paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Hornet / ACI Hornet / ACI Hornet / ACI Hornet

ACI Hornet Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Hornet

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Hornet
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It is a tournament style "undercocking" pump gun utilizing internal pump rods, eliminating pump arms, screws and slots. The sleek receiver body helps keep the action clean, smooth and trouble free so you can focus on the game. The Hornet incorporates the patented Tru-Flow™ valve which improves durability and gas efficiency. The Hornet features a steel reinforced trigger, anti-double cocking and double feeding device, slotted field screws, factory auto-trigger and 12" interchangeable precision honed barrel and a full one-year warranty.
Product Availability 
The ACI Hornet is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
wraithlord13 Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom-superior performance for a bigger price
ACI Maverick-almost exactly the same
PMI Trracer-about the same
Marker Setup: ACI Hornet-9oz. tank, VL 200, custom paint job (realtree camo)

Tippmann Model 98 Custom-12oz. tank, VL 200, GTA Sniper 12" barrel, custom paint job (realtree camo)
Recommended
Upgrades:
paint job listed above-takes away your gun's silouette
Other than that, all that's available is to adjust your playstyle.
Strengths: Excellent "off the shelf" accuracy
Consistant CO2 usage
Weaknesses: Barrel has no porting=loud as a mother
Review: As listed, I've been playing this gun for two years, and you don't play a gun that long and not learn its little subtleties. First off, because the gun is a pump, people assume that you shouldn't mix it up in the close quarters with a semi. That is just plain not true. Despite its slightly slower rof, this gun's inherent accuracy whips most stock barrels back to the production line. On top of that, its roar scares the crapola out of newbies and the like. In all the paintfights we've been in, the Hornet shows considerable durability. In several games, being the slick guy I am, I've taken a fall or tripped over the errant root and banged my gun against a rock or something similar (I see you cringing out there). Suprisingly, except for some broken paint, it performed nicely for the remainder of these games. Also, the velocity of my Hornet has yet to drop below 265 or shoot above 280. I'm talking 265 in sleet and freezing rain and 280 in 80 degrees with direct sunlight all day. Also, I've played a couple of scenario games that included towns and bunkers(the true blue pillbox-style, not a sheet of ply-wood), and I found that I prefer my Hornet over my M98c when it came to clearing a room. It is more compact than a lot of the markers i've ever used and if you tuck that tank into the spot on your shoulder, it stays there. As I said before, A lot of what makes this gun good are in play style changes. This is a very nice gun once you get a handle for it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any rookie that wanted to improve his overall game.
That's why I originally bought this gun. I thought that my game needed to improve and a friend recommended it to me. I'll give it a 9, but only because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
~Shoot, I can't remember the name. It's my friends pump and I don't think it measured up due to open slots, side bars on the handle, messed up internals, and an uncomfortable grip.
~I don't think that semis have a place in a pump gun comparison because they function on totally different concepts. Therefore I won't put any down here.
Marker Setup: -Hornet with custom springs
-VL200 ViewLoader
-9oz Brass Eagle Tank
-Homemade Barrel Extension
Recommended
Upgrades:
~I'd say if you can make a barrel extension like I did than you're in good shape as far as accuracy, range, and noise goes. If not, than a good new barrel could help.
~A spring pack; give you more control.
~A drop forward or raised rail so the tank isn't in your way of sighting.
~Butt plate; stabilizes gun for better accuracy while auto triggering'.
Strengths: Good or Great?
~No ugly side bars off the pump handle resulting in less parts and no way for dirt to get in.
~Nice look, lightweight, anti-double cocking, smooth cocking, comfortable grip, and auto trigger.
~Under-priced. ^_^
~Way more accurate out of the box than I would have expected.
~Scary ass loud. That can be good and bad at times. :o\
~Not complicated and easy to field strip though I've never had the need.
~Doesn't attract much attention till you start shooting people.
Weaknesses: ~Trigger's a little stiff.
~Pump handle often slides back down the barrel a little stopping the trigger when you start to squeeze it if the gun's pointed in an upward angle. (Just gota remember to hold the handle up.)
~Tank get's in the way if you try to sight down the rail.
~Pretty Loud
~Down the barrel velocity adjustment means you gota carry a long black rod or deal with it.
~No real need to go out and buy a lot of cool ad-ons to improve performance. (Not a bad thing, just robs the fun.)
Conclusion: Well let's see. I originally bought this gun because I was a "know nothing" new to paintball kid with $100 I wanted to spend on a gun of my own. Some of my "know nothing" friends told me what they thought a pump gun was (Pump up as many shots as you want then shoot 'em) so I wanted one. Lol.
Anyway I got it and used it and used it and used it. I've seen my gun out preform a lot of others and never do me any wrong and I don't think I'll ever get rid of it. I don't really like the feel of a semi and I'm not one to win by spraying the most paint but by picking my shots. So although I do sometimes use a semi I primarily play using my Hornet.
To anyone who is just starting paintball I'd say starting with a pump is a good idea and I'd recommend the Hornet because it's very reliable, cheap, and easy to use and maintain.
If you're looking for a gun that you can trust with that one first, most important shot yet want something that can dish out a little bit of hell if you need it than this is the gun. It can be a pretty scary gun, especially when the guy you're shooting can't see it.
Have fun whatever you do and play fair.
Clayin
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mentalmonkey10 Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
only semis.(autocockers, many spyders, vl's, tippmans, etc.)
Marker Setup: 05 spyder piolot acs, clear halo b, 12in smartparts teardrop barrel, 15* assault block, acs bolt(came with gun,) reds cam-lock neck feed, red dye stickies. i think that is all.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel if you can find one, and a tank smaller than a 20oz, or a remote and/or botom line kit.
Strengths: Ok accuracy, fast, low profile, simple, nice looking, auto trigger, the boom?
Weaknesses: Breaks balls, fragile, back bottle, the boom?
Review: -----FIRST TIME OUT-----
When i first got this, i was very suprised by the simplicity of the design, how nice it looked to me, and how easy the pump stroke was. I was very happy with this. Well first day i got it, i took it up to my friends house. I put in a co2 tank and fired a few at the hill becide his house. As soon as i fired it, me and my friend soon named it the boom of death. It was accurate, but had a bit of a shootdown. Well i precided to fire away, then i tried the autotrigger...WOW, FAST for a pump (i out shot my view loader tripod.) After about 30 shots, i broke a ball. I took it in, cleaned the barrel, and while i was at it, i put in the othe spring that it came with. After 20 minutes that it took me to figure out that i put the screw in the wrong place, it worked fine. Shot a little fast though(300 avg.) It would continue to break paintballs every 30 or so rounds though. I also found out that the ball detent on mine didn't work the best, but still worked. Also, the safety button was kind of hard to push into the fire position.

