paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3

Dangerous Power G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power G3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power G3
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 59
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new 2008 Dangerous Power G3 paintball marker weighing in at only 1.86lbs (fully equipped with the patented clamping feedneck, barrel and patented flip lever ASA) DP's latest creation may be the world's smallest and lightest paintball marker in existence!!!
Derived from the highly successful and limited production Threshold painball marker, the G3 benefiting from having only six o-rings in it's entire operation based upon two precision crafted parts by turning one screw; the user can access the entire bolt assembly for easy maintenance and service. The new G3 utilizes a .45 grip frame for easy customization and comes standard with Dangerour Power's highly acclaimed flip lever ASA (RAPS) and ultra low rise clamping feedneck.

G3 (black, blue, red)
weight: 1.86 lbs
length: 19.5 inches
height: 7.84 inches
operation pressure: 180psi
firing modes:
NPPL/SEMI AUTO, PSP, MILLENIUM AND NXL MODES

Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power G3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
paintwarlock Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month70 of 72 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 6, 7
DM-7
DP Fusion
DP F8
Invert Mini
PMR
SP Ion
Marker Setup: I've used a Shocker with a CP barrel and regulator, and I've always picked up the newest DMs every year... which may end soon due to the lack of quality control for a marker costing 1k+. My latest marker has been a used Ego 7 and a Dangerous Power F8 as a back up. For the G3, I really didn't need much- it is ready out of the box. The clamping feedneck IS SUPERB. Low profile, and holds super tight. I did have to trim the feed tube a bit, which shows just how low this amazing clamp is. I switch off between a Halo B loader and Velocity.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board with more adjustability
Strengths: Weight, ease of maintenance, quality, uniqueness, customer service
Weaknesses: Relatively new product, VERY FEW WEAKNESSES... especially in this price range.
Review: Based on my previous experiences with Dangerous Power products, trying out the new G3 was a must. Upon opening the box, my first impression was- 'WOW, this thing is light and TINY!' I was pleasantly surprised with how comfortable the marker felt in my hands despite its small size, unlike the Invert Mini- which I never quite got use to. DP Engineering obviously did its homework for us bigger guys with larger hands.

As expected based on my experience with other DP markers, the stock regulator was consistent for being brand new, out of the box. I had a deviation of +/- 5, which was more than acceptable. I expect the consistency to improve after a few cases of paint.

Now the fun part. This marker is AMAZINGLY easy to shoot fast. All the videos and reviews in the forums are no exaggeration- I was shooting ropes with ease. With a factory claimed pressure of 180 PSI, this marker is gentle on paint. I shot 1000+ rounds without a single chop (brittle WPN Elixir Paintballs). This same paint was soup in my PMR.

THIS IS BY FAR THE SIMPLEST MARKER I HAVE EVER OWNED WHEN IT CAME TO MAINTENANCE. After removing one screw and removing the back cap, I was able to access the bolt, which has a total of 4 o-rings. Fewer o-rings, and ease of access, should translate to easier repair as well and increased reliability.

Some say this marker looks EGO-like. The only resemblance I can see is the long snatch grip and the thin profile. In fact, it feels and weighs less than an EGO. Other than that, there are no other similarities. I've gotten several compliments each time I bring it out, and more than half of my team plans to get one.

The flip lever ASA on this marker is a vast improvement, and earns my praise as one of the best and easiest ASAs on the market. This is a DP exclusive product, which I believe that hold patents on.

I am also impressed with the upgradability. There are already talks of triggers and boards coming soon straight from DP. The new board will supposedly be DP's first attempt at a micro switch board, which should be exciting- and make it a tournament gun that will be sure to turn heads.





