paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Apex Ready Big Shot Barrel / Lapco Apex Ready Big Shot Barrel / Lapco Apex Ready Big Shot Barrel

Lapco Apex Ready Big Shot Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Apex Ready Big Shot Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Apex Ready Big Shot Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Do you want an extremely accurate barrel? Or do you want a barrel that can perform trick shots? Now players can get the best of both worlds. LAPCO has created what we're calling "Apex Ready" barrels. We have modified our classic one-piece barrel to create a barrel with the ability to mount an Apex Tip. Now for the first time players can combo the widely popular Apex Tip with our extremely accurate one piece barrels. We've tested these out and it actually gives the player more control over the various trick shots featuring increased ball movement. Remember you can always turn the Apex off and rely on the accuracy of a LAPCO Big Shot.
Product Availability 
The Lapco Apex Ready Big Shot Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Hawkeyes43 Monday, January 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts and Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Tech T Vortex Cyclone Mod
Tech T Lightening Rod
Tech T QEPH
Python Pipe Kit
Strengths: The barrel made the Apex Tip more accurate!!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought the Apex Barrel for the my Tippmann A5 because I wanted a flat trajectory on my ball flight. I have experience with the Flatline barrel and found that it tended to break balls and the clean up after ball breakage could be lengthy. I wanted to be able to unscrew the barrel and swap it out, if ball breakage occurs; therefore, I felt like the Apex was the only way to go. I read many reviews on the Apex and decided to take a chance and purchased it for $49.99. The Apex helped the accuracy of my marker; however, it was still not what I wanted it to be. The stock Apex barrel is junk; however, the Apex tip is a great design. I felt that what the Apex needed was a good barrel to make the Apex tip complete.
I was ready to give up on the Apex and started doing research on a new barrel. I checked all of the reviews I could find and I decided to purchase the Lapco Big Shot. I was getting ready to purchase it when my brother informed me that Lapco was now selling an Apex ready barrel. I ordered it immediately and got it for 49.99.
The Lapco Apex Ready Big Shot is a very accurate barrel. I am not going to get into how tight the pattern is at a certain distance because everyone knows how tight a pattern at a given distance the Lapco can shoot; however, what I will tell you is the barrel flatout shoots paintballs accurately. The barrel and gun combination have begun to stir the other players at my local field. One instance on the mounds field, I had one opponent shooting into the mounds about 20' short and I was raining paintballs on him. He approached me after the game wanting to know what I was shooting. It has made my Tippmann A5 a contender on X-Ball and on the Pipes. Furthermore, it has made it feared on woodsball. I can shoot greater distances than my opponents and do it with greater accuracy, which is a huge advantage in woodsball. In fact, my brother was so impressed he purchased one for his Spyder VS2.
Conclusion: If you have and Apex Tip buy the "Lapco Big Shot Apex Ready"and put the tip on it. The barrel is a precision crafted piece and it will flatout perform. I paid less for the combination than I would have for a Flatline and I out distance and am more accurate than the Flatline. My Tippmann just loves this barrel combinations. In the future, Lapco is going to begin offering the Apex tip and Lapco Big Shot barrel already combined.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 14th, 2008 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

murthoj Sunday, October 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT barrel with Apex
8" lapco big shot apex
12" lapco big shot apex
stock barrel with apex
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Lapco ratchet and qeph, TechT piston and squishy paddles, Beoranged howitzer front bolt, Tippmann LPK hammer and cyclone hose, JCS red hot power tube, Maddmann springs, Palmer male stabilizer, APE rampage electronic trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy (12")
Weaknesses: Cost
Accuracy (8")
Apex effect
a little loud
Consistancy
Review: I have both the 12" and the 8" version. I also own the original BT apex barrel. For the 12" and 8" the apex effect is not as strong as on the stock BT apex barrel.

The accuracy is good on the 12" with a medium apex setting. The accuracy for the 8" is horrible at any apex setting and decent with no apex setting.

Both Barrels look great and are of sturdy construction.

I have used the 12" quite a bit, with mixed reviews. I like its improved accuracy over the stock bt apex barrel but dissapointed that the apex curve is not as strong as the stock bt apex barrel.

