paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pinokio Hoppers Pinokio PL230/400 / Pinokio Hoppers Pinokio PL230/400 / Pinokio Hoppers Pinokio PL230/400

Pinokio Hoppers Pinokio PL230/400 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pinokio Hoppers

Buy Pinokio Hoppers Pinokio PL230/400

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pinokio Hoppers Pinokio PL230/400
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
From concept to creation, the Pinokio Hopper is revolutionizing the industry and playing field alike. It is the world's only 230-round electronic hopper that is actually a two-in-one hopper, fully maximizing lane shooting with a volumizer round attachment that makes it a 400-round hopper.

The Pinokio's feed rate surpasses the 30+ balls per second benchmark, and is one of the lightest hoppers on the market, weighing in at just under 15.3 oz per unit and just over 1 lb with the volumizer attachement installed.

The Pinokio comes packaged with two fronts, one for speed ball, and the other with the volumizer attachment for scenario/woodsball. However, as more and more tournament back players see its capability for locking down lanes, they too are choosing to use the larger capacity.

The Pinokio's 30+ BPS rate of fire is battery-friendly. The Pinokio has been extensively tested for battery consumption and has the ability to rip through 65 plus cases of paint on just two 9-volt batteries.
Product Availability 
The Pinokio Hoppers Pinokio PL230/400 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
renrag75 Monday, August 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vlocity, Vlocity Jr, Halo B, Reloader B, Reloader B2, Magna, Pulse, Ricochet Apache, Evlution 2/3
Marker Setup: Macdev Droid with Tadao Yakuza, Pinokio 230, DXS 68/4500
Strengths: Weight, Reliability, Speed, Consistency, Battery Life, No Jams
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I know that the Pinokio loader has recieved alot of bad publicity because of the long nose cone associated with the hopper. I have been using the loader without the long extension in speedball for the past month and I have to say that it is the best loader that I have ever used to date. It is much lighter than any Halo B, Vlocity, or Magna than I have ever used. It runs on only two nine volt batteries which seem to last forever and the battery door can be removed without any tools. It has a simple on/off switch with no program and easily feeds in the the high twenty BPS flawlessly with zero popcorning. I have personnaly never experienced a jam even with several brands of reusable paintballs such as rufus balls and reballs. It feeds everything as fast as you can pull the trigger and has never let me down. If you do happen to break a ball then all you have to do is take off the nose cone and clean it out. The lid opening takes all your favority speedfeeds including the Virtue Crown. It easily holds the 230 balls that the manufacturer suggests and is super easy to operate. Operation is very similar to the Ricochet loaders with a 'tongue' depressor as the activating mechanism without the need of any eyes, sound activation, or RF signal.
Conclusion: i think that this is one of the simplest and best loaders on the market. I think the manufacturer would have been better off staying away from the long extension as the basic setup is perfect. It is not a well know hopper, but wins in every category hands down. If it has any downfalls it would be the price...$150 for such a simple loader seems a bit expensive. Super fast, efficient, and easy to maintain!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

yeoldespyder Monday, July 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B- Heavier, Less Fast Loading Rate, Slightly Smaller.
Marker Setup: 06 Empire Intimidator
Pinokio Hopper
Cp Barrel (2 piece)
CP ASA
Strengths: Very quick, holds lots of balls, easy battery door, changeable noses, good material.
Weaknesses: Looks, bulky, not too adjustable.
Review: Our team was a little skeptical about getting a sponsorship with these guys, just because we knew very little about them, and there weren't too many afterproducts for the hopper. But when the Pinokios came in, we were very impressed.

At first glance, the hopper seems to be a little bulky, and ugly. Truth is, it is only slightly bigger than the Halo models. And when placed on a marker, both hoppers are just about as tall. But yes, it is sort of ugly, as there is some extra useless plastic on the bottom of the hopper. However, the performance is pretty amazing. It is LIGHT! Very light. Not sure on the exact details, but it is very noticeably light.

