paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice

Bob Long Vice Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Vice

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Vice
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Bob Long's 2008, Generation 5 Intimidator

*Generation 5 Intimidator
*Electro-pneumatic. Open bolt. Stack tube poppet valve.
*Barrel Thread Type: Autococker
*Included Barrel: Bob Long 14� One-piece Tournament Series
*Included ASA: Xpress Mount Standard
*Intended Propellant: Compressed Air or Nitrogen Only!
*Intended Propulsion Speed: 230-300FPS (feet per second)
*Inline Regulator Pressure: 210-230psi
*LPR Pressure: 65-75psi
*Estimated Shot Count: 2000+ shots (factory settings using 68ci 4500psi air source)
*Motherboard: Tadao Ryujin
*4C Eye Compatible: Yes
*4C Eye Equipped: No
*Estimated Rate of Fire: 26+BPS (4C Eye upgrade with board set in ramping mode)
*Trigger Activation: Micro switch
*Trigger Return: Spring assist
*Trigger Adjustment: Pre-travel and post-travel
*Weight Without Barrel: 1 lb. 13.2oz
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Vice is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Lopez17 Friday, February 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month51 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ripper 1, Ripper 2, Ripper 3, Ripper 2.5, GZ, Classic, 2K2, Lasoya, and TX Storm Intimidators. I've used the entire "suite" of the Intimidator product line and currently own 10 other Intimidators. None of the previous intimidators really match up well with the Vice. The 4C Eye system, better gripframe and body design and upgrades to the valve, ram sleeve, bolt and solenoid make this a far superior marker. The fact that it comes with a Tadao board stock, puts it into it's own league. The maintenance is reduced and what little there is to do is easy and straight forward.
Marker Setup: I shoot a 2K5'd GZ, Excalibur, FL Viking, Texas Storm, Ripper, Ripper 2 and Ripper 3 Intimidators. I run a Halo or an Empire Reloader B (and now a Pulse) with a PMI Pure Energy or Crossfire Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Due to the redesign from the Gen4 platform, there are very few upgrades recommended out of the box. Most are a matter of personal preference and have minimal effects on the performance of the marker. If you feel compelled to put upgrades in, here's what I'd recommend...in no particular order.

1. Trigger. The stock trigger is very solid, however the spring and pull wasn't to my liking out of the box. Incubus is a friend of mine and was kind enough to let me "test" two of his POWER triggers ... his Kodachi and Sabre styles. I liked the curve in the Saber and put it on my marker. It has a nice smooth pull and the concave design under the trigger reduces weight and enables a snappy, light return with minimal bounce. I've been running mine without the spring. At present only the stock trigger and POWER triggers will work. Another option would be the AcidCustom trigger line but I'm not 100% sure they work with this gripframe.

2. Tadao Yakuza OLED Board. The Vice comes with a stock M8 Tadao Ryujin Board that's really top of the line. It utilizes the 4C eye techonology and can handle 2 or 4 eyes with the marker. The Yakuza is $170 and a steep price for some, however the ease of functionality, crisp code and the fact that it really aligns itself well with the upgraded capabilities of the marker almost dictate a purchase. Either way you go (Tadao LED or OLED) you're not going to go wrong!

3. Barrel. Everyone swaps this out. Pick your favorite and put it on. It comes stock with the Bob Long Pro Player barrel which is darn nice!

4. Rail/ASA. Same as a barrel. I prefer the CP's but get whichever you prefer. The marker came stock with a Bob Long direct mount ASA which is fine for my purposes, eventually I'll add a CP but pretty nice stock ASA out of the gate.

5. HPR. I recommend that if you're going to get rid of the stock reg (which frankly is amazing compared to the older Torpedo's) I'd go with the only one that's significantly better and that's the AKA 2-Liter.

