paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X7 Phenom / Tippmann X7 Phenom / Tippmann X7 Phenom / Tippmann X7 Phenom

Tippmann X7 Phenom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X7 Phenom

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X7 Phenom
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The X7 Phenom with FlexValve Technology is the first electro-pneumatic paintball marker to offer the combination of improved air efficiency, superior accuracy, manual or electronic mode firing, and the flexibility of CO2 or compressed air usage. The new FlexValve operates below 300 PSI for improved air efficiency allowing you to get over 1,400 shots from a 68 cubic inch 4500 psi tank. Also, due to its Spool Valve design, recoil is virtually eliminated for improved accuracy.


As an added benefit, the Phenom’s searless design incorporates fewer wear parts, making maintenance easier than ever. Best of all, because this new marker is built around the existing X7 platform, the Phenom–which is nearly 3 inches shorter than the X7–can still accept more than 20 current X7 mods and upgrades, including the popular Flatline Barrel.
Players have never been offered such a complete package – the performance of a tournament marker…the flexibility of a mechanical marker…the durability of a Tippmann…and the ability to customize their marker with thousands of different looks. With the new X7 Phenom priced similar to the current X7 with eGrip, the X7 Phenom truly is in a class of its own.


Other great features include:
New compact and lightweight aluminum body
Pushpin construction for easy field stripping
All-metal trigger for enhanced stability
Three position selector switch – with third position having five firing modes
Magnetically activated hall effect electronics
Quick release magazine with built-in tool storage
The internal gasline and lack of cocking handle offer a more realistic look
Redesigned Cyclone Feed System paddles feed up to 20 balls-per-second without batteries
Piccatinny top rail to easily add new sights or handles
Compatible with air-thru stocks
Removable front and rear sights
Low profile, offset hopper for clear line of sight
Modular foregrip with two rails to add sights and scopes
Internal regulator with new external velocity adjustment (tool required)
9.5” high performance, stone-honed barrel
Includes maintenance pack, barrel blocking device, and marker lubricant
Two year marker warranty
Made in the USA
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X7 Phenom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
AccessTime Thursday, December 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom with stock barrel. Stripped down a bit, no unnecessary parts (ie. fake magazine, front sight and barrel cover, etc.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel (as necessary).
Strengths: Accuracy, Rate of Fire, Performance, Value.
Weaknesses: Maintainance a little more tricky and definately more necessary than other Tippmanns.
Review: I have used this gun for two partial days of play and it performs well. There is no noticeable kick or recoil and the gun fires as fast as you can press the trigger.

This gun is heavier than most other brands of guns. Around the weight of a standard X-7 or perhaps a tad heavier. But, it feels well-balanced with a heavy tank on the end, ie. a 62 steel compressed air tank.

This gun performs well on the field and in the 1500 balls I fired through the stock barrel, it never chopped a ball. It did chop balls when using a longer barrel but that could have been a bad paint/barrel match. The trigger pull and feel is good, the gun can be built up with accessories or stripped down to your liking. The stock barrel is decent, but I had to break down and get a flatline b'cos I've grown so used to the straighter trajectory.

Out of the box my gun fired well for about 500 shots and then started to leak air. Evidently the valve was not greased well enough and some of the critical parts had no grease at all. Hopefully all the problems are fixed now. If it's necessary to grease up the valve before using the gun at all, the manual should've made this very clear. The manual also isn't clear on how to get to some of the critical parts such as the brass nipple on the bottom of the valve.

Despite the fact it's cheaper than a lot of high-end electrics, this gun has several unique features that make it stand out. It can use either CO2 or compressed air, though the latter is probably a little better for maintainance. It can fire in semi-auto mode mechanically and without batteries.

Update on 1/3/2010 the problem with the valve described above repeated itself several times so I am sending the valve and grip back to Tippmann to be fully checked out and hopefully repaired. I'll update this review once I get it back.

