paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder VS1 / Kingman Spyder VS1 / Kingman Spyder VS1 / Kingman Spyder VS1

Kingman Spyder VS1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder VS1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder VS1
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
he VS Series has taken an unprecedented step forward in paintball marker performance while still maintaining the simplicity and reliability of the classic Spyder design. By using a lightweight Striker and an all new Delrin bolt construction, Spyder engineers reduced the reciprocating weight of the VS Series marker internals which increased the stability of the marker during high rates of fire. Equipped standard with a paintball detection system, the VS Series Infra-red break beam eyes check the breach for a paintball before allowing the marker to fire. This system eliminates the chances of "chopping" paintballs. Spyder technology now allows the new VS1 paintball marker to function at high rates of fire using either CO2 or Compressed Air.

Features:
* Light weight bonded polymer grip frame
* Multi-modes of operation (semi-auto eyes on, semi-auto eyes off, and 3 burst)
* Tournament lock
* Rate of fire up to 20 bps
* Push button membrane selector switch
* Break beam eye ball detection system
* Pull-pin top cocking knob
* Quick access delrin bolt
* Dual rubber ball detents
* 10" muzzle break barrel
* No-slip wrap around grip
* 3-way adjustable two finger trigger
* Vertical inline expansion chamber
* Compatible with CO2 or Compressed Air
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder VS1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
the_pikiee Friday, August 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix pro 05,spyder sonix 07,tippman 98 custom,these are all mechanical the vs1 is my first electric
Marker Setup: spyder vs1
16inch barrel
clamping feedneck
viewloader evo3 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW FEEDNECK and maby a barrel
Strengths: Its fast with up to 20bps.
Cheap.
Consistent(for co2).
Has eyes..

Weaknesses: The feedneck.
Barrel.
Its ugly.
Review: I brought my new spyder vs1 from a online trading site new for nz$200.after i quick look i knew there was room for improvement.145nz$ later i now have a viewloader evo3 hopper 16inch barrel and a clamping feedneck.iv been using for about 3 months now not a single problem it can keep up with some of the higher end gun and costs a fraction of what they did.
Conclusion: Im very happy with my vs1 its everything i need for paintball at the moment great value for money
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 21st, 2008 at 5:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rhyscathym Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Guns
Marker Setup: Spyder VS1
Vlocity Jr.
J&J Full Tilt Ceramic Barrel
CP Clamping Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel ~ Stock one is decent though
Strengths: Price
Simplicity
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: I am basically completely new to the sport, so take this review at face value from a person who isn't that experienced.

My first two experiences playing paintball were with a rental gun, as I'm sure most people's are, and as I'm sure most people experience, those guns just can't really cut it. The second time I played with a rental, I really did not enjoy my time whatsoever, the gun would chop the paint all the time, and my shots would never go in a straight line. Looking back, I paid about $40 in paint plus another $40 for the field and equipment rental. Now when you look at the amount of money going into a rental experience, and the actual enjoyment you are going to get out of it, buying an inexpensive gun is a worthwhile investment, even for casual novice players.

I have gone out another couple times with my new VS1 and I've had a friggin' blast. I was able to hold my own and PLAY, now I know why people love this sport! The price for this marker is higher than the ultra cheap paintball kits, but I can say after playing with this gun it was definitely worth it.

Cleaning and maintaining this gun is a breeze, the bolt is very easy to take out to allow full access to the chamber and barrel.

Now when I went to purchase this gun I was really torn between the VS1 and the VS2. They were both being sold for the exact same price, $150. I ended up going for the VS1, simply because I am a more casual player and the VS2 looked more high-maintenance. Many people were complaining about the re-cocking issues with the VS2 and it sounded like it took a bit of upkeep to ensure those problems would not occur. Therefore I purchased the VS1 so I wouldn't have to worry about anything, and so far the VS1 has been absolutely solid for me.

