paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Tippmann X-7 e-grip / Tippmann Tippmann X-7 e-grip / Tippmann Tippmann X-7 e-grip / Tippmann Tippmann X-7 e-grip

Tippmann Tippmann X-7 e-grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Tippmann X-7 e-grip

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Tippmann X-7 e-grip
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $399

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann X-7 with e-grip
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Tippmann X-7 e-grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
snake_swtos Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix (stock), T98C, some other markers
Marker Setup: X-7 Egrip, CO20oz, AK 47 front-grip & mag, crappy paintballs (jt alpha)
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Stock
- Remote
- HP (72 or more cu!!!)
- Better barrel (opsgear recommended)
Strengths: - EGRIP kick's ass!
- rails/shrouds
- decent stock barrel
- mod's
Weaknesses: - EATS CO2/HP!
- not durable cocking lever
- cheap stock mag
- cheap egrip battery-cover
Review: First look - and it's a love from 1st sight. I imagined my perfect marker, and X7 is somewhat near my "perfect gun". It looks great, it shoots great (even with stock barrel & REALLY crappy paint), you can make it looks like an AK-47, H&K or M16, even heavy machine gun!. From the other side - be prepared to buy 72cu (or bigger) HP tank along with remote (X7 NEED'S REMOTE), be prepared for "safe" full-auto of egrip (some people will say it's a matter), and be prepared to own GREAT marker, with great look, and very good in action.
Conclusion: For me, best woodsball marker under 400$
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bischlarbo Thursday, January 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 and a5. all the bt guns, smart parts guns, and protos.
Marker Setup: tippmann x7- egrip, apex barrel, metal rachet, home-made soft paddles(boiled the stock ones), ump shroud, car stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
metal rachet for cyclone, soft paddles, apex barrel
Strengths: -Looks great
-High rate of fire
-Shoots well
- Pushpin disassembly
-Cyclone
-Egrip
Weaknesses: -Most inefficient marker on the market
-Price
Review: i picked this gun out for christmas and it was a pretty good choice, but there are definately better markers out there for the money. First off, it's so inefficient i can barely stand it. i have a $170 88/4500 hpa tank which is supposed to give over 2000 rounds on an efficient gun but i only get 1300 at MOST. it's pretty sad. other than that it's a pretty awesome gun. i love the egrip, best invention ever. it gets up to 20 bps. the response trigger mode-where it shoots two balls for every trigger pull- is awesome. It also looks great. i'm pretty happy for the most part. definately get a new barrel for it, the stock barrel sucks a$$. i recommend the straightline or an apex(lapco or j&j with apex tip). If i could go back and pick my gun again i think i would pick a different gun though. my gun is worth around 8 or 9 hundred right now and i've seen guns worth 3 hundred that can do the same thing, so i would say to do your research before you get your guns. i would consider a smart parts sp1 (excellent choice for $150) or the bt tm-7. i also like the dangerous power f8 fusion.
Conclusion: All in all the gun is pretty good. Shoots well and doesnt break paint. It just sucks on efficiency, which really bugs me. Other than that- great gun....
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nootz Saturday, April 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT-4 SWAT with E-grip, Spyder MR2
Marker Setup: BT-4 SWAT:
-BT-16 Barrel kit
-BT Bi-pod
-Tippmann Verticle Grip
-BT e-Grip
-Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper
-BT 45 degree picatinny/weaver rail (on top of foregrip)
-Walther 2x30 RD scope (mounted on BT rail)

Tippmann A-5:
-A5 Flatline barrel
-A5 Response Trigger
-OpsGear sight riser
-OpsGear Gas-Thru UMP magazine
-OpsGear folding G36 stock
-SoftAir 1x28 RD reticle
-Tippmann Cyclone LP hopper

Tippmann X7:
-X7 E-grip
-OpsGear X7 Sliding Stock
-OpsGear Mock Suppressor Shroud
-OpsGear Deluxe Ergonomic Grip

Sidearm: Tiberius Arms Tac8
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip or Response Trigger, longer barrel.
Strengths: new EP Cyclone system, very customizable, magazine is a tool kit, very lightweight.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isn't good for much.
Review: Moving up from using an A5, I'm noticing some big changes with the X7.

First change I noticed was the weight of the marker. With all my upgrades/accessories on my A5, the marker weighed 8.3lbs. So far, the X7 only weighs 4lbs. I'm very impressed with the lightweight magnesium receiver. Tippmann says it weighs 10% lighter than their older aluminum receivers.

Second thing I noticed was how much you could essentially customize it. With the modular shroud that mounts to the front of the marker, there are four picatinny/weaver rails attached that you could use to mount lights, lasers, grips or bipods to, along with a variety of other accessories.

I love the new EP (Enhanced Performance) Cyclone system too, it's so much more durable than the A5's Cyclone feeder. I've only had one ball break on me so far, and that's only because I had my grip set to semi-auto and I was firing too fast.

I also like how the AR-style magazine is a tool kit, it really helps when you have to adjust or tighten anything in the middle of the field. The only downfall with that though is that the mag is made of plastic.