Update on 1/11/2010 I got a call from Tippmann today, they believe they have fixed the problem and I should have my gun back in time for this weekend.

Update on 1/18/2010 I got the pieces back from Tippmann and re-assembled it. Put roughly 1000 balls through it on a half-day of play. Works great, no problems whatsoever.

I did ditch the flatline barrel though. I don't know but some combination of this gun, the newer flatline, and the cheap rec paint I was using wasn't working out well at all. Balls would break, balls would curve in spirals, etc. Stock barrel works pretty well with the cheap rec paint.
Conclusion: I've only used it for two days so I'm still trying to learn the capabilities of this gun completely. This gun is not like the other open-bolt blowback tippmanns where you can just run them day in and day out and not do any maintainance at all. Some maintainance was necessary on mine out-of-the-box. Otherwise this gun performs very well on the field and does everything it says it did. I can't judge the long-term reliability of this gun yet, it just hasn't been out longer enough, so I'm giving Tippmann the benefit of the doubt here.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 18th, 2010 at 11:35 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Silentwolf428 Sunday, June 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Standard X7 Phenom
Apex 2 Barrel
Coiled Remote
68cu 4500psi Ninja HPA Tank
GXG Tactical Vest
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex2 barrel
Any Butt Stock-- (except for the folding stock)
Strengths: Smaller gun, high performance, great overall gun.
Weaknesses: Still heavy, battery cover should be improved (the locking latch is bothersome).
Review: I got the X7 Phenom for my 30th bday. My wife, best friend, and mom all chip-in to get it for me. How awesome was that.

The first use of the gun, it is just a quantum leap compared to my US Army Alpha Black. The AB is reliable, accurate, and runs better with a cyclone feeder upgrade, but the X7 smoked this gun. The X7's smaller and compact profile, it's easier to use in CQB. The fast fire rate is always good to keep the other team down while your team can move. The switch from pneumatic to electric mode is a great feature because if the battery dies in the middle of a game, you can switch from electric to regular mode and still play unlike other electric triggered guns. Lastly, the mods for the X7 are nice, but not necessary cause the gun looks like a real gun already; except for the Flatline barrel. That is a must!

Things i don't like about the X7 Phenom... well, the battery cover is a bad design. Yes, it makes it easier to change the battery, but that locking latch bothers me especially when I don't have gloves on. It is picky with paint, so try to find a compromise with cheaper and high quality paint. I just say, try different paints. The port holes on the top of the gun (below the rail) just makes the gun look ugly. Other than that, the gun is great.

**************Update**************
My X7 is still great. It is very easy to clean and maintain. I bought a Flatline barrel and I am very disappointed with it. The Flatline is very picky with paint and really hard to set to fly straight. Only used it once cause I was so mad. I used my friends Apex2 barrel and that made my life easier. Now, I can reach out like a sniper and still be a machine gunner. The only thing I need to upgrade is my vest into a Broadsword Tactical.
Conclusion: This is a great woodsball and scenario gun. The gun can go from sniper to machine gun mode with a flick of a switch. You have try it for yourself, it is a great gun and just fun to have.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 3rd, 2011 at 2:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XRidgelinerX Wednesday, June 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None similar
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom, red dot sight, 12" JJ Ceramic barrel.
Tippmann A-5 with response trigger, other wise stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-optional
Strengths: Very efficient - LP
electro and pneumatic modes
Easy to disassemble
Weaknesses: Some ball breakage and minor leaks "out of the box"
Review: I received my Phenom and shot a few hoppers of left over odd paint that was hanging around my garage. I had a few breaks which I attributed to the old paint. The marker felt great and all firing modes worked perfectly as I zeroed in the reddot. The next time I used it was at the huge West Point Combat Classic. Using fresh RPS Premium paint I was having terrible breakage. Tippmann had a tent at this event with techs doing on-site repairs. I took the Phenom in with paint dripping out of the barrel. The tech stripped it down and showed me the face of the bolt. A common production problem is some very sharp ragged edges on the 3 crescent shaped holes in the face of the bolt. He sanded these down and recommended that if this didn't work to be a bit more aggressive with a Dremel tool when I got home. He also noticed a very faint leak around the trigger pin plug. He tightened and greased everything up as he reassembled and the marker worked perfectly. I took his advice and Dremeled the holes after that event. Since then I have shot 10,000 rounds of different brands of paint without a single break. I have quit carrying a squeegee in the field!