Conclusion: The marker was purchased from my local pro shop at 430.00- and for the price, I can't imagine anything coming close. I have had this marker for 2 weeks now, and I am still impressed. DP's customer service has also been a selling point for me. I can see this marker being DP's biggest hit thus far. I highly recommend the G3, from the novice to the pro alike. I've owned several markers and played for quite some time, as you can see in my profile. This has got to be one of the best values in a LONG time. Buy this marker... you won't regret your decision.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 8th, 2008 at 1:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zensins Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month46 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Warped Sportz Rocky Cagnioni Angel IR3
A5 w/too many upgrades to name
DM4
06 MacDev 'Borg
Marker Setup: Dangerous Parts G3 w/updated APE stock board
Vlocity Jr. w/Gangsta chip (not installed for this review)
4500/45ci Angel Air tank with no-name $50 reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
DP's new "stock" APE board ($35 if it didn't come stock on your G3)
CP trigger
$3 Macro fittings
Strengths: Super-simple operation
Bolt out back
LIGHT & TIGHT
Clamping feedneck
RAPS ASA
Weaknesses: Macro fittings suck
Trigger is fast but cheap
Review: There are endless videos of the G3 blowing out a hopper of paint at 25 BPS. Most look like people who stepped out of their nice air conditioned house shooting great paint into a box in their manicured back yard or driveway. Then, there's the real world. Try 94 degrees woodsball in North Florida with around 100% humidity. Best fill I could get on my 45/4500 was 2500 psi. I'm keepin' my paint in the shade, but it's 94 in the shade.

I was feeding my G3 with a stock Vlocity Jr. using 18bps PSP 3 shot ramping. I went through about a case of Proball, alternating between woodsball and recball. This was my G3's debut. My marker is straight stock, with stock barrel and the newly improved APE "stock" board with all "default" settings except MGRF and Firing Mode, this includes the dwell.

Things started out rough, blowing the DP stamped macro fitting's sleeve, sending it flying. I had read a thread on PBN started by another G3 owner complaining about that, so I double-checked the macroline to make sure it was fully inserted. It still blew off. I am 95% sure it was seated all the way in. Interesting note on this is that I had only gassed it up with about 500 PSI previously, and had no problem. I would guess that 850 PSI blew it where 500 PSI could not. Anyway, having read about the problem, I was half expecting it and had packed a spare 90 degree fitting just in case. 3 minutes later I was gassed up again. The macro fitting on the reg wasn't sealing right with the piece included in the box, so I threw on a slightly longer piece. That solved the problem.

After that minor glitch, I put it on the chrono. +5/-5 Frankly that's fine for a crispy new reg that hasn't been broken in yet.

I walked out onto the field for the first time and took a test shot about the width of the field and was able to put 2 out of the 3 shot burst on a 2X4 with the other two balls (1st + 3 shot) missing it by less than an inch. That's with the stock barrel. Mainly I was happy with how well the gun "fit" me. I had to sell an Angel IR3 because I just wasn't accurate with it. The gun was accurate, but I couldn't snap up and hit my target with it. Not so with the G3. It was like it was built for me. Even with the stock barrel, accuracy was surprising. I brought a Freak kit out but left it in the car all day. I didn't trust my paint tolerances and decided to err on the side of no breaks since the accuracy was already impressive.

The rest of the day: Perfection. From snapshooting around the snake on the recball field to ambushing people in the woods, it performed flawlessly. God help anyone peeking at me from behind a tree at 75'. Not a single ball was broken in the barrel, hopper, or gun. I did not use a squeegie even once. Not a single shootdown. Not a single FSD. Nothin' but nasty 3 shot groups that were taking out hands, hoppers and goggles. I ran out of air ONCE but with 45ci at 2500psi, what did I expect. A 68ci tank is in my near future. But the point is, consider the conditions. We got to the field late, around noon, so our table was in the noon-day sun. So the flat black G3 is sitting in the sun with a half-full black hopper of paint on top. I put a bag over the hopper to try keep it out of direct sunlght, but who am I kidding. Humidity is so bad that on the first game the guy next to me with the SL8R got shot out before he could get a shot off because his thermal-lensed mask fogged up. So after 3-4 hours, there's no way that paint is in good shape. Plus, I was mixing in some "medium grade" paint from 2 months ago that I still had in my pods. The G3 shot it all without the tiniest hic-up. Also, it was just so LIGHT. With the Vlocity Jr. and 45ci tank it was by far the lightest setup I've ever picked up. Carting it around the woods, holding it steady for long periods of time, like when posting... By the end of an insanely hot day lugging my A5 around gets old. The G3 was featherlight in comparison, and yeah, it made a difference.

It did have a little bit of kick compared to my DM4. It was loud compared to the SL8R, but I wouldn't say it was "loud". The A5 is far louder, even with the low pressure kit installed. I'm pretty sure my Angel IR3 was about as loud.

-- UPDATE --

I have owned my G3 for around a year and a half now. It is still performing beautifully, and I have not given serious though to buying a new marker. I bought an 06 Ego as a backup and installed a Zick Kit in it. After using it a couple times it now sits unused. It works great, it's just not my G3.

