paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Talon Ghost / Brass Eagle Talon Ghost / Brass Eagle Talon Ghost / Brass Eagle Talon Ghost

Brass Eagle Talon Ghost Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Talon Ghost

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Talon Ghost
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 346
Average Rating: 6.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A new version of the Talon that is clear plastic construction and can accept CO2 tanks.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Talon Ghost is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (35):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
derial Saturday, April 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year23 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
blade (not recommended)
PMI traccer (recommended)
marauder (by far the worst gun ive ever used)
Marker Setup: Just your plain talon ghost, B.E 50 round hopper, and 12 grams.
Recommended
Upgrades:
When you buy your talon ghost it comes with this flimsy little 10 round hopper which falls off all the time and needs to be reloaded constantly while playing. I stongly recommend buying a 50 round hopper. Dont bother with tanks, as this gun is a gas hog, and is completely off balance with any tank. Other than that there are no further upgrades besides sights, which dont work to well anyway.
Strengths: - Very cheap!
- Gets friends into paintball
- Reasonably durable
- Very easy to find
Weaknesses: -stiff pump!
-gas hog
-very long trigger pull
-ugly!
-double feeds
-PATHETIC RANGE!
-poor accuracy
Review: I bought this marker because I desperatly needed a marker fast and cheap(50$ CND). Talons got me into the sport along with three other friends. Using this gun teaches you the basics of aiming and stealth not to mention running for your life. Dont expect that by using a talon you will shoot alot of people! its only worth the buy because it at least allows you to play, which is obviously the best part of the game.

OK now for field performance

This gun is not gas efficient at all! Your first shot of a 12 gram will go screaming at speeds that will leave large bruises and/or pierce your skin. This shot also takes up like half of a 12 gram. After the first shot they all differ in range and impact. You never know how far the ball is going to go! ....10 feet? 100 feet? who knows?

This guns accuracy is mainly affected by constant changes in velocity and its 5 inch plastic barrel with mold lines LMAO. Close up its accuracy is suprisingly good but far back youd be better off throwing paintballs. At least it shoots 10 times more accurate than B.E EradiCRAPer lol, or B.E marauder.

The gun itself.

The pump is pretty damn inefficient and is by no means smooth at all. There is no "anti-double pump", so expect to have 2 balls in the chamber, followed by a paint-filled barrel. This gun never breaks paint except for in winter(...but hey...even tippys break the occasional ball in winter) and when you accidentally double pump or the gun double feeds.

The trigger pull seems to be 3 inches! And sometimes you have to even push down as hard as you can on the trigger. This is because brass Eagle designed the worst trigger set-up ive ever seen! The trigger works by putting pressure on a stretched out paper clip causing it to bend where it pushes what seems to be a plastic clothespin up which triggers the hammer! YOUD THINK IT WAS DESIGNED BY MONKEYS! nope Brass Eagle... Anyways it doesnt take long to wear out the streched out paperclip making it harder to reach the hammer and therefore taking more effort. This Marker has the worst internals i've ever seen!

Cleaning and maintianence.

If you pay 50$ for a plastic marker from your local grocery store lol, dont expect to have a field strip...Just old fasion take out 12 screws made from the worst metal ever. After your first time taking the gun apart the screws will be threaded! making it a chore to unscrew them if you plan on cleaning the gun again.

durability

I was very suprised to see my talon last more than a week....in fact ive had it for over a year and shot over 1000 paintballs through it. and about 5 at it.....but thats another story lol. I have not had any real problems with it besides trigger malfunctions, pump frozen in place and other easy to fix things.
Conclusion: Although I have experienced numerous problems with my talon ghost...I still recommend it for newbies because, despite how awfull this gun might be, it made me love the sport. It is so cheap and easy to find thats its a great way to get into the action. For the 50$ you pay for the talon I think your getting a reasonably good deal.
I give it a 4 because it sucks but at least it works, unlike many other guns in its price range.

Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 19th, 2006 at 2:45 pm PST
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

FockerJ9 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years19 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon Smoke, Talon, Blade (has alot of problems), blade02 (still has problems), Tigershark (very good pump), PGP (overrated, its good but expensive), Traccer (good pump), Vulcan (wow i wish i still had that one, rare and kewl pump)
Marker Setup: main: stock rainmaker w/ select fire (i would upgrade but i hate to ruin a classic)
revvy with xboard, pmi pure energy 68ci 3000 psi fiber wrapped
backup:spyder imagine w/ tornado valve, rocking trigger frame, pmi regulator, dead-on on/off drop with system x micro gauge, bandit nylatron bolt, and a modified Rhino hopper
backup backup:talon smoke w/ tank adapter, avenger pistol with 10 rnd clip and 12 gram changer/4 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
id get the co2 tank adapter with the 4oz. tank and a 200 round loader for her
Strengths: cheap, $30 new or $5 on Ebay,
efficent i suppose, moderate accuracy, super light
Weaknesses: Pump handle on any talon always breaks if u hold down the trigger and pump
Review: i always start my review with price based on performance, so here goes

this marker is dirt cheap. 5 dollars on ebay plus like 5 S&H makes for a 10 dollar gun.
ten dollars.
thats like, one lawn mowed for the old lady next door or something.
this gun has to be the most owned and used gun on the planet.
for the ten dollars it costs to purchase one, it performs outstandingly

