paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY / Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY / Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY / Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY / Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY

Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Shocktech

Buy Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY

Paintball Autococker 3-Ways

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 89
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Ultra smooth, short pull 3-Way. Black Anodized aluminum or stainless steel.
Product Availability 
The Shocktech Bomb 3-WAY is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ahhyeah1212 Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP brass 3-way
Marker Setup: '03 green WGP VF Cocka
Stiffi 14" Barrel
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
WGP Cam Adjuster
BL Torpedo inline reg
Halo B Loader
Imitation bomb drop forward
Strengths: Ultra SHORT switching = Crazy short trigger pull
Cheap: 24-30 bucks
DOES NOT LEAK
Weaknesses: People who don't know how to install it properly will get leaks.
Review: I got my trigger pull down to the 2nd to the last setting on the Cam adjuster(2mm). You MUST read the instructions!!! Upon installing the 1st time, you MUST lube it up with Vaseline and air up your gun SLOWLY starting with zero pressure turning it up to full operating pressure using your inline regulator. If you air it up suddenly for the 1st time on installation, then you will tear an O-ring and that's where people start to b!tch about leaking....they dont know what their doing!!! After its installed properly and the 3-way rod is all set you can then air your gun up normally again.

It will leak while just starting to give it a lil pressure but you have to KEEP turning it up to operating pressure so it seals and the leaking WILL stop.
Conclusion: Don't be deceived by the low raters of this product...I have read them all b4 getting this and thought I'd try the 3-way since its so cheap compared to the others...if it leaked as they said, I only lose $27 bucks as opposed to like $35-50. BUT it DID NOT LEAK!! All I did was follow the instructions that came with it and some online directions on installing 3-ways in general.

Once I got my 2mm trigger pull tuned in and timed I played and it worked flawlessly....I ripped on my gun all day-NO LEAKS. Get this product...its worth it and it works...you can get a trigger pull so short its retarded!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 13th, 2003 at 2:27 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

COCKER_JUNKIE Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock weak ass 3 way
Marker Setup: 2k2 red cocker 12 volt revy x board (pre brass eagle), red psycho ballistics pro drop forward, shocktech bomb 3-way, kapp fat ram, lapco autospirit, eclipse blade trigger frame and a dye izon sight.
Strengths: Ultra smooth as mentioned 1 to 2 mm throw and looks pimp
Weaknesses: I am yet to find one
Review: This 3 way is so much better than the pos brass 3 way. I got mine in chrome and it looks pimp. I just finished retiming my gun and this thing rips paint when put together with an awesome trigger frame like the eclipse. people say it eats o rings but it comes with 2 extra anyway. One thing that is a must is you have to have an adjustable trigger frame. the stock 2k2 frame wouldnt get any improvement. this is also a very low cost improvement
Conclusion: If your looking for a great 3 way to improve your performance over the stock or any 3 way get this! Its cheap, it looks great and it really gets the job done
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 29th, 2004 at 2:54 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SocraticB Thursday, May 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS 3-Way
Bullett 3-way
Stock
STO
Palmer's Quickswitch
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP Karnivor with stock pneumatics and Planet Eclipse E2 Eblade upgrade.

1999 Right Feed WGP 'cocker with Bomb, Planet Hinge, Palmer's Ram/LPR, AKA Sidewinder, AKA Tornado Valve, AKA Lightining Bolt
Strengths: Speed
Build quality
Reliability
Value
Weaknesses: Need to be careful with install
Review: I've used Shocktech's Bomb 3-way on all the 'cockers I've built or upgraded. I don't use any other, as this one is the best I've found. My impressions are:

I. STRENGTHS

Fit & Finish

The Bomb is well-made, with no milling marks. The interior of the valve body is smooth and polished, and the piston has no burrs and holds the o-rings well. Anodizing is excellent; no marks or thinness.

