paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Electra 09 / Kingman Spyder Electra 09 / Kingman Spyder Electra 09

Kingman Spyder Electra 09 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Electra 09

Paintball Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Electra 09
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
NEW Clamping Feedneck
LEAP Circuit Board with Rear Facing Color Access Mode Display (CAMD) Developed by Tadao Technologies
"Synergy Engineering" Low Pressure Dual Air Source System
Break Beam Eye (Anti-Chop System)
Aluminum Eye Covers
3 Modes of Operation (Semi-Auto, Ramp PSP, & Ramp Millennium)
Fast Charge Inline Regulator
Vented Pressure Relief On/Off CA Adapter
Reduced Overall Profile (25% Lighter and 15% Shorter)
Up to 25 BPS Rate of Fire
Steel Braided Hose Line
Quick Release Delrin Bolt
12" Two Piece Micro Ported Barrel
3-Way Adjustable Magnetic Response "Saber" Trigger
All Aluminum Constructed Body
Recessed Dual Texture Grip Panels
All Aluminum Trigger Frame with Integrated Dove Tail
Standard CA Thread Vertical Adapter
Compatible with a Spyder 9.6v Rechargeable Battery or a Premium 9v Alkaline Battery
External Velocity Adjuster
300 PSI Operational Pressure
Operates on CO2 or Compressed Air

Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Electra 09 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
shokt2much Wednesday, February 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month40 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: Spyder 09 Electra
Smart Parts Linear 14" barrel
Evolution 3 Egg Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500 with CP regulator
Strengths: Clamping feedneck
Shooting modes
Eyes
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Barrel ( maybe )
Review: I had been shooting the Pilot ACS and wanted to upgrade but didn't want to spend a fortune so I bought the Electra. WOW! I was blown away. For 200 bucks this marker rocks. I love the overall feel of it. Its sleek and sexy. I like the shooting modes and I like that it has eyes. I have shot some high dollar markers and I feel this gun can hold its own against them. The barrel isn't the best. Accuracy is so so. I put a Linear barrel on it and now I can drive tacks. I wish the feedneck had a cam lock instead of having to use an allen wrench to tighten it, but not a big deal. Another feature I like is that it operates on air and CO2.
Conclusion: For $200 you can't go wrong. This gun is perfect for the serious rec baller or beginning tournament player. I love mine and highly reccomend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kolin Monday, July 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with quiet riot 14" barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 09
Rocking Trigger
Invert Nightstick Carbon Fiber barrel 14"
18v FASTA loader
9.6v Spyder rechargeble battery
Strengths: really fast, uses very little air or CO2. VERY easy to clean.
Weaknesses: No full auto (you can easily shoot fast though)
Review: I just bought this gun for $115 off craigslist and i could'nt br any happier. It was all stock when i got it but i had the other attachments already. My brother just bought an a5 with response trigger and a flatline barrel and all that and i only woodsball. this gun has blown his out of the water! He even payed $50 more for his gun then I did for mine. I always win with it because i can shoot faster then any other gun that i am up against and it is extremely accurate. The gun only has semi, ramp PSP (you shoot 3 times then 3-shot burst turns on) and ramp millenium (you shoot 3 times and 2-shot burst turns on at least on my gun) but the rocking trigger makes it so you only will use esmi because it can shoot faster then any other mode. This gun is easier then any other gun to clean! you just lift up on the bolt and pull it out and THAT'S ALL YOU HAVE TO DO! That will open up the barrel so you can literally take apart the gun clean it, and put it back together in under a minute no matter how slow you are. The pressure release system on the gun is also amazing, it allows you to waste barely any gas taking off or putting on your tank.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a fast, accurate gun that will never break a ball then you have to buy this gun. It is relatively inexpensive and it can turn even a first time player into a master that can beat everyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Weever Friday, July 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Tl-X
Spyder VS1
Spyder VS2
Tippmann 98c
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Spyder electra '09
Vl eye force
Strengths: Fast
Easy to use and clean
Reliable
Looks great !
Small and light.
Weaknesses: Rechargeable battery not supplied
Review: Finally got my brand new Spyder Electra '09 this week. This is my first marker in the last 2 years, because I quitted. Now that I want to make a comeback, I needed a marker that perform just as well as my old VS2, and that can be used with Co2, because I moved and now it is more complicated to get a 68/4500 tank filled (got to do 35 minutes in car to reach a place where it can be filled). So I sold my VS2, and now here's the new black Electra '09.