6. Feedneck. The stock feedneck is a clamping feedneck that's neither too bulky or tall. It fits my Halo and Pulse quite well and it's the first Intimidator I can think of that doesn't require an upgrade upon purchasing it. If you feel compelled, go for a CCM, Redz or other popular clamping neck.

7. The only real upgrade that I can think of to really improve the marker would be the 4C eye system. The new eyes enable you to take full advantage of the Tadao code and dynamically track the movement of paint to optimize cycle time. The paint really rips in tight, consistent strings/ropes of paint in Semi mode. It's incredible how well it shoots.

8. LPR gauge. BLAST sells LPR gauge/tools on their site for around $26. If you plan to tinker you'll need this to reset your LPR.
Strengths: Fast, Consistent, Accurate, Light, Cheap, Small and did I mention FAST?!
Weaknesses: None that I've enountered so far...this is top of the line!
Review: I've been an Intimidator fan for quite some time now. I was very impressed when I shot the Protege at World Cup. That enthusiasm didn't even compare to the first hopper full of paint I shot through the marker today. I bought the Vice and had it shipped with the 4C eye system. I also added in a Tadao Yakuza board with an RF Chip and Sync'd the marker to my Pulse. The result is the fastest marker I have ever shot. The consistency of the strings of paint in semi only mode with no bounce was simply astounding. I've shot hundreds of markers but nothing even close to being in the league of the Vice.

Bob totally redesigned the Gen4 platform to give you the Vice. The valve system is completely different though it utilizes some of the same design characteristics as the Gen4's but without the maintenance issues. The result is a kick/recoil free marker that's light and stable to shoot. The marq style gripframe enables them to strategically place the solnoid in a mounted configuration. The internals are better aligned and subsequently require less maintenance. The redesign of the gripframe to the body also enables easier access to the valve and internals when you do have to maintain it.

These markers come with the Marq style reg. This is fundamentally different from Alias/Gen4 torpedos as it utilizes a shim stack with a piston which in turn leads to tighter readings over a chrono. I was hitting +/-5 right out of the box. I've never had that consistency with the other 10 or so NIB Intimidators I've had.

The marker also comes with an ASA and top of the line Feedneck which are significant improvements from past models. The stock barrel is also amazing. The ram area/sleeve are/is shorter and the marker runs on a 6ms dwell...about 40% faster than previous versions with no hint of shootdown, even when I had it in uncapped, full auto (NXL) ramp. Bob carried over the Marq style eye covers with integrated detents so users don't need to swap out rubber nubs anymore. The eyes are easy to change out and are locked down with a phillips head screw.

Phillips head screws also hold down the Tadao M8 Ryujin board on the inside of the frame. The battery connects straight to the frame, so no more harnesses to worry about. The OLED functionality on the Yakuza I put in was simply amazing. When coupled with the 4C eye functionality I had a paintball machine gun in my hands. The ram is easy to lube as are the pistons for the regs.

The overall milling and contours are more aligned on the Vice than any other intimidator. I'm impressed with the flow and feel of the marker. Some people reported early machining problems as well as anodizing issues on the Black markers, but mine is gloss black and any previous issues now seem to be corrected.

One downside is that there's a limited selection of triggers, but I'm honestly quite happy with the POWER Sabre trigger I have in there. It clearly helps me establish a nice rhythm. The stock spring was adding too much tension so I took it out. The Vice also has a "plate" that is screwed in place as a back buffer near the switch for the trigger spring.

Ironically the most amazing part of the marker is yet to be mentioned. I'm getting roughly 2100 shots off of a full 68/4500 fill. The marker itself is highly efficient and really maximizes this. The size is comparable to an 08 Ego. I put it on top of the ego in my local store and the ego was a bit longer while the Marq was a bit taller. The weight and width were nearly identical. The real coup is that the Vice is nearly $400-500 cheaper.