Smoothing the bolt face and lubricating all of the small o-rings is essential pre-use maintenance.

The Phenom's low pressure operation makes it extremely efficient. I get about 1,500 shots on a 70/4500 tank. I always run out of paint before air. Just out of curiosity, I swapped to CO2 at the chrono station, and there was no change in the velocity from HPA. The built in regulator is amazingly consistant regardless of you gas source.

Operation of the Phenom is buttery smooth. To get to full auto you have to pull the trigger 3 times and hold that third pull. Some reviewers have found this annoying. It doesn't bother me.

Tippmann upgraded the cyclone feed from their previous models with new guts and softer paddles. There are no upgrades required and the cyclone will easily feed the markers 15 bps.

I mostly play woodsball and will tough it out in bad weather. For this reason, I historically stayed away from electros. The Phenom's 5 electronic firing modes work off a standard 9V battery. If you battery dies you can switch to strictly mechanical semi-auto mode and continue the fight. A great feature.

I love the Phenom.

Conclusion: Highly recommended for woodsball experts, milsim, and all recreational players. Fast enough, but too heavy for professional speedball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IrishVik Friday, April 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha, A5
Marker Setup: X7 Phenom, picatinny rail riser, RAP4 metal buttstock adapter, CCA buttstock, adjustable cheek rest, 12" Stiffi barrel
Strengths: Consistency, compact, electromechanical.
Weaknesses: Drop mag, battery door latch flimsy
Review: I'm a huge fan of the Phenom. Last year I literally considered selling all of my gear and giving up PB because of the last three markers I have owned, all three have been a maintenance nightmare which ultimately led to inconsistent shots, misfires, breaks, and a rotten day at the fields. I picked up a Phenom dreading the same eventual consistency to fail, but the marker has been by far the most reliable woodsball style marker I've ever owned or played with.

I can't tell you how long it has been since I've went a full day without a break. I'm on my fifth outing this year with no breaks what-so-ever. And considering some of the junk paint I've been forced to use, that is saying something. No need to get into all the details that everyone else has already went into, but in short at the end of the day my fps is steady, my groupings are 6" @ ~ 50', no breaks, and I've been rained on twice with no issues.
Conclusion: In a nutshell its your expected Tippmann bulletproofness in an electro-mechanical. You will not be unhappy if you pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhiggzy james13 Wednesday, January 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 a5 x7 spyder jt tac5 tiberius 8
Marker Setup: x7 egripped polished internals, x7 response w/polished int,. full tech t mods on both. double triggers, A5 real tree edition response, air thru mag, star fire front bolt. lapco big assault barrel, tippmann str8line, hh shark tooth 8.5 barrel, and j&j 8, 12, 14, 20,in barrels, guerilla nitro 68 & 88 ci tanks, qd remote coil, tiberius 8 socom w/six clips 1 x7 is e gripped and the other has a super response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nuthin at all e xcept the basic barrel and body kits
Strengths: The new technology internally
Weaknesses: Only mp5 style mags fit
Review: Tippmann has done it again in a big way. They have'nt invented anything new they just perfected what was already out there. for those who say that they switched to the dark side {a saying on the x7og.net website} for purchasing a speed ball gun or electro, will kick themselves for not waiting the TIP crew solved the battle between the two worlds of paint ball by basically placing the tpx technology which was a shrunken speed ball marker with no electronics, but Tippmann went one better by combining the best of both worlds,when the battery power runs out simply switch down to semi auto and keep firing just that simple.It also fires c02 or compressed air

