paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse Sl8R / Planet Eclipse Sl8R / Planet Eclipse Sl8R / Planet Eclipse Sl8R

Planet Eclipse Sl8R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse Sl8R

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse Sl8R
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1795

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Eclipse SL8R Technical Specification
SL8r

Exclusivity. Style. Performance. Passion. The key ingredients to the most highly desirable and sought-after production marker in the sport.
Very limited numbers, combined with bespoke items that are never for re-sale or made available as upgrades mean that you are guaranteed to stand out from the crowd.
Exciting, cutting-edge styling, combined with unique performance and style-driven features give the SL8r it’s individuality to set it apart from and above the other models in the Ego range. Sweeping curves moulded to the interior layout ensure that whilst designed to appear as an object of desire, its form follows function in considering every fraction of an ounce in its construction.
But style is nothing without performance. Optimised to perform at the very highest levels of the modern game, the SL8r is capable of speeds in excess of 55 cycles per second, and has been tested firing paintballs with the BBSS system enabled at rates of over 35 balls per second. Combine this kind of firepower with efficiency that in real-world conditions allows the user to empty over 11 pods from an average sized tank, a weight that makes it the lightest marker in its class, and you have a product that any Pro, in and league, would die for.
But ultimately the SL8r is designed with passion, by players with passion, for players with heart, who desire only the very best that Eclipse can produce.


Feature List

Unique SL8r Features:

Bespoke SL SL8r Body
Bespoke SL Adjustable and Fixed LPR Caps
Bespoke SL Magnetic and Spring Trigger Return
Bespoke SL Cure2 Bolt
Bespoke SL In-Line Regulator
Bespoke SL OOPS Assembly
Bespoke SL Clamping Feed Assembly
Bespoke SL Low and High Pressure Valve Guides
Bespoke SL Trigger Frame
Bespoke SL Zick Kit and Rammer Cap
Bespoke SL LPR Torpedo
Bespoke SL LPR Piston
Bespoke SL Contour Eye Covers
Bespoke SL Circuit Board
5-Piece SL Shaft Barrel Kit
Viz-Eyes Red BBSS System (these are called Lazer on website)
Audible Expansion Board on Circuit Board

Ego8 Features:

Ultra-Lightweight Monoform Body
Deftek Offset Feed Tube
Integrated Rammer Housing
Integrated FRM
Larger Valve Chamber
Lower Operating Pressure
Dual Trigger Sensors - Microswitch and Opto
Dual Instrument Grade Ball-Raced Trigger
Skinny-Fit Co-Moulded Rubber E-Star Grips
T-Slot Rail Mounting System
Capped and Uncapped Semi and Ramping Modes
Compatible with 2008 Rules for all Major Leagues
9 Debounce Levels
Direct-Acting Solenoid
Black on White Backlit Transflective LCD

Technical Specifications
All Measurements include Barrel (14Ó), OOPS, Battery, Ready-to-go:

Length: 536 mm
Height: 218 mm
Width: 26.5 mm
Weight: 839g/1.89lb
Operating Pressure: Approx. 285 FPS @ 180 PSI With LP Valve Guide.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse Sl8R is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
KaSBeK Sunday, March 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SL74
SL66
Dm7,8
Marker Setup: Ego SL8r
16" SLY Barrel
Empire Magna
300bar Stako
Guerrilla Air Myth Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
None I just use the Sly because the self cleaning tech.
Strengths: Weight
Reliability
Fast
Air efficiency
New Bolt
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just changed from a SL74 to the SL8r... when i got the marker i said... bleh it's almost the same... but today after playin' it really changed my mind... the new trigger frame is very comfortable, the cure 2 bolt is really sweat i had a kila dirty bolt in my SL74, well the new cure bolt is the next generation of bolts, it has the shape of the ball so the impact is really perfect, i shot 6 bags of dxs gold paint and got 0 chops...
I dont know why but i set the dwell lower than the sl74 and i got some extra shots from a tank with out loosin' accuracy.

When i finished my day i went to try the marker un capped and it rocked 39bps with the stock magna drive with out the rf transmissor...

