paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse 2008 Ego / Planet Eclipse 2008 Ego / Planet Eclipse 2008 Ego / Planet Eclipse 2008 Ego

Planet Eclipse 2008 Ego Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse 2008 Ego

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse 2008 Ego
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
In late 2006 Planet Eclipse unveiled, to much public and critical acclaim, the new Ego7. Derived from the operating principles of the previous two Egos, the Ego7 demonstrated a new direction for the brand, redefining the standards that players should accept for performance, reliability, durability, weight and ergonomics. Add to that list peerless Customer Service and uber-simple user-maintenance, and the complete package becomes a formidable prospect.

This year the Ego8 will push these boundaries even further, by building on the already impressive platform of the Ego7, drawing on some of the experience gained from the highly-developed SL74, and molding all the entities into a new marker with devastating effect . Open up the glossy clam-shell packaging “Pod” and it is clear that the Ego8 has retained all of the Egos visual traits. Aggressively angled eye covers, sleek sculpted lines and comfortable proportions. Yet the profile has been reduced again, with the rear “hook”, or heal of the frame moved up closer to the firing-line of the upper bore and barrel, and the whole frame raised up. This makes the gun feel even more “pointy” as the hand comes up even closer to the sighting-line of the barrel. This closeness of hand to the axis of the barrel gives a feeling of directness that is often lost in the design of most markers, making the Ego8 feel, more than ever, like an extension of your arm.

The placement of the front frame screw to inside the trigger guard for the first time as well as a change to shorter frame screws has resulted in a smaller profile directly behind the FRM as well as more finger room between the FRM and trigger guard. In moving the frame up into the body, it has also allowed a flanged fitment between body and frame, which prevents ingress of dirt and paint, and aligns the 2 parts better for a superior fit.

Inside the trigger guard is a re-worked SL74 style trigger. A modification to the bearing carrier has allowed the fitment of a larger magnet which provides a greater range of adjustment for the trigger return force. The front trigger stop point has also been re-designed so that the complete trigger set-up can also be achieved with the frame removed from the marker body.

One of the main features of the Ego8 that has enabled the reduction in body/frame profile and allowed the rear of the frame to come closer to the barrel axis is the development of a completely new QEV assembly. This new Q-Block assembly has been designed from the ground up to offer unparalleled Quick Exhausting performance for both the fore and aft ports of the rammer. Combined into one, small, low-profile block. Dual QEVS release used and unwanted gas from the Rammer chamber directly to atmosphere without having to pass through any restrictions such as threaded banjo screws, hollow bolts, solenoid or hosing. The Q-Block is fully strippable without tools, allowing quick access to the diaphragms for cleaning and maintenance.

Just above, and being fed by the Q-Block, the Ego8 houses the rammer. The Ego8 has borrowed technology directly from the SL74 of last season, and incorporates the highly effective Zick Kit (Zero Kick) Rammer system. Thought of by most as just a one-trick feature, the Zick technology actually offers exceptionally low kick, but also combines it with super-gentle paintball acceleration. This feature, when combined with the standard Cure Bolt system, enables the Ego8 to shoot the most fragile tournament paint available with awesome accuracy with virtually zero barrel lift even at the very highest rates of fire.

Also making the cross-over from the SL74 are both sets of regulator internals. Where the LPR retains its dual gold-spring operation, it now includes the industrial hard anodized 7000 series grade aluminum piston assembly. In the Inline regulator the alterations have been even more radical, with the inclusion of not just the light-weight aluminum piston, but also the adoption of the coil spring design from the SL. This new design not only produces a lighter and more simple-to-maintain regulator, but also offers superior performance in every way over the old Bellville Spring Stack design. The new spring design offers quicker and more accurate recovery after every shot, and the single coil spring means that maintenance and lubrication of the inline regulator is easier and quicker, with no Bellville shims to lose or incorrectly orientate. A real win-win situation for this particular upgrade.