Accessories:
I feel that the accessories I purchased for the VS1 probably outclass the marker. Just in case I wanted to upgrade in the future, I wanted to spend a little bit more on the hopper so that I could transition it with me. So I bought a Vlocity Jr. for $80 almost half the price of the marker! Yeesh. But I've yet to chop any paint, and this could be a huge factor in that. The feedneck the others have listed as a weakness is a JOKE, it literally broke on me the second time I went to tighten down my hopper... now I can be a little overzealous in tightening my screws but c'mon the thing was a plastic piece of junk. I bought a CP clamping feedneck, which dropped the height of the hopper and is much more solid feeling. The barrel is a tad short, I upgraded to a 14" barrel and noticed an increase in both range and accuracy, especially during the 3 burst mode.

The weakest part of the gun that I can see, keep in mind I know pretty much nothing of the internals/regulator, would be the trigger. It just feels flimsy the way it wobbles back and forth, but at the end of the day it gets the job done, so no real complaints.
Conclusion: Looking for a gun that will allow you to go out and PLAY and have a good time? I can completely recommend the VS1 for that.
BTW - why is this website so overbloated with 10 ratings?
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 8th, 2008 at 2:14 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pblr555 Monday, July 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Any spyder clone
Marker Setup: A Spyder VS1 with a 12" Stryker Carbon Fiber Barrel And A stock VL Triton II
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Possibly a new board but it's not necessary
Strengths: Light
Fast
Looks Decent
Eyes
Durable
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Review: So I've had this marker for about a month. I've shot it some and it works really well. It's really fast, and the 3 burst works really well. The eyes work perfectly, and they don't diminish the firing speed. The only problem I've found is the feed neck. It needs an adaptor for a hopper, and that makes you a larger target to get shot at, but it's only a problem if you play speedball and they count gun hits. It gets up to about 20 bps and for the price of $150 at wal-mart it's a great deal. It also comes with a 1 year warrenty, which I also want to point out that if you use a regular 9-volt bttery to power the electronics, the warrenty is voided.

**Update**

Ok so I just used it in a game for the first time. It was just me and my friend playing 1 on 1 woodsball. Out of 4 games, I won 3, and we're pretty evenly matched. My Spyder VS1 eaisly outshot his A-5. I never chopped / broke a ball, so the eyes worked fine. Overall, a very good gun.

**Another Update**

My friend who has the A-5 and I played again, and we decided to do a little test. He has a 20 oz. co2 tank with a shut-off valve. He gassed his gun up and turned the tank off. He was able to shoot 4 times before the gun couldn't recock. I tried the same thing with my VS1. I was able to shoot 30 times before it couldn't recock. This gun is obviously very co2/air effecient.
Conclusion: Overall, it's a great gun that would work great for any new player who wants a good gun to start out with, or a little more experianced player like me who want's to replace the piece of junk that he bought to start out with. ; )
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 11th, 2008 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

betterthenyou Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: stock vs1
viewloader force
20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a longer barral (i dont mind the stock barral that much)
a clamping feed neck this is a MUST
Strengths: fast
All metal
Acurate
Just an awesome gun
Eyes
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: this is a really really good gun it shoots pretty straght even with a 9 inch barral. It shoots about 20bps so that is pretty fast for the price that you pay for it. It has a nice look to it and comes in many differant colors well i think like 3 or 4 so not that many but o well. it has a nice trigger that you can adjust with the allan keys that you get with it. The eyes work great i have not choped one ball with the eyes on and i shot about 2000 balls out of it. The bored is ok it has semi and 3 shot burst i think at first they had a full auto but i dont know what happend to that.
Conclusion: So in conclusion this is an awesome gun and i recommend this gun to any one just starting out or even more high end players as a backup gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beniscancer Monday, September 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Genesis, Spyder Victor 1/2, Pilot ACS, Electra, Autococker Trilogy Comp.
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy Comp. w/ VL Revolution, 16" CP classic
Spyder VS1, w/ eV3 VL, 14" JT
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck
New barrel (optional)
New trigger (optional)
Ball Detents
Strengths: Weight
Price
Eyes
Looks
Durable
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Barrel
Trigger wobble
Review: Alright when I first bought this gun I was somewhat skeptical about it because I usually play with mechanical. I had to look at review after review until I knew for sure that it was a well put together marker. The first time I played with this it was woodsball because that is all I play. It worked so well in this bushes and rugged terrain. The only main problem I had with it was the feedneck because it raised my eggy 3 very high and got shot. It was pretty loud, but that was an advantage somewhat because when people hear this thing they think it will pearce their skin. ; ) The only time I chopped with this gun was when I forgot to turn on the eyes and was using crappy paint. I have used this gun in almost every weather condition you could think of and it still keeps working as if I just bought it.