P.S. Forgive my english is not my homelanguage... lol
Conclusion: The best marker in the world and its cheaper than the SL74, so its win win for the players this year you have to spend less money to own the best marker in the market, you dont need to spend no extra bucks, it comes with the shaft II barrel kit (.685, .689, .693 backs & 14" 16" tips) the new clamp of the feedneck is great btw. So no upgrades r needed!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 6th, 2008 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Vicious49 Tuesday, May 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
10 different Egos from 05 all the way up to the SL8R, DM's, Shocker, A1, Mag, pretty much any gun you can name.
Marker Setup: SL8R fully stock
SL74 fully stock
RT Mag with X Valve and ULE body
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. Most 'ups' are a downgrade on Egos. The only upgrade for an Ego is a newer Ego. That and a better owner.
Strengths: Light, Fast, Accurate, Reliable, Efficient
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is my 10th Ego, I've had everything from an 05, Nexus, Dark, SL66, 07, 08, SL74, and now SL8R. My main reason for continuing to purchase Egos is their reliability. I've only had the SL8R a few weeks so I can't speak for it's reliability except based on my past experiences with PE markers.

SL8R is the lightest gun on the market right now. It comes with an LP Valve (for lower operating pressure allowing you to shoot even more brittle paint) and HP Valve (for better efficiency), SL barrel kit (685, 689, 693 backs and 14" and 16" tips). It comes with the preset LPR cap as well as the adjustable LPR cap. It also comes with the Cure 2 bolt which is supposed to be even softer on paint. There's some other stuff in there too, but those are the only ones I care about or will ever use.

PE has made the gun about as dummy proof as they could. There is a +/- sign on the bottom of the reg indicating which way to turn to adjust velocity. There is the preset LPR cap for those that can't seem to keep the adjustable one flush. The board comes preset with the updated PSP and Millenium modes. It has PSP 07, PSP 08, MS 07, MS 08, Semi, and those are the only ones I remember at the moment.

My very first day using it, I was able to get 1400 shots out of a full 68/45 tank. That's not bad considering I'm using the LP valve and the gun is not broken in at all. I was using XBall Silver and Xball Bronze and I didn't have a single break/chop all day.

I've shot tons of Egos and the SL8R feels slightly different when shooting than the rest of them. It's hard to explain so you will have to shoot one for yourself to understand what I mean. It's not necessarily less kick, but it's crisper/smoother somehow and has a different, slightly softer sound signature as well. It's still not as quiet or smooth as a Matrix, which some might see as a weakness. I personally like a bit of kick/sound so I know my marker is firing.

The other thing I liked about this compared to my SL74 is that there is no gap between the body and frame so it's hard to get paint in between there now. Also, the eye covers extend below the grips so paint can't get in there now either.
Conclusion: The gun is light, fast, reliable, accurate, and efficient. Not sure what else you could ask for. PE has taken any complaints there may have been about the SL74 and turned them into improvements on the SL8R.

It comes with a barrel kit, a great reg and on/off, clamping feedneck, and great trigger. If you have the money and want a gun that is set to rip right out of the box and won't require an upgrade ever, this is for you. It does have a high price tag, but it's worth it for the reliability and customer service it comes with. I'd rather pay a little extra for peace of mind so I didn't mind the price tag much. But it's definitely not for everyone.

Feel free to post up any intelligent questions/comments you might have and I'll try to respond to them when I have time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

guncollector1 Friday, July 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fusion LE,mini,marq6,ego7,shocker..all good but..
Marker Setup: SL8R blue/gray stock
velocity stock
DXS 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
faster/ up'd loader
better/lighter reg
Strengths: Light
Fast
Reliable
Weaknesses: opponents...
when I play with my
SL8R
Review: When My SL8R finally showed up, I had to take it out back and compare it to my 07 ego. So I gassed em both up and slid some loaders on them. Now I love(d) my 07 ego but the SL8R just took it to a whole new level. Its quieter and has less/no kick, but the thing that really stood out was the way it almost makes your fingers go faster. I was shooting awsome ropes of paint like I never had before.
So Finally Sunday rolls around...when I can really test this thing out. I get to the field and am waiting to go out....must of had 50 questions/compliments/oohs and ahs. Anyway I finally get on the field and I manage to take like 15 guys out and just about single handedly won the game. Now granted this was outddoor recballers...but it was the group with the good markers and at least some experience. I had never done this before(I've played there about 100 times before. So I figure it must be a fluke...The 3rd game of the day I was able to do the same thing again. Now I'd like to think I'm a paintball god, but it was the gun that made all the difference.

