paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Chaser / Kingman Chaser / Kingman Chaser / Kingman Chaser

Kingman Chaser Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Chaser

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Chaser
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $180

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
MARKER FEATURES:
Reversal Striker Valve System (Patent 7,478,632)
Magazine Style Loading System
High Impact Polymer with Aluminum Receiver
Velocity Range: 200-250 fps
Joules: 1.6-2.0
CO2 Cartridge Knob with Assist Lever
External Velocity Adjuster
Durable Anodized Fine Matte Finish
High Visibility Hard Sights
Quick Release Striker Bolt
Slide Cocking System
Ergonomically Designed Polymer Trigger Frame
Rubber Grip Panel

INCLUDED WITH THE KT CHASER™ MARKER:
Two 12g CO2 Cartridges
100 Round 11mm Paintballs
Sgueegee and Barrel Blocking Device
Product Availability 
The Kingman Chaser is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
krisdanna Wednesday, June 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armotech Zues (own), Tiberius 8 (friend owned)
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, folding stock, aluminum clamp feed neck, empire reloader 2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 or more extra magazines.
Strengths: Small package
Construction
Weight
Appearance
Price
Separate Magazine and co2
Air efficiency
Ease of use
Weaknesses: See body of review
Review: Strengths:
Small package (smallest paintball pistol i have used)

Constructed very well (This pistol feels substantial, not like a toy or other markers that feel fragile. When i take this out i wont be worried about breaking it. The gun is also balanced and easy to control as a result.)

Light weight(the polymer really seems to reduce weight) The magazines are also light weight and small/compact.

Appearance (pretty awesome looking. it reminds me of the magnum pistol from Halo)

Price (I paid $179.95 last month for this, right before they reduced the price for the sale, now $149.95. What a sucker, oh well. This is much less than a T8 for instance)

Separate Magazine and co2 (unlike the T8 we all know about) you need only one 12 gram at a time instead of 1 per magazine.

Good air efficiency ( i have come close to that 80 shots/12 gram they advertise, usually around 70 or more.)

Ease of use (intuitive use. Ergonomics are pretty right-on. Easy reload of balls and magazine. Magazine release button easy to access, even with small hands)

Weaknesses:
Only noticed a few..

When reloading the magazine into the marker, sometimes a ball will be pushed passed the detent and roll out of the barrel. The magazines must be inserted with ease, and not slammed in, to remedy this.

There is a little bit of play with the slide, it moves around ever so slightly.

There are only two ergonomic issues i have found regarding the marker. The first is that the safety if a little high and back to be able for me to push off with my pointer finger on my right hand. The second is that, if i were shooting lefty, my middle finger on my left hand might hit the magazine release on accident, dropping the mag. This never happend but it feels like it could relatively easily.

If you have a clip with paintballs left in it and drop the clip you will lose 3 or more balls on the ground (like the T8) KT did not find a solution for this, unfortunately.

The paintballs are more expensive than regular 68 cal (i use >$40 Diablo Heat), and i have not had the chance to check my local retailer to see if they carry them. I suspect however, that because of the excellent air efficiency compared to other pistols, that the price of these paintballs may be offset by the decreased need of 12 grams.(hmm, i wonder) Also, the field i go to the most (Skirmish USA) will almost certainly not allow these as they only allow field paint.

Overall:
Overall I am happy with this marker. I have yet to use it in a game but i have fired 100 rounds through it (the whole container that comes with it) fed 10+ magazines, and 2 co2 cartridges. No ball breaks, no leaks, no problems (besides the few balls forced through the detents. I am going to leave the magazine springs compressed for a week or so to see if this will help lessen the pressure of the first ball and detents.)

I bought this as a novelty, hoping to use this in a game as a back-up/secondary, but i don't play as often these days. I am glad to have made the purchase and if i like playing with it i am already considering getting another to dual-wield (like i said.. novelty. But it still sounds awesome to try.)

TANGENT!!!:
I am glad to see a trend of specialization with paintballs these days, and i hope it continues. As soon as you change the round, the whole weapon changes. Smaller paintballs are good candidates for smaller, close combat weapons like this pistol. They have less range, but fit the job description like they should. Regular .68 paintballs are for the normal range that we all have been playing within since they were invented and are suited for those medium-ranged weapons that are most common. And even a sniper round (the First Strike round from Tiberius Arms) has been recently introduced and is for longer distances and accuracy. These specializations will expand and change the game of paintball. There should therefore be no complaint about this pistols range (or its ammunitions range) because it is not meant to be used at medium or long ranges.
End of tangent.
Conclusion: I think this product is awesome and i would recommend it to anyone who plays on fields that will let them use their own paintballs or starts to sell these. Or just play on your own fields with friends.