All said and done there are very few negatives to associate with the Vice. Most of them are more a matter of personal preference other than functionality or capability.
Conclusion: A top notch marker that fully exceeds anything else in this price range. It comes stock with the best board (manufacturer) on the market with performance unsurpassed by anything out there. A must have for any serious tournament baller. Bob really outdid himself and elevated his marker design.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

fruktflugan Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
F7 Fusion. More kick.
Tried many many wonderful markers and noone compares.
Marker Setup: DP Fusion LVP edition LE
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA and barrel
Strengths: It's good. read review
Weaknesses: Accessories, no lpr tester included, no barrel bag, no tools, no lube!
Review: Bob Long Vice


1) First impressions
Upon opening the box one is instantly met with the marker body itself. Instant paintball love as she lies there glistening, embedded in foam. Gently you take the baby out and hold her for the first time. She's yours... ...for life?

In the box there's the marker, a barrel, some o-rings and foam. Bare minimum if I may say so, but I guess adding a barrel sock, some allen keys and a manual (Yes, manual not included even though the box says to read manual before operating!!!) would have upped the price another notch.

So, the one disappointment is that no allen keys or manual are included at all... I guess the fine gentlemen at Bob Long direct assumed that we have allen keys and know how to use the internet to printout our own manual.

The milling is nice and flowing but there are some milling marks that are not entirely polished as they should be.

Conclusion: I would have liked to see at least some allen keys and a printed copy of the board manual. Sure, I had those things already since I like to be prepared but not every new customer is like me.
I really miss an LPR tester too. This is a crucial tool for when you've disassembled your marker for total cleaning, teching or just to balance the regulators. I lucked out and bought one at the same time as the marker, but it is so crucial that it really should be included.


2) Paint chucking and chuckling
Gassing up the girl proved no problems. Once the HPR and LPR are set you should have no problem with leaving them at that.
If you want to get completely anal about it you could reset the HPR and LPR on each day of play, but that would really REALLY amplify the need for the lpr tester.

Standard asa of great quality. No on/off... Nope! There's none.
Thanks to the quality of the asa I doubt you really "need" an on/off, but you could add one anyway if you wanted. By the way; this is the only upgrade you'll ever need on this marker... Read on!

Setting the regs and then a quick visit to the chrono made me wonder. First I thought that the Vice was shooting quite a bit under 300 fps, the chrono proved me wrong. It's just that the general smoothness and quality of the operation made me feel like the paint couldn't possibly be shooting out the other end at the correct velocity.
First string of 286, 291, 286, 288, 291 and then more of the same. Not bad for a reg that is competely new and a gun that is not broken in yet. -Me likes it!


Shooting the Vice feels kind of like watering your houseplants. You gently pour some water over them as the birds fly by you and sun shines on your face.
The only difference is that the Vice chucks paintballs at 20 BPS out the other end instead of a gentle stream of water from the spout/barrel.
Effortless is the word. Just pneumechanical maniacal perfection that allows you to forget what you were doing and acting like an elongated part of your body and mind.

From the box my trigger was set a little too short making 3-round bursts when trigger was pulled really slow. An easy allen-wrenching later backing out a setscrew and it was perfect.

Sound signature seemed really low for a poppet style marker and the trigger is comfortable and fast.
I've read online that some cut the trigger spring to make it lighter, but there's no need for that. The trigger is plenty light already and... well... I have nothing to complain about really.
Standard barrel (.691 bore) is actually of high quality and the only real drawback is it's versatility and it's weight. If you require more bore sizes to select from and/or a lighter barrel you need to go aftermarket.

Conclusion: Absolutely one of the best markers in paintball today. Speed, quality and operation is right up there at the top while price is low.
How did they do it? I really wonder, so if anyone from Boblongdirect wants to tell me how please call! :D


3) Conclusion
Why even hesitate? If you are in the market for a new marker this is it.
Sure, there are others that can compete but not ever in this pricerange. You'll have to find something used and abused to beat this price.

