paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve

AKA Tornado Valve Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Tornado Valve

Paintball Autococker Valves

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Tornado Valve
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $79

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tornado valve for the autococker Tired of running out of air? The tornado valve increases your efficiency (on order of 2000+ shoots per 20oz co2 tank). Can be used on Co2, Nitrogen or compressed air (must use regulator) Low pressure, 150-250 psi input. Manufactured of high-qualtiy heat-treated stainless steel
Product Availability 
The AKA Tornado Valve is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, March 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAT III 3:16 valve
Marker Setup: Black Magic 2002 Tourney- with sight rail-full stock version
Odessey Halo Motorized Hopper
T-stock
50mm military standard sniper scope, adapted to the sight rail with 3 lug nuts
Hotshot 30mm red dot sniper scope (piece of junk)
Red fiber flourescence sight.

Stripped down and add-ons for different fields and conditions:

Gen X Phase II 3D adj. reg. / Thor adjustable regulator with gas through foregrip.
WGP hinge (2.5 to 4.5mm) / Dye Pivot Hinge (3 to 5mm pull)
Various hammer kits to use...
Smart Part 68/4500 and 88/4500 / CenterFlag HighFlow 68/4500
Lapco 12", 14", and 16" Bigshot / 12", 14" Dye Boomstick / 14" SS 32 Degrees Fiber barrels
Shockteck Bomb-3 way (4-way..?)
AKALM 3-way
Shocktech Rat 3:16 valve
AKALM Tornado valve
Shocktech SupaFly bolt (piece of crap..rather stick to my stock)
AKALM Lightning Bolt (good for LP on cold days..bad on hot and humid days..)
Strengths: First thing first, those who just post short segment about their valves need to be more specific...the statements "Good" and "Just get it" indicate that you're either too illiterate to evaluate the product, or you don't know what you're talking about. There are quite a few amount of people out there asking for information, and you're not giving it to them. Be their educators guys.

Now, for the info. Shocktech RAT III is nothing to sneeze at. But if you have the extra money in your piggy bank, get the Tornado. For those using the RAT III and attempt to crank it all the way down to 180-200psi, and claim that you're still shooting at 280-300fps with dead accuracy, I think you're in the cloud somewhere. 25 of my friends and I all bought the valves (RAT III and Tornado), and assemble both on the fields. 14 of which are licensed airsmiths. We were at SC Village in California, with the day's temperature at 86, low humidity, no wind. RAT III: Lowest operating pressure of 205, with chronoed speed of 290fps with stock bolts. Second up was 190 fps at 280fps. Then with the AKALM Lightnigh bolt. Lowest was 190psi for 280fps. Second up was 195psi for 275fps, both with deadly accuracy of +-3 square inch of the target 70 feet away.

Tornado valve. The best precise hit with +-1 square inch with both stock and Lightnigh bolt at a target 70 feet away, using a variety of autocockers, Matrices, Angels, and even Spyders. Lowest coming in at 185 psi at 320fps. Second lowest at 190psi at 310fps.