Strengths:
If you can find a gun this cheap that is electric and has eyes, that is a great deal. The upgrades are minimal because there aren't too many upgrades, but the upgrades you can get are not severe or pricy. The eyes work very well, I have never had a chop when using them, but make sure if you ever chop with this gun clean the eyes or they won't work right.

Weaknesses:
Starting with the feedneck as the mainweakness. I would recommend the ccm clamping feedneck. This will help a lot in the long run because the nasty extra plastic piece that you have stock with it is just too high and will get your hopper shot easily. Just as my opinion I would go with a new barrel because the stock is only 9" and loud. The whole trigger wobble is just another optional upgrade because it only has a little looseness to it.

Conclusion: Overall this gun is a reliable electric gun for a beginner or someone with low cash. This gun won't let you down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

iSuryoyo Saturday, January 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder VS1
14 inch Proto barrel
Evolution 3 hopper
Trinity clamp feedneck
Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
16 inch or less barrel
NEW FEEDNECK (THIS IS A MUST)
Strengths: light
fast
good price
durable
has EYES :)
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: The Kingman Spyder Vs1 is a great gun for beginners to intermediate. When I got this gun, the only thing i hated about it was the feedneck because it was like a target for the enemy. So i recommend getting a clamp feedneck. I once charged my battery for 1 hour and 30 minutes and was working still after 2 hours of playing.

It's a loud gun BTW :P.
Conclusion: Overall, it's a great gun for paintballing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 10th, 2009 at 11:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnipaMike92 Monday, December 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, spyder electra, tippman a-5, proto rail, smart parts ion, us army project salvo
Marker Setup: Spyder vs1- matte blue
J&J ceramic 14in barrel
Invert Halo Too loader (black)
48ci/4500 psi N2 tank
CCM clamping feedneck
Evrything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck!
Barrel for better accuracy
Trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Fast
Looks
Co2/nitro efficient
Reliable
Good all around gun
Weaknesses: Trigger
Feedneck
Review: I bought this gun to just start out into paintball. I opened it up and I thought that it was a cool gun, I was totally new to the sport at this time. I went out to play as soon as I got it and I got raped by high tech nerds with shockers and dyes. This gun was not ready yet for some hardcore action. It was set up with a standard VL 200 loader and a 20 oz. C02 tank with everything stock. I later looked into the upgrades I could purchase for the VS1. I then decided to get a new barrel and compressed air. These made the gun a lot more efficient and it handled better with range and accuracy. A MUST FOR THIS GUN IS A NEW FEEDNECK!!! The feedneck that comes with it is a piece of s**t plastic. It sticks up the hopper very high and leaves you as a nice target for opponents. A clamping feedneck is defnitely a need if you don't want to be an easy target on the field. After upgrading this gun, it can keep up with some high end guns and you can hold your own on the field against all the expensive guns. This gun can be used effectively in woodsball and speedball depending on the upgrades you purchase for it or just the type of player you are. As I continue to play more updates will come....