It is gentle on paint, it is efficient, it is fast and it is everything a paintball marker should be.
Forget the old generation Intimidators, the gen 5 intimidator is the shiznit!

-Peace out!

/Jimmy S, Sweden
Conclusion: Excellent product.
The flies in the ointment are the lack of an onoff ASA, no barrel bag, no tools and not even a small sample of lube included.
Bad bad Bob Long! :D

A 10/10 product since nothing else really compares right now that gets shot because lack of manual and so on.
A VERY strong 8/10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Barbasnoo Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, first poppet valve.
Marker Setup: Russian Legion Black/Red Shocker NXT - 74 of 200
Russian Legion Virtue Board w/ Destroyka Grips
Full Freak Kit

Bob Long Vice
Tadao Board
Full Freak Kit

Virtue Laser Eyes
Nox Kilo Bolt
All The Other Good Private Label Parts (Color Matched)
CP Bullet ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA if you like.
Barrel Kit if you like.
Strengths: Efficiency
Weight
Speed
Reliability
PRICE!
PRICE!
PRICE!
Weaknesses: Stock ASA
Stock Barrel if your a perfectionist like me.
Review: I was thinking about getting a new gun, a more efficient one, because my shocker is a gas hog, although I still love it and own it, I needed a gun that could shoot all the paint my pack could carry. So I started saving up for an EGO8, then my buddy told me to get a bob long gun, so I looked into the Vice, then I thought, "wow I can pay 1250 bux for a gun that gets 1850 shots per tank, or I can pay 750 and get a gun that gets 2000 shots per tank" and seeing that they use the same technology, and one is better than the other and costs less. Which do you think the better deal is? Yep, the Vice.

So I ordered one, got it in 3 days later, and I aired it up and dryfired a bit, I was smacked in the face with very little kick, and amazing efficiency.

So today I took it to my local field, set my stuff up, and went to the chrono area. Just like any new gun the velocity was all over the place, jumping from 270 300 257 274. So I said "well this is normal" so I go and start playing and WOW! This thing shoots bunnies! It was the most quiet poppet valve I have ever heard. Much quieter than the EGO. I played with it all day, filled up 1 time, and shot a whole case. I was amazed! It's very fast, efficient, light, and just an all around amazing gun. Comes stock with a Q-Lock and a Tadao. Big plus there.
Conclusion: So the final word is, this gun is amazing. It is everything a Paintball gun should be, at half the price of the competition, and as being a previous/current owner and have used many High End guns, I can easily say that the new Vice Intimidator is right up there with the best, and at a price that will make you smile. I honestly chose the Vice over an EGO because with a high end gun like the EGO or a DM, half the price is the company name. So get a Vice. It is the best gun out there in my opinion. No joke, I have never in my life used a better gun. EVER. Vice FTW! This think should score 10000, but since the rating scale topps out at 10, I guess that will have to do.

Get a Vice. You will not be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gary12445 Tuesday, September 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek 2, Epiphany, Protium, Spyder
Marker Setup: Vice Timmy Stock (Silver)
DXS 68 4500 Tank
VL Velocity Jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is urgently needed
4CEYE - If your a stickler for peak performance
LPR Tester - Good idea to maintain optimal performance
Strengths: Price / Value!!
Looks
Reliability
Accuracy
ROF
Efficiency
Quiet
Low Kick
Trigger
Board
Weaknesses: Instructions by download only
Instructions are very weak
Review: This marker gives you $1,000+ performance right out of the box for $750. It is just as good as any Ego 08 and it cots $500 less. I also think it looks better, but that's just me.

It's important to know that it takes a couple cases to break the regs in and get peak performance, but when the regs settle, YOU KNOW IT! It has a very versatile trigger that is easy to walk to a high semi ROF. I have heard that the 4CEYE upgrade helps to get better ROF in semi, but this thing wails right out of the box, so you can have success keeping the eyes stock. It's a personal choice.

