paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator DX / ACI F4 Illustrator DX / ACI F4 Illustrator DX / ACI F4 Illustrator DX

ACI F4 Illustrator DX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator DX

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator DX
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Has all the standard features of the F4 and includes the Zero-Gravity Combo Barrel and 4 Stage Sub-Zero Expansion Chamber
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator DX is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Spencer16896 Monday, April 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98/98 Custom, ACI Griffin, ACI Griffin LCD (custom made, electric, comes out in some time now but have connections), Normal ACI F4 Illustrator. This is second only to to the Model 98/98 Custom.
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator DX. This is the one I am reveiwing. It comes with An ACI 4-Stage Sub-Zero Expansion Chamber, 12" ACI Zero Gravity, Bottom Line feed, Etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a venturi bolt for sure. This gun alone will get a lot of ball breakage if your Velocity is too high and you do not have a venturi bolt. Also get a high volume cell. It will help with the Shoot Down when using CO2 which is what basically everyone uses on this gun.
Strengths: Well I did the math and you get about 88 balls per Ounce of CO2. Now that may not seem like much but that is about 1,000 shots per 12 oz. and about 1,600 shots per 20 oz. I will play all day with one 20 oz. and still have masses amount of CO2 left. If you don't want to buy several tanks or want to run out in the middle of a game, this is the gun for you. And this gun has great accuracy, great range, and if you get a venturi bolt you will have very little ball breakage as long as you get an electric hopper so you can feed the balls faster.
Weaknesses: Without a venturi bolt and an electric hopper you will break a lot of balls. And the barrel that you will get with this gun has a bore size of about .685 so only small bore balls will work to the guns full potential. One more thing is the trigger pull. If you have it over the velocity of about 285 fps the trigger pull is not that great. I can shoot around 8 balls a second with it but I have a great trigger finger
Conclusion: You want an excellent beginner gun or great step up gun if you just began go get this. But because they do not make these anymore you will have to pick up an F4 Illustrator TP. It comes standered with the Venturi Bolt and the high volume cell. And you can get a double trigger for it which will make it more comfortable and you will be able to shoot faster.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman pro-lite
tippman pro carbine
tippman model 98
spyder lt
Marker Setup: aci f4 illustrator dx
revvy viewloader
custom drop forward
compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic loader
compressed air
Strengths: great accuracy, nice consistency, reliable, beautiful gun. Have used it about 10,000 shots only so far but not one ball broken...works like a charm and so accurate. Outshot at same distance for accuracy an angel, autococker, and many other guns around its cost. The barrel is sweet, and i dont know about with CO2. Best to just go air right away, good for your gun in the long run as well as its performance
Weaknesses: havn't encountered a single problem and i like to work on guns. WHY MUST IT BE SO RELIABLE!!!!!!
Conclusion: as you can see above, this is a great gun. It starts out great, and has quite a bit of potential with upgrades. It doesnt have the potential of an angel or autococker but can shoot with them just as well, this gun upgraded is as good as a stock angel. Its all on preference, but my gun has about 500 into it and it works beautifully, i would reccomend it. I am pretty intense when i play and i play a lot, so using it only a couple months is no big deal...i can almost assure it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

weltmaker Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha EXT PRO 2k3 - A higher preformance gun. not quite the same as far as dead on reliability goes.
Marker Setup: Stock PMI EForce EXT PRO 2k3
SP Progressive 12" blk
Ricochet AK
PMI Pure Energy steel 68 ci 3k tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, if you absolutely wanted to upgrade it though, I'd say throw on a drop and use N2
Strengths: Nice barrel
good looking
Xchamber for CO2
no external parts
Weaknesses: Takes too long to field strip
no vert feed 4 those who want it
Review: The F4 line has been around for alot longer than most guns, since the F1 this series has been reliable and a great preformance gun. I have dealt with a few blowbacks, and a can defintely say this is one of the if not te best one out there. Only problem I have with it is to totally field strip it you must insert a pin into the top. On the plus side though it is impossible ot get dirt in there. There are no vert feeds on this particlar gun though, that is one thing many ppl dislike.

Then there is this model which has all the things you need to have a good gun. THe accurate barrel and an Xchamber for CO2. Although the F4 handles CO2 very well by itself. It is also a very effiecient gun.
Conclusion: The F4 is a great gun, now you can buy it with all the great upgrades you need for a decent preforming gun! It's eas to use and hardly breaks down.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 17th, 2003 at 6:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 (The tippman was more reliable in cold weather)
Cockers (Not worth the price, the F-4 was just as good out of the box!)
Angel (this gun is electronic, no comparison)
Marker Setup: Tippman 98
ACI 6-stage
Venturi Bolt
Custom Products 16"
12V Java Rev
Shortened trigger
Daisy rifle sight (useless, but looks cool)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Venturi bolt
Strengths: Excelent gun, best for the price, Very good on gas efficiency
Weaknesses: The only problem I had is when a paintball breaks, the gun jammed. I couldn't recock it, and It was was impossible to disassemble when this happened!
Conclusion: Excellent gun, best for the price. Very good barrel. Looks expensive!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD desert fox, Spyder SE, Sheridan XTS, ICD alley cat, Tipp pro-carbine, model 98 flatline,
Marker Setup: F4 illustrator 4-stage x-chamber nothing fancy but good gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun needs nothing
Strengths: This gun is awesome! I've tried alot of different guns and this is my favorite. I have had minimal problems with this gun. I play in 30 to 40 degree weather sometimes and the gun works flawlessly on co2, unlike the review a couple down where he says the gun sux in cold weather. Most ppl i play with want to use my gun over their spyders and tippmans. Quiet special valve for more shots per tank and patented cold weather valve make this a good gun. I have kept stock bolt in and its beautiful. The aci combo barrel is also very good and will shot crap paint all day. Uses prolite threads and has alot of barrels available for it.
Weaknesses: I cant seem to figure out much to be bad about this gun.
Sometimes it chops a ball and gets shell caught between bolt and sidewall
which causes the gun to not recock until it is cleaned.