The hopper is operated by a paddle that feeds into a feed neck, so nothing special there really. But the paddle doesn't block the feed neck, so if the battery fails, you still have the option of using it like a normal gravity fed hopper. I did a drop test, and it clocked in at about 20 BPS, and kept up with my marker (Bob Long) all day long. The nose is another interesting feature. You can pop of the original nose (phase 1), and replace it with an elongated nose that looks pretty much like a pod on the end of the hopper. I think this can be very useful for back players who have a long, delayed break and shoot a lot. After they shoot all 400 balls out of the elongated nose (phase 2), they pop on the small nose and load another pod in, and boom. There you have it. A 230 ball hopper. Unfortunately, the hopper doesn't seem to be too adjustable with feed rates...But the controls are easy. Just press once to turn on, press once to turn off.

The plastic seems to be very durable, from what I have seen. The batteries are very very easy to install and uninstall. Cleaning is easy, partly because the front nose pops right off. To clean the internals, just unscrew all the screws, and go to work...

Oh yeah, forgot to mention, there is also a cool feature in the feed neck. It is a little flap sensor, that when pushed down, tells the board to load some more balls. This can clear up some troubles of faulty eye systems, etc.

I THINK the hopper is around $200, but can't be sure because we got it through a sponsor deal.
Conclusion: Overall, good product. A little pricey, but if you are willing to invest, try it. It appears bulky, but its on-field performance can be surprising. Definitely can be a competitor of the Halo's, Empires, etc. Awesome for back players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

floridajames04 Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Torque 440
VLocity JR
Reloader B
Halo W/ Rip
Egg 3
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
Strengths: Light
User Friendly
230 or 400 Paintballs !!!
RIPS !!!
Weaknesses: Besides Price ($150-180)
NONE
Review: Awesome , Cherry Popper 1st Post !!!

Ok well I can't really go into how much i got 6 of these little devils for but lets just say Evan hooked us up, Um its so simple to use !

Very Very Light with batteries , I own all the other hoppers as mentioned above and it really is the lightest.

I hooked it up to The G3 and put it on PSP mode and it stayed with the gun no problems and no Broken paint !!!

The batt compartment is really REALLY easy to get to you dont have to break open the hopper or disassemble anything ! Cleaning is easier also then any hopper because the nose cone in the front comes right off !

It doesnt have a consistent annoying winding noise like the Torque or Reloader thus saving on battery power !!!

It is big but if your a back player and not a WUSSY about how much it weighs off the break who cares, it serves its purpose by cutting down on reload time as a back player and you just just put the normal nose cone back on !

Watch this video and see for your self !!! http://youtube.com/watch?v=PToTEYtudGs

Thanks Evan your Hopper is by far better then anything I have EVER USED !!!!
Can't wait to see the new Carbon Fiber Hoppers !!!!
Conclusion: WARNING: May cause lots of attention wherever you go with this thing , simply smile and show off Perfection ! ; )
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 17th, 2008 at 4:56 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

death right Tuesday, June 23rd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
halos, rotor(tested)
Marker Setup: ul'ed pmr, ndz eyeplates, ndz back cap, ndz spring detents, dye dm feedneck, deadlywind fibur barrel, guerilla air 68-45

Strengths: Light, large capacity, simple operation, easy to clean
Weaknesses: Bulky, high center of gravity, what is quality control?
Review: I bought this loader when my halo started jamming, until then i had never broke paint in my pmr w/ eyes off(2 years). first game w/ pinokio, chop, second, chop, third, chop. ok whatever I'll finally send my rail in for the re-machined no-rollback bolt so I can use my eyes.
Meanwhile I decided to use the pinokio on my autococker. First loader of paint, halfway through it, chop chop dry dry dry dryfiring... wtf? I take the loader off and look inside, hmm theres goo in there, interesting. So I dump the paint in the trash and look inside, the impeller cup is full of broken paint, ok, but why isn't it at least feeding me sticky paintballs? I put my pinky in the feed neck to trip the bend sensor and it isn't there! That definately explains it, so I call Pinokio.
They tell me the bend sensor is probably stuck back in the recess and to pull it out with an oring pick, so I do just that and clean out the paint before I drop test it. One last check, the pinky test- its only activating the motor every 3rd or 4th time. So I dump a pod in anyway and it is feeding in surges. No bueno. EDIT: For you nitpickers out there, I was using RPS Premium paint, not some cheap walmart crap.
Conclusion: I like the idea of this loader a lot, simple operation, high capacity/super high capacity, but I haven't even put 2 cases of paint through it and my loader isn't loading? For $150 this should not happen. I know virtually no one has problems with the pinokio (that's why I bought it), but I did, so I'm giving it a 2. Flame on.
Maybe I'll edit this if pinokio sends me a new one for free and pays next day shipping, but it has to at least work until the first set of 9 volts die.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 23rd, 2009 at 2:07 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