One thing I will say is that at high rates of fire, this thing is incredible. I shot full auto, totally maxing my velocity jr. and I got no chops or breaks in 3 hoppers. It shoots nice tight ropes. I have shot 3 cases through it, and I have had one small barrell break, that's all (it was cheap white box paint anyway).

The last thing I will comment on is the wow factor. The gun looks so good, that you better be prepared for lots of attention at your field with this thing.
Conclusion: Best high end value in PB markers today. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jamied Saturday, November 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most low end markers and a few higher end electros
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice with Yakuza OLED upgraded board
Velocity Jr with Virtue chip
68/4500 with Myth reg
UN1tec barrell system, 685, 689, 693
CP on/off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Yakuza OLED is a great upgrade, although expensive
4C eyes
LPR tester
Barrell
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light Weight
Super air efficient
Weaknesses: LPR tester not included
Review: This is a great marker for a great price! This is a tournament level marker in a price range for a regular avid paintballer. It is lightweight with a small, tight profile. This thing will shoot ropes right out of the box. With the OLED board, it allows you to pick and choose your settings with a nice little screen, giving you endless options and modes of fire. The board also has a shot counter, timer and battery level indicator. The stock Vice board uses a flashing LED so you'll need to memorize dozens of different flashing patterns and colors which is ridiculous imo. Get the Yakuza OLED and the 4C eye upgrade and you will rule the field with this setup, I love mine!!! The Vice comes with some stock features that you never have to upgrade like a Pillow bolt and low rise lever style clamping feedneck. The stock ASA does not have an on/off but with this marker that is just a matter of preference. It will de-gas itself when you unscrew your HPA source. Also the vice will get between 1800-2200 shots per 68/4500 fill, which is amazing for any marker.
Conclusion: If your thinking of buying the Vice, DO IT! You will not regret it. Even without any upgrades, this thing rocks out of the box and will do 20-25 bps easily, accurately and with great air efficiency. This is a great marker for a really decent price. You will not be disappointed!!! I'd give it an 11 if I could, but since nothing is perfect I give it a 9.9!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lear-pilot Sunday, January 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 Ego
05 Ego
invert Mini
DM 7
PM 6
Marker Setup: Currently, 07 EGO, dm 06, Autocockers, SP8, Invert Mini, Tib 8, Stainless Complete Freek Kit, Eggy Z, Halo V35rip, 70-4500 StubbyX2, 45-4500, and the list goes on and on
Recommended
Upgrades:
none It comes with a Tadeo Board for free
Strengths: Tadeo Board
Light
shoots streams
nice and small, no kick
very good price, great value
Weaknesses: Some say its to light/small, hmmm whatever, carry a brick on the field then
Review: I have use a lot of guns and I would say that this gun is very simular to my 07 ego for 1/2 the price, what a great deal, and comes with a Tadeo Board not some cheap stock one as others like to put in and then you have to spend 150 later to upgrade. I have put about 6 cases through it and no problems no chops. This is a new product and when people actually try the product you will see a lot more at Tourny games coming your way, Good job Bob Long
Conclusion: Great product, is my new Tourny gun, Great value, cheap price for what you get
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchild71 Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM7 -Heavier and less efficient
Ego6 - heavier, less efficient, louder
Ego7- Less effieicnt, louder
SL66-Less efficient louder
SL8R- Similar size, weight and performance
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice
Proto PM7
Vlocity Jr
Dye Throttle 68/4500
DXS 48/4500
Python Barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
4c Eye System for $50 more worth every penny

On/off asa if feel you need it
Strengths: Light Weight
Fast
Surprisingly quiet
Accurate
Minimal kick
Efficient (2000 rounds on a 68/4500)
Weaknesses: Lack of owners manual. (download one on PBnation in the BobLong Intimidator Forum)
Review: I got my new Vice recently and took it out for the first to play in the SPPL tournament this weekend and I must say I am really impressed with this marker. Out of the box the gun was ready to use with a slight fine tuning of the velocity to the fields fps. I am a spooler guy and I have always felt that poppits were too loud and full of kick for my taste. What attracted me to the vice was its efficiency. My spoolers are all good guns but they eat up air real fast. My teammates are all poppit whores so I decided to look into one as a backup for when I need more efficiency. Needeless to say, this gun is definitely my main gun now. It has the best of both spooler guns and poppits. I don't know how BL does it.

