paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel / WDP Angel / WDP Angel / WDP Angel

WDP Angel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1385

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electro Pneumatic Firing System, Capable of Super Fast, Cyclic Rates, High Gloss Anodized Finish, and a Battery and Recharging System Included.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Dover Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE DM4
SP Ion
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: 99 LED Angel, silver Warped Sportz HiRise, AKALMP stainless hammer, nickel WGP flame drop, Serfas front grip cover, DYE extended volumizer, red pull pin, custom trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly? None, it's great right out of the box, says Jon Rice, designer of the Angel. Anything else is just for looks
Strengths: Firepower.
Weaknesses: Originally the price, but you can find cheap LEDs now
Review: Once again, I have to quote Jon Rice: "It was always our dream to make the best paintball gun in the world. A marker that performed better than any customized marker and worked straight out of the box."

Simply put, the Angel is a force to be reckoned with because it takes the guesswork out of mechnical triggers and replaces it with an electropneumatic system that cycles 180 per second. Not that you can shoot that fast, if I could move my fingers that fast i'd never leave the house!
Conclusion: If you want something reliable and effective, as well as a status symbol, this is it. Angels fly, baby. You'll find it outshoots most feed systems on the market so be careful to turn down your ROF
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 8th, 2008 at 2:54 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

shorty42o Thursday, August 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD Angel IR3 Dark Angel Fly Angel
Marker Setup: Angel LED , 2 Spike volumizers, Double trigger, DYE trigger Guard, Titanium Boomstick, 68/4500 Crossfire tank, Dye stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, the stock Infinity is OK but a boomstick or all american would make the gun a lot more accurate
Strengths: Fast, if you get a double trigger it's just as fast as any of the newer angels. The trigger pull is literally a mouse click. It's CHEAP. I picked one up off ebay for 450 because LEDs are cheap these days. But they still perform like Angel LCDs without all the nice extra functions.
Weaknesses: Its somewhat heavy because the LED 14 way is heavier than the LCDs. You can't get any milling done on the back because of it either.
Conclusion: Great gun , not as good as the LCDs but performance wise theyre the same. If you have 500 - 600 and want an angel but dont have the cash for a LCD just buy a LED and you'll be satisfied.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

CRF32 Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used pleanty of Automags, (nothing compared to this awesome marker)
Marker Setup: WDP Angel, 16 inch All-American barrel, Halo loader, 4500 psi PMI tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE, except for maybe a barrel, you don't even need that.
Strengths: Very Fast
Light
Accurate
DURABLE
Great tournament gun
Weaknesses: Can get heavy with a 4500 PSI tank on it.
Pricey

