paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM9 / Dye DM9 / Dye DM9 / Dye DM9

Dye DM9 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM9

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM9
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1349

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
INTRODUCING THE ALL NEW DM9

With a host of new features, updates, and refinements, it continues the tradition of being one of the lightest, smallest, fastest and certainly the most accurate of paintball markers in the world.

Features:

Improved one-piece Fuse bolt
No Eyeplates
New durable and super-flexible detents
Miniature modular internal LPR
Fully adjustable reach trigger
PSP, NPPL, Millennium, and NXL tournament legal software
Weighing in at 1lb-15oz the DM9 is 3oz lighter then it's predecessor the DM8
New 3D body styling
Ergonomic Ultralight .45 grip frame
Ultralite Sticky3 grip
Two piece DYE? 14” Ultralite barrel
No rise lever lock clamping feedneck
Cast aluminum inset DYE logo
Hyper3 reg
Super low operating pressure
On/Off asa
Product Availability 
The Dye DM9 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Diablero Sunday, October 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM8, Shocker NXT, EGO 08, M8
Marker Setup: DM9, 68/4500, Reloader B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None it comes with everything
Strengths: Smoooooth, light, small, super consistent, accurate, travel bag, new trigger, new ball detents, new board
Weaknesses: Price maybe? but you get what youre paying for
Review: The first impression I had was with the new gun case that comes with the gun, it takes little space in your gearbag and protects your $1350 investment, manuals, barrels, parts kit, grease, barrel condom, just everything you may need.
This marker is light very light, Dye took the front on/off that some DM8 users were complaining about, made the body shorter and the body has a nice carved and well balanced. The board has some new options, doesnt need any upgrade, shoots great in Semi (take the spring of the trigger) and Ramping modes. A really cool feature its the new trigger, you can adjust it in many ways, first set tghe activation point and trigger stop and then you can adjust it all the way to the front or to the back of the frame, my guess is that this simple feature will be copied in the near future in all the markers.
Once gassed I first heard it too LOUD compared to the previous DM8, well the LPR was not set right so after a few quick turns it shoot as quiet or quieter than the antecessor. No kick at all and very consistant over the chrono.
The air efficiency is a little better than the DM8, 6 pods and a hopper at 3000 psi.
The new ball detents are very easy to clean and changed if needed, great they got rid of the magnetic ball detents.
Conclusion: Its a great marker, you really get what you pay for and have a great support from the factory.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

chungdae Wednesday, November 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulses, Angels, and Shockers.
Marker Setup: Virtue Board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is necessary; The gun is ready out of the box, but I put the Virtue Board because of preference of being used to it.
Strengths: VERY reliable, VERY quiet, VERY smooth, VERY fast, EXTREMELY accurate and VERY EASY maintenance.
Weaknesses: Small leak on ASA elbow.
Too much attention, "Whoa.. is that a DM9?"
Review: I've always preferred spool valve guns over poppet valve guns. This is the most efficient spool valve gun I've ever used. The gun is also VERY reliable, VERY quiet, VERY smooth, VERY fast (for a spool valve), and EXTREMELY accurate. Maintenance is actually very simple compared to other spool valve guns and takes about 5-7 minutes. I have it set at 20 bps and has not chocked at all. The "Eye Sleeve" is a great innovative and clever design and is very easy to clean and maintain. The trigger has four screws that are fully adjustable and can have your custom liking.

I know I've only had the gun for less than a month. Once I have put the gun through some punishment I will put a VERY thorough review.
Conclusion: At this level it's all about preference. I've personally loved the spool valve guns because I have always been comfortable with them. The gun again is VERY reliable, VERY quiet, VERY smooth, VERY fast (for a spool valve), and EXTREMELY accurate. The price is up there with all the high end markers. I personally recommend going to a field and asking a player to shoot his or her gun and determine it from there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 6th, 2008 at 11:26 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

okitoki Monday, May 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Planet Eclipse Etek
Planet Eclipse Geo
Planet Eclipse Ego8
Dye DM7
MacDev Droid
Dye NT
Marker Setup: Dye NT
Dye Ironmen DM9
Empire Prophecy Loader
Ninja Regulator
GA Myth V1 with HP Spring
Luxfer fiber wrap bottle

Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really out of the box.
For personal preference:
Trigger, Billy Wing Bolt and OLED board :D
Strengths: Smooooooth shooter... really!
Weaknesses: Can be scary to service for first time owners.
Review: I first tried my tech's DM9, and it started my love affair with all DMs. :)

I first purchased a DM7 as a trial, before trading in for an Ironmen DM9.

The DM9 comes in a nice soft case which is nice to hold all your small bits and pieces which is nice (Or you can actually use it to carry 2 markers in one poach... real compact)

The DM shot extremely smooth, but depending on how you tune it, it can even be even smoother.

