paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Clone / MACDev Clone / MACDev Clone / MACDev Clone

MACDev Clone Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Clone

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Clone
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Clone is a high end spool valve marker from MacDev.


Features include:

-Tool-less drivetrain removal and general maintenance
-OLED display system
-Excellent air efficiency (1700+ shots per 68/4500psi tank)
-Low pressure (100psi) operation)
-Shift 3 piece barrel)
-RX2 filtered inline regulator
Product Availability 
The MACDev Clone is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
busmanz Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot just about every type of marker out there. Over the past five years my experience has been mainly with high end electronic markers of which there are very few I haven't had a chance to shoot.
The clone has all the features you could ever want compared to many of the markers in it's price range or higher. OLED screen, nice trigger, three piece shift barrel (comes with one insert), smooth operation of spool valve but efficiency numbers similiar to poppet valves (egos, intimidators, creed's, etc).
Marker Setup: Macdev Clone (black)
Empire Prophecy loader
Stako 68ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, none.
Strengths: Spool valve smoothness
Poppet valve-like efficiency
Read Below
Weaknesses: Could include more barrel inserts but not a real weakness.
Review: Well, since no one's done a review on the clone yet I decided to take a stab at it.

I bought the clone after doing alot of research to find the marker that fit exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a marker that was very stable shooting (most spool valve markers are very stable imo) but also one that was fairly efficient. I narrowed it down to the Geo and the Clone. The Luxe and DM10 lost out on efficiency. A few of my teammates have Geo's and they are nice too but seemed to have a little higher sound signature than i'd like.
After I ordered my Clone from my local store, it was 2 weeks before it showed up. Jerry at Macdev was very nice to provide me with a tracking number so I'd know when to expect it.
The Clone comes in a really nice case that has a cloth type outer shell. Inside was the marker (obviously), the shift 3 piece barrel, allen set, manual, barrel sock & a few spare orings & detents. Upon lifting the marker from the case the first imperssion was WOW this thing is TINY! I'm used to ego's and shockers most recently and the Clone makes them look huge- especially the shockers. It's also VERY light- lighter than my ego sl-74 which weighs only 1.98 pounds.
Before shooting it I decided I'd take it apart to acclimate myself with the bolt and regulator for maintanence. To say it's simple (for a spool valve) is an understatement. The bolt removal is so easy- unsrcrew back-cap, pull out, done! Mine came gobbed with lube so I wiped it clean and re-lubed with a light coat. It took me about 3 minutes to do this on my very first try and now I can get it done in less than 2- very easy. The regulator on the Clone is also a very easy set up. Unsrew the bottom off- push the piston and spring out, done! I like the reg design on this vs. the shim stack type used on other regs.
Shooting the Clone I find it to be similiar to a DM from a feel standpoint. I've put around 5 cases through mine and it hasn't skipped a beat so far. The board is easy to adjust using the OLED screen, buttons and trigger. Currently I'm getting around 1500 shots on a fill but expect it to improve as the marker breaks in. The consistency has been the best of any marker I've owned at +/- 3.
For me, the Macdev Clone is the best marker out right now. From the way it shoots to the ease maintanence and how efficient it is- it's all I was looking for in one marker.
Conclusion: Needless to say, I strongly recommend the Clone if you're in the market for a top of the line electronic marker. Very stable, very efficient and super easy to own! Just what I was looking for. Thanks Macdev!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 9th, 2010 at 4:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grizzly77 Tuesday, March 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
About all high-end markers there are out there, from Proto to SL94.
Marker Setup: Ego09 with Cure3 and Zick2, Shaft3 barrel-kit, Rotor-loader
Etek2 with Cure2, Freak barrel-kit and rotor loader, raguba trigger.
WGP Karnivor, Kaner Kit, VL XSV loader, Tadao Board
MacDev Clone with Shift BarrelKit, Rotor Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shift Kit-barrel upgrade, or other barrel kit.
Strengths: Sufficient. Silent. Easy to set up and maintain.Light!
Weaknesses: Barrel breaks.
Valve keg o-ring shred.
Feedneck coming off.
Review: I finally bought my first own spoolie, and MavDev it was. i looked at Dye NT, PE Geo and the Luxe. After trying them all out, i went with the MacDev. The decision was easy:
Cheaper than the Luxe and Dye NT (and at least as reliable), easier to set up, easier to maintain, and more silent and reliable than the Geo.
Now, I'm not saying that those markers are unreliable or loud, but in my opinion the Clone was the best of these four.
I bought the marker, opened the drivetrain, wiped the excessive grease off, aired it up, chronoed, and hit the field. The marker worked perfectly! even if it was the first time the marker was shot, it was really silent and smooth.Not to mention the weight, it is really light. Can't wait to see how the behavior of the markers changes as it gets shot in. According to MacDev the Clone takes about 10 cases before its shot in. I got a 3000 psi fill, and put 7 pods and a loader trough the marker, and still no need to refill. That is in my opinion a GREAT result for a spoolie out of the box.
This marker really changes my toughts about spoolies. Maintainance is really easy, and require no tools. You simply screw the drive train out of the back, take it apart, clean it, and re-lube. it took me less than 10 minutes to do it the first time, and I really took my time.
The board is made by Tadao, and have all the settings you need. it is possible to ship it in to Tadao and get it reflashed, and thereby receive more settings to the factory board.