The Ego8 also sees a change to the valve guide and internal bore geometry. With requests for quieter and quieter shot characteristics, without the compromise of reduced air efficiency, the Ego8 incorporates a new “stepped” valve design. It was found in testing that most high end guns actually produce virtually identical decibel readings when firing a paintball. It is more the frequency-range produced by the shot that offended certain ears. By more tightly controlling the flow of air through and round the exhaust valve and valve guide we have attempted to reduce the higher, more irritating frequencies generated during firing, helping to reduced the perceived noise level. The real beauty of this new step valve design is that, together with the new Q-Block and Zick rammer, the Ego8 has improved efficiency with reduced kick, increased rates of fire and quieter operation.

Of course the Ego8 has retained its full range of electronic features, including the revolutionary Duel Trigger Sensing (micro-switch and optoelectronic sensors) enabled board, the head-up LCD display in the rear of the frame, fully adjustable semi and ramp modes, user definable Debounce settings and presets, tournament preset modes and training modes. The LCD display has the capability to allow users to view game timer and alarms, shot counter, peak and average rates of fire, as well as access all adjustable parameters either through an internal set-up button, or when unlocked, directly from the rear user-interface buttons. For the Ego8 we have moved to a new Black on White LCD display that offers greater contrast to previous models. New icons and graphics in the user interface of the LCD have been improved, making them more legible in game-time scenarios. The Ego8 board also has a new “Auxiliary Output” port that allows direct control and drive of aftermarket hardware such as the Pulse loader. Secondarily to that there is also interfacing on the board for the addition of expansion-board accessories, such as an audible game timer beeper. Other aftermarket accessories that will be available from launch besides the Beeper board will be CCU kits and Laser Eyes. All 3 of these accessories are retro-fittable from Ego7 to Ego8, making them readily available in dealers around the globe right now. Aurora CCU kit on an Ego8 anyone?

And of course the launch of a new Ego wouldn’t be the same without a mention of its vital statistics: If you go out and play with the Ego8, come back in from the field, pull off the loader, unscrew the tank, and drop the gun onto the digital scales the Ego8 weighs in at a staggeringly low 906g. That’s under the 2lb mark, fully laden, ready to play. No tricks, no special light weight batteries, or missing parts, just as it comes out of the box, with barrel, On/Off/Purge system and all.

So as the evolution of the Ego continues, are we getting any nearer to the perfect marker? Well, with the modifications and improvements that have been worked into the Ego8, combined with the customer support, attention to detail, and customer driven direction that Planet Eclipse continues relentlessly to pursue it would be difficult to concede an area of this product that could be considered less than class-leading.

Does that make it the ultimate all-round package? Try it. You decide.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse 2008 Ego is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
JustVic326 Thursday, February 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek Ego(owned), Proto matrix(just tested)
Marker Setup: Dust Black Ego8, Empire Reloader B, 68/4500 crossfire, Dye UL barrel
Marker has been owned since October 30, 2007(just to give you a better idea of how long I've owned Layla). Yes, I named the gun Layla.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel is a must! (UL recommended)
Strengths: Speed
Kick
Weight
Efficiency
Stock Board
Trigger
Maintenance
Manual
Customer Service