It is a cool, compact, well-built pistol that would make an excellent back up/secondary. I give it an 8 because i am glad to see something so cool come from Kingman, i think this is an awesome marker and it performs amazingly (from what i have seen in my limited experience) Nothing is perfect, but this is the best effort at making a paintball pistol as close to perfect as possible. I have yet to see anything better. It's sweet, trying it our for yourself!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 10th, 2009 at 10:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tracker7 Saturday, June 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Overlord Rx Pistol
Nelspot 007
Splatmatic XJ40
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical w/
Archon's NEW Revolutionary 200 Round Gravity fed hopper,
20oz remote line CO2 NXe 4+1
Secondary:
Overlord Rx Pistol w/ laser sight
Second Primary:
Custom made P90 prototype
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Magazines
Holster
Smaller Magazine release button (can be requested at Kingmann customer service)
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Compact
Easy Mag change
(See Review)
Weaknesses: Smaller caliber
Not allowed on some fields
Magazine release button
Review: Side note:
First off I would like to state that the weaknesses are not direct factors of the gun itself, rather to limitations of the guns stature. For example: There are a lot of courses that do not allow the .43 caliber due to legalities of their waiver and insurance coverage. Another reason would be that the .43 caliber rounds are hard to find and need to be specifically the Kingmann brand to avoid compromising the terms of the warranty. With that being said, there is one thing that I can not specify enough, hands on testing. You, yourself can only know how a gun feels in your hand, Anyone can write all day about a weapon but It can never justify how you may react to a specific gun.

Out of the Box:

The Kingmann Chaser has a sleek, aesthetic, compact design. It’s made up of High Impact Polymer with an Aluminum Receiver. In my opinion it can be compared to a slightly oversized Glock. The grip is also slightly over sized and has rubber grip for extra stabilization. One drawback is that the grip may be a little too big for smaller hands, this is due to the magazine and CO2 are house inside the grip rather than others that are on the top or in front of the gun. It has regular pistol sights and slide. It has a real gun feel to it. It requires only one cock per installation of a single CO2 cartridge, which will give one approx. 70-80 shots.

Firing:

This gun needs to be broken in; even Kingman costumer service will advise this. That’s why they add in at least 100 rounds into their packages. At first I chopped a lot of balls, now its maybe 3 out of a 100. This could also be due to the rounds included with the marker are of poor quality, I've read some website and personal reviews that claim the round packed along with the gun are low quality.

Accuracy:

Keep in mind that we are talking about a pistol when reading the accuracy. To give my review merit I want to give the reader my background history, not to brag, but to ensure the reader that they are reading a dependable review. I have trained in law enforcement and have been disciplined in the correct and most efficient form of shooting, as well as being an avid paintballer for over 5 years. I think the smaller caliber helps when it comes to this marker. From roughly 10 yards (30 feet) the marker is highly accurate, from there on to 20 yards (60 ft) it has a reasonably accurate contact.

In Play:
Please keep in mind that I only use this maker for a side arm, and not as a primary weapon, so I can only give my opinion from that perspective. The Chaser has a real gun feel to it and one doesn’t not have to worry about smacking into something and ripping the clip of like other top magazine markers. The drop clip magazine makes switching on the fly a breeze, which is a must under pressure. I, myself, like how compact it is compare to other markers.

Cleaning:
Cleaning is fairly simple on these guns, you don’t have to be a wiz at nomenclature. For quick, on the go barrel cleaning, it comes with a small squeegeeand is a breeze to clean. As for more in depth cleaning, the manual walks you through a very simple field strip that most people could handle.

UPDATE:
In Play:
This gun performs quit well on the field, as a side arm or primary in close quarters. I used during a close quarters capture the flag, and I have to say I was quite impressed. The quick change with the clip makes reloading quite simple and doesn’t leave one hanging in the heat of battle. It doesn’t hurt that it is highly accurate either, even at a distance. At around 70 feet, with the velocity adjusted slightly higher, it had no problem picking people off. However, this would not cut it in speed ball or any other open area/ fast paced games.
I had no problems in play, whatsoever. No chops! No double feeds! And No malfunctions! Although, there is one thing I would like to mention…..the magazine release button is slightly larger than it needs to be, and can be in the way, and easily ejected by accident. However, the Kingmann corp. has acknowledged this problem and will send, at your request, and smaller mag release button.