Speed: This gun is blazing fast, The 4c Eye system is a must. It makes for super smooth shooting in semi auto. You can send ropes of paint effortlessly. The trigger action is really smooth and the shape is slightly agressive so you can get a nice trigger walk. The pull felt fairly light to me but that is a matter of preference.

Sound: I play alot of woodsball and I like to play snake in speedball so having a low sound signature is important to me. I was expecting this gun to be loud. To my great surprise the Vice was really quiet. Stock for Stock the Vice is about as quiet as my PM7.

Accuracy: Excellent. The stock barrel is a .691. I was shooting a tourney specific Draxxus paint which was mearsuring about .689. It was humid so I decided to not use the barrel kit in case the paint swelled up. Even with the bad paint to bore match and with the regs not being broken in yet, the gun was hitting target nearly ball on ball.

Efficiency: I didn't take exact measurements for effiency but I can definitely tell that this gun is efficient. I used my 48/4500 tank and after each hour long game where I threw at roughly 8 pods and 2 hoppers and my tank never went below 1000psi. Now that is efficiency.

Shooting: The gun is a pleasure to shoot. The grip frame is thin and it feels really good when walking the trigger. There is almost no kick which really surprised me and ropes of paint would go where you shoot them with minimal barrel rise.

Weight: The gun is light. Compared to an SL8R the weight different is imperceptable in your hands.

Maintenance and adjustments: The gun is simple to work on. The bolt comes out easily making breech cleaning a breeze. The Tadao Ryujin board is one of the best boards on the market and is easy to use. All the modes you could possilby need are programmed into the board. Different firing modes not your thing? Well consider that the Tadao has the best micro switch sensitivity of any board on the market which means it will pick up every pull of the trigger without a hiccup.

Conclusion: This gun is by far the best deal in paintball. You get a marker that is more efficient than any other marker in production, it is quiet, has no kick, light weight and a Tadao board stock . At $750 they are practically giving it away.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 12th, 2008 at 5:42 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Yukiyu Sunday, January 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 08
shocker 09 with new board
PM8
DM8
SL74
Ego 10
Bob long closer
Marker Setup: Bob long Vice
Pinokio Hopper
Draxus 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Preference)
Grips (Preference)
Strengths: Incredibly light
Tadao Rijuyin Board
Trigger
Inovative feedneck
pillow bolt
detents
Regulator and ASA
Weaknesses: The ASA
Barrel
Review: What can I say about this gun that I havent already sayd up there. Maybe I can say that this is the nicest STOCK timmy I have ever seen. I have seen every other timmy out of the box and this one by far destroys every one of them.

Let me talk a bit obout upgradedability. The several ups that you can put into this gut are the following:

The 4 Eye System- Some people dont see the true benefits of the 4 Eye System. What a regular set of 2 eyes do is when the ball falls into the breech it charges the solenoid so that the gun can shoot. With the 4 eyes the top set of eyes will precharge the solenoid and get your bolt ready faster so you shoot faster with less posibility of choping paint. If you are a die hard rec baller then you will trully benefit from these since they will make semi auto much, much faster. But if you play tournament then you dont have to worry about the 4 eyes

Feedneck-You could put a new feedneck on this gun, But it just isnt necesary since this is the BEST feedneck I have seen on a stock gun PERIOD. You dont need tools to adjust it, just spin the little prop around to tighten down or to loosen up.

Other ups are your every day trigger and barrel so im not gonna get into that.