The CP trigger is the only upgrade I have done to the marker aside from the improved reg part free from DP, the $30 stock replacement board from DP (both standard in the G3 SE by the way), and the macroline fittings. The CP trigger is DA BOMB and really "finished" the marker in terms of making it perfect for me. I have been accused of ramping while in semi using this trigger. If anything ever happened to my G3, I would buy another G3. Maybe an SE, but I'd still put a CP trigger in that one, even with the "improved trigger". Nothing beats a bearing.

There have been no mechanical problems with the marker, at all. The sail o-ring needed to be replaced a couple months ago, but that's no surprise, since most of the stress of operation lands on that one o-ring. It did last over a year. So if your G3 starts giving you any crap, replace the battery, and if that doesn't work, swap out the sail o-ring on the bolt with the replacement that comes in the box. That has been the extent of my troubleshooting on this marker. No calls to DP service. No need to send it in.

The G3 continues to perform great, shooting whatever paint I put in it without breaking, to the point that I don't bother to carry a squeegie on the field most games. No first shot drop. No shootdown. I never replaced the stock reg after installing the upgraded part supplied by DP. Some say it needs a CP reg. My experience says that's just bull.

Design: Take a look at xluben's animation of the G3's (Threshold) operation and you can see why this marker is giving me no trouble. It's simple simple simple. I'd post the link but the rules don't allow it. Google xluben threshold animation. Then take a look at some of the other design animations. It's self-evident, even for people with no technical experience. Why DP doesn't point this out is beyond me. Poppet valve designs are supposed to have less o-rings than spoolies. Not true here. The G3 design is the most simple poppet valve design I have been able to find.

Efficiency: The 68 cubic inch tank was a welcome improvement over my 45. Mainly that's because my local field fills from SCUBA, and 2500 PSI in a 45 CI tank doesn't last long with a spoolie, and the G3 is no exception there. However, I typically get 2-3 average-length games out of my 68. Most people have a 68 so this really isn't an issue.

Cost: At $300, you can't beat this marker. It was a bargain at $430. Durability & reliability have been phenomenal. There has been no anno wear. The marker looks like it is still brand new, but I do take care of my equipment. It shoots like it did straight out of the box, except a bit more consistent over the chrono now that the reg is broken in.

Two other players at my field have bought a G3 based completely on how well mine has performed. One sold his PMR, the other was a new player upgrading from a Tippmann. Both love their new markers.
Conclusion: Buy it. Just do it. If you have any probs, check the Dangerous Power forum on PBNation. DP actually has a tech monitoring the forum (DPServiceBrad) answering questions. If he can't solve your problem, he will personally handle your return and make sure things are done fast and right. This company actually CARES about you. For $300, you can't beat this marker. You can't beat it for twice that, seriously. Forget the Mini. Forget the PMR. Forget the etek. Forget any of the half-plastic garbage other companies are selling and get this. You will be shooting DARTS instead of spending time on the sidelines cleaning your gun. Simple as that.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 29th, 2009 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Kenny13 Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years28 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders-Not even close
Piranha GTI E-force w/ evil venturi bolt-A decent marker for when you live in a HPA deprived area as I do
Diablo Slayer- Not bad, but quality control is terrible
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3 w/ CP sling trigger, Techt Bolt Engine and Virtue grips
Dye Rotor
Pure energy 68/45
WDP barrel kit
Hybrid Contract Killer tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't find much to be wrong with the stock marker, but I love my CP sling trigger and Techt bolt engine.
Strengths: Small but feels good in the hand
Feel of a spoolie, simplicity of a poppet
Weaknesses: How easy it is for idiots to screw up their regs.
Very picky about lube.
Review: Upon opening the box, I was immediately impressed. The G3 felt amazing in my hands, yet was incredibly light and small

When I first aired it up, the marker would not cycle, but it only took a glance at the manual to figure out why. DP sets the reg to the closed position while it's in the box, which means that it'll need a little fine tuning before you go out to play with it.