The 4 speeds mentioned above were from an Angel IR3, 2001 Black Magic, 2002 Black Magic, and STO 2000 Autococker.
Weaknesses: Hard to install. VERY hard to install. It took an average of 20 minutes for the airsmiths to shove them in at first. But after removing them a couple of times, they shove them in without any problem in 10 minutes or so...Expensive...We have to loose 5 days of lunch money because of these valves..
Conclusion: Worth the purchase. Yep. Save up the cash. Buy it with the Lightning bolt. They work great together. Recommendation to get Nelson springs as well. A pair of soft and hard springs. Stock springs will still do nicely, but the Nelson, for some reason everyone favored over, are quite better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, September 7th, 2001
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The tornado valve for the autococker is a great valve. It does everything AKA says it will do. I have the valve installed in the custom autococker I built and it runs between 150 and 200psi. The efficiency is also great. I can get about 1400 rounds from a 68ci 3000psi tank. With this valve, velocity adjustment is also easier as you rely less on spring tension and more on input pressure. AKA's installation instructions are top notch, just make sure you follow them.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing, and it's not really bad is that you can't just drop this valve in and expect it to work. If you don't have a consistent, high flow regulator and high flow bolt, and yellow nelson springs then it will be difficult to get really low pressure operation. Also, one thing that's not mentioned in the instructions is that if you turn up the pressure too high, the velocity will drop significantly. With my guage reading 400psi the gun would only shoot 175 but when I dropped the pressure to 150-200 and turned the velocity adjuster in one turn it shot 298.
Conclusion: This valve is absolutely worth the money. I got mine through Skanline for about $75. It's rare these days to find something that actually does what is advertised. The AKA tornado valve is the exception. It delivers extremely low pressure, velocity consistency, and awesome efficiency. With a little time and patience, your gun will rock, just like mine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
rat 3:16 w/ phat hammer, red valve w/ hammer kit, and free flow valve w/ tungston hammer
Marker Setup: impulse vision, max-flo, hsw front grip, k2 werm trigger, voodoo bolt, tapeworm, nd front cap, nd bio cap, sp brass hammer, strange derlin bolt pin, silk shot ram, rip valve, smart grips, twister lr, freak, ti boomstick, halo, warp (don't use it that much due to halo), and a old angel led frame converted to fit on my impulse (w/ some mods) made by imperial (werm) paintball. i thinks that's it.
Strengths: very low pressure
Weaknesses: not as fast w/ aka hammer when compaired to freeflow
Review: this is an extremely low pressure valve and the best valve on the market for most cocker users. for sum reason this valve and hammer kit (it tested the aka valve and aka hammer kit) wasn't as fast as the free flow valve and hammer. maybe it was some odd defect, cause i've never heard of it before. even so i would rather recomend getting this to a rat for almost any cocker. the reason i didn't say every cocker is because the cockers outfitted w/ eclipse blades or racegun frames might not be able to preform to their fullness of the valve. for a cocker w/ an electronic 3-way and trigger frame i would suggest getting a free flow valve, which isn't the best valve on the market, paired with a tungston (i don't think i spelled it 'write') hammer. overal this is the BEST SINGLE VALVE on the market right now. it has the lowest operating pressure which is a big plus. the downsides to this valve is that it tends to be slightly more temperature tempermental than others, but it isn't really a problem. this valve is hard to install and i recomend getting a cocker tech to do it for you (it's not hard, it just takes 20-40 minutes, i did it in 30 something, but it took my friend almost an hour, but that's just because he's retarted, ha).
Conclusion: the main downside to this greatest of great aka product (as all of aka's products are) is that it can cost 69.99$-90$ which is allot to spend on just a valve (you can get the free flow valve and tungston hammer kit w/ acouple other goodies for 69.99$). it you want your non-electronic cocker to work at its best, get this valve
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Python14 Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech Rat 3:16 valve, and stock ANS valve
Marker Setup: ANS GEN-X 3 Chaos series Autococker-DYE Boomstick 14"-12volt Revolution-Centerflag 68/45 Cube-ANS Dropforward with matching ASA
Strengths: It took me roughly 10 minutes to install and once done, the improvement was phenomenal. I got almost 2000 shots of my Cube and it allowed me to lower my pressure to about 150 psi. My gun also became quieter due to this. Great stuff.
Weaknesses: Expensive. I put a third of my paycheck into this.
Conclusion: If you want your cocker running at best efficiency and the lowest pressure imaginable, get this valve. Best $90 I've spent in the last 2 months
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Cocker Valve
