paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP

ACI F4 Illustrator TP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator TP

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator TP
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 41
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: 45 frame with wrap-around grips, ambidextrous 10" custom 2 hole bottomline, patented all weather valve, quick slide cocking, gas-through stock, high-volume cell and ACI custom color transparent elbow.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator TP is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Ferret963 Wednesday, November 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippys, spyders, other blowback
Marker Setup: Viper M1 Military, 14" barrel exc. F4 illustrator, zero grav, aci alum. double trigger, 6 stage exp chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double trigger if you would like a better trigger pull, and a better barrel if you got it stock. Empire Reloader hopper rather than a 12v revy!
Strengths: Reliable, fairly good on co2, great beginning marker!
Weaknesses: Key weaknesses it can chopp if you don't have ur ball detent correct!
Review: This is a good paintball marker, I suggest any one starting out in paintball try this out, I did! It is great and will get you through most firefights, I suggest geting a moterised hopper I love the empire but a 9v or 12v revy will feed ok to. Very easy to maintain and feild strip, don't take off the sight rail! Overall a great begining marker!
Conclusion: If you are considering a spyder over this marker wake up! F4's are much better then spyders, if you are looking for somthing that will eek it's way through and have lots of sensliss upgrades get a spyder.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 12th, 2003 at 9:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have previously used a spyder compact 2000 (no comparison), tippman m98, tippman m98 custom, nova 700, rebel, and an alleycat. compacts are good beginner guns, but are a bit on the loud side, and I have no use for a double trigger. tippmans are pretty good, but are a bit tricky to field strip without loosing parts because of the way they are put together. my friend's nova is essentially worthless, other than having pretty good accuracy (might as well be a pump). rebels are alot like spyders, and finally, i like how simple alleycats are, and how well built they are (my best friend has had his for about 5 years now and it works almost flawlessly) but he still envies my f-4.
Marker Setup: I have an f-4 TP, stock at the moment (i'm planning on getting a boomstick soon). i have a 12 oz, and 32 oz tank, and a 200 rd hopper w/o revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
only get the basics (tank, hopper, etc.) unless you have money to burn, in which case get a nice barrel, maybe a reg.
Strengths: the first thing that comes to mind is the accuracy of the stock barrel, it drops a bit after about 20 yd. but it doesn't curve with good paint (unless you break a ball, which will usually be the paint, or dirt in the barrel). the only time i've really had a problem with paint was when it got too hot and expanded/ softened. i've even run out of paint before, and i just started scavenging paint off the ground, cleaned it off and stuck it in my hopper (as long as it was still reasonably hard, and hadn't expanded) and the gun didn't break any paint at all. a couple guys i war with have boomsticks, and i can still outshoot them, one of them has a titanium and is a sniper, so he's good at sneaking around, and hiding everything, only leaving his gun out while it's pointing at your head (which is what i have to shoot at). he got me pinned, and all i could see was the tip of his barrel. i just popped out from behind my tree, and we fired at about the same time, his shot just missed my head, but mine actually went down his barrel and into the chamber.
Weaknesses: if you want to rapid fire go out and buy an angel, this is the weapon for a steady shot who isn't going to just go around wasting paint. if you're breaking paint, it's probably either your velocity being too high, something in the barrel, or the ball retaining spring is tweaked. the only rival for durability that i've come across for this gun is the alleycat. i've never had to open this gun up, other than taking out the bolt a couple times to clean it. if you remember to lube the gun, and clean the barrel after breaks or if dirt gets into it. There is a lack of upgrades for this gun, but it doesn't need them (a heavier barrel is a good upgrade, the stock is about 2oz)
Conclusion: this gun is well worth the price, around $160, but beginners may prefer to have a gun that has a higher rof (rate of fire). i compete with this gun against higher end markers including agd's and autocockers, dont blame things on your equipment, unless it's brass eagle, but then again.... blame yourself for buying it in the first place. overall, if you want an affordable semi with good accuracy, get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: 2k3 vertical reg impulse, tapeworm, sp brass hammer, ND bolt, ND trigger, polished ram shaft
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: very reliable, feels sturdy, looks way better than spyders
Weaknesses: triger is bad, lack of upgrades
Review: this is an unbeliveably reiable gun. it is like a tippman that looks good with less upgrades. this is fir the guy who wants a gun and doesnt want to do anything for it. my freind has no upgrades and doesnt even knoe how to clean it and it has worked for 2 years. the trigger sucks though and its a single so its much slower than spyders. accuracly of stock barrel sux too. good feel to the gun. feels like a high end gun and is very sturdy.