xwedx Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular Gravity Fed Hoppers
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, Tippmann 98 Custom Pro Act, 14" Stiffi Barrel, Long Bow Stock, Response Trigger, 4X Scope, Dangerous Power Rev-i (KOHN SPORTS LASERING).
Strengths: Nose, Material, Reinforced Neck, 260 paintballs regular nose, approx 400 with the pinokio extended nose.
Weaknesses: **CUSTOMER SERVICE** will explain. bulky, it has its pros/cons (bigger target, fit more ammo).
Review: Great feel to this item. I Purchased it for $100.00 at Cousins Big Game. didn't get a chance to play with it that day. went speed balling with it and got shot on the hopper. Somehow the hopper got hit on the power button burning out my board. (not one chopped ball. Don't get me wrong this item seems good for the price i paid, expected more from Evan and his company, I spoke to him personally,,, just read) When my board burnt out I contacted pinokio hoppers telling them what happened, it took them 3 weeks to ship me out a new board and on top of that they mailed it inside a white envelope with no protection (yeah got me a broken board , oh yeah not to mention they didnt even put enough postage on the envelope). Its been about 1 month and 3 days since reported the burnt board and have yet to receive a fully functional well protected shipped board that Evan himself said he would ship June 26, 2009 and he has yet to ship out... PINOKIO (EVAN) NEEDS TO LEARN HOW TO BETTER SERVE HIS PATRONS, THOSE THAT OWN ONE OF OR SEVERAL OF THEIR PRODUCTS (I OWN 2 PINOKIO HOPPERS). The item seems solid but their quality of service is cheap, annoying, frustrating, unorganized. PINOKIO, IF YOU ARE IN IT JUST FOR THE MONEY RATHER THAN BE ONE OF THOSE NAMES RECOGNIZED FOR CRAFTSMANSHIP AND HIGH QUALITY SERVICE TO YOUR CLIENTS THEN GET OUT THE INDUSTRY, YOUR ITEM ISN'T A $5 HOPPER, YOUR SH1T IS WELL WORTH OVER $100.00.
Conclusion: Buy it for what it does, dont buy it in case something needs to be replaced. who knows how long you may have to wait to get something replaced. Items is Lifetime warraty but who has a lifetime to wait on replacement pieces, I WANT TO PLAY NOW. I am going to be fair on the quality of the product and rate it a 9, also factoring customer service they deserve a 1... this item Averages a 5, but its based on product quality and not the customer service so i gotta go with a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 8th, 2009 at 10:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brian dyas Saturday, September 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire reloader,vl evolution, halo b w/rip drive, Empire Prophecy with nose extension
Marker Setup: sp-1 98c stock adaptor, carr stock, clamping feed neck, Pinokio loader, virtue board, tech t upgrade bolt, c-series stiffi barrel with apex adaptor,apex head, cp regulator,custom paint job, Metadyne Havoc undermount launcher
Strengths: Massive payload
Weaknesses: Trying to refill the sucker
Review: Don't get me wrong, I like my Halo loader. But......it is limited capacity- wise. I've been looking at the Pinokio loader for a long time, and now I've finally broken down and gotten one. The first thing you notice when you open the box is the instructions, and how SHORT the "manual" is. This loader is so simple that its stupid. It works on the opposite principal than all other loaders. Normally, a loader senses a gap, and feeds a ball. The Pinokio works the opposite way. It loads when a ball passes the switch. Sound retarded? Well, its not, not at all.It makes the loader feed equal to your rate of fire. Just press the switch, and you are ready to go. No silly programming at all.My sp-1 rips away at 25 balls per second so I couldn't wait for the loader to fail. But it did not fail, it kept up perfectly.
I used the extended nose, so I could get a feel for it. Empty, it is so lightweight that you do not even notice it. It does get a bit heavy when fully loaded, but duh, it is 400 rounds! I personally like being able to carry a large load, as I will play a heavy gunner position.Also, I hate reloading in the middle of a firefight (the Pinokio gives you a huge edge here!) Another edge you may have is if your local field does not count gun hits. The Pinokio makes a great shield. The profile isn't all that bad with the nose extension, you really are no bigger a target than a guy with an A-5.
I've Written about how it works and how it feels, but how does it perform? Like I have mentioned before, the sp-1 that I use is simply BEASTLY. The Pinokio loader mated to my gun makes it simply devastating. I tore through almost two cases with it, no breaks, no jams, no problems at all, even running long sustained bursts. The closest thing that I had to a problem was people mobbing me after a game asking me about it, asking me to let them hold it (which was funny because my gun is HUGE). Anybody interested in a used halo? hahaha
Conclusion: This, in my opinion, is simply the best loader out there. If you are a heavy gunner, this loader is for you!! Even if you are not, just snap on the smaller nose cone and you have one heck of a great loader! Either way, you cannot go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DRTHV8R Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
from what i've owned and used...
pinokio > halo
pinokio > pulse
pinokio > empire b/b2/magna
pinokio > all viewloader hoppers
Marker Setup: System X NME #2041 Dust Graphite
Smart Parts q-lock
Evil Pipe Barrel Kit
Stiffi Pipe Tip
Evil Intimidator Front Block
AKA SCM III LPR
Evil On-Off ASA with Evil Rail
Evil On-Off ASA