I've heared about valve keg middle o-ring shredding, and now it happened to me.
The new keg has now been released, and the new clones have it installed as stock. It is similar to the one that can be found in the droid. The new keg has holes instead of slots, and this is supposed to be/will be more gentle on the o-ring.

I have also heared about feedneck falling off the marker in the middle of a game. I witnessed this happening to a friend at our last practise. MD says that this problem is related to the gloss coloured markers, and propably that ppl haven't screwed the feedneck tension screw in enough. Well, this feedneck was tight enough, but the gloss colour seems to be quite slippery. A new feedneck is to be released, with a bigger and stronger tension screw to fix this problem.

This review will be updated as I get more familiar with the marker, and get things running.

****
Update:
Problems occured with my clone. It started chopping balls like mad. I tried cleaning and relubed the drive train, and it did nothing. Still chopping. I then changed my LP-reg to HP, and gave the ball-detents a rough time. Some ppl have complained about the detents being to stiff/hard, and causing chopping. After softening the detents and changing to HP, the marker started shooting properly again. Some say that Angel and Timmy-detents work, but the Angel-detents wear out really fast...Got to get me some Timmy-detents and try it out, but the stock detents are no good, unfortunately.
Still like the marker, even if I was about to throw it into the sea when the chopping started. The detents are a small and cheap part in a $1200 marker, but still think the stock ones should be softer.

****

Update 12.4.2010

I now noticed that the middle o-ring on the vavle keg is shredding. This is a known issue with the Clone, and they are working on it at MacDev. Hopefully a new keg will come out soon, that will have fixed this issue.

My Chop-fest continued. I now tried decreasin the tension even more on my rotor, and screwed the tension screw out almost 3 turns. The marker now seemed to work better, but I run out of time to play with. But seemed to work better. I also ordered some Intimidator-detents, that are supposed to be softer than the stock ones, but haven't received the yet. They are also supposed to be longer lasting than the Angel ones.
Also the grips seems to wear our really fast. This is also an issue that has been noticed among the users of the clone. The material of the stock grips seems to be too soft.
This review will be updated as I use the marker, and get more familiar with it.

****

13.03.2010

The new keg has been released, and will be shipped out shortly.
MD has also looked into the frame grip peeling problem and the detents. Better grips and softer detents are on their way! Can't wait to try them out.
****

12.5.2010

I received the new keg, and installed it. I also ordered Intimidator/spyder ball-detents (the softer ones) from Ebay, and installed them, and now the marker shoots flawlessly.
If the marker would have been shipped to me like this, including the Shif-kit, I would have given it a 10. But unfortunately it didn't, but still going to raise the rating to 9.
Now I'm just waiting for the new feedneck-screw and grips to arrive =)
Conclusion: Smooth. Silent.Sufficient. Easy to maintain. Light.
Finally MacDev released the V2 valve-keg and feedneck-screw. Still waiting for the softer detents and more lasting grips. Too bad MacDev didn't deliver the marker like this, it would have ben the best marker I've shot.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2010 at 1:13 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

2dltchap Saturday, October 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker, Evil Minion
Marker Setup: MadDev Clone (v2 parts)
Shift Kit
Violent Trigger w/ magnet
Clone gold bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
v2 parts a must - trigger and gold bolt if you have the cash
full shift kit if you do not have a barrel kit
Strengths: Efficiency, light weight, consistent, accurate, very quiet and very fast.
Weaknesses: Valve o-ring wears out after 3-4 days of play
Review: Having played with private label shockers and Dye/Proto's I can say with confidence that the Clone is one of the best (if not the best) spool valve marker on the market. Out of the box the Clone comes with all the features you expect in a high-end marker.

The stock board is fully adjustable and offers 10 firing modes. Better still, it is user upgradeable via usb cable. So, if/when MacDev releases new firmware you will be able to flash the board yourself.

On a full 68/4500 fill the clone will shoot over 1500 balls, making it one of the most efficient spoolies on the market. Also, I have found the clone to be very consistent (+/- 5fps) marker. I always leave the field shooting the same over the chrono that I started the day at.

With the Shift Kit, the Clone is very accurate even with cheap paint. I shoot $30/case paint and have no issues with accuracy. The Clone is also very gentle on paint. I shoot cases of paint in a days play and never have chopping or breaks.

As for speed, the Clone will cycle at 29.9 bps, and will shoot in the mid twenties with any high-end hopper. Speed isn't everything, but the clone does offer a great balance between speed and gentleness.

The Clone is also the quietest marker I have heard to date. This, of course, is a testament to just how efficient/gentle it is.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a high-end marker I absolutely recommend the Clone. They are a great value, have great customer service, and will not fail you on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media