Conclusion: Whenever I write one of these reviews I try to add that it is very important to research the equipment that is right for you. The best way it to go somewhere where others will let you test there gun or equipment. It that is not possible, read all the reviews you can to see which product is the best for you. In specific though, the overall picking this pistol would absolutely depend on weighing the following factors:
Do I want to be weighed down by a side arm?
Do I even Need a side arm?
Will I use it?
But most importantly…..Does the course I play, or intend to play on, accept them on the field, due to the smaller caliber?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bayruun Sunday, July 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha USP (unreliable)
RAP226 (now illegal in Canada)
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 w/T-board, Halo
2x KT Chasers w/1 extra magazine
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Magazines
Strengths: Quiet
Good handling
CO2 efficiency
.43 paint
Weaknesses: Poor magazine retention system (fixed in newer Chasers)
.43 paint
Review: BACKGROUND
I play woodsball, typically on a farm. As there are barns and buildings about the field, there tends to be close-ranged firefights. Therefore, I might overemphasize the importance of a pistol, as I have more need of one than a typical woodsball player.

I used to run with a RAP226, which was a decent .43 pistol, if inefficient with CO2 (to cycle the slide). However, due to Canadian firearms laws, I had to sell off my replica and replace it with something more legal. (I have heard plenty of people say that replica firearms are not illegal in Canada. As a historical reenactor, I assure you that they are.)

The timing couldn't have been better, since Kingman Training had released the Chaser and Eraser this year. Since I prefer Kingman markers, and am familiar with .43 paint, I bought the Chaser.

CONTENTS
The box contains the marker, a magazine, extra parts, one hundred .43 paintballs, two 12 gram CO2 cartridges, a barrel plug, and a squeegee. There are also the usual compliments of manuals and registration cards, etc. The box isn't as nice as the pistol case that the RAP22g came with, but it's fairly organized. There aren't slots for extra magazines, so it's not meant as a carry box.

HANDLING
The pistol feels a little top-heavy due to the metal slide and internals balancing poorly with the plastic grip. However, I don't believe it interferes with the handling of the marker, which is very fast to bear, allowing easy acquisition of targets. The trigger has pretty average pull, and the marker has almost no kick. Overall, this leads to extremely good performance for a pistol.

FIRING
Good handling lends itself well to accurate firing. Though the Chaser has a tiny barrel, it fires quite well, striking an opponent at 25 feet without much trouble. I haven't done proper accuracy testing, but it has done well on the field.

One my favorite things about the KT Chaser is its quiet operation. Shooting smaller paintballs with greatly reduced gas, there isn't much bark to the Chaser. While it might seem that relative silence isn't a big deal, consider that everyone else is letting rip with .68 markers, making so much noise that the KT's "pop, pop" isn't noticeable.

OPERATION
The Chaser operates somewhere halfway between a pistol and a Spyder marker. The bolt is charged by pulling back on the slide and letting it spring forward. A nine-round magazine fits into the grip, and is released by a button located on the grip. The safety is the same as you'd find on most mechanical markers, and should be familiar to most players. The internals are basically the same as you'd find in any Spyder, but scaled down.

NOTE: The magazine retention problems I've noted below are present on one but not both of my Chasers. Either the newer Chasers are better built, or my first pistol was just a lemon.

I have some issues with the magazine retention system on the Chaser. The magazine is held in the grip by two magnets, which are just strong enough to hold it in under most circumstances. However, the last thing you want is to swing your pistol around and watch the magazine go flying into a bush. To compound the problem, the magazine release button is positioned quite poorly, just under the trigger guard, and is so sensitive that if I so much as brush against it, it drops the mag.

Putting the marker in a holster can also be problematic, as the marker could shift as you move, and the button could rub against fabric and release the magazine. I have to insert my marker into my holster upside-down to ensure I don't lose my mag.

NOTES ON .43 PAINT
Be sure that you're playing on a field that allows .43 paint. Some don't, either due to insurance issues, or because they won't provide .43 field paint. Naturally, if you can't use the marker on your field, don't buy it.