Thats it!
Review: I have used this marker plenty of times and I have to say it is a very good marker indeed. It didn't jam once on the field and I have shot thousands of rounds through this gun. I never had to worry smacking it off the pipe in speed-ball because it is nearly impossible. This is a tourney level gun, and don't let anyone say it's not! I have had good games with this marker and I am undefeated so far. I can always trust this marker, and you should too. Is a little pricey!
Conclusion: This is a fast, durable,and light marker. I recommend this gun to anyone who plays a lot of speed-ball and anyone else with a fat wallet. But this gun if your serious about paintball. It is a kick-butt marker! BUY THIS GUN!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker,matrix,impulse,intimidator,bushmaster
Marker Setup: actually mines a 98 angel not 2000
cobra bolt,cobra trigger,cobra ss hammer,cobra LP internals,kapp low rise, kapp volumizer, air america vigilante reg, air america 4500 apocalypse tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt, volumizer, better trigger, and maybe a shorter barrel(I think the stock jacko is great)
Strengths: it's extremely fast, trigger can be shorter than a mouse click
it's extremely hard to chop unless you forget to turn on your revy.
very low presseure mine works on about 60 psi
despite whate people say it is suprisingly accurate and it gets good range
I,ve played with newer LCD's and I think mine shoots better.
long battery life. you dont have too replace a 9 vlt every time you play
Weaknesses: the only thing bad about this gun is the weight, but what once you get used to it its not really bad and acctually becomes quite comforatable.
Conclusion: I think this is an awsome gun. You cant compalain about the cost either because since you can only still get these used,the price shouldn't top 700$.
(The upgrades might raise it to a thousand or twelve hundred max.)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GX-3 Chaos Cocker
Marker Setup: Angel LED w/ Dye SS, Ricochet 2k, and 68 Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, stock one sucks anus. Can't fire the thing without Nitro, so that's a must... atleast a 12v Revolution also.
Strengths: The accuracy rocks when you have a good barrel. ROF is pretty fast, I can get a full hopper unloaded in a matter of seconds. Very low maintanence. You also get the bragging rights of owning an angel...
Weaknesses: Doesn't look the best milling wise.... and when you have the gun you always get the urge to lay out about 400 paintballs a game (not always a bad thing...)
The anadizing scratches VERY easily, but my angel is black so I just touch it up with a permanent marker and nobody is ever the wiser.
Conclusion: This gun is overall a good gun. Very reliable, low maintanence, accuracy, supreme speed. Buy one of these and you'll be satisfied.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Saturday, October 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other high ends
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Recommended
Upgrades:
well considering the age a new gun
Strengths: Well its fast
Weaknesses: Very old and compared to todays high ends not much
Review: This gun is very very heavy. it feels like 3 new angels put together. however, for a 1998, it have a very good trigger. even back tehn it had the best trigger in paintball. by todays standards its not much and very old. because of this it was inconsistant over the chrono and the regs were probably worn out. it was dropping off like crazy. but hey its a 1998. if i this was on the feild back in 98 this would be a powerhouse on the feild. it would own. for most ppl who shot mech cockers back tehn, playing against a guy with a double trigger in one of these would be a big surprise.
Conclusion: For 1998 it would be by far the fastest gun out. even for this old gun tehy have great triggers. by todays standards it would be a very low rank. but im giving this gun a ranking for its age. i am ranking this gun on how it would perform for 1998 standards. for that i give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kevholl913 Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers, spyders....
no angels
Marker Setup: 2000 bonebrake angel LED
Boomstick barel
3000/88 HP tank
dye sticky grip
custom trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
not much to upgrade, luckily mine came with a great barrel (boomstick) and the bonebrake upgrade, also had the old trigger frame milled off and replaced with a flat double trigger. there is really not much left i can do with it.
Strengths: extreamly easy to maintain, and an all around amazing marker. price
Weaknesses: heavy, may also have to do with my set up (88ci tank....)
Review: A good freind of mine sold this too me for about $400 w/ boomstick, bonebrake upgrades, and a lifetime warenty. simmilar deals can be found on e-bay.... seeing as how this is a $1000+ gun, thats very nice. ill be honest, the first time i took it out, it sucked. i was constantly frustrated with balls breaking (i had a halo B on it, so it wasnt the hopper) and weak distance. i immidately went back and oiled it, wich is an extreamly simple operation, and adjusted the velocity. back out on the field, i felt like a god. i was actualy hitting those distant enemys that i could only distract with my spyder. and i was able to lay strings of paint down on bunkers like i had always wanted to do. obviously its much better than a spyder, but it never fails to impress me, my friends, or my enemys. and considering that this gun is over three years old, and has seen countless tournements, it performes at an amazing level. since that first outing, it has not broken one ball, or acted up in any way whatsoever. just pop it open and put a little oil on the bolt and your good to go.
Conclusion: if your in the market for a used high end gun, dont hesitate to buy this. its not as compact and lite as many of the other options... but for the price you can get this thing for, you wont find anything that outshoots it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 17th, 2003 at 5:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowsFall Tuesday, July 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ Timmy, regular Timmy, Angel LCD, Angel IR3, cockers, Defiants, Shockers, imulses, Matrix, Emag
Marker Setup: Angel LED,Crossfire 47ci,kapp DZ2,kapp volumizer,dye 12" boomstick,revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
revy with xboard and new impellor, new barrel
Strengths: everything is really good about this gun. the trigger can be adjusted and everything can be done to it,the milling is the only problem but the gun is just outstanding.it can be shotten very fast and is very accurate with stock barrel. the distance can be a problem but the speed and accuracy makes up for it.
Weaknesses: dont fiddle around with it,let an Angel Tech do it for you cause so many things can be broken easily and its not a good idea to try and fix it yourself
Conclusion: this product is a must the LED's now are very cheap and shoot just as good if not better than an LCD or an IR3 just because theyre is no screen doesnt mean its put down.Believe me when i say this gun can out perform an LCD with the right stuff and the right lovin'.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Minion450 Saturday, April 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none the only thing close was a cocker and i don't know anything about it
Marker Setup: LED Angel
88cu 4500 psi Angel Air
smart parts barrel
volumizer
pro connect
revy with a Vortex Impellor, so much more efficiant than the stock impellor
so on and so on
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel but stock is still good
regulator with faster recharge, unless you get an angel air
need a revy or halo hopper, NEEEED!
volumizer any kind whatever you think looks good on it.
stainless steel screw set, my screws almost didn't come off the handle
double trigger and guard
Strengths: soooo fast so very very fast and accurate. trigger is adjustable to have almost no travel. I upgraded and got a double trigger adjusted the trigger a little to much and my gun was shooting when i ran. the trigger reacted like those touch lamps. you know the ones you just have to tap and they turn on.
Never broke a ball, i mean never except for when i forgot to turn on the revy, thats it. very low maintenance. easy clean, rotate the breach, bull out the bolt and pull threw the squeegee and your done. so so nice.
Weaknesses: obviously the price. since it was one of their first models of the angel the 14 way is huge especially compared to the new ir3 so there is very little milling you can do to the gun except for the front near the barrel and the rotary breach. people say its heavy but i like the feel and it balances well. oh wait thats a good. sorry
Conclusion: get one if you can afford it, even if it is not an LED get an ir3. just get an angel i have never been so satisfied with any piece of machinery in my life. I took it apart once to grease it up and thats it. i have never had to disassemble it for anything else except for playing around with the LPR but thats not disassembling.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: 2000 ANgel LCD with 14" Dye boomstick, kapp volumizer, shocktech bolt
Odyssey Halo Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Odyssey Halo Loader
Strengths: Smooth and Fast trigger...accurate and did I mention Fast!!!!!!!!
When I fire this gun, my experience has been that players tend to do the only thing they can...duck or run. Basically, after I bought this gun I found out what kind of gun you have DOES really matter.
Weaknesses: $$$$$$$$$$$$ Expensive Expensive Expensive
Also the anodizing is thin...scratches too easily. Stock grips are not the greatest. Highly recommend some Dye sticky grip.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you got the money!!!!!!! Well worth the money. I would definitely get the Halo loader. I play alot of scenario games and use my Angel on FULL AUTO mode. The gun rocks with the loader. Hardly Ever chops paint.
basically the pros outweigh the cons on this gun. If you want to play with the big boys, this gun is a must.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media