Dangerous Power G3/IQ Dust Pewter
CP Sling Ball Bearings Trigger
Rendition Magnetic Trigger Kit
Pipe Kit
Stiffi tip for pipe kit

Pinokio
DXS Pulse
Empire Magna
Dye Throttle 70/4500
Ninja 50/4500
Strengths: Lightweight
Capacity
Quick
Battery
Profile
Reballs
Never jams
Everything!
Weaknesses: Can hang over end of marker on some markers
some consider ugly
Review: I picked up this hopper awhile ago and i absolutely love it, I would rather use this marker over any marker on the market at the moment.

The GOOD:
1.) the battery life is superb. I've been using it a long time and i'm still on my first set of batteries
2.) I use reballs alot since i'm pretty far up north. from october to april, all we do is reball. I bought a magna and a halo for a friend, specifically for reballs. my magna is now up for sale because the pinokio outperformed it and never jammed as the magna did.
3.) this hopper is very lightweight. it obviously gets much heavier as you put paintballs in it but without paint it is very light
4.) this is a very quick hopper, i've yet to shoot something this quick. it outperforms my magna speed-wise
5.) i like the capacity of it, without the nose cone. i have never used the nose cone and i still can reload the hopper to top it off without completely emptying it, something that many other hoppers can not do.
6.) the reinforced feedneck is great, the only complaint i have with it is that i have had markers that it won't fit on because it is too big. many twist-lock clamping feednecks have issues with it
7.) halo sized lid is also a plus, and makes upgrading for speedfeeds very easy. the lid also is very easy to open with the extended flaps if you aren't into speedfeeds.
8.) this hopper never jams. i've had jams with almost every hopper i've owned, except the pulse. this hopper just keeps on going.
9.) waterproof is always good. there are videos on how to clean it used water by just pouring it in
10.) no eyes, no sound. it is touch-activated. every time it feels a ball move in the feedneck, it shoves another one down. fail proof design
11.) great on-off button. empire and halo could have taken a lesson or two
12.) doesn't have tool less design, but you don't need it. it is stupidly simple to work on and you can get your hand inside to clean it with the nose-piece off
13.) many people complain about the profile. if you hold it side to side against a magna, it really isn't much taller (if at all) and is much narrower than many hoppers on the market. i actually like how the bulk of the mass and width is up high, so when i tilt my gun in, i actually get more of a field of view vs having the bulk of the hopper down low.
14.) very consistent, haven't had any problems with gaps or anything of the nature
15.) upgradeable p-board is insane fast
16.) just a great all around hopper