Weaknesses: The stock barrel is kinda weak.
Review: Speed:
I have shot 24bps with my stock reloader B. If you attach a Magna loader and RF, I am sure you can get it to shoot 30; I was able to get 30bps in training mode. Since the majority of tournaments will not allow players to shoot in excess of 15bps, this marker more than exceeds the speed requirements for any tournaments.
Kick:
Eclipse included the Zick(Zero Kick) Kit in this marker. The only reason you know its firing is because you can see balls flying.
Weight:
The Ego8 weights under two pounds. This makes it one of the lightest markers on the market. Although one wouldn't think there is a big difference between 2 & 3 & 4 pounds, the low weight does impact the players ability to move; this is especially true once the tank and loader are attached. Also, the trigger is designed with a small lip on the back, so it also makes the marker easy to carry;its like a handle built into it.
Efficiency:
Efficiency is an important factor to consider when purchasing a new marker. Tournament players shoot outrageous amounts of paint in a single round, and they expect their markers to have the ability to go longer then they can. As for weekend player, an efficient marker will let them stay on the field for the extra game once half of the players have gone back to refill their air. I have a 4+5 harness, and I will run out of paint before I run out of air! This alone is testament to how great of a job Eclipse did in designing this marker.
The board:
The stock board offer users the ability to adjust anything in the marker with great ease. Since it has an LCD built in, the player can adjust firing modes, rate of fire caps, dwell, tourney modes, etc., to specific settings without having to mess with counting L.E.D.s. Furthermore, the stock board has a timer so you can see how fast you win and a shot counter so you can see how many balls you threw at the other team.
Trigger: The trigger has a magnetic return, so it is really easy to adjust how hard of a pull you have. It can honestly feel like you are pulling on air!
Maintenance/Manual:
When it comes to maintenance, the Ego is one of the simplest markers to work on. The manual is a simple ,read because it walks the user through maintenance step by step. Also, the bolt can be removed easily. If the player gets a ball break--which doesn't happen--they pull out the bolt and run a squeegee in the back and out the front. This is by far the best way to remove broken paint. In a DM, for example, the player would practically have to disassemble the marker; you can't really do that on the field.
Customer Service: Planet Eclipse has some of the best customer service on the market, and thats all I have to say about that.
Barrel:
The Shaft II is an excellent barrel, but the marker comes with a .692 barrel stock. Unfortunately, this is far to large for most paintballs and decreases the accuracy and efficiency significantly. Planet Eclipse, to my knowledge, does not sell .689 backs for its barrels, so you can't buy the shaft II .689 back without buying the full kit for almost $200. Therefore, I recommend the Dye UL barrels because they are accurate and make the marker much quieter.
Conclusion: This is a high end marker, and I have high expectations. The marker offers many advantages to both the tournament player and the weekend warrior. The extreme performance, adjust-ability, and simplicity make this the best marker on the market. Some people would argue that the $1250 price tag is high, and I agree, but you pay for what you get. The pros give the gun a 10 and the stock barrel knocks it down .5 points. Since that brings the marker to a 9.5 and this option is not available, I have no choice but to give it a .5 point bonus on account of the fact that I own it and I can do that; we will just say I rounded up.
Feel free to post comments about the review. I look forward to seeing if anyone found it helpful.
P.S. This is pretty much a SL74 but a little heavier.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mag_user666 Friday, December 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Egos (05,06,07)
Marker Setup: Ego8
Vlocity jr
Crossfire 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Very light
Very comfortable
Easy to use and maintain
Reliable
Excellent customer service
Weaknesses: Kinda loud
Spare parts can be expensive
Review: I bought my ego8 right after it came out at the world cup. Came in nice case or "pod" which contained the gun itself, 2 piece shaft barrel, manual, allen key set, and spare orings +misc parts. The gun itself is very light and very easy to handle and control for quick snap shooting on the field. It is also very easy to maintain by just oiling the rammer after every day of play, and lubing the regs (hpr,lpr) every 10,000 shots or so. Remember to ONLY use synthetic gun oil for the rammer as grease type lubricants can cause the qev's to become clogged. The board comes with many features to fine tune your settings to get the most out of your marker, and many presets to confine with the rules of the most popular tournament series.

At first the gun seemed to have quite a bit of kick. I thought this might of been due to the extremely light setup I had with a vlocity jr. and a 45/4500 tank. It is noted that the initial break in period is around 10000 shots. After I reached that the marker seemed to have less kick and became more consistent over the chronograph as well.

On the field the gun as I wrote earlier, is very easy to handle and play with. It is light and compact and with the sl74 style trigger it makes it very easy to achieve high rates of fire.
After around 11-12,000 shots through the gun, I am managing to get about 5-6 pods and a hopper out of a 45/4500 shooting around 260-280 fps.

