paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Quick Thread Flatline Barrel System / Tippmann Quick Thread Flatline Barrel System / Tippmann Quick Thread Flatline Barrel System

Tippmann Quick Thread Flatline Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Quick Thread Flatline Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Quick Thread Flatline Barrel System
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Tippmann Faltline Barrel System. New and improved!
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Quick Thread Flatline Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
atlas58 Friday, September 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 Barrel
Marker Setup: 98 Platinum ACT, Quick Thread Flatline Barrel, THAT"S IT!
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small or medium bore, spectrum work well engage, and RPS.
Strengths: RANGE AND DIRE ACURRACY IMPROVEMENT, lighter than old flatline
Weaknesses: The way you have to install it.
Review: Alright I've had this barrel for 2 weeks, not field tested but off field tested. The main thing I saw when I pulled it out of the package is the weight, my 98 weighs less than my Ion which is freaking pathetic. When installing it you have to loosen the 2 front hex screws(not too much) because the barrel wont go in all the way when just screwed in. When put at the correct setting retighten the hex screws and BAM 98 is ready to own and destroy.
Accuracy test that was conducted between my Ion and 98. My ion carries a virtue with a freak barrel on it with a fire bolt and a long list of other 600 dollars up's but what ever. To a monumental cataclysmic event my Ion got out ranged and out accurated by my tippy WTF.
Conclusion: If you get a 98 platinum, GET THE QUICK THREAD END OF DESCUSSION! NO OTHER UP'S NEEDED, but it gets a 9 because nothings perfect, still highly recommended.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Gonzo98 Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom pro platinum
Quick Thread Flatline
Rocket cock
tippmann ak 47 stock
tippmann x7 m16 sight

soon to come: cyclone feed system, bossman m16 mag, and new internals, palmers stabilizer, and hpa tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any small bore - medium bore with thick shell-( i use severe cyclones)
Strengths: range
accuracy(see in review)
looks, not important
Easier to clean
Weaknesses: Accuracy (see in review)
Loud
inconsistent
Review: Pros:

After using it for a few games I like the barrel. Its range is better than any other barrel I saw. Youíre able to hit people or bunker them without worrying about getting hit. The accuracy is good, I compared it to my dad's smart parts freak 2 piece barrel and it was about the same maybe better. The only better accurate barrels will probably be barrel kits or a stiffy, all-else might be the same. The flat trajectory helps in a lot of situations. Since it screws on like any other barrel it eliminates the time to tune it like the old one had. It is also lighter and easier to clean than the old one.

edit: the accuracy is not as good as i said, my dad has a bad shot. i was using his marker the other day and it shot way more accurate, but the accuracy is still decent

Cons:

When a ball breaks the barrel shoots CRAZY curves and is very inaccurate, but can be fixed if you just clean the barrel. It is loud so if you are looking to play a stealthy game this might not be for you. Although it shoots about 250ft the accuracy of at that range is bad (but it is one of the only barrels that could reach that far and all barrels will probably be just as accurate if they could reach that far)

Other:

Some people say that the barrel breaks paintballs a lot. This is partly true. If you use Wal-Mart type ball they will break, but if you get good quality paintballs you should be fine. I haven't had a break in the barrel yet and I shot over 1500 paintballs maybe more.

Ball Floats and is slow. This is not true. It is just an illusion from the flat trajectory







Conclusion: Although it could be inaccurate at times it does its job. You do have to take care of it but itís easier to do compared to the older one. If you do get it set you velocity at 250 and bring a back up barrel just in case of a break. Hope this review helped leave comments if you see any flaws. Remember itís not the gun itís the player

edit: i currently switched barrels from a flatline to a hammerhead. i switched because the flatline wasnt right for me, but it is still a decent barrel
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 8th, 2008 at 3:41 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Paint3all Tuesday, January 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot the quiet riot barrel, Whisper, stock 98 barrel and various others
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custome with quickthread flattline barrel, and some senario upgrades(colapsable stock, mag. Ect).
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use the cheap stuff and it works fine
Strengths: Accurate
High Range
Easy to install (WAYY better than the old one)
Weaknesses: Bit Heavy
Intalation on the old 98 (SEE REVIEW)
Review: The Tippmann 98 quickthread barrel is a very good barrel. I highly recomend this to any player. The range is greatly improved, it looks cool, and it is accurate. It is cheap relative to the high end barrel kits that can give it similar accuracy, yet it is the only barrel to put "spin" on it to make it go further. The only things i don't LOVE about it are that it is slightly heavier that standard barrels, and if you do not have the platinum(newest model) of the 98 the rail it comes with must be taken on and off every time you want to disassemble the gun, but this is no problem at all.

Conclusion: This barrel is great, and even though it says for the "platinum model", it works wonderfully on all the models of the great model 98
Buy this Barell!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

helloimlam Saturday, April 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
there are no other curved barrels.
Marker Setup: tippmann c98 pro:

- longbow stock
- lapco 14" bigshot
- double trigger
- response trigger
- cyclone feed system
- TechT squishy paddles
- specops Tac-cap
- tiberius tri-rail riser
- 1x40 tapco reddot sight
- warsensor remote line

Recommended
Paintballs:
- Any paintballs with at least .690 diameter
Strengths: - RANGE
- Accuracy (see review)
Weaknesses: - Looks
- Accuracy (see review)
- Picky with paint
- Installation
Review: Accuracy:

Now there is a reason why many people complain about the barrels accuracy. It's probably because they are using smaller paint. With the correct bore to paint size, its pretty reliable/accurate when shooting at far range.

