paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Lightning Bolt / AKA Lightning Bolt / AKA Lightning Bolt / AKA Lightning Bolt / AKA Lightning Bolt

AKA Lightning Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Lightning Bolt

Paintball Autococker Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Lightning Bolt
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The lightning bolt drasticly increases air flow over other bolts. (average velocity increase is 30 to 70 fps) It increases velocity and allows for reductions in operating pressures. 12:00 index mark for accurate insertion Accepts AKALMP Evolution style pull pins Uses three low drag urethane o-rings or the newer design with two o-rings. Hard anodized and nickel plated. Also availible with the "z" cut patterns. Available for standard cockers, STO's, Predators and Evolutions.
Product Availability 
The AKA Lightning Bolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, February 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Stock, WGP Venturi, Shocktech's Supafly.
Marker Setup: 2K2 Custom 'Cocker wearing a DYE swing, Palmers Mini Rock front reg, Shocktech Bomb 4 way, STO Ram, Superfly bolt, Total Freak barrel kit and a 88ci FW Max Flow HPA system.
Strengths: An open faced bolt that is machined very well. Durable finish even with the milled lightening work. [ lightening as in weight reducing. ] All edges were neatly faced smooth and carry a uniform radius at the point of ball contact. Experienced zero ball breaks with this bolt.
Weaknesses: Cycled much slower than the Fly. Not exceptionally impressive at lowering the input pressure as advertised. Had a considerable amount of drag even compared to the stock bolt. The fact is costs 14 more dollars for the pull pin set is a huge set back, especially considering it costs nearly 55 bucks with only a marginal improvement over the stock WGP open face bolt.
Conclusion: My findings while running this bolt were a bit under par. Sweet spotting the reg, (as any good shooter knows), unfortunately did NOT show the exaggerated drop in pressure as claimed. I won't say it's not possible, but would gamble it's only true for older pre 2K cocker bodies. Their internal air chambers of signifigantly smaller diameter would benefit from the higher flow this bolt provides. Don't expect miracles with the newer ones. I was also displeased that the bolt rode with greater resistance than that of the stock WGP offering. After about 2000 rounds, this bolt showed odd wear patterns transfered to the body of the marker. Not a good thing. I used a Superfly bolt prior and was pleased with the ease of cycling and its gentle interaction with paint. It's now back in service and will be staying there. This bolt earns an 8 rating on performance, but due to its inflated price, it only deserves a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Redeye_Jedi Saturday, August 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock cocker bolt
Marker Setup: 02 Vert, cocker. Different Barrels. Shocktech front pneumatics. Gladiator Reg. Conquest 68/4500. Sonic RED Valve and Hammer kit. DYE hinge. Dye Stickys. Shocktech slanted beaver tail. AKAlmp Lighting bolt.
Strengths: This bolt gives the bolt chamber a good seal through the use of it's o-rings. A good seal is important to avoid blowback. It is a very high flow bolt. I haven't compared it to the stock bolt by fps, but you can see the difference when comparing how much more air can pass through air hole of the lightning bolt. The bolt has a grove for the ball detent and the end of the bolt is angled to cup the paintball better.
Weaknesses: After a while, I've noticed that my bolt was getting a little scratched up. However, there is no performance drop from it. You have to keep it oiled, but that's not hard to do. It's one of the most expensive bolts out there. But, it's performance reflects its price.
Conclusion: The best low pressure bolt in the industry. Actually the delrin akalmp lightning bolt is the very best, if you got the money, and if you can find one. But this baby provides a high flow of air that is needed in a low pressure cocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

binks Saturday, January 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I had one in my old spyder.
On a cocker: stock, old ans venturi
Marker Setup: sys x with:
palmer stab
aka tornado valve and lightning bolt
freak barrel system
hi rise
pmi 68 3000psi and drop
12v revvy
Strengths: It will lower your opperating pressure slightly by using it just by itself. Quality of construcion is second to none and the z-cuts are nice. It has a groove on top of the but end of the bolt so you can't install it upside down. You can also get a pushpin conversion for it. Go to Ravis' site to see his thoughts on the bolt.
Weaknesses: Very tight fit in the tube. Thats it.
Conclusion: This is probably the best mod I've done to my 'cocker. Check out Ravis' site.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dirtraven1 Wednesday, December 5th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
STO Venturi Bolt, ANS QP Bolt, 2k Stock Bolt, Bob Long Venturi
Marker Setup: 2k Cocker, Chrome ANS Pneumatic, ERGO Reg, Dye Titanium Barrel, Nickel Lightning Bolt, Shocktech Chrome trigger frame, Kapp DZ Cradle, Nitro Duck 38/3K
Strengths: Very nice finish
Indent for the ball detent
Increase in velocity without doing a thing
Lowers input valve pressure
Can take Evolution Style Pin
Weaknesses: Probably the most expensive bolt on the market.
Bit on the heavy side (non Z-cut version) since it is pretty much a straight tube design and not milled down like hour-glass shape.
A bit louder than Venturi-style bolts
Conclusion: Works in both high and low pressure guns and you will definitely see an improvement even just as a direct replacement over your stock bolt. It is a bit heavier than any bolt I've ever used so a small increase in your LP regulator is needed. It is a bit louder than than Venturi, but if your using an Autococker, it doesn't matter casue they will hear the back block go clank anyways. Get the nickel version if you can, it is slightly smoother over the annodized version.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hotshotCN1 Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock wgp bolt
Marker Setup: 2002 wgp vert. feed autococker-Dye bstick barrell-crossfier nitro tank
Strengths: Have not yet seen a ball break, and very statisfied with its performance.
Weaknesses: The integrity of the lightning bolt lowering input pressure is questionable.
Review: Def. a lighter bolt and well made strong product. The lightining design is the key factor to it being lighter bolt. The lightning bolt does increase the air flow over the bolt which is noticeable. The performance of the bolt def. makes your gameing a lot better in that it provides comfort in every trigger pull.
Conclusion: Overall I think it's a little pricey and not convinced that it lowers the input pressure noticeably. Although, it is lighter and it increases air flow over the bolt. If you were to purchase the lightning bolt look on e-bay first-my friend found one for $36 dollars cheaper than the $54 i paid. Yes I am happy with its performance overall.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