To some up, all the reviews of this gun above give a lot of facts about the gun...like I said, light,fast,efficient, never a break,easy maintenance....but its the GOD like feel it gives you on the field that really separates this from all the others.

Conclusion: If you got the dosh and your considering getting a high end marker...don't spend 12-1300 bucks on something thats "just about" perfect. Go ahead and get an SL8R and you'll never look at your marker and say I could of had......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Friday, January 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
[Tested] DM8, DM9- for their price, ridiculously under-featured, but they shoot alright.
[Tested] Bob Long Marq 7- the one I tested was ridiculously upgraded. a not half bad marker
Tippmann X7- similar only in that it too propels paint forward
Tippmann 98
EGO8 Origin
Smart Parts Dynasty Shocker SFT- when it shoots, it's a pretty good gun.
Marker Setup: White/Blue Planet Eclipse SL8R w/ RF chip installed, Empire Prophecy, Ninja Paintball 50 ci/4500 PSI stubby tank, Hammerhead Barrel system



Backup marker:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ autococker->98 barrel adapter, Empire two-piece 14" barrel, DYE rotor loader, DXS 45/3000 N2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The SL8R, out of the box, doesn't need anything. Chances are if you're shelling out this much on a marker you've already got the loader and tank that it deserves.

That said, upgrades can be bought depending on personal preference. Personally, I bought a full hammerhead kit for the even better bore-sizing capabilities, and it has served me well. An RF chip to go along with the RF capable loader of your choice is another thing to consider, if desired.

Again: the SL8R needs nothing but what it comes with in the box to rip.
Strengths: -Dependability
-performance
- efficiency
-Adaptability
-Ease of use
-Consistency
-Ease of maintenance
- looks
Weaknesses: - Price isn't a marker weakness
Review: When I first got into the market for an upgrade to my aging but trusty Tippmann 98, The SL8R had just been announced. I'd seen angels back in the day, but I'd never really given them a good look- too expensive, and at the time, unnecessary for outdoor play. The SL8R, on the other hand, appeared to me the gun to end all guns.

Three markers and a year and a half later, I was once again in the market for a replacement for my now dying Shocker SFT. Having tested and been on the wrong end of the EGO series, I was looking into buying one. I was hunting around on E-bay when lo and behold, a brand new SL8R was being sold for an unbelievable price. After a few days of bidding and with a lot of luck, I won it. The following is my review after six months of testing.

Dependability: The SL8R is about as dependable in operation as my tippmann. Granted, I wouldn't advise abusing it like a tippmann, but after playing in both rain and snow, this gun kept on going. in the entirety of the time I've had the gun, I've only ever had two breaks- one in the cold, and one from a seriously deformed paintball, and both in the barrel.

Performance: In short, this thing is capable of some pretty serious firepower. Give it the right hopper, and it'll shoot as fast as you could ever want it to.

Air Efficiency: even with the low pressure valve guide, the SL8R barely sips air.

Adaptability: Eclipse includes in the box everything you'd need to tune the SL8R to your tastes. Want a smoother shot? You've got a low pressure guide. Want better efficiency? you've got a high pressure valve insert. Want a mix? You get the picture. The built in board has everything you need and more, making any aftermarket board a downgrade in comparison. The trigger can be adjusted to fit any feel you want via the trusted and true allen key method, and in any case feels snappy and responsive. You've even got the option of spring/magnet return or both.

Ease of Use: yes, it's a marker, and paintball markers are typically pretty easy to use. But by this I mean making adjustments specifically. Typically, to make changes to board settings, you'd need the manual sitting beside you and you'd need to look at the LED lights with all the attentiveness of a Navy Signalman. The LCD screen and the way the menus are set up allow you to make changes in moments, in much the same way as you'd use an Ipod. The velocity is even marked with arrows delineating which way to turn. Simple.

Consistency: not much to say. Once broken in, the Reg is outstanding. It should be noted that broken in means putting about 10 cases, or 20,000 rounds, through the gun.

Ease of Maintenance: the SL8R is a breeze to maintain. The two parts most frequently needed to be maintained (and these only every once in a while) can be accessed in moments.

Looks: the SL8R has awesome milling, with sweeping, front-to-back lines. The trigger guard is massive, and in addition to being extremely comfortable, also makes for an extremely distinct look- people know exactly what kind of gun you're carrying with a single look.