Conclusion: solid gun great for bigginers, but if u want upgrades go with a spyder. a little pricey for what it is.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smurphy7621 Monday, October 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyders and pirahnas
Marker Setup: 2k2 aci f4 illustrato tp
Strengths: mine came with a 14 inch zero gravity barrel, hvc, expansion chamber, and venturi bolt so it was pretty consistant and accurate.
Weaknesses: First off this gun has a lot of kick. This makes it hard to stay accurate during long strings. The trigger is not very good and has a long hard pull . The worst thing is that if you chop a ball you have to strip the maker down and try and unjam the bolt and clear out any paint that is in the top camber. This take about 15 minutes and after you do that the marker isnt nearly as accurate until you wash it out with under a sink.
Conclusion: If it did not jam every time it chopped a ball this would be a much better gun. But as it is I wish I had bought a spyder instead of this.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghilliesnipe Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor,extra,shutter. Piranhas, Electronic trigger spyders and piranahs, Tippmann98c, A5. Autocockers, Bonedaddy
Marker Setup: Illustrator TP with Zero grav barrel (all anodized turqous(sp) and black) gravity fed hopper. Double trigger came with mine. NO upgrades added.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Revvy or other agitated hopper.
Strengths: Simple, no nonsense, reliable, excellent customer service.
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull (good for begginner)
Lack of upgrades(good for begginner marker)
Review: This gun beats everything listed above for the price(around $150) and came with a matching Zero gravity barrel.. The Autococker is quieter, smoother and slightly more accurate, but not that much better IMO and you will pay a lot more. The A5 is better because it has better rapid fire potential but you will pay a lot more. This is the one paintball purchase I have never regretted. It has never failed me. I have failed it twice. Once when I turned the knob on the bottom of the power feed causing it to chop and once when I put the bolt back in upside down (LOL). I called ACI and in 5 minutes the problem was solved. There is no better begginner marker that I have tried, period.
I love this thing. If you have the zero grav barrel, cover the first 1/2 of the porting to increase long range accuracy and CO2 effeciency. Getting a gun with an electronic trigger as a begginner level marker will only cause you heartache; I've seen it too many times.
I've gone up against A5/flatline/egrip users in the woods and I do just fine even at long range
I've gone up against Autococker users in casual speedball play and also do just fine. Just because It is a begginner marker doesn't mean it won't take care of you.
Conclusion: I think it is sad that there arent more of these guns around. Somehow they have slipped through the cracks. It is the first gun I recommend to a begginner. Buy this NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 12th, 2004 at 3:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

havoc_h2 Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna rental guns, Cheap VL/Brass Eagle guns (not my fault, I was forced), Tippman Model 68, Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator TP
ACI Bulldog II Air 68/3000
12" Zero-G Barrel
VL200
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, unless you want a barrel that has a long section w/ less porting or maybe a drop forward/cradle.
Strengths: Very accurate w/ stock barrel.
Comfortable.
All around good beginner/mid level gun.
Weaknesses: Could should Faberge' eggs and Hope Diamonds too, though.
Nobody's perfect.
Review: I bought this gun for a bargain price of $119.95 on pbgear. Let me tell you, it was excellent. I have shot over 1000 rounds, which although is not really that much, and never had a break. It shoots cheap paint very well, and good paint even better. With the model I got, each paint job is unique, and the verteran of 10 years running the fill station at the field actually thought it was customized. Overall, it is extremely comfortable to fire, comes standard w/ a 4-stage expansion chamber, is extremely accurate as stock, and is very conservative with air (I got 6-700 shots w/ a 7-ounce CO2).