Air Efficientcy is ok for a spooly... better than a shocker, but not as good as a NT or Droid. I get about 6 pods and a Hopper out of a 68/45 hot filled to around 4200psi (But its not tune for efficientcy)

The trigger was abit of a hit and miss for some people. I bought a reach trigger (stock for DM9) for my DM7, and dont seem to be able to set it the way I like it. Tried the Critical trigger with magnet returns had good results... but the Ironmen trigger is the one I really like right now. However, beside the personal preference of the trigger, I find the bearing of the stock trigger to be a little wobbly, and the spring return just did not feel right. However some people would just remove the spring, and it would rip :)

The UL frame fit my hand extremely well, the contour of it just mold nicely into my palm, and I dont feel like I need to stretch my fingers too much. Trigger guard is big enough for me to 3 finger the trigger. But may be a problem for people with bigger fingers (Mine are short and chubby)

The Hyper3 is a great regulator. Have no issues with consistency. I like how small it is and the rubber grip that I can hold so easily for quick snap shooting. Its a little bit more difficult to take it apart compare to an Eclipse regulator, as you will need to take the macro line off and slide the rubber sleeve off.

Eye pipe systems works great... keep eyes clean most of the time. easy to take out and clean. however, it is a breakable item, and once scratched or cracked around the eye areas, you will need to buy a new one which can be expensive

Board is basic. its LED... unless you have issues with counting blinking lights, its a great board... But I have been spoilt by Elipse boards, so I do miss having a display for easy lazy programming :)

Now the best part of the DM may also be considered the curse of it.
With the design of the fuse bolt, and the ability to tune the LPR, it can make the DM (all series) to shoot incredibly smooth and quiet... and the setting of each DM is different from one marker to another... if you know what you are doing, then great, but if you dont know how to maintain and tune a DM, a lot of new users will find their DMs are not shooting smoothly, kicks alot, or doesnt shoot at all.

Maintanence and tuning for the DM is not hard at all... there are plenty of forums that discuss how to service and tune any DM. take your time and read a few... go to YouTube for some videos as well too... it will help alot.
Conclusion: I fully recommend getting a DM9, or any other DMs (6-10)... I love the way it feels, and way it fits in my hand, and how quiet it shoots.

I would like to give it a 10, but air is not the best of the spoolies, and the eye pipe system works well, but can be expensive to replace compared to other detents system like the Ego.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 17th, 2010 at 1:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quinten350 Monday, March 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 09
Marker Setup: Dm9, rotor, crossfire 45/45, dye ul
Recommended
Upgrades:
this gun does not need upgrades
Strengths: Accurate
Consistent
Weaknesses: Price maby? But well worth it.
Review: This marker is the best i have use. Got first place in a cfoa 3-man this past weekend with it. (team transfixion) It is the most accurate marker i have ever used and the price is well worth is if you want to be 4real in paintball. Out fires any ego or luxe i think.

There arnt many upgrades for this gun. But you dont need them at all!
Conclusion: Wounderful
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

oscarvillamizar Tuesday, February 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts ION
Dye DM8
Marker Setup: Dye DM9
Dye Rotor
Guerrilla air 4500 psi 75
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Easy cleaning
Consistent
Gas efficient
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I love this DM9. I just bought a few days ago for a tournament. Me and 3 other team members got theirs and the results were awesome. We made it to the semifinals with almost all perfect games. The gun is smooth, light, small, accurate. It is a gas efficient marker you can use no matter if you are a back player or a front player.
Conclusion: A definitely buy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Splatzballz99 Wednesday, February 24th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts shacker (it was bad 'cuase it didnt shoot far)
spider electa (i liked it more cause it shot further)
Marker Setup: dye dm9, 20 oz co2 viewloader 200 cmi thunderpig
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL get a cmi thunderpig (cause we all know that stock barrels stink)
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Stock barrel

Short
Review: Okat this is a good gun it shoots far but it comes with a bad stock barrel just put a new one get a thunder pig barrel its way better but get the spider electa it shots way more farther then this but i like it its very heavy for me get something else its okay it shoots to many paintballs
Conclusion: Okayyyyyy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Pbgear Sunday, May 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, shocker
Marker Setup: Ion, virtue board, Halo hopper, 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a virtue board, but this thing doesn't need anything extra
Strengths: Light, feel, fast, communicates well
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This is a very fast marker. It feels just right in your hands, like an extention of your body. Its fast as hell and very accurate, things that you expect from dye. The only complain I have is that it does have a rediculous price. I think that Dye should lower their prices because a Shocker NXT can deliever the same performance for half the price, and is simpler. This really is the pinnicle of paintball markers. It doesn't get any better thant his.
Conclusion: If you have the money go for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media