The cyclone feed has received an upgrade as well, they added a chrome trigger, shortened the receiver re-alligned the air system. I could go on for days but ill keep it short, got it yesterday took it apart and examined it put some pure lube in and put her back together. i dry fired it with no battery to make sure she worked then place a battery in loaded up a hopper and commenced to watch in awe as my lips dropped with paint pleasure as the shot groupings were simply amazing. Go get one now
Conclusion: This is the best tippmann to date it gives the best of both worlds
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SP33Dba11er5 Friday, May 6th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, A5 w/ egrip, and invert mini
Marker Setup: Invert mini w/ dye rotor and invert nightstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel, Shrouds (Because they look amazing), and this isn't really an upgrade but use a lighter tank.
Strengths: No recoil, Fire rate, Upgrades, and appearence
Weaknesses: Weight, and mateinence
Review: I use my x-7 all the time in woodsball, it's a great gun. It makes you feel like you've got a real freakin gun, especially with all of the upgrades you can get for it! I would highly suggest though you DO NOT get anything that will add some more weight on the marker. Thats a bad idea if you want to move around alot, and if you dont move you're a sitting duck, Well not really because you can unleash full auto on the whole other team!
Conclusion: The x-7 phenom is a great woodsball marker, It's great for blowing up some friends when all they have is an A5, or a 98 custom or any other marker, There's no recoil at all! Fully upgradble,But the weight might be a little issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corey Dom Friday, April 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
trusty A5 and M98
various spyders
PMI EVO
Marker Setup: Tippmann Phenom
--------------------------
PPS brass 12"
Recommended
Upgrades:
No performance upgrades other than the stock barrel (it's a little overbored)
Strengths: -CO2 / air
-internal regulator
-air through grip
-mech / electric
-cyclone
-Feel
Weaknesses: -heavy
-Tippmann board
Review: Well i got this marker two weeks ago and have been waiting untill i really got to play before writing a review. I shot a good bit to test it out when i got it. I played yesterday, and it worked perfect all day. Keep in mind that it was warm and dry though, so good performance is to be expected. so far i've put about 1500 balls through it.


GOOD:

-CO2 compatible. This is a key strength for anyone who doesn't always play at a feild. i use air, but i don't always want to drive 30 mins to get it when i'm playing in the woods. the option to use CO2 available at most sporting goods stores is nice.

-Air through grip. this makes the gun look better, and feel better. I really didn't think this would matter, but i did notice that it wasn't there. (i've used an A5 for the last two and a half years)

-No batterys. This is really nice to have. I brought this marker home and spend a few minutes setting it up and getting ready to test it out. then i remembed that i didn't have a battery. i still was able to test it though, but only in semi. Also when you do put batterys in, it works a little different from the other x7 grips. The board is off untill you flip the switch up, then the electronics kick on and you are ready to roll. they stay off while in semi (mechanical). This saves battery and you don't need a poker to turn on your board.

-Cyclone. Alot of people hate cyclone feeds, and i've heard about alot of problems with them breaking. what i've found is that if you are good to your cyclone, it will be good to you. Keep it clean and use grease one the ratchet and oil on the piston. i have never had my cyclone break on me and i've put alot of paint through my A5. The only limitation the cyclone has is that it is bad with high rates of fire. The Phenom cyclone is superior though. I really didn't think that it would keep up with the 15bps. But it did. My friend and I had a full auto shootout in which i put an entire hopper through on full auto with reasonably long bursts. Not a single shot was missed by the clyclone. Another plus is that no batterys are needed to operate the loader.

