paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009

Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2009 Spyder Sonix is now 15% lighter and 10% shorter sporting a brand new look and feel. The Sonix comes standard equipped with a threaded clamping feedneck. A Tool-Free Striker Plug has been developed to alleviate the need for tools while performing basic maintenance on the marker.

Performance Features
+ All New Clamping Collar Feedneck
+ Ergonomically Designed High Impact Polymer Trigger Frame
+ Reduced Overall Profile (15% Lighter and 10% Shorter)
+ Standard CA Thread Vertical Adapter with Aluminum Foregrip
+ Anodized Matte Finish
+ Pull Pin Top Cocking Delrin Bolt
+ Tool-Free Striker Plug Design
+ 10” Micro Ported Barrel
+ No-Slip Rubber Grip Panel
+ Two Finger Trigger
+ External Velocity Adjuster
+ Steel Braided Hose Line
+ Inline Bottom-line ASA
+ Operates on CO2 or Compressed Air
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Kingmax Thursday, November 5th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months27 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle and Piranha (both for just a day before i got this)
Marker Setup: stock
gravity fed hopper
12 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, leave it alone
Strengths: -Feedneck
Maintenance
Grips
Trigger
Price
Weaknesses: Accuracy, but what can you expect.
Review: Ok, well this was my first gun, and after using a couple other guns before buying my own, i can say i am proud of my decision.

The feedneck is great just because it clamps with an alen wrench, so it offers a very snug fit, my hopper has never fallen off no matter how many times i hit it.

Anti-chop bolt works great. This is very important to any first timers looking for a gun. If you break a single ball, you have some major problems. 1st it plugs up your barrel so your sure to break more. Then it gets up into your hopper and there goes 100 paintballs (i know from a friends experience). This is not fun.

Maintenance was a breeze. pull out bolt, unscrew back cap and handle, you can take almost the whole thing apart (you need to take off the handle to remove the front cap).

Grips are rubber and flexible. Gives good feel combined with extremely solid trigger.

Well, i bought a package with a mask, hopper, and 12 oz co2 tank for $125 (or right around there), so for starters thats pretty good.

The only thing against it is accuracy. Hey, it's a $90 gun. Don't expect it to shoot as accurate as a Tippmann with a flatline. The nature of the gun doesn't give you the ability to improve this much. Yes, you can buy a barrel, but it won't make a huge difference. Its the whole system that adds to this. Maybe an apex, but i haven't actually tried one so i wouldn't really know how good those are, though ive heard only good things. I am actually thinking of getting one though, so if i do i'll try to update this, but i might just get a new gun altogether before that.

For upgrades, i would never bother spending money to upgrade a $90 gun (the barrel is the only exception because its not really part of the gun). It comes with anything you could need including a spare parts kit with extra o-rings. Where barrels are concerned, really there is no perfect barrel for this gun. It will never shoot perfectly straight, again, its the assembly. Yeah, go ahead and spend $100 on a feack kit, it WILL improve, no doubt, but now youve spent $200 and could have just gotten a better gun that comes with a better stock barrel to start with.
Conclusion: For $90 for the gun itself, you really can't go wrong. It is a good way to get into paintball, and if you do decide to get an electric someday, then you have a backup for if it rains (no, electric guns are not waterproof), or can introduce a friend. Solid, reliable gun. I love it. Now remeber, any rating you see is relative to the type of gun it is. Just because a gun, has a 9-10, does not mean, by any means, it can compete with a $1,000 gun. This is compared to other semi-autos only.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 5th, 2009 at 7:17 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pb_fiend18 Thursday, April 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine 03
Tippmann 98
Tippmann A-5
Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
Todao Board w/ upgrade chip
Dye Rotor loader
48/4500 Guerilla Air tank w/ MythG2 Reg
CP 14" .693 barrel, CP reg, CP on/off ASA, CP Sling Trigger, CP feedneck
Shocktech Superfly Bolt, Shocktech spring & shim kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel: Stock barrel is a bit short & loud with its minimal porting(holes). I recomend a 1 piece (non-expensive) just a bit longer than stock: 12-14" with more porting than the stock. J & J ceramic or Custom Products barrels are good for the price.
Barrel sock: don't use the included safety plug... they can scratch your barrel if there is grit in the tip. A sock is great for this marker because it has a handy cut out on the back of the body to hook the sock band into.
Spring Kit: I recomend one that includes a softer trigger return, sear spring, & striker springs of varying tension. usually only costs $6-$10

if using Co2: I recomend upgrading to an expansion chamber foregrip to avoid velocity spikes, or make the switch to compressed air just buy a simple 48ci HPA tank & screw it in.
Strengths: Light & compact
Hex clamp feedneck
Quality milling & threading - durable
body style
price
Weaknesses: Ball Detent (see review)

Overly stiff springs (see review)
Review: Ball Detent is a simple rubber nub. It doesn't fully do its job all the time. So this gun double feeds once about every 20-30 shots on average. If there were dual detents of the same nub style then it would be great, but there's just one on the left side. Larger bore paint helps but it still double feeds sometimes. when I put my Rotor (force feed loader) on this marker it double fed atleast once every 10-20 shots avg. I think I'm going to custom install magnetic detents in this marker because inconsistancies like that bother me. If you dont want to go to the trouble of putting in custom detents, I'd recomend not using a "force fed" loader, but instead an "agitation" type loader or the Proto Primo gravity.