Short Throw

The throw on the Shocktech Bomb is the shortest I've ever seen. Some come close, or may even equal the short throw of the Bomb, but not are better. It appears that most users claim a throw of 2mm; I found this achievable only on aftermarket frames by Eclipse, Dye and CCM. It's darn close to 2mm on other frames, however. The Bomb lets you shorten your trigger stroke, and allows for a faster rate of fire. The shorter trigger stroke also reduces your chances of short-stroking, once you're used to the pull.

Reliability

I never saw any damage to the o-rings from this valve. It does not leak during the firing sequences. Like all 3-ways, it may leak if the actuating rod is touched or out of alignment; however, it is not very sensitive to those events. It leaks more rarely, and in smaller amounts, than any other 3-way I've used, almost a non-issue. Once I've installed it, I have never had to adjust the collar or piston; it has stayed put and worked perfectly on my '99 right-feed for almost 3 years.

Value

You can get Bombs in several colors for $25-$30; a very good price considering the competition and the quality of the valve. Not only is there no better 3-way out there, but there isn't a better bang for your buck.

II. WEAKNESSES

Installlation

The install on this valve is a little more tricky than most. The hoses are 'backwards' compared to stock and most aftermarket valves, and the initial gas-up must be done carefully to avoid tearing an o-ring. However, if you can time a 'cocker, you can easily install the Bomb. I've had buddies with little experience install the Bomb without incident; all it takes is careful reading of the directions and a little time.
Conclusion: Best 3-way on the market. Best bang for your buck. As fast, reliable and worry-free as any 3-way, and cheaper than most. I see no reason to buy any other 3-way.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Everlight389 Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Orracle 3-way
Stock Autococker 3-way
Marker Setup: AIM 17 Red to Black Body
Orracle Tickler Regulator
WGP STO Ram w/ 2 Eclipse QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
Black Magic Bolt
WGP Lockdown Hammer
Strengths: - Short Pull
- Not terribly expensive ($25 for black)
Weaknesses: - None
Review: I bought this from my local paintball store and put it on my custom autococker. This little piece allows me to outshoot an Empire reloader with a mechanical autococker... which is insane. Contrary to popular belief, it is rather easy to install. If you already have a big LPR installed you may have to take off the barbs to get in one, then screw it in, and replace the barbs. Works perfectly for me, is a very nice product.
Conclusion: Cheap, makes autocockers shoot faster, overall a great upgrade. 10 because it does what it's supposed to.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 10th, 2005 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kdogg937 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock brass sto 3-way, sto 3-way, ans 3-way
Marker Setup: um basically a 2k3 vert that doesn't have anymore stock parts on it :) (i'm sick of listing all my parts)
Strengths: very short throw
inexpensive
good looking
smooth
Weaknesses: leaks a little (either when not lubed properly or not enough pressure)
Review: Ok this was the first upgrade i put on my completely stock 2k3 vert about 7 months ago. For the first 3 months it didn't leak a bit. I was able to get my trigger pull down to a comfortable ~3mm (actually a little less than 3). It could be smaller but if i made it smaller my safety wouldn't work lol. So it worked fine and then it started leaking... so i was talking to a friend who told me to put a little vaseline on it. that did the trick. Also when i got my tickler lpr i was able to turn the pressure up a little which made it almost never leak even when low on lube. So now it works great and has a short smooth pull.
Conclusion: Over all I am completely happy with my bomb, and if it does start to act up i just put some lube on it and it works perfectly again. If ur lookin for a shorter trigger pull or just a new 3-way in general get a shocktech bomb
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WorrBaller Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock brass
Marker Setup: Black '03 A/C
14" DYE Ultralite
KAPP F.A.T. Ram
Shocktech "bomb" 3-way
WGP Tickler LPR
Shocktech mini drop
PMI 47/3000 steel (heavy m.f.!)
HALO TSA 220 Backman (with a custom, hand painted shark grin. Looks pimp)
Strengths: super short, can get higher bps, short, smooth, short, oh and short
Weaknesses: small barbs, so the hoses leak
Review: This thing rocks, got my pull down to 1-2 mm, I can almost walk the trigger (but with a few misfires in between). Totally increased my bps, the HALO has trouble keeping up sometimes. It did leak (still does, but not as bad), to get the pull as short as they did, Shocktech had to make the barbs smaller but the hoses inner diameter isn't as small as it should be so it isn't air tight and leaks when the trigger is pulled. But all you have to do is get something (I used super-glue) to put inside and outside to plug the leaks, no biggie.
Conclusion: Since nothing (so far) is perfect and because of the problems in the beginning I give it an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 3-way on a cocker
Marker Setup: Stock pretty much, All American Teardrop barrel, droped the shroud off cuz it looked like crap. Ummm.... the 3-way, and some ANS stuff like beavertail, and drop forward i use a 16oz Co2 tank, and it kicks
Strengths: Dang short trigger pull, insanely short if you take the time and time it. It is said to have a 2mm trigger pull with even the stock 45 frame!
Best 3-way on the market........even tho the dye does look nice
Weaknesses: You have to get it on just right or you will blow the o-rings, i guess that all the guys that say they suck just don't know what the hell they are doing, go to airsmith to put it on if you don't know how to time a cocker, plus you won't have to waste all that paint if you time it.
Conclusion: A new girp frame would be the first thing i would buy to help this product work better, and to relieve some pressure off your reg, up front get a jackhammer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roasted_Skink Tuesday, October 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 3-way (dude this is not garbage you just have no idea about timing!!!)
Marker Setup: 2k2 MacDev Sonic Cocker
PMI 68ci 4500psi air tank
DuckBill ASA
Gladiator Regular
12vt Revilation w/x-board
Strengths: Shorter stroke (not by much) very light though these are better used with a sliding trigger instead of a hinge if you want to get the best out of LP operation!
these things are great if people that know what there doing put them on...such as shocktech techs (just look at the sfl)
Weaknesses: Requires higher pressure to lock o-rings thus not run as LP as you could be
Conclusion: I own a sonic cocker and there are only a few true cockers (not electro ones) that can out shoot it the 3-way i have on it is a refined factory 3-way...same operation but lightend. If you figure out the timing thing and understand more about cockers you will find that even the "bomb" 3-ways arn't that much shorter
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Richard-in-AZ Saturday, June 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP 3-way.
Marker Setup: 2002 Autococker