When I actually got into a game with this thing, I was very impressed with it's fast rate of fire, low kick, low noise and the consistency from the reg. At least I was, up untill all I began hearing from my maker was a faint "puff puff" when I pulled the trigger, and a persistent hissing noise. Panicking, my first step was to flip the RAPS (a great little asa)lever to off and then back on, reseting the marker. Again it shot amazingly until the little "puff puff" had me paniced again. I flipped the RAPS lever again and once again it shot fine. This little scenario happened a couple more times, but seemed to work it's way out after that. Back in the staging area, I traced my problem to over lubing. I had been using a dow 33 as the manual recommends, but I had added a little more than what was necessary. Luckily the gun was able to work through this, most likely due to the Anti-Bolt-Stick funtion DP helpfully included (ups the dwell 2 milliseconds upon first shot). However remember to go very sparingly on the lube, and only use a DOW 33 marker grease, or DP's recomended 2/3 dow33 +1/3 standard marker oil (mix well).

Other features on the marker include an amazing little no rise, leverlock feedneck that clamps onto a hopper with a lot of force, a nice carry hook on the back(removable), the aforementioned RAPS on/off ASA, an excellent set of eyes, spring loaded delrin detents, and a reg that *should* get good consistency, which brings me to my next point:

The reg on the G3 is a very nice reg that most people will tell you gets +/-5 fps out of the box and a very respectable +/-3 after breaking in. However, a lot of people will try to tell you, (imagine in a very nerdy, whiny voice) "The stock reg sucks! It has horrible consistency, like +/-30fps!" which I would like to calmly respond to with "No, you're an idiot, you turned the reg screw in too far and messed up the reg seat, pay DP $5 for the replacement part that doesn't let you do that anymore."

-Edit- 10/15/10

Have now acquired the Techt Bolt Engine and have been using for some time now. Dramatically smoothes out the shooting cycle. Haven't done efficiency tests, but I'm pretty confident I'm getting more shots per fill now. Also the CP triggers offer a much smoother and more refined trigger pull.

-Edit- 8/26/12
The marker's still running strong, even in it's fifth year of use. No major problems to speak. The occasional O-ring replace and lube job, but that's it. Also added virtue laser eyes, because I like 'em.
Another pointer for anyone that's using the Techt Bolt engine- Unlike the stock bolt, the bolt engine likes lots of lube! If you're having problems with balls jamming in the feedneck due to a bolt not fully retracting, lube it like crazy.
Conclusion: If you're willing to spend the house payment for the latest hardware and gadgetry from Dye or Eclipse, this marker isn't quite what you're looking for. However, if you're like me and want a marker that performs similarly but for a fraction of the cost, the G3 is definitely worth your time to check out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 26th, 2012 at 8:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pepsi4all Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rail, ion, ephipany, and other unbalance spool valve
Marker Setup: I have to many to list.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Quality
Weaknesses: Please check review
Review: As I saw the G3 in ebay.. brand new for 430 with free shipping, I said to myself, I got to have that.
Sure enough when it came in the mail, I was a amaze on how it looks. Similar to Empire's gun with combination of the rail, but smaller than rail, about size of empire, with snatch grip on the back.
I took it out for the test, it was shooting ropes. I didn't see any shoot down, but probably because i was shooting slow... 16 bps.
I have not try its 25 bps MODE.... It is very light and eye catching to other player.
I believe that DP are making so much quality marker that it is catching the market, with price so appreciateable.
I LOVE DP, because of Quality, I hope that every high end marker, should pay attention sometimes, because sometimes they neglect parts, and give them a low rating.
Anyways I was expecting that the deviation will be okay, since it was not broken in.
I was getting +/- 5 which is very good, after shooting 2 boxes of paint. so was shooting 275 280 274 278 271 275. That is using the poduim gold Paintballs.
The effiency it was expecting because this is a spool valve. Im getting 1350 balls on a full 68/4500.
Maybe when it is broken in, it will get better... I bet after a while somebody will create a delrin bolt to make effiency better.
Since this is a blow forward like ion, fs8, rail, and other markers - I am not really a fan of it. So.... its kinda bit similar on how ion works, but the bolt is has 80 percent more balance because of bolt centering guide.
Basically imagine the THRESHOLD fusion, now make it smaller, that is a G3.

The best thing about this marker is the QUALITY, this probably last you as long as you live, so long you grease up the gun as the manual stated.

If you have 430 dollars, I say get it... especially when your a beginner, because this marker is made for easy maintenance.