Looks:

I wish Tippmann gave us different options for the barrel shroud as i do not like the current one.

Range:

Does it really increase the range on your marker? Yes, but just make sure you adjust you velocity to accomodate the barrel's needs (somewhere around 260-280 fps)

Installation:

The installation process is pretty bad on Tippmann's part. You'll have to losen the front bolts on your marker in order to fully attach the barrel and then tighten it afterwards. Just a little flaw though, no biggie.
Conclusion: If you're looking for increased range, particularly for woodsball, this barrel is recommended. If you want to actually hit people from far instead of just scaring them, get paint that matches its bore size .690.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Voodoo Baller Friday, March 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: -Smart parts tactical rifled barrel 16 inch
-4 postision CAR stock
-Trinity carry handle w/ side weaver rails
-NcSTAR 1x30 B-style red dot scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers
Strengths: Distance?, looks
Weaknesses: Innacurate, useless at long range, too expensive, requires resurfacing after little use
Review: I was a sucker when I bought this barrel, I ended up paying 100$Cnd for a barrel that is anything but high standard. Thing is with this barrel (if your considering buying one) is the barrel itself is curved (straight, curved up then strainght again) which in turn makes it look ugly, but is supposed to add range and accuracy (100 feet). To keep the barrel from showing it's inner grotesque design they put a simple shroud over that probably makes it go from 80 to 100$'s but is still not worth it regardless. At first the barrel worked fine, unfortunately that changed over time, it gradually became less and less accurate (this is not on the account of bad aim because I use a red dot sight and can see the balls curving off frequently.) until the point where my friend and I played civil war 1 on 1 dual style. Basically we stood 100 feet apart (appox) and took turns firing at each other and each round we took a step forward. I was using good quality procaps, while he was using crappy thin shell dimple paint (not sure what brand) and his gun was just as accurate as mine. Throughout the game I saw my paint not frequently but consistently curving and missing, I swear to god I fired from 50ft (approx) and saw my shot curve off and miss 10ft in front. I maintened my barrel as the manufacturers recommended but I checked the interior only to find minor scratches and smooth interior (interior is supposed to be rough). I contacted Tippmann and they told me I would need to get resurfaced and that they do it for free, however you must pay for S + H and I'd probably not get it back for 3 weeks (at least). This was all in a 3 month period (I think), The curve design on this barrel is unreliable, and there are many better barrels out there, such as the the apex or Lapco, which do not require resurfacing, specific paint and specific velocity (275 fts), for the most part what good is range if not accurate? Feel free to critique my critique if you've achieved optimal performance with the F-line but there are still better barrels for lower prices out there.
Conclusion: Don't get it, Picky, unreliable way too pricy for lack of quality.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Massempirepb Monday, February 28th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing else quite like it
Marker Setup: Dp fusion Fx and a closer virtued
Vitrue board
Sly carbon fiber barrel/ ultralite
Ninja tank
Custom pro flaline e double trigger and folding stock
Dye rotor
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've used a dozen types of paint and it did great all around
Strengths: Shot distance
Looks great
Weaknesses: Single bore size
Adds Hight to marker
Review: The flatlined barrel is totally different from any other barrel out there. It takes about 60 seconds to instal and will blow your mind at some of the shots you'll be able to take with this. And the fact that it's on a tippmann makes it all the better. It takes a while to get used to how the paint lofts up and around but when you do it's a crazy gun to master.
Conclusion: Good barrel unique as the come . It's a little tuff to get used to but when you do it's great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Panther1212 Saturday, July 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Quick-thread flatline barrel, CAR-4 collapsible stock, remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Extends distance... a lot.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: First of all, I only play woodsball, so this may not match up to your playing style. This is definitely a woodsball barrel, although I could see it working well for speedball as well. The first time i played with it, I cecked distance with my friends' A-5s and Spyders. All of their shots were hitting the ground after about 50 yards or so, while mine went at least 100 yards, maybe even 150.

While we were playing, the longer range payed off. There was one point where my friend's shots were hitting the ground around my feet, but I hit him without any problems. The other main benefit, at least when you're just playing with friends, is that everyone wants to be on your team.

The installation took about 30 seconds, but then I had to adjust the velocity. If the velocity is either too high or to low, the range is shortened dramatically. Turned all the way up, I could hold my hand a few inches out and down from the barrel and catch the paintball. It took about five minutes, but be patient and it's not that hard to dial in.

I will now address the most common complaints about this barrel. First of all, some people say that it is too heavy for prolonged use. If a little over half a pound is too much added weight, the 98 Custom was the wrong gun in the first place, weighing in at just under 3 pounds. Another complaint is that it makes the gun too long. In my opinion, long barrels are 14 inches. The flatline is 11, making it a mere 3 inches longer than the stock barrel. Also, the barrel supposedly decreases range, instead of extending it. As I mentioned above, you need to adjust the velocity to find the "sweet spot".
Conclusion: Buy it. It's completely worth the money. I give it a nine only because I believe that nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannboi Tuesday, July 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
bt delta elite
spyder mr 1 (friends)
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom ps act 14 inch j and j ceramic, car stock, egrip, cyclone feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Inertia, visible impact
Strengths: Range
Accuracy
Weaknesses: How you have to unscrew your gun to install the flatline.
Review: I got my quick thread flatline for my B day last year for $80. It can shoot far but it is very hard to clean because you have to unscrew the gun to get the barrell of. It does chop some balls and when it does it is imposible to shoot strait.
Conclusion: I give it a 9 because it is hard to clean
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media