paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL / Kingman Spyder TL / Kingman Spyder TL / Kingman Spyder TL

Kingman Spyder TL Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Power Feed / Semi-auto Action / Anti-double Feed / 45 Grip Frame with Rubber Grip Cover / Removable Fore Grip / Filter System / Aluminum Trigger Frame / 12" Micro-polish Muzzle Brake Barrel / One Piece Deluxe Sight Rail with Beaver Tail / Rear Cocking 2nd Generation Venturi Bolt / Low Pressure Chamber / TL Vertical Adapter / Steel Braided Hose / Quick Disconnect Pin / Tournament Level Velocity Adjuster / Bottom-line Setup / TL Receiver / Length: 21 3/8" / Weight: 2.9 lbs.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
stewiegriffin12 Tuesday, November 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Xtra
Kingman Spyder
Marker Setup: Stock, with electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper
enhanced trigger
Strengths: good accuracy, able to squeeze off plenty of shots, uses little Co2
Weaknesses: Trigger is heavy, if shot too rapidli, you get ball chop
Review: This is a great first gun to own. The only thing you need to watch for is ball chop. This gun can compete with high end guns easily. A enhanced trigger would come in handy, but it isn't nessacary. this is a good gun, with low co2 needs. This gun makes paintball more affordable, with less ballchops than most high end markers.
Conclusion: This is a good first gun. It is a good gun for the amateur, or someone who doesn't want an automatic.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

(C2) Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder one
stingray ice (brass eagle)
spyder victor
viewloader orion
spyder shutter
spyder TL
JT excellerator
spyder Xtra
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder TL with:
Compact Sight Rail
CMI expansion chamber
CMI remote coil
Shocktech LPC
14" Teardrop barrel
JAVA edition ASA port
ACS bolt
Sure Fit Adapter
Halo TSA loader
Shocktech red spring
e-marker esp 3.0 frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel is nice, but stock works fine
Strengths: Look
CO2 use
Accuracy
Dependability
Performance
Price
Upgradability
Weaknesses: I didnt like the stock frame
Review: Overall, this marker is a solid, versatile, and well made gun. I bought this gun for backup use when I was in a tight spot (I put a sling on it, and just kept it on my back). I was very satisified with its performace, and especially its accuracy. It soon turned into my primary, and I took some parts from my compact and put them on my TL to make it look nicer (in my opinion), and to be more original. Then I started really upgrading and I think ive about maxed it out. This gun is very accurate, gets good co2 use, and is great to upgrade. All in all, I would reccomend this gun to just about anyone, and I believe just about everyone would be very satisfied with the results.
Conclusion: Very solid marker, and the upgrade options are great, also more accurate than most low-end semis I've shot. Good product.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 7th, 2004 at 4:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbsniper1990 Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TL plus
Marker Setup: 20 oz tank, remote coil, 16in barrel, viewloader hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger, longer barrel
Strengths: accurate, firm chamber
Weaknesses: barrel, thats about it.
Review: This is a great gun for a begginer and experienced player of all ages. The TL is very light weight and very accurate. I would highly recommend this gun for a pball player.

Has nice firm structure and body, and well built. Nice foregrip and trigger frame.
Would of liked a double trigger.
Conclusion: My conclusion is this a great gun for people of all ages and very reliable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shneeko6 Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel, Spyder Flash, Bruiser
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, siphon tube
Strengths: nice marker for beginners
reliable
its a kingman
nice accuracy
very upgradable
Weaknesses: the paint around the area where the safety switch seems to corrode after a while
Review: ive had this gun ever since i started playing paintball. i bought a spyder flash but that got stolen so i feel back on this gun. its still a great gun and with an electronic trigger and a new barrel, it can keep up with the higher end guns on the field.
Conclusion: i would recommend this gun to anyone new to paintball. its very accurate with the stock barrel and its very easy to take apart to clean.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FOXRCNG11 Wednesday, June 6th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I have had this gun for three years. It has been the best gun that I have ever owned. I love the way that it is so easy to add accesories to it...On mine I have added a Bob Long Venturi, Twilight 14'' barrel Violator reg, boo-yaah handle, front adaptor, lapco drop-forward and a Adco laser sight. This gun is just awesome. I cant even think of any bad things about it.
Weaknesses: I don't really think that anything needs to be inproved. There is only one very minor thing that I don't like about it though and that is the way that Kingman has offset holes for the bottom line...I would like it better if they were aligned so I wouldnt have to spend more money to buy an adaptor.
Conclusion: Tight gun....
-fast rate of fire
-easily upgradable
-cheap
-rarely breaks down
-just all around great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