If i have the money, I will save up to get a droid,, but that twice or even more the price of these one, totally two different marker. But both spool valve.
Conclusion: Final conclusion is, I hate blow forward unbalance MECHANISM. But scored really really high on Quality... I give it an 8/10 on operational, because it is like ion, but the Quality is a 15/10, that makes it 13/10. Rating is only up to 10/10... so that would do. This will be great for backup gun, because built for tough... build in america.... stay away from china.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 8th, 2008 at 10:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Publicenemycpt Thursday, October 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Epiphany, Eos, Threshold, Fusion, Ion, Mini, other guns
Marker Setup: Red G3, Smart parts Epiphany Reg, Critical Rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definantly get a rail and Barrel, Also check out the New Ape Board for it.
Strengths: LIGHT AS F*#K, Amazing ASA, Good Grips
Weaknesses: Barrel, Regulator (see Review) Feedneck (See Review)
Review: Ok heres my review

The Good:
This gun is fantastic, extremely light and fast out of the box. Board is very user Friendly and easy to program. Cleanup is a breeze as the Back cap comes of so easily, all you need to do then is remove the bolt, thats it! No Springs, or Sears, or anything else in there, the gun comes with all tools needed to service the gun completely. Trigger is very nice and easy to adjust, after little tinkering i could walk the trigger with ease. The overall best part of this gun is by far the new RAPS asa. This thing is the greatest ASA ever made! Periode. If i ever sell this gun I will definatly keep the ASA. Also the Regulator was Very consistant out of the box, i was shooting +/- 7 out of the box at about 250fps. It is also very good on gas, as out of the box i could get about 1500 shots of with my 68/4500 pmi tank.

Ok Now on to
The Bad:
The barrel has a very large bore size making it not very accurate with most paint.
The Feedneck has such a low profile that it is too low. I had to sand the feedneck down on my VLocity to make it shorter to get the feedneck to have a tight enough fit.
While the regulator is Extremely efficient out of the box, be VERY careful about the locking screw. Overtightening it will destroy the reg seat perminantly cause the gun to not fire, but DP has just manufactured a new Reg Seat for exactly this problem so give their customer service department a haller if you need it.
Conclusion: In Conclusion this is a fantastic gun, and customer service from DP is great! Do not let its price fool you this gun can keep up with any high end marker out there. But remember the gun is only part of the game, the player has to do the rest.

I give this gun a 9/10 because it wasnt perfect but still an excellent gun. Congrats DP on an amazing Gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dengundam Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dangerous power f8 and f7
pm6
maybe the epiphany counts i dont thing so though
Marker Setup: Dangerous power g3 halo b with speed feed and a crossfire 4500 nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
no for now
Strengths: Its very light weight and shoots fast really nice gun
Weaknesses: I feel like there is no weekness for this product
Review: I had bought this marker on 5-5-08.
The first time i shot it it almost made me cry no joke it was so beautiful haha
but yes this gun feels like a high quality marker. Why would i get some 1800 dollar marker when you could get this bad boy its lite, fast and looks sexy. I think that this will be my best marker yet and so for it is. Its da bomb
Conclusion: I thing that this gun is really good you should get it
its cheap and its great quilty personaly i think its better thanthe f8 because i dont like alot of kick but its up to you really but 10 hands down
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

applesrtastyxD Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
mini<<g3
fully up'd ion<<<<<g3
shocker<= g3 (shocker and g3 were REALLY close)
Marker Setup: Dangerous power g3 blue
Virtue Board
Halo B
Ninja tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board, trigger if u really must x]
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: When i first got this marker I was absolutely thrilled. I took it out of the box, which came with nearly everything u need. It has a barrel sleeve, allen keys, extra o-rings, barrel, stickers, and few other pieces. This gun was amazing. The flip asa is the best asa u can ever get and it was shooting extremely accurate and consistent. At first you might have to adjust the pressure but after that it shoots like a dream. Alright lets break it down.

Pros:

Accuracy: 10/10
Amazing. Just amazing! this gun was shooting a sheet of paper from 50 yards away! The barrel that comes with it is a 14" and just absolutely amazing.

Speed: 10/10
Shoots 25 bps on nppl mode, and has other modes such as psp ramp(not that great more later), nxl, mil, and cfoa (something like that 15 bps cap semi-auto)

Maintenance: 10/10
Are kidding me? What maintenance...?
Nah just kidding, you remove two screws, wipe a few parts and lube a few o-rings. done.

Mobility: 10/10
LIGHT AS A FEATHER! this thing weighs NOTHING! I picked it up and was shocked! its LIGHT LIGHT LIGHT!