Update 1-
I have been using this gun for a little more than a year now and I have been pleased with its performance. It had not once let me down. No broken balls with about 7 to 10 cases put through it. I use the eyes all the time with be revvy just to be sure a ball doesn't break. Woodsball or speedball this guna performs and keeps up. A very go0d gun for any situation, with more upgrades this gun will be ridiculous...
Conclusion: This gun is decent and as of now it is my primary gun... very reliable and an overall good gun there are some weaknesses so it will not receive a 10.....
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 26th, 2009 at 9:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sjking922 Saturday, October 11th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP synergy- ALOT better, same price, better look.
Marker Setup: Danger Power g3
Eggy 3 W/ Z board
45/4500
----------------------------
Spyder Vs1
aim 2 piece barrel
Archon hopper
9oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A two piece barrel over 10 inches but under 16. With the gun you loose accrecy after 16 inches.
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Incosistancy
trigger
Hoses
FEED NECK
Review: Ok so i got this gun for this sponsorship thing

when i opened it,
it was the wrong color
i had to buy a new feed neck because spyder likes to be different
the trigger had a 1 inch front to back wobble, and 4mm side wobble
Why doesnt it have modes for tournaments... now i have to buy a 100$ board

when i shot it,

ok, that LPR is just for the looks, it doesnt make the air any more cosistant than a flat line. it was so incosistant that when i shot it, paintballs would catch up with the previous one, or the first would be too slow. the HPR did it job so the co2 wouldnt explode on me, but why is it so big?
I learned after i put 10 cases through it that you need to replace the internal hoses after about 10 cases.
oh yea, it had a 30 yard spread of 2 feet....


wow so yea, im sticking with my Dangerous power g3.... Im selling this gun for 50$... what it should cost... Email me sjking922@gmail.com

i give it a 3 out of 10. This is compared to a DLX Luxe.
Conclusion: Why... Its just like all their other guns
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

snakeseatcans32 Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion, Smart Parts Vibe, Kingman VS2, Kingman VS3, Proto SLG, Proto Rail, Indian Creek Designs Promaster.
Marker Setup: Kingman VS1
Supersoft Spring (brand unknown)
Custom Parts Clamping feedneck
14 Inch Smart Parts Progressive
Gangstar Vlocity JR w/ Ultrasoft crown
Stock trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL!
softer spring
new feedneck
Strengths: VERY FAST (specially with virtue board)
great eyes
very easy clean
incredibly light
price
Weaknesses: VERY LOUD
Chops old paint
Stock spring kicks
Review: I tested many guns, i picked the VS1 because its very cutomizeable, and even though spyders are usually terrible guns, i say this is an exception. I took it over the ion because i did not need 600$ dollars worth of upgrades and new bolts and triggers and barrels. i spent about 400$ tuning it and upgrading it, and i prefer it to the ego8 and ego 9 markers now that i upgraded it to the point where it cannot be recognized.
its a horrible marker unless you spend hundreds of dollars upgrading it.
by now, it is performing so well that i would not trade it for anything except an SL8, a LUXE, or an Autococker Karnivore.
Conclusion: If you want a super customized gun, BUY IT. if you want a super customized gun for playing the back cans, or if you want a closed bolt, get an ION, although as a snakeman, id take this marker. If you want to buy it for the cost, just get a smart parts vibe.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 21st, 2009 at 3:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patatoehead13 Wednesday, August 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot and misfit syndicate
Marker Setup: spyder vs1,16'' smart parts liner barrel, evolution2, clamping feedneck,and 20ounce
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck,electronic hopper,and upgraded barrel
Strengths: Very sensitive trigger and 20 bps
Weaknesses: Only semi and burst3
Review: Great marker shoots great,i love it as a speedball and woodsball gun it works good with both sides of paintball. I like the eyes they never chop a paintball ive never chopped a paintball with this gun or evolution 2 hopper. Its a good gun easy to change tournament lock on it. Really easy to change modes from semi to burst3.
Conclusion: Awesome marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media