Accuracy: with a fresh 12 gram cartridge loaded, your average talon will be able to plink a 2 foot Tupperware lid at about 70 feet within 5 rounds, not too shabby for the ole ten dolla Talon (REPRESENT!) and a freshly loaded 12 gram will shoot about 50 shots, about 40 before u notice a substantial velocity drop

Dependability: i am offering a non-biased report on this markers dependability, basically from my past experience and mishaps to my friends, so here goes
with about 8 Talons under my belt from friends leaving the game and stuff, i know a thing or two about these markers, for one, the main three problems that causes Talons to break down are as follows, number 1, u decide to go gung-ho and hold down the trigger and pump off a few rounds, if u do this u WILL have a talon in one hand and a pump in the other. i have broken around 4 pumps this way. number 2, even with a crappy ten dolla gun, always OIL your marker, if anything, especially oil a Talon! the body is PLASTIC people, and the internals are METAL, METAL TRUMPS PLASTIC. if u dont oil your gun your Talons body will degrade, eventually making shaky parts and possibly a leak. if u cant afford the 4 dollar paintball gun oil, use VEGETABLE OIL, its a cheap, non-petro oil that costs about a dollar a quart, heck, your mom probably has some under your sink 9 times outta 10. oil all moving parts, including the trigger, wipe off the excess, drop a few drops in the co2 catridge "piercer" and fire a few dry fires, boom your gun is oiled and ready to go! number 3, and possibly the most important, do not overtighten the Talons screws! they are threaded into brass, but the brass is imbedded in PLASTIC, and if u overtighten the screws you WILL pull the brass out, one screw isnt a problem (unless its in the grip), but two or more in the right spots and your marker WILL leak.
as for overall dependability, well, hehe, lets jsut say ive dropped a few of my markers about 4-5 feet off the ground on the asphalt, and they rattle, but still work no leaks
BTW i still have my first gun, a Talon grey i found in my yard, about 6 years old now id say, and it still shoots fine

Available Upgrades & Player Bashings: as with all plastic pball guns, the upgrades u can do to this are near limitless, make ya a Kustom PVC "sniper" barrel, add a stock, heck, even make it LP or something, WHO CARES! its a ten dollar gun, have a blast with adding everything u can on it, now as for Aftermarket upgrades, well, they dont ave any, but tons of people have groups in which the are die-hard Talon modifyers,

as for the player bashings, well, just lemme dust off the old 5 year Talon and let it do the talking if i ever see you on the field, this gun got me into pball, and its a dang fine marker if u ask me, but like every marker it requires the proper care and cleaning, and it'll get the job done


Conclusion: in my final conclusion ill state that for a ten dollar gun, u just cant beat the performance, u may think that its a cheap piece of junk that doesnt work or breaks after a few games, well, ive owned 2 Talon Greys, 3 Talon Smokes, and 3 Talon Ghosts and the most problems ive had is worn internals (fixed), broken pump handles (fixed) or a leaky grip (fixed)
all took maybe 5 minutes to fix (about the time for the Epoxy to dry) and they worked good as new after

for ten bucks this thing performs a great ten, thanks again Talon
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 22nd, 2005 at 4:52 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

808paintball808 Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann 98 custom
-Spyder Victor
-Spyder Xtra
-Spyder Imagine
-Blade 02
Marker Setup: Currently Using Talon waiting for bko
Talon Ghost
-Red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Personal mods can be found online
-Constant Air Adapter
Strengths: -Cheap
-Nice range
-Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: -Hard to clean a broken ball
-Plastic
Review: I decided to get this gun because I had no gun at the time because I sold my tippmann to a friend. And my gun hasn't come in yet from the shipping. So I was at Wal-Mart and seen these things for sale for $33.00 and decided to give it a try.

I just played a game yesterday with me using a pump and everyone else using semi auto's. I did pretty good that game and a pump does make you play smarter.