-Feel. This gun feels good to hold and shoot. Something i was worried about before I got this marker was the quality. But it feels solid. No wobbling on the grip, the push pins are snug, no rattling when you shake it. Even the air line to the cyclone has a little coil around it for protection. Tippmann still makes durable sturdy guns. Shooting is nicer than other tippmanns. Very little recoil and a snappier feel. The trigger is smother and the pull is shorter and lighter. Also the trigger doesn't wobble all over the place like the A5

BAD:
-Heavy. Yes this gun is heavy. i was slightly dissapointed, but then again, i do run remote so it's not really a problem. It's heavier than my stock A5, and the PPS brass does not help that at all, but its worth it for the accuracy. i'm not sure how the weight compares to the standard x7. Consider a remote line if you do not already use one.

-Board. The three shot safety feature is anoying. on all of the electronic modes, two rapid pulls are required before the mode kicks in on the third pull. I figured that the selector switch would eliminate the need for this.
Conclusion: Over all, the phenom is a great gun. i love the fact that an entire day can be played without batteries, on CO2, just like the old days. of course it's not the best choice for airball, but for general play i highly recomend this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hoochie Sunday, April 18th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PCS US5
Marker Setup: All stock, with a vertical hand grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil, Vertical grip, and/or a stock depending on your play style.
Strengths: Electronic/mechanical with the flick of a switch
Easy to use
Light considering the power
Weaknesses: High ROF chops when using CO2
Gun is balanced(see below for details)
Review: I had previously been using a PCS US5 that I'd bought from a friend of mine. After playing paintball for 2, going onto 3 years I decided it was time to get myself something better, and more reliable.

After doing some looking, and being a fan of Tippmann, I had decided on the Phenom. I had thought of the regular X7, but for the sake of having something relatively new to the market, and something of that magnitude, I decided just to go for the Phenom.

My local store could get it to me for $520(Canadian) with shipping and tax, which I didnt think was too bad of a price at all, considering its a new gun, and is so versatile. When it finally came in a bought a bag for some higher quality paint (cant remember the name) and got my 20 oz tank filled and rushed for home. I played with the firing modes on the couch, then decided to head outside to paint some real paint through it. The modes which you may or may not be aware of is Mech semi,Elec semi, 3 round burst, 13bps auto, 15bps auto and pull release. To engage bought the auto modes you are required to pull the trigger twice quickly (the time needed between each pull can be adjusted). This is a safety feature so that if you were to fall while using the gun, you dont shoot off hundreds of rounds at your buddies,yourself or whatever you are around.

I found the 15 bps to be a bit...useless. It isnt that much faster than the 13, and you must give it a slight release and pull to keep it engaged, so that you cant just mash on the trigger. I preferred the pull release myself, because you can choose while playing how fast you need to shoot, and often surpass the 15bps auto mode.


Anyway back to the initial run. With the CO2 in firing in the back yard, out of my 500 balls I had 3 breaks, which i wasn't too pleased with. I clean my barrel up, and the internals ( which are very tidy and easy to get to, unlike the US5 for example), and assured myself that it was because I was firing CO2, and it wasnt very warm out. In a week or so, I went to the first event of the year, using HPA, and could not have asked for a more reliable gun. Our limit at our field is 290fps, and my first shot was at 260. A gave a little turn and it went up about 5,I found it was fairly consistent between the adjustments and the velocity. My US5 i could give a quarter turn and it would go up say 12fps, another quarter would put it up 7, and another 19.


Putting HPA through it, I fired well over 1500 balls that day, and had zero breaks. The paint wasnt bottom of the line, but it wasnt real exspensive stuff either (Ramp Blizzard). The gun worked amazing all day. The gun was easy on the arms for the 6 hours we played, my only real problem with the weight, was more or less an inconvenience. I have found that most older woodsball guns are heavier in the front, and when you put a tank on, they seem to balance out. This however, is balanced, ( i suppose most people who buy a 500 dollar gun have a remote line or coil) adding the tank made it back heavy, which is nothing a RC wouldnt fix. To compensate I put on a vertical grip, and it seemed to handle better.




Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who's been playing for a while, and is looking to buy themselves a newer gun. I dont think this is the greatest starter gun, but is deffinitly a great next gun to move up to. Its light (apx 3 ounces lighter than the regular x7), a reasonable price, and has some cool firing modes. The whole thing that I really minded, was the chop with the CO2, but then again, if your going to buy a 500 dollar gun, whos going to stay with CO2 long anyway.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 18th, 2010 at 8:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patriot12 Friday, February 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom and a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann x7 phenom straightline barrel

Recommended
Upgrades:
stock I'm thinking about getting the g36 folding stock
Strengths: Fast
Loud (read review)
Easy to program
Switch from electric to mechanical
5 modes
Weaknesses: Kick ( review)
Loud
Broke paint (review)
Fast
Price is expensive for a Tippmann
Review: First Opening the Box: (not really important just my experience when i opened the box.)

I bought a x7 phenom on Ebay last Saturday and it was suppose to come in yesterday but something happened in the delivery and it was delayed a day. When i first took it out of the box i noticed it was about the same size as the a-5 and a little heavier. i started to put it together, opened up the mag to see how it would store tools etc. i got to the shroud and it was difficult to slide on. once i got it on i had problems getting the push pins to go in so i had to hammer them in with the back of my screw driver. i got it on and tried to put my straightline, it was the one i used on my a-5 so i wanted to see if it fit, and it would not go in the shroud so i had to take apart the shroud and take out this ring sized for the stock barrel. once i took that out the sizers still wouldn't go in so i had to take off the fore grip and put the sizers on before i put the barrel on. after that i took apart the gun to see how easy it was to get the fire system out which was easy enough but not so easy that i could do it without tools ( the push pins are tight). i put it back together and decided i was ready to shoot the gun. so i took it out hook up the co2 and started shooting.

Actual Shooting:

I started shooting and forgot that i didn't put paint in the hopper. so i put some cheap paint in and started shooting. when i started shooting about every 1 in 5 paintballs would break and there was a lot of wild paint balls. well i start to think why this is happening and then i remembered Cheap paint + small sizer on the barrel = broken paint. so i went in took off the shroud changed the sizer and went back out. i started shooting again and less paint was breaking but still some was ( probably still the sizer but who knows). I tested out the different firing modes and ran out of paint and co2 right as i was starting to test the turbo mode. one thing i did notice was the gun seemed usually loud and had more kick than my a-5 but i think i may have been shooting hot and on my a-5 i use a stock so that is probably why.
Conclusion: I think it is a great product and a big step for tippmann to finally make a electric/pneumatic gun and i like __ things about it:
1. Already has an e trigger
2. Shoots fast coming from someone who has never used an auto
3. Easy to program and maintain
4. still upgradable and has the same threads as my straightline
i am giving it a nine because of the price and no gun is every perfect but this is close
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Perinhawk Sunday, January 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, this marker uses a redesigned system originally used by the old E-Mags, which are very seldom seen anymore
Marker Setup: Main- X7 Phenom, stock
remote line
48/3000 steel
Secondary- Smart Parts Ion
Stiffi barrel 16"
CP reg
Halo
68/4500 carbon fiber Pure Energy tank
Backup/Loaner- 98c
Techt Fang trigger
Shocktech Superfly bolt
Collapsible CAR stock
Python compression system
Smart Parts Progressive 16"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good barrel kit
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strengths-
-Sturdiness- Despite being an electropneumatic, it definitely has the durability of a Tippmann. I belly crawled on somewhat soggy ground for about 50+ feet and had no issues with the electronics.
-Ability to switch from electro to manual- This one speaks for itself. Due to this and the cyclone's manual rod, you can keep playing even if both the electonics and the cyclone feed fail.
-Accuracy/Consistency- Out of the box it was shooting 270 at around +/- 7, and I was able to hit targets within a 3" circle from 30' away, even on full auto. In this test firing I broke two balls, but I attribute this entirely to cold paint. While I was loading my hopper, one of the paintballs fell two feet to the ground and split right in half; I never had any problems with chops during the day. I ran it off c02, with bad paint (in a different test firing), and was still almost as accurate as before. I also want to mention that this was the performance right out of the box, and this marker comes ready to play, without needing a bunch of startup adjustment and fiddling to make it work well. However, it will not (obviously) go full auto off c02. Instead of firing three times then going to full auto, it will not shoot after the second shot, forcing you to pause for a second. If you must use c02, you're better off using it in mechanical mode.
Weight- This is a lot lighter than other Tippmanns. This is by no means a high end, so it weighs 4lbs unloaded. Still, that's much better than most tippmanns, and if you use a remote line and load it, it's similar to a loaded high end and with a tank attached. The weight actually stabilizes the marker and absorbs what little recoil there is.
-Ease of dissassembly- The Phenom is a breeze to dissassemble. Push a few pins, and the entire grip comes off, as well as the internal mechanism. I also want to mention that changing batteries is so much easier with the Phenom. Rather than fiddling around with taking off the grip like many other markers (Including other Tippmanns' Egrips), all you have to do is literally push a button to pull off the little plastic door to the battery. You could probably even change batteries in the middle of a game if need be (but with the ability to flick a switch and change to mechanical, why?)
-Low Profile- I love how tight this marker is, even with a remote line (actually, more so because of it) it can be extremely maneuverable and doesn't get in the way during speedball. Between this and the accuracy, I was able to keep up during many intense rounds of hyperball. Usually, by the end of a full day of play, I have had at least 2 or 3 marker hits. With this, even after a full day, I only got hit once, in the hopper, and that was at close range (less than 15ft).
-Looks- This is a great looking milsim marker. Pictures are nothing like the real thing. I loved the SMG sort of look from the second I opened the box. The magazine is practical in addition to looking good, not only does it store tools for adjusting the electronics, but it is sturdy enough to also serve as a grip. It does, like all mags, tend to get caught on things, but that wasn't a big issue for me. The mag, along with the foregrip and sights can be taken off for those who don't like them.
-Ease of adjustibility- This marker's electronics are simple to adjust and you can tell what mode you're on without firing it. I also want to add that the new method of adjusting the FPS is so much easier than so many other markers that require sticking an allen in a tiny hole somewhere in an awkward positon on the marker (the Ion is adjusted from a nut attached to the air line, which requires a relatively large wrench to adjust.

Now on to the bad
Weaknesses
Paint picky- This marker is very paint picky. The stock barrel is slightly overbored, and if you don't get a good match for the paint, it will waste air like crazy. The paint I was using when I played yesterday was very small (the best match we could find through a barrel kit was .679, and that was still a little big), and it literally took me 1k of air to go through half a hopper. I needed to borrow the field owner's girlfriend's barrel kit just to play that day, but the air efficiency was fine after that, filling up every three games or so. A good barrel kit is a must (My dad has loads of inserts for his barrel kit, including two or three repeats, so I already have a barrel coming in by Friday).
Electronics- This is more of a compaint against Tippmann's boards in general, but I really dislike the annoying "safety" features. You must pull the trigger 3 times before the electronics come into action at all, and if you don't pull the trigger again in less than a second, you have to pull the trigger another 3 times. Also, on full auto, after a string lasting 1 second, it stops firing, and even if you pull the trigger again in less than a second, you still have to do another 3 trigger pulls. I can (sort of) understand this on their other markers which will not fire unless the Egrip is turned on, but if a flip of a switch takes you back to mechanical, there's no reason to keep those annoying extra trigger pulls. Plus, new boards that don't include those annoying measures aren't out yet, and will probably be very expensive considering that I haven't seen any other problems with the board other than that.
Conclusion: Overall I was very impressed by this marker. If you're looking for a marker for speedball, you can probably get a lot more for $400, but if want a great marker that's designed with woods play in mind, but can keep up with all the other electros and hold its own in speedball, the Phenom is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media