The only thing I've really noticed that is a weak point is the barrel that comes with the marker. It's only 10" long, unported, and has very short distance. About the only thing it has going for it is how good it looks with the shroud on.
Conclusion: I give this a 9 out of 10. If the marker came with a better stock barrel, then it would be the most amazing marker right out of the box.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

brian dyas Tuesday, March 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs,tippmann 98c, tippmann a-5, smart parts sp-1
Marker Setup: i only insist on the sp-1 now. 98c stock adaptor, carr stock, clamping feed neck, halo loader, virtue board, tech t upgrade bolt, c-series stiffi barrel with apex adaptor,apex head, custom paint job
Recommended
Upgrades:
tech t squishy paddles,cyclone ratchet upgrade,stiffi c-series barrels or apex
Strengths: A big, heavy casing that can take a beating
Weaknesses: Air consumption, horribly loud marker
Review: i have to hand it to tippmann/spec ops marketing for this one! a re-bodied a-5 with a higher price tag!!! i had problems, right out of the box. the sear would not catch after the FIRST shot.i sent it back.it came back eith the two halves of the receiver misaligned.i sent it back, as this clearly was not my marker. it came back with an inoperable cyclone feeder. what the heck??after about a year or so, it finally worked. it was something of a joke at my local field.after using it, i find it to be clunky,as the "magazine" gets in the way of my forearm, the stock barrel is HORRIBLE. it has one hell of a kick for a paintball gun,and it is unbelievably loud. i hope you have a large air tank because it is an air hog,so dont get into prolonged firefights or you're dead.it is a heavy gun, despitr the magnesium receiver which surprised me. so if your looking for a gun for your kid, dont buy this one. sure, it looks bada$$, but little johnny is going to have a hard time with this one.theres better on the market for the price.i put HUNDREDS and HUNDREDS of bucks into this, just to make it competitive, and it still will not keep up with the higher end stuff.
Conclusion: If i could do it over again, i would not buy this marker. It is expensive,and you are paying for looks, not performance. You can do better for the money
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Captain Kills Tuesday, September 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Tippmann 98
Milsig
Rap 4
Tiberius
Marker Setup: Flatline
Bipod
Lazer, flashlight
g36c hard sight
tac cap
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel
Strengths: Durable
upgradable
fast
accurate
Weaknesses: HEAVY!!!!!!!
HEAVY!!!!!!!
HEAVY!!!!!!!
side loader, big loader
PRICE! way to much
Review: The X7 is only for people who are playing for fun and want to make thier marker look real. It is a great toy, If you dont get the flatline barrel you shouldnt get the gun,. the barrel is KEy it adds tuns of distance. I would not recommend this gun for people who want to play indoor speedball it is strictly for rec ball scenario

It cost way to much compared to the quality markers you can get for the same price

Overall it is a fun gun, I am selling mine though it isnt good enough for me.
Conclusion: Get it if you like to screw around, dont get it if you want to play tournys and speedball.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintball1997 Friday, August 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, 98 pro, Spyder RS and Spyder sonix.
Marker Setup: X7
-e triger
-tornado cyclone feed mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
*Tornado cyclone feed mod
*longer barrel
*E trigger or responce trigger
Strengths: *Accurate
*Great mid-level marker
*Fun
*customiazible
Weaknesses: *Stock barrel stinks!
Review: Great... one of the best markers i have used in my 5 years of paintballing... though it may be a little heavy it works great... if you dont like how fast it fires, i recomend you buy the tornado cyclone feed system mod (~$30-$40), the E grip, and the fang trigger... shoots 30+ bps! (Balls per second) it is great for speed ball, PERFECT for woods ball... price i got was great!
Conclusion: good marker for the money..... i got my stock X7 for 200... but you should look ALL OVER the web for prices... check out craigs list.... ebay..... anything that sells the marker check! it works great... really customiazible... make it look like almost any of your fav guns.... shoots well and no chooping.... so i hope you have fun with it! comment on this for your oponion on the marker!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor88 Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Tippmann Carbine, Spyders, SP-1
Marker Setup: Old School Tippmann 68 Carbine with Tippmann 14" Sniper Barrel with Ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, soft paddles for cyclone feed, compressed air tank
Strengths: Tough, proven design, built in feed system, good looks
Weaknesses: Bulky, poor on off switch design.
Review: I won an X7 at the last theme day at a local field in a raffle. THis was my wifes first time playing and she liked it, so I gave her the X7. This review is based off of my experience with the gun, and feedback provided by her as well as my observations of the gun holding up to a totally new player.

The gun was well packaged and went together quick. My gun came with the E-Grip, and you have to provide your own battery (9 volt) for it. I installed the battery, screwed on the barrel, and went straight to the chrono station. Out of the box the gun was tuned perfectly, firing on compressed air, the shots averaged around 285 fps + or - 3-4 fps. I was shocked by how well the stock barrel was polished on the inside compared to the crap rough stock barrels on previous tippmann guns. The bore was alittle large but that is normal for a stock barrel so that it can shoot most types of paint without breaking. The accuracy of the stock barrel was decent but didn't shoot as well as the 8" Taso barrel that I tried on it from my Carbine. The trigger was quick and it could really spit out the paint. I had a couple of breaks, but that was due more to the crap Stinger paint I was using in it. When shooting RPS Premium, there wasn't a single break. I and the wife both emptied some hoppers on Full Auto, and it cranked them out perfectly.