Conclusion: I would reccomend trying the 12" version but not the 8". but if you already own the stock bt apex barrel i dont think you would be missing much by not buying this barrel.

i give a 7 rating for the 12" and a 3 rating for the 8"
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IrishVik Saturday, May 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: X7 Phenom, picatinny rail riser, RAP4 metal buttstock adapter, CCA buttstock, adjustable cheek rest, 8" LAPCO Bigshot APEX Ready Barrel
Strengths: Accurate and can reach out and touch. Paint friendly.
Weaknesses: Aesthetics ( very weak con), I wish the tip was shaped more like a suppressor.
Review: Earlier this Spring a buddy of mine let me borrow his APEX ready 8" Bigshot for a few rounds. He warned me it would change everything about my game, and he wasn't kidding. So I picked up the exact same setup he lent to me. There is no doubt that this barrel/APEX tip combo puts an easy 30' or more additional distance on a flat shot, but the thing that blew me away the most was the accuracy and consistancy. For example, on a capture the flag game where we were required to fly the flag at the enemy's base, there were three guards dug in at the base's forward bunker. I was able to take out two from 30' away by aiming for the 1" to 2" of the exposed tops of their heads. Could this be done with a non-APEX barrel? Yeah, sure, no question. With less than 10 rounds? Very doubtful. Or at least put it this way, at my current skill level (I'm clearly not special in a good way) I would have dropped 50+ balls without it as non-APEX barrels just don't have the consistancy with distance IMHO.

Of the 2500 rounds that I know for sure that I've put through it, I'd say I had maybe 2 ball breaks. This was largely because I had the APEX tip setting too high and it was a very hot and humid day (ball bloat). The previous outing on a cooler day (probably around 1000 balls spent) I had no breaks at all.

For giggles I ordered an LAPCO 16" Assault barrel with a APEX Ready Tip For Assault. I'm not expecting any huge difference, but I'll update when I get it.
Conclusion: With the good deals out there on LAPCO products, you can easily get this combo for under $75. If URL's were allowed, I'd post it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

caseman68 Wednesday, February 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN A-5
416 Shroud
Dogleg Stock
Vortex Mod
Lightening Rod
Squishy Paddles
Palmer Pursuit QEV
Rampage Board
Rampage Pro Double Trigger
Battle stikxx 14" barrel
Lapco Big Shot Barrel w/ Apex tip

Recommended
Paintballs:
none yet.
Strengths: Big distance. Wicked drop shot.
Weaknesses: Takes time to master various settings and trick shots.
Review: I purchased the barrel and apex tip as a combo online. It arrived with o'rings so that was nice after reading everyones review about not receiving o'rings when they purchaced theirs.

This barrel is heavy duty and even though it weighs a little more than other barrels its size its weight is not a big deal. The distance I had with this barrel/tip was surprising.

My first use was playing woods ball. We were playing a scenario game that we play every weekend. The start of this game is always very routine and the opposing team casually walks to set up position behind barricades outside our fort. They casually walk because normally they are out of range. To their surprise and mine I started to take them out and how funny it was to see them all go from walking to diving and scrambling for cover. The rest of the day I was the guy my team mates would call for if they spotted an opponent closing in on our position and it was beyond the distance of their guns. I have to admit that having the distance was nice but it can be frusterating when you surprise people with a barrage of paint from a long distance and it hits them but none of it breaks. This happened occasionally. Where I play is field paint only so havn't had a chance to try a variety of paint yet.

The drop shot is wicked but i havn't had been able to master it yet. I had the ball dropping almost straight down. I think this will be great if you have someone behind cover or in a small fort with out a roof. The biggest problem is getting the right distance and haveing the time to figure out the angle and apex tip setting. I am sure it can be done but one needs the area and time to practice. So far all my practice has been on a field during games where I am taking fire.