Price: 10/10
This thing is dirt cheap for the quality u get. Its like buying an ice cream cone and finding diamonds inside. Amazing price for the quality. Spectacular.
Support: 1000/10
The company will be your new best friend. Got a problem? call them and they'll do EVERYTHING and ANYTHING to help you. All the people are nice and quite often you will hear, "oh yeah we'll send your (whatever you need) to you, free of charge no shipping either!

Cons:
Psp mode kills... You have to crank 5 balls per second and it starts ramping unlike the usual 3 shot psp. REALLY really annoying if ur gonna play a psp tourney.
Just get a virtue board for it and it will be fine
Conclusion: Amazing product, amazing customer service from company, ease of maintenance, accurate, light, fast, cheap, amazing milling. Get this and you won't regret it. Trust me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 11th, 2009 at 3:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

born2dive Tuesday, June 24th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 66 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have this marker for about 8 weeks now.
Invert Mini is the closest match that I used.
My other markers:
EGO SL74
Etek
A5 (lots of them)
ICD
Marker Setup: Empire Magna
68ci 4500psi
Freak Barrel
Strengths: Light
Somewhat affordable
Weaknesses: Bolt design
HPR
Electronic Board
Grip
Review: I gave this marker a try after reading all the positive reviews.
Well, it is quite a disappointment.

Bolt O-ring:
I had to replace the front O-ring of the bolt already 4 times. Only 2 replacements came with the gun. The size of this one is a dash 15 just in case someone has the same problem. The pseudo user guide says it in metric (14x1.78)
The O-ring gets pinch at the feed neck and get chopped off. This occurs roughly every 1000 shots.
Luckily the bolt is easy to remove and the replacement is swift. However you will not go through a game with this marker.

HP Regulator:
The shots are totally inconsistent. This must be coming from the reg which is horrible.
It takes a lot of tinkering with a 1/4 inch allen wrench to get any kind of mandatory speed.
A 1/2 of a turn makes your velocity jumping from 350fps to 200. Then once you think you have it expect +/- 30fps in your testing.
So if you are aiming for 280 you better tune for 250. No need to say that the range of your shots will be somewhat random.

Dip switches:
Taking the grip apart to change settings isnít very user friendly. I guess it keeps the electronic cheap, simple and reliable. Definitely low tech

Grip:
I donít like the exposed metal part in the palm of my hand. They should wrap around.
the rubber is very hard and get slippery when wet.

Trigger guard:
Some sharp edges. My finger got cut once. I had to sand off some the edges. Of course the anodizing went off with it. But at least I am not getting cut.

ASA:
This is a very well design part. Very quick to take the tank on and off or depressurize the marker.
However the ASA came loose after the first hour of play. I had to remove the gripper and bend off a little capacitor in order to tighten the screws.



Made in USA?

I don't think so. There were no marking on the gun that specified the origin.

This was a actually a key selling point for my purchase. In the end this marker is like any other poor quality gun made in China in my book. Most likely that is where it's being manufactured.


Hey I am just honestly reporting my findings about this marker. It's not easy to swallow a 400$ pill that goes sideways.
For all of you that really did purchase this marker and are happy with it, great. I'll meet you on the field but I will be shooting my eclipses.

Conclusion: Obviously I could not recommend anyone to buy this marker. (Unless they are playing for the oposite team)
I am giving it a 1 since it is a non functioning marker.
You cannot get it to shoot to the appropriate velocity and then in the middle of the action you have to take it apart to swap an O-ring. Lovely.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 3rd, 2008 at 1:24 pm PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