The BAD:
1.) some people don't like the looks of it. honestly, i didn't either at first, but it grows on you. pinokio hoppers is rumored to be making a 2nd gen of hoppers that looks sleeker and much better, more like their a5 hopper
2.) i have seen taht the hopper does not fit on markers such as the alien independence, to where the hopper actually sits so low that the bolt pin hits the bottom of the hopper. some markers also, like the 06/07 cybord, dp fusions and some older autocockers with the feedneck more towards the middle/rear of the gun vs more the front, may also have issues with the hopper sticking out a bit. i don't really find this that big of a deal on the g3, but i can see where it might be an issue for front players

i have nothing more to complain about on this hopper
Conclusion: I would definately recommend this hopper to anyone. they are a bit pricey, but well worth the investment. everywhere i go, people are sceptical about using them, and honestly, i was too at first. but to this day, i have never had a complaint about it at the field, never had a problem with it while playing, and it just keeps going day after day. i would definately say to pick this up. as for a rating, nothing is perfect, but i honestly think that right now on the market, this hopper is as close to perfect as perfect gets.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joshtrel99 Saturday, March 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo - nice, but hate to hold on the power button
Evo II & III - Like the switch, but hate that they keep running when out of paint
Marker Setup: DP G3SE, Pinokio Loader, 45/45 CF
Strengths: One touch on, lightweight, large capacity nose, reinforced neck
Weaknesses: Reinforced neck is a bit wide, but thats about it
Review: The best thing about this hopper is the one touch button. I *LOVE* how you tap it on and tap it off. I *HATE* having to hold on the Halo button for it to power up.

Second best thing is the extended capacity nose. Obviously it holds more paint, so it makes your setup heavier, but with the standard size nose, it is still big.

Finally, accessibility is awesome! Since you can take off the front, you have a better/bigger access point to the guts when compared to trying to get in from the fill hole.

Conclusion: My G3 hasn't outrun it. It looks good, offers the extended capacity and is easy on/off. I am THRILLED with this over my halo. I am happy I spent the money for the best hopper in the industry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gambo47 Wednesday, September 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution 3, Viewloader
Marker Setup: Ego 7 Disruption model with SL74 OOPs, board, eyes and zick kit.
Strengths: This Hopper is very lightweight. ... it is just the way its made.
Weaknesses: Can't think of any at the moment
Review: A simple design that offers a high storage capacity, a high feed speed of 30bps. good on batteries and you also get an extension for those days when 250 balls just aint enough for the start of a game.
I even filmed it in use...http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=-fKpfIOWtts
and its great to be able to keep the paint flying whilst everyone else isreloading!
I was waiting for an NXe Jrny, now i am glad that was delayed as now I have a Pinokio!

The battery cover is secure so wont fall off in use. The lid is sprung and the opening will take crowns for fast reloading. The feedneck is strengthened with ribbing which keeps it rigid and secure when locked on.
the on off button is simple ie when the hopper is on the green light is on!
no eyes to worry about too.,
Conclusion: It's weight combined with the low draw on batteries and reliability plus the super easy way to clean the inside should make this a No1 choice for many!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Moppy Sunday, February 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fasta
Tippmann Triumph
Regular Grav. Feed
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra

or

ULT RT Automag
Apex Barrell
92/4500
Strengths: Feeds fast
Easy on batteries
One button
Regular sized feedneck
Capacity versatility
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Price
Batteries are hard to pull out...they are a little wedged in there
Review: Before I owned this I had just broke a Fasta by ripping its feedneck off. So I searched the market for another hopper (because I didn't want another Fasta) that would do just as good as the Fasta but was a different brand. When my brother first brought this home I was a little skeptical about using it. I went out with the 230 round front on it and I was quite surprised that it worked just as well and as fast as the Fasta. So after a couple of games I cracked out the 400 round front and it was the most amazing thing I have ever played with. I can only remember a couple of times having to load it in the middle of a skirmish, and i find myself being able to outlast opponents in a firefight. The weight of the front actually counter-balances my 92/4500 so i find myself being able to rest it easier between my hands instead of just my firing hand. I use rechargeable batteries and so far I have never lost power. Cleaning is a breeze but taking the batteries out can be a bit of a finger breaker. The lid closes solidly and the feedneck seems tough enough.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone who finds themselves with a small gun and a big tank. Also, if you are constantly having to reload this can solve your problem. Now if only the batteries could come out a little easier...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media