The only problem I've had with my ego8, is after around 9000 shots one of the qev diaphrams broke, causing the gun to have massive shootdown and in general poor performance. This problem is a rather simple fix for the technologically clined but may seem difficult to others. If your not sure how to take apart your marker I recommend taking it to your local planet eclipse dealer for service.




Conclusion: I'd recommend this marker to anyone wanting a high performance paintball gun and looking for the added features such as reliability, easy to use, and excellent customer service.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dynasty_fan14 Monday, March 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-tek ego
Rail
Marker Setup: 08 Ego 14in deathstix barrel, velocity w/virtue chip and speed feed, DXE 68ci 4500psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
light hopper or it becomes back heavy
Strengths: Light, shoots fast ,dead accurate, low upkeeps
Weaknesses: LIght weight makes it back heavy with a tank and hopper added to it.
Review: First off the weight, there was a huge difference in weight. With the new upgrades like the cure bold, zit kit makes this gun the gun to have. This thing will last long on one tank of air.

You do have to be very carefull in what types of games you play with it. This gun is best used for speedball. It does not have the range to keep up with a woodsball gun in a woodsball battle. Though it can work if you know the terrain and not afraid to get up close and personal with your opponents. For me when Im not using my X-7 I go right in the beginning of the game and get right into the enemies face.

Weight wise, being light is a blessing and a curse. Being light weight it allows you to snap and aim at your targets really fast. But the down side is with having no weight to the gun itself it becomes somewhat back heavy when you apply a tank and hopper. So the best thing to do is to get a light hopper to minimize the weight because you can't get a light weight tank its just not possible.

But other than that its a really great gun to have IF your a very competative and willing speedball player.
Conclusion: Best speedball gun to use
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 28th, 2010 at 11:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyeguy1993 Thursday, March 19th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm6, Dm5, DM4, Dmc, Shockers, Angels, DP Fusion 07 and 08, Ions, E-blades
Marker Setup: Dye Dm6 with cp reg and ccm feed neck. halo b hopper and empire fuel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its not worth buying or spending any extra money on if you already have it
Strengths: Light, Efficient
Weaknesses: Loud, inaccurate, kick, chops, unreliable
Review: Over all this is my least favorite "HIGH END" guns iv ever shot i would take a stock ion over this gun. The only thing i can say is good about this gun is that it is very light and efficient thats it! this gun is the most inaccurate high end gun i have ever shot. at 150 feet at a low speed about 2 BPS it got about a 8 foot spread, Dm4-9, ions, shockers and invert are all under a one foot spread with same paint and same barrel type. I owned this gun for about 3 and 1/2 months and i had several internal leaking problems and issues with the board and eyes. when you shoot the gun at more then 10BPS it feels like you are trying to shoot a full auto shotgun and sounds like it 2. Even when the eyes were not broken the gun chopped all the time. really over all beside the weight and efficiency there was nothing i noticed that i liked about the gun even when it was working to its best performance and there are a lot of bad things i can say about it.
Conclusion: This has got to be the most over rated gun in the sport!! not to mention it will cost you $800 minimum! do not buy any ego guns
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 31st, 2009 at 4:30 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannCCI Saturday, February 23rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Dm4
Dm5
Dm7
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom VSC
Gauged Rear Adapter
Gost ring

Smart Parts Ion
Ricochet Apacher
Smart parts 360 QEV
48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel kit, this thing is amazing
Strengths: Light
Range
Super effecient
Snappy trigger
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I was at my local field today and one of the regulars there had just bought this gun. He was playing with his 07 Ego and asked me if id like to help him break in his new ego. I was like heck yes!
Heres are a few things i noticed
Light:
Compared to the ion i had been using all day (ya ya theres nop comparison) this thing was amazingly light. It was very easy to snap with and i could move around quicker with it.

Range:
Now yes i know that any guns supposedly cant shoot farther then any other gun going to same fps, but when i saw him chrono it, it was goin 281 (field limit is 290) and someohow i was outranging everyone. I honestly dont know how that is, maybe it was that i had a good paint to bore match, maybe PE has come out with a new bolt design that somehow makes the ball travel flatter. All i know is that the range was amazing

Super effecient:
Now i personnally dont shoot alot of paint but i saw the guy that let me use this gun go through a hopper and 8 pods of a 68/ 4500 filld to 3000 psi. Since its a poppet valve it naturally going to be very effecient but this is still super effecient for even poppets.