The only thing about the tip that does annoy me is after you rotate the tip left, right or to the bottom and want to return it back to the top for normal trajectory you just have to eyball it. So if you are off your shots are slighly to the right or left. It would be great it it clicked when it got into position or if there was a line down the top of the apex and barrel that showed that it was perfectly alligned. I can't see playing a game where the shooter will be doing trick shots the entire time so they should make it easier to return to the top posistion. This is just me being picky.
Conclusion: Great barrel. I recommend to anyone who wants to add distance to their marker. I would also get one before everyone else does so you can enjoy having better range than your opponents.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rj.orlando10 Sunday, June 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline A5
Stiffi-.691 A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Spec ops a5a2 ez kit
reponse trigger
double trigger
lapco big shot with apex tip
x7 hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
I first used Menace-48$ Seemed fine
I have a bag a MArbs that fit better but dont wanna waste them in my backyard
Strengths: Accuracy, adjustability, distance
Weaknesses: the super Flatline mode(just takes getting used to)
Review: So when mine first came i was pumped i took the tip off the standard apex barrel and mounted it on the lapco big shot 12" even with the tip it is still shorter than my A5 14 inch stiffi which now sits untouched. I have never really had a barrel that pleased me until now. You get much more than you pay for, this is the best barel i have ever used and the cheapest(not including the tip) My stiffi was over 100$ but i never found a good paint to match it. Though the lapco is loud who cares about sound. The only wierd thing is the super flatline mode, at first i thought it was the drop shot because it hit the ground. When they say low and long the really mean low. The curves worked Okay but havent really used em yet(dont see the need.
Conclusion: Idf you are new or a veteran i reccomend this barrel to anyone. You always hear people saying just get a normal barrel, well this is the solution because you can turn the apex off, PLus this thing scares people, very intimidating
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jonesy2233 Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ Ceramics Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a custom M4-A1 body kit.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: None
Review: I started using the Lapco barrel over a year ago when our team got sponsored by Lapco. I was a little bit sceptical at first, i didnt think i could get much better than i was getting out of my old JJ Ceramics. But I was soon blown away with the Bigshot barrel, first off it is extremely accurate then when you add the Apex tip you can add some range and the abillity to curve your shot should you need to. I'll never need another barrel.
Conclusion: It shoots straight, plus it gives you options witht he apex.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfreak= Sunday, December 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
J and J barrels, flatline, other tippmann barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7, Tiberius Arms Foregrip, Lapco Apex-Ready Barrel w/ Apex Tip, Car Stock, Bipod
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer
Strengths: Increases Consistency of Apex, improves curves shot
Weaknesses: No o-rings provided
Review: This barrel has drastically improved the performance of my apex tip. I used to have it on the stock M-16 apex barrel kit, but then i put it on a lapco barrel and was very impressed. The groupings are half as big as they used to be, especially with the #8 setting for max range. The curved shots are also more consistent. Overall, the apex was good, but with a lapco barrel, it is now great!
Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone with an apex tip, and if you don't have an apex tip, get this barrel and get an apex tip from rockstar tactical for $25.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeFinate Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7-basic:
12" Lapco 'apex ready' barrel
Apex (tip)
Tacamo 416 shroud
all the TECH T upgrades (for slightly more air efficiency and for zero chopping problems)
Liberty Car-stock
UTG foldable grip handle
UTG rear sight
BSA 40mm Red Dot

Sp-1 (first edition, without select fire upgrade-YET*)
J&J 14" ceramic barrel
Double Trigger





Recommended
Paintballs:
can most paintballs... even cheap Monster's to expensive-top grade Marbalizers
Strengths: Takes Apex Tip
Accurate (for a paintball barrel)
Light enough
Weaknesses: Could be lighter
no O-rings provided
Review: The Lapco "apex ready' big shot barrel is a great match for your Apex tip. It runs for about $49.99, and comes as one piece. It comes in either 8 inches or 12 inches, and i do not believe there are other sizes however i could be wrong. The Apex Tip takes about 2 inches from the front of your barrel and combined with the barrel adds roughly 3 1/2 inches length (more or less) in total from the front of the Apex tip to the bottom of your barrel.

No special adapter is needed as the front end of the barrel is shaped to be applied to the Apex tip and it's insert grooves. IT CAN SHOOT WITHOUT THE APEX TIP and maintain it's accuracy as a regular 'BIG SHOT' barrel. If you are looking for a more accurate shot along with the advantages of the Apex tip, this barrel is it. The barrel that comes with the Apex is heavy, short, and not as accurate as it could have been. One advantage of the Apex is that it creates a spin on the paintball which provides a longer shot, resulting in 'Long Ball' however matched with the barrel that is provided with the Apex tip.. your shots are not accurate. It does not give you the same distance to say a flatline barrel from Tippmann, but when combined with the Lapco Big shot.. you're shots from a distance increase in accuracy which is more capable than the flatline accuracy.