Feel it
The new Electra feel anything but cheap. It's very solid, all metal, and everything was tight out of the box. It's smaller and lighter than ever (and that is noticable). I really feel that I will be able to move around fast, and in some tight place with this marker.

This marker is small, and personally, I'll have to learn to play with a marker that small. My hands get really close together, but since I have small hands, I'll be fine. What is nice is that there's alot of place for my fingers to move and walk the trigger, even with gloves on.

I was used to my infinity trigger on my VS2, and moving to the Electra trigger feels unnatural to me. It's a blade style trigger, I have never tried this before. However I think I'll be able to learn to walk it just as fast as my VS2. It is not as comfy as the VS2, but it's lighter and smaller, so I think things got eqal here.

Got some old paintballs, Co2 tank on, Vl eye force. I think this is really representative of a popular set up that tend to be right now. First I heard a little issssshh near the ASA, when I realized that my tank o-ring has been pinched (even if it's brand new). Got another one, and everything is fine.

The only word I found is WOW. This marker is really nice to shoot, nicely balanced. I got used to the trigger really fast, and the LEAP board is so easy to use, with really clear info in the mode you currently use. By the way, there's 3 modes available on the Electra : Semi-auto, PSP ramping, Millenium ramping. All of them just work perfectly, even with Co2. I've been able to shoot in semi just as fast as I shoot in ramping mode.

The stock 2 pieces barrel shoots fine, I don't plan to get another one. Actually, it is prolly the best stock barrel I've ever tried on a spyder (exept the VS2).

The Electra and Pilot are the first spyders that can be use with a regular 9V (since 2008). However, I really recommend to get a charger and recharchable 9.6V battery. And there's a problem here : why Kingman did not supply this with the marker ? I really think this is a mistake from them, and I hope they will fix this next year with new models.

The Electra comes with a clamping feedneck, that hold my VL eye force (heavier than Vlo JR) very solid. However you will need an allen wrench to tighten your loader. This is more solid, but less convinient to use.

The ON/OFF ASA is really nice to use, nicer than the VS2. I can turn it on or off with a tank on, which is something I was not able to do with the VS2. It's also doing is job pretty well, releasing pressure before I removed the tank.

Clean it
As usual, this spyder is just as easy to clean as any other spyders I've ever used. The bolt is delrin (no lub needed), and there's only one moving o-ring to take care on the striker. That means this marker is really easy to clean, everything can be done under 10 minutes. Eyes plates are in aluminium, which is great, and screws will be hard to break, just use the right allen wrench and you'll have no problem.

The grip is easy to open. However, the grip is not wrapped around : both side are plastic, with rubber on it, they feels really comfy to me, but routing the wires becomes really important if you don't want to get water in grip. Happily, this job is really easy to do. I had absolutely no problems routing the cables, and everythings just feel fine inside.

This marker is really easy to use and clean. I will not have problems to recommend it to new players, as well as for mid players, because it performes really well. I think I'll love it, and I'll forget my VS2 really fast :).
Conclusion: I really appreciate the new improvements that Kingman did on their last marker. They are low pressure now, low kick, and still very easy to use. I'd give a 10 if rechargeable battery would be supplied.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wreck-Baller Sunday, February 15th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 09
Fasta 18v Hopper
12 in. Stock Barrel
JT Raptor Mask
Hpa Tank
Strengths: Fast, Nice trigger, Good Firing modes, Eyes, Accurate, easy to maintain and take apart.
Weaknesses: A slight recoil, an o-ring busted on me, No Co2 it says you can
Review: I got this Marker because i am a newer player to the sport. I went out with a Tippmann 98 Rental and did pretty good. I got this gun and used it on my local field. It is a good gun and is very accurate, but the only problem is my first time using it i blew an o-ring in my inline-regulator. This was a pain to find.