Trigger:
The gun seems to have a sweet spot. When I hit about 9 bps something just clicks ( no it wasnt ramping). The trigger just gets incredibly snappy and bouncy. It even through my index finger againt the trigger gaurd. It just amazing. The bps counter says i hit 22. I think he set his debounce so that it gets like that, but it was very cool.

Maintence:
Like all egos this is a very easy gun to maintain. and i say that because showed me the insides of it and i was amazed at how quick he could strip the bolt, wipe it clean, lube it and put it back in. Very neat.

Price:
The gun is very expensive at 1250$ but you get what you pay for, and you get a heck of alot of gun for the price. Its cheaper then the DM series and i would say it is easily better then all of them.
Conclusion: If you have the cash buy it. Its a great gun and i honestly cant think of anything i could want more of it. In my mind this is a perfect gun, so im giving it the perfect score
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Xtrovert Friday, March 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 5, 6, 7,SL74
Dm 7
Etek
Marker Setup: Ego 8
XSV VLocity
DXS 68ci stubby 4500psi

Ego6
Magna
SCI 1.1
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board, possibly?
Strengths: Light
Fast
Small
Easy to Keep
Weaknesses: Breaks down
Not keen on the trigger
Review: The Ego 8.
The big brother of the Ego 7..This gun was well sought after, with the SL74 technology, people expected Eclipse to make a master peice, the nearly did that..

After using a Ego 6 for such a long time, getting out on this feild this thing ROCKS.
Its so light weight, and nible.
I used a DM7 one tornumant and thought that the gun could not be topped, the 08 has done this,
There are alot of settings that you can change, and make it shoot how you want, you can set up the trigger real nice on this even though I said im not keen, I am, I just need to find the right way for me

I think after this gun, my next one would be a SL8r, My team manager has one, its sweet

Conclusion: Very good, buy one :)

Keep it real, keep it Eclipse
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wenier Wednesday, May 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (Fully Kitted, virtue board, etc)
Marker Setup: Ego 08 Standard
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either a full barrel kit or the rest of the backs and front for the Shaft II
Strengths: Excellent marker straight out of the box, fast trigger, very light.
Weaknesses: Barrel. Comes with the .693 back .689 would've been far better.
Review: Well what a gun. Planet Eclipse have really done a brillant job of presenting this marker. Comes in a "pod" (See Photos) that just shows you how much they put into their product.

Right straight out of the box I found the marker to be very light with practically zero kick and the trigger is just great to use, very fast and light on the pull. I have found it very good for snap shooting. Its also really easy to change the settings and adjust the trigger which also makes it a joy to use.

I am yet to get 10000 balls through it but am hoping by then that the reg will have steadied. Currently it varies by about 15-20fps, but its getting better.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who wants a top of the range product. I would also tell them to get a barrel kit or the rest of the shaft II kit to make it perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 21st, 2008 at 11:42 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tristanot Wednesday, November 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long PRotege
Droid
Dm6
Bob Long Marq 7
Marker Setup: Bob Long Marq 7:
4C Eyes,Ryujin board, Gear Drive, .691 Marq Barrel, Closer Trigger, Silver Accents
DXS 48/45k Stubby: Ninja 4500 Reg.
Dye Rotor, Quickfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE at all, don't waste money on upps.
Strengths: Case
Barrel
Board
Trigger
Feeling
JUST WORKS
Weaknesses: Price
Over-hyped greatness
Loudness!
Kick
Review: Well, I did the sin I promised myself I'd never commit: I got an ego.
Tell you the truth, it was good to had it, because I know now what everyone loved. My problem is, I think the gun is not at all like my preference of guns.
Lemme start with the positives first:
-The barrel is a .693, I love to overbore, I love the accuracy of this 2 piece barrel. -The board is VERY simple, easy to use. I love the Micro/opto-options. -The Trigger is easy to rock, and perfect for semi or ramping. -The gun feels pretty balanced, I HATE the frame to reg. positioning though..... -TO ME, this is my personal opinion, this has the reliability of a Tippmann. It will JUST WORK. No matter what, you can grab Ego_x__ out of Billy Bob's 3 year old gearbag, hook up HPA, strap a hopper on, and it will WORK.

