths: metal upgrades that make it an SE
Two-piece 14" barrel
light
Ease of maintenance

Weaknesses: Is a little bit of a gas hog. Not too big a deal though.
Review: Got this a few months back and so far I love it. I really like the camo(makes it look different than the other PMR's). Absolutely no chops. No blown or bad o-rings as of yet (thankfully). Shoots great. The barrel that comes with it is pretty good too. It's basically a UL barrel with a different front and proto milled into it. This barrel and UL barrel will interchange so you can get a different UL back size if you like. I use the Proto barrel when I'm using a mixture of paint(different sizes) but use my Revolver kit otherwise.

It does indeed have a "secret" mode for shooting full auto. I've mostly used it in "semi" and PSP mode. It's there if you want it though.

Maintenance is very important with this type of marker be sure to check the bolt and grease when needed. If you do this regularly you shouldn't have any major issues. Plus it's very easy.

edit: Picked up a CP Rake trigger today. Right out the gate I liked it better than the stock SE's. With a little adjustment it should be just right.

Update 6/3/08: Still loving the rail. Haven't had to replace a single o-ring. I've replaced the stock frame with New Designz pro-lite frame. Really like it by the way. I'd give it, the pmr, a 10 if it were a little more efficient but since it loves air I'll say 9. Great marker. Would definitely recommend.



Conclusion: Great marker in my opinion. You would have to spend a lot more money to get a better marker right out of the box and much better value than the normal PMR.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 4th, 2008 at 6:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a1eks1 Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-PM5
-PM6
Marker Setup: -Stock PMR SE - Black/Clear
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Ultralite frame
-Detents
Strengths: -CHEAP
-Light
-Fast
-Consistent
-Reliable
-Easily maintainable
-Accurate
-Multiple tournament firing modes
Weaknesses: -Trigger
-Hyper 2 break-in
-Low-grade anodizing
Review: You cannot get a better gun for the same price (I bought mine for 275 new). It shoots amazingly and looks great with the accents.

The first time I chrono'ed the gun, it showed 280 +/- 2 for 5 shots; Extremely consistent. Later in the day, however, my velocity seemed to spike. I rechrono'ed and it showed around 315: ugh. I'm pretty sure it was just because the Hyper-2 hadn't broken in. Now, the gun shoots consistently around 280.

The stock barrel is pretty accurate, but it's sometimes hit or miss. If you match paint to the barrel pretty well, then you won't be disappointed.

My only real complaint about this gun is the trigger. It moves side to side a lot. It can be very irritating in that it affects how fast you are able to walk the gun. I believe the wobbly trigger is the fault of the trigger frame rather than the trigger itself.
Conclusion: Get an SE over the regular edition. It's definitely worth the extra $25.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media