Regulator: Palmer Stabilizer - Great for both HP and CO2.

Air Source: PMI HP 68ci/3000psi - More consistent than CO2 = Better Accuracy.

Valve: Shockteck 3:16 - High Flow valve helps you run your gun at lower pressure thereby making it quieter and, arguably, a bit more accurate.

Valve Spring: The stock spring works good, no need to change it out for a lighter spring. As for the Main Spring, the green colored one works for me.

Bolt: The stock bolt works because It's already a high flow, but I may get an AKA Lightning bolt down the road.

Barrel 1: Lapco Bigshot - Good for low pressure setups. It's loud so in close combat it's kind of intimidating I think.

Barrel 2: Powerlyte Speedline 14" - I just got this. It looks good and I like the design. It also shoots very quiet. Have yet to try it on the field, but I think it will be my number one barrel soon.

Hinge Trigger Frame: Dye in chrome - It looks great and works decent, but I'm still looking for one with a lighter trigger pull. I hear Powerlyte also makes a hinge trigger that is super smooth so I may get one of those down.

3-Way: Shocktech Bomb (black) - Very short trigger pull, but they screwed up with the O-Rings. They should come standard with the urethane o-rings since they are much stronger than the pink or black ones.

Neumatics (front block) Regulator: Shocktech (black) - I like being able to adjust the pressure to the front neumatics so it works fine.

ASA Adapter: KAPP (chrome) - I got the one that is angled 15 degrees. It looks great and offers several surprising benefits. One, I can take my regulator off without having to remove the trigger frame due to the pressure gauge getting in the way. Two, I can get more leverage on the CP On/Off knob to pressurize or depressurize the marker. Three, It makes the gun more comfortable to hold.