puntas13 Wednesday, May 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other spyders
Marker Setup: syder tl with some minor add ons
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: good looking
good shooting
Weaknesses: barrel
expansion chamber
Review: well this is the second paintball gun i have owned its held up pretty good for the age but the only thing i don't like is it just recently wouldn't cycle if there wasn't any paint in it. but tother than that its a good gun. they don't make them any more so its kind of hard to buy them
Conclusion: pretty good gun. i would reccomend buying one if you need a gun and you have come across one
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 14th, 2003 at 3:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Speed Of Pain Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder 2000, spyder imagine, tippmann pro-light. better then spyder 2000 and pro-light. the only thing that makes the imagine better is the electronic trigger frame which increases rate of fire drastically.
Marker Setup: spyder tl, 16 inch all american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
smart parts barrel - all american or freak barrel. java expansion chamber (a must have it you put a electronic trigger frame on). sprint or other similar electronic trigger frame. any electrical hopper to speed up feed process. 9 piece spring set - very usefull for field cronoing. while cronoing at a field several times i had to the the spring clipped because the gun was shooting 300 fps+ and the field required 290 fps-. the velocity adjustment was bottomed out, therefore i had to clip my spring. Clipping your spring is bad because the next time you come to play you might not be able to get the gun to shoot at 290 fps because the gun will shoot at different fps (with velocity adjustment and spring constant) depending on the amount of oil in the gun. With the 9 spring set you can just change the springs out untill you reach your desired velocity, therefore eliminating spring clipping. A but plate makes for comfortable rifle use which makes for better gun accuracy at long range shooting.
Strengths: fast rate of fire. rear velocity adjustment. doesn't chop many balls.
Weaknesses: stock barrel not the best. feed system makes the sight rail unusable.
Review: One time my cousin and I went to a paintball field in Austin, Texas. This was our first time to play at an actual field instead of back woods. At first impression we thought we would be slaughtered as we looked around at these rich kids with angels, shockers, automags, autocockers etc.... The first game boosted our confidence as i held down 3 "bad guys" behind a bunker with their high-end guns. I was about 60 feet + or - from the bunker that they were taking cover behind. they took turns firing at me. My gun seemed to be more accurate then theirs at that range and i was using a stock barrel. i finally got into position to take one out as he poked his head out to fire at me again. firing before he poped his head up so that he wouldn't be able to duck out of the way. i killed 2 of them as my team flanked the last. over all we played about 15 games and rarely got eliminated. This just more so proves the fact that its the player skill more the gun. The only time that i have been extremly slaughtered was when i played speed ball with some of my friends against 4 people who had angels. It was obvious that they had their velocity set at 320 fps+. also in speed ball there is no 10 (or whatever the field surrender length is) foot rule because the field is about 50% smaller then the rest.
Conclusion: Good all around gun, upgrades or not. Stands up to other top end guns. accurate, comfortable, not an immitation gun like the rebel or other wanna be spyder companies.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mxmtl Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Newer Spyder Xtra rental - It's lighter than this.
Spyder Victor II rental - Has a smaller profile than this, which I like, but I find mid-cocking bolt a pain if you get a really worn one that has trouble re-cocking.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder TL
Trinity Paintball T-Lock Feed Neck
Extreme Rage Hopper
12 oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Mechanical Safety
Simple Operation
Durable
Ease of Maintenance
Weaknesses: Rear cocking bolt and gaurd
Review: This is the first marker I owned. I bought it used. I used it for a couple of weeks before I bought an 05 Ego.

This is a very durable mechanical marker. The safety is simple to use, and the trigger pull has just enough weight and dead space to prevent misfires in the hands of a newbie.

Stock barrel is okay with WPN and Toxic. I recommend an inexpensive barrel upgrade like the Dye Stainless 12" barrel that I put on my marker. I tested the Dye against the stock with Toxic paintballs, and the Dye barrel was significantly more consistently on target.

I put on a Trinity feed neck for a lower profile.

A gravity hopper worked fine for me with this marker. I tried an Extreme Rage Overdrive, but took it off to save on weight.

Velocity adjustment is simple. Be sure to test the velocity in between games, because mine dropped as the CO2 ran out. I would start at 285fps with a full tank, and get down to 200fps before it ran out. I get through about 4 full hopper loads (~800 rounds) before running out.

Maintenance is very simple for a beginner. Kingman has online videos for dis-assembly on their website. All you need to do is remove the bolt and striker to clean. You wipe the parts, swab in the internals, lube 3 O-rings, and reassemble.

If you get one, keep it stock as much as possible. If you buy anything more than a barrel and feedneck, you are throwing away money that you can put into a whole new marker that will most likely already have what you need for the cost of the upgrades.

The only thing I don't like about this marker is the rear cocking bolt and the big sight rail. If for some reason it fails to re-cock itself in the field, it's a little cumbersome to manually re-cock during a game. I liked the rear cocking tab on the Xtra better. I also took off the shroud for a slimmer profile and easier sighting.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker for someone getting started in paintball. It is very inexpensive (if you keep it stock as much as possible), durable, easy to operate, and easy to maintain especially for a beginner.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 11:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Robby52 Tuesday, February 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra, victor, tippman
Marker Setup: mostly stock, co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric hopper, new barrel
Strengths: Accurate for price, pretty simple, easy to clean, good for price, mine doesnt chop.
Weaknesses: It already broke 3 times! In the first 3 weeks! (it's used)
Review: i got this gun used. it had no problems with it the first week of use, but within 3 weeks it had broken down about 3 times. Although it does have it weaknesses, it is a good gun for newbies. It could use a few upgrades though, but i dont suggest spending over $150.
Conclusion: If your lookin for a fairly inexpensive gun ( i got mine for $85, wanted a rodeo, but beggers cant be choosers) this is a good gun. Without upgrades, i'm doubtin' it's tournament use. But overall, it's a good gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g_splat Friday, February 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Avalon GT Commando 2, Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Armotech SIM-4 Elite, Armotech Zeus Semi-Auto Pistol, PGP Pump Pistol, Spyder AMG Electric, Spartan Pump, Pure Energy HPA 3000, 12v Revolution, Raven Paintball Nuvis-1 1.0, Ronin Gear 5 pack, COPS 911 Scenario Vest & Military A.L.I.C.E Gear
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator, barrel, HP air, whatever you'd like really.
Strengths: Great for beginners. Easy to take care of. Good all around marker.
Weaknesses: Nothing per say, it's a solid beginners maker.
Review: In my opinion, this is still one of the great beginner markers for anyone just starting out in paintball. It's easy to maintain, sturdy, shoots well, easily upgradeable and fairly inexpensive in comparison. There are literally hundreds of upgrade parts out on the market today and the marker uses both CO2 and high-pressure air. You can easily upgrade this marker to an electric marker buy purchasing one of several types of e-grip on the market.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone who is just getting into the sport or who is a occasional player looking for a cheap, trustworthy marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media