One major downside is that Lapco does not provide the O-rings necessary for the Apex Tip. The Apex tip needs TWO O-rings to be placed on the front end of a barrel in order to properly fit and work. I wish Lapco could have included the O-rings, however you can just use the one's from the stock barrel provided by the Apex.

Also, for certain markers, particularly mil-sim markers such as Tippmann X7's and A5's.. The 'Apex Ready' Big shot does not fit through certain shrouds. It may take a little moding to widen the hole. The grooves around the barrel cause the problem with fitting, however this all depends on the shroud ( i.e Tacamo 416 shroud)

Another negative is that it is not a particularly light barrel It is still an upgrade from the weight of the barrel that comes with the Apex tip, however it is slightly heavier than other barrels available. This can be interpreted as being 'picky' so this complaint is just based one's own opinion. It may differ when you put it on your marker.


Conclusion: The Barrel itself runs for about 49.99 and is a very capable barrel. The Apex ready Big Shot, shoots the same as a regular Lapco Big shot.. just with the capability of adding the Apex Tip. No additional adapters are needed which can run from $15-20, this barrel comes as one piece.

9.0
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Smokin'ace5555 Friday, May 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 pro stock barrel, a5 cp 12 inch barrel, a5 flatline, and a5 m16 barrel
Marker Setup: 98 pro with 12 in lapco big shot and 48/30 pure energy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with .690 bore..... My dxs field balls are really small but they work fine
Strengths: ACURATE!!!
Cheaper than most high-end barrels
Paint dosent break
Weaknesses: None
Review: Okay so I just went out to my local pro shop to have them fix the gas line because when I took it apart it got screwed up so anyways the guy at my proshop fixes it and help this other guy. There is this huge rack of dye ul's and I asked the guy if they had it with tippmann threads he said no but he did reccomend this barrel and all I can say is that he made a great reccomendation

The first thing I noticed when I got it was that the inside of the barrel if an F ing mirror!!! The guy siad they polished it really good so there is NO spin on the ball to compleatally eliminate curved shots (I diddnt find that out till later) the next thing I noticed was that it fit very nicely into the gun. With my stock barrel I was always having to find the threads and it took like a whole 30 sec to get the barrel in.

Okay so now I have the barrel on at my house and take it out to test it from about 75 feet . First I shoot mayby 5-10 shots with the stock barrel(horrible, not even close to eachother). Next' I put on my big shot and I shot the rest of the hopper with that barrel. THIS IS SOOOO ACCURATE!!! Every shot I took with that barrel landed within 1 foot of eachother because of me, not the barrel. Later, me and my friends went down to the woods to play some and in 6 rounds with 3 people on each team I got 14 of the 18 possible hits for my team and my team ended up winning every round even when we switched teams(I'm normally pretty good, but not THAT dominant). This barrel kills!!!

I have had the barrel for a while now and I have shot mabey two cases of paint and never broke a ball
Conclusion: Just buy it. It's a great barrel that is well priced. If you are really looking to up your tippmanns performance, then buy this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 11th, 2009 at 6:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ltspark Thursday, December 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts and Flatline
Marker Setup: Autococker
Invert Halo TOO loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
Will shoot anything, but is most accurate with high grade balls (as to be expected).
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Good range
Can use Apex tip
Weaknesses: You can get shot in the Apex tip, it happened to me once :)
Review: This is a awesome all around barrel, prefect for woods ball and rec ball. I bought a 12'' with a apex tip for ~$100, I use this barrel almost every time I play, with the Apex tip It's like an adjustable Flatline, and you can always turn off the Apex and it works great as just a standard barrel. It's very easy to use the Apex tip and it will undoubtedly increase your kill count. If you have ever been stuck because you just can't quite get the right angle (or distance) on a opponent or bunker you'll find the Apex can get em out for you.
Conclusion: I love this barrel and would highly recommend it. It's a great barrel, and if you have the cash for the Apex tip it becomes an invaluable tool to you and your team.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media