paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Straightline / Tippmann Straightline / Tippmann Straightline

Tippmann Straightline Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Straightline

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Straightline
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $149

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann Launches StraightLine™ Barrel with True Rifled Technology

6/12/2008

New barrel designed specifically for Tippmann’s X7 and A-5 markers offers ultimate accuracy

BUFFALO GROVE, Ill. Tippmann Sports is excited to launch a new, special edition StraightLine barrel for woodsball that was designed to complement the look of Tippmann X7 and A-5 markers. The new, 16"e; barrel was created through a partnership with HammerHead®, a longtime leader in paintball barrel design, and offers unmatched quality and performance characteristics.

Tippmann’s new StraightLine is a gun-drilled barrel that incorporates true rifling to enhance ball rotation for improved ball flight and unmatched accuracy. It includes three seamless connection sizers (.688, .686 and .683), which can be used to match the dimensions of a paintball to barrel radius for optimal air efficiency. It also features a removable, military-style muzzle break with reverse porting to enhance performance and provide an authentic look. The new StraightLine will fit all shrouds and foregrips for Tippmann’s X7 and A-5 markers.

"The StraightLine is a logical extension to our existing line of barrels, which includes the patented Flatline Barrel System and our Sniper barrel," said Patrick Ehren, vice president of sales and marketing for Tippmann Sports. "We’ve considered and tested numerous barrels over the years. However, it was paramount that we only introduce another Tippmann barrel if it was truly innovative and offered superior accuracy and efficiency characteristics when compared to other, similarly priced barrels. And, after months of testing and working closely with our friends at HammerHead, we’ve got the barrel we’ve been waiting for."

"This is a great product that offers loyal Tippmann players the very best accuracy technology in paintball," said Paul Judson, vice president of HammerHead. "Others have attempted rifling using straight rifling or perpendicular spiral porting to create rotation, with questionable success. But, the HammerHead technology that has been integrated into the new StraightLine uses helix and spiral rifling, in combination with reverse porting, to control ball rotation and minimize the pressure wave and air turbulence at the muzzle – resulting in significantly straighter, more accurate shots."

The special edition StraightLine barrel will be sold in a complete kit featuring three sizers, a carrying case and lithium grease. It will be available in mid-June 2008 for $149 at select paintball retailers nationwide. However, the new barrel is set to debut at Oklahoma D-Day, June 9-15, where The Hellions from CPX and the SPC team from Glasgow Scotland are scheduled to storm the field using the StraightLine
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Straightline is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Spartan0220 Tuesday, September 23rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive, Tear Drop, Flat Line
Marker Setup: I used to have a Tippman 98 Custom. Now i use only a Tippmann A-5 with a collapsible stock, Tru-Glo Halo Red Dot sight, M-16 for arm, and a Tippmann X7 Hopper on the A-5
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nelson Anarchy is the most reliable and Accurate paintball EVER Made Its Perfect for this.
or second best is DraXxuS Recsport.
Strengths: Accuracy
Accuracy
Accuracy
Intimidation
LOUD!!!
Weaknesses: None, except if you like quite barrels then this is not for you.
Review: OK... The Barrel is Great! I can not express this enough. Its made by Hammer Head. The riffling in the barrel makes the ball spin to increase accuracy which leads to tighter groupings. At 50 yards i can constantly hit a paper plate EVERY TIME. Also with the barrel being riffled it puts such a spin on the ball it flies faster through the air which will allow you to be able to turn your CO2 velocity down to save air. I shoot 16oz CO2 tanks with my velocity turned a little above 1/4 of the way up but well below 1/2 way and at 50 yards the paint balls are not dropping a bit and on top of that i leave a welt through two t-shirts. Again that's at 50 yards YA IT HITS HARD!!. ( Just think of it as a pitcher throwing with the same amount of energy and power, a fastball compared to a knuckle ball... enough said ). I have had only 1 ball break in the barrel out of 5000 shots and believe it or not the barrel is very easy to clean. i recommend a squeegee with one of those fuzzy cloths on the end to get between the riffling grooves. The best part tho is the Straightline is LOUD!!! some people don't like that but i do. Because when your sitting around with your buddies before the game and shooting around they will see how accurate it is and how hard it makes the balls hit it puts a fear factor into the game when you start shooting at somebody. I Was on top a hill in the woods over looking the playing field when i shot at my friend during a game his entire team heard that A-5 go off and they all jumped into cover. I started laughing.
Conclusion: Great buy this product if you have the money you will no be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