-----SECOND TIME OUT-----
After about 2 weeks, i finally was able to go out to the field with it. Out on the field, i found out that my gun has about the same accuracy that my spyder with a teardrop has. Man that was fun. It preceaded to break balls though, but i really turned heads at the airball field (partually due to the sound.) I never really noticed, but people with pumps do get a lot of respect. It was a little harder for me to play scinario and woodsball games though, but only because i didn't have the accuracy that i really neaded and that my first 2 or 3 shots would wake up everything in that area, and attract a lot of attention. Airball was an entire different story though. I ruled, even though i am a front player. Me and my friends and some people we met at the tables were all playing 3 v. 3 airball with like 9 or 10 people watching. Right off the break i ran to the 50 and goged one person, while i was snap shooting i hit another person, and a team member got the last person out. After the match, i heard one of the newbs watching say, "Hay, i thought pumps suck. He must be really good." At the end of the day, i changed 2 of my friends minds about pump play, when i used about a third of the paint that they used. Now one thinks that pumps are actually worth the money, and another plans on geting a phantom.
Conclusion: Well in the end, i found out that i really like pump play and that it is totally worth it. I was sort of dissapointed in this gun though. It wouldn't pump a few times, and didn't have the accuracy that i really needed. But due to my new found love for pump play, i plan on later selling this and my spyder xtra that i rent out to my friends and buying a phantom stock class. As an ending note, i was disapointed in this gun, due to the accuracy, ball breaks, and the amount of ringing in my ears after each game. I give it a seven, because it is above average, but not any where near as good as possible.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nic Gerpe Wednesday, January 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None... I've always played with semis and this is my first pump gun.
Marker Setup: ICD ThunderCat: Black CP 14" barrel, ICD 2" Raised Sight Rail, .45 grip with Hogue wraparounds