I should point out that my wife first used a friends A-5 with a Flat Line and she really liked the range it had, so I equipped the X7 with a Flat Line barrel as well as a set of sqwishy paddles for the cyclone feed to help prevent breaks. The gun shots a nice long flat trajectory with the flat line at the expense of point on accuracy but I could still hit my targets at range using a burst of shots. There were some breaks through out the day but once again, this was due to crap paint, in this case it was Diablo blaze(camo shell) and I had breaks in my Carbine as well, and it never does that. Mechanically the gun has cranked on through some rough play without a hitch all while being used by a total rookie (my wife). The tool kit in the mag is a really neat touch as long as you don't have some idiot use it to turn up his velocity on the field with it.

As far as using alot of gas, all Tippmanns with Cyclone Feeds are gas hogs, so there is nothing new about that. The X7 is easier on gas than the SP-1 that I had. That thing sucked gas.

The tactical rails are all on the right places and allow you to add a light or whatever else you might want to throw on there.

My only complaint with the gun is the bulk of it. Still, its not that heavy for me, but the wife runs it remotely to keep from hefting more weight on it.

The on off button could have been designed better. It is in the front part of the grip frame and you have to stick something into a hole to turn the gun on or off. The three position switch on the side of the gun has a safety setting, but in theory its not hard to bump the switch off of safe and into fire mode.

I personally don't care, but if you are into it, there are endless accessories to customize the look of the X7 and make it look like any number of real guns. Personally I am tired of seeing M16 looking paintball guns. I want to see a M41A Pulse Rifle or Space Marine Bolter.
Conclusion: Awesome gun though its probably on the expensive side for what it is. Still, you get the rock solid dependability and realiability of Tippmann along with a really cool look. The E-grip has a ton of programming options but I haven't messed with any of them yet. For rec and woods ball players this is a awesome little gun. It will run on compressed air or CO2 so you have even more flexibility there. If you are interested in one of these, I would reccommend picking one up. Its a great gun. EDIT: I forgot to mention, be sure that you use a good quality paint, especially if you are using a flat line or firing on full auto. Stay away from the buget crap.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 4th, 2010 at 9:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slick1995 Monday, November 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used the tippman 98 custom. This gun is a very good gun but nothing compared to the tippman x-7. They both have amazing accuracy and amazing durability. You can run over your 98 custom with a hummer and it will still shoot. Amazing Guns, No doubt about it.
Marker Setup: I use a Tippman X-7 with the following
- JJ Ceramic Barrel
- M16 Front Sight
- Remote Line with Slide Check
- M16 Stock
- M16 Shroud
- M16 Carryl Handle
- Soon Will Get Egrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
When you first start off this gun is amazing. If you dont feel like it is right to upgrade then you dont have to. but if you do then you should get a better barrel, and egrip or response trigger. If you choose to get any of these things, to increase your fire power then you should get Squishy Paddles for your Cyclone Feed. A specific barrel that i would put on my gun is ether the JJ Ceramic Barrel, or the Lapco Big Shot Barrel. These two barrels make your shots very accurate and very smooth. The thing i like in perticular in the JJ Ceramic Barrel is that it is easy to clean. A Ball Breaks in your barrel, you shoot twice and the barrel is clean!
Strengths: Durrable
Costumizable
Easy To Clean
AMAZING!!!!
Weaknesses: A little Heavey
Not Accurate At The Start
Air HOG!
Review: I have used my Tippman X-7 For 4 years now and i havnt once had a problem with it. last year is when i started to actually costumize it. This gun I can say is one of the best woods ball guns ever. You Can Costumize the gun to anything you want it to be. When i first saw this gun it was like Love at first Sight. I decided to buy this gun and then I loved it even more. I am telling you. if your not the type of person who likes to play speed ball and likes to actually save there paint then the Tippman X-7 is the way to go!
Conclusion: If your looking for a scenerio gun or a woodsball gun, then Tippman X-7 is the way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hoov Wednesday, September 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98, Spyder mr 2, A-5
Marker Setup: X-7 with Apex
Recommended
Upgrades:
Squishy Paddles,
Apex Barrel
Strengths: Looks Tactical, the fire modes are cool and it's light-weighted
Weaknesses: It's rather expensive, stock barrel's not too good, upgrades are expensive
Review: I bought this marker off the web and I think it's a really nice marker. My favorite fire mode is rebound. The barrel is really the marker's weekness since it's not very accurate. I think the apex is the best upgrade for any woodsball marker. Also for those who like playing on full auto, The squishy paddles reduce ball chopping. Since I've installed them on my x-7, I can empty the whole loader without worrying about chopping a single paintball.
Conclusion: I think this might be a bit pricey as a 1st gun but for people who know they'll be playing for a while, it's worth the cash.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media