Conclusion: With it's combo of pro features and low price, I would recommend it to anyone from beginner to veteran. I gave it a 9, because the Dye Autococker's and various other 7-10 hundred dollar guns must have something reserved for them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wenninjj Saturday, May 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippys, Piranah's and Spyders
Marker Setup: 2001 ACI F4 Illustrator TP, ACI Venturi Bolt,12" Smart Parts Progressive barrel, Palmer Stabilizer,68cu 3000psi Crossfire Stub Air Tank, VL 200 and Dye stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Regulator, HPA system
Strengths: Very reliable. This marker requires very little maintenance. It just seems to work every time I play. Fires smoothly and I have put about 4000 rounds through this marker and I have never had ball break.
Weaknesses: Parts are more expensive for this marker than most others of similar design. Also, the range of aftermarket parts for this paintgun is relatively small.
The striker spring is way too long. It's hard to get your velocity under 300 unless you cut down the spring.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for people that just want something that works all the time. It works well and fires nice and I would reccomend it to anyone interested in paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

steer71 Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used a tippman carbine which rated about as well as my F-4 illustrator TP. I have also had some experience with various spyders and my advice to people thinking of buying them is DONT. They break very easily and are a pain. I have also used a model 98 and while it performed well, it didnt perform up with my f-4. It wasnt quite as accurate at long distances. I also have a stingray 2 and for a beginner it is a decent gun. It is very durable and easy to use. Overall, if your a person looking for a good reliable well priced semi, id say go with a f-4. Their reliable, durable, easy to use, low maintenance, and have a good price.
Marker Setup: F-4 illustrator TP, 16" aftermarket barrel, two hundred paintball loader, 12oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a aftermarket barrel. THe stock barrel is not the best but with a good aftermarket barrel, the gun is great.
Strengths: Almost everything. It has a real light trigger pull, 2.2 to be exact. It is a breeze to clean and can be taken apart with allan wrenches. With the aftermarket barrel, it is very accurate and shoots a long ways. It uses very little CO2 and doesnt weigh much. It is very low maintenance and in the two years ive had it, it hasnt broke once. It also has a very good price tag on it.
Weaknesses: Occasionally it will jam if a piece of paintball gets into the barrel and it takes about 10 minutes to fix. That is the only drawback i have seen however.
Conclusion: If your a person playing paintball on a budget, this is a good gun for you. It is well worth the price, durable, low maintenance, and fun to use. With a aftermarket barrel, ill put it up against any semi out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j0n Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Reliable and not a gas hog
Weaknesses: Occasional double fire sound (not necessarily a result of ball breakage) and small upgradability
Review: This gun is a fun mess around gun for beginners. when i first got this gun i was told it was a fairly nice back up gun when in tournaments. the gas thru grip on the gun is alot like the gas thru grip on the ei black draguns, matches the gun body and makes the gun look better (vs putting an after market expansion chamber on it, making it look odd) in other words i recommend u keep that part as is. the stock barrel on it isn't horrible, but nothing special. i never got around to using compressed air in it but im sure it would performance just as well as CO2.
Conclusion: Not a bad gun for the price, it always worked when i wanted it to.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PiranhaPete Tuesday, May 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Sonix, Spider Aggressor, Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Besides the all black F4 Illustrator TP... a venturi bolt, 12" Small Parts stainless steal one piece, and a chromally 16oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly a new barrel for accuracy, venturi bolt helps for less ball breaks and quieter shots.
Strengths: Incredible gas effiecency (espeacially with a effiecent barrel) Easy fieldstrip, durable and reliable most of all. With a new barrel the gun can the most accurate I have seen anywhere.
Weaknesses: Trigger is alittle slow, but my style is sniper or play stick and move so it does not bother me. I had a problem with ball breaks because there was a lip of metal in the powerfeed that would hold the balls from falling completly in the chamber. I easily sovled that by sanding down the lip.
Conclusion: The ACI F4 lIIustrator TP is great because the marker already comes with a magnificent expansion chamber, and neat looking High volum chamber. All you need to have a kickin gun is a good barrel, and the venturi bolt for $15 does not hurt.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media