Luigi the Beast Friday, May 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other spoolers? NXTs, DMs, PMs, Threshold's closest one
Marker Setup: Red and Silver IQ, Deadly Wind CF barrel, CP feedneck, CP regulator, Torque Loader (440 motor), 68/45 CP LP
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a board with microswitch, maybe a new trigger?
Strengths: Lightest gun I own, sexy, fast, easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Not sure, can't fault much here...
Review: The first time I played with this awesome DP gat it was actually very unexpected, went to play a scenario game and my teammate hands me this beatifull red and silver IQ, with a CP feedneck and HPR, both silver as well, and tells me to play with it during the weekend. I was like "hell yeah boy!". Not that I needed a gun, I was actually looking forward to playing with my Dynasty NXT that I had just upgraded with a Hater board. I thought I was gonna play a couple of missions with the IQ and get back for the NXT. Wrong! I did not want to put it down! Over the chrono it was a beauty, +/- 3 on an unbroken hpr is not something you see everyday.
One of the first thing everyone notices on this gun is how light it is, and I was no exception. Lightest gun I own, lighter than my Ego7 I believe. Especially with a carbon fiber barrel like the deadly wind I was using, hard to believe there's no plastic parts anywhere in the gun. Efficiency was on par with my DMs, around 7 pods and a hopper, not too bad for a spoolie. Low sound signature, did not really try the stock barrel, but with the cf and a titanium boomstick, seems that the IQ is slightly louder than a Shocker, noticeably quieter than an Ego, again pretty darn good in my book.
The other thing everyone notices right away is the looks, cos this is one hot looking gat, very reminiscent of an Ego, but with somewhat smoother lines. Anno looks perfect, as well as the machining, couldn't find imperfections at all on the marker. Looks good with and without the snatch hook (is that what they're calling it?), I personally like it better without it, but I got to admit it makes carrying the gun a bit more confortable.
So on the the field, and up to that point I was enjoing it, but had not crossed my mind to get one, and then the first firefight. The gun was shooting so nice I had more than one ref come and check my fps cos I was hitting a lot of people, more than usual. It feels really nice and the ergonomics are top notch, even thou it's extremly small, it does not feel cramped or anything, even for a dude with somewhat big hands. Accuracy is obviously a very subjective category, but to me it was incredible. I'm very parcial to DMs because of the smoothness of the shot, but this one is just as nice if not nicer in my opnion.
The board is pretty complete, even the new PSP bps limit is available, and dwell and abs too can be adjusted. The trigger is nice and adjustable, just not on the same league as, let's say the A1's stock (best stock trigger IMO), but it gets the job done and it's fairly easy to walk once you adjust it to your liking. Did not have a break anytime during the weekend, let alone chops. It did work flawlessly all the time.
Long story short, couldn't return the IQ to my teammate (plus I knew he already had another coming his way). Like I said, wasn't looking for a gun, had no intentions of buying another (or so I told my wife), just fell head over heels in love with it and had to have it. Still think it's amazing such quality and performance for the price they're charging. Not too long ago that would've been a $1000+ easily. And as much as I look, so far can't find anything to fault on the gun. Several weekes later and I'm still to break or chop a ball. I'm very happy with it, and even thou people already offered me more than I paid on it, this is a KEEPER, not going anywhere. Plus I hear that DP CS is awesome, but I'm in no hurry to find out. GET THIS GAT. NOW!!
Conclusion: best bang for your buck on the market right now, for this price you just can't beat it... GO GET IT! Not gonna give it 10, it's not perfect, but real close...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evil_Raven Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Old Omen, Cockers, Proto Matrix Rail, PM6, Automags
Marker Setup: Stock DP G3, 72/45 Crossfire Stubby, Halo w/ suicide shells,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit... like ALWAYS,
and a new Board/Bolt when they come out, but nothing for now
Strengths: Fast, Simple, Low maintenance, more unique than other markers
Weaknesses: Setting the Mode, Consistency
Review: I think this Marker is one of the most fun little guys Ive shot in a long time, I would reccomend this to anyone looking in this price range. I tried the invert Mini as well, and the main difference for me is the extras. The ASA on the DP is vastly superior to any others. Also the Clamping feedneck is sweet for a stock marker. Only 6 O rings is right, also no tubes in the gun, the air moves through milled ports in the body. nothing to break! I am going to use this as my main gun, and don't see myself needing any more for awhile,

The only problem I see is I don't like how the Board works, it is a combination of a poor manual and less options than I would like.

I played over the weekend, and had NO chops, through 2 cases, and using a 12v revvy... the only hold up was the input pressure was a little finicky at first, Make sure it is high enough to return the bolt. Stock it is set far too low (it seems like it was closed)

This is a great gun, a new board and a barrel kit it will be a perfect gun for someone who wants to play intro tourneys.. I wouldn't take it to a pro tourney, but local rookie league this will be more than enough
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product over the Mini (and other guns in this price range) for 2 reasons 1: unique, there are alot more mini's and PMRs than this and 2: simplicity, the mini is simple, this is simpler and better designed (like the ASA and Feedneck)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media