*EDIT* Ok so after using my co2 like it says i can i found that i completely destroyed my inline regulator because of the flux in pressure causing it to rupture a seal. Also m
y sear wore out and it would not Re-cock itself

**EDIT Ok, i have HPA and i got it shooting great, it re-cocks always and no more problems it is a nice gun just NEVER USE C02!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Overall the gun shoots well, and is a little noisy but not so noisy it will be of hinderance to you. If you are new and want a good gun that has many modes and is semi-easy to maintain i would recommend you at least look at this gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to pretty much anyone.

Now then my sear problems and the fact that it says it can use Co2 but it really is way to hard on it. NEVER USE C02!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 23rd, 2009 at 10:25 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

LuckyRicochet Monday, January 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann X7
BT-4 Combat
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra09
48/3000 tank
Viewloader Vlocity Dynasty Version
Strengths: Small
Pretty Light
Feedneck
Weaknesses: Barrel
(Edit)
Leaks
Battery Power
Reliability
Review: Continuing on the reliability thing. When you first get your Electra, there is an O-ring in the ASA on/off thing that you will never really find if you don't ask a gun tech. Unscrew the on off thing, grab a screwdriver and unscrew the bolt looking thing inside. There will be an O-ring there that you need to lube. If you don't lube it, your gun will leak faster than a prison break.

Maybe the grip is too close to the trigger frame for you?? It's just a preference but I dislike it.

I found that if you chrono too high for regular batteries, it eats up batteries like CRRAZY! If you don't get the Spyder 9.6 volt rechargeable batteries you will be really really really really annoyed with the marker.

Problems aside... (edit may 28 problems still)

The marker does have a clamping feedneck, which is convenient.
The marker had 3 firing modes. Semi-Auto, PSP Ramping, and Millennium Ramping. With an easy way to select through all of them.
The stock barrel is 11inches. You might want to get a longer one.
It's pretty light and it might not compete with the mini or higher end markers, but this NOT a high end marker anyway.

(Edit May 28,2011)
Downright pissed off with this. There are consistent leaks if you don't maintain it all the time. There's a leak in the reg and I may have to talk it apart to fix it. I also had a problem with power. The bolt required too much power and I had to get a new one installed that require less energy to use. I'd suggest getting something more reliable.

(edit May 29)
One of the screws in the reg is permanently jammed. I can't get into the gun to fix the leak
Conclusion: (Edited May 28, 2011)
Okay gun. I'm not writing a review until at least 6 months of use anymore.
My previous review was way off.

(May 29, 2011)
Can't fix it.. leaks air like crazy.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 29th, 2011 at 11:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