Strengths:

Stock trigger- This tigger is incredibly light thanks to the idea bob long himself had. He milled down the trigger and made it hollow inside so that it be 3X as light ans Twice as snappy. Also you can adjust the activation points like most other triggers

Low rising and Inovative Feedneck- 'Nuff said

Milling- The milling on this gun is the equivalent of a harley davidson in paintball. So much precision went into this gun that its almost a shame to play with it in the risk that it might get hit with a paintball. The 3-D milling on this gun isnt cheep.

Tadao Rijuyin Board- The tadao rijuyin board is code for " the musashi board that comes with bob long guns". It has every coustomizable feature in the trigger so you dont have to get into to the grip frame like most other guns. and all flashing is handeled by tadao.

Reg and ASA- these are some of the best in the industry so you dont have to worry about upgrading it.

Bob long Coustomer service- Im just ganna say that Blast knows how to take care of their people

Weaknesses:

Barrel- I personally dont like the inside milling on the barrel so im gonna get a CP 2 piece for 60 bucks or a 1 piece for 30 im still not sure. You might like it but i simply dont


Other than that this gun is perfect and if you dont think that this gun can match up to the guns i mention in the conclucion then get the yakuza OLED board for it and it is sure to match up perfectly.
Conclusion: Its a solid 10, Dont get an ego 10, dont get a rev i, dont get a dm 10. JUST GET THIS GUN, YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 3rd, 2010 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

creeping death1 Sunday, November 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The closest would be a Proto SLG UL
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice
4 Eye Set Up
Dye Rotor
Guerilla Air 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
I am not knowledgeable enough to reccomend
Strengths: Very accurate. Very Light. Very Efficient.
Weaknesses: Can't really find one. Trigger too sensitive?
Review: I am not sure if this will be helpful or not. I am a Woodsballer that always played with an A5. It had every upgrade you could get.

I bought this marker from Arnold Francisco of the Oakland Assassins at his store in the SCV. My A5 was down again and I was fed up with it. I went in to buy a G3 but Arnold talked me in to this gun. Man was he right.

Apparently up until now I was not really playing paintball. I was just volunteering to be a target. With this marker I could actually put paint where I wanted it. I can't tell you technically why this gun is so good. All I can tell you is i had the best day on the field I have ever had. I actually attempted a bunkering move and hit 3 guys. You can't do that with an A5 and survive it. I can put paint through the smallest of cracks where players are hiding. I can hit feet. I can put paint right on the edge of bunkers to score hits. I can hit the tip of a pod poking out from cover.

For me this is all I need to know. This gun rocks. From now on I will woodsball with a "space gun". The other players can laugh.... while I hit them in the goggles.

Thanks Bob Long.

If he could make something that would keep my belly from sticking out of the hyperball bunkers that would really help as well. ;)
Conclusion: Buy this gun. Unless you prefer wearing paint to giving paint. This gun will make you a better player no matter what type of paintball you prefer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soccer Juice10 Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm's
Dm's
Other timmys
Ego's
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice-Black
4C Laser eyes
Crossfire 68/45 HP
XSV VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
4C eyes

other than that this marker comes out of the box a winner
Strengths: Bob Long
Weight
QUIET
smooth
accurate
VERY efficient
Weaknesses: None
Review: The bob long vice is amazing and insane. I got this and i was amazed at the milling and just the way it felt in my hand. My previous timmy was an alias which i sold recently so i knew i was getting a great marker. but once i got to the field and used it,,,WOW, i cant believe how smooth and accurate it was out of the box.

Now that its been broken in, this thing just got better, i probably will never sell this gun. Why buy an ego or dm, half the price of those are the name. Buy a bob long vice....amazing performance at an amazing price.
Conclusion: Buy it, you wont look back, you will love it to death as i have......trust me, ive been around paintball for years, im 22 and played with alot of markers, this is by far my favorite and one of the best out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media