People have complained about .43 paint not breaking -- I had the same issue with RAP4 paint. However, Kingman Training has vastly superior paint that works like a charm. I have had fewer bounces with KT .43s than I do with typical .68s.

That, however, is assuming engagement at "pistol ranges", which are about half what you'd expect from a .68 marker. The smaller paint doesn't travel as far as its larger cousin, as it has less mass and is traveling at roughly the same speed. This isn't an issue if you're using the pistol for CQB, however.

Lastly, there's cover avoidance. Smaller paint is more likely to fit between blades of grass, between wooden boards, or other cover. Just today, I fired at an opponent hiding behind a small bale of hay and hit him through it (not typical results -- good luck is necessary). When everyone else's shots are bursting in tall grass, you'll be able to get rounds on target.

EDIT: I should note that I have never had to change the CO2 cartridge in a typical four-hour day of paintball. I believe it's good for about sixty rounds, maybe seventy.
Conclusion: Overall, I have had a great time with my Chaser. It works quite well as a short-ranged pistol, it's quiet, accurate, and easy to use. Just as .43 paint fails at regular engagement ranges, it excels at CQB, and I have yet to see any .68 marker that can match it in a close-in firefight.

EDIT: My second chaser does not have magazine retention problems, thus giving me reason to raise the rating to 9.

There are problems, however. The magazine retention system is downright awful, and you may find your magazine hitting the dirt fairly often. If it weren't for this glaring flaw, I'd happily give the Chaser a 9/10 rating -- hopefully the issue will be resolved in future products.

As it stands, I'll give the Chaser a 7/10 -- for all that the marker excels at what it does, the magazine issue is a significant flaw in basic functionality.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 11th, 2011 at 8:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DesertEaglePB Wednesday, March 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never USED a Pistol
Marker Setup: It was a basic Chaser Pistol that was cleaned before i played with it.
Strengths: It is fun to use, realistic feel, looks nice. It uses Co2 very well.
Weaknesses: The balls jammed
broke in the tip of the barrel
paint breaks before its shot

Review: This is the first pistol i ever used and i really only got around 7 out of 30 balls out of the gun and got CLOSE to hitting the player, yet none made contact. I brought it to the owner of the gun and he cleaned it and then again i played but this time i was spraying paint and the balls WERE NOT coming out. I gave up after that.
Conclusion: I would say maybe look into this one but i would say try before you buy.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

JeT_144 Saturday, November 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman TPX, Tiberius 8, BT SA-17
Marker Setup: BT Delta Elite
Pure energy 48/3000
Kingman Training Chaser

Recommended
Upgrades:
extra clips
Strengths: Air efficient
Accurate
Looks
Weight
Weaknesses: Grip is a little to big
Review: Bought this gun on my birthday and was very pleased by its performance. Right out of the box it shot like a dream. Even with slightly strong winds it still managed to hit its target. The only downfall was that it broke two balls. I think was do to really cold weather. Other than that this gun is really good for the price. I paid $110 and with all the other accessories it came out to $200 in total. I recommend getting extra mags. The paintballs are cheap but many people recommend the rap4 brand.
Conclusion: I recommend this to people who love scenario events or just love the sole fact that its a pistol. Remember ask your current field if they allow this gun because it shoots a smaller paintballs then regular and you would have to bring your own. I give this gun a 10 out of 10 because it performs so well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

generalmints Saturday, June 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: RT mag, Halo b, 88/45 with dynaflow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well the obvious holster....but also, you will want more than one magazine.
Strengths: Accuracy
Efficiency
Small size
Weaknesses: Mag release button
Safety button
Plastic cocker
Not very powerful
....i will elaborate
Review: Accurate as heck, easily hit a 40 Ft target within 2-3 balls. AND you get 50+balls per 12 gram C02 cartridge...easily1

Now the mag release button is kind of oddly placed, if you put in your pocket, you run the risk of accidentally discharging the magazine. Similarly, the safety is a little farther back then to my taste, nothing that should change your decision though. Being solid in weight and density already, the cocker being plastic is not a real weakness, seeing as how it would add unnecessary massif it were metal. I realize that yes it is a very small size pistol, but i was honestly expecting a little more oomph behind those dinky 11mm paintballs. "Effective for up to 120 ft." as advertised on the box.
Conclusion: Its not a primary weapon of choice of course, more like a fun novelty, a good sidearm...or just a good way to bring in lots of attention.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media