Marker Setup: 2k cocker w/ 12" DYE Boomstick, Silver MacDev Gladiator, ANS JackHammer 2, DYE Hinge frame, AKA Lightning Bolt, AKA Tornado Valve, MaddMan Spring kit
Strengths: This increased my efficency about 700 shots on a 68ci 4500psi tank. It makes my cockers consistency +-1fps with my Gladiator regulator. Makes my gun so quiet all you hear when i shoot is the ram cycling(To hear what it sounds like i turned off my jackhammer by backing the screw all the way out and pulled the cocking rod and fed a ball into the chamber and its sooo quiet) And i have broke RPS balls which were 3 months old out of about 2 cases which is very pleasing.
Weaknesses: It requires various different upgrades to get it to its full potential such as a High Flow Regulator(MacDev Gladiator), a High Flow Bolt(AKA Lightning), a light spring kit(I use maddman springs with the Blue valve and green mainspring) and some say a tight bored low porting barrel which is only for if you want the absolute best efficency i use the boomstick which makes my gun a tad less efficent than a Lapco or AKA Javelin but its like i all ready stated sooo quiet.
Conclusion: If you want to get better efficency, better consistency which leads to a bit better long range accuracy and if you play wood ball and want to make youre gun soo quiet that friends cant hear you from about 30 yards away get this with an AKA bolt, Good high flow reg(AKA Sidewinder or MacDev Gladiator for Nitro, Palmers Stabilizer for Co2) and a good spring kit (MaddMan)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JaYeM Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve.
Marker Setup: 3003 VF Autococker, Palmers Micro-Rock, The Bomb 3-Way, Belsales 44 Magnum Ram, MacDev 2004 Gladiator Inline Regulator, Shocktech Rebuildable Ball Detent, Dye Beavertail, Empire Drop-Forward with On/Off Valve, Crossfire 4500 Blue Tab, AKALMP Tornado Valve, Maddman Springs, Orracale Bolt...
Strengths: The Tornado is made out of heat-treated stainless steel. Extremely high-flow. Lifetime warranty.
Weaknesses: Expensive. Tricky installation. Leaks a bit until the cup-seal adjusts itself.
Review: I bought this valve because of its and AKALMP's reputation. I must say that its reputation is well-earned. it's got a huge air hole for maximum flow and tha valve rod is milled to reduce its diameter for that more little bit of air inside the valve. It's a bit tricky to install but I'd guess all autococker valves are. I'm no airsmith but was able to do it in about 5 minutes armed with 2 drops of oil for the o-ring, a bit of white grease to hold the valve spring up, and lots of patience. I can't say at what pressure my marker was operating before I installed the Tornado because I did not have a gauge at that time but now my marker can shoot pretty consistently 8-9 bps at 160psi. The marker is now extremely quiet and efficient. I can shoot around 1500 rounds on one 68ci/4500 psi tank filled to around 4000psi.
Conclusion: Graeat valve. You know it's good just by looking at it. If you want to change tour valve to have a more efficient marker or a lower-pressure one, install the Tornado (or have it installed). Nothing compares to a low-pressure autococker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jiveturkey Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
red valve stock valve
Marker Setup: custom cocker
-r.d.l. mini body
-fgp reg/ bomb 4way
-palmer ram
-gladiator reg
-p&p frame/ shocktech assembly
-akalmp internals
Strengths: -super low pressure
-super efficient
-works well with aka internals
Weaknesses: the price
you need a very specific marker setup
Review: this will turn even the wimpiest of cockers into beasts. okay not really however if you want the very best here it is. the price is somewhat restricting but if you have the money, spend it on this. if not, then you should buy the RED valve from macdev, which is superior in that you dont need as....perfect a setup to run it well. this thing pays for itself
Conclusion: buy it if you have the money, and be prepared to spend more on squeezing the most out of it. however, its rocks when you get it set right
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-?- HoFF Tuesday, June 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve, that's about it.
Marker Setup: 99 cocker with.....
-12" Dye Stainless Steel barrel
-Black Shocktech Bomb 3-way
-Blue STO Ram
-Black KAPP Rhino Cocking reg
-Chrome Ergo inline Reg
-Chrome WGP Hinge Trigger
-Blue KAPP f/x Beavertail
-Shocktech Supafly Bolt
AKALMP Tornado Valve (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!)
-Blue CP Flame Drop Forward
-48/3k PMI tank (I need a bigger one)
-12v clear revvy
Strengths: This product is an absolute must if you expect to go low pressure. Although I have not had a gauge to check how much it improved, I can tell by how my guns shoots that it made my gun a lot lower pressure. This valve makes the Cocker MUCH MORE accurate and I get a lot more shots out of my tank. I got this valve to go low pressure and so far it has surpassed my expectations, and then some.
Weaknesses: Well it was very, very hard to install. It didn't come with instructions, but that wasn't a biggie.
Conclusion: If you go low pressure or not, you need this valve for the ultimate Cocker performance. Supreme accuracy and efficiency make this the best valve for an Autococker ever!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