ghoststorm11 Thursday, January 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" Sniper Barrel
Apex Barrel
Flatline Barrel
Stock A-5 Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 E-grip WAS board
Techt vortex mod
QEPH
Lightning Rod
Squishy Paddles
Blade Trigger
Straight Line Barrel
Opsgear AK-47 body shroud
Opsgear collapsible forgrip
Opsgear AK-47 folding Stock
EZ Sling
Rap4 Tactical Ten Vest
DXS 68ci/4500psi
JT Specta Mask
NC star red dot scope
Tiberius Tac 8 Pistol
Tiberius Tac 8 Pistol Magazines
Opsgear MP7 barrel and barrel tip for Tiberius Tac 8 Pistols
Misc. Scenario gear
Recommended
Paintballs:
The better the quality, the better the accuracy. I used "white box".
Strengths: Matte Finish
Extremely accurate
Loud*
Comes with different bore sizes
Weaknesses: Loud*
Long
Price
Review: When I tested this barrel at D-Day Oklahoma, I was extremely impressed with the quality of the barrel. So I bought it as soon as it was available to the public. The first aspect I noticed when I shot through the barrel was the tight grouping at about 70 feet. The grouping was about 6 inches in diameter. Another great aspect was matte finish. The reason I like this is because my marker does not give away my position. In other words, the barrel does not reflect light. I personally like the sound of the barrel. It is a loud barrel from where you are standing. The barrel is much quieter down range. One drawback the the length of the barrel. When you are playing in close quarters, this barrel is way too long. I suggest a side-arm or an alternative gun/barrel combination for close quarters. This barrel matches my playing style (MIl-sim) which is why I give it a 10.
If you like scenario and you want accuracy over range, buy this barrel. If you want range over accuracy, buy a flatline. One other drawback is that it is a little pricey.
Conclusion: I love this barrel. The pros far outweigh the cons. If you enjoy scenario and Mil-sim, get this barrel. Period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

holmes11210 Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first rifled barrel
Dye Boomstick
Apex Barrel
Flatline Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann Project Salvo W/ Tippmann Straightline/Cyclone Feed System
Recommended
Paintballs:
At time of testing Used Diablo paint.
Strengths: Extremely Accurate
Lighter then Apex
3 Detachable sizers
Weaknesses: Expensive ($150)
Review: The Tippmann Straightline is an extremely accurate paintball barrel. Because I don't have the scientific know how to distinguish if the accuracy was due to the rifling or the sizer I was using I won't make any claims that rifling works or doesn't.

What I can say about this barrel is that at 25 feet I had fired 50 paintballs at a human cut out approx 5 feet tall and hit the target where I was aiming every shot. The spacing of the shots was amazing.

At 50 feet I had fired off 100 paintballs again nearly every shot placed exactly where I was aiming. At this point the center mass of the target was so full of paint that I began firing at the targets head area. This area was measured out to be approx 1x1 foot. At 50 feet I had missed 2 shot out of 30 that had painted by fence pink. Those 2 shots were early on in the firing cycle and I believe it was more user error then the barrel.

At 65 feet I had cleaned off the target so that I'd be able to see exactly where the balls were going and shot off the remaining 50 painballs that I had left. Every shot was aimed at center mass and every shot was a hit. At 65 feet though the spacing had spread out a bit.

This was by far the most accurate Barrel that I have ever used. Please keep in mind that I was using brand new paint that was visibly in good condition. Again I can't say that it was the rifling that caused the accuracy of the barrel but I can only assume that it had some factor.
Conclusion: It's my opinion that if you have the money go get this barrel. The price tag is a bit hefty but you might get lucky as I did and find it a bit cheaper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tcrawfo Monday, December 1st, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other actual rifled barrel. I have a 14" Tippmann Sniper Rifle Barrel, Flatline
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ E-Grips
Straightline
68 cu. Pure Energy Tank
Remote Line
Strengths: Accuracy, Mil-sim look, 3 ball sizers.
Weaknesses: Extremely Loud (reverse porting)
Review: The barrel has a good mil-sim look to it. Flat finish will not give away your position when camping. Changeable (purchase separatly) suppressor.

*Accuracy*
- Consistant ball placement at 60-70 ft.
- Accuracy went out the window when you break a ball. Luck to hit something 20 ft. away, takes 30 -40 ball to shoot clean. Hard to clean suppressor.

*Distance*
- Increase in range vs Tippmann 14" sniper barrel (+15 to 20 usable feet)
- Does not shoot as far as flatline, but more accurate

*Noise*
-Extremely loud compared to other barrels, not to bad down field (opponent direction) but the reverse porting makes the shots very loud. In scenerio ball the barrel really draws attention when fired.

*Paint Visibility*
-Interesting comment from a teammate here: He said that because of the rotation, it was extremely hard to see the paint coming. (Ball has noticable rotation)

*Paint Breakage*
- I shot a case of paint through this barrel during a scenerio, the paint was diablo. The gun/barrel was breaking every 30th ball when ramping. Annoying to clean with the rifling. Slowed the firing down and the breakage ceased to be a problem. Note** other players had issues with the paint breaking as well, not sure if it was the crappy paint or the barrel. Some might argue that I should try other paint but most of the time you are limited to field paint at fields and scenerios
Conclusion: Good barrel. Improved Accuracy of standard/moderate upgrades. Not tested with another high end barrel. The eight rating is from the noise and paint breakage.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

xXxCAPNxCHARxXx Thursday, February 18th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline Barrel
Tippmann/ Hammer Head shark tooth
Smart parts 14'' ceramic barrel
Marker Setup: A5 w/ ape board E-Trigger
Offset mount w/ tacticle red dot sight
Flatline with Tacticle shroud -or- Tippmann Straightline Barrel
Tippmann X-36 Folding stock
Low profile hopper
PMI 64/ 4500 HPA tank with PMI remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
I recommend fireballs, they are made by PMI and are only found at Hell Survivors playfield in Pinkney, Michigan.
I have used Draxxus hard shell stuff, I guess they would work well too.
Strengths: Accurate
Many ball sizers
rifled for paintballs
Nice carrying case
Weaknesses: Too long
not worth the $150 I paid for it
Acuracy
Review: I have been using this Barrel for 1.5-2 years now. I am going to make this review very unbiased and impartial. This is a very nice paintball barrel made by tippmann and hammer head. Yes, it is accurate. No, you cant pick people off from 70+ feet away.