Price: this is the one sore point about the marker. The asking price is HIGH. This, however, isn't a marker weakness, and in this writer's opinion is worth the product received.
Conclusion: The SL8R isn't a marker for anyone. It has a steep price tag, and needs a great loader and a good HPA tank to truly shine. And it requires regular use to justify what was spent on it.

This being said, for the real paintball enthusiast or tournament player, I'd safely say there isn't a better marker out there.

[UPDATE 30 SEP 2010] After having used this for a little more than a year now, and having tested all of PE's newer offerings, I can safely say that the 08 series is probably the best marker they've made to date. If you can find one of these in good condition, take it and run.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 17th, 2010 at 3:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

seriouslysilly Friday, September 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dangerous Power Fusion FX
System X NME
Ego 2005
Ego SL74
Ego 2008
Ego 2009
Ego SL94
Marker Setup: Ego SL74
Halo B with rip drive/Rotor
68/3000 Crossfire
Lucky 15 barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lucky 15 barrel kit
Strengths: Reliability
Ease of maintenance
Improvements over other Ego (old&new)
Shooting experience
Weaknesses: Price (even though it is 2 year old marker)
Review: I recently acquired a LNIB SL8R purely by accident. I was totally satisfied with my SL74 and was not currently looking for another marker.
I am definitely glad I had the pleasure in holding and shooting this beauty for myself.

Compared to the SL74, they both felt similar with the exception of the snatch grip and trigger guard. The snatch grip is significantly shorter than the SL74/08. I personally prefer the shorter grip on the SL8R and don't have trouble holding it there in between fields/events.
The trigger guard is noticeably bigger than the SL74/08. So much so that it almost touches the HPR reg. You now have to wrap your non-dominant hand around the HPR reg and behind the trigger guard as you will not be able to squeeze your thumb between the reg and guard. Some may not like this configuration and may seem awkward. This change allows people with larger fingers to have more room to walk the trigger.

Other positives in this package are the two valve guides to suit your needs: LP (smoothness) and HP (efficiency). Also included in the package is the fixed LPR and regular LPR. The fixed LPR is great for those that just want to shoot it stock and not have to worry about messing with the settings. Being a tinkerer, I have left the fixed LPR in the clamshell.

I have shot it side-by-side with my SL74 and it seems that the SL8R has less kick and less sound than the SL74. The SL8R is also comparable to the newer Ego 09 and SL94. Any differences among the newer egos were not significant. So much so that I sold the 09 and SL94 because there was not much difference and preferred to have my $ back. Keep in mind that my SL8R is not broken in yet as I bought it LNIB. I can't even imagine how it will perform when it does get "broken in".

Although I haven't tested the Lucky15 barrel kit on the SL8R I assume it will perform similar to my informal tests with the SL74. It is basically the same barrel (bore size, length, porting). I would imagine that the Lucky15 will reduce the sound signature even more compared to the stock SL barrel kit.

Conclusion: I actually prefer the SL8R to the SL74, Ego 09, and SL94. PE has improved its design and characteristics from the SL74 and the changes between the SL8R to the 09/SL94 are not enough to justify selling the SL8R in favor of the 09/SL94.

Anyone who is able to find an SL8R nowadays which is still in very good condition (not that rare) will definitely be thrilled with its performance. It will still hold its own among the newer markers for some time to come. There will be no doubt on why the SL74 & Sl8R series is acclaimed to be the "best" PE has made even to this day (2010).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STORYTELLER Sunday, March 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Egos plus a small variety of other high end markers.
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse SL8R with stiffi barrel, Stako tank (0.7kg not allowed in the U.S :P), 4500 Guarilla air MYTH reg, Torque 440 Loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing what so ever, nothing is even out yet...
Strengths: Weight, looks, Anti-chop system IS amazing! very little kick, very efficient with air
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: Im not going to give a full review now untill i really give the marker a good session of some abuse. But all i can say is this:

- we tested the SL with really really brittle zap chronic paint, no other marker would ramp even at 12 bps without chopping. The SL shot 2 whole loaders without a single chop, i was left stunned.. (you can see the test on youtube just search for SL8R). we even set the marker to shoot 30bps with a loader that only feed @ a max of 27 bps, and even then the BBSS system is just perfect, shooting that fast and not having sufficient feeding through 1000 balls and not having one single chop proves it.