That's where it leads my negatives though.....
THIS GUN IS LOUD. I was in fear that cops may be called for disturbin the peace in small town Clemmons, nc....... I found it almost louder than it shoulda been. Compared to my PRotege, another Poppit with similar workings, it was like a 98 custom to a Dm6.
Kick wise, the barrel rise and literal kick back was annoying as hell and very distracting. It kills me to think of 15 bps ramping with an 08....ughghg.....
The Price, to me, is very high for a gun such as this. If I was in charge, I'd put the Ego at the Sub-$1000 range, and drop the SL Series to $1300 range, that is me. I feel like the performance is just that, dead-reliable performance. Instead of perfecting and smoothing out the gun, they just made the gun WORK.
My last point is, the market hype. You will see all kinds of 12 year old-rich, non-pubety struck, no experience fools carrying the Ego out there. The problem is......The Bob Long Vice, Protege, Macdev RX, 07 and older Borgs, and even the Bob Long Marq Series BLOW THIS GUN AWAY! The Protege, a $550 gun when it came out, is quieter, more accurate, got me over a case off a 68/45, almost as light, and to me, felt better constructed. To me, I'd buy a Vice or Protege 1000000 times more over any Ego to date.
Conclusion: DEAD-RELIABLE, but lacks in the refinement sector.
YET again...my opinion, to me, buy a BL Vice.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KINGLERMAN Tuesday, September 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM8 sick gun, kinda large.
Infinity legend, doesn't compare.
Macdev Cyborg, Sick gun, doesn't really compare.
RX, Awesomely sick gun slightly cooler.
Luxe, sexxxxxxxx but just a marker
Marker Setup: Ego 8
Geurialla 68/4500
Dye Rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, pretty sweet marker if you just adjust it to how you like. The trigger is kinda not nice though... upgrade.
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Easily adjustable
Efficient
Beautiful
Weaknesses: Didn't work out of the box
The barrel became stuck for several weeks
Review: Definitely a good market, tournament level. I play the top division for where I live which is not really a professional scene at all, we have tournaments between countries and spend a lot but the prizes and coverage is an testament to the popularity of the sport here.

Definately competes at all levels, I love to play with it and even when given the option of other markers to use always prefer to use my Ego, I have it just the way I like it and it shoots excellently. As long as you look after it, it will look after you.

Love this gun.
Conclusion: I really love my ego if you can't tell so far. I have loved all my guns however and generally give high marks, but this one seriously has been a monster, only a slight hick up at the start and that might have been my fault anyway. Should have lubed it before trying to use it... GREAT MARKER.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juggernaut303 Friday, December 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
other egos (05, 06, 07) some bob long guns.
comparable, but still not as good.
Marker Setup: Dye Rotor, Viewloader VLocity, SL74 barrel kit. 45/45 crossfire tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some sort of barrel kit. any marker will shoot more accurately with one.
Strengths: >Fast gun (most are nowadays)
>Very easy to operate.
>Very light and strong.
Weaknesses: > The kick, & solenoid between the grip screws.
Review: I first got this with sponsorship from our team and a distribution company. it was one of the last release color egos, dark grey with lime green parts. it looked and still looks very nice. i shot it a few times, read the manual, and concluded that this was one of the best buys you can have for high performance paintball. all the the amenities that it gives you with the styling and ergonomics and ease of use. i was rather impressed.

and for the record, i still enjoy shooting it just like i did the first day.
Conclusion: A good gun to buy, especially now that the price has declined since the release of the new 09 model from planet eclipse. Still pulling up front with the best of the markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media