ACI Hornet: Stock, except for an ACI Bottomline
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, .45 grip
Strengths: - Very lightweight and well balanced
- Stock barrel is pretty accurate
- Balances well
- Smooth pump stroke (for some reason, that just sounds wrong...)
- Loud! There's just a certain coolness about having a paintgun that sounds almost like a rifle.
- Oh yeah, it's about $75, so inexpensive
Weaknesses: - I don't really like the plastic grip frame too much, but that's only a personal preference thing and doesn't really affect performance.
- Loud! Hey, I thought this was listed as a good thing... although it IS a cool sound, when you're trying to be stealthy while you play you definately need a quieter gun. A nice aftermarket ported barrel is a must.
Conclusion: For $75, this gun is a good deal. No, it's not a phantom but it definately performs well. Like I said, I've played paintball for three years but this is my first pump and I really like it. I'd recommend it to anyone who's either A) Just getting into the game or B) Is just getting into pump play (like myself). The Hornet is a good gun overall.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robh757 Thursday, March 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom with an all American barrel.
Marker Setup: hornet with an all american barrel and a red dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would say a barrel, to quiet the gun down a bit.
Strengths: very accurate, I love the anti double pump.
Weaknesses: The only weakness is the marker is a little louder then a phantom (not much)
Review: The Hornet is so much better than I expected, some people say that it needs a better barrel and so on, well it's true, but that is also true for any gun, people need to notice that a phantom costs at least $200 and still needs a new barrel. I can remember buying an autococker for 250 and i still had to get a barrel for it, so 150 for a marker and a extra barrel is a great deal.
Conclusion: I would really advise anyone to get this gun, I have done some great things with it and the price makes it so much better than i could have thought. Why spend 200 on a stock phantom when you get an upgraded hornet for 160.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonicscope47 Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Hammer and Tiger Shark
Marker Setup: ACI Hornet w/ 3.5 oz and pocket loader
Spyder Hammer w/ 12gram adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel has a huge bore, so either buy nice(big) paint or buy a new barrel, there's two barrels still available for this gun, a JJ ceramic barrel or an ACI gravity barrel.
The JJ can be found at jjperformance.com and the gravity barrel is on Ebay.

You may also want to consider a spring kit. The gun comes with a 180 fps spring in it, It also comes with a 300fps spring in the box. But the 300fps spring shoots 350fps to 280fps so its kinda jumpy.
Strengths: The auto-trigger helps when shooting a multiple targets at close range.
Weaknesses: The barrel causes paint to pop, so invest in a nice squeggy, or new barrel
Review: Technicaly this a review on the ACI Hornet, same as Maverick just undercocking.
Its a great pump gun. Shoots great. If you want to save money on paint and air This gun is great. It aint no phantom or buzzard but its shoots straight and far just the same. If your serious about stock paintball get a phantom, If your really serious about stock then get a buzzard, If you have an autococker get a pump-rod for it. if you just want to play paintball without spending alot of money, get this gun it's accurate, efficient, and reliable can't get much better than that. It's still fun playing with a pump gun, just alot more challenging. Plus I still strike fear into the hearts of Newbs.
Conclusion: Great if you wanna play stock without spending $300 dollars on a phantom or if you just wanna play paintball without spending a fortune.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

charlesotis Friday, December 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brazz Eagle Blad- doesn't even come close
Marker Setup: 68 Automag with a on/off drop forward, 12v Revvy, 12" DYE SS Barrel, Gadget Grip, 45 Grip Frame w/ double trigger and green grips
ACI Hornet with remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
A remote line
Strengths: Very accurate off the shelf, loud, very good cost efficient entry level pump
Weaknesses: Without a remote like the tank gets in the way a LOT, loud
Review: I wanted to get into pump without spending a lot of money on something like a phantom so I bought the Hornet. I was surprised at its accuracy. The first thing I did though was buy a remote line because without it the tank is right off of the back of the gun and you cant aim and it is an overall nuisance. The Hornet is loud and scares the crap out of people. And also a lot of newbs will think you stink because you are using a pump so you will get lots of recognition once you hit them all.
Conclusion: I think anyone looking to get into pump play should definately go with a Hornet, its a great choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shiro4200 Tuesday, August 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Hornet
CCI Phantom
CCI MicroPhantom
Brass Eagle Blade
Brass Eagle Talon
Marker Setup: In the process of buying new gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Effiecent, Comfortable, Looks nice, Feels great,
Weaknesses: Ball detent doesnt work on mine
Review: This gun is great, I got it about 6 years ago, loved it then, love it now, Its real fast, looks great, I like everything about it (except my broken ball detent) but other than that its a great gun, I put a few stickers on it to snaz it up :-) But i have yet to see another one on the feild..Great gun.
Conclusion: Awesome, Fast, Realible gun. Buy it, you will NOT be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Tuesday, April 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom - better
Talon - worse
PGP - better
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
-DF with 90 degree elbow and 15 round stickfeed
-BSA 30mm red dot
-Backbottle 3.5oz, L-stock, m-16 grips