As for the gun I was surprised on far this thing can shoot, and the amount of shots you can get out of one 12gram which is about a hopper full 35-40ish. The one setback for such a cheap gun is that if you have a barrel break it will be hard to clean IF you dont have a swab, if you have a pull through squeege you will have to dis-assemble the marker.
Conclusion: All in all I say this gun is pretty good for the cheap price tag of $30.00. I would recommend this gun to anyone because it is fun to use, good for the amount of money you pay, or if you just want a gun to mess around with this is a good one to buy. I was real happy with it and I felt I got my monies worth.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

onlyfortheweak Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Flatline
-RT/E-GRIP
-Dead On bullet drop
-20 oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
get some electric tape, spray paint, super glue, epoxy, and a welding torch and make somethin out of it. I got some pvc pipe and make a stock and a long barrel and painted it cammo.
Strengths: ductile
cheap
light
somewhat compact
Weaknesses: breaks paint
no anti-double feed
lowest ROF ever
plastic
poor accuracy (use pvc pipe)
Review: At first me and a group of friends all got a talon for each of us just to have fun without the corruption of semi- and fullauto markers. Its really pretty fun to play with it as long as everyone else is using one too. But if you do ever go in a game to play with it, i'll gaurantee your skill level will jump dramatically. Makes you think alot more, and alot harder play than with a NORMAL pump or stock class gun.

I made a few slight modifications to my gun to make it a one of a kind, but none of it really helps performance, just suppresses the ugliness of the gun itself.
Conclusion: I recommend this to players who want a challenge, a change, or a boost in their game play. If you got some time and $20 + supplies then give it a thought.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

eskEEmo Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
20oz CO2 Tank
Stock Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: -Cheap
-You can see through it (This could be important?)
-Gas suficiant
-Small
-Light
Weaknesses: -Plastic (Fragile)
-Chops quite a few balls
-Pump
Review: I think Brass Eagle finally made a product that I wouldn't give a 1. This gun is a very good beginner gun. I got mine at Wal-Mart for $40 CND (Canadian Dollars). Its made of plastic so it will chip in a few places if you hit it on something. Hey, I dropped mine not even 2 feet and a piece of the handle broke. A 12 gram co2 cartridge will last about 50 shots and it also depends on how fast you are shooting. It will chop quite a bit of paintballs unless you use some decent ones like evil paintballs or something along that line. If you do get into a fire fight with a semi I suggest you run or find something to use as cover because if you start shooting fast to try and hit the guy with the semi hes gonna mow you down. By the time you've shot 1 paintball and pumped your gun hes probably shot about 10 to 20 paintballs depends on his gun.
Conclusion: I think this gun is a great beginners gun. I would give this gun a lower rating but based on this price on this gun your not gonna expect much. I've owned this gun for about 2 years. I used it for about 3 months until I got my semi and I think it did pretty well for a Brass Eagle gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 28th, 2004 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KiNyOcAsE Sunday, September 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
My Friends Talon Ghost!
Marker Setup: Talon Ghost Stock, soon to upgrade to constant air, and scope with silencer, and using pvc to upgrade to 12 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely Constant Air, and if you can a Barrel Extension
Strengths: Cheap Gun, Accuracy is INCREDIBLE, and balls don't break that often!
Weaknesses: A "few" ball breaks 3 in 80 for my gun, Upgrades not much.
Review: Okay I have been paintballing for about a year now, and I have had my Ghost for half of that time. Prior to getting my Ghost I was using a friends ghost, and Paint Grenades because I'm a guerilla fighter. So once I got my Ghost I really had to sit back and start Sniping a bit, because the Ghost is an EXCELLENT Sniper. Most people would disagree with this because they do not know exactly how to snipe. Camo Wrap your weapon like you would a regular Hunting Rifle. Camo yourself within a well concealed Area, and keep your eyes sighted in. Yes this gun does have a few weaknesses, but hey...it's the players problem to overcome the faults of his/her marker. I honestly would give this gun a 9. The plastic I feel really helped out during winter play, because it's plastic so it never got that cold, and never froze on me. I'm a single shot player, so I don't use a hopper. I play on the wild side. So Get this Gun if you can Snipe, and snipe WELL!
Conclusion: Great Sniping Weapon for the Few great Snipers out there. Follow the curve if you keep the stock barrel, and definitely Upgrade to Constant Air!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

ACI Assassin Monday, April 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only semis and electros, nothing like this
Marker Setup: ACI Assassin black/red - Stock
Black Ricochet AK Electronic Hopper
12 oz CO2
Red/yellow Marballizers