I dunno why ppl think this gun is hard to field strip either man this thing comes apart quickly and is much easier to clean than any spyder.
Conclusion: Awesome gun for price keeps up with anything in its pricerange.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JEDARAPA2 Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha G2 ext
Marker Setup: nitro duck 68 3000, 9v
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a motorized hopper if you dont have one.
Strengths: VERY DURABLE AND RELIABLE. Used as a back up gun to my bushy, and the only thing that has ever broken on it was the sear spring. The stock barrel, the zero-gravity, performs very nicley. I personally am a fan of single finger triggers, so this makes me happy. . Just dont use crappy paint.
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is a little tight, but if you know how to lighten springs it'll be fine. I can't think of anything else that I don't love about it. If you use crappy paint, be warned, it lodges between the bolt and body and is a biznitch to clean out.
Conclusion: A great gun at a great price. Can't be beat for durability/performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, October 18th, 2001
Strengths: Overall a very nice gun...Accurate, high performance and low maitenence. I purchased the gun used with tank and hopper for $215. Not a bad deal, and im extremely happy with the gun. I also reccomend the Venturi bolt ($20) from ACI compatible with this gun. I have not had a ball break since I installed this bolt.
Overall a high quality gun for mid-long range play. Outperforms my friends' Spyder TL Plus.
Weaknesses: The only thing I didnt like about this gun was the stock bolt. It did break balls occasionally and after minimal use actually began to grind itself apart within my chamber. I soon replaced it with the venturi bolt (mentioned above) and have had none such problems since. Gun requires a decent amount of time to clean thoroughly.
Conclusion: I would reccomend buying this gun to the enthusiastic player. Used guns in good condition can be a good buy, as I found out. If you plan on an upgrade, take a look at the venturi bolt from ACI.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, June 11th, 2001
Strengths: This gun kicks @$$! Its acurate,quiet and cheap.last weekend,i went against cockers,mags,tippmanns and bushmasters and fought em no problem.ok well the bushmaster was a problem but the cockers where taken out with eise. this gun lets u seperate from everyone that is buyin spyders and u get a better gun in the end.
Weaknesses: The only bad things about this gun is 3 small things.1 is the trigger pull is like 2.2 pounds,which you limits you to 5bps.the grip is plastic.and with every gun made before 00' there is a sear priblem.these are the small problems which s good for a low priced gun.
Conclusion: in conclusion,this gun is one of the best all'a'round guns.it faces cockers no problem and is cheap.the thing that you can do to this gun is add a HVC and an aftermarket barrel.Im gettin a dye alumminum for mine.Great gun,and if you decidin between a spyder and this,get this.great gun with low maintnence.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, May 23rd, 2001
Strengths: this gun is so tyte!!!! my freind tryed to talk me out of it and bye a piranaha pro blue but i took my chances and i beat him and my other freinds who have cockers and shockers when im asleep.the gun is awsome -ive never had any trouble with it and the stock barrel is good for a stock barrel and as in other adds it does need to get broken in so dont go to arkenstone and try to beat the cockers and shockers like me haha
Weaknesses: triger pull just doesnt seem right to me-sup shawn and tully and irfan!!!!
Conclusion: id reccomend it to anybody
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C-Mac Friday, May 11th, 2001
Strengths: This is a great gun. It is easy to strip, stays pretty clean because it doesn't have any exposed moving parts, and shoots quite well. This gun is higher quality than the spyders I have seen, and it comes with a good barrel on it, which is a nice bonus. Mine runs pretty well on CO2, with only minor velocity spikes, nothing at all in the league of a Spyder. Mine has never gone up more than 15 fps, whereas my Compact 2k jumped 40 and then 40 more after I cut the spring and readjusted.
Weaknesses: This gun doesn't work great on CO2 in the cold, but what gun does, except maybe the Nova? Many people have problems with sears going bad, but ACI takes care of that nicely. Overall a great gun. I can't think of much to complain about. There aren't a whole lot of upgrades available, but it doesn't need them, and it's not a good idea to pump money into upgrading a mid-range gun.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this gun. For $230, you might try something else and be happy, but this is a good gun. It is easy to care for, and is very reliable. There is also a good support group, the F4OG.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media