-the whole package it come in is all you need. it comes with the preset lpr cap which will help alot of players to be able to hold there marker just the way they feel comfortable with. 2 barrel tips and 3 backs as a barrel set is perfect. plus it come with RF harness and HP-LP valve guides what else can you ask for?

-Weight and consistancy plus air comsumption is like never seen befor. we shot pod after pod after pod and the tank just would empty like you would expect it to.

-the trigger guard is the only bad point i find for myself on the marker but thats just me. dont like the finger traveling i have to do.

Conclusion: great gun worth every penny and it really is for the top pro players cos everything counts for them.

ill be back with a full review after i torchure it a little...

it really is a class A art piece of marker excellence.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 28th, 2008 at 12:20 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

awaywithdante Saturday, December 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares to this gun
Marker Setup: Bio-Hazard SL8R
Pinokio hopper
PE 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades necessary for this gun.
Strengths: Everything about this gun.
Weaknesses: This gun does not have a weakness.
Review: when i bought this gun i did not expect it to be so nice. the milling on this gun is insainly nice.

Pros:
Accurate - shoots ball on ball
Efficient - i get lots of shots off of my tank
Quiet - for a popit valve gun it is very quiet gun. is not like other egos or eteks. this gun sounded like a little pop compared to a bang.
Size - when i was looking at pictures of this gun it looked pretty tall, but in person it was so small and light
Fast - i achieved 38 BPS with the eyes off. yes it chopped, the Pinokio inst the fastest.
Feedneck and ASA - the feedneck and asa on this gun are very nice. feed neck is a nice clamping feedneck that holds the loader tight and does not loosen. the asa is very nice. it is fairly easy to turn and is milled down for lightness.
Milling - this gun is so nice.

best gun ive ever played with
Conclusion: I believe that this gun is the best gun produced to date. its light, fast, accurate and is very air efficient. when i am using this gun i play so much better than i used to play with other guns. i haven't found any weaknesses with this gun.

This gun is so much better than shockers. i have been told that i should have saved money and got a shocker or some sort but this
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 4th, 2009 at 7:33 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow_LP Tuesday, July 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE DM8
Marker Setup: Usually use my DM8. CP ASA and Crossfire 68/4500 tank. Dye Ultralite barrel. Now going to play with SL8R. Will use it straight out of the box with above tank for now.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None noted for SL8R yet.
Strengths: Light, thin, efficient, easy to use board with display, and nice look of marker.
Weaknesses: None noted, you get what you pay for..
Review: After a long wait, approximately two and a half months, I was finally able to get my hands on a Cold Steel colored SL8R. It comes in a convenient case storing and protecting everything. As mentioned earlier, if you are one concerned with the looks of your marker, this is very easy on the eyes. The marker is very light. I have only tested running paint through it since I have only had it since last week. I used my Pulse loader for this. The marker has nice feel in hand and in semi mode runs nicely. I later played with the settings and set it up for linear ramp at the max ROF. Lets just say it will spray the paint if you want it to. The ROF reading on the board display was reading that it hit up to 32 BPS. Not sure if it actually hit that high but it drained the hopper very quickly. Will ahve to get in on the chrono at the field this weekend.
The marker is not as quiet as the DM8 but is not very loud either for having open bolt system. Out of the box, not really tampering with any of the settings, with a 45/4500 tank only filled to about 2500 psi, I got around 1000 shots out of it. Also I had ZERO chopped paint.
(July 13, 2008) Finally got a chance to get this marker on the field today. Of course as soon as I broke it out and was hitting the field to play,everyone asked what it was. They all were impressed by the initial sight of the marker. They were even more impressed or maybe intimidated by it if the were on the opposing team, when it was on the field. It was very accurate and comfortable to play with. Just ask those who got shot by it. Usually a one shot hit. Most of the play today was semi mode, later I changed it to ramp for one game. Man does it send paint down the field quick. Got engaged with opponent in the snake and got a nice volly at him just as he leaned out and got him right in the hand. An A+ marker in my opinion and would recommend it to anyone. Very air effiecient and no chopped paint(approx. 1500 - 2000 rounds shot).
Conclusion: You get what you pay for. So far the marker has not disappointed me. Light, efficient, accurate, and not a bad looking marker.

After playing today, you definately get what you pay for with this marker!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 13th, 2008 at 8:09 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

RedAngelEyes Thursday, July 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm6,7,8, angel ir3, angel g7, angel 1, Ego7, this blows it away.
Marker Setup: Pure Sl8R, Vlocity w/dynasty board, Crossy 70/45 stub.