Drop Forward: Custom Products Flame - It looks great, and positions the tank comfortably.

Front Block: WGP (chrome) - Looks better.

Low Pressure Chamber: KAPP (chrome) - Just for looks. Fills up the gap between my neumatics and also makes the "clear" hoses stand out. It can be a pain to put on so you may want to pay your local paintball shop to install it for you.
Strengths: Looks nicer than stock, and has a very short pull so you can shoot faster.
Weaknesses: The O-Rings are too easily damaged. Before you even install it you may want to replace them with the urethane variety. Your local paintball shop should have them on hand. Be sure to lube up the shaft before you install it onto your marker. Regular paintball oil works fine.
Conclusion: Does what it should and looks good enough.

Helpful Hints: If you use this 3-Way without a hinge trigger you'll need to switch the front and back hoses leaving the center hose alone. If you also get a hinge trigger then you can just hook up the hoses as if it were a stock gun because the individual hose configurations cancel each other out.

Tools: First you should have an allen wrench set. The (red) Eklind set works good, it's in inches not metric. With the full set you'll be able to deal with all of the allen screws on the Autococker including the velocity adjuster nut. Then you'll need a pair of needle nose pliers for adjusting the coupler and for attaching and detaching the hoses.

Finally, Attach the 3-way to the body then attach the hoses. Once the 3-way shaft is connected to the timing rod via the coupler, twist the coupler on several full turns. Cock the gun, gas it up, and if it leaks tighten up the coupler until it stops. Then, adjust the coupler until the gun shoots the way you want. Make sure that when the trigger is pulled and held it doesn't leak. Good luck, Richard.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TeamNoName Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used just about every single 3 way ever made, and they are all better than the BOMB 3 way.
Strengths: I haven't been injured from one yet. I guess that's a plus.
Weaknesses: They leak. constantly.
Review: Alright, first off, I want to start out by saying that I know what I'm doing with Autocockers, I'm not your average Joe that makes his opinion on one instance. I have been working with Autocockers for several years.

Every BOMB 3 way I have ever used has been problematic. Wether it be binding or leaking issues, they are prelevant with all of them. You're probably wondering "when he says every bomb 3 way I have ever used" how many is that? 3? 5?" no boys and girls, I am a professional airsmith and have had experience with dozens upon dozens of these things. I regularly attend large tournaments (NPPL, PSP, and others) and have confronted Danny Love from shocktech himself about these problems. He says my experience with the Shocktech bomb 3 ways are unique, and immediately blamed this on other issues such as bent timing/actuator rods.

I have seen bomb 3 ways brand new out of the packaging with burrs inside the body that "chews" up the o rings.

I have seen bomb 3 ways brand new out of the packaging with the barbs threaded too far into the body, almost completely preventing movement of the 3 way shaft.

Every shocktech Bomb 3 way has green loc tite on the barb threads, which means the only way to get them off is to break them off, rendering the piece completely useless.

Shocktech claims the Bomb 3 way to be smoother than any of its competitors, yet they use 3 internal o-rings... not 2 like the main competitors and the stock WGP ones.

And regardless of what anyone says, there is no reason to have to grease a 3 way with vaseline and slowly bring up your pressures to prevent leaking. a good 3 way will work whenever you gas it up PERIOD.
Conclusion: If you like leaking, if you like problems, if you like having to replace and grease o rings regularly, and if you like watching paintball from the sidelines because your gun doesnt work, BUY A SHOCKTECH 3 WAY.

If you want a good 3 way, get an evolution (belsales) or STO 3 way.

The mere presence of the shocktech bomb 3 way on the autococker accessories market is a perfect example that not all accessories work WITH your gun, but some work AGAINST your gun. This "accessory" is a disgrace to Shocktech, and to me, mirrors all of their current and future product reliability and functionality.

I give this product a 1 out of 10, only because ZERO is not an option.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media