Lets get one thing straight away right off the bat. Many people say that rifling helps with paintball accuracy, many people say rifling is just a marketing tool when it comes to paintball. There is a middle ground with this barrel. I would go out on a limb and say there is middle ground with any Hammerhead rifled barrel. This all depends on the ball you use. If you use cheap paint with a soft plastic shell, you will get mediocre performance. However, if you use a hard corn husk shell; epecially a smaller paintball, you will have pretty good usuage out of this barrel. Even though the paint you use does make a difference the biggest reason for the straightlines accuracy are the barrel inserts that need to match the specific ball caliber. This makes the ball 'pop' with greatly increased accuracy when shooting.

Dont expect to get the range of the flatline when using this barrel. You can expect to get really great accuracy with ball size and type when playing up to about 50 feet. Anything after that its just your typical hit or miss.

The barrel is very long. Its 14'' without the muzzle, 16'' with the muzzle. Anything after 12-14'' actually creates drag inside the barrel thus causing friction on the ball, decreasing accuracy. Since this barrel is rifled, it doesnt create as much drag as a smooth bore at this length but it does somewhat decrease accuracy from the less effecient air flow of a rifled barrel.

Conclusion: I personally dont think $150 is worth it. If youve got $150 laying around and cant think of anything else to spend it on then go for it. I do know that the Hammer head barrel (I cant remember the name at the moment) that this is compared to sells for half the price and is basically the same barrel. I would try that one unless you really want a nice carrying case.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

murthoj Sunday, October 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Apex
JJ ceramic
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Lapco ratchet and qeph, TechT piston and squishy paddles, Beoranged howitzer front bolt, Tippmann LPK hammer and cyclone hose, JCS red hot power tube, Maddmann springs, Palmer male stabilizer, APE rampage electronic trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo
Strengths: Paint to bore match
Weaknesses: Loud
Heavy
Expensive
Not Very Accurate
Review: I bought this barrel with high hopes of rifled barrel effect, but was very dissapointed.

This barrel is not nearly as accurate as its hyped up to be. Rifling on a round object does not have the same effect as on a bullet. With the Straighline the balls tend to spiral all over over the place. Only about half the balls fly straight. My JJ ceramic is more accurate and a fraction of the price.

If a ball breaks in the barrel good luck hitting anything 25+ feet away. Paint break is more frequent with fitted bores and the occansional paint deffect.

The cost is sick, $150 yikes! you can get a better barrel for the cost.
Conclusion: i would not reccomend this barrel. buy a cheaper more consistant barrel like a JJ and practice aiming by using the balls usual pattern of flight. you will never get a consistant straight bullet effect from any barrel.

i give it a 3 for paint to bore match, i also like the concept but it just not worth the money.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patriot12 Thursday, April 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tipppmann a5 stock barrel and tippmann 16" sniper barrel
Also tippmann 98 custom flatline and 14" progressive barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with straightline barrel, car stock, remote coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything with a consitint bore i like stinger because they are cheap and work good
Strengths: Accracy
Range
reverse porting
case
Weaknesses: Price
Review: The tippmann straightline is a very accurate barrel. i have tested it many times and have always have good results. the three sizers allow for a good ball to barrel match and work great even though they are small. im not sure if this is just the sizers or if the rifling has something to tdo with it. overall it is a really accurate barrel and is better than any barrel i have tested
Conclusion: I would recommend a product if you have the money but it is still pricey. it is more accurate than any barrel i have used and would recomend it if it were about $100-$120 dollars. im giving it a nine (9.5) do to price but it is a overall great barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 2nd, 2009 at 3:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gobomaster Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Apex, JT tactical, stock barrel, lapco bigshot
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7, E trigger, MP5 forgrip and clip, commando airthough stock, G36 folding stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
well i haven't found the perfect match for the barrel , due to lack of varity, but so far the best out of what i was shooting was V1
Strengths: Adaptability, 3 key paintball inserts, also double as sizers, quiet
Weaknesses: Haven't found one yet
Review: All and all its a great barrel, shoots very well if paint isn't cheep (because if the ball has a major deformity you will chop like mad), and sized right, reverse porting shoots excess air back; making a quiet barrel, and is really easy to clean plus... it looks great with any marker set up
Conclusion: I suggest this barrel to any scenario/ bushball player that can afford to by it, to get it... i haven't seen anything as good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media