Overly stiff springs: As with most of the newer spyders they have put some hulking strong springs in them... I guess they figure the spring's tension lasts longer that way. The trigger pull is a tid bit strong for my likeing & the bolt was chopping paint because the striker spring was thrusting the bolt too hard onto the balls. I recomend turning your velocity screw all the way in and put a case or 2 of paint through the marker to break in the springs (you will get some ball breaks during this time) then back your velocity screw all the way out and your ready for competitive play. Or you can skip wasting paint on breaking the marker in and just buy a spring kit, but I still recomend breaking-in your marker as soon as you recieve it in order to check for other defects or leaks that might spring up.

Overall a great mech gun other than some inconsistancies that can be fixed. I was impressed the quality of the metal and polymers used... you can tell its not cheap cast metal but actually pretty dense material. The threading is very precision(smooth) and the hex screws are not maluable, cheap metal that will get stripped out easily, but actually quite tough. The feedneck is great...the hex lock is simple, reliable, & fit all my loaders it also has abrasive cuttings inside so that the loader won't swivle or fly off mid-game. The grip nicely fits the hand & is of soft rubber. The body has a good style, I like the cut out in the back that provides a great spot to hook your barrel sock & it looks good.
Conclusion: Great little mech gun for a great price. I enjoy using it from time to time over my VS because of how light & compact it is, and doesn't consume paint and air so fast. Very reliable and easy to maintain. I recomend this marker to anyone who wants to get into the sport, but isnt willing to break bank. This gun also makes a great backup because it is a mech... it will always be more reliable than an electric.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 11th, 2010 at 6:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gabrielv Friday, October 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra, mr1, and some proto (tested)
Marker Setup: sonix
20 oz pure energy tank
some random barrel off my friend's rodeo (not stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Light cheap
Weaknesses: none(don't have expirience)
I can't spell don't judge me
Review: This waz my first gun and it was great just as good as the mr1 they were renting. I only played little kids ause there was a party going on at the field but the gun worked great no problems until i ran out of gas, there was nothing wrong i just wasn't expecting it so overall it worked great
Conclusion: This gun is good for a beginner and cheap too buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintedplayer Tuesday, October 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: 09 Spyder Sonix
14in J&J barrel
off brand gravity hopper
12oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Price
Clamping feed neck
Wight
Weaknesses: Velocity spikes
Plastic trigger
Review: This is my first paintball gun but in my opinion its better than the 98 custom in wight and accuracy with stock barrel. Though I would recommend a better barrel than the stock one. I do get velocity spikes with co2 but thats expected . The clamping feed neck is a big plus compared with other guns in the price range no plastic connecters to brake and to make the hopper to stick up! The trigger is plastic but not a problem as the trigger seems sturdy.
Conclusion: I think its a better deal than the 98 custom. Price is a lot lower and comes with some nice futures.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 13th, 2009 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KingKnutz Wednesday, August 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Sonix 2009(stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Loader/hopper
Strengths: Short range accuracy, agility, weight, setup
Weaknesses: Long range accuracy, occasional ball breaking/chop
Review: I've been playing paintball recreationally (speedball primarily, some capture-the-flag) using the Tippman 98 Custom indoor/outdoor for a while under 'rental' status - however after playing more frequent recently I've decided to save money and get more serious. The reviews posted here encouraged me to purchase a Spyder Sonix as a easy to use, setup and beginner marker.

I've used the Spyder Sonix frequently and done many tests on it to see how it performs under stock conditions (although I have already preordered parts for upgrades).

The gun is extremely well for beginners looking to get more serious in paintball - offers a very easy to clean, repair and setup system. All listed descriptions below are all in stock model.

Barrel: the barrel is a 10" micro ported barrel that feels good and looks good - however the range it offers is usually quite exceptional within shorter distances approximately around 50ft - 100ft. You come within 5"-7" of your target which is quite well when shooting at another player on the field or just practicing for a marker at this price and level. However at longer ranges 100ft+ it tends to slowly react to gravity and wind speed/environment starts to greatly affect accuracy.

Body: the body feels great and looks great when you're holding it with the barrel removed. The rubber grip with the engraved Spyder logo provides an excellent grip and feel when used in action or just for practice.

Trigger: the trigger isn't the best aspect of the marker. Although it does feature a two finger grip meant to look like for the 'double-tap' firing method to increase rate of fire - it works extremely poor with gravity fed hoppers such as the stock one it comes with. The 'double-tap' method does not work with this hopper since the trigger is too far from the handle. Although it is still easy to fire quite fast since you have two fingers going at once increasing response and reaction time, there is a limit you must keep yourself to. If you pull too fast for the gravity fed hopper to put a paintball in it tends to chop/break the paintball in the barrel and sends it back up the elbow to the hopper creating a mess inside as well as the barrel. This I find a common problem from reviewers with more experience with higher grade markers such as the Dye NT and electro-pneumatic guns. You can fire fast, but you can only fire so fast with the Spyder.