^Psycho^Skillz^ Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: 2k Cocker, Bomb 3way, Rock reg, Lit Bolt, Eclipse Hinge,
Strengths: I chrono'd 280 with my stock bolt, put this boy in and I chrono'd at 340!
Got the matching AKA cocking rod/pull pin (like $25 total) looks really sweet :)

Allows for a great reduction in pressure when paired with a high flow valve you can easily get that ball pinch action
Can't wait for my rocket valve.. :D
Weaknesses: Kinda pricey...
Conclusion: Excellent product, does what they say it will do. A little bit expensive and mine got some weird lines on it after I used it on the first day...no difference in the way it works tho, dunno what they are.

All in all, a great bolt if your planning on taking the road to LP but may not be necessary for only slight improvements (get cheaper bolts for that...perhaps the superfly)

Lets not forget, AKA makes some good ish!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 99cocker
dye aluminim
feak barrel kit
lightning bolt
palmer micro rock front reg
ans 3way
32* ram
rat 3valve
kapp cradle
kapp beavertail
ans genx reg
dye trigger frame
dye sticky's
kapp backblock
rock knob
black tigger shoe
pmi 88 4500 tank
Strengths: brought up my velocity 30fps (same pressure and everything i chronoed 280 with this bolt stuck the stock one back in and chronoed 250)

looks nice
can take a evo style pullpin
Weaknesses: i tryed using it with my kapp back block and it fit fine but when cocked it wouldnt clear the feed tube which caused balls to not feed,i retimed the cocking rod and it still did it.. i even adjusted the pump arm and stuff then when used with my stock backblock it wouldnt fit,the holes for the pull pin were off by like 3mm,the holes on the bolt needed to be about 3mm bigger and i didnt want to send the bolt back so i just took a drill and drilled the holes out with a drill bit about 4mm bigger and it fit fine (by the way the bolt and kapp backblock were both for a 99 (after i made the holes bigger it worked fine)
Conclusion: very good bolt other than the small problem i had with it,im going to give it a 10 although i had the small problem,this bolt works like no other.....so get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
G1 Slingshot bolt, 98 autococker bolt
The Slingshot was quieter by virtue of its restricted discharge port
The stocker bolt wasn't nearly as nice nor as efficient
Marker Setup: 98 Cocker w/AKALMP LP internals, Rock, quickswsitch, 45 grip, Vigilante/WGP reg on CO2, DYE alum. barrel
Strengths: Finish is quite smooth and durable, although nothing stops the eventual scuffing from the bolt moving back and forth, especially on the ball detent. The O-rings provide very light drag, but not so little that the bolt can fall open when you don't want it to. Normal urethane tank O rings work great on it. The notch in the back means I'll never put it in the wrong way. The Eclipse-stype pin retention option is good, although I don't use it. This bolt is EFFICIENT! Awesome! I'm down very near 200psi which allows me to run CO2 quite well. Gets a good deal more shots per cylinder too.
Weaknesses: LOUD! It's passing the gas through very freely, so that's to be expected. Mine is an early Lightning bolt, which had a front O-ring (3 total). This O-ring always cut on my ball detent, so I eventually left it off. Performance did not suffer. Late model bolts don't have a groove for this front ring at all, so it's clear that it's not really necessary.
Conclusion: You get what you pay for with this product -- superior performance and quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: This bolt incresed my velocity by 40 FPS. I was shooting around 260 FPS at the local indoor field, then i went to my local outdoor and put in the Lightning Bolt and my velocity was at 305 FPS. I had to CRANK my pressure down to get it under 280 FPS. My 2001 STO is now shooting 275 FPS consistently with an input pressure of 205 PSI.
Weaknesses: The only thing about this bolt that could possibly be considered bad is the price. While it is expensive, it is by far the best bolt ive ever used. And yes ive used the supafly.
Conclusion: If youre in the market for a bolt, there is no need to look anywhere else. This bolt will give you a ton more velocity, allowing you to lower your operating pressure tremendously.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMuRph1018 Sunday, September 9th, 2001
Strengths: Got It like 4 months ago and have not broke one ball yet. With my old bolt pressure was at about 450 500 going into the gun and chrono-ing at about 250. When I put this bolt in my cocker the velocity shot up to around 280. Also increased the consistancy from +-4 to +-2 which is pretty good for just gettin this bolt. Get this bolt, you won't regret it. Also team it with the akalmp tornado valve or a rat III valve from shoktech to make the ultimate LP gun. You will also need a good adjustable reg to control velocity because when you have LP you dont use the regular velocity adjustment because the changes with that will be too ingnificant to notice.
Weaknesses: Nothing
Conclusion: Just buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media