Sheridan PGP pre-2k1
PMI Trracer Tagmaster


Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline, .45 grips, red dot sight
Strengths: Cheap, light, accurate, loud
Weaknesses: Cheap aluminum, Eurogrip, Plastic trigger frame, Loud, no upgrades
Review: Ok, first of all, this gun is lighter than my Phantom. It's completely plastic from the trigger frame down. It's also a couple inches shorter than my Phantom with an 11" barrel. The barrel is loud as hell, which can be nice or can be annoying. Accuracy with the stock barrel isn't quite on par with my PGP or Phantom, and neither is quality.

That's my main beef with the Trracer/Tagmaster/Hornet/Maverick...whatever yours is called. It's cheaply constructed. My safety is non-functional, and has been worn down to a nub, because it's made of soft plastic. If I put the safety on, and pull the trigger, the safety just slides back into firing position and the gun goes off. The detent is no longer functional, as well, so rollouts are commonplace.

There was a sharp mold line going all the way down the Eurogrip that I had to file off. That just accents the uncomfortable nature of the worst grip I have ever felt. Fortunately, you can buy a .45 grip block from USA paintball, home of the Viper M-1, which shares the m-16 style single screw grip mount with the Trracer.

The aluminum is SOFT. I let my friend use my gun and he screwed on the tank in the back. He didn't hear the hiss of the pin valve engaging, so he kept twisting. The rear ASA screw came out, pulling half of the threads from the valve with it! I was left with a spiral of cheap aluminum springing out!

Before that fiasco, I already had problems with the valve popping out of the reciever body by a few millimetres. I'd often have to slam it back into place in the middle of a game, regardless of whether I used a 9oz, a 3.5oz or a CCI bucket changer, it always ended up slightly loose. That being said, field-stripping and reassembly is a breeze. It's easier to get everything back into place than with a Phantom. You can just slam the rear ASA into place and it'll hold all the valve components in while you screw the trigger frame back on.

The dovetail sight rail is very very narrow, and is too skinny to accept a dovetail-weaver adaptor. I can only put my cheap crosman sight on it because of this.

You won't find many factory upgrades for this gun. Check out J&J or Ebay for barrels.


Conclusion: Get it if it's cheap enough. Be careful during play and maintainance that you don't bend anything or strip any screws. Get a .45 grip if you can, the eurogrip sucks for me. Maybe you'll like it, who knows. A red dot helps when sighting in, but it just isn't as predictably accurate as my Phantom.

If you want to get this to see what a Phantom is like, I can confidently say that it just isn't the same. There is a certain quality lacking in this marker that you can really feel in more solidly built guns like my PGP.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 19th, 2005 at 4:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigstud Tuesday, January 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
maveric,tippman SL-68
Marker Setup: auto-chopper with dye ultra-lite,ANS regulator (i hate cockers,i hate mine)
Recommended
Upgrades:
mainly a barrel
Strengths: you wont be the idiot that has to stop playing because he ran out of paint,plus its a pump making it very accurate.its really lite too.
Weaknesses: ......its a friggin cannon.this thing is loud.absolutely no porting on the barrel.it echos.having to change the velocity from down the barrel sucks too.oh yeah,this goes any way you want to take it,but if the velocity is changed to high,then it fires a little quicker than what the eye can follow.
Conclusion: it cant be put up to comparison with a mag(absolutely the best kind of gun you can buy)or a.....cocker(i never should have sold my mag to get one,im sorry to everyone of the other mag owners,i sold out for a crappy cocker)but as far as pump guns go,its.....well its almost exactly the same which isnt a bad thing.this one being the cheapest makes it my best choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media