simple Friday, January 28th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE DM5
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 09
TechT Hush Bolt
VS Tadao Upgrade Board
Musashi 7 Chip
Empire Magna Drive RF Transmitter soldered on the board
Empire Magna Drive Hopper
Barrels:
Smart Parts Linear
32 Degrees Whisper
68Ci 3000psi Pure Energy Tank
Strengths: Simplicity of maintenance and operation, looks very nice. Eyes, stock regulator, on/off, clamping feedneck.
Weaknesses: Stock performance is awesome for most ppl, but not enough for some.
Review: I have got this marker on New Year 2010. First thing that i did after testing it out is buy the VS tadao board upgrade, and put the musashi 7 chip in it. What resulted almost was a completely different marker than what i thought i had, and coupled with a Hush bolt and air, quality barrel and a great force feed hopper, plus the RF transmitter that i soldered on it, it shoots ropes like a high-end gun could. It cannot possibly shoot at advertised speed of 25BPS with the stock Tadao board and parts, especially with eyes on, so keep that in mind. The VS board lets the gun cycle at that speed if one wants to, but even with the best hoppers this gun is likely to chop at that speed. I have it set on 22 BPS, and i have not had any chops so far with the eyes on. The gun has a stock regulator lowering its operational pressure to around 350 psi, and it has an on/off. Best feature set at this price point.
The stock 2 piece barrel is very nice for a spyder, still need an after market barrel to get the most out of it. I recommend this gun only if you are planning to upgrade this one to oblivion, or want a reliable backup gun. The trigger feels amazing, the frame is compact and the milling looks nice as well. Many people get surprised at me shooting this gun at a field, it sounds like a high-end gun, bystanders look at it like its an Angel or something.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this product, it is literally the best kingman gun at this price point. It is low pressure, has eyes, a clamping feedneck, on/off and a good stock board. Musashi 7 chip, if purchased with the upgrade board, does wonders to this gun, with many programmable features.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

apviger24 Friday, April 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom (stock - no mods)
Marker Setup: Spyder electra 09 with eye
Invert Halo Too hopper
Strengths: Shoots fast - much better than 98
Easy disassemble/assembly
Clamping feed neck screws off
Weaknesses: Uses co2 up very fast
batteries are also used up fast
Review: Ok, im just your standard paintball player. I don't go to tournaments or pay to go to fields or anything like that, so im not very critical of my gun, just wanted something that can shoot a little faster than my 98. Just play to have some fun with friends at courses(mostly built with pylwood held up by a fence post) that we build at our homes.

Now to the gun, i bought it about a week ago and used it last weekend at a war (its only use). Its a great gun and i was very impressed with it. It shoots very fast compared to my 98 and any of my friends guns (15-20 bps with co2 on ramping mode). I was able to take out all five people on the other team by myself in under a minute, due largely to the speed of the gun.

Next, assembly and disassembly of this gun was very easy. I had to take it apart to fix a couple of leaks (all i needed to do was oil the bolt). Disassembly was a breeze because the manual is very detailed.

Also, i love the ramping PSP mode because it alows me to shoot much faster.
Ramping PSP - after you pull the trigger 3 times in one second, it shoots 3 ball every time you pull the trigger
Ramping Mellinnium- same as PSP, only shoots 2 balls every time you pull the trigger.

And finally, i love that the clamping feed neck screws off. I can just leave the feed neck attached to my hopper so i dont have to take the allen screw out to take off the hopper.

The only weaknesses in this gun that i have found so far is that it uses co2 up pretty fast, but most likely due to the fact that you can shoot so much faster. Also batteries (i have used energizer 9v) only last about 500 shots. I plan to get a spyder 9,6v rechargeable battery once i have the money.

One more thing i think i should say, spyder customer service is GREAT! (NOT!!!, read edit below) They answered any questions i had on the gun and also sent my a replacement screw on the feed neck because i lost the old one (free of charge). Just call the number in the manual to get any questions that you have on the gun answered in seconds.

**EDIT**

Ok, i am way less impressed with this gun than a was when i first got it.

I had another war with it last weekend and when i got home and was cleaning my gun i noticed a slow, but noticeable leak from the barrel. Again, i disassembled the whole gun (very frustrating that i had to do this twice) only to find nothing (if anyone knows what the problem might be, please comment). The cup seal, o rings, and everything are fine. So then i went to call spyder customer service and i got a guy who said that they are short-staffed and will call me a.s.a.p. And now, 3 days later, they still haven't called back (also very frustrating). So, i totally take back my good review on their customer service.

So that's it, i'm changing my rating to an 8 due to the problems and the now bad customer service.
Conclusion: Great gun. Great upgrade from Tippmann 98.

Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 10th, 2010 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderPB4Liife Wednesday, August 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Pilot, Invert Mini
Marker Setup: lagoon ego 09,14" planet eclipse stock barrel, 48/3000psi cp tank
Strengths: Price
Value
Speed
Overall
Board
Weaknesses: None
Review: this gun is very good overall. Its a very fast gun for speed ball. pus ramp psp is capped at 15bps and its ramp millenium is capped at 13 bps. The board is amazing, it had a tadao leap circuit board with C.A.M.D in the back of the grip frame. Doesnt come with batteries. So ill give it a 9-10
Conclusion: overall this is a very good marker by kingman, if your in need of a good gun GET THIS !
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rrwilliams64 Friday, November 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vibe
Vibe Blackheart
SP1 Blackheart
Spyder VS1
Proto SLG UL
98C Tippy
Marker Setup: 09 Spyder Electra
Smart Parts All American 12" barrel
Halo Invert Too
16 oz CO2 w/ anti siphon
Strengths: well built, balanced
Leap Tadao board
light
easy change fire modes
Weaknesses: Full auto would be nice
stock barrel just ok
battery space tight
Review: Listen, this is a great addition to the low end electronic niche. Postured basically against the SP1/Vibe, and it does so successfully. Understand it is a poppet valve vs spool valve (the Vibe/SP1) and as such it will be a bit louder and have more noticeable recoil thn the Vibe, but not as much as to be an issue. (and some folks like the "loudness", typical of Spyders). But also, to the good, with the poppet valve design comes a much simpler maintenance wise marker; just a Delrin bolt with one o-ring, as opposed to the multiple o-rings (5 or 6 between the bolt and fire can on the Smart Parts offerings?) Basically, can be safely stated its a a lower maintenance gun than the Vibe at the expense of noise and recoil.
The reg is acceptable, not as nice as the Luxe style reg of the Vibe, but its OK. Firing modes are easy to change, the mag trigger has nice three way adjustment. Barrel? workable, I measured mine at .689. I swtched out to an All American 12" and saw improvement.
I was surprised at how much i enjoyed shooting this gun. Nicely balanced, the PSP ramp mode is well adjusted. The eyes work well, the gun had less "kick" than I expected, and it was a big improvement over some products that have muddied Spyder's rep. (e.g. I own a VS1 to boot. World of improvement)
Conclusion: You'll be surprised at this marker's performance. Just understand its target market and realize you're not firing a tourney level high end marker and dont compare it as such. Against the Vibe/SP1, its a viable competitor (and I own a Vibe and SP1, one with and one without Blackheart). This Electra is my flavor of the moment, as I like the different feel in my hand. Great woodsball gun, have had no issues- and I will note I've been one of the folks that, while I like my Vibe, has had my share maintenance, o-ring issues galore, etc. The Electra seems to be less "fussy" (..and I love the on/off ASA)
So far, all smiles, and this gun has dropped in price and used models can be found on eBay nicely. You wont be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntforlife Friday, June 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
bt4 combat, tipmann 98
Marker Setup: viewloader and pure energy 48ci compressed air tank
Strengths: Great accuracy, light weight, two piece barrel, eye, non chopping, and the ausome clamping feedneck.
Weaknesses: The weekness is the electric board.
Review: This gun is my first own speedball gun. since i joined a team i thought i might need a gun. So i went to look for a good and easy gun. My cousin, Chris Kim, a proffesional paintballer suggested me the spyder electra. So i bought it and it is very nice. It is light weight, sleek, "sexy", and accurate. What i hate about it is that mine leaks occasionaly and the electric board.
The electric board has only
1.semi auto
2.ramping psp
3.ramping milenium
ALL OF THESE MODES GO UP TO 13BPS! isn't that slow?
Thats the only thing i hate but one thing i hate the most is that u cant upgrade it. except for the barrel. It says its ment to be with everything in it. So if u get an upgrade it will screw it up.
Conclusion: Get this gun for a begginer but if ur not don't get it. This gun i suggest for all beginers. it is really good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media