AncientSpear Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock 2k2 valve
Marker Setup: 2k2 Autococker VF with matching Freak Barrel System (16"), Belsales Hollopoint 3-Way, ANS "Jackhammer II" front regulator, Belsales Evolution "38 special" SMC Ram, Shocktech "Mini" drop forward, AKA Sidewinder inline reg, AKA Tornado Valve, Maddman Springs, Centerflag Uprising Frame, Boonie Boys skull 3-way hats Halo-B (+Richochet 2k backup), Crossfire 68ci 450/4500psi with a Dye "Rhino" Tank Cover
Strengths: permits much lower operating pressure and has a definate consistency/efficiency increase over stock
Weaknesses: instructions could be better
Review: needed help from a friend to install it as the instructions were a tad shakey. when installed with light/medium maddman spring combo i noticed a definate reduction in the sound signature of my setup. a local pro shop/field owner told me "man that's quiet"

requires a high flow bolt like the aka lightning or stock WGP for full advantage
Conclusion: worked for me, i don't see why it wouldn't for you. if you've never replaced a valve b4 consult help from someone that has for installation
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rat 3:16 valve
Stock Autococker valve
Marker Setup: '99 Autococker body
Palmers Quickram
Palmers Micro Rock Front Regulator With Knob
ANS Chrome Quick Switch 3 way (use to have a shocktech bomb but it wasn't nearly as short of a trigger pull and leaked when u tapped the timing rod)
AKALMP Lightning Bolt
AKALMP Evolution Style Pull Pin
AKALMP Tornado Valve
AKALMP Sidewinder Inline Regulator
AKALMP Back Block
Dye Chrome Trigger Frame
Dye Chrome Polished Trigger Plate
Dye Black Sticky Grips
Kapp Black Trigger Shoe
Kapp Chrome Beaver Tail
Generic Cradle (I have no idea what brand it is but it works very well)
Generic Stainless Steel Ball Detent
Stock Springs, Hammer, Pump Rod, Springs, Timing Rod, And Front Block
Lapco 12" Stainless Steel Big Shot (bore size .689)
Lapco 12: Aluminum Autospirit (bore size .687)
Viewloader 12 Volt Revolution Hopper
48 CU 3000 PSI PMI Nitro Tank
ACI 42" Coiled Remote
Strengths: This valve is amazing! I was actually going to my local shop to get a rat 3:16 put in it since the old owner told me the valve was still stock and my friend's autococker has one in there. When the shop guy went to put in the new valve he came out with a surprise for me, turns out there was already an AKALMP tornado in there. Great for me i guess. I can get around 600+ shots out of my 48cu 3000psi which is really good since its only supposed to get around 450 for normal guns. I'm also running very low pressure which is also supposed to hurt effiency if its lower than 300 psi.....well guess what i run 225 psi at 295fps (i know, i know this velocity is damn high but my gun's so consistant it will never go over 300). Shockers that run at around 180psi can only get around 250 shots out of my tank. It also is super high flow so when i hammer my trigger i get no shoot down at all.
Weaknesses: PRICE is a factor, since its msrp is aroun 70 bucks. The rat 3:16, a similar valve but not as good is only around 40 bucks. I say for the most part if ur gun isn't as tricked out as mine u dont' really need the tornado but for amazing guns its a godsend. Also like any valve its a good idea to spend a bit of time tweaking with various resistance springs to get the best effiency, which is best left for an airsmith to do if ur clueless about cockers.
Conclusion: Its the best.....thats all there is to it. A bit expensive but no other is equal to this gas saving moster.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media