Hopper/loader: I would definitely not recommend gravity fed hoppers for this product. Although for beginners it is better than the guns you're usually given from rentals that have often long lived their quality. The 2010 GXG gravity fed hoppers usually load fast enough to allow you to fire 12bps or slightly less - but for those expecting something more this is something you should look at. Based on my research and some experience with other higher grade markers - I would recommend a force fed hopper for an upgrade. Gravity fed hoppers often jam paintballs above the elbow/tube causing the jam. Force fed hoppers are usually used in more professional guns for efficiency loading and reduce jamming.

Tank/propellant source: this gun supports both CO2 and HPA - but I recommend CO2. CO2 tanks often use less PSI for approximately the same amount of balls that can be fired and also last a while when stored correctly.
Conclusion: This gun is a must for beginners looking for something around $100-$150USD (pending on retailer) and wanting to get more water into their beak in the sport of paintball.

I recommend an upgrade to the barrel and the hopper - preferably the 16" barrel Spyder offers as an upgrade for around $30USD and a force fed hopper to reduce ball jamming/chopping as well as increase bps.

The foregrip that comes with the gun is great for beginners that want to look more intimidating on the field to rentals. The gun looks intimidating itself to rental players and you can enhance your playing image if you have more gear such as pants/jerseys and mask.

When playing with this gun at local fields use .68 caliber paintballs, and I recommend a belt with a tank hold as well as a remote coil to supply air/CO2. A 20oz tank often loosens the gun more when firing and used.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderPro24 Monday, May 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
BT- Combat
Spyder Pilot
Ion
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix 2009
20 oz CO2 Tank
14 inch barrel
Spyder Fasta 18v Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
electronic hopper
maybe a new trigger
Strengths: Reliable
Very light
Doesn't chop balls
Weaknesses: Barrel isnt that good
Hopper is too tall
Review: The spyder sonix 09 is a good gun. It is accurate, light and lasts for a long time. Some people might say its for beginners but its more than that and its very durable. it can be used by both beginners and experienced players. This gun can be upgraded and be turned into a much better gun. i used to use tippmann 98 before and it was way too heavy and the lightness of this gun is one of the many advantages it has over the tippmann.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to people who need a good gun but arent looking to spend too much.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Headshot:Dead Tuesday, February 8th, 2011
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini: Makes this gun look like a piece of crap.
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
Invert Reloader
Empire 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Nothing
Weaknesses: Sound
weight
Accuracy
Efficiently
Sh*tty manufacture making
Look
Brand
Review: This gun is the worst out there. It was my first gun and I thought it was an amazing gun, I was wrong. This is one of the worst guns. You should not buy this gun unless your starting a collection of paintball guns. the gun is a waste of your money. No one should by the gun my invert mini makes the gun look like shi*t.
Conclusion: Horrible. Don't get the gun ever. This the worst gun ever.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

hell_blazer Saturday, April 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: sypder sonix 2009, no upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Strong trigger, easy cleaning
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is not very accurate
Review: Well i was doing many research on this gun and i decided to buy it as my first gun. I took it out of the box rented a hopper and a tank and i was good to go. I used it the first couple games and it seemed to work very good, just that the accuracy was like i had huge cross hairs on it. Also the velocity was low but thats easy to change. Other than that i am very pleased with the gun because even if the stock barrel was good i was gonna buy the j and j ceramic 14 inch barrel. Also cleaning it was a breeze and no ball breaks.
Conclusion: I think its and excellent gun for beginners in speed ball, but if you play woods ball you definitely need a new barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 10th, 2010 at 7:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donte55 Saturday, December 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98c
Marker Setup: stock,with 20 oz co2, gravity fed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, hopper, maybe drop forward, Hpa tank
Strengths: Cheap
Durable,
Cleaning
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Barrel breaks,
Review: This is my first gun and I took this gun out to the field and it was fun, had alot of barrel break though,(probably my fault), it shoots pretty fast so get a good hopper. shake in shoot kept mis feeding or not feeding at all so i was dry firing. The gun was very light. Would recommend a new barrel as some balls would go to the right or left. It is very easy to clean and only one O ring in the gun. The gun is very good on air. Grips are good, clamping feed neck is a plus ( don't have to have that extra peace putting your hopper way in the air). I give the gun an 8 for being stylish and performance was good. Don't put to much money into the gun seeing that it is a cheap gun. I got the gun because it was cheap and i don't need to shoot 15-20 bps. i only need about 5-10 bps. One more thing be sure to get some extra pods as you will need them.
Conclusion: I would definitely buy if you want to get into the sport. doesn't chop, so its good. Would also be a good back up gun. This is a good reliable gun and is perfect for the beginner trying to get into the sport.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media