Backup:
Talon Ghost-Stock
BE Red Dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, really
Strengths: Affordable
Reliable
Accurate
Lightweight
Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Barrel is a little big
Pump gun
Sometimes chops
12gram powered
Review: The Talon is a marker I bought merely as a backup gun. I bought a sight for it to improve its accuracy to pinpoint. This gun is incredibly accurate, and powerful for a pump. My first one had the puncture pin seal break, and I bought a second Talon which I gave to my friend after getting the replacement piece, and he likes the Talon as well, though he has another semi-auto. Recently, in a game of woodsball, my old Triad wasn't working, so I had to play the next game with only my Talon Ghost. I actually held off a team of 3 on my own for 20 minutes, even getting one man out. The only problem I had was that I ran out of CO2, and a ball chopped. My mask fogged up, so accuracy was a little off. But it held its own. Only other problem I often have with the Talon is that sometimes the paintball will just roll right down and out of the barrel, which sucks.
Conclusion: Overall, a good backup gun. Worth the money if you want something fun to try out. Don't buy cheap paint, though, it'll fall out of the barrel and/or chop.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Timmyboy14 Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagles Eradicator
Marker Setup: M98
-Flatline barrel
-Tippmann car stock
-Inline expansion chamber
-Daisy 4X sight
-Lapco speed loader
-Quick change CO2 adapter
-Remote coil
-RT trigger
-Polished internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
Make yourself a barrel out of PVC piping and attach it with a hose clamp. This greatly improves accuracy.
Strengths: Very light, cheap, and perfect if you are just starting the sport of paintball.
Weaknesses: Made of plastic, not a semi-auto, no upgradable parts, hammer assembly WILL break.
Review: This gun is a great gun if you just like romping around in the woods with some buddies and you're low on cash. It comes with very cheap parts that will eventually break. Mostly it is the hand pump and the hammer assembly that will break on you. The first couple of shots on a new cylinder seem to have a crazy amount of power (try to make your first shot be a winner!). Here are a few myths that need cleared up.

Myth: The gun is hard to cock and fire.
Fact: Unless your 10 or physically challenged, you won't have any trouble at all getting at least 1 or 2 shots per second out of the little beast.

Myth: The gun breaks very easily and you can hardly do anything to it or it'll crack.
Fact: For a cheap piece of foreign crap, it is very durable. I've bashed it on trees and dropped it short distances a few times and it's still doing fine.

Myth: The Talon's even less accurate than a pregnancy test.
Fact: From what I have seen, it is more accurate than a lot of semi-autos I've seen out there. It does have a reasonable arch when fired though.

Conclusion: For what you pay for, it is a great little gun. I would recommend upgrading to a better gun(Like a Tippmann 98) if you want to pursue the art of paintball, But if you are just getting started, sure it's a great gun!
Please remeber to rate this review!
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 14th, 2006 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gi.lacroix Monday, February 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle tigershark, brass eagle blade
Marker Setup: Brass eagle stingray with a lot of custom upgrade, Pmi Piranha with to much to list to make it a decent woodball gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, exept if you are like me and love to do custom mod on something who dont deserved it. But mine is stock, exept for the paint job and the 45 round hopper.
Strengths: Cheap
Fun to play
Weaknesses: Cheap
Accuracy
Review: This is my first gun.
This gun have a lot of limitation but its why i find it so fun to play. I buy mine for 10$ cause the packaging was broke and its still work fine 8 year later. Its much more than a expect for the price i pay. Its sure this is not what you can call a competitive marker, but i think that's the better way to learn and the better way to remember how its fun to relay only on your skill. By the way, last time i decide to play with my talon i shot ALL the other team (12 people). Just with a good team work and my Brass Eagle Talon Gost. Thats what paintball should be.
Conclusion: Everybody get mad when they got shot by someone with a talon. I just can not resist. I use my talon 2 or 3 game a year and i have so much fun!! Buy it, its cost close to nothing and really reliable. What can you buy for ten box and make you smile for ten year!

give a 7 cause its good for what it was.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akathewolf Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Blade - Blows up after like a loader of paint.
Marker Setup: ICD Bushmaster - A work in progress.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not really meant to be an upgradable marker.
Don't spend money on it.
Strengths: Cheap.
Light.
Doesn't break THAT easy.
Gets the job done
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Well, here we have it the Brass Eagle talon, lets get started.

Accuracy - Well the barrel is plastic and it doesn't shoot over 280fps if even, so you can't hate it that much. It'll hit where you're aiming from about 40-60ft away around there in 6 inch patterns. Not much you can do to improve it.

ROF - It's a pump, it'll go as fast as you can pump.

Weight - I can't complain, it's made of plastic so its not gonna be that heavy. Most of the internals are made of Tungsten (spelling?), best thing i did for them was give them a couple coats of rustoleum. Also on the weight side, the gun has a nice profile, so long as you know how to play with a hopper sticking out with an elbow.

Features - The fact that most of the gun is plastic really brings it down, the pump arm has broken on the 2 that I had sadly, also changing the 12grams every couple hopper fulls gets a little annoying. I've been attempting to make a mod for an asa but have failed in all cases. The V sight is good for times when you need to be dead accurate or just like to use the sight.

(If I can think of anything else... I will add it)
Conclusion: Overall this markers price to performance ratio is rather good and is a great gun for the beginner or the player who wants to get a bit better.
I'd say its got a 10 for price and 5 for performance so a 7 is right in between.
Thanks for valuing my opinion.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (35):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media