Dye DM7, Tadao Yakuza OLED board, Critical Trigger, VIrtue Laser eyes, CP constant flow plug, Ultralite barrel/stiffi switch kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Violent Ego Thumbwheel, this is so much easier than using an allen all the time to tighten the feedneck.
Strengths: Weight, efficiency, speed, consistancy, intimidation :)
Weaknesses: Allen to tighten feedneck
Review: I've been using this marker for a while now. I've owned many high ends from dm7's to angels and other ego's. By far the Sl8R is my favorite of all of them. It's super easy to maintain, the most consistent, efficient marker i've ever owned. The trigger setup is phenomenal, the board is excellent, the weight is one of the lightest ever made. The barrel kit is excellent as well. I can't praise this one enough. I took a chance and sold my favorite, highly customized ego7 to be able to purchase this, and I am not looking back!!!
The Sl8R is worth it's hefty price tag, PE really did an excellent job with this one. I like it better than all of the 09's i've shot.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone who has the means to own one. It's beautiful, fast, light, and reliable... is there really anything more you could want from a marker? Grab one if you can!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 23rd, 2009 at 11:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

satyn7 Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, Alien Interceptor, 07 Egos, Bushmasters
Marker Setup: Ninja Dark SL8r, shaft kit, magna loader and DXS 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Lightweight, Large Trigger Guard, Little/NO Kick, Air Efficiency, Accuracy, too many to list
Weaknesses: Price...but you will pay for quality!
Review: I got my Dark SL8r back in April...and I cant say enough about this gun. I have used it every weekend since I got it. I have owned many guns...and this one by far is the best one I have ever owned/shot. Enough about the hype...now the review!

Lightweight: I have never held a gun this light. The specs show that it weighs 1.89 LBS to the SL74 1.87 LBS. I put them both on a Digi Scale with Shaft Barrel and battery installed...the SL8r was light by .01 LB. Not enough to make a difference...just hold them in your hands with the same set up. You can feel that difference...trust me!

Large Trigger Guard: This is one thing for the HUGE HAND GUYS out there. You have more room to walk your fingers without them hitting the guard. That makes a big difference when you are walking the trigger for long ropes on the breakouts.

Natural Feel: Some of you may not think this is something to write about...but if a gun feels natural in your hands. You will be more comfortable with the way you play. And we know being more comfortable lets you relax and focus more on what you are doing.

Little/NO Kick: Yes it has the same kit as the SL74 and the EGO 08...but for some reason the SL8r seems to kick less than its predecessor. It has a crisper and smoother shooting cycle as well...which means you can shoot long ropes and keep it on target longer for the eliminations.

Air Efficiency: Ballers beware...I played a scenario game last month! With the setup listed above...I shot 9x140 round pods and half a hopper off 4000 PSI. Rough count that is about 1300 shots. No marker I have ever owned has been close to that kind of efficiency. So the boasting of 1600+ shots on a 68/4500 is NO JOKE...you will need to fine tune your gun; but it can be done.

Accuracy: With the new SL Kit that comes with the SL8r...the accuracy and lack of noise has been improved from the past versions of Egos. I have shot paints ranging from DXS X-ball Bronze and Silver, Procaps, Marbilizer, Ultra Evil, Stinger, Nightmare and some many others its hard to remember them all. Roughly about 14+ cases of paint shot through the Dark SL8r and NOT ONE CHOP! I have had some barrel breaks...i think about 7-8...but thats it. The Cure2 Bolt...is very gentle on paint!

EZ Maintenance: Not much to say here...disassemble, clean, lube and reassemble by the manual takes about 5 mins. Thats the LPR, inline, Rammer and Bolt.

Very User Friendly: PE kept with its SIMPLE RULE...read the manual and you cant go wrong. It tells you step by step how to set up you electronics and regs.

Weakness: The only thing I could say would be a weakness...is the price! It cost less than the SL74 when it first came out! But just like anything you buy...you get what you pay for! And with the SL8r...you get a top notch gun that needs NO UPGRADES to make it perform better!
Conclusion: Seriously...if you have the cash, I highly recommend this gun! I have shot many guns in my paintball career...but nothing like this! If you are serious about your game and